Panel to probe dubious land deals in Penang PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 17:15

The state government has set up a special panel to investigate “land improprieties” amounting to “tens and tens of thousands of ringgit”.

The week-old new administration has uncovered improprieties in the previous government's practices that could cause a huge contingent liability for the state, chief minister Lim Guan Eng said.

Set to start investigations next week, the newly formed three-member panel headed by deputy chief minister I Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin will comprise deputy CM II Dr P. Ramasamy and exco member Phee Boon Poh.

“I cannot go into details because of legal reasons. What we have discovered may only be the tip of the iceberg but it has caused us great anxiety.":

"That is why I have set up the panel. I am taking a personal interest in this matter because in Penang, land is even more precious than gold. Because of the seriousness of the matter, I have informed Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas of our preliminary findings.

“We must stop unhealthy practices that cause severe strains on the state’s finances.

“When we have to pay compensation because of irregularities, it makes it difficult for us to help the poor. We need to see if similar improprieties have also occurred in other agencies,” said Lim.

“As an accountant, I am very worried but as chief minister, I must find ways to attract investors to plug the deficiency. We need to do a thorough audit to determine the actual state of our finances,” he said.

Lim, who is also the state Industrial Development and International Trade, and Land Affairs and Land Development Committee chairman, was speaking to reporters after handing out 400 goodie bags to senior citizens at the Penang Yi Ching Taoism Association Saturday.

Asked about the missing documents in the state executive councillors’ offices, Lim said he did not want to comment yet. “Let state secretary Datuk Jamaluddin Hasan investigate. Besides, what is gone is gone,” he said. - THE STAR

written by zonefinder, March 23, 2008 17:32:09
Worms are starting to come out from the wood. All of us knows that the core is rotten. Fortunately we still have smart and talented folks and a richly endowed land to recover. Now that we have BN on the defensive, we'll see how long they can survive..
written by penang1, March 23, 2008 17:34:29
There is one thing Guan Eng must do, please kick out all the BN goons from PBA's board of directors. PBA is the sole water supplier for the entire state of Penang. Koh Tsu Koon privatized it, and now it is a listed company.

The structure of the privatized company is this -
PBAHB owns PBAPP, which runs the water business in Penang. The state of Penang owns 50% of the PBAHB share. Today is 23rd, March, 15 days AFTER the GE12. 15 days already, and the PBA board of director is still being populated by goos from bn.

Please check out the following links - www.pba.com.my/bod_pbapp.htm and www.pba.com.my/bod_pbahb.htm

The managing director for PBA is a staunch supporter of umno, and PBA being owned 50% by the state of Penang, that PBA managing director is an umno nuclear bomb for the state of Penang. Let me explain why ...

If umno wants to do something terrible to Guan Eng's government, they could ask that PBA managing director to do something so that PBA lost tremendous amoung of money, LEGALLY. For example: PBA could be investing in a water treatment plant in the middle of the Sahara Desert, where there is no water. This "investment" would naturally resulted in the lost of hundreds of millions of dollars. And the state of Penang, being the stakeholder of 50% of PBA shares, would have to pick up the tab.

PBAHB, being a listed company, is entitled to do such an investment, even if it resulted in PBA lost hundreds of millions. In other words, if umno wants to do Guan Eng's government in, they can, today ! Plus, because of the PBA board of directors in charge are ALL bn goons, that managing director can easily get a "GO AHEAD" from the PBA Board of Director. That is why, I am urging Guan Eng to immediately KICK OUT ALL THE BN GOONS from PBA's Board of Directors. With the BoD changed, the PBA managing director, that umno guy, wouldn't have a free hand to play-play anymore.

And, Guan Eng, being the CM of Penang state, has the right to replace that MD too, if he wants ! Therefore, Sdr. Guan Eng, I beseech you, please take IMMEDIATE ACTION on the PBA case !
written by notsosmart, March 23, 2008 17:59:10
Those Penang ex-CM and its exco team previous dealing and contract should be investigated, leave no stone unturned. The public are required to report all irregularities to the new state gomen. If the previous gomen official are found guilty, they should be charged for treason. Selling the Penang state for personal benefit, resulting the suffering of its rakyat, should be a capital punishment.
written by ultraman, March 23, 2008 18:10:57
I feel every state under BN has such dubious deals. I hope all these crooks can be brought to book. No wonder all excos scramble for their lives when they lost the states. they remove all the files. Malu la BN! Mana muka Pak Lah?
In the next election, make sure that all excos surrender all files before polling days. Otherwise the same problems would arise
written by Taikohtai, March 23, 2008 19:15:14
My ex-home state Penang is now leading the way in the fight against corruption and all the dirty dealings of the previous gomen. CM LGE is again leading the fight against RAPE, only this time it is State, instead of statutory. But really, there is no difference, right people?
I believe Selangor will be the next to discover untold improprietory dealings by TOYOL. Perak and Kedah to follow.

Guess what happens then? Overwhelmed by the stench of 50 years of rot, rubbish, other states will also cry bloody murder. The tide shall surely turn bigger against BN come next GE. BN shall be buried 6 feet (make that 6.30) , never to arise ever to haunt the rakyat of Malaysia..................
written by Negarakuku, March 23, 2008 19:28:20
This is a good example where other states should also follow. Bodoh also should!!!

Malaysia is so corrupted to the core, how I wish all MP should be investigate!!!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by damarwulan, March 23, 2008 19:28:33
Hi Guan Eng, when we were kids and we lost something, we go and search for it by going to all the places that we have went , back tracking, though how difficult it maybe. So please do not give up on the lost documents, there must be someone out there that has copies of the documents. Please advertise for them to deliver the documents for rewards by the state.
written by ekt tan, March 23, 2008 19:52:01
Now the action starts. LGE must ensure all those who are involved in the improprieties face the full force of the law and monies recovered no matter where they are.
written by shireen tauffik, March 23, 2008 20:26:26
way to go Guan Eng!!!every move u made is the right move for me. keep it up!!
written by Negarakuku, March 24, 2008 01:42:43
ACA cannot do the job, let Guan Eng do it for the rakyat!!! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by kevinD, March 24, 2008 02:14:29
Probe ! Probe! Probe! Dig all the shit up!!! Serve it to Idiot and gang!!! Its time for justice!!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by Bandit, March 24, 2008 09:05:19
Guan Eng should instead set up a team of experts to do the job of uncovering all the rotten deals by the previous administration and expose them especially to the Malays who have placed their trust in the UMNO for taking care of their "rights".

Meanwhile Guan Eng should concentrate on building a new Penang and better Penang and help all races to benefit from its growth. Once this is done, no one will question you and your policy and the confidence you instill in the Penang people will spread like fire throughout Malaysia where come the next election, the rakyat will definately vote for the new coalition and lay Barisan UMNO to rest for eternity.

One advice. Be clean. Honour once lost cannot never be earned again.
written by technoboy, March 24, 2008 10:02:21
GOOD, go after those corrupted bastards and put them in jail.