BN findings point to efforts to lure its reps to switch camps PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 11:09
PUTRAJAYA: Opposition parties have been seeking out Barisan Nasional MPs in Sabah and Sarawak thought likely to switch camps, according to the findings of a BN intelligence team.

"But none took the offer," said BN and Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor.

"There is a lot of hearsay on things going on there. We will check it out.

"At this stage, they (the opposition) think we are weak and that they can take advantage of the situation. We are still strong," he said when he opened the Az-Zakirin surau here yesterday.

Asked if members of Umno Sabah might switch allegiance, he said: "No, there will be no such thing."

Tengku Adnan said meetings with Umno division chiefs had been held since Friday.

"We need to help the party regain confidence.

"The people also need to be assured that they will still be served.

"We are looking at strategies to win back the five states and improve our performance in the Federal Territory."

Yesterday, Umno divisions of Penang, Kedah, Perak and Perlis had their meeting.

Those in the Federal Territory, Selangor, Negri Sembilan and Malacca had theirs on Friday.

Tengku Adnan said the party management would meet next week to discuss the date for the Umno general assembly.

"Selangor is among the states that had asked for the assembly to be delayed.

"They can request but the party management will decide when it should be held.

Asked to comment on former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's call for the establishment of a presidential advisory council to advise the Umno president, Tengku Adnan said the party had a management and political bureau to advise the party chief.
- NST

written by heavenwrites, March 23, 2008 11:32:43
It is the most perfect time for all Sabah and Sarawak MPs to join BR. The terms are; state oil revenue be increased to 30% with arrears payable from 1998; all BN MPs will be pardoned of all their misdeeds; Musa Aman will be renamed Musa Tak Aman and charged for corruptions; Sarawak CM will be detained and all his assets acquired through corruption over the last 30 years shall be returned to Rakyat as dividend.
written by malaysian2008, March 23, 2008 11:49:12
We need to help the party regain confidence. - good help yourself; but the RAKYAT has no confident in your party. now even the sultan are against your party - UMNO = United Malay Non Original. b'cos malay must respect sultan else you can't being a malay and not follow the culture of malay.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 23, 2008 11:58:32
"They think we are weak"...YES, the PM is sick and weak, the entire HP6 ministers are mere lap-dogs, and waiting to be slaughtered by the opposition.
written by Iliyas, March 23, 2008 12:16:42
The aftermath of a political tsunami,the people have spoken with conviction and will continue to do so without fear and favour.Intelligence Team..???Perhaps this new Umno sec-gen should apply for the forthcoming James Bond movie.U not only insult my intelligence,but the intelligence of Sabahans.But there again,a good move because it now shows that Sabah Umno headed by the Pakistani corrupted Musa Aman is not so efficient after all.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 23, 2008 12:33:58
"Stupid, Stupid, Stupid"..the findings are all bull-shit...the real feelings are hidden deep in the hearts and minds of the potential defectors...who are waiting for the right moment, unless BN hang out a 5 million carrot for each individual, and quickly create new posts for all the Sabah and Sarawak reps.
written by Biztrack, March 23, 2008 12:41:40
Bodoh punya BN !!! Kena snooker pun tak tau.

Who the fish wants to lure your reps away? The whole thing is to make you scare of your own shadows, and leave the formation of the state governments of Penang, Perak and Selangor undisturbed. Didn't you folks notice how much less disruption there were in the formation of the state governments of those states after Pak Lah & that celup tengku started to worry about BN defections???

written by ryan giggs, March 23, 2008 13:22:11
Tengku Adnan is a drunkard ! Tak tahu apa dia cakap
written by raja seputeh, March 23, 2008 13:40:28
"....according to the findings of a BN intelligence team."

Wow! A real, live oxymoron. A superb example, so there is a use for the NST.
written by cheekhiaw, March 23, 2008 13:49:57
Men bound by lies and self-service will not be able to trust nor hold their own for long.
written by asianguy, March 23, 2008 14:28:18
Don't belittle this "BN intelligence team", unless it's the same team that told BN that Anwar is no longer a threat, and that the opposition will win just a few more seats... smilies/grin.gif
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 23, 2008 14:46:01
Cool Nun, the fake tengku, is a brainless-p.. He looks like a real one.
written by donplay, March 23, 2008 15:02:30
All's fair in love, war & politics. If the BN system is 'flawless' and its reps 'ultra-clean', then what do they have to be worried about? He, he, he!!
written by chaiksyn, March 23, 2008 16:03:25
Dollah the PM is running scared. All the talking is done by other people instead of him! I won't be surprise if any BN Reps become a Katak! After all, BN is the one who implemented this scheme under Mahathir regime.....the first KATAK BOUGHT BY BN WAS ......DATUK LAJIM OKIM....FROM SABAH!
written by archie, March 23, 2008 16:18:24
"We are still strong"
"We need to help the party regain confidence"

Why do you lack confidence when you are strong?
written by aryn, March 23, 2008 17:10:27
This is poetic justice for Sabah.

Umno, remember what you did to Parti Bersatu Sabah in 1990s? When you disregard the mandate of the people of Sabah? When you offered juta juta ringgit and cabinet posts for PBS assemblymen to defect so you could form the state government when you lost the election?

Remember Yong Teck Lee, your biggest ally who stabbed PBS and join you and now maybe, he and his SUPP MPs are thinking of doing the same?

Remember when you Umno/BN quietly backed then Berjaya/Usno to staged a coup d'etat in mid 1980s when PBS won the election? And then for almost 10 years you Umno led BN federal government punished Sabah by not granting us development funds?

Now this talk about BN MPs wanting to defect to BR give you heart attack? Good!
What goes round comes around! Sweating now are you, Umno?

Anyway, you can keep Yong Teck Lee and his SUPP along with all your Sabah Umno MPs because we don't want them in BR. They are corrupt. Sabah people know that.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 23, 2008 17:42:45
Since when Yong's Parti SAPP becomes "Soup Kambing"?
written by artchan, March 23, 2008 17:47:56
Tengku Adnan said the party had a management and political bureau to advise the party chief. - NST

======================================================= ==============

How true..the PM had so many advisers..that he did not know that this election he will be whacked left right and centre. PM should sack all his advisers..starting with the fake Tengku
written by asguard, March 24, 2008 08:41:09
BN ...can have many post mortem... but the answer is already written on the wall..