Home arrow Letters/Surat arrow Abdullah just don't get it

Abdullah just don't get it PDF Print
Tuesday, 18 December 2007 15:57

He has already disappointed Malaysians who had given a Prime Minister the greatest mandate ever in any general election in nation's history in 2004!

In Puchong Indah, Selangor yesterday, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi declared: Support me and I will not disappoint you.

He said the support of the people give him greater sense of responsibility to strive even harder to ensure prosperity, harmony and development without leaving out any group.

Abdullah just don't get it – that he has already disappointed Malaysians who had given him the greatest mandate ever secured by a Prime Minsiter in any general election in the nation's 50-year history in 2004.

Is Abdullah's denial so serious and even terminal that he is simply not aware of the widespread and deep-seated popular disenchantment over his failure to honour his catalogue of pledges when he became Prime Minister in October 2003 and during the 2004 general election to be the Prime Minister for all Malaysians, to hear the truth from the people however unpleasant, to wipe out corruption and abuses of power,  to open up spaces for greater democracy and press freedom and to lead an administration of excellence and meritocracy towards a First-World Malaysia?

I cannot but ask whether the recent spate of unprecedented events had failed to make any impression on him whatsoever to shake off his denial complex - whether the nation-wide pickets of MTUC and workers for fair wage, the March for Justice of the 2,000 lawyers in late September to demand judicial independence and integrity, the 40,000-strong BERSIH demonstration on Nov. 10 for electoral reforms for free, fair and clean elections or the 30,000-strong Hindraf demonstration to end the long-standing marginalization of the Malaysian Indians?

Has the Prime Minister been completely isolated by his Putrajaya Fourth Storey gatekeepers from the people on the ground to the extent that he has totally lost touch with the hopes and fears, dreams and nightmares of ordinary Malaysians irrespective of race, religion or region?

If so, then the country is faced not only with a crisis of confidence in the judiciary, the Election Commission and the various national institutions, but with a national crisis of confidence in the political leadership of the Prime Minister!

Abdullah's request for another blank cheque from the people, promising not to disappoint the people, after causing the greatest disappointment to the people by any Malaysian Prime Minister in his first four years in office, is very eerie. Is Abdullah's latest request for real?

Lim Kit Siang

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Frostee Snow, December 18, 2007 17:06:52
The PM is really in a state of denial. He has indeed los ttouch with what is going on at the groud level as he's way too far up up up in the air basking in his self-created glory.
written by MsiaCTzen, December 18, 2007 17:17:33
"once bitten twice shy"

Vote BN out
written by yyk88, December 18, 2007 18:09:31
That is why his name is called Bodohwee.
written by C360, December 18, 2007 20:38:47
In accounting terms, we need to do a WRITE-OFF as well as a WRITE-DOWN .. ENOUGH !! we the rakyat will not invest in PROVEN LOSERS ..
written by Dogboy, December 18, 2007 21:30:54
This boy needs more time to accumulate more wealth. There must be all these relatives urging him to hang on to power longer and the second term is when they really suck the Malaysian financial system for all its worth. Shameless!!!!!!
written by malaysianohope, December 19, 2007 10:12:20
The mandate given to him was based on BIG lie!

Therefore, I say you shall be held accountable comes next erection (oops correction, election)

Dunggus PM!
written by Birdbrain, December 19, 2007 11:45:14
Has the Prime Minister been completely isolated by his Putrajaya Fourth Storey gatekeepers from the people on the ground to the extent that he has totally lost touch with the hopes and fears, dreams and nightmares of ordinary Malaysians irrespective of race, religion or region?
======================================================= ================================
This is one blog where he'll never get access if the 4th floor gatekeeper has his way. No wonder he's always in a state of denial.

This blog has the best feedback for him!
smilies/cry.gif
written by InEffective, December 19, 2007 14:17:00
THe ones who dont get it are the one writing and posting such drivel.
THe crisis of confidence is only in your eyes (certainly not from the eyes of governance).
If fact, what you term areas suffering from crisis of confidence is all the strategic control points comprehensively locked down - absolute control.

It would be more helpful to focus on how the rakyat would regain control and accountability of their governance.
written by Bennyloh, December 19, 2007 14:53:29
Same campaign speech..
http://malaysiancartoons.********.com/2007/12/election-campaign-speech.htm
written by Bennyloh, December 19, 2007 14:56:45
links error,
http://malaysiancartoons.********.com/2007/12/election-campaign-speech.html
written by Bennyloh, December 19, 2007 15:06:07
testing..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...peech.html
written by Bennyloh, December 19, 2007 15:10:09
Mr. Pete,
Testing the mage posting resulting in repetitions. Another thing in Edit profile there is no 'save' button and to correct comments on error which column to access it? tq
written by Sagaladoola, December 19, 2007 17:17:54
How do you expect Sleepyhead to get it?

Sleepyhead is in State of Denial Crisis

written by malaysianohope, December 19, 2007 22:21:51
This PM has got no clue what he should do for he's just a teacher.
written by Harbinger, December 20, 2007 01:00:33
Dumb,Dense or Dungu ? Take your pick !!
written by Lim Lim, December 21, 2007 00:09:29
trust him n umno??it would be jus like "tumpang ayam kpd musang"!!!
written by Steven, December 21, 2007 15:20:07
Our PM is now very comfortable in his position. So shake him up and vote him out!
written by budakindia, December 23, 2007 01:25:55
To him, we have broken the law! He's the supreme ruler and can't be challenged in what so ever way! That's why he said work with him and for him! He really meant don't go against him else he'll use ever law in the book or amend the law to get you! That's what he actually mean! smilies/grin.gif He's so arrogant until he suggested to straighten the river to curb the flood problem! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Lim Lim, December 24, 2007 00:44:24
we hav a pm who wants to straighten the rivers without proper technical,environmental n social assessment in the form of bodowi;then we hav another jackass in the form of semi value proposing removal of verhicle from jammed highway by helipcoter!!shit must hav gone to their heads,what kind of leaders we hav for malaysian??malaysia boleh,memang boleh to free fall with the kind of calibre we are having now!
written by doggone, December 25, 2007 12:43:35
Not only does he not offer any excuses for being late, he insist that we are just too early.

This butt wit egomaniac will set his own pants on fire if someone can convince him that he is impervious to pain. Fungo !!
written by ahmadbadrul40, December 26, 2007 08:42:53
UMNO is running out of ideas to carry the country forward. I think we are seeing the beginning of disintegration of UMNO as the rulling party of Malaysia. In 10 years time, UMNO will be obsolete.
written by indianputra, December 26, 2007 13:17:43
It is a pity that this nation, with rich resources, ample land, friendly population and truly Asian cultures had been brought to this low by the greedy politicians. They all can talk big but when the crunch comes, their words have absolutely no meaning. The corruption of these politicians have made this country into a nation that is looked down by the world community.

The big irony is that, THEY KNOW IT!! But they are in the state of denial. They refuse to accept the truth as seen by the Rakyat and they make decsions that are utterly obnoxious. (Can you imagine their stupidity.. that they decided to change Malaysian constitution for ONE MAN!!! That guy from Election Commission, Rashid!!... How low can they go??)

The weak leadership by Pak Lah is another reason for the downslide of this nation. Pak Lah HAS TO GO for the sake of our Rakyat and the next generation.

Malaysians - please think, please vote wisely in the next GE. Your Vote is important so that we can turn this country into what it should be.. A GOLDEN NATION!!
written by mypanida, December 27, 2007 05:34:56
we the rakyat,irrespective of races should give all our votes to the opposition parties.
we have been living harmoniously together for generations until the May 13 was cooked up.
after that we still had 11 years of muhhibbah until that Mahathir turned up.
the rest is all history........

peoples' will will gain a live of its own....remembered Marcos ?

we should count on that as well.

HIDUP PARTI PEMBANGKANG. HIDUP MALAYSIA.

written by patnet, December 27, 2007 09:29:11
I can still remember his speech 3 years back during the Umno assembly. He declared that the NEP would not be terminated because it was unfinished business. Now he is asking for more.
written by defendermalaysia, December 27, 2007 18:55:40
Dear Malaysian,
I hope we do not get con twice by this number 1 conman. Once bitten twicw shy. He has shown us already his cability to run the country on auto pilot mode. Letting out his wild dogs barking at each other and sometimes we do not know who is runing the show in Malaysia.
written by beijing, December 28, 2007 18:46:59
Support me and I will not disappoint you. smilies/grin.gif same word since 1st day he become PM. that y he just don't get it and he never realize....
written by Sunnysoul5, December 30, 2007 09:42:02
Maybe the PM does not read at all, and he is depending on the speech writers to come out with promises and slogans. The writers and the PM do not care about the feasibility and workability of the mega projects and missions. This is because we give the PM the absolute power to rule the country at his whims and fancies.
written by PakPandir, December 30, 2007 14:16:32
" In Puchong Indah, Selangor yesterday, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi declared: Support me and I will not disappoint you.
He said the support of the people give him greater sense of responsibility to strive even harder to ensure prosperity, harmony and development without leaving out any group."

What a joke ?
Have'nt we gave you the full support in the past ? .... when and we looked forward to your promise to achieve the best fo rall Malaysians, put Malaysia on the map as the most respected, clean, harmonious and progressive country in this region without leaving out any group ?
But all these have been lip service, see what we get today ? How much harder you want Malaysians to be screwed by the failed promises , the cronies and irresponsible Minsiters and the cover-ups of misuse of tax payer's money , at he expense of the nation to only benefit the UMNO elite ?
All the Malaysians at large, inclusive of all Malays, Chinese , Indians, Kadazans, Ibans and others want to work with you with your great promise 4 years ago that we thought was a good start then. You have failed us.

As Malaysians , we feel MALU.
written by antiilluminati, January 16, 2008 15:09:50
If Pak Lah's attitude does not change and get rid of his corrupted line of ministers, i would like to adress him as Sleepy beauty.
He originaly got the position to the top from the RAKYAT. He didn't make use of the mandate and now dare asking for a new one. This is too much of a JOKE already and someone has to put a STOP on this nonsense !