Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The heroine who battled it bravely

The heroine who battled it bravely PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 09:58

Written by Kazi Mahmood, WORLD FUTURES

Malaysia has the capacity to recognize the contribution of Muslim ladies, clad in scarves, and who are involved in politics. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, the future opposition leader in the Malaysian Parliament is one such heroine of the modern age and World Futures explains why.

The first time I met Wan Azizah Wan Ismail was in 2001 and it was a difficult time in Malaysia, where I settled down from my home town of Port-Louis in Mauritius. It has been 9 years since I am living in Malaysia and the end of my first decade in this country was to be rich with events. There was the ‘reformasi’ and the Anwar Ibrahim trials that exposed the most undemocratic manner in dealing with a former Deputy Prime Minister. As a journalist, I was drawn towards the need for the truth to be revealed in the Anwar case or cases and this lead me to the doorstep of the house of the famous Malay leader.

Today I can say that the house of Anwar Ibrahim was also the house of a brave Muslim lady, soft spoken but very informed and well mannered as many Malay ladies in Malaysia. It was with caution that I went to the house of the man who was in jail and as I wrote in 2001 on the Islamonline.net website, it reminded me of the time when I was in the Seychelles Island, interviewing a priest regarding the activities of an Italian mafia organization in the tiny Indian Ocean republic.

It is however on my second visit to the ‘blue’ house that I learned more on the character of the lady of the house and the leader of the opposition to be. She was already an opposition leader, fighting for her husband’s release from jail and keeping a family together. She was also the leader of a newly created party now known as the Keadilaan or PKR. The one hour long television interview she granted to the Islamicity.org website was an incredible moment.

Surrounded by her young children and her son who was home from a study break in Australia, she showed qualities that made it apparent that one day she will have her own triumph in Malaysian politics. And that day is only a distance away and it will come when the House leader will face Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as the opposition leader.

Often written off by the government controlled press, Wan Azizah has survived the vagaries of the political spectrum of Malaysia and headed her party with brio. I have not seen Wan Azizah Wan Ismail since 2001 less the occasional meeting in Kuala Lumpur where she would be seen with lawyers who were fighting for Anwar Ibrahim in the courts. I believe she has grown in stature since then and with the release of Anwar from jail in 2004 coupled with the incapacity for the latter to lead the PKR officially, she was given the opportunity to prove herself as the leader of a winning party.

written by loosecannon, March 23, 2008 10:34:26
I was wondering when someone would write about her.

She's been the loner who holds PKR togather all these years. Any lesser person, male or female, would have given up long ago.

Yes she's a real Malaysian hero and I hope not only PKR but all Malaysians will remember her for that. If she give up her seat for Annur, I hope the party will appoint her to some important position so that she can continue be a beacon of hope and inspiration for all.

Annur, you are one damn lucky dude.
written by heavenwrites, March 23, 2008 10:56:28
Dear all Malaysian Bloggers, Tax Payers, Pensioners and Voters,

I just like to draw a few lines here about BN elected MPs switching over to BR. I must say this so all my Malaysian friends out there can give this comments a deep thought!

Once my brother Anwar Ibrahim becomes our Nation’s next most long waited and desperately needed Prime Minister, within 3 months ACA will be reporting to Parliament. This will ensure that none of these servants of the Citizens will dare to commit any more crime. I do not expect them to be 100% clean under BR.

I do believe one way or another and somehow, being the elected Rakyats’ representative, they can still have many rooms to make some decent and legitimate extra incomes that will not affect us so deeply with inflation like the present situation created by some kurang ajar elected MPs.

I am quite open about this and I strongly believe all Malaysians too can accept this revelation.

It is also the right time to look into Petronas’ accounting records, contracts, and the overall operations to stop this Tax Payers’ company from being slaughtered.

Paun Wan Azizah, please keep up the good work!
written by cancan, March 23, 2008 11:37:31
A Letter To The Prime Minister

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by sonofman0, March 23, 2008 13:12:06
Can you imagine the scene?

Raised voices, flying files and barbs, frayed nerves, tense moments, wedge driving, all this for almost three hours, and you'll
get a clear 12 megapixel digital shot!

To get up to 24 megapixel clarity, add the sweat and grime and everything else that comes with sweat and grime.

Guess what they had for teabreak: "fury sandwiches" with "all smiles" for filling!

All the while the backup singers were crooning the current hits, "Whispering Campaign" and "Plum Position".

All this was done to reject feelings of being "disheartened" and "demoralized"; to inspire confidence!

To present the appearance of a new dawn, they slipped into clean attire and commissioned selected leaders to send their
laundry (sweat, grime and odour) to their washing machine.

In the meantime a quiet, soft spoken, brave Muslim lady is walking the corridors of power. She is very well informed and well
mannered. She and her family need us. We and our families need her. WORLD FUTURES calls her, "a heroine of the
modern age".

We know her as Wan Azizah Wan Ismail!
written by halimm, March 23, 2008 13:29:41
Yes!
ACA report to parliament. Stop mismanagement of public funds.
written by periasa, March 23, 2008 16:17:10
Yes, she is certainly our heroine. Please soldier on with your husband and other family members. We are all together in your fight for justice regardless of race, religion or creed....to make our beloved country to be a better place to live. I always had very high admiration and adoration for Dato' Seri Anwar. I sincerely hope and pray that he leads the country in the very near future...please do not wait. I am an Indian but always regarded myself as a Malaysian first. One of the foremost thing to build Bangsa Malaysia, amongst others, is to abolish anything that is race based including racial details required in any form of 'applications'. This has to go and there is only one race for citizens of this country...i.e. Malaysian.
Thank you and all the best.
Best regards...Sam
written by artchan, March 24, 2008 06:02:28
cancan
Letter To The Prime Minister?

Don't bother. that bugger don't read and reply letter. U are wasting your time
written by SUV, March 24, 2008 11:40:12
tipper gore oso knows kak wan is a heroine!
smilies/smiley.gif
written by magickriver, March 25, 2008 14:52:34
Decency, nobility and wisdom are qualities that have been in acute shortage in a Malaysia benighted by 22 years under the despotic, ruthless and cunning Mahathir whose hollow and shallow Vision 2020 turned a once prosperous nation into nothing more than a farcical Theme Park dubbed "Bolehland."

During the dark years when Anwar Ibrahim was languishing in jail (and being slowly poisoned with arsenic), his wife Wan Azizah held her family and the KeADILan party together with a gentle, patient and stoical hand - never once raising her voice or saying anything spiteful, despite the depths to which her husband and his family had been wronged by the BN government of the day. She was a shining example of all the qualities the country desperately needed - honesty, compassion, sincerity and integrity. I wished for her to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia, even though I knew the job was more likely to fall to her ambitious husband Anwar - himself a career politician through and through. Wan Azizah became a politician by default, she was forced into the role by destiny. Many have expressed lingering doubts about Anwar Ibrahim as Prime Minister. They say he is a chameleon and opportunist. These people are rather dumb. In politics, the key prerequisites are that one be adaptable and quick to seize opportunities. In short, they are criticizing Anwar for being the smartest and most resilient politician to have emerged from Umno. I have no hesitation in endorsing Anwar for PM - mainly because I know that with the support of Wan Azizah and his exquisite daughter Nurul Izzah, Anwar will be guided on the right path. I salute a brave woman and a truly inspiring political family - their lives are the very stuff of epics!
written by sairam, March 26, 2008 15:37:35
I truely pray she will triumph in her quest to make malaysia truely great!! Good Luck