Crossover Fear: Didn’t BN Do The Same Thing Before? PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 21:09

(FORUM - BORNEO POST): UMNO Youth Chief, Datuk Hishamudin Tun Hussien’s declaration that defections of  Barisan Nasional’s Members of Parliament to the opposition is shameful is totally against the stand that had been advocated by the party when PBS was a government in Sabah in the eighties.

When PBS was the state government, UMNO through various ways and means, had engineered the fall of the government and the most effective was the infamous cross over of PBS’s elected assemblymen, led by Lajim Ukin, to UMNO.

PBS had enacted a bill in the state legislative assembly stating that any elected assemblyman who resigned from his party and cross over to another political party would automatically vacate his seat for a By-election. This was conveniently overturned by the BN government through their famous, “freedom of association decision by the Court”.

Now, BN, and most of all UMNO, are figuratively sweating in their pants as strong indications are that a large number of their Members of Parliament would be resigning to join the opposition front for the creation of a new government in our country.

Any change in our Federal government could bring positive results to the country, most of all to us Sabahans, as it could be the long awaited moment to bring an end to the various long standing issues that had bogged our once wealthy and peaceful state of which various suggestions had been raised by leaders in their campaigns in the recent general elections.

I specially hold dear to certain issues raised by Parti Keadilan Rakyat’s candidates, especially Kapayan candidate Datuk Chau Chin Tang who had vociferously stressed on the need for Sabah to be allotted with a bigger share of its petroleum revenue. I hope that the state government would now garner sufficient courage to raise this issue with the Federal government as indications are that the timing is most conducive to seek a solution to this long standing mockery of Sabah’s resources.

Perhaps the state government, led by UMNO, may not be bothered to raise the issue as they are themselves benefiting from whatever gains their Federal leadership contrive from our Petroleum resources, but component parties, especially UPKO, SAPP and PBS should sit together as this had been the core struggle that they had long portrayed.

Sabah used to be very rich but we are now considered a pauper state where every sen of government funds for the improvements of our state had to be begged from Kuala Lumpur. This is a fact and I beg to be corrected if I am wrong.

The other issue that ought to be pursued now is the return of some of our rights that had been conceded to the Federal government by leaders who had been over zealous in their efforts to ‘apple polish, the mighty powers in Kuala Lumpur.

By state rights, I mean the re-introduction of the use of passports for West Malaysians and even Sarawakians to enter Sabah as this ruling is still applicable in Sarawak. Sarawak is far richer than Sabah at this point in time and it would be pertinent to view the reintroduction of he passport ruling in our state so that not every Tom, Dick and Harry, most of all those with evil intents, from the peninsular can freely enter Sabah to perpetuate whatever vices they feel necessary to raise their standard of living.

The passport ruling was perhaps most beneficial for Sabahans in so far as issues of peace was concerned and it is therefore appropriate that this legitimate right should be resolved.

The appointment of qualified Sabahans for top federal posts in government departments and agencies in Sabah is another issue that should also be vigorously pursued by our state leaders as this could inevitably lead to a solution to the long outstanding illegal immigrants (PTI) problem here.

I really concur with what Datuk Chau Chin Tang had expressed during his political campaigns and it is sad that he had to lose in Kapayan as he would have been the force for BN to contend in the legislative assembly sitting. He could have helped to shape up the policies of our state government for the betterment of the people.

We really need a strong voice to bring back the rights of Sabahans and it is hoped that the Huguan Siou , Datuk Pairin Kitingan, will have the guts of his brother Datuk Dr. Jeffrey to really bring to fruition the hopes and aspirations of the people of Sabah.

Pairin should not just gloat over his victory, his subsequent re-employment as Deputy Chief Minister and also the appointment of his deputy Datuk Dr. Maximus to hold a ministerial post in Kuala Lumpur, as had been published in the media, but he should now go down and really fulfill his obligations by ensuring that all the villages in his constituency are provided with treated water, electricity and other necessities.

Pairin should also ensure that the really hard core poor are benefited through programs that are drawn up by his ministry and not just to assure Kuala Lumpur that his elected MP’s will not defect to the opposition. He should, by right, sit back, analyze the current scenario and ascertain if he could positively contribute to the progress of his people via the current BN government or through an alternative government that could spell better returns for the people of Sabah, most of all his race and religion.

Pairin must also bring an end to the long awaited land problems faced by Sabahans, especially those hard core poor people who had their dwellings burnt by the relevant authorities simply because they ventured into forest reserves due to scarcity of lands or through dubious procedures where plots of lands that they had applied for had been conveniently replaced by other big time applicants.

For the time being, it would be very interesting to sit back and observe how BN, especially UMNO will stem the tide of political awakenings within the country and consolidate the power that they are desperately clinging on.

Maybe UMNO can even reflect and rue over their decision in scrapping the ‘anti hopping’ rule that had been rightfully emplaced by PBS during their tenure of office as that provision would have safeguarded the position of every current BN Members of Parliament in their troubled time.

Panglima Gantang.

written by cheekhiaw, March 23, 2008 21:20:55
Of course it is not the same. It used to be turn-in, now it is crossover. One is good, the other is not.
written by Malaysiaku, March 23, 2008 21:29:29
Ala, this pariah BN only can criticise others. When they do it, it is fair play and they ignore your protests. I am all for the Opposition to do the same thing to BN. Don't worry, as far as I am concern, and I am sure there are others who will support me on this, we will not only forgive but will support the Opposition if it plays dirty against the pariah UMNO and BN.
written by miwaki, March 23, 2008 21:33:43
What is beneficial to BN is considered good but considered evil if at the expense of BN.One thing is for sure,no political party would even consider allowing Najib to cross over.He will be a liability than an asset.
written by clangan, March 23, 2008 21:34:37
Like I said earlier, with this bunch of UMNO bumps, anything can happen, biasakla brader!!! Malaysia Boleh wat!! When Hindraf & Bersih protest, they were called penyanggak and Pak Cik Lah zzz said ini bukan cara orang Malaysia, but when the mamak UMNO Penang went to the street without police permit last week, no one wrote about them and Pak lah diam aje, oiii, tidor ka? Now, This 1st class nincompoop Hisapkerismudin has to come out and open his wide mouth about politician hopping, why didn't they stop this practice when it happened in Sabah when PBS were the opposition and won the state and majority of the MP defected to BN? Ini UMNO punya badul, kelakar botoi! Moreover, many of the bloggers and forumers have a consensus, looking at Hisapkerismudin elaborate family tree, I think he is one of the stupidest family member that carries the Onn family name. Sangat meng sia soi kan!
I hope this SHabery guy read Malaysia Today and go and kick some of his fellow UMNO butts or better still, give all the nincompoops a kick on behalf of the rakyat!
This quote is for you UMNO "better to keep your mouth shut and let others think you are stupid rather than open your mouth and remove that doubt" ; Abraham Lincoln!

Por Nia Mor!
written by cheekhiaw, March 23, 2008 21:35:30
There is nothing dirty about getting people with some goodness left in them to turn on their more greedy and arrogant masters.

It is dignity in play.

written by mountainking, March 23, 2008 22:14:04
UMNO equals to communist. really have no brain and intelligence to know what is democracy and how to respect it. you think malaysia belongs to your bapa?
written by Anak Kampung, March 23, 2008 22:41:35
Despite the fact that 'hopping' will probably benefit the opposition in this present situation, I am full in favour of the anti-hopping law and in full agreement with what Karpal Singh says in the following article. http://www.thestar.com.my/news...sec=nation

It is in the long-term interest of 'the opposition' (and also in the long-term interest of the country) that we have this anti-hopping law. The support of the opposition for this law will show voters that they are not power hungry like the BN. It will also prevent the infiltration of opportunists into the ranks of the BR --- there are already enough of these in the BR and it risks soon becoming another BN. Also, I am not sure if there are enough 'clean' MPs left in BN to enable the BR to form a governmnent if they cross over, but even someone with the cleanest record must be viewed with suspiscion once they cross. If they can do it once, they can do it again.

Unfortunately, if the DAP, and presumably also PAS, do not accept renegades while PKR does, these two 'parties of conviction' (for whom I have the highest respect) will again be paying for their convictions. It will be a victory for realpolitik. For me, it will be a very sad day in Malaysia if we see Anwar Ibrahim as PM with BN crossovers into PKR making it the strongest BR party, while DAP and PAS refuse to take kataks...which is what the news seems to be indicating may happen.

As I've said before, the ideal situaton would be for the BR to pass legislation together with BN MPs voting against the BN whip. Then after the BR have proven themselves, before the next elections, there can be a re-alignment, or just new faces on the BR side and a straight-out win at the ballot box for the BR without any crossovers.

Instead of trying to attract kataks, the first piece of legislation that the BR should try to push through at the federal level is a revival of local elections. This will demonstrate that the BR has a real desire to return power to the people and not grab it for themselves.
written by Bill Gates, March 23, 2008 22:41:45
In the first instance Kerismudin is shameless and should be condemned to the core. Didn't every analyst said he is the caused of BN's downfall? He should be asked to resign along with KJ and Bodohwi.
written by Anak Kampung, March 23, 2008 22:44:35
Oops, sorry, I forgot to add this news item to my last post.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/National/2193682/Article/index_html

So, anyway, that's how I drew my conclusion that PKR are accepting kataks now by the other BR parties are much more principled. Of course, this could be manipulation by the MSM to split BR ranks. If so, BR needs to come out with a clear and unified statement on hopping soon.
written by malsia1206, March 23, 2008 23:58:19
It has been said before many times. Malaysia has 2 systems, 2 sets of rules and laws. The Barisan rules and laws are their own kind. The other is for the rakyat. Barisan rules are far superior and supercede any of the rakyat, including the Federal Constitution. That's partly the reason why they lost badly in the GE.
written by Negarakuku, March 24, 2008 00:18:45
Umno asked other politicians to join them but their Exco not allowed to defect?

Isn´t it like if you can become Muslim but Muslim can´t become other religion?

Can somebody enlighten me please!!!
written by budakindia, March 24, 2008 00:55:26
well in BN and UMNO terms the law only work one way! They are above the law! Shameless, thick skinned! smilies/cheesy.gif I guess they already conveniently forgotten that!
written by Tompios, March 24, 2008 00:59:35
UMNO menghalalkan segala cara untuk menang. Guna nama Allah segala dalam setiap majelis UMNO tapi menipu-penipu dan pembohong. Jangan guna nama Islam dan Allah nanti menjelma menjadi hantu kering di Neraka.

Yes! Negarakuku. Jangan tanya soal begitu. Itu bukan soalan itu fakta. Aku jadi malu kalau UMNO disamakan dgn Islam coz people will elaborate it menjadi Abdullah Badawi disamakan dgn Nabi Muhammad. Nanti orang fikir nabi kami itu suka sentuh2 bahagian luar lengan wanita cantik yang menggiurkan para lelaki normal dan wanita yang tidak normal.
written by kevinD, March 24, 2008 01:23:19
Do onto others and it shall be done onto you!!! God is great , all mighty and all just!!!!
BN and UMNO , terimalah balasan dosa dosa kamu. Semoga ada tempat reserve kat neraka menunggu kau orang.
All the best
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 24, 2008 01:38:39
The kris-wielding boy is mentally-retarded and has no shame to open his big mouth. He has no balls and dare not even talk to TDM son. He is only good in making threatening remarks which carries no weight at all. What kind of leader is this? Maybe boy-scout leader only.
written by Malaysiaku, March 24, 2008 08:03:30
"Sabah used to be very rich but we are now considered a pauper state where every sen of government funds for the improvements of our state had to be begged from Kuala Lumpur".

If the Sabahans and the Sarawakians love being screwed from the behind by UMNO and BN, how can the Opposition help you guys now in East Malaysia? How can they help when the States are under UMNO/BN? You East Malaysians should sack your party leaders who are in cohoots to get rich under BN/UMNO at your expense. Sabah with all the rich natural resources such as timber, etc is now one of the poorest States in Malaysia. Nobody to blame except yourselves! Instead of crying and complaining, do something-lah as we in West Malaysia had.
written by Malaysiaku, March 24, 2008 08:12:03
Dont place all your hope on Pairin. What has he really done for the people and Sabah? Dont cheat yourself in your answer.

BN was in power for all these years and it was during BN/UMNO's time that Sabah is now a pauper State. Dont you know that you guys have been played out by your leaders and UMNO/BN? Cant you see that? Where have you and the rest of the Sabahans been living? Under the coconut shell?
written by JJFoo, March 24, 2008 09:24:30
PARTY HOPPING IS VERY WRONG.
Shame, shame, shame to Hishamudin and Barisan National for condemning “Party hopping” because the Barisan National / Mahatir condoned “Party hopping” big-time, in a massive scale during the previous “PBS” election in Sabah. They, the BN screwed-up, we shouldn’t follow their foot steps otherwise, we are no better than them (or end-up as screwed-up as the BN).

“Party hopping” amounted to betrayal of the voter’s trust, should be made illegal. No exception for candidate elected under “independent party”.

The voters voted a certain candidate because they choose to place their trust in “the candidate” and also to “the party” the candidate associated or choose not-associate with. That is “the mandate” of the people to “the candidate”. In cases when “a candidate” need to be replaced due to resignation, death and etc. A fresh “mandate” from the people in needed through “by-election”. The same “principle” is applicable if “the candidate” chooses to switch party, a fresh “mandate” from the people in needed.

We cannot accept “elected candidate” to become “frogs”, hopping around from party to party with the trust of the people entrusted in them, certainly “personal benefit” is part and parcel of the “hopping” deal. This is not politic, this is “MONKEY POLITIC”. BETRAYAL OF THE PEOPLE’S TRUST.

This should act as a foot note to Anwar Ibrahim, if he is indulging in soliciting BN’s elected candidates to “jump-ship”. This is a “double-edged” sword, cut both ways. “Party hopping” is definitely a very “NEGATIVE” development if allow to happen.
written by technoboy, March 24, 2008 10:14:04
This Kerisham guy is just a shame and nut; we got to thank him for waving the keris anyway. Just another "CAKAP TAK SERUPAH BIKIN"; it just show that UMNO have learn nothing from the latest GE results, still arrogant and thinks that they can do what they like and when others does the same thing, they cry foul.
written by DezMalaysia, March 24, 2008 10:24:43
Brunei's Sultan made the right move not to enter Malaysia. Just see how backwards our fellow Sabahans & Sarawakians are... UMNOputeras are robbing their resources as well and neglecting developements in the 2 states.

I wonder why they (Sabahans & Sarawakians) are so stupid always voting those Baruah Nasionals into power ? Or they like to be Baruahs to the Baruah Nasionals just for RM 300 - 500 per vote & suffer for 5years, 5years and another 5years working as hard labourers in their own lands for RM 500 per month or less while those UMNOputeras & Cronies Pte. Ltd. suck Sabah & Sarawaks' oils & balaks resources dry ? Are their schools different from our Peninsula schools till they never learn ? Or they are denied access to internet ?

Hopefully, a better day for all fellow Malaysians.
NO more BARUAH NASIONALs (BN) !
written by Iliyas, March 24, 2008 12:09:22
Panglima Gantang,some of your facts and suggestion needs to be re-invented.Your priorities is a little suspicious and i beg to defer.Firstly,what is national integration?I believe you are a loose cannon with evil intentions and you must be corrected before further damage is done.While i agree with you that Sabah has been short changed,raped and robbed by BN,especially the Pakistani Musa Aman,why point fingers at West Malaysians and demand that passports should be re-instated for their entry into Sabah.I fail to comprehend your rational here,when the real crooks are just around the corner,please don't tell me you're blind and you had someone insert your article without reading.
Did the illegal immigrants who are walking the streets in Sabah entered the state by using a passport?It is a shame that you are so ignorant.My biggest disappointment is that Sabahans did not make the right choices during the election.We are all Malaysians irrespective if we come from Sabah,Sarawak,Penang,Selangor or Malacca.Please remind yourself that before you make further statements that could create friction.By the way,i have no respect for UPKO,PBS,SAPP and PBRS,all hypocrites of the highest degree.
3 cheers to DSAI.
written by Hockchew, March 24, 2008 12:40:08
Datuk Pairin should bring all the Kadazan to jin BR becos BR will form the government by May 2008 after DSAI win in a by-election.
written by fairnessforall, March 24, 2008 12:54:38
Panglima Gantang, you claim that passports should be required for west malaysians coming into sabah to avoid any tom, dick and harry going in to do illegal activities. Well let me tell you that many sabahan women also come into west malaysia and work in massage parlours, and Im sure you know what massage parlours in west malaysia represent. Shouldn't that be stopped too, then maybe sabahans should also required passports to come into west Malaysia.

As for your other grievances, it is you peoples own fault for voting the BN government. West Malaysians made that mistake for many years, but at least now we have come to our senses and did the right thing for the betterment of us all. Maybe your sabahan people should be advised that they vote is not that cheap and if they want progress and dont want to remain a pauper state, they should vote the opposition.
written by carlitos, March 26, 2008 07:01:22
fairnessforall,

yes as a Sabahan I don't care much if I am required to use passport to go to West Malaysia. As for the Sabahan women come to west Malaysia to work in massage parlour that is what you called the new citizens from Philipines who got their mykad through project IC.

Sabahan did reject BN and as labisan mentioned, through lies and cheat the people decision to kick BN was overthrown through the politics of Katak. Once that happened then project IC was initiated full blast where 1 million new voters from Indon and Philipines to further reduce the ability of Sabahan to make changes.

West Malaysian have just only woken up from BN hoodwink. We had even tried to jump during semangat 46 period but you all in West Malaysia are too blinded by BN and continue to vote BN. During that period Sabahan got punished badly where we experience the meaning of pot holes in roads, experience daily distruption of electricity and water and zero fund from federal government although Sabah contributed RM 10 billion yearly through oil. So please don't think you are so clever now thinking that we in Sabah never woken up. We felt betrayed by W Malaysian that time. Now we adopt a wait and see attitude just like Sarawak and because of that BN managed to stay in power. For now, maybe next election we all can together bring down BN.

Sadly, BN or BR I believe West Malaysian will treat Sabah & Sarawak the same, as a source of wealth to be plundered for the benefits of West malaysian.