Mirror, Mirror on the wall..who is the fairest amongst them all? PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 23 March 2008 20:23

For the past few days, I have been busy with my children's annual school sports day. Being the chairman of the PTA, we the EXCO members has been trying very hard to ensure that the games being a memorable one.

So much so, I have loss touch with the happening in the local political scene as I had very little time to read the papers or listen to the media. I had been under the impression that the government that has been appointed has gone back to work and life is about to go on as usual.

I was taken aback when I read an article on Malaysiakini under the heading “ T'ganu MB: Palace appoints Ahmad Said, boycott looms” last night. This morning I saw another article that seems have put a greater wedge on the governance of the people when Malaysiakini reported that “MB crisis deepens in Terengganu” where it was said that the Kijal State Assemblyman has been sacked from UMNO. Somehow another, I thought that Idris Jusoh has been appointed by the Regency Advisory Council and all the state government has been formed. Hmmm, I missed something… this is what happen when news are not reported on the primetime news. Well, maybe the editor felt the story is not a very interesting news that worth the prime-time exposure! Doh!

The fact of the case is clear i.e. the Palace (i.e. Sultan Mizan) does not want Idris Jusoh. What is not clear is the reason why? It is also not clear on whether there is any breach of law by both the palace officials and the government. I also wonders whether Hadi Awang, the PAS President is involved in anyway, knowing the close relationship between the Sultan Mizan (DYMM) and himself which goes back a long way.

Why there is a problem?

It is quite certain that the actual reason is only known to the DYMM, the caretaker MB Idris and maybe some top UMNO officials and PM. My research on the internet seems to point to a lot of rumours and no concrete fact. SMS has been spreading around that the DYMM is angry because Idris failed to give his brother some business. Another rumour is that, the DYMM was upset because his brother was dropped as a candidate in the recent GE. It was reported in Malaysia Today that the sultan disapproves of Idris because he feels that Idris did not show enough respect to the royal household during his first term as MB.A new rumour is now spreading saying that DYMM was upset because Idris did not respect HIM in the religious capacity as the Head of State. There is also a rumour that DYMM was actually acting on Instruction of fellow Sultans in other State to put pressure on UMNO whom they felt has been side-lining the power of the Royal Household over the years.

What ever it is, the actual reason will never be known as no one has come forward to give the official reason why? In light of this, both the Federal Government (or the PM) and the Regency Advisory Council must issue official statement to the matter. Rumours is unhealthy to all parties concern as well as the people in the state. It also reflects badly in the international scene.

What happened to the Law!

This is what exactly happen when, we seems to put the law in the second place compared to personality. In the case of Terengganu, the AG (Ghani Patail – who seems to be very careful of late) has made it very clear that under Item 34 (1) of the Federal Constitution, the King cannot perform as the Sultan of Terengganu except in the capacity of the State Head of Islam. As such the King has no power in determining who should become the MB.

I am not sure about the state laws of Terengganu with regards to the appointment of the MB. I have been searching the internet but failed to find anything. Based on the assumption that the State laws are the same, then the argument in Perak, Selangor and Perlis where it says that the Sultan must appoint the candidate that is most popular among the state assemblyman. The MB then will appoint the state cabinet. The power of the Sultan and the King is well define and it cannot interfere in the matters related to the state administration. Why is that everyone seems to have some difficulty in understanding the law. The law in this matte is very clear. The problem seems to be lies to the different interpretation by different people in the different state. The interpretation seems to be made to suit the situation. If this continues, it will disrupt the governance of the people.

The Impact

While everyone is dwelling on the political impact, I choose to analyse from the point of the state and the people. After 2 weeks of the GE, the state government has yet to be formed. The efficiency of running the government is affected. Election was done to elect representative to serve the people. People decide who they want to govern them. The people decide on the mode of governance. If this continues then governing is interrupted and matters of the state is not being managed properly.

It is also unclear why the PM and his DPM has chose to be silent in these matter. They need to solve this impasse without going against the law. Now all the 22 State assemblyman has signed a letter and had openly state in the media, that they want Idris, then it would even make it very difficult for anyone to make a u turn and go towards a compromise that will not go against the laws. This is the problem in Malaysia. The law is always treated as a second class matter compared to personality… Maybe the state government of Perak, Perlis, Terengganu and Selangor need to revisit their laws and look on how to make it clearer for all people in the future and prevent the recurrence of such problems

Dr Mohamed Rafick Khan bin Abdul Rahman

MD MMed (OM) MBA (IT) Dip Ae Med CTM AME (17)

www.rights2write.wordpress.com

written by Chaptokam, March 23, 2008 21:03:37
Anyway if you want to know the reasons plenty lah , take it that the UMNO are siphoning all off Trengganu's riches ie oil and gas for them. Maybe they also did not inform DYMM Sultan Mirzan of the latest gas find off Trengganu and Kelantan . What about the Batu Buruk incident ? What about the SIL Khinzir Jantan who controlled all the royalties channelled back to Trengganu and made Idris Jusoh to award all contracts and concessions to their croonies and Not to the people of Trengganu ?? What about the SIL appointing his own people in the exco?? This is definetly a very big issue and not for you or me to comprehend , so don't be too clever otherwise one day you find yourself Personna Non Grata in Trengganu . The DYMM Yang DiPertuan Agong Knows what is best for his state .
written by indianputra, March 23, 2008 21:06:03
I think this guy, Raflick has an article writer. His own english is horrible as seen in his reply

----------written by drrafick, March 21, 2008 | 22:57:20

Dear Edwin

I think you should my writing over and over again before making such conclusion.

In my letter, I talk about meeting the man and thank him. There are many things that he does wrong and if you read my writings in my blog at www.rights2write.wordpress.com, I raised the issues that I think he did wrong. In your own life, you too are never free from doing a wrong thing, dont you? It doesnt mean that your friends should go around and hate you. For the record no amount of hate can make you feel better.

If you have any proof of that he has raped the nation and has plundered the country 's wealth, then you should make a police or BPR report. I judge any man the same way. In my book Pak Lah has failed as a leader but as a man he is a decent fellow. I believe my assessment in this matter is correct.

=================================================

Oh my God, WHAT ENGLISH IS THIS?? Dr, do you normally write your blogs or do you have a script writer!!! ---------------------------------------------------------------
written by nafis, March 23, 2008 21:07:22
quote"

"I also wonders whether Hadi Awang, the PAS President is involved in anyway, knowing the close relationship between the Sultan Mizan (DYMM) and himself which goes back a long way."

doc, did you HAVE to say that? Why must add fuel to the fire?
written by krising1, March 23, 2008 21:08:21
All you men of letters have pointed out that the law is clear in this matter. The king must appoint the one who has the confidence of majority of the elected assemblymen.

The law does not say what happens if the sultan/does not follow that. Nothing. Haha. No government and the UMNOputeras have to give in to the sultan in the end. So why prolong the misery. Just give in.
written by zanie, March 23, 2008 21:19:41
Don't interfere with the sultan if you don't know anything! smilies/angry.gif
written by miwaki, March 23, 2008 21:24:56
Idris should know why why he is not the choice of Sultan of Terengganu for the position of MB.If Idris still has some conscience left in him,he should just make himself disappeared for the sake of the people of Terengganu.

Please do not underestimate the intelligence of our DYMM Agong.
written by Edwin Choo, March 23, 2008 21:40:50
Dr Rafick, rather than reporting to the police or ACA, I would rather much use the power of the ballot box!! See where it has taken us!!! If we did as per your advice, it would be "Besok, Lusa, Tak Tentu and Tak Tahu,lah". I don't know about you but I am confident that besides myself, there are millions of Malaysians who just do not trust the police or for that matter the ACA.

BTW, Indianputra, I couldn't agree with you more.

Sorry, Dr Rafick, I don't have as many qualifications as you but the only qualification that matters to me most is "CITIZEN OF MALAYSIA" and that speaks volumes itself. As a CITIZEN OF MALAYSIA like many of us here, we are duty bound to speak up when it matters. You contend many things in your blog but do the contrary in real life. That's cherry picking. If someone beats you with a bat, you stand up and thank him. Thank you but no thank you. I reckon that's crazy to the power of infinity!!!

BTW, Dr Rafick, millions of Malaysians do not share your sentiments on Pak Lah. Good Lord, dDid you just vote for GE12 or GE11????
written by omarkhayyam, March 23, 2008 21:53:53
Rat-fik, err rafik,

we ain't here to figure out your long credentials, please use that for your resume laaaa .....

we dun give a damn for Tun Tan Tin also mahh and here we had one dog sorry doc wanna blog and impress upon layman like me who dun have a Tan Sri but jus a plain Tan-das

written by chaiksyn, March 23, 2008 21:59:58
Doctor! Doctor! The people of Trengganu are suffering from the broad day light robbery of their petroleum royalty! If His Majesty The Sultan doesn't champion the people of Trengganu, who else? You, the sleeping Dollah?
written by iMac, March 23, 2008 22:22:23
test test test

written by rahzabob, March 23, 2008 22:22:56
evening all,

As far as I see it, since the federal government no longer has the 2/3 majority, the Royals will be more open in disclosing/using their feeilings and available rights. TDM lessened the Royals power in the 80s, the then federal govt has full power to amend the constitution as they please. With 2/3 lost for the second time (the first was in 1969, but federal wrestled back by invoking MAGERAN), federal can no longer do this without the scrutiny of the BR Members of Parliament.

Praise to God, we, the people has created this situation. The Royals can now make sure his royal state is being run properly. This will create the check and balance we wanted. From both ends.

As for the people that "derhaka" to the Your Royal Highness, should I suggest you invoke the law that enables these guys to be cast out from the state. (BUANG NEGERI) Just like what had happened to the late P.RAMLEE in Perak. Since they are no longer in the state, I suggest a new state by-election to be held immediately.

Another thing, I saw Idris reaction on TV and he is calm and willing to accept the new MB. The guys harping are Muhyiddin, T.adnan, Rosol and the BN gang. Maybe Idris knows if he step off the line, he gonna get kicked out from the state, so he let the rest make the fuss.

Just my 2 cents worth. (opps come april gonna be 5 cents)

BTW I'm not a TeGanunian but my wife is and this is my first posting since 1998. Great to be back again.

Cheers and goodnite all.
written by iMac, March 23, 2008 22:23:48
Dr. Rafick. I wish to comment on your reply to Edwin.

Yes, I agree that we are never free from doing a wrong thing. But when you hold the highest office in the country, it is something else. The fate of the people and nation is in your hand.

This “decent fellow” had done many wrong things which has put the rakyat at the wrong end of the stick.

When he keeps lying to the rakyat and plunder their money for his family and cronies whilst the rakyat suffers, how can you describe this man as a decent fellow; especially for someone who is the Grand Imam of Islam Hadari.

This guy saw it fit to enrich his family off blood money from the Iraqui Oil for Food program. Still think he is a decent fellow? What about his extravagance with the yachts, planes, etc. jetting around and sailing when the rakyat was waist deep in water.

The contracts for his son and family members, extending the IGP’s tenure in spite of all that was revealed in MT, extending the contract for that creepy looking guy at SPR to the extent that the constitution was amended in order to retain cheating expertise just to make sure that he and his son in law will win at the elections. Nice fellow eh?

I can go on and on and on and on. And yet you can describe this man as a decent fellow.

You must be out of your mind or perhaps too busy with your children’s sports day to notice what really is happening in the country to ask Edwin to make a police or BPR report.

I bet if it was a clean election, BN and UMNO is now history. And credit would go to this "decent fellow" and his SIL.

written by mountainking, March 23, 2008 22:44:26
seems that Rafick is very proud of his education achievement. he has to spell out the medicine degree and his MBA qualification in all his post. i have mine too ...

Mountainking
FCCA (UK), Msc Finance (Manchester Business School), CFA, PhD Candidate (UM)

jokinglah....where got so many qualifications?

only have one qualification...

Mountainking
Lifelong Anti-UMNO (Rakyat Malaysia)
written by Bill Gates, March 23, 2008 22:49:44
Yes Yes Yes. I quite agree that His Majesty the Sultan of Terengganu use his power to kick the 23 aduns out of Terengganu and make Pas the government and send Ahamd Said to jail for corruption.
written by Areka, March 23, 2008 23:24:30
Hey, Rafick, dun show off with all these titles. they dun mean a thing other than just represent you are qualified in certain fields. Dun be like those BN arrogant gansters....BE HUMBLE.

I too have three degrees and a Masters, but I never show off!!! In here we are not concerned with titles, we are concerned with characters!!!
written by clangan, March 23, 2008 23:48:27
Ha..ha..ha..! Joker, I hope the terengganu goverment will never be form untill 2012, next general election!!! I relek only when I see UMNO terengganu is in a mess, but berani jugak this UMNO wira kampung, dare to piss the King, "Tuanku, hamba akan tendang jubor Idris jahanam, jangan tuanku risau!" This Dr. Rafick, wah, lots of title behind his name, I also got, look below,

Datuk seri Dr Tiu Kow lei
BTC (Boh Tak Cheh), MBA (married but available), PHD(Permanent head damage), Bsc(Brest sucking creep) all form Chibai (Chinese Best Asian Institute)
written by cruzeiro, March 24, 2008 00:09:49
Raffick,
Ditch the ABCDs okay - it is shameful if you ask me ...

Anyway just a question ...
since you say," ....except in the capacity of the State Head of Islam. As such the King has no power in determining who should become the MB."

.... can I take it that you mean to say that Islam has no political role to play, at least in determining ethics & morality?
written by harrbm, March 24, 2008 00:42:58
>
>

Dear Dr. Raffick,

What you heard and what you receive by SMS are all true until it is proven untrue by the Malaysia Today.

>
written by budakindia, March 24, 2008 01:07:03
The Regency of Terengganu just wanted another guy from BN to be the MB! Why is that so hard to do when they have like 22 people? It's not like they wanted an opposition to be the MB which is a minority in that state! What's with the noise and bickering that it should be one and only Idris? What happens if suddenly Idris just perish, the state will not have a MB? smilies/cheesy.gif

Oh come on, be an adult, BN. Just accept the appointed MB. After all he's still your people! You don't even loose a thing by doing that and call it off! It's a mature and responsible person would do! Unless you have hidden agenda on the appointment of MB! smilies/angry.gif
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 24, 2008 02:16:45
This doctor Khan with many titles thinks he is so great. Obviously he fails to impress all the M-T bloggers with his article.
Who cares what you have been doing for the past few days? What makes you think any right-minded bloggers will share any of your shallow thoughts. You have a lot to learn, and far from what you think you can do here. So don't try to show off again OK? Be humble and next time whenyou come back to M-T perhaps some will pity you.
written by Chuang Tze, March 24, 2008 03:05:45
The people of Trengganu voted for the Bn Govt. and got it. If the people in Trengganu has made the decision then the MB that commands the support of the majority of the Assemblymen must be installed as the MB by the Sultan.

If he doesn't, then if the BN was as strong as when under Mamakthir, the BN would have lessened the Royalty's powers some more. unfortunately, the BN is weak now and the Royalty is taking advantage of the situation for a "feudal comeback".

It is a choice of 2 evils as far as I am concerned. If the BN forces the decision and makes Idris the MB, the corruption and siphoning of funds and resources goes on, but that is what the voters voted for (apparently anyway), but if the Sultan wins, then the spectre of the lawlessness of the Royalty will come back to haunt us when Sultans could indulge in gambling and get some Datuks and Tan Sris to bail them out, beat up hockey coaches, slap motorists on the road, and kill golf caddies with golf clubs.

This is not what we want surely!! Certainly, not I !!

written by Ben Nordin, March 24, 2008 08:27:42
Dear Doctor Rafick(MD MMed (OM) etc etc.), are you suggesting that the Sultan of Terengganu , who also happens to be the King of Malaysia at the moment, with a retinue of advisers (and lawyers, no doubt), do not know or is ignoring the constitution of the his own state? It seems clear to me that he just doesn't want Idris Jusoh as MB. Thus far, I think he is being "discrete" on what he really think of Idris Jusoh. Perhaps he is disgusted with Idris Jusoh for doing all sorts of development in Terengganu that benefit only a few. Perhaps he was upset with Idris Jusoh for not having the Sultan to launch the Hadhari Park but let the Grand Imam of Hadhari open the park instead. Perhaps....(the list goes on). The only thing to do is for the grand Imam of Hadhari to seek audience with the King and solve the problem. MOi? I just want BR to take over Terengganu the next time around. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Bigjoe99, March 24, 2008 08:38:22
You point is very valid and may actually be part of the reason why the Terengganu Sultan is doing this. Suppose they take it to the Hight Court to decide. Imagine the court proceeding... The Sultans may be the only ones who can challenge the integrity of the courts itself. It cannot simply dismiss a Sultan's claim that the court is NOT independent and cannot judicate. It would be a turned into a judicial crises.....
written by fairnessforall, March 24, 2008 12:21:11
Well having all those credentials does not mean one is intelligent. It just means one has had the opportunity to go for higher education and get those so called degrees, PHds etc, which anyone who had the funds and is just willing to spend time reading books can obtain.

One does not need to have high education to be intelligent. There are lots of people who have not had the opportunity to get a higher education but they are more intelligent that those who have. Look at KJ, what a dumb ass he is. I know lots of SPM holders who are much more intelligent that many I know who have degrees and PHDs.

As for Dr Rafick, he must have been asleep if he can say that bodowi is a decent guy. A decent guy will not order the police to spray chemical on innocent people, even on children who are just trying to give him roses. A decent person will not ignore when peoples loved ones bodies are snatched and buried according to islamic rights when they are not muslims. A decent person will not be holidaying in Australia when people in Johor were suffering during the floods, a decent person will not spend millions on himself when the people are suffering just to make ends meet and the list goes on.

Maybe Dr Rafick should explain when his defination of decent is.