Dispute with sultan's palace the latest headache for Malaysian premier Abdullah PDF Print
Monday, 24 March 2008 09:10

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia: A Malaysian sultan is embroiled in a rare dispute with the ruling political party after his palace overruled the prime minister's selection of a state official.

The palace of Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin in northeastern Terengganu state stunned politicians late Saturday by appointing a different state chief minister than the candidate favored by Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Lawmakers representing Abdullah's United Malays National Organization, or UMNO, submitted a formal protest and threatened to resign unless the palace backed down.

The royal row is the latest headache for Abdullah, who is struggling to assert his authority after the March 8 general elections in which his governing coalition held on to power but suffered stinging setbacks.

The conflict is particularly sensitive because Mizan is also currently serving his turn as Malaysia's widely respected national king.

Nine of Malaysia's states are headed by hereditary sultans and rajas, who take turns serving as the country's constitutional monarch for five-year terms. The sultans' role is largely ceremonial and they generally stay out of politics. However, one of their constitutional duties is to appoint chief ministers and other officials in their states.

Usually, the state rulers appoint the choice of the party with a majority in the state legislature.

But although UMNO retained its majority in Terengganu in the recent elections, the sultan's palace announced Saturday it was not appointing Idris Jusoh, who has headed Terengganu's administration since 2004 and was UMNO's choice to keep the job.

Instead, the palace's Regency Advisory Council named another UMNO lawmaker, Ahmad Said, as chief minister and said he would be sworn in Sunday "in accordance" with the constitution. According to state laws, the chief minister must be a legislator whom the palace believes commands majority support.

Palace officials handed Ahmad an appointment letter Sunday but postponed the swearing-in ceremony after Terengganu lawmakers warned that Ahmad could be stripped of his party membership because he disobeyed UMNO by accepting the post.

Because he is serving as king, Mizan did not personally make the controversial appointment, leaving the job to his advisory council led by his brother. Nevertheless, political observers say the conflict seems to be fueled by a personal fallout between Mizan and Idris.

UMNO representative Rosol Wahid denied their opposition to the appointment was an "act of revolt," but warned that his colleagues would seek a no-confidence vote against any chief minister apart from Idris.

"We won't support any other candidate," Rosol told reporters in Terengganu.

Fears of a similar crisis surfaced in northern Perlis state when its raja last week rejected Abdullah's nomination for chief minister. But the palace's choice was sworn in with support from lawmakers.

The royal spats indicate Malaysia's nobility may be testing its own clout amid suspicions that Abdullah's hold on power has declined after his ruling coalition lost its parliamentary two-thirds majority.

The National Front coalition kept control of only eight of Malaysia's 13 states amid public frustration over rising prices, corruption and racial and religious tensions.

Top coalition leaders have publicly pledged support for Abdullah, but some members insist he should resign. Among them is another royal: Razaleigh Hamzah, who is a prince in northeastern Kelantan state, has said he is willing to challenge Abdullah for the UMNO presidency in party polls in August. - INTERNATIONAL HERALD TRIBUNE

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by asguard, March 24, 2008 09:12:57
See now who is kurang ajar LKS or BN's UMNO...
written by kamal, March 24, 2008 09:16:43
Pah Lah should respect his own UMNO divisional leaders who all except Besut fully support Kijal State Assemblyman Datuk Ahmad Said.

Malays had held high esteem for the Palace and this should always be maintained.

Pah Lah's defiance, clearly shows he dis-respect the Palace.

Time for UMNO to accept Datuk Ahmad Said as Terengganu Menteri Besar since he will clear the State from mismanagement and corruption that Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh had done.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by ultraman, March 24, 2008 09:17:43
Let those assemblymen resign and have a fresh elction. Let us see if the rakyat really support them.
Why can't Pak Lah get another person to be MB? Jangan degil la , Pak Lah!
written by debids, March 24, 2008 09:22:49
Pak Lah got headache?? Sultan please do us a favour and pancung his kepala..fast relieve for headache. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Negarakuku, March 24, 2008 09:27:26
Saudara Lim is a Hero among Malaysians, now is Umno committing treason. I am waiting for Umno Melayu organized demonstration against this act of treason. Since Agong is the head of Islam, Umno is insulting Agong hence insulting Islam. If the Umno Malays don´t demonstrates. the non-Malays will have no respect for the Agong in future.

Where is PEKIDA and other Persatuan2 who fight for Islam Malaysia???? smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by drpolitic, March 24, 2008 09:32:40
hello saudara UMNO...baca dulu rukun negara...taat setia kepada RAJA dan NEGARA...where is your loyalty....if you ask me, all these people should be considered traitors and chased away from this country.

They are not even loyal to their sultan, how can they be loyal to the people...
written by Areka, March 24, 2008 09:33:30
Malays had held high esteem for the Palace and this should always be maintained.

Kamal, you are partially right. Not only the Malays, the Chinese, Indians, other minorities also hold high esteem for the Palace.

I appeal to everyone here discard racists terms. We shouldn't be calling ourselves Malay...Chinese...Indian...etc...

If we don't discard racists terms, we will get nowhere. We all will be stuck in our own stupidity, proud, racist vicious cycle. Those foreign countries will then take the opportunity to devour our beloved country...bit by bit.

We should unite and work for the betterment of Malaysia as ONE BANGSA - BANGSA MALAYSIA.

Won't you think it would be wonderful when we see each other as truly brothers and sisters without racist thinkings?

written by bensam, March 24, 2008 09:39:53
They thought they could get away with Petronas' Money. Now you see, whats gonna happen. The new MB is going to clean his linen publicly. A note of advice to SIL and FIL, better get the hellouta dis country. The rakyat gonna pancung your Kpla!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by technoboy, March 24, 2008 09:54:20
Yeah, UMNO morons cried foul when LKS wanted to boycott the swearing in ceremony for Perak MB, but now these morons themselves are doing to same thing. Bear in mind LKS issued a very prompt apology on realizing that this was not acceptable. UMNO morons are still sleeping and arrogant, bunch of "CAKAP TAK SERUPAH BIKIN" as the moron Nazri have rightly quoted in the press last year.
written by budakindia, March 24, 2008 10:03:10
"The royal spats indicate Malaysia's nobility may be testing its own clout amid suspicions that Abdullah's hold on power has declined after his ruling coalition lost its parliamentary two-thirds majority."

Precisley worded! That is why the appoinment of Terengganu MB was put on hold! smilies/grin.gif

Let's watch the fun! smilies/grin.gif
written by est, March 24, 2008 10:23:26
Rukun Negara says "taat kepada Raja..." In the state, Raja is Sultan lah. Can BN not be more diplomatic. Meet up with the palace and sort it out. The coming out in the press to threaten resignation is disgusting. I may not be a Malay, I may not be a rakyat Terengganu but I view this action by BN assembly as arrogant and not giving the palace the respect it should be accorded and nation's/state's elder. That very act by the assemblymen threatening resignation is despicable.
written by oknyua, March 24, 2008 10:37:47
Can we say that for years UMNO neglected to listen to:

1. The palace,
2. The minorities
3. The poor,
4. The raykyat as a whole,

The minorities and the Rakyat had given thier votes, but the rulers, by constitution, cannot vote. BUT they too, have their turn to say something, and now is the time. Perlis, Trengganu, Perak, Selangor. Kedah might have done the same thing, but saved because PAS is there already.

Who say the SULTANS don't care?
written by Kcc, March 24, 2008 10:41:28
There wouldn't be a dispute if Abdullah and his team agrees on the appointment of Ahmad Said as the new MB for Terengganu. Perhaps there was a rift between HRH Sultan Mizan and Idris earlier, but then the latter should know that he should not mess with any member of the royal family. The offence must have been too great in order for HRH Sultan Mizan to strike Idris' name out as the MB.

My point of view is: Let Ahmad lead as MB as he's already had the blessing from the royal family while the rest of the BN team work with him instead of criticising or outcasting him. The problem with BN is always the same - they have cliques and only those in their clique would benefit; they are power hungry; lately they revealed to us that they are RUDE to the maximum.
written by JackWang, March 24, 2008 11:06:53
Dr. Faruqi (I believe he is the law lecturer in UiTM) had written elsewhere that when the nominated MB can demonstrate that he had the support of the majority of the ADUNs, then the ruler's constitutional role in selecting the MB is nominal. He had written on the 2 cases which are in this situation, ie. Perlis and Trengganu. In the case of Perlis, the incumbent could not summon a majority of the ADUNs to support him. Therefore, the ruler was right when he refused to swear him in and he was rightly replaced. However, in the case of Trengganu, the incumbent could summon a majority of the ADUNs to support him. While the ruler may not want to listen to the PM, he has to at least listen to the elected assemblymen.
I have also posted elsewhere that an MB without the support of the ADUNs would not be able to survive a no-confidence motion once the assembly is convened. This had happened in Kelantan and Selangor before.

Cheers.
written by ultraman, March 24, 2008 11:34:51
Hey, Sultan is THE HEAD OF STATE! Pak Lahis just like a CEO of the country.
Being the Head of state the sultan deinitely has the right to choose whom he can trust. Pak Lah being the chief executive has to follow the wish of the sultan. By the way, Prime Minister means strictly Chief Servant as Minister means servant. Yes, Pak Lah is serving the country at the leisure of the King or sultan.
Hey all those assemblyman, if you tak suka the choice of the sultan resign la or keluar Trengany la. Apa mahu bising lagi? Are you all the same as the mamak who demonstrated in KOMTAR against Lim Guan Eng. The mamaks here are angry not at NEP but because LGE tak kasi contract secara negotiated. What have you?
written by HJ Angus, March 24, 2008 12:24:32
I think the palace has been fed up with the BN since they removed the oil royalties and instead channelled the monies via the so-called development funds.

Putrajaya is perceived to be weak and it is an opportune time to renegotiate this grievance.

http://malaysiawatch3.********.com/2008/03/terengganu-politics-is-there-more-to-it.html
written by johanssm, March 24, 2008 12:52:31
Since when umno /bn are so concern regarding the Constitution.
For years the nation's Constitution was rape and abuse to their (umno /bn ) whims and fancies.Umno/bn will continues to plunders this country and continues to be arrogant if not for the huge support from voters to Barisan Rakyat this 2008 election.
Voters made the right decision , its late but not too late.
I think it was funny and weird for my DAP supporter friends to cast their vote to PAS , but they all said the same thing.No need to elaborate what they said here.But its all thumps up to PAS.

Coming back to the comment,
I strongly urge all the Sultans to review all bn Chief Minister appointments and their excos.
As for royalties to be keeping quiet and not doing anything at all even when the royalties do knows of the government wrong doings is not a good way.To be neutral is not about keeping quiet.
Neutral means to be unbiased.
Royalties must be bold to lay claims according to their regulations.
Perlis did the right thing.Terenganu should do the same.
But what about other states with a Sultan ?Satisfied with your present Menteri Besar or ought to be review?
This will be the best time for all Sultans to meet up and seriously discuss
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 24, 2008 12:53:42
AAB is "bodoh" not to realise that his popularity has been reduced to zero, and BN is under threat, and he needs the blessings of the palace to survive.
He must have fallen asleep again.
written by temenggong, March 24, 2008 12:54:16
Looks like Sultan Mizan is a master strategist after all. This is his delayed response to Bersih, and he is part of the makkal sakti wave!
written by Old Holborn, March 24, 2008 12:59:26
I was of the impression that the Sultan will appoint the person who can demonstrate that he has the majority support of members. The things is, the "support" we are seeing from the 23 who are even now threatening to resign, may not have been there from the begining. Possible? Otherwise I find it diffucult to see the Sultan doing something that he knows would be unconstituional, and refusing to appoint the man with majority support. Same situation in Perlis, but much less fuss. Over in Terengganu, wow, BN trying to flex its muscles. Is it possible that those assmbly persons did not initially support Idris, for whatever reasons, but some arm twisting has occurred? Remember, in Terengganu, a lot is at stake.
written by Angela Ooi, March 24, 2008 14:01:05
Tuanku, please show the very corrupt UMNOputras who the boss really is!
written by megahyper, March 24, 2008 14:49:47
My take on this is:

Ruler, DYMM Sultan, shouldn't meddle in politics or even race/religion preferential for MB or Timbalan MB or whatever. (imagine Queen elizabeth titah sebegitu: i dont like your skin color and your god, next please....
riot ensured!)

Amno, power warlords, shouldn't be in corruption, abuse of power. stop treating this country like a big giant cake which is to be shared among the power-brokers. Even after march 8, it smells even worse.

No cake for him? then Richard RIOT!

Opposition, being opposition, shouldn't keep quiet! Any wrongdoing, please shoot, we really like to hear! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Naha, March 24, 2008 15:21:17
The Trib (as the newspaper which published this article is called by its readers in the west) is probably the least biased American newspaper with an international readership.

For it to publish this story means the editors rated it highly. So today foreign investors and governments are already aware of the Terengganu situation.
written by mimag2005, March 25, 2008 05:03:54

written by Areka, March 24, 2008 | 09:33:30

Those foreign countries will then take the opportunity to devour our beloved country...bit by bit.
_______________________________________________________ ______________________

"Sore Eye" address 3deg10mins North 101deg42mins East, Kuala Lumpur.

Roger OUT!!!

RAMBO..