Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow An open letter to Mr. Lee Lam Thye!

An open letter to Mr. Lee Lam Thye! PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 13:32

In reference to The STAR article: Family disputes dead girl’s post-mortem report

I am very much against the National Service. If you have to loose a child like this you will understand the pain and suffering . Children who are raving forward to go into their future. Parents who have waited  for 18 years to see their children grow up, imagine what they would have gone through to bring up the child. The financial burdens, the tuitions, the schools, and looking forward to see their children go to university and then to their careers.

Mr. Lee Lam Thye may not understand this because rich people do not go through all these burdens. They have drivers sending their kids around. Money is not an issue. They sit in their cushy seats and enjoy their holidays overseas etc.

Think about the trauma these people go through. If law of Karma brings this upon your children or grandchildren, then you will understand Mr. Lee and the others who support the National Service. This includes the high and mighty Datuk Seri Najib.

Why do you not understand the pulse of the Rakyat? Do you understand the heartbeat of the man on the street? No, because you are busy amassing wealth and enjoying your success and holidays. We the people of the nation are not like that. We have too many issues at ground level to deal with. The least you can do is to LEAVE OUR CHILDREN ALONE.!

If you ponder , you will, as a government ( BN), understand the dissatisfaction of the people and why they decided to vote against BN. Not because they found the other parties more interesting but because they were fed up with all your policies. Please try to understand this.

Is that too much to ask Mr. Lee Lam Thye ?

By a Concerned Mom

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by omarkhayyam, March 23, 2008 13:41:59
Dear concerned mom, they say when the wine enters the mind, intoxication takes over natural senses .....

in this fellow Lee's case one Tan Sri awardship has made him float in cloud nine ..... he aint the same Lee we use to know

agree 193
written by Ah Chong, March 23, 2008 13:53:59
Lee Lam Thye! you are in NGO, but where your NGO is 1 sided?
written by malsia1206, March 23, 2008 13:58:26
The durian tree was standing tall and true for many decades. The yearly yield of sweet durians and the aroma was second-to-none. The day they add fertiliser laced with the 'Tan Sri' brand, the durian tree stop dead in its track. No more harvest. The swallow does not fly in summer anymore because winter has set in 365 days a year.
written by asil, March 23, 2008 14:01:22
I hate National Service. In my sense, it has no purpose. It's purpose is just to serve certain people. That uniform alone, is a good business for certain people in Kementerian Pertahanan.

Why don't parents just boycott National Service? If UMNO can boycott Terengganu MB's appointment, why can't you?
agree 159
written by budakindia, March 23, 2008 14:01:59
Let's see how they deal with an angry parent that will stop at nothing if his/her kid dies in the program! Lee Lam Thye, you haven't seen one yet. Come on make my day! smilies/angry.gif
written by Mahyuddin Mahzan, March 23, 2008 14:10:40
I believe this is not the only case, there are other similar cases like this and its heartbreaking to read the news of suffering by the family and luv ones. i too have children who are growing up and i sincerely hope this National Service ends. I hope saudara Lee Lam Thye will seriously and sincerely look into this cases and make amendment to the National Service procedure of attendance.

My vote for now is to stop National Service, period.
agree 116
written by kurangfaham, March 23, 2008 14:29:02
Lee Lam Tahi, sudah tiba masanya untuk memberhentikan ini Prgram Khidmat Nagara, jangan jadikan programn ini menjadi Neraka.
written by FFT, March 23, 2008 14:37:05
The time to take advantage of the circumstances is now.

Don't send your kids to NS on the grounds that these camps are being run by incompetent UMNOputeras, with the sole aim of making money for cronies by virtue of uniforms, catering, equipment & supplies, as well as location.

Let Najib try to jail your kids if he dares. It will simply ensure his ejection at the next GE.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 23, 2008 14:43:08
What he did before becoming a "Tan See" is more noble and more respectable, especially during his time with DAP. Now he is merely "tan see" (waiting to die)
written by Jefus, March 23, 2008 14:43:43
What would happen if ALL parents refuse to send their children to NS? Fine all of them? Jail all of them?

It is making a statement - it is not working and putting to risk lives of our children! For someone's stupid idea and who won't admit its stupidity!
written by Wisdom above, March 23, 2008 14:44:18
It was Datuk Seri Najib who started the National Service.

The National Service has become irrelevant.

Just Scrap the National Service.

It bring death to the young Malaysians.

It wasted tax payer's money for many years.

Just scrap it.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

written by babakl, March 23, 2008 14:49:13
Lam Thye, be honest, how many of those Ministers, Datuk Datuk, Tan Sri"sand vip children went through that KN program? If you are sincere, and dare not answer, pleasestep down and stop bullshiting about the god it bring's to those participents. The only good i can see is those who got the contract to supply food, uniform and other unproductive program being promoted.
written by chaiksyn, March 23, 2008 14:50:23
I wholeheartedly agree with Concerned mum! We do not need the National Service. Our children will never learn integration until the system of our government is change. Malaysia for all; irregardless of race and religion!!

Kudos to you Concerned mum!
written by donplay, March 23, 2008 14:52:16
1st, there was LLT, politician with a conscience. Then LLT, a man of principle. Then, LLT, the hawkers' & people's choice. Then, indignation & resignation. Then? No money. Then a BN apologist. The appointment to all sorts of highly paid Government Quangos! Then, a Rosemajib collaborator. Then, National Service for the few, for those without connections.

Then, money flowed. Then, it dried up. Then, we need to teach our children to bear arms and shoot the enemy. Who? Yes, the terrorist pangolins, squirrels and sparrows. Then, WOW, did the money flow again.

Then, children die and get raped and sexually harrassed in training camps. Answer? Threaten ISA Mohamad arrests.

LLT, THIS IS YOUR LIFE! A DISGRACEFUL LIFE! READ & WEEP!!x*#
written by Ckchew, March 23, 2008 14:56:29
you can save your kids by not sending them to the nasional service. you have reject bn in last election, why are you still supporting their policy?

this is the 20th death since they introduce ns, why must rakyat sacrifice their own children for the benefit of the cronies?

you have vote against bn, you have did it. now, be brave stop the service by not letting your kids join it!!

written by Taikohtai, March 23, 2008 14:59:58
I was back in Penang in January this year. In the hills of Genting and Telok Kumbar, a brand new campus was operating. I asked my brother what development was going on. He told me that the previous MP (he got voted out last GE, hehehehehhehe) bought the land from some Chinese owners and started a NS camp with the blessings of Najib. Each teenager was billed some RM7,000 by the camp and God knows what split was between the operators and kickback to Najib. Looks like another Malaysia Boleh project and I wish the new CM LGE will audit such projects in Penang soon. And also all similar projects now going on in other states should be subject to audit asap!!
smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by miracle, March 23, 2008 15:19:21
dont see much benefit NS bring to the younger that attended. Mat rempit still at large... snatched thieves still around... why dont you put all these rempits and catch these snatch thieves and put them under this so call National Service. i guess this NS do benefit some .. you know who..
written by temanmu, March 23, 2008 15:43:38
National Service to Najib's pocket!

Khidmat Negara kepada kocek Najib!

written by apanama, March 23, 2008 16:08:16
EVERYONE KNOWS LEE LAM THYE. HE JUMPED FROM DAP TO BN.

he took up all kind of government posts. pemadam, niosh, etc. etc.
everytime some accidents happened, he will be the FIRST to write to mainstream media. his letters are always published to show that his agencies care. fukc him. everytime he does something, it's ALWAYS too late. makan gaji buta, duit haram. he is supposed to be caring for the society. but he is doing all that just for the sake of GLORY. there's nothing that lee lam thye did that is good for the society. he is a pariah in the malaysian society. bought over.

he is also a director of a property development company. his main project is jalan cheras. fukc that. in the meantime, your sons and daughters are screwed. and he will write to NST Letters to Editors to show he cares. he always laud every government announcements. fukc that too.
written by teo siew chin, March 23, 2008 16:12:03
Perhaps parents should consider sending their children for a complete health-check before they embark on NS.
Perhaps a certificate confirming a clean bill of health should be an entry criteria before accepting any child for NS.
written by Angela Ooi, March 23, 2008 16:17:52
NS is just one of the many, many creative ways to 'rent seek' and screw rakyat's money. There is money to be made at every turn in this NS project. It all goes to UMNOputras cronies. Now multiply this method in any and every GOVT venture and we can ask how come our RGT is so much weaker than Spore$. UMNO is is a pit of thieving vipers!
written by Hakim Abdullah, March 23, 2008 16:34:19
NS program conceived by Najib and goons are pathetic at best. It is runned by incompetent staff and has questionable values. Most of the NS 'trainers' would not know the difference between 'exercise' and 'excise'. They do not have qualify staff to design program, from nutrition to skill oriented. Our growing kids are at risk the moment they step into camp. All the 'integration' bullshit is just a front. Our children can learn real integration at school...immediately after they change the current Education Minister and the entire school program....
written by SamYap, March 23, 2008 17:13:53
Mr. Lee Lam Thye,

If I recall correctly, amongst the several stated aims of the National Service, there were two paramount objectives viz.
1) To foster UNITY amongst the various races
2) To nurture a sense of national pride

Personally I find it the whole thing to be a sick joke. The National Service was some idiotic politician's suggestion which in fact is a sick joke played on the rakyat.

Now consider these:
a) UMNO's Continuous reminders thrown at the non-bumi rakyat that they are pendatangs
b) Implied classes of citizenry according to race for over 40 years of the NEP
c) Raising the spectre of the race riots of May 13, 1969 during every General Election including the recently concluded GE on 8th March 2008
d) Constant reminders to the bumi-Malay community they are under threat from ono-bumis (what threat the non-bumis pose is anybody's guess)
e) An irresponsible Minister of Education who waves the Keris, a symbol of aggression, and to make matters worse, he drew it out of the scabbard. (Did you know that Malay tradition has it, if a keris is drawn from the scabbard and words of aggression are uttered, the keris must then be used? In other words, it has to draw blood. I think the Minister despite being a Malay does not know his culture.)

I can go on listing a lot of reasons, almost inexhaustive number of reasons, why 40% and more, of the citizenry do not feel proud of the country nor do the races feel any affinity with each other.

National Service to prepare the next generation? For what?

It is sad that even as of now, only a small section of the citizens is politically enlightened to understand that the UMNO and its abused wives of MCA/MIC/Gerakan and its consorts such as SUPP etc; has successfully kept the rakyat under its rule through the simple but effective method of divide and rule along racial lines.

And know what? The people here in www.Malaysia -today.net are all aware of it. But we are, at the moment, few in number. We will grow in strength over the coming days and years. We will do our best to disseminate the correct information to educate the young and the old.

I believe that if we are determined, disciplined and principled, we will help the rakyat to realize that we have been living under a system which UMNO simply inherited from the British colonial masters and, enhanced it further just for their own selfish purpose. The legacy of divisive racial and religious sentiments are so deeply ingrained that even now it affects the Barisan Rakyat whose stated claim was to consign it to the rubbish bin of history.

Now we have an opportunity to assist the rest to confront the issues affecting the country, from different perspectives and learn to separate the chaff from the grain i.e. to identify the truth from spin and bullshit.

I would be branded most naive, if I thought that Barisan Rakyat is the cure all for our country's problems. Far from it. There are little devils within the BR too. Given the right time, they will emerge thinking that we the rakyat have been duped again. They can try, but I doubt if its that easy next time around.

So it would appear that honourable people such as RPK, the Blogger community and fellow readers here would have to be vigilant and act as sentinels against any devilish attempts by Barisan Nasional, Barisan Rakyat and the unprincipled supporters such as the likes of yourself Mr. Lee; to try and usurp the power of Rakyat.

I hope someone here who is aquainted with you would read this and print it for you to peruse. I doubt that you would even have time to read it online, as I understand that people such as yourself who live in the stratosphere seldom return to earth to touch base with us the ordinary folks.

Rakyat Malaysia Berjaya!

Sam Yap
written by thegodfather, March 23, 2008 17:18:12
Najib, be a man and stop wearing lipstick for a start.
written by Tlau, March 23, 2008 17:25:15
I would suggest our Najis do an in depth studies before he implement and enforced the NS. Just a look at our neighbour Singapore, and you will understand how their training programs are written. Their NS required 2 years to learn everything including shooting compared to ours - all done within a couple of months haphazardly.

My daughter came back to tell me they were not told how to protect themselves from injury during the training and if not for the agile mind she had, she would have been hurt too.

All this Najis wanted is $$$$$$$$$$$ into his fat pocket.
written by RichPoon, March 23, 2008 17:33:59
i suggest the program should be stopped immediately so that all problems are either iron out...and if these problems are insurmountable, the program should be scrapped!
written by peace lover, March 23, 2008 18:39:59
I believe what Omega and Teo Siew Chin had commented here have some points....

Moreover, Lee Lam Thye did not implement the programme. Najib did... Why are all of you going after LLT? Wrong direction lah... Be rational and calm... Think properly... are we going out at the wrong target?
written by peace lover, March 23, 2008 18:43:47
For those that are against the NS, do what ckchew suggested... speak out with your action.... be brave.... no use commenting here, you think those monkeys will take heed what is posted here, especially if it is against their ideas and policies...
written by damarwulan, March 23, 2008 19:16:18
HELLO Lee Lam Thye,DPM, PM and the new Cabinet Ministers, how many of these young children lifes do you want to take away? Do not fire fighting when things/tragedies like these happens. Plan ahead like CANCELLING the NS, forget about all the cronies that had put investment to reap from these NS. Do you ever wonder why BN NEARLY LOST in the elections, it is because we PARENTS do not want our children to go to the NS and many more that you did that are TERLALU MELAMPAU.
written by Uncorruptible, March 23, 2008 19:33:07
lee lam taik cannot understand, dear concerned mum. he is only form five prostituting himself for bn's money. he is a multi-millionaire now, no more the lee lam thye we used to know. his face is so thick now a bullet cannot go thru. those bn people like lee, want our children to protect them with their lives, when we go to war with Singapore, the only war Malaysia can hope to win. lee lam taik and all the rest are just a bunch of losers with nothing to do but ride on the backs of the people to make money and now on the lives of our children to save theirs. Change the government the next time round and there ill be no more national service !
written by smeagrooo, March 23, 2008 20:30:52
which company gets to supply the uniform? HOw much do they cost? Are we taxpayers paying thru our bleeding noses again?
written by redwine, March 23, 2008 20:33:21
this nationa service brings more bad than good outcome. i think only 5% got benefit from it. the rest take this NS as couple camp..3 month is unpractical.1 month is reasonable..many youngster involve in couple thing in NS..sex in a camp and 'mengintai' the girls wit camera phone.govt should strict and make it compact so the teenagers here know how to evaluate golden time and move forward to better Malaysian.
written by westduke, March 23, 2008 20:39:28
"chow kow" Lee Lam Tahi...most useless chinese in malaysia .disgrace to the chinese race..
written by miwaki, March 23, 2008 20:55:56
I have the feeling that this national service is a just a way to produce millionaires among the cronies of BN government.There is no open tender for the uniform,shoes and other accessories required by the program.

Who actually are the suppliers ? can Lam Thye enlighten the tax payers please ?
written by debids, March 23, 2008 21:56:30
How come NO VIP kids in NS? Why only the ordinary malaysian kids get picked..our kids life no value, is it? NS serves only one purpose..to make certain people rich. If it is so good, then make it voluntary and see the response..scared no one turn up ah!! Does having blood money in your pocket/BANK make you feel good, Mr Minister of Defence? Your wife has enough of shoes...so please leave our children ALONE. You dare take our innocent children and either kill them with badly managed camps or turn them into criminals for not attending NS just for profit sake....I wouldn't want to be in your shoes when KARMA comes knocking at your door, Mr Minister Sir! BOYCOTT NS parents for your kids sake..it really serves no purpose at all. smilies/angry.gif
written by Negarakuku, March 23, 2008 22:28:31
Lee lantai was a good politician before he joined BN. Well. what can one expect from someone who joins the Den of thieves, robbers, rappist, power-crazy, arrogant, non english speaking etc...
Don´t believe me... join mat rempit and see what becomes of you ? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by mountainking, March 23, 2008 22:34:40
Dear Concerned Mom

we are a nation who believe in God. God will judge the evil men. life and death is in the hand of God. NS is definitely a good program but not with the current govt who is running it. Lee Lam Thye is a disgrace to our nation.
written by notme, March 23, 2008 22:59:00
Mr Lee Lam Thye & Co
How many innocent life do you want to take before consider scrapping the NS.

If there is a need foster UNITY amongst the various races & nurture a sense of national pride. These objectives should be inculcated during early part of one’s life and not after SPM.

I would suggest, this should be done under school curriculum rather than a separate NS programmed.

Stop wasting public money, time and life of innocent people.

P/S: If you & co have to continue to experiment with this NS programmed. I would suggest you send all the minis-ter son & daughter for this experiment until all the problems are iron out.
written by smeagrooo, March 23, 2008 23:05:49
Until and unless one VIP kid dies they wont do a single thing to this National Sukkas programme.
written by iMac, March 23, 2008 23:05:58
Lee Lam Thye was a bank clerk in the 70's and was very active in union activities.
written by forcefield, March 23, 2008 23:09:24
To be realistic, doing away with the NS is rather no-no.

What's more important is that there's much to be learned for the way how M'sia does and administers it NS. The problem, though is that the morons made in charge think they are good enough, and stubborn enough not wanting to improve and be critical of things. Two words; bodoh sombong.

Our NS is more of a brainwashing exercise rather than a NS with a true spirit of shaping malaysians. In the most 'true'est sense, a proper NS will aim to eliminate racism and promote a universal 'Malaysian' among its all participants.
written by Chuang Tze, March 24, 2008 02:38:53
The NS was a money-making scheme for Najis Najib and the RAKYAT had to endure the massive inconvenience so that this Bastard can line his pockets to the full. The C4 Altantuya case is also all about money earned through arms deals. We must make sure this Celaka Babi must NEVER ever become PM of Malaysia.

Lee Lam Thye was a highly respected person when he represented DAP in Bukit Bintang for many a term. And the electorate showed their appreciation giving him resounding margins of victory everytime. Then he sold the RAKYAT out to the Govt. and joined the ranks of Gerakan and Chandar Muzzafar. Very sad that these once upon a time giants-amongst-men could have been bribed to sink so low !!! Just goes to show what slimeballs these politicians can be !!

Just shows that we must ensure Parliamentary Democracy must be practised with all checks & balances in place so we can reward politicians with integrity and punish those who lose their way. The Judiciary must be revamped. The ISA and the PPPA and the OSA must be repealed. All statutes that give absolute power to the Ministers (Executie) must be repealed. In Allah/ God we trust. Everyone else, prove it to us !! Long Live RAKYAT Malaysia !!

written by murali, March 24, 2008 09:06:33
the latest death of the NS trainee is due to the weapons training of which a lot of people said safe! are they still think that way?

there are other ways to nurtue good values to the children.... y must you make them go through army style training?

written by qitaro, March 24, 2008 13:24:43
I am against NS and I certainly hope by the time my kids reach that age, there won't be anymore stupid NS.

To me NS is pure bullshit. It serves no purpose but a money making scheme for certain corrupted politicians and their cronies.

Who rent them the NS camps?
Who won the contract to supply meals?
Who won the contract to supply uniforms?
Who won the contract to supply buses?
Who won the contract to supply camp equipments?

Our so-called NS plan is totally different from Singapore.

Please don't waste our kids time with NS ...
written by venna, March 24, 2008 15:15:03
Yes,Mr.Najib and Mr. Lee we want the national service scraped. This is the power of the people of the nation. If we hear the heartbeat, we will understand that we do not want to send our children to die.
Start integration in school level. Just as we were when we were kids.There are many ways the education ministry can work on to bringing about this. I do not want my children to go to national service. I have every right to stand up and say NO ! Democracy is about listening to the voice of the people. If the leaders do not hear our voices then you will be gone by the next GE. Please take note of this.