Mahathir backs EGM move PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 20:07

Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said he supports the proposal by Gua Musang Member of Parliament Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah that Umno call for an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) on May 11.

He said the EGM was necessary to discuss the reasons why the Barisan Nasional (BN) led by Umno had lost the two-third majority and its defeat in five states in the recent general election.

He claimed that many people, including Umno members, had voted for the opposition not because they supported the opposition, but because they did not like the Umno leadership.

"But they are afraid to voice their opinion," he said after launching the book entitled "Management Astray: Resuscitating Ailing Organisations" written by the late Tan Sri Basir Ismail, here.

Asked whether he supported Razaleigh's intention to contest the Umno presidency to rehabilitate the party, Dr Mahathir said the question of who was going to contest should be discussed after the EGM.

Dr Mahathir said: "Probably there are others who are also keen to be (Umno) President, so we have to give everyone the opportunity. It's not a matter of the presidency, it's a matter concerning Umno. What we observe in the recent general election was that many Umno members had voted for the opposition."

He said the fear to speak up among Umno members was obvious as not a single party member dared to support him when he called for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to step down following the BN's major setback in the general election.

"Yet I met a lot of these people who expressed dissatisfaction with the (current) leadership," he claimed.

He claimed that Umno members now were afraid to voice their opinion on the party leadership because they feared action would be taken against them if they were to say something which the Government did not like.

Asked about the possibility of a split in Umno if Razaleigh were to challenge the Party President, Dr Mahathir said when he was the Umno President and Prime Minister, Umno had been split twice but the members were reunited later.

Dr Mahathir also proposed that Umno amend its constitution to provide for the establishment of a presidential council to advise the President because "we cannot trust one person with too much power".

He said the Council should not be elected by the party divisions because they could be manipulated and should comprise independent people from within the party as well as from outside including from the professional circle.

He said this was necessary because of late the Umno Supreme Council was found to be ineffective since members considered criticising the leadership as an act of disrespect.

On the 25 non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and Malay charitable organisations to set up the Action Front For Malay Solidarity (BBPM) to unite the Malays regardless of their political ideologies, Dr Mahathir said it was good but the objectives of its formation must be studied.

On the absence of Wanita Umno representatives in the Cabinet, he said they should protest but he heard that "the protest was only half-way and subsequently said, we support".

On the attempt of buying members of parliament from the Barisan Nasional to join the opposition, he said cynically that it was done by both sides and "it is very democratic".  - DAILY EXPRESS

written by Bill Gates, March 23, 2008 20:10:33
When you are in power, those UMNO hypocrites will even lick your balls... but now nobody notice you anymore. That's right Tun, Melayu UMNO mudah lupa
written by Hakim Abdullah, March 23, 2008 20:12:43
They have a cancerous growth of an agressive nature practically consuming them from the inside and they are arguing about whether to go to which clinic and to consult with which doctor.......
written by joeawk, March 23, 2008 20:19:55
The state we are in today is all because of this old fart. I just can't stand him making statements. He can go fly kites.
written by cheekhiaw, March 23, 2008 20:34:16
More like M backing for extraordinary goons' meeting...

written by MasterYoda, March 23, 2008 20:37:49
YOU! its you! Mahathir!!

You are the root of all our problems here! and now you try to hide it and blame badawi! (not that i favour him) was it not you who brought in George Soros? was it not you who did not know how to keep you loud mouth shut and critize othe nation?... so what have you achieved by hentaming other nations?...nothing! was it not you who instilled the climate of fear with authoritarian gestures? ISA,Sensitive issues etc

You are evil! You are manipulative And you think you are cunning!...actual you are just the STINK of the SHIT..not even shit. Now you use the weakness of Badawi's admnistration to TURN up the heat!

You are lousy and two face! what Bapa title should i give you... ah! "Bapak Masalah Malaysia" - this is your award! was it not you who pushed for privatization, only to put it under your UMNO cronys. You have wreaked our country, silenced the Royalties and split all the races until we are so hurt!
written by Vincent, March 23, 2008 21:07:53
Ha! Looks like this Bapa Ketam talks again. ' Son, walk straight & properly '.
written by temenggong, March 23, 2008 21:38:32
There is nothing they can do to maintain 'malay unity'. Absolutely nothing. It was a facade to begin within in the first place. Umno is finished for good. Mahathir and Ku Li can go to hell!

The other part is that the chinese are equally divided and lost as what to do!
written by SBennit, March 23, 2008 21:58:30
Look, this prick still has the cheek to say this "On the attempt of buying members of parliament from the Barisan Nasional to join the opposition, he said cynically that it was done by both sides and "it is very democratic"

He seems to see no problem using the peoples money for corrupt means.
written by MMhunter, March 23, 2008 22:55:10
before mahathir goes to hell he must go to sungai buloh prison and spend sometime there for his crimes.He must pay for his wrong doings.I just hope some one will initiate a forum to have this man charged for all his wrong doings to us and the country.He shouldnt be allowed to even give his voice on how this country should be run.He has done enough damage already.
written by mypanida, March 24, 2008 00:48:32

Mahathir was the cause of the cancer that plagued Malaysia.

zzzz
written by Negarakuku, March 24, 2008 01:09:39
Korek korek korek!!!

And now this old burger is full of vengeance and hatred!!!! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Pangkis Pangazou, March 24, 2008 02:09:31
Dear Mahathir,

Compared to you, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is an angel. That is my opinion of you. Nevertheless, I don't care who leads UMNO.

I don't care if UMNO goes to the dogs. I don't care if UMNO falls into political oblivion. To me UMNO is evil and the faster their demise politically, the better it is for Malaysians. Why do i have such hatred for UMNO? Well for me, UMNO is the reason for all this racial polarisation in our beloved Country. UMNO will go the extra mile to create racial and religious tensions just to ensure their political survival. They will not hesitate to fan racial sentiments even if it will destroy the harmony of our Nation just so that they remain in power. Does all this rings a bell to you dear Mahathir? Of course it does... all this things worsen during your dictatorship. Remember what you did to Sabah? You remember the issue of the Kadazan headdress? You remember alleging that Sabah wanted their own TV station so that Pairin could propagate Christianity? ALL this are blatant lies concocted by UMNO. Or are you SUDAH LUPA? Ohh.. I get it... You mudah lupa...

UMNO is capable of poisoning the minds of all Malaysian. So, if UMNO were to be thrown into political abyss, i'd be the 1st one to cheer. To me, there is no love lost as far as UMNO is concern. They could go to hell for all i care.
written by stillnotproud2bmsian, March 24, 2008 02:13:33
He deceived us all that Malaysia was doing well when he issued Mega projects like the twin towers and etc.. (not that they r all that bad, it brought some good too..) Its all an illusions of grandeur he painted 4 us in believing that we were doing ok till the economic crisis came in 97'. And so what he did? in UMNO tradition they blame it on someone else (Soros) for it but rather it was that the evil Gov. didn't know how to manage the country's money while they sucked it dry... This caused disillusionment to all of us... Not any more!! Let him burn in hatred negarakuku... so that he can burn in hell.... smilies/angry.gif
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 24, 2008 02:27:35
The twin-tower was nearly sold to Brunei when the coffer was almost dry.
We have to borrow heavily from the World Bank and also from Japan, in order to finance all the mega-projects.
We are using crude-oil and LNG to repay our debts, on a contra basis, at the fixed price of around US 20 at that time. Can you imagine how stupid we are, with the current price of oil hovering above US 100 per barrel?
written by stillnotproud2bmsian, March 24, 2008 02:33:51
Imagine how foolish we were!!! smilies/sad.gif How can I say to others that I am proud to be Malaysian? Goodness.... Rise up people!! smilies/angry.gif
written by clangan, March 24, 2008 03:07:22
Yawn... What is the problem? Rise up with an EGM... Tak payah le...Jom la, Tun Mamak, Nasi Briani on me, teh tarik on you, we both can become YB 24jam Kedai Nasi Kandar Paandi Kuti and I will listen to all your cerita dongeng and how you accuse Anwar main buntut, Rafidah Aziz AP story, Ayah Pin's palace, Hisapkerismudin is actually a pondan, Khairy actually a free mason and his juicy story at a hotel with celcom bird Maya Karin, Tun Razak & Harun ; your sifu and Cina killer, Khinzir Toyol house bigger than yours, Najis the C4 expert and the Mongol whanker, your pally friend Lingam Chilli sauce and adnan's beer addiction, Eusoff Chin and his many tag along holiday trips, Muhamadx2 Taib ignorance and poor ingrish while carry berkilo-kilo cash to Down Under, Mat Deros with his Palace in a TOL land, Kuli with the Bumiputra Finance case, why tunku Abdul Rahman call you an *******, why Musa Hitam would love to pump your ass with acid hidrochloride, why samyveloo always tells everyone how good your shoes taste, how Ling Liong Sik started his fish ball noodles empire and his son became a billionaire before the age of 28, why pak lah always like chicks other than malays....
Take you 10 straight nights and you still will not finish, forget about UMNO la, it does not belong to you anymore, it is now in the hands of UMNO no.1 Sleeping beauty and No.2 feces...
Relek la old man...jom mamak...

Beh Ta han
written by technoboy, March 24, 2008 10:06:06
TDM, the mother of UMNO morons, he did so much damage to the country that it probably takes another 20 years to get things normal again.
written by tcutcutcu, March 24, 2008 13:21:01
yenna yenna maha dei....

Just die already, you irrelevant piece of dinosaur shit...