Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zaid: Govt has to apologise to victims of 1988 judicial crisis

Zaid: Govt has to apologise to victims of 1988 judicial crisis PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 23 March 2008 10:50
By IAN MCINTYRE

KOTA BARU: The Federal Government must make an open apology to those victimised by the judicial crisis in 1988 that led to the sacking of the then Lord President Tun Mohd Salleh Abbas, said newly-appointed de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim. 

We should seek forgiveness. In the eyes of the world, the judicial crisis has weakened our judiciary system,” he said. 

The Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department said that although the issue was 20 years old, an apology was needed as it was wrongly handled and Tun Salleh's sacking was inappropriate. 

From 1988, the judiciary's independence was eroded and led to allegations of corruption and abuse of power, he said. 

The open apology would be one of his three main goals and would give a mandate for a fresh chapter to unfold in the country’s judiciary system, Zaid said at a thanksgiving feast to mark his appointment as a federal minister. 

His second goal would be to strengthen judicial independence and the delivery of justice by revamping the appointment and promotion process of the country's judges and magistrates. 

Capable judges of integrity were important to help lure foreign investors, who had, in the past, expressed doubts about the country's judiciary, he said. 

Zaid said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was serious about revamping the judiciary and making it transparent. 

The minister said his third aim was to strengthen the judiciary with the help and cooperation from all stakeholders such as the Judges, Attorney-General, the Bar Council and law enforcers such as the police. 

Zaid said the judiciary must attract the best minds and good legal officers who were only loyal to the law. 

Their loyalty should not be to politicians or businessmen.  

Their moral and good judgment practices must be guided by the legal compass,” said Zaid,. 

He added that this would restore public trust in the judiciary.  

I am not a play-safe politician. I want to accomplish things and do what is right for the country,” he said. 

A sequence of political events led to Tun Salleh's sacking after a judiciary-appointed Commonwealth Tribunal found him guilty of “misbehaviour.” 

He was then dismissed as Lord President and this led to local and international protests, including from the Bar Council, International Commission of Jurists meeting and from the Law Asia Association. - STAR

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by temenggong, March 23, 2008 10:54:28
Okay, good start. Remove the 1988 judicial amendments and appoint an Independent Judicial Appointments Commission.
written by malaysian2008, March 23, 2008 11:11:47
"The Federal Government -must make an open apology- to those victimised by the judicial crisis in 1988 "

bros' Zaid you minister post will be short live, this is not UMno culture, the arrogant party will not bow to make apolgy, even they lose 2/3 & 5 states they still say the are strong. they are now fighting with the king/sultan in KT and claims they are melayu,bunch of NEW MELAYU that need not respect the malay sultan.

you should work like AG & ACA boss or your ex-minister Nasri and follow umno culture - FOLLOWS THE BOSS INSTRUCTIONS ONLY, NOT BE HERO lah.

really worry for you minister post; everybody think you are OK,but one kena sack
the BN will play dirty again.
written by heavenwrites, March 23, 2008 11:17:01
Good work QC Zaid

Continue to speak the truth even thought you may only have one week in the PM's Office

Silly old man, if you are listening, you too should apologize to the vistims and Malaysians of all race.
written by Spear Bing, March 23, 2008 11:25:23
Is Zaid not worry about his legal firms's contract with Petronas that propelled him to become the multi-millionaire? A really talk order with such bold statement. Will TDM or UMNO apologise to Tun Salleh Abas?

Let's wait and see whether he can walk the talk. Just hope the rest of UMNOputras can see eye to eye with him and do the right thing.
written by rajaphillips, March 23, 2008 11:27:36
The 1988 Mahathir Induced Judicial Crisis is the right place to start. Zaid is doing the right thing and has the mark of a good leader
written by atsanee, March 23, 2008 11:34:45
Zaid must get to the bottom of the Altantuya and VK Lingam case.
For starters,he must insist masks on the two batman wannabes in the Altantuya case be removed.
written by sthiru, March 23, 2008 11:42:06
Hello Zaid... we not only need that thousand apologies but also prosecute all that corrupted ex and present ministers that robbed and raped Malaysia for all these years. Not forgeting KJ. He must be brought to justice. Rotan sampai mati would be the right punishment for Kurang aJar and Samy.
written by apasalahku, March 23, 2008 11:46:44
First he introduces anti party-hopping laws to protect UMNO then he seeks to embarrass his boss main detractor (TDM)...none of which is a substantial step in strenghtening the country..
Brown-noser..another lump in the UMNO pile of dirt
written by indianputra, March 23, 2008 11:50:15
Apology alone is not enough.. The people responsible must be sued by the people affected
written by raven1958, March 23, 2008 11:53:51
aIYOOOO...Zaid...should have stayed in buisness instead of running with these devils....want to help the nation???....Stay out of politics until UMNO is bungkused completely.....these guys are pirates.....you would do better with PAS or DAP who respect professionals ......going to be sorry end for you....
written by cheekhiaw, March 23, 2008 11:59:14
Looks like we have a really hardworking Law Minister. So many ideas in quick succession.

First he suggests that a new anti-hopping law be enacted to prevent elected representatives the liberty to choose who they want to work with to better serve their country (or themselves in the case of hoppers to BN in the past).

Now, after his party had systematically corrupted the judicial system and more to facilitate a small group's (especially his party members) predatory greed, and which perpetuated god knows how much suffering, injustices and theft of others' wealth and properties, he is suggesting an apology.

But only a man with a grasshopper brain would think that just an apology would suffice.

It is like that MCA guy swearing at his dead mother's grave to prove that he did to not steal.

Fool's Remedies...

written by loosecannon, March 23, 2008 12:36:19
An apology is not enough. Restore their pension including arrears. Haul those who perpetrated the crime to face justice and jail them if found guilty. And make them apologise personally to their victims. God is great.

written by teohsh, March 23, 2008 13:11:34
Given the state of the continual decline of our judiciary since 1988, what Zaid proposes is a good start.

The problem I have is that since 1988, there has been many, many good starts, but ALL so far end up as failures. Why is that?

If this turns out to be another failure, then, the Rakyat is right not to trust BN government anymore. How many years must we trust the BN, only to see promises after promises after promises are NOT delivered?

If I am a betting man, I will bet that this attempt by Zaid will be a failure too. Any takers?
written by malsia1206, March 23, 2008 13:52:55
Essentially a correct step and about time. The legal compass Datuyk Zaid referred to had been pointing at Putrajaya since the former PM's era. It's a legacy Malaysia can do without. But talk is cheap. Your intention is honourable but the system is too entrenched to see any substative departure for the better. Even the PM himself has his hands tied. Politicians come and go. The rakyat has seen and heard this far too many times.
written by cheekhiaw, March 23, 2008 13:56:22
The Meaning of Good Starts

History is full of good starts by bad men meaning to corrupt by enticing the foolish with well-meaning words.
written by tmf, March 23, 2008 14:51:34
Yes, apologise immediately as Geaorge Seah is already very ill and please do not let another good man pass away without vindicating his name!
written by FFT, March 23, 2008 14:54:21
Excellent start.

This is one of the many aspects of the Mahathir legacy that needs to be dismantled. I understand that several pro-Mahathir interns have already started engaging in much bellowing and gnashing of teeth upon hearing this news.

The ultimate dismantling of the Mahathir legacy should climax with the burial of UMNO Baru.
written by temanmu, March 23, 2008 15:00:26
Would that then make Mahathir's adminisration illegitimate?

And Tengku Razaleigh the rightful PM instead?

Mahathir's hunger for power seemed to have caused so many crises... it would take a change of govt to right his legacy!
written by donplay, March 23, 2008 15:24:47
Only the insane will fail to see that most of Rip Van Winkle's headaches have their root, stem, trunk, branch and leaves from the 20 odd years of TDM's racist, poor and scandalous leadership of M'sia. This is no apology for Rip's own misrule; he will have to answer for many of the scandals created by his own somnambulistic (sleepwalking) administration.

If by an apology to Tun Salleh, Zaid means sweeping the rest of the Judiciary Corruption, related and other scandals under the carpet, and giving the kiss of death to the Royal Commission hearing, ICPMC, etc, then I say, Nyahh, FO!!

This country can only move forward when TDM is brought to justice and he apologises publicly on TV for the disintegration of a once united nation. Only then can there be lasting National Reconciliation.

But, let's watch and for the moment give Zaid the benefit of the doubt. Meanwhile, his courage is to be congratulated.
written by ribena ice, March 23, 2008 15:37:28
apology?? what apology? *ada orang buat tak tau*
written by mypanida, March 23, 2008 16:14:15
“...my pleas, as we all know, fell on deaf ears....in the end, justice is not done because you have a better pleader or a better judge. Justice is not even done because you have better laws. These things are undoubtedly important.”
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tun Salleh Abas (from the book with K Das "May Day For Justice")
======================================================= =========================
all of you have been exonerated......
and curse you abdul hamid omar for biting your BOSS.
written by gotsms, March 23, 2008 16:32:52
While we're at it, why not the Government now puts the ACA under parliament?

We do not need travel so far to the West to learn of their systems. Just follow Hong Kong's successful ICAC.

We want to be a world class nation. Not a jaguh kampung. So be it. You already have your majority votes all the undi hantu to become lead the Federal government.

We're all watching!
written by PakPandir, March 23, 2008 17:23:14
I hope Zaid is a good tree that will produce good fruits.

This may be a change from the last brainless Samseng.
written by artchan, March 23, 2008 18:03:51
ZAID is dreaming...dreaming. He is only one how can he fight so many..In umno so many are out to get him. If he is that good..why the hell was he pushed out. He was very vocal..more of an opposition member within UMNO., but they can't tolerate him. This appointment is for AAB syiok sendiri. If Zaid talks too much..PM will ask him to shut up.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 23, 2008 18:36:54
DSAI and his family also deserve an apology.
written by Uncorruptible, March 23, 2008 19:42:52
Yes, the government must now apologise to Tun Salleh. Australia has apologised to its Aborigines. It is time America apologise to the blacks for kidnapping them from Africa and ill-treating them. And Malaysia must now apologise to the Chinese Malaysians for May 13 and to the Indian Malaysians for marginalising them. If not NOW, when???
written by joeawk, March 23, 2008 20:11:02
You are the only one real man in UMNO. Hope you can kick Nazri's butt that good for nothing a..hole.

Not just the judiciary but also the ACA needs to be like the ICAC of Hongkong.

Then there is the manipulation and discrimination at the administrative level.

What about the Atty General? Is he still any good? Should he be posted back to where he comes from?
written by atsanee, March 23, 2008 20:19:44
Water under the bridge my dear Zaid.
Time better spent on current issues like the overhaul of the thoroughly corrupted Judiciary and setting up safeguards to ensure its independence so that there wont be a repeat of the Salleh Abbas fiasco.

Better enjoy your time in the Cabinet and giving interviews with your luxury swimming pool as the backdrop. Dont know how long it will last,do we?

Before long,your boss will have you do the dirty job for him you will appear in the papers giving the legal comments ie government's side of the Trengganu battle royale.

Then I wonder how welcomed you will be at Istana Negara functions?!

written by nowinnofee, March 23, 2008 20:26:16
You know what they say about a lawyer? He ( Zaid) will survive in the great barrier reef along with the sharks ( UMNO). People, perhaps Zaid should asked how he sends all the big government contracts to his law firm? When he retires, he will be a multi billionaire by virtue of these contracts. He has definately profitted from his position in the politics. Tsk Tsk Tsk Mr Zaid smilies/angry.gif
written by Eskay Lim, March 23, 2008 20:48:55
CORRECT...CORRECT...CORRECT.
The government should apologise for the judicial crisis of 1988 which led to the sacking of the Lord President, Tun Mohd. Salleh Abas.
Not only that, Tun Dr. Mahathir should be asked to seek forgiveness from all Malaysians as well, for having personally created this judicial scandal, in order to hold on to power to rule the country.
written by educationist, March 23, 2008 21:01:11
We should not ask for the impossible. If Zaid can get the government of the day to issue a formal apology to all those wronged [even if it be posthumously to the family] in the 1988 judicial crisis, he will, at least has walk his talk.
written by Commonsenses, March 23, 2008 21:14:42
Hey guys , study zaid statement careful. Ask ur self who is resposible for the judicial nightmare, its TDM. So wats TDM doing at the moment, he is in the other camp seeking to remove AAB. So the statement is political, if the government apologies so wat! Its history baby. Who is the liability, its TDM lah, not current government ok!
written by omarkhayyam, March 23, 2008 21:16:05
Zaid

Acta non verba - Action not words

until then stop giving press release la brother, maybe after that bloggers can invite you for teh tarik and buy ur story till then ........

written by sonofman0, March 23, 2008 23:25:40
What's done is done. It's history. Maybe time will heal the pain inflicted on those who were victims. Only the victims themselves can know for sure.

But some things CAN be UNDONE! Restore the honour, dignity and integrity of TUN SALLEH ABAS and the other two JUDGES!

If we do not do this, we shall go to our graves in SHAME. If in death we are cremated, the very smoke rising from the flames will spell the word S H A M E !

The motive should not be revenge but RESTORATION of HUMAN DIGNITY.
written by magickriver, March 24, 2008 02:52:38
An apology is just the first step. It's an acknowledgment of a grievous mistake committed, a grave injustice perpetrated. However, the apology must be followed by
swift action. First, the Attorney-General has to be replaced by somebody politically neutral (by which I mean independent and untainted by past collusion with plotters and schemers). So long as Gani Patail remains in office, no juridical remedy is possible. The new A-G will then be assigned the unpleasant task of reviewing all high-profile cases with politically clouded judgments dating back to the 1988 sacking of the Lord President. It will be a task requiring the establishment of a panel of legal experts drawn from the ranks of retired judges with solid reputations and the Malaysian Bar Council. We might even require the advice of a few veteran QCs from other countries knowledgeable about jurisprudence.
Apart from public apologies the government must compensate injured parties and dismiss judges found to be complicit in wrongdoing and abuse of judicial authority.
I know this is an extremely tall order - but the rot in the judiciary can no longer be tolerated. Zaid Ibrahim should be given at least two years to implement this enormously important task. If no action along these lines is seen to be taken within three months, we trust that he will do the honourable thing and resign Badawi's Cabinet, so that when Anwar Ibrahim (or Wan Azizah) takes over the helm of government, Zaid can offer his legal services to the new administration.
written by Chuang Tze, March 24, 2008 03:32:57
Too little, too late. An apology for such a momentous worng perpetrated by the BN Govt. under the leadership of Mamakthir is totally inadequate.

The Lord President, Tun Salleh Abbas and the 2 senior judges must be fully re-instated (even posthumously if need be) with honour.

Mamakthir must be brought to book for singlehandedly dismantling the Judiciary and putting in BN running dogs in its place. I think this is treason for undermining the Parliamentary Democracy of Malaysia furthering his dictatorship of Malaysia ambitions. They shoot rabid dogs like this, I presume.

written by smalluncle, March 24, 2008 06:49:35
Zaid, time to say "I WANT government to apologise...." I WANT to set up a totally indepndent Commission into VK lin....."

Stop using SHOULD, Should is use by outsider like opposition, NGOs who have not authorities but HOPES.

AAB should apologise to Tun Salleh but Put the blame on TDM lah. This way he will look good and Mukhriz mesti kena stray bullet. AAB should also get the RC to go to the bottom of Lingam's tape for the same reason.