Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow TERENGGANU MB CRISIS: Ahmad's swearing-in pushed to Wednesday, Umno submits protest letter to palace

TERENGGANU MB CRISIS: Ahmad's swearing-in pushed to Wednesday, Umno submits protest letter to palace PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 10:45
By : Rosli Zakaria

KUALA TERENGGANU, Sun: There was no swearing-in after all for embattled Terengganu Mentri Besar-designate Datuk Ahmad Said. The assemblyman who was picked by the Sultan of Terengganu to be the new Mentri Besar merely received his letter of appointment from the State Regency Advisory Council and was told that his swearing-in has been scheduled for Wednesday.

Ahmad, the Kijal assemblyman, had turned up at the Istana Tetamu here at 7.25am expecting to be sworn in after yesterday’s stunning turn of events when the palace announced that he would be the new Mentri Besar after the Sultan invoked Clause 14 paragraph (2) (a) of the state constitution.

Thirty minutes later, state Umno liaison secretary Datuk Rosol Wahid turned up at the palace to hand over to a palace official a letter signed by 22 Umno assemblymen protesting Ahmad’s appointment. The letter insisted that Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh should be sworn in as the rightful Mentri Besar.

At 6.15am, Ahmad received his letter of appointment from a palace official and was told to be ready for his swearing in on Wednesday. He immediately left the palace after that.

In the meantime, Ahmad, who has refused to answer all queries from the NST, is bracing for another letter – from the Umno headquarters, warning him that if he were to assume the post, he will face disciplinary action.

When the palace announced Ahmad’s appointment yesterday evening, it was immediately met with a threat to boycott the swearing-in ceremony by the 23 BN assemblymen, including Idris.

Constitutional law expert Prof Shad Saleem Faruqi opined in an immediate reaction the state is faced with a royal constitutional crisis.

BN had retained 24 of the 32 seats in the Terengganu assembly in the March 8 polls. Ahmad, 51, who has been the assemblyman for Kijal since 1990, succeeds Idris, also the Terengganu Umno chief and Jertih assemblyman who was menteri besar for one term from 2004.

Terengganu has been without a government for 14 days since the March 8 general election, despite a convincing victory by the BN, until the palace announcement yesterday.

Rosol had warned Ahmad that should he accept the Mentri Besar’s post, he would not only face the possibility of disciplinary action by Umno but risk a vote of no-confidence in the legislative assembly. He also warned that several assemblymen will resign their state seats to protest Ahmad’s appointment to force by-elections.
- NST

written by temenggong, March 23, 2008 10:51:05
No confidence motions may be passed, Aduns may resign or the appointed MB can resign but the sultan may choose not to dissolve the state assembly and call for state elections.
written by nafis, March 23, 2008 10:57:49
Now THAT'S what i call "RAJA ADIL RAJA DISEMBAH!"

DAULAT TUANKU!

Show these pendurkahas what's it like to go against Your Majesty!

Ini punya melayu mau jadi wakil rakyat, tapi tunjuk KURANG AJAR pada Sultan, hello, ingat rakyat nak duduk diam saja ke?

"Matilah kau Pak LAH!" [still ringing/singing in my ears] smilies/grin.gif
written by PakMalau, March 23, 2008 11:00:45
Read here

Stripped from UMNO...

That's how far UMNO will go to protect their POCKET rather than the RAKYAT... u know, all the PETRONAS oil wells, Monsoon Cup etc
written by benjo, March 23, 2008 11:09:46
When LKS called for a boycott of the swearing-in ceremony in Perak, he was literally whacked, called all kind of names, including biadap. He was told that respect for the Sultan/palace is very sensitive to the malays and so on. Malaysians, irrespective of race, verbally whacked LKS. But LKS was very quick and fast to realize his mistake and apologized to the palace. That's a great leader. What is all the protest, boycot, protest march,etc. in Trengganu called. I wonder what all the anti-LKS groups in Perak doing about this. Just curious. How is the rakyat to react to this situation?
written by Toyolbuster, March 23, 2008 11:48:15

* Belief in God
* Loyalty to King and Country
* Upholding the Constitution
* Sovereignty of the Law, and
* Good Behaviour and Morality”

The BN fellas are non of the above. That makes them Traitors of Malaysia and they should be all locked up and keys thrown away.
written by iMac, March 23, 2008 11:54:51
Agree with PakMalau.

Imagine losing control of RM800 million (correct me if I am wrong) annually especially when you have been leeching off this largesse and taking for granted that this is your god given right.

I bet most of these 22 won their seats through the courtesy of that Rashid fella where the constitution was amended to extend his tenure.

As for the false Tengku, he should disappear from public view. He is as false as his name and yet we have this clown holding public office.

Malaysia is the only country in the world where you can formally change your race and also become a royalty when you are a born commoner.

As for this Adnan fella, its' a double whammer. I heard he is also a mamak.

written by indianputra, March 23, 2008 11:55:23
What example is UMNO setting for the children and youths of Malaysia. So, it is OK to go against the wishes of the Royalty!!! It is OK to belittle the Royalty. It is OK to snub the decision by the Royalty. Is that it?? Is it that UMNO wants to Rakyat to follow?

UMNO, you are DIGGING DEEPER AND DEEPER INTO YOUR GRAVE!!! Good Luck, you morons!
written by Biztrack, March 23, 2008 11:57:14

A question to all the so-called constitutional law experts and even our AG:

What is the position of law? Is it:

(a) the Sultan MUST ALWAYS consent to the appointment of a person that commands support of majority of the state assembly? or

(b) must the state assembly nominate someone who commands the support of its majority AND who will be able to get the Sultan's consent for his appointment?

If answer is (a), then aren't the Sultans mere puppets of the state assembly, and not the pembela bangsa melayu (or rakyat) as envisaged under the constitution?

If the answer is (b), then the Sultan residual power acts as a check and balance on the power of the politicians? In other words, the MB-to-be must have support of BOTH the Sultan (acting as the "conscience of the rakyat") and of the assembly.

So, if the answer is (b), is there really a constitutional crisis????

written by malaysian2008, March 23, 2008 12:01:53
UMNO = United Malay Non Original. b'cos malay must respect sultan else you can't being a malay and not follow the culture of malay
written by sthiru, March 23, 2008 12:17:12
Datuk Ahmad Said... do you want to obey our great King whom we the rakyat hold dearly or the umno losers? You been elected to serve the people not umno and our great King the ruler of this great Nation is appointing you as the MB for Teregganu. Be a Malay man. Serve the people that elected you and respect the King that is appointing you.
The rakyat will never forgive you if you disobey our beloved King. Umno is nothing. Don't let these terrorists fright you. You are in the winning side; The KING, our KING. Daulat Tuanku... Daulat Tuanku... Daulat Tuanku.
I love my King... Sthiru
written by TRANSFORMER, March 23, 2008 12:19:47
Nampaknya UMNO Terengganu telah mempelopori tindakan pasca modenisasi Melayu untuk menderhaka kepada Sultan. Inikah yang dikatakan memperjuangkan bangsa melayu tetapi bertuankan Presiden UMNO dan bukan bertuankan KESULTANAN MELAYU?

Alangkan malang bagi orang melayu khususnya UMNO kalau mereka lupa kepada perjuangan sebenar mereka untuk rakyat khususnya orang Melayu, bukan untuk Presiden UMNO yang bongkak dan lupa diri itu. Saya melihat ini sebagai kesan langsung dari latihan saraf intensif Dolah dan kroni pada tahun lepas,yang telah menerapkan pemahaman baru dalam UMNO iaitu - MEMPERKASAKAN INSTITUSI PRESIDEN, yakni memperkuatkan kuasa Presiden UMNO hingga melangkaui kuasa Sultan. Kesannya, Presiden UMNO kini amat berkuasa dan ini diakui leh Tun Dr Mahathir.

Saya melihat ini sebagai satu tindakbalas Dolah kepada aib yang diterima dari Raja Perlis yang tidak melantik Shahidan yang telah diberikan 'watikah' perlantikan oleh Raja Dolah Bodowi. Dolah merasakan kuasanya telah dicabar oleh Raja-Raja Melayu setelah dia dicabar oleh rakyat jelata dalam PRU12.

Kalau dalan cerita melayu dulu, pemimpin macam ini samada di rejam dikhalayak ramai atau bertukar menjadi batu!.

Diharap pemimpin-pemimpin UMNO Bahagian Terengganu tersedar dan kembali kepangkal jalan. Jangan lah kerana pangkat dan suruhan Dolah yang gila kuasa dan bersultan di mata, maka kamu lupa pada amanah yang diberi Allah dan jangan lupa Kesultanan Melayu lah yang menjadi payung kepada ketuanan Melayu yang kamu perjuangkan selama ini.

DAULAT TUANKU!
written by seek justice, March 23, 2008 12:57:38
It all boils down on which faction in the BN will have access to the Petronas royalty money in Terengganu.

I say, heed the Sultan/Regent and do not let Idris Jusoh near the Terengganu's people money anymore lest he will start another theme park by end of year.
written by Yacob, March 23, 2008 13:04:36
Kalau istana tunduk pada ugutan UMNO terenganu maka rakyat akan hilang hormat pada raja. Rakyat akam fikir bahawa raja tidak ada kuasa. Raja hanya jadi boneka orang politik. Rakyat akan fikir juga yang raja sudah tidak boleh diharapkan lagi.

Saya percaya istana Terengganu tidak akan takut pada ugutan Idris Jusoh atau Pak Lah. UMNO hanya cuba gertak istana. Istana mesti tunjukkan pada UMNO yang istana juga ada kuasa. Istana kena ajar UMNO bagaimana untuk berdepn dengan istana. Cara ugutan mesti ditentang habis-habisan. Barisan Rakyat, terutama PAS dan PKR hendaklah bertindak segera mempertahankan istana. UMNO mesti diajar cukup-cukup suapaya budaya samseng yang mula dibawa oleh menantu PM itu dapat disekat. Kalau perlu Idris itu dituduh kerana cuba menghasut penderhakaan terhadap raja. Barangkali, idris patut disula agar satu pengajaran buat pemimpin UMNO yang gilakan kuasa.
written by smeagrooo, March 23, 2008 13:32:27
the only reason Umno is pushing so hard for Idris Jusoh to eb MB is becos they needed a good dog to make sure the wang ehsan will continue to flow in. Also if Ahmad Said is not a good dog he might turn around and bite back all the umno crooks. The mega Monsoon Cup might be exposed.

By hook or by crook must get Idris in even if it means snubbing the Sultan. It could be a life n death situation for some ppl.
written by KKchan, March 23, 2008 13:36:15
Only UMNO, it seems, have the right to honour the Sultans and to insult them. Remember how TDM stripped them of their powers and how UMNO screamed in indignation when LKS talked of a boycott! Is it because UMNO being a Malay party feels it has the sole right to protect the honour of the Malay Sultans and insult them when it suits UMNO?
written by sonofman0, March 23, 2008 13:39:44
EXISTING LAW is SOVEREIGN. The LAW makes a nation CIVILIZED. Remember "The Lord of The Flies"?

Are we a CIVILIZED NATION or not? Who made the law? We did, through our representatives. If we show no respect
for the law, it follows that we show no respect for ourselves! It then follows that we are uncivilized!

In order to avoid being uncivilized, we must look to the law for the solution to this problem. The law and only the law has the answer!

Everything else is secondary.
written by Sunnysoul5, March 23, 2008 14:08:25
YDP Agong is the custodian of The Constitution of the nation, and is now helping ABB to choose a state assembly man who is perceived to be less corrupted and good manager of the assets of the state of his home state, Terengganu. Afterall, ABB says he is serious about wanting to wipe out corruption even after four years of distinct failure to do so.

The voters have sent a very strong message to ABB and BN that enough is enough about corruption, cronyism, nepotism, excesses and abuses. BR after gaining control of 5 plus 1 states are demonstrating to the voters that they really mean business by walking the talk with very significant inroads to fight the social economic ills that have infested the Malaysian society for 26 years.

The Rulers of Selangor, Perak, Perlis, Kedah and Kelantan as well as the Governor of Penang have officially endorsed the people’s choice as the MB or CM. They are expected to monitor the performance of these people’s leaders so that the assets of the respective state is properly and effectively managed. Now the Sultan of Terengganu is also heeding the cries for the people to make sure the MB appointed by him is credible and respectable to manage the assets of the state. If these 7 CM/MB can eliminate corruption, then the other 6 states may have to have credible MB as well. This is the beginning of Malaysia for Malaysians moving into a clean, respectable, open, transparent society as well as restoring the various pillars of power to ensure a feel good environment for the people leading to good TI ranking.

The next mission is to make sure the Executives or the Parliament can have credible leaders to ensure the voices of the voters are heard and attended to promptly without unnecessary slogans and media hypes. The 7 CM/MB are now empowered and can provide the role models for the PM, whoever he may be, to emulate and walk the talk.

With the Constitution, Agong, and the Rulers restored to the original power, we need the Parliament and the credible PM and Cabinet to transform effectively. Thereafter, the nation is probably ready to tidy up the Judiciary and the Police. The Agong and Bar Council shall have more power to ensure a reputable, respectable and credible Judiciary. The Police are probably ready for the image rebuilding and it is not solely dependant on the IGP but a Commission to ensure the check and balance on the police force as a whole. Both the Altantuya murder case and the Lingam gate royal inquiry are going to demonstrate the sincerity to restore credible Judiciary and the police.

After 50 years of independence we are beginning to see the unavoidable subtle changes and possible transformation through the political will of the people.

At least, we are beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel, when the leaders and people with conscience begin to do the right thing.

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 23, 2008 15:19:15
"Parti Ang-MO is pee-nis" This is what an old man said to his friend in a coffee-shop.
"No-lah, bukan Ang-MO, bodoh, ARM-NO" and "Fark-Lah parti"
"Ap lu cakap, tak ada arm, and parti "****-lah"?
"I mean Pak-Lah, not ****-lah, stupid"
Then what you mean by "pee-nis"
I mean UMNO is finished, undersatand, "Habis".
Oh, I see, yes, habis cerita.
written by ribena ice, March 23, 2008 15:34:46
this 23 MP should be sacked and stripped from umno for going against the sultan. will we hear any apology from umno like lks? doubt it.
written by gotsms, March 23, 2008 16:41:58
DAULAT TUANKU!

The non-Malays are more respectful of the monarchy then UMNOputra. The non-Malays also whacked Lim Kit Siang till daylight for his 'shot in the foot' remark of boycotting the MB Perak swearing-in till he appologized.

What has all the UMNOputras done? Still whacking the Tuanku? There is no constitutional crisis. All is done according to the constitution.

It is UMNOputras who have persistently changing the constitution to their whims and fancies to fill their ever growing insatiable hunger and thirst for money.

Their call is "DAULAT WANG" "DAULAT WANG". We non-Malays, non-Muslims has been sad that the so called benefactors of NEP to help the down-trodden society has been hijacked to help the handful few people.

Go check the ownership of Equine. Don't be surprised there is an element of Scomi in it. Or even proxies of KJ.

He is out, but not dead. And is still stringing the cobweb of connections.

Just like Sylar of Heroes, he is wounded in Season 1. But in Season 2, if we're not careful, he would announce "I AM BACK".

We do not like lompat katak from East Malaysia into Barisan Rakyat. If they want to lompat - there must be sound reasons. And they must be CLEAN. Not like Mr. vacuum CLEAN.
written by gotsms, March 23, 2008 16:43:25
At this point, Mr. Clean is wounded. He is a nice guy. I would not like him to go. We all shudder at the thoughts of who next would go up should he be gone and Ku Li is not able to muster that enough support to go up. Better he maintain where he is now and really do the cleaning.

If there is any corruption element, we're sure there are now many more eyes looking at transaction deals. Better he stay. He is lesser of the evil for now.
written by apanama, March 23, 2008 16:50:34
dear umno.
you all can resign, fight out another election.
and risk losing all seats to BR.
even if he wins,
TUANKU still won't appoint idris jusoh as MB.
which one do you want?

no way out. all lose-lose bets.
they call you bodohwi or bodohlah for a reason.

ampun tuanku, anak cina terengganu menjunjung kasih.
written by budakindia, March 23, 2008 20:14:54
hahahaha! You did that to your own people! You sacked your own UMNO members just because he was appointed to be the MB! Hahahahaha! Look at who's talking now! You b*st*rd are f*cking stupid! You can't even see where this goes! Hahahahaha! I'll just keep it to myself until it really happens! I really want to see how the media, BN, PM, KJ being played upside down this time! Hahahahaha!

written by Msian 2, March 23, 2008 23:13:49
UMNO don't even respect the royalty. Sultan cannot have his choice of MB is absolutely nonsense. Whats wrong with the PM?
written by asiana888, March 24, 2008 00:26:18
Hello STAR & NST. There must be many spins and juicy stories about the 'limbo' BN govt in Terengganu ... why the deafening silence? The Star kept 'kacau-ing' Penang ... esp the 'cheh kai' editor WCW.

UMNO is now a joke .... sacking its own ADUN just becos the Sultan wants to have a clean MB for the state. It looked like UMNO has not repented ... maybe a dissolution of the state assembly (even before it got started) and go to the polls again! I promise UMNO, you will be wiped out this time in Terengganu!
written by Chuang Tze, March 24, 2008 01:58:21
I am not one to mince my words, and politicians and political parties come and go. Constitutions are drawn up by people and can be changed by people with enough majority in Parliament.

But, if Malaysia is a Democratic country and everyone has one vote to decide the composition of the Govt. and the Parliament, and the Rule of Law is followed as a civilized society, then it follows that if fraud is not proven in Trengganu for the election results there, and the BN has the majority of seats, AND there majority of the Assemblymen (23) support Idris Jusoh as the MB, then according to the State Constitution, the Sultan (who is also our Agung) must pick Idris as the MB REGARDLESS of his personal feelings, as the BN represents the people in Trengganu (although we may feel they have made the worng choice, or the voting was tampered, but not proven) !!

Much as I despise the Barisan Najis and its corruption and policies, no one can act above the Law, and the Law in this case is the State Constitution which is very clear. The elected representative of the people who commands the support of the majority of the Assemblymen which Idris fulfills.

The Sultan must do what he must do and endorse Idris. That is his Constitutional Duty to the RAKYAT!! This may seem unpopular to some of you who are aginst the BN and those of you who are blindly supportive of the Royalty, but I am going to be consistent.

written by Taufique, March 24, 2008 03:10:24
2 faced amno sons of bitches. LKS talks of boycott, and he gets slammed left right centre. amno punks carry out and dont attend the ceremony, and oh wow how every other amno fark is quiet on the issue.

Don't disrespect the Sultan!!!! Shall someone cite the Rukun Negara to them.