The Aftermath of Regrets - So near yet so far .... The Sabah Story in Brief. PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 18:45
The aftermath of a political tsunami in Sabah will always be without radical and concrete change.

The stereotype ideology of the Barisan Nasional in surfacing issues such as,illegal immigrants, roject i/c, 20 points agreement, West Malaysian companies chalking up all major projects, and convincingly the list goes on and on, is no more acceptable.

The latest fiasco being,an intelligence team coming to Sabah purportedly to verify the rumors of Barisan MP's crossing over to the Opposition.Humorous as it appeared to be, for a short moment in time,it sounded like Ian Flemming gauge the services of this newly appointed secret agents for his next James Bond movie.This will surely be a windfall for Sabah in terms of revenue and tourism prospects.Wonder weather,we'll finally see a "Sabahan"  James Bond in action.

Let us further reflect this aftermath.We've heard,Chong En Leong talk about illegal immigrants and project i/c and PBS says it's his personal opinion.We've also heard about the 20 points issue being brought up again,and Yong Teck Lee on the intelligence team.Where have all this people been for the last 24 years,surely not living in exile.In this high tech and cyberspace era,Sabahans will surely attest that these issues have long been a serious problem that has threaten the people.Why are we still hearing problems that should have been resolved?The root of the matter is that nothing has been done and nothing will be done.Your guess as to why, is as good as mine,think about it...!!!There is no political Will among BN politicians only hypocrites who have hoodwinked the people all this while.It has and will always be just talk with no action.Elections after elections we hear the same old sob story.

During the intervening days prior to polling,Musa Aman said only Barisan Nasional will be able to fulfill  the needs of the rakyat.The million dollar question is,which rakyat was he referring to,the rich,cronies or the poor? Sabah is today the poorest state in Malaysia,non-availability of basic infrastructure in most areas,total monopoly of cronies in projects,on-going legal suits against the government for not fulfilling contractual obligation, just to mention a few.Perhaps Musa Aman would like to tell the people his definition of RAKYAT.

One curios observation again is,the intelligence team from UMNO-H'Q. Would it be that  Musa  Aman has fallen out or  KL is weary of him or because East Malaysians cannot be trusted? The ever famous ANTI-HOP LAW has emerge again.Will it be enacted? Interesting to imagine how PBS would further react to this,or will their silence continue now that they have further strengthen their position both at Federal and State level.

The one thing we're certain,all 59 Aduns and 24 MP's in Sabah will surely work hard to ensure further enhancement of their position.But be fore-warned Sabahans,come next election we will continue to hear  the same  problems, illegal immigrants etc. Hopefully with the change of tide thats changing by the day, we may not have to wait that long before Sabahans can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel.My advice,be strong and lets not just do coffee shop talk but later decide differently.

Die Hard Malaysian

written by joeawk, March 23, 2008 19:33:47
Blame not the politicians but sabahans themselves. Just the their west malaysian counterpart, for so long we ain't got no balls and kept being conned one election after another until March 8 when suddenly our balls showed.

Sabahans should take a leaf out of your west malaysian counterpart and dump the BN, especially UMNO and PBS.
written by Bill Gates, March 23, 2008 19:37:54
Sabahan friends:

Do you are still want to be colonialized by UMNO? The peninsula Malaysians have thrown out BN due to UMNO's political hegemony. Sabah came close when Sabahans voted in PBS. But unfortunately PBS has sold their souls to UMNO and along with it the CM's post which is supposed to be rotated but stopped by UMNO's greed for power. Time to change.
written by Edwin Choo, March 23, 2008 19:52:16
Sabahans must stand up for themselves and take this fight to the BN. There is too much self-interest amongst the local MPs and ADUNs. As a result, Sabahans are continually raped of their dignity and all sense of decency. I believe the true awakening is beginning to happen (slow as it may) and Sabahans at the next GE will truely experience a bout of MAKKAL SAKTI!!!!
written by Pangkis Pangazou, March 23, 2008 19:53:21
The root of the matter is that nothing has been done and nothing will be done.Your guess as to why, is as good as mine,think about it...!!!There is no political Will among BN politicians only hypocrites who have hoodwinked the people all this while.It has and will always be just talk with no action.

The leaders knows this... the people knows this.. but why do a majority of Sabahans still vote for these people? While i do admit that quite a significant number of voters also voted the opposition but most voters especially the rural folks still vote for these non-performing hypocrites. This is such a frustrating situation for us well-informed Sabahans who voted for the Opposition. If we study the last election result, we could see that most urban and sub-urban areas in Sabah voted for the opposition but due to the foolishness of Sabah's opposition parties who failed to negotiate the seats, these areas went to BN. Such a frustrating situation.

The situation in the rural areas were more frustrating and hopeless to say the least. We do see a significant number of people voting for the opposition there

They will simply vote for UMNO candidates just like in the PBS era, when the KDMs will always vote for the "Jabat Tangan" symbol no matter who the candidates were. But now i can see a shift in the PBS voters... most (esp in urban and sub-urban areas) can see that PBS has compromised its principles and now more willingly support DAP or PKR.

What i am trying to state here is that Sabahans have been known to vote along racial lines. While a majority of Sabah Malays are still doing that, most KDMs have transcended these racial factor and voted for DAP or PKR (the result in Kapayan or Inanam is an example). If our Muslim brothers/sisters still see UMNO as their only hope then it will be an impossible task for BR to capture Sabah in view of the last delineation of electoral boundaries drawn along racial lines.
written by Gerald, March 23, 2008 20:38:08
Correct correct correct. I used to admire Pairin but now, I think he has lost his balls just bcos he is now in the cabinet. Not only the balls but maybe the prick as well has disappeared. All are yes men...
written by Hope4all, March 23, 2008 20:38:37
PBS leaders are betraying their own KDM people for their own benefit. There's no money/incentive for the leaders in supporting these marginalized KDM folks, their own people.

At this stage, with illegals Indonesian and Mindanao illegals as overnight UMNO/BN blue MyKad voters, they will be sidelined even more into oblivion.

The Sabahan majority need to realize that once in 5 years of election incentive and vote buying by BN will do them more harm than good for their long term survival.
written by temenggong, March 23, 2008 21:15:39
The entire 52 BN MPs needs to be stoned to death, ala hudud!

We'll let the kadazans and dayaks do it and educate us on their culture.

Else, they might as just as well secede and not waste our time. And no there is no need to do the sumazau till then!
written by chaiksyn, March 23, 2008 22:06:08
For as long as postal votes remain, the Sabahan will never see the light at the end of the tunnel! The opposition will never be able to breach the Sabah BN government because the filipinos are the real RAKYAT who are being given super first class status in Sabah! So long as they mark 'X' on the voting paper lah bah!
written by huguon jr, March 23, 2008 22:49:40

By judging the average of registered voters only making their votes 60% below around Sabah, I bet the people have given up and don't give a damn on this hanky panky politics..Sad really. I really miss the PBS ruling back in the 90's..and now these "Mondou" voters (pilak, Bugis(sulawesi), indon) gain influence of the election outcome..The leaders too surrounded money waiting for the grab..Pity, hope there'll be a light at the end of a dark tunnel...
written by Tompios, March 24, 2008 00:44:41
written by temenggong, March 23, 2008 | 21:54:15

Honestly said Tompios.

We DO know what's going on. Umno was doing the same thing that christian missionaries did before. But the sabahans are 'kais pagi makan pagi', looking for the now, just searching for food and couldn't care less. Religion was a trade. So we don't care whether sabahans are christians or muslims. We respect neither.
==================

Tompios,

Temenggung! I think you miss some historical background of Sabah. Could you explain to me the involvement of the Missionaries to convert Sabahan to Christian faith and trying to persuade them unite with Malaya? Why you get this historical backgroud? I don't think that the missionaries have the idea of joining Malaya federation at all! In the same time, who are the missionaries that you mention to? In addition, give me a list of Missionaries from 1881-1967 who are involve in politic. I know you no nothing about Sabah.

As far as I know, those Missionaries bring glory to Sabahan people by build and organize many schools around Sabah. They taught local people to be independent and ready to govern their land after WW2. So, what you think about why Sabahan keeps vote for BN? UMNO? Do you think that UMNO playing the same game like those missionaries? You wrong!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 24, 2008 02:38:31
Obviously, Sabahans are not fully aware that they have been short-changed by BN.
The current events and happenings will expose enough facts and evidence to open up their minds, and once they discover the truth, only God knows what is going to happen.
written by apasalahku, March 24, 2008 04:57:35
we have been leeched by a openly racist corrupted government and still the said government is in power. If no one dares to say the obvious then i will:
It is because Malaysians are a greedy lecherous simple-minded bunch and Sabahans are even more simple minded than that
written by Rundukon, March 24, 2008 09:05:39
The people didnt vote PKR into power simply because Jeffry Kitingan cannot be trusted. He jumped from PBS to AKAR to PBRS back to PBS, tried to get into UMNO and when his application was rejected he jumped to PKR!

In AKAR he staged a coup de tat by installing himself as President when the then President the late Mark Koding went on study leave. He again staged a coup de tat when he was in PBRS by ousting Joseph Kurup as President. He failed on both occassions.

It must be noted that PKR did field several promising leaders e.g. Moses Iking, Ramli Dua to name a few. BUT the prospect of being led by the 4 or 5 faces Jeffry make the people shy away from voting PKR.

High time for Jeffry to quit politic altogether!
written by Tompios, March 24, 2008 10:34:36
smilies/grin.gif very cheap bought? Yes, I do agree with that. Since Haris, Mustapa and all Moslem leaders became chief Minister then everything turn to lalang. Because this people come from lalang. Backed and supported by UMNO lalang from Malaya.

written by Rundukon, March 24, 2008 11:08:29
Tompios, please be careful when making statements. The lalangs are those people who 'lompat-lompat'. And their leader is none other than Jeffrey Kitingan! PBS under Pairin also lompat-lompat. PBS jumped into BN, jumped out, and jumped in into BN again.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, March 24, 2008 14:19:55
bn haramjadah wrote:
YOU SABAHANS AND SARAWAKIANS HAD A CHANCE BUT YOU WERE PURE IMBECILES, SO REAP WHAT YOU SOW..

People like bn haramjada are the real imbeciles here. These people don't know what is the actual situation here in Sabah. He doesn't know about the problems of PTIs.. i take it that he is from Semenanjung... he does not know one cent about this mountain of a problem facing Sabah and its people. The locals are now outnumbered... it is a very herculean task to unseat UMNO/BN primarily because of this nagging problem. Simply because these "warganegara pasang siap" are the brainchild of UMNO. We actually need a miracle to happen here... it seems hopeless but miracles do happen.

I am saddened by people like bn haramjada (whom i gather is from Semenanjung) who are quick to condemned Sabahans and Sarawakians. These people are the ungrateful bunch who knows nothing about the history and the complexity of these two Malaysian Borneo States and it's people. I would say if it weren't for Sabah and Sarawak... you Semenanjungs have nothing... so, never be too quick to condemn us. A major potion of the Country's wealth came from these 2 states.
written by Old Holborn, March 24, 2008 15:17:11
Some of the posts in here are very insulting to those of us Sabahans who have ALWAYS voted opposition, no matter what hardship, because we are brave enough to stand up for what is right. In the past when for successive GEs Sabah voted in opposition, and Federal under M@%$#ir whacked Sabah, No development funds etc, introduce project IC, flood with illegals, Where were all you brave people from semenanjung? All still buta voting BN BN only. Now you want to turn round and call Sabahan simple and stupid. Much as I feel angry with the orang kampung for giving there precious vote to BN, I also pity them. Poor education background, lack of information, temptation of money, threat of backlash; add on top of this cheating with postal votes, flooding with New bumiputras and project IC holders, all this means Sabah has another 5 years being sodomised by that voracious greedster. I dream and pray for the day when I can see the front page picture of him being lead away in handcuffs. No more smile then, thats for sure.
written by Iliyas, March 24, 2008 17:29:18
Bravo,finally we agree,i take it that we all totally agree with Die Hard Malaysian.A true Sabahan who knows what he's talking about.My brothers who have commented in this forum,i truly believe we can make a difference.Let us continue in our quest to further educate and guide more Sabahans,because ultimately our objectives is to free Sabahans from BN...Being Nowhere and rise with BR...Being Right.
written by Krazee, March 25, 2008 11:22:54
Disappointed with Sabah and Sarawak - esp Sabah, after the numerous insults still the results are for BN. Yes they will have to live with regrets that they could have changed the history of Malaysia and hopefully result in a better Malaysia for our future generations. To be fair, I'm also very disappointed with Johoreans too....Is it due to blind loyalty ??? Are the writings on the walls so small that it cannot be read ??? or are these taken for Griffitis ??
Friends, do read the Griffitis....they are interesting.