Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MIC Will Sink Or Swim With BN, Says Subramaniam

MIC Will Sink Or Swim With BN, Says Subramaniam PDF Print
Sunday, 23 March 2008 00:17

KUALA LUMPUR, March 22 (Bernama) -- The MIC will sink or swim with the Barisan Nasional (BN), said Human Resource Minister Datuk Dr S Subramaniam.

"As far as the MIC is concerned we are very clearly with the BN. Live or die, sink or swim, MIC stands with BN. We have been together for so many years and we have the strength to go through this struggle," he told reporters after launching the Temple of Fine Arts' "Pesta Ria" here Saturday.

He said that he expected BN politcians to have principles and not be easily swayed to cross over to opposition parties especially with Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) de factor leader openly inviting them to jump ship.

On his new post as Human Resource Minister, he said that he looked forward to solve problems pertaining unemployment especially amongst the Indian community.

"Through the Ministry, I plan to ensure that Indian youths get the right kind of training so that they will be in high demand in the market place," he said.

As for human rights issues concerning foreign workers voiced by Suara Rakyat
Malaysia (Suaram) and the Malaysian International Federation For Human Rights (FIDH), the minister said he was aware of their recommendations made on Friday.

"We will be looking into this issue. For these workers, it is our responsibility to give them good and fair working conditions and ensure that they get their due rights," he said.

Dr Subramaniam added that with regard to
India's concern about the welfare of its foreign workers within the country, a memorandum he was preparing on the matter was in the final stages.

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by BennyG, March 23, 2008 00:19:38
One thing though. MIC is one of the main reasons why BN is sinking.

For the benefit of the opposition, do stay with BN.
written by StevenO, March 23, 2008 00:27:38
All of you in BN will definitely Sink. Takes too much effort to learn to swim. Everybodies wanna piggy back ride on everyone else...hahaha....now you drownnnnnn... Have a nice journey!!!
written by toolan, March 23, 2008 00:28:57
In case you did not notice , its already sinking. Enjoy your ministership while it last.
written by penang1, March 23, 2008 00:38:43

Samy Vellu .............. sunk !

G. Palanivel ............ sunk !

S. Sothinanthan ......... sunk !

S.A. Vigneswaran ........ sunk !

Komala Krishnamoorthy ... sunk !

It's no longer a sink or swim issue, MIC already sunk, with or without be end !

written by farah, March 23, 2008 00:45:27
The Newly elected Minister representing the Indian community already sounds mini samivelu.
Sink or swim, live or die, stop the stupid arrogant talk similar to UMNO Leaders. Do the job that has been given you to. Lets bet you MIC can win back the Marginalised Ethinics Malaysian Indians who voted PAS, DAP AND PKR.
written by farah, March 23, 2008 00:50:06
The de Factor Leader,DSAI, openly inviting the BN Leaders to jump ship... actually DSAI is throwing bones to BN cause as a Revolution Leader he knows very well you BN are dogs.
written by Atheist, March 23, 2008 00:52:26
In case you didn't notice ... MIC is sinking.

My only request is that MIC sinks in salt water or fresh water, in the very least. It will be respectable. But predictions are that it will sink in whisky !!!

There are forces in play here that are bigger than any one of us individually. care to identify ....????

So, don't hope !!!!
written by Toyolbuster, March 23, 2008 01:07:22
Thats how much faith this pariah has. Sunk will be more appropriate than sink.
The problem with BN monkeys is that they are so used to complacency that they still don;t realise that they have sunken, and still talking about sink or swim. No hope la, monkeys, just go join KJ in the zoo. I heard few of his 4th floor residents have moved in with him at Jalan Hudson or Jalan Khir Johari, I'm not sure. Anyway, its not difficult to locate, they are in the same vicinity
written by malaysian2008, March 23, 2008 01:13:38
The MIC will sink or swim with the Barisan Nasional (BN),... where else can mic swim. there is no place for them to swim but sunk with BN. shhhh, may be change a new leader they may get some hope.
aiyoo yoo samy.
written by kevinD, March 23, 2008 01:14:17
Hello Thambies , you guys prove me wronglah. You all are even more stupid than i thoughtlah. BN is sinking because of youlah. Stupid pariahs!!! Shame on you , but then again you all will need to look up the oxford dictonary and find the meaning.
written by omarkhayyam, March 23, 2008 01:51:30
for a drowning man even a straw like UMNO-putera can be held on ..... good idea Subra ...... hang on there

you will go down with soon ...... u r not gonna sink but actually buried

written by ultraman kite, March 23, 2008 03:01:09
obviously MIC not fighting for Indian community but more to stay together with BN (and of course will get money from BN and straight go into their pocket).
written by michael, March 23, 2008 03:25:37
BN is the abbreviation for Barisan Nyamuk.

Translation to English: A party of dangerous bloodsucking and venomous creatures which has a long proboscis (aka panjang tangan)for sucking rakyats blood. Some species like UMNO are vectors of diseases such as corruption, cronyism, and nepotism, whilst others like MCA and MIC are known to carry sexual diseases and dog-like fevers.
written by lonewolf, March 23, 2008 06:14:06
... Correct Correct Correct ... MIC will not be able to swim but continue to sink and never float again as long as Semi Value and all his kuncu kuncu stays in MIC ...
written by billyong, March 23, 2008 06:55:40
"Sink or swim, we will be with you", that's what Samy told Harris Salleh of Berjaya during a Sabah state election in the 80s. PBS won instead and where was Samy? Your guess is as good as mine.
written by mikewang, March 23, 2008 08:47:38
MIC, please retain Uncle Sam.
When you sink, please bring BN down with you. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by bushfire, March 23, 2008 09:00:01
"Through the Ministry, I plan to ensure that Indian youths get the right kind of training so that they will be in high demand in the market place," he said.
Some of my Indian friends commented that almost thirty years ago, Samy promised something along the same lines. Those long years have come to pass, those hopeful Indian youths have grown old and have realised that it was a futile wait on empty hopes and broken promises. Now the same lyrics are being sung by a different singer but backed by the same orchestra. Do you think that the youths of today are going to be fooled again? MIC did not singly bring down BN. But they, together with the other component parties of BN collectively did their part in digging the hole that eventually buried them. Some had bigger shovels than the rest. Has the minister come to realise how catastrophically they were trounced in the last elections and the reasons for that??
"MIC will sink or swim with BN"...such loyal and noble words lost by its foolishness in a hopeless situation. MIC have shown that they cannot swim to save their own skins. That was evident in the 12GE. All the other component BN parties have become dead weight and are sinking faster than the ill-fated Titanic. One will learn to his own peril that it is too late to take up swimming lessons when one is drowning. The eventuality is a foregone conclusion. Do not forget to hold hands as you all sink to the bottom. Perhaps scuba diving gear will come in handy Mr. MIC Minister!!!
"Oh Danny boy..........."
written by ray111, March 23, 2008 09:16:38
dont talk cock just because you are a menteri now. do Mic got a choice? if mic dont hang on to BN where can you guys go? you think you can survive alone and win elections alone? use your brains lah you second liner menteri. You got us the Rakyat to thank for what you are today. Without the tsunami you think you can be a menteri? your fatso president will recommend you to AAB? Please tell your fatso president to shut up and stop issuing statements to the press or even appear on TV. Sick and tired to look at his face or even hear his voice. smilies/angry.gif
written by Hope4all, March 23, 2008 09:31:02
MIC can sink, swim, fly, float, walk, run with BN.. whatever, the party is not relevant anymore.

The more people like you open your mouth, the faster MIC will become irrelevant.
written by krising1, March 23, 2008 09:47:14
What noble sentiments. Go sink you clown! Take all the other clowns with you.
written by halimm, March 23, 2008 11:53:22
This thamby still believe that only BN can govern this country. Now Barisan Rakyat has to prove we can do better job and see BN perish. smilies/cool.gif
written by temenggong, March 23, 2008 13:56:55
He is singing the same tune Samy was singing in the early 80s. And that's what led to the state of affairs today! So nothing has changed.

Very well, die together then!
written by Kalam Kabut, March 23, 2008 14:10:14
Dear Dr. Subra,

Read carefully and wakeup from your dream.

MIC, MCA and UMNO (BN) are like sperm in the rakyat’s testicles. On 8th Mar 08 (12th GE – our honeymoon), when we reached climax, actually v shoot our sperms in the back hole!!! (If you don’t understand pls refer to any of your Sadarjee friends – belakang kira)

You can swim, sing and dance but the fact remain that BN has been flushed out!!!! It has entered INDAH WATER territory. Too late!!!
written by benjo, March 23, 2008 16:07:46
MIC can sink wth BN, who is bothered? In fact, it has already sank but just have not hit the sea bottom yet. Our concern is the Indian community and the rakyat as a whole.
written by Angela Ooi, March 23, 2008 16:21:02
What 'sink or swim with BN' is this shit talking about? MIC SUDAH 'SANK"
written by mohanraj, March 23, 2008 16:50:30
As a politician he knows how to be
evasive when asked an uncomfortable question like why
was not the MIC given the Works Ministry.The fact of
the matter is that the MIC did try very hard to retain
this ministry but failed to do so. Umno has been
wanting to wrestle the portfolio from the MIC for a
long time .Of course many in Umno fail to understand
that the works ministry is better off in the hands of
a non Umno minister so the Umnoputras can shamelessly
demand and get government contracts without raising
any eyebrows.

Nevertheless Dr Subramaniam comes out in the interview
as an intelligent and dignified bearer of public
office. The good doctor is going to have his hands
full. In all fairness it must be said that his
predecessor Samy Vellu was probably the most hard
working cabinet minister. How he managed with so
little sleep and a frugal diet is a wonder. He was
also probably the only minister who personally
answered phone calls from the rakyat. The fact that he
totally misread the people’s sentiments probably aided
and abetted by his staff of various secretaries
contributed to his downfall. The thousands of Indians
helped by him to get contracts, loans, scholarships
and medical benefits , did not count finally. He was
like a Zamindar ( land owner/chieftain) who dished
out goodies on an ad-hoc basis truly believing that he
was doing the right thing. Indeed many Indians did
benefit from his largesse and in a way it is pitiful
to see them going for his jugular now.

So, Dr Subramaniam, I do have a few tips for you;

1.Emulate your predecessor in being a hard working ,
disciplined minister. You don’t have to sleep only 5
hours a day like he does and yes, you may continue
being a vegetarian .

2.You don’t have to inherit any personal staff of
your predecessor. It is better for you to bring on
your own team if you are concerned about your image.

3.Do not behave like a Zamindar dishing out goodies.
Those who get the goodies will end up being
ungrateful and those who do not not get them will end
up being your enemies. Instead, conceptualise your
vision to help poor Indians into a policy and demand
that the government acts on it.

4. Do not be seen to be subservient member of the
ruling coalition. Demand that MIC be treated as an
equal component of the ruling party failing which
consider pulling out of the coalition.

The MIC maintained status quo by feeding on the fear
that without adequate Indian representation in the
administration, the community’s needs would not be met
.It may have been true in the past but not any longer.
The 2008 election has showed that the rakyat has
matured and voted across racial lines. The only ones
who seem obsessed with race seem to be the
politicians. However, the MIC need not be written off.
It has a golden opportunity revamp itself into a
dynamic party that is sensitive to the needs of poor
and downtrodden Indians. Eventually it is hoped that
MIC, along with it’s friends in the BN form a single
multiracial party ala PKR. Only then can we have a
truly credible two party system that would be the envy
of any plural society. Someone did say that politics
is far too important to be left in the hands of
politicians!

Dr AM Raj
Indonesia

written by artchan, March 23, 2008 18:05:57
Hahahahaha...Subra...good joke..thank you
written by nathan, March 23, 2008 19:22:26
Careful of what you say SUBRA...don't think u can say anything you want.. and get away with it... you dont have that idiot Boss of yours in the govt anymore to protect you..... remember who put you there.... SHUT UP.. and do your JOB...
written by PakPandir, March 23, 2008 21:45:28
""The MIC will sink or swim with the Barisan Nasional (BN)""

Hah, still want to swim with the one that sank you ?
written by stillnotproud2bmsian, March 24, 2008 03:17:18
Sink Lah!! Why talk so much... Insulting our intelligence!! smilies/sad.gif We know where u r are and where u stand... oooppsss... sink, sorry... smilies/grin.gif
written by smalluncle, March 24, 2008 07:11:08
In another report, Samy WANTS BN to speed up implementations of projects Promised to Indian B4 election.

Aiyoyo Samy, this is what you will get.

First you LOST the election, So, Indian no support You or is it BN? So padan muka they be sideline. (you should know better ma. Some more claimed to be longest serving Mentri)

2ndly: have u ever wonder, now that you are outside, what happen in the cabinet meeting? Let me give you a preview (should be closed to the real thing)

In the cabinet meeting:
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
YB : apa you jadi di luar, bising sangat?
Kaki Bodek: YB, itu semua suara protest. Ada NGO, ada Pembangkang, tapi pelik, kali ini ada member lama kita bersama.
YB: Siapa?
Kaki Bodek: Lim Kheng Yik, Ong Ka Ting, Samy. Tapi Suara Samy paling kuat?
YB : Abi, apa dia nak?
Kaki Bodek: Dia minta, YB dia MINTAAAA, kerajaan percepatkan janji janji kepada kaum India sebelum PRU.
YB: hahahahahaha, ehehehehe, huhuhuhuhu, (ooops, tumpah air minum pulak.) smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif Bagi tahu Samy, sesiapa yang diluar itu sesama taraf Pembangkang, NGO. Suruh dia Diam saja.