Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Race Politics - Very Much Alive And Kicking?

Race Politics - Very Much Alive And Kicking? PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 10:54

The results of the 12th general election has been described as one that “transcended racial and religious sentiments”. Rightly so.

If not how can one explain Chinese from new villages voting for PAS candidates when only sometime ago, the mere sight of the white “kopilah” or skull cap was enough to frighten them away.

Indian voters too broke from the norm and picked candidates they had not voted for before. And how would you explain so called “red blooded” Malays voting for candidates from the “very Chinese” DAP ? This augurs well for all of us as Malaysians.

But, despite the results or should I say because of the results, political parties are still playing the “racial card ” for obvious reasons. That makes me angry. And I get angrier when political parties give other political parties the “chance” or “opportunity” to play the “racial card ”. Again for obvious reasons.

A case in hand. Some “elements” in UMNO used the NEP issue. Sadly the DAP had made statements which presented UMNO the chance to go to town with the issue. It could have been “explosive” but thank God it didn’t “explode”.

Another was Lim Kit Siang’s public outburst over the appointment of PAS candidate as Perak Menteri Besar. Again it gave some “elements ” in UMNO something to shout about and they shouted loud.

"Anyway, “racial stance” is not restricted to BN only."

Again thank goodness for Lim’s prompt apology—without which, the DAP might have found themselves incurring the wrath of the palace for a long time.

Most if not all of our political parties are “race-based .” Post 12th general elections, we hear of many parties wanting to “reinvent" themselves.

They have “admitted” they have “neglected” their communities. As a result, the community turned their backs on them. Hence the need to “reinvent”.

But just what is “reinventing”?

If the parties want to “fight” for the betterment of the community they claim to represent, well and good. But the concern is when they become too introvert and more “raced based. ”

Worst still if they, knowingly or otherwise find themselves too engrossed with problems of their own community without giving two hoots to problems of others. And it gets frightening if along the way, the parties hurt the feelings of others in their zest to take care of their community.

Ok I’ll be straight. What I mean is this.

There are commentators, analysts and what have you who say the MIC and MCA lost the support of the Indians and Chinese for not being “very Indian” and “very Chinese”. The parties seemed to agree.

So by saying they want to reinvent, does that mean they now just want to “behave very Indian and very Chinese”? The same goes for UMNO. After losing quite a number of Malay votes, should UMNO go about being very Malay? As if they are not Malay enough now.

Already former GERAKAN president Datuk Seri Lim Kheng Yaik had taken a veiled swipe at the party by saying recently that while the MCA and GERAKAN “ managed to control the behaviour of their members, UMNO did not”.

He was obviously referring to the “antics” of some UMNO members and leaders which had hurt the feelings of the non Malays. The hurt non Malays in turn got back at MCA and GERAKAN through the ballot boxes.

Another veteran leader former MCA deputy president Tan Sri Lee Kim Sai blamed the MCA’s election setback on the low profile approach preferred by current party president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting.

To Tan Sri Lee, such low profile approach made many a Chinese voter to lose confidence in the MCA. He didn’t say it but I think everyone agrees that what the good Tan Sri meant was, Ong and company should have been vocal in dealing with UMNO. Or was he suggesting a “confrontational approach”? I sincerely hope not.

God forbid if all this “reinventing” thing is to cause BN components going for each other’s throats -- all in the name of being popular again with the community they claim to represent and winning votes of course.

I don’t know if it can be seen as Ong’s response to Lee but the MCA president did say on record that -- the MCA "will be more vocal on national and community issues". This he said is part of the strategy to "revamp the image of the MCA and regain the trust of the Chinese community".

Anyway, “racial stance” is not restricted to BN only. Even the opposition DAP, PAS and the multi racial PKR can or has fallen prey. Now that they have tasted success they would want to keep the prized scalps which is in their possession now. Could it be by playing the racial card too? We pray not.

By all means , "reinvent" as in the case of BN components in the wake of the poll setback. Strengthen or consolidate in the case of the opposition following their election success. But not at the expense of peace and racial harmony.

Playing the race card is easy. It’s not playing it that is difficult. Even in the US race politics is very much alive. We know the number of times when Barrack Obama needed black votes to win certain primaries despite proclaiming “there’s no white America, no black America, no Hispanic America but only the United States of America”.

Back home the recent election results proved we can turn away from race if we want to. There’s hope but we all must work hard .Very hard. Until we totally discard politics along racial lines. We can reject anything racial.

“You may say I’m a dreamer but I’m not the only one”said John Lennon in his song “Imagine”. I echo what he said. (By MOHSIN ABDULLAH, Editor in Chief for News and Current Affairs of Ntv7 and 8TV)

written by temenggong, March 23, 2008 10:59:07
The only alternative to vocal and confrontational politics is non raced based politics.

There is no other way!
written by rajaphillips, March 23, 2008 11:35:21
It is alive because Umno is still alive so let us all put our hearts together and kill Umno through the general election process and give them just 1 or 2 seats only. We will then have more multilingual Bangsa Malaysia people like the Pas Perak Mentri Besar who has hit an ALL TIME popularity high among Perak people
written by cancan, March 23, 2008 11:50:09
A Letter To The Prime Minister

Link: http://www/kingsmary.********.com/
written by talk3talk4, March 23, 2008 13:08:06
Agree Race Politics is rampant but worst it is much more ingrained in the Rakyat psychic. Racism have invaded every space in our life. After 50 years some of us is so sick of it, we actually see racism where there is none.

read this
http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/80210

and this from Little Bird (note it is still gossip quality)
UMNO-BN tried to buy over three ADUNs in Perak - they are three short for a simple majority Folks say they were ADUNs from PAS. Folks say that PAS Perak and Hassan Ali, PAS Commissioner in Selangor had agreed to the crossover. The offer was in the millions of Ringgit. Yet this offer was turned down.

Why? A few reasons were because Hadi Awang and Husam Musa came out with strict and public warnings against any PAS people teaming up with BN. Also there was quick agreement that the PAS man Jamaluddin would be the MB of Perak, thus defusing the talk of crossing over.
written by CJ7, March 23, 2008 13:21:47
BLAH BLAH BLAH....Stop sensasionalising racism by first take down the stupid May 13 countdown shit on the web frontpage....the rakyat need improvement of the system, what more do we ask for, there exist already a balance of power between BN and the opposition, just sit on ur position to serve the people, I see no changes so far but power struggle frm both side....sickening
written by krising1, March 23, 2008 13:43:12
We do not want any party which is more Indian, more Chinese, more Malay or more whatever. We want parties which are more Malaysian - one party representing all races - including orang aslis who are not at all represented in today's system.
written by budakindia, March 23, 2008 14:21:41
Whatever the analysis that you wanted those b*st*rds to believe, please don't involve us! We are united not because of our skin colour but of the constant corruption, imcompetence if the Prime Minister! Please get that in your stupid head!
written by clangan, March 23, 2008 16:37:09
Ha...ha...ha... It is all about the Barisan Nasional freaks and nothing else! All politics are bad unless politicians do it otherwise. I don't care if an apek, a keling, a mamak, or a hwan na becomes the PM and leads the way, as long as they are just and equitable, we will vote for them. For now, I place my vote with Barisan ALternatif / Barisan Rakyat! i SUPPORT tOK gURU,aNWAR, LkS & son. All the huh hah and then go back to work even on a Sunday, life goes on...sigh! Korek, korek, korek! smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by zonefinder, March 23, 2008 17:22:26
The racial sensitivity still needs to be handled carefully. We have taken a big step. To win over the doubters, BR has to perform and perform well. We can only build on success to ensure the foundation is solid.
Anwar and team will need everyone of us to rally around them to give them support.
written by Harbinger, March 23, 2008 17:30:48
My dear Mohsin,
Let me tell you a story of 3 men- 1 uztad,1 Indian man and 1 cinapek.One day before the 12th GE,the uztad gave cinapek a knowing wink as he waved goodbye and said "Lim,jangan lupa bagi ping pong ya "in obvious reference to PAS.The Indian man too was eager to talk about politics and started hurling insults at the govt.He too reminded us to vote opposition.When all's over and victory's won,we feel some kind of bond among us each time we meet each other.It's like "YES !WE DID IT TOGETHER!" It's been a long time since we had this good feeling about each other.
My point is,if politicians still want to play the racial card,they're supporting their own demise.Together,we have demonstrated that the power is in our hands!Right now,let's have more write ups and more support for Bangsa Malaysia!I've always felt that it's so demeaning to be a Malaysian citizen and to be labelled 'dan lain-lain' This group in fact should shout the loudest....WE ARE ALL MALAYSIANS !!!
written by RichPoon, March 23, 2008 18:02:54
you don't need to be racial in discussion.....use common sense that make sense to ordinary malaysians....malaysians are not stupid...they can tell what is right or wrong....for mca, please let us see you make some sensible noise on matters of importance!
written by Malaysian Abroad, March 23, 2008 22:15:53
Indoctrination by Design

I guess after such a long period of racial brainwashing and indoctrination by the various political parties, the media and majority of policies, we have entrenched and identified ourselves along racial linage. What is worrying is that not only we project our racial sentiments deliberately, we even subscribe to it subconsciously. This is what I would term as ‘invisible bondage’.

How do we free ourselves from this? What example should we set? Where does it begin? I may not have all the answers, but I feel that it should begin with us. Yes! We as contributors to a healthy debate should set an example by not pigeonholing ourselves as Chinese, Indians, Malays etc. We should stop labelling others along those lines as we can glaringly see in our discussions.

Name calling and comments such as “Bodowi tu akar umbi dari kacukan keturunan Cina Hailam”, “MAMAK KUTTY is kicking the wounded dog”, “mike tyson,p00kimamak loafer mahade r all munafiks” amongst others, only seek to reinforce the racist personalities that we have become over the years.

Maybe, by doing away with our own racist comments, we could move a step nearer to becoming true Malaysians.
written by Anak Desa, March 23, 2008 22:34:16
Pak Lah still wants to carry the Muhammad Taib Baggage even though the latter would have been found guilty based on Malaysian Laws but escaped using "cannot read or speak English". Can we tell the Malaysian Courts that since my mother tongue is Mandarin or Tamil, can we tell the Malaysian judges that those foreigners travelling to Malaysia carrying drugs ,when caught, they said that they cannot read or write English and Bahasa Malaysia, and escape any punishment. Muhammad Taib can be appointed by Pak Lah as the Selangor UMNO State Liasion Chairman but Pak Lah cannot appoint this baggage as BN selangor Chairman and force down the BN coalition partners to accept.
written by mountainking, March 23, 2008 22:53:11
MCA, for goodness sake, redeem your own dignity through walking out from BN. if you continue to be associated with UMNO, the next GE, MCA will be wiped off completely. not because you are not capable but because you are selling yourself to STUPID UMNO. giving a vote to you means "directly" supporting UMNO.

yes, the BR is no angel but UMNO is rotten to the core. if you are still stubborn, we will help you to be out of BN.
written by mountainking, March 23, 2008 22:54:56
forget about something, you always claim that you have and you still want to continue to serve the ppl/community, why can't you continue to serve without being associated with UMNO?

are you more concern of serving or the cabinet post that you are eyeing?
written by willwin, March 23, 2008 22:56:41
Mr. Mohsin.... yes, u r not the only one! there r a lot of us out there who r so sick of racial issue which mainly bcoz politicians playing this card all the while.... i mean, ask around, do any ordinary M'sian have problem being freinds with other races other that their own race?? no right? most likely u would hear ppl says, "oh, one/some of my good friend(s) is other race...!!!"

yeah...let's just pray that all of us work hard toward this goal... i know it's not easy & surely it won't just happen/materialize over night.. but i believe it's possible!!
written by bogeyman, March 23, 2008 23:51:24
Dear Malaysian abroad,

A voice of reason at last. Let's do away with the racist remarks, which I'll readily admit have been guilty of as well. We have to move away from that mentality that we have so abhored with in the first place.
written by clshoon, March 24, 2008 03:52:18
I think LAW is very important to prevent or minimise RACE issues.
This racial gimmick not only been played by BN but BR as well. The Monarchy institutions seems to be part of the players as well.

The question are: why all of the State Constitutions do not allow non-Malay to be MB? Shouldnt this 'requirement' been abolished??? Selangor worst, Monarchy institution said they do not want non-Malay for TMB as well. Why Selangor too particular about the race composition of EXCO member??
Are they, the Sultans treated ones irregardless of their race and religion as their RAKYAT??? If yes, shouldnt these RAKYATs been treated equally irregardless of race and religion???

I think if the Monarchy can play a role of model, they will gain more support and respect!!!
written by Malaysian Abroad, March 24, 2008 04:35:36
Dear Bogeyman,

Thank you for sharing the same sentiments. We all made mistakes in the past. Learning from our mistakes and moving forward positively make us better humans. Hopefully, we will all learn from this and free ourselves off this 'bondage' of racism, sexism and any other 'isms' in order to achieve the 'malaysianisation' of our beloved country.
written by Suresh, March 24, 2008 12:01:50
The BN has always claimed that the parties forming BN make decisions as a coalition based on fairness to the all races in Malaysia.
However the recent elections has seen an unprecedented voting pattern CHANGE of the races which did not vote according to party based on race or religion.
Hence the PKR,PAS and DAP enjoyed the support of ALL THE RACES.
Going forward and in view of globalisation and for the betterment of MALAYSIA, i suggest that these three parties already now a alternative coalition and for the sake of ALL Malaysians, do a simple change in party name respectively while maintaining their PKR,PAS and DAP (short forms) to something more plalatable to all Malaysians.
Actually PKR is fine being Party Keadilan Rakyat..but
PAS can be Parti Angkatan Semua, and;
DAP can be Democratic Alliance of Peoples Party (The DAP,long associated as a Chinese based party can beknown as DAPP instead)
This move will help START a mindset change amongst the peoples and surely the resulting effect would be a BETTER MALAYSIA FOR THE FUTURE.
written by Suresh, March 24, 2008 12:09:49
Correction : It's palatable not plalatable.
written by Anak Desa, March 24, 2008 13:59:31
Time to lay the Ghosts to rest after March 8th and move forward. Let us not bicker over past things. Time is too short to do that. Forward March Malaysians...