Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The Ugly Malaysian

The Ugly Malaysian PDF Print
Saturday, 22 March 2008 12:15

My wife and I voted in Subang USJ and we both voted for an Indian man and a Chinese girl. We did not vote for them because they happen to be an Indian man and a Chinese girl. We also did not refuse to vote for them because they happen to not be Malay and Muslim.

In the old days it used to be called The Ugly American. Today, it is The Ugly Malaysian, at least as far as this country is concerned.

Malaysians, just like Americans, are racists; there is no doubt about that. But while Americans will accept the fact that they are racists, Malaysians will deny it and instead will claim to be very tolerant of the other race or races.

You can always tell when a person is a racist from the opening statement when a Chinese says “I have a lot of Indian friends”, or a Malay says “I used to mix with Chinese at school”, or an Indian says “Actually, Malays in the kampong are very nice people”, and so on. This is the Malay, Chinese and Indian way of giving their 'stamp of approval' to the other race. Why do you need to emphasis the word 'Malay', 'Chinese' or 'Indian'? Is this your way of showing tolerance? Does the emphasis on race mean you are 'tolerant' of those not of your race? Is this to give an appearance of magnanimity or generosity on your part? See what a great guy I am. I tolerate the other races. Sheesh.....as if I need anyone to 'tolerate' me.

Look at Malaysiakini's latest report on the Selangor State EXCO line-up. Malaysiakini reported that out of the ten EXCO Members, six are going to be non-Malays and four of them women. Who the hell cares whether six are non-Malays and four are women? Are these people being chosen to run the state because of their race and gender? Should they not be chosen because of their qualifications and capabilities? Who are these six non-Malays and four women anyway? Are they the best of the lot? Will they outperform and outshine the previous Khir Toyo administration? Are we going to see Selangor grow and prosper by leaps and bounds? Is Selangor going to be paradise on earth?

Who cares? What matters is that six are going to be non-Malays and four are going to be women. That is what matters and that is what is going to guarantee a great future ahead of us. The calibre of the ten EXCO members was buried in the consideration of race and gender. That is the main focus and that is what appears to be the deciding factor. Woe to this country when race and gender override all other factors.

Are Malaysians ready for an all-women EXCO line-up? What if all ten EXCO Members are women? If all these ten women are the most capable of the lot and none of the men can better their credentials would this be so bad? Should not that be what matters? What if all ten EXCO Members are Chinese, or all ten Indians, or all ten Malays? Would this be so bad as well? No, Selangor is 52% Malay and 48% non-Malay. Furthermore, 52% of the voters are women and 48% of the voters men. So the ten-member EXCO line-up must reflect this racial and gender breakdown. Oh? Is that so? Well, since 40% of Malaysians are non-Malays and 51% are women, how can we have just one Prime Minister who is a Malay man? What about the 40% non-Malay Malaysians and the 51% women Malaysians? A Malay man Prime Minister means that the 40% non-Malays and 51% women are 'not represented'.

This argument of 'equal' representation according to race and gender is ridiculous. This means gays and lesbians plus Portuguese, Ibans, Dayaks, Kadazan, Sikhs, Ceylonese, Siamese, Javanese, Bugis, Burmese, Vietnamese, etc. can demand and should also be given 'representation' in the government since they too are Malaysian citizens. If men and women are a criteria, then gays and lesbians should equally be a criteria. And if Malay, Chinese and Indian are considerations, then 'others' not Malay, Chinese and Indian should also be considerations. Or are the minorities not important, as Nazri Aziz said a few months ago?

It is most upsetting to read news reports, even by those 'alternative' and more progressive sources like Malaysiakini, play the racial card. It would have sufficed if Malaysiakini had reported that ten EXCO Members (though it was wrong as it is actually nine) had been decided without stressing on the six non-Malays and four Malays (which is again wrong). What is the purpose of bringing to the readers' attention the race of the EXCO Members and stress on the fact that six are non-Malays and four Malays (which in the first place is wrong)?

This has been what has delayed the swearing-in of the EXCO members although the elections were held two weeks ago. It was because of how many Malays and how many non-Malays should be in the EXCO line-up. Furthermore, the three opposition parties that had agreed to form the new coalition government in the state could not agree on a 4:4:2 or 5:3:2 or 4:3:2 formula. That one extra EXCO seat resulted in a 'deadlock' of sorts. Who cares who gets that one extra seat? I don't! Most of the voters don't! But the three opposition parties do and what the political parties want count, not what the voters want?

You see, the state is 'owned' by the political parties, not by the rakyat. It is the political parties that won the election, not the rakyat. The rakyat do not matter. What the political parties want does. When the political parties came before the rakyat during the election campaign, they spoke about Barisan Nasional's racist policies. They asked the rakyat to reject Barisan Nasional because Barisan Nasional stands for racism.

The opposition parties campaigned on a platform of non-race-based politics. They argued that we are all Malaysians, one nation of Malaysians, not a nation divided by race. Malays, Chinese and Indians are one, they screamed. Let us unite. Let us look at each other as brothers and sisters. Never mind who you vote for. Never mind if the candidate is Malay, Chinese or Indian. Never mind if the political party the candidates represent is DAP, PKR or PAS. Just vote opposition. Just vote any race. Just vote any political party. But after they win they argue about which race, which political party, which gender, and what the sexual preferences of each candidate is in deciding how to form the government.

When the rakyat chose the government, race, religion, gender, and whatever else, were furthest from their minds. They did not care which party you were from. They did not care which religion you believed in. They did not care whether you are Malay, Chinese or Indian. They voted for you regardless whether you are man, woman, or gay man/woman. Do you think they now want to split hairs over just one seat because the politicians want a Malay, Chinese, Indian, man, woman, etc., majority?

Just form the government and form it quick. While you haggle, valuable information and crucial evidence are disappearing. So what if we get an extra Malay, or extra Chinese, or extra Indian, or extra man, or extra woman, or whether that extra seat is Siamese and gay to boot? Did not DAP, PKR and PAS scream that it does not matter whether it is a white cat or a black cat, the most important thing is that the cat can catch the mouse? Now that you won our votes, you forget about this black cat and white cat crap. Now that you are in power, you are fussy about the colour of the cat and argue about what God that cat believes in and whether this cat comes with a pussy or a dick.

Aiyoh, what is wrong with these politicians? Barisan Nasional and Barisan Rakyat are both the same. At the end of the day, party interest comes first. At the end of the day, your race and religion matter. The 'one-Malaysian' and 'all are brothers and sisters' is only raised during the election campaign and when they want our votes. After that, they put that all away into the closet, to be raised only during the next election campaign.

My wife and I voted in Subang USJ and we both voted for an Indian man and a Chinese girl. We did not vote for them because they happen to be an Indian man and a Chinese girl. We also did not refuse to vote for them because they happen to not be Malay and Muslim. We voted for them because we support the opposition. And their race, religion and gender did not matter one bit when we voted for them. Why, then, should it suddenly matter now? That is what baffles me about the Malaysian mind.

Comments (220)Add Comment
written by Littlebird, March 22, 2008 12:26:47
Referring to Mkini report:- I think the prefereance of 60:40 of Malays to reflect demographic makeup of selangor led to issue of racism. Infact, I never knew that despite singing Daulat Tuanku all my life I know for a fact my children or their grand children will never become a MB. That's reality. Because race is a criteria under the constitution of certain states. And constitution is the highest law of the country or states (depends which is). Whose fault or ignorance is it? smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
disagree 33
agree 372
written by Bunda, March 22, 2008 12:39:11
Hentam dia orang BR baik-baik, RPK!! Syabas!!

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif

Like you said, this bunch of wankers are as hideous as the previous government. They forget their own slogans and now become like children arguing who gets the cake, the size of the slice, and the nuts and fruits that go with it.

Keep reminding them about the cat analogy.

disagree 39
written by Task Force 101, March 22, 2008 12:39:13
I can see your argument that we need to go beyond race as we the ppl voted not along racial lines but along the lines of a Malaysian.

But to undo various laws ie Dp CM must be a malay etc, State NEP laws for Malays and various other hurdles may be too much of a shock. The developments over the last 3 weeks have shaken the foundations of this country both culturally and in maturity, buried a bogey man called May 13, political suicides, assinations and collateral damage is still happening and it does not seem to be over yet. Well, not until UMNO GA tat is.

I think this is a healing process that needs to take place. Selecting the very implementers and state decision makers based on merit would be too much a strain. BUT and this is a BIG BUT, we can do this. We need to change state laws. We need to have clearer and transparent process and accountability.

We need to have the States in Opposition, not only running the state well, but also working towards allowing all races to work together either by JVs, joint bid submissions etc etc. This is a start. They need to have all races have access to NPC, INTAN and all Gov't traning dept. Not only for the Gov't civil servants but for the general public. So that we can learn and also attract talent to the civil service.

We need to stop "the divide the wealth along race lines" and move to allow access to the wealth to all Msians. This can only begin when the civil service (at least in S'gor/Perak/KL/Kedah) is held accountable and transparent.

On the flip side, we as Msians were all together and voted for change. Lets stick together again and kick some butt!
agree 206
written by Heikal, March 22, 2008 12:39:35
I do not think that we would reach a point where we all are called Malaysians, because religion and culture can be a great unifier, but it also can be a great demarcator among humans. But having different people among us does not mean that we cannot give justice and equality to all. And neither should we alienate ourselves acording to our differences.
written by temanmu, March 22, 2008 12:40:06
The majority of the human race is discriminatory is some manner - race, sex, social class, sexual orientation etc.

If what you subscribe to becomes reality in Malaysia, it will be the world's first! Even progressive countries such as Sweden,Denmark, The Netherlands are not yet free from it.

What we see in Malaysia is a backlash against abuse of power of the elite of a certain race, so that even the people of that race voted against it!
written by Lim Lim, March 22, 2008 12:43:57
clear cut!!we are still far away from bangsa malaysia..so are we heading back to the same old racial divide frame??pathetic!!!
written by mrgoh, March 22, 2008 12:45:33
I get what you are saying RPK, I know that if we are truly are not racist then we will not pay any attention to race at all be it good or bad. However, the system that the government and the media is in right now are not on our echelon of thoughts at the moment. They are lightyears behind - where racism is still strong. At this stage where we are beginning to see more unbiased representation towards races it is a huge leap from the previous establishment. A lot of the media / government officials are still stuck in the thoughts of the old - they are yet to catch up with the contemporary thinking and ways. Soon, if we see more diverse representation in the government - racial emphasis on the news and public will slowly be melted away. Give the system some time. It is still teething.
written by Kay, March 22, 2008 12:53:18
Well said, indeed. I, a non-malay, voted for a man from an Islamic party and another Malay from a multiracial party. Did I care for their race. Definitely not!

I wanted an honest and sincere representative, who will represent me, fearlessly, independent of any repercussions from the party whip, in the highest forum of the country, irrespective of whether I'm an Indian, Chinese or Malay or Iban or Kadazan, from Jeli, Jerantut or Damansara Heights.

Therefore, the constant haggling over racial representations perplexes me. Hindraf wants an Indian MB. The fact that they were in some way a catalyst to the 'new dawn' we woke up to on the 9th of March should be adequate satisfaction. DAP wants a Chinese as a Deputy MB. What good can a Chinese Deputy MB do, that he cannot otherwise perform as an able Exco?

If the UMNO diehards are doing it openly [fighting on a racial line], it is fine with me, because our ability to record their deeds, digitally, is vital ammunition, come the next GE. In fact, as Mat Sabu has stated, the more they do such stuff, it is actually good for the alternative party. Just as the biased reporting by the MSM influenced me very much in my choice at the GE12, I believe the behaviour of the UMNO supporters will ocntinue to fuel the support for those, be it Malays, Indians, Chinese, Kadazans, Ibans, Muruts, Muslims, Buddhists, Christians, Hindus, freethinkers, who do not want to walk the racial-path.

The new coaliton of sorts in Selangor, Penang and Perak should strive above such petty politics of the past. Having said thus, reality of the day, that calls for a Malay MB in states with a Sultan, has to be accepted and respected. In the same light, if an audience is due before a Sultan, and the wearing of a songkok is court custom, then, please do not make it an issue, when there is none. Only petty minds will equate the wearing of a songkok with being 'converted to a Malay'. I sincerely hope we did not vote for such petty minds, especially in the DAP. Something in me says that even fanatic DAP supporters have outgrown the chauvinistic trend and are more accomodating in their outlook, more so now that the combined strength of all three races put them in power in some of the states. It is the leaders who should think beyond race and representing a particular race. Once you are elected, you are elected as a leader for all Malaysians. Period.
written by wongnoball, March 22, 2008 12:57:41

I am sorry this time i find some of your points are too idealstic and naive.
Human being is still human being, they are not gods or angels.
Is your babyboy or babygirl needs to learn how to walk steady first before you want him or her to practise how to run ????
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
disagree 22
written by nafis, March 22, 2008 12:58:57
the royal dude speaketh smilies/grin.gif

Thanks Raja Petra, for bringing up this ugly side of Malaysians. Even as you speak, there are still comments mentioning "race is a criteria under the constitution of certain states. And constitution is the highest law of the country or states (depends which is). Whose fault or ignorance is it?"

Whenever the race issue is brought up, the Constituition gets a beating. Can't we live with it, and not amplifying it into 'who's who' in the exco?

Still, i guess the elected leaders of BR are being 'petty' about this racial thing because the rakyat itself is still being petty themselves. Maybe these leaders are finding it so tough to 'ambil hati' rakyat who have voted them in place. Hence, the analogy of cats take precedence.

Yeah, we all shouted 'enough is enough' or 'we are malaysians' or 'makhal sakthi' but we still frown when we see the exco are not 'balanced'. Sad sad thing....
written by Raja Petra, March 22, 2008 13:02:46
Dear wongnoball, funny, no one said that when they wanted my vote and they asked me to close my eyes to party, race and religion and just vote opposition.
disagree 19
written by Msian 2, March 22, 2008 13:06:43
Malaysia have a long way to go. The ruling party is dysfunction & emotional. Imagine we have politicians who have been there for donkey terms. Should be 2 terms max. Agenda as a minister is to promote disharmony in all policies. In name sake, its for the rakyat, but during implementation --- SORRY man. The rakyat interest is blantantly hijacked with impunity., even a cheap actor Hisapmuddin waving his keris & C4 expert is still deputy and no outcomes on case too. Consistently racial intergration is never the govt. objective. Why??? Divide & rule makes it easier to plunder & tell lies. Look at our school system -- a bigot racist managing the education ministry, so what do U expect, Takes more than great prayers to change eh and even a donkey can see throu the overall education agenda. Ultimately we are now richly accorded with the titlesynonymous with datuks the 'ugly malaysian'. Am I proud/angry??? Do I have a choice.
written by My2Sens, March 22, 2008 13:19:16
Yes I am racist. Yes I am Malaysian. Am I racist because I am Malaysian? I would like to say yes as then it would be easy to blame the goverment. I mean heck just look at our politics, we've been goverened along racial lines for all of my natural life.

Yes it would be so easy to blame the goverment as heck, they were they ones to feed us I Malay, U Chinese, She Indian, He Others.

Yes, it would be so easy to blame the goverment as when you go for a job interview, you have to fill up a form that states your race and gender first, then only your experience later.

So yes, the goverment is to shoulder some of the blame for they are the ones who have created this backdrop which we live in through their policies, action (or non action) and propoganda.

The other shoulder of the blame however lands ot our feet. Each individual person who could have, did have or did not vote. We shoulder the blame too. For it is our decision both in our ability to vote and to decide who we want to be.

Have you realised then when you stop and have alook at the people around you, do you think he Malay, she Indian, they Chinese or do you think we Malaysians?

This election has challenged me to change the way I see people around me. Has it challenged you?

written by Democrats, March 22, 2008 13:28:28

Truly agree with you. I've seen more racial issues turned up after the elections compared to pre election. I guess it takes more than just ceramah and blogging to eleminate this issue. The people were united, regarless of race, religion or ideals against the Barisan National- a battle won, the fight for the spoils of war begins....who get what, who deserves what.....

Problem is the idea of "MALAYSIAN" never really took off. In school, we learn of Ali, Ah Chong and Muthu/Ravi, in education ministry's role in creating racial harmony. They teach us regardless of race, we can live harmoniously, but never have it said that we "Ali, Ah chong and Muthu/Ravi are equally Malaysian" because they share the same ideals....

Of course, there's the religious and langguage barrier in between us. The idea of BAHASA MALAYSIA mooted long ago to unite all through language never really kicked off. Many, after years of leaving school, more or less forgot who the speak in a comprehensible manner. That is why I admire countries like Thailand and Indonesia, from all walks of life, everyone speaks Indonesian or Thai, but again this affects thier capability of commanding a more universal langgauge like English. Being Chinese, I find it exceptionally wierd when I talk to this chinese subcontractor of mine in Malay( he know Cantonese and Mandarin only, I speak English and hokkien only) and realise how great a common language for all is!

Then of course, there's these stupid application or survey form we fill in almost everyday, where we get constantly reminded what race or we from, what religion do we follow, whether we are Bumi or Non bumi nonsense. In Australia, forms (other than immigration), mentions only whether we are CITIZENS/PR/OR NON-PR. They are all AUSTRALIAN or NON AUSTRALIAN....

However, an observation I noticed(not sure the apply to that many). Travelling alot, whenever I'm abroad, I'm so proud to be Malaysian. Whenever they ask, are you Chinese?, I'm the first to jump and say,"No, I'm a MALAYSIAN!" I guess it's more the fear of being branded "came from China", same goes as "Are you Indian? they say, NO, I'm MALAYSIAN." But back here, if a tourist ask me "Are you Chinese", somehow the term "No, I'm Malaysian" never comes out right!

But RPK, I guess in the political arena, I guess politicians still cannot grasp the full idea of what many voters want, but then again, the signals we sent are often mix and contradictory. On one hand, we condemn MCA and MIC for not looking after "their peoples right", on another we blame UMNO for championing "MALAY rights" and sidelining other race. In unity, we shout "ENOUGH is ENOUGH" against the BN tyrants. So, politicians themselves have this confusion, a DAP man supporting a PAS MB is worried he feels he betrays his "Chinese voter", where he will be seen as no different from MCA's submission to UMNO power. A PKR/PAS rep could worry his push for non discriminatory policy may sideline the Malay voter who support them. Its a delicate balance to please the rakyat on one hand and push for change on the other. And in many instances, the politicians are right.....just look of the response of so many angry blogger, some who wants their heros to be MB, some who worry about giving away too much, all racial card "fairness"

The rakyat must do something in telling them in totality "We care no more of our RACE, except our Nationality to give them the confidence to take the neccessary actions to bridge the difference.

I hope RPK, you can work something here. You are well looked up upon, along with Haris and other other champions of MALAYSIA. I think you should sit with the leader that are working for an BR coalition set up to convey what the rakyat want.

We will support you, as MALAYSIANs from all walks of life.
written by wongnoball, March 22, 2008 13:38:44

You are right! Because they were also don't know that they can win so many seats suddenly. That is why they didn't promise anything about how to rule the state lah !!!!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by Ckchew, March 22, 2008 13:41:05
whether the chaps is from br or bn they are still human beings & few human beings can escape from the greedy & racist trait that most of us have. when the pkr, pas & dap swept up the 5 states don't expect miracle to happen overnight.

forget about being non racist if we still see things thru a race based silk screen. bear in mind, malaysian are not unique in term of races or unity among the races as proclaimed by the msm; most malaysian after 50 years of independence are still unable to move out of their race based cocoon.

it's no surprise this thing would happen today, just admit it:

MOST MALAYSIAN ARE RACIST!!!
written by BennyG, March 22, 2008 13:52:40
Ideals is important. If we could not accept the ideal situation, we should strive close to ideal which is a mutual compromise.

Whenever RPK brought up the subject, whereby both sides (BN & DAP/PAS/PKR) did not take the raykat interest first, I always call for a BARISAN RAKYAT to be organised since only then both sides will take heed.

Sooner or later, politicians will show their true colours. Do we want to take action then or set up something first to protect the interest of the raykat?
written by Kuku Burung, March 22, 2008 13:59:11
I wholeheartedly agree with RPK. I voted for an Indian from DAP and a Malay from PAS. It does not mean I like Indians or Malays. No, I voted for them because I want BN out, and out for good. Race is not even my consideration at all. Having said that, I felt strange when I was told that the state constitutions demand that a Malay be MB. And even more odd is that a certain state constitution spelt out that even Dpy MB must be a Malay. So whether you like it or not we are trapped in the vicious circle of racism. My suggestion: Take a good look at the country constitution, and change that mentality first, before we can even talk about freedom from racism.
written by Chuang Tze, March 22, 2008 14:24:02
Yes, Malaysians are racist, most of them, but who can blame them having been steeped in communal politics for over 50 years ?? But we have hopes as recently at least 40%-50% of the Malaysians broke out of their racist mould to vote against the BN no matter who the Opposition candidate was, what race, religion, gender, age did not matter at all.

What the 12th GE brought back to Malaysia was a ray of hope that Justice, Bangsa Malaysia, a Malaysia for Malaysians, irregardless of race, religion, gender, or age, and a strong message to the BN to stop plundering our beloved country, and impoverishing all the RAKYAT by continuing with their massive corruption, racial politics, cronyism, and arrogance.

The first step has been taken by my fellow Malaysians. Now, the next step is to show a shining example to everyone that this is the Way to go. Only after this step has been consolidated can we then take the fight to amend all racist State & Federal Constitutions to make sure that those who serve us are duly elected representatives and who have the highest credentials, experience, and integrity, who can perform the best for Malaysia, IRREGARDLESS of race, religion, gender, and age.

Once that is done, if any of the Royalty wants to incite racial hatred by clinging onto archaic, obsolete and extinct practices, then we, the RAKYAT will have to put our foot down and remind them gently that the Royalty are here at the pleasure of the RAKYAT, and if they don't like it, they can migrate.

RPK, this has to go all the way or forever the spectre of racism will always arise and some idiot somewhere will find some other idiot to endorse his erroneous views. Mind you, in a democracy, these idiots are allowed their unique opinions and they are welcome to them, and to voice them. These opinions are unique because nobody else wants any part of them !!

I have been invigorated and rejuvenated by the results of the GE and we should continue the momentum and tell the BARISAN RAKYAT reps, the MB, the Regents, the Sultans, the Agung to stop raising racial issues and start treating us as ALL EQUALS, as what the Holy QURAN teaches.

written by Umar Rentaka, March 22, 2008 14:29:43
Dear YM RPK,
BR? Rakyat?

Ampun Tuanku. Patik mohon beribu ampun. Me stupid self think you must first educate that nephew of yours who's sitting in the Selangor throne. HRH was the one insisting on the racial composition.

Ampun Tuanku. Patik mohon beribu ampun.
agree 125
written by nathan, March 22, 2008 14:38:22
Dear Raja, thanks for your article, our society has been so racial that even kindergaden children refer to their friends as Malay, Chinese , Indian etc. The names obviously show their race. At all levels of documentation it should not indicate a race but every citizen must be known as a Malaysian. This is timely with the political changes that Malaysia is heading for a Malaysian Nation with a Malaysian Race to face the global challenges of both now and the future. Efforts should be made to change this culture of addressing friend by race and instead they shuold be addressed by name. It should be a total effort by the State and every home and incalulated in every educational institution. Afterall it is the individual that makes the village, the province, state and nation.

Let us be united with loyalty to the Malaysian Nation and contribute to nation building in a Malaysian Way and not on the basis of Race. We have always been recognised as a successful,multi racial nation and let it be such in the future.
written by indianputra, March 22, 2008 14:38:54
Aiyooh!! RPK.. One cannot change Malaysian sentiments overnight lah!! This divide and rule had been there for the last 50 years and you can't expect the MB of Selangor or Penang to change it in 14 days after the General Elections.

They have to do what they have to do for now... Give them 5 years more and if we can believe in their election promises, there won't be a Malay or Chinese or Indian quota in the Exco or wherever. Malaysians will be the members of the Exco in 5 years.

I believe in the Opposition. I believe that they will make the necesary changes. I believe they will deliver more than what BN delivered over the last 50 years. I believe the CM or PM of these 5 states irrespective of their races will find the best path forward for a Malaysian Malaysia.

Meanwhile, let us UNDERSTAND THEIR CONSTRAINTS, give them time, let them get used to the position they are holding and SLOWLY but SURELY they will change the racial landscape of Malaysians.

Peace!!!
written by Naha, March 22, 2008 14:49:00
YM RPK,

You see, the state is 'owned' by the political parties, not by the rakyat. It is the political parties that won the election, not the rakyat. The rakyat do not matter. What the political parties want does.

Nice chili, pedas. Lately, M-T is full of PKR and DAP apologists, so zealous, so cannot take any criticism of their heroes.

Hoi, kenapa kena taksub dengan pemimpin, hah? Why the hero worship? Racism is definitely a problem in Malaysia. Mendewakan manusia is equally a problem.
written by TRANSFORMER, March 22, 2008 15:26:41
All this racist ideals were ignited and spread in school especially in the malay medium government schools during Anwar Inrahim era as Minister of Education. Many of you contribute to the ugly Malaysians!
written by Guastone, March 22, 2008 15:29:16
I voted for the Opposition too.

The candidates were from PKR and PAS. I do not support PKR or PAS or DAP but I just want to see a strong opposition or perhaps Barisan Rakyat forming the government.

I just wanted to see justice, good governance, good administration and an administration that will benefit Malaysian, the immigrants (both legal or illegal)and all the others whom have adopted Malaysia as their home without looking at colour and creed.

So let us hope that the most qualified person with all the positive quality and wisdom be given the opportunity to hold these position in the government.

Lastly, I wish to thank RPK and will always SUPPORT RPK.

WE ALMOST VOTED THEM OUT!!!

I am getting intoxicated (Stoned) without my usual beer, just by watching and reading the happening after election.

Get down to work; you fellas.
written by TRANSFORMER, March 22, 2008 15:33:05
Democrats
I travel a lot too and proud to be Malaysian. When I was in Beijing, a Malaysian chinese youth came to me and ask if I am from Malaysia, when he heard me talking on the phone. He was very happy to meet a Malaysian after been there for 7 years. We communicate in Bahasa Melayu because he cant speak English. I saw the happiness in his eyes meeting a fellow Malaysian in China, as I talked and told him what he has missed all these years. Though we are Chinese and Malay, but we are citizens of Malaysia. He is proud to be Malaysian and is still a Malaysian.

This is the beauty side of Malaysian!
written by Wisdom above, March 22, 2008 15:37:39
PKR,DAP,PAS just got their license to govern the rakyat.

They have to submit their audited accounts to receive their practising certificate.

Perhaps,they need to read again the People' Declaration to refresh their memories.

"Just vote opposition. Just vote any race. Just vote any political party."

Actually,I expect the Malaysians to represent all races free from racial mindset.

Political mental block still inherit their decision making.

They have 5 years to re- orientate themselves.

I remembered , I voted for Barisan Rakyat.

Syabas. P. Barisan Rakyat.
written by Jarratt, March 22, 2008 15:41:52
TRANSFORMER, too bad the majority of Malaysians have not been out of the country to realize how much all these divisions don't matter when you're a minority in a foreign land.

Also,
Selangor? Exco? What? forget "efficient state governments", it's all about the big apple of the federal govt now. And especially one party's dominance of the three-party opposition coalition in pursuing this aggressive strategy. I wonder how PAS and DAP feel about PKR's recent newsgrabbing of forming the next government?
written by notsosmart, March 22, 2008 15:57:42
All human beings in the world are racist, part of human nature. Even if your vision are monotone, you are still racist. But the most important question is that should we be prejudice against another race or sex. We should NOT. We have the ability of staying neutral if we decided to. Easier than said, most human unable to perform such task due to the inferior and weakness in their inner self.

The most important point is that, it should still be acceptable if the citizen of a country is racist. But not in the gomen, not in their constitution, not in any organisation by-law, not in the educational system, not in the employment condition.

If the gomen or the monarchy can show the rakyat that they would not legalised racism and institutionalised it, then a chance that some of its rakyat will follow suit. Examples are some developed countries where they don't legalised racism, watch how well some of their citizen interact. The good communication and trust among themselves have made their country progress into a great nation.

Why can't we Malaysian do it? Because of history? Not an excuse at all. We will one day becomes one Malaysian, maybe another 100 years. But if it benefits all the rakyat, then why do we do it now. It's a step that we must learn. Even if we start today, it will be many years into the future before we can really see the good benefit. At least we do it for our future generation, for our children.
written by 80srocker, March 22, 2008 15:58:09
Yes, I truly agree with HRH. I'm a non-Malay but speaks fluent Malay. Living in KL, everytime I talked to a Malay, he/she would comment "Eh, eh, pandai you cakap Melayu." It's even sadder to find a certain "treatment" (good/bad) when they find out that I'm a Muslim convert! Back in those days, in my hometown, Penang, almost everyone could speak fluently in B. Malaysia regardless of ethnic background. When I got to KL 15 years ago, I was so surprised to find that people are so divided here. And now it seems that the cancer had spread to Penang too! smilies/sad.gif

Just the other day I went to JAIS to apply for "Kebenaran Berkahwin" and right there on the form, there's that "reminder" (masked as a question): "BANGSA", despite calling on the Ummah to unite.

Sigh...
written by teo siew chin, March 22, 2008 16:07:28
ahhhh an ideal governance that transcends (1) race (2) religion (3) sex (4) age.
can it happen, considering to most if not all, No 3 is very important.

where is the indian who screams at the podium championing "malay" rights?
where is the malay who screams at the podium championing "chinese" rights?
can this happen?
OF COURSE!!
Rights have no color.
Rights to fairness, justice, peace, quality of life - is it not the same for you and me?

Barisan Rakyat - you better get your act together or you're gonna ... (what's the scientific term for it?)...SCREW UP!
written by Long Man, March 22, 2008 16:14:32
does this means that we were wrong when voting the opposition... hell... hope not...

oppositions, please listen to bloggers... bn has admits that they has to listen to bloggers... why can't you?... listen to bloggers please... quickly form the government...
written by DontPlayGod, March 22, 2008 16:21:12
It is quite disappointing to see that race ratio is taken into account when setting up the Governments in those 4 states, after they have been harping on non-race politics before the Elections. But then again, they are also afraid of UMNO's progaganda machine which will warn the Malays that they may lose their political power because of the new BR Government. Hence, maybe in that light, the new coalition has to thread carefully to deflect any negative propaganda from UMNO.

It has already started in Penang. UMNO has gone on a racist offensive in Penang when it organized a demonstration to oppose the new State Government's move to remove the NEP. In Selangor, UMNO opposed any move to appoint a Chinese as a deputy MB. UMNO's only aggresive propaganda is to fall back on racism, and stirring up racist sentiments is their only defence and offence. UMNO is openly being racist and ketuanan after their loss in the 5 states, to scare the Malays.

What is MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP, etc saying about UMNO's racist rantings? Only a week earlier, AAB warned the new Penang CM about not being sensitive to race issues. What has AAB to say now? I don't remember reading on any of his comments regarding UMNO's rantings? Yes, AAB, over to you.
written by Anak Kampung, March 22, 2008 16:38:49
RPK, I agree with you about the Malaysiakini report. I felt very disapointed as well when I read it, but as you say, this is only what one expects from Malaysians. I agree wtih Transformer and others that government policies are very much to blame for this, but we must change what we can - ourselves - first while at the same time also trying to change laws. Hopefully both of those changes are happening, however slowly and imperceptibly.
written by malaysianohope, March 22, 2008 16:43:31
Greeting Pete,

One week before the election my mom who is in her 70's called me asking what parties to vote. You see all her life she had voted barisan in every election due to propaganda of fear of violence since the May 13 massacre and also partly influence by her neighbour . I told her I was surprise that this was the first time in living memory she consulted my about voting preference, so as not disappoint her I suggested she to vote any parties but the dacing with deep blue background, confiding that she won't go wrong. Incidentally she voted PKR and PAS which then won office.

Must be some unseen hand which made her asked that question and the rest is history.
She is now very happy with her decision.

Also I think the State and Federal constitution need to be amended to remove any requirement as to race before a new beginning of Malaysian identity.
written by Raja Petra, March 22, 2008 16:48:12
Dear Umar Rentaka and others. We whack the government because we say they do not respect the Constitution. Should we not also do the same?
written by nowinnofee, March 22, 2008 17:00:16
dear rpk,
TRUST, RESPECT AND COOPERATION IS THE KEY TO ERADICATE RACISM
Dictionaries by and large define racism to be " the belief of that one own's ethic stock is superior to others, or as the belief that culture and behaviour are rooted in race. One of the cause of racism in Malaysia, in my humble opinion is "opression". 50 years of fighting this, has made us into selfish and self-interested human beings. Of course, along the way, the party who was supposed to champion for rights of races took advantage of this fact and they became millionaires over night -that is a direct slap to UMNO
written by nowinnofee, March 22, 2008 17:05:04
The question now, is , where does this leave us...what kind of solution do we have here? I believe we can talk about this until the cows come home and it is not going to solve the problem. Clearly, as I have mentioned in my other comments, Anwar and the others are putting their interest first and foremost, and only then comes the interest of the Rakyat. Let us not forget, even you and I are human beings and we are governed by many elements, including emotions and the race card is used psychologically to weaken us amongst ourselves.

To be honest, I am a little lost on how to bring the races together to see themselves as one nation. This is in reality an uphill task, but many of us took the first step by voting this year, just like you, many of us did not see whether the candidate was black, white or yellow or islam, hindu or buddist.

There are many ways we can solve this problem.We could take the first step by giving talks on celebrating diversity. Of course we will have many obstacles but to be successful one has to take the first step. We cant rely on the politicians anymore..be it BN or BR. One should watch the film " To Kill a Mockingbird". But the question is can we educate the people we want to educate?

The world it self has gone through pain and suffering because of racism. Truth be told racism exits and will always exist
written by singam, March 22, 2008 17:23:16
When I was very young, I was blissfully unaware about race. I mean, I knew that others were Chinese or Malay or whatever, but that was a matter for curiosity only. The difference of race, or religion for that matter, was not an issue with us. We made friends, selected teams for games, visited each other, got into trouble... irrespective of race. As I grew up, I continued to wear rose-tinted glasses. I was one of those fortunate enough to get a place in our local university and didn't really suffer from the encroaching NEP policies.

At MU, I did observe NEP implementation disparities but it did not cause me to become racist, in that I still treated everyone the same irrespective of race. But along the way, my ideals took a battering. I woke up to the reality that remaining unbiased was only contributing to the already skewed environment. I made a conscious decision to address the imbalance whenever it came my way. I still interacted freely with all races but my charitable contributions only went to Indians. Other factors being equal, I'd give priority to the Indian who needed the job or my business or whatever. I had become a racist, in the full sense of the word.

This is the real impact of the BN implementation of the NEP. Even the most idealistic of persons can get skewed to some extent or other. Given this environment, the current behaviour of the former oppositionists and their supporters should be no surprise. They are in an unfamiliar situation - forming a state government. Pre-elections, everyone got swept along on the vote-irrespective-of-race wave but the real motivation for many was to simply kick BN butt. Despite the pre-elections rhetoric, DAP, PKR and PAS were startled by the massive vote of confidence they had received. And it went to their heads.

The people may have voted irrespective of race in GE12 but do not imagine that all of their racist feelings had suddenly been washed away overnight. When the euphoria of victory had subsided, the old racist anxieties came to the fore. Then bargaining along race and party lines ensued. Many of the arguments were presented under the guise of meritocracy or equality but one didn't need to scratch very deep to discover the racist undertone.

The arguments that ensued in the blogosphere were fired up by two factors - news reports in the MSM as well as the alternate media that remained couched in racial language, and a new-found freedom to speak about race related issues. These kinds of argument are not going to die down anytime soon. So long as they remain in the virtual world, they serve as therapy. But things need to improve as we move along. The MSM may be a lost cause but I do hope influential blogs and, especially, Malaysiakini, can temper the language used and help leach the racial vitriol out of our exchanges.

Another, more serious matter is at hand. Ever the opportunist, Anwar is riding on the remnants of the people-wave to pick up enough frogs from the BN to form his federal government. The voters are in two minds about this development. A large number are aghast that the BR government they vote for is going to become diluted by BN turncoats. Others are angry because it appears that the BR government is going to be just as unprincipled as the BN. But there are also those who support what Anwar is doing. They feel that the BR was cheated out of an outright victory and that any means to recapture what was stolen is fair.

And that is the reality of a democracy. It is the politicians job to convince the electorate that what he promises to deliver is what the people want. The people have that single opportunity to state their case. Having voted, they are pretty much bereft of power, until the next elections. Meanwhile, the politicians who have been elected to office play their own power games, plotting and strategising and maneuvering to obtain maximum advantage. We can petition them, e-mail them, march or protest, but they are still free to do whatever they will. We can only hope that they do not deviate too much from the path we had set for them.

The consequences of GE12 are still rolling out. We haven't seen everything yet. There may even be a few more shocks in store. Hopefully, whatever happens, this fledgling democracy is allowed to mature in its time. We may eventually reach a state where we can truly call ourselves non-racial.
written by Commonsenses, March 22, 2008 17:33:56
Shit RPK, u r right, the opposition exco should get people with calibre not to fill racial quota. I think the opposition is still scared of their own shadow or is it the UMNO threat to DEMO?
written by Haikal, March 22, 2008 17:35:03
As YM RPK rightly put it, the issue of EXCO seats only came up after the rakyat have casted their vote and chosen the BA. And the BA have forgotten all the 'Bangsa Malaysia' mantra they have been chanting before the general election.

Kay,
After reading your comment, it makes me think what if Malaysia happens to be a chinese/indian country and the chinese/indian are the bumis, would I then, being a malay, able to write such comment as yours and tell my fellow Malay; hey, let's just put the cheong-sam and the chinese-version of 'kopiah' or the kurta for the swearing-in ceremony before the emperor? Sincerely, I dont know if I could do that. I hope I would. My hat off to you!

By the way, just to let you know that when my office organize some events and the dress code is "traditional', I have never wore baju melayu but the cheong-sam and kurta instead. Does that makes me less malay? No.
written by Beautiful Mind, March 22, 2008 18:03:51
People are product of the environment they are in. Society mould them into whatever shape there is available within that environment and society they live in.

In Malaysia for 50 years, the society has been shaped and moulded by Barisan Nasional ideologies. The main-stream media, newspapers, TV and radios were carrying dogma from BN to feed and pollute the simple minds of every citizens. The Kampong folks swallowed them without questioning if they are good or bad. To them, it they comes from the government, they must be delicious and good for the body, mind and soul.

The younger generations and the educated section of society now are different. Some are products of Universities abroad who experienced the ugly face of racism when they were in the minority. When they returned back to Malaysia, they adopted a different view altogether for they understand that racism is bad for nation building. Every single Malaysians should try and remove racism from the dictionary because it is not conducive to peace and stability of our great nation, it breeds hatred, mis-understanding and mis-trust among people. This is what happening in Malaysia right now where there is favouritism and one race always wants to take a lead, one do not trust the other. But l must admit race relations in Malaysia is improving and is not as bad as it was 2 decades ago. Good for Malaysia.

True, what is more important now is to get Malaysia off it's back and get the economy moving again. It does not matter what race or religion, those who can do a better job should get the job. That's the theory. But as someone said in here, the geography of a particular area also is a contributory factor to determine who represents them better. If an area is 90% Malay, it would be naïve to put a Chinese or an Indian representative there until society change it's perception towards the Malay, Chinese and Indian syndrome.
It will be a while yet until we see this change.

I also agree that we should not argue too much about the songkok issue etc because these are mundane and trivial. There are issues more important that that which we all must addressed. As l said many times issues of those who are still in detention, issues of transparency of the judicial system and the new one which just came out recently is to ask every MP to declare their assets and this should be done properly so that everyone will not cheat!. There are MPs with assets worth millions and if they don't inherit wealth from their parents, David Copperfield will find it difficult to perform a magic on the figures. And yes, we dont need a black cat or a white cat or if the cat has a pussy or a dick ( LMAO ), all that people are interested is if they smell a rat, their job is to kill the rat.
written by picadilly, March 22, 2008 18:05:18
RPK. Good one, Hahaha but the BR didnt expect to win 5 states so what more about MBs and CMs.. 2/3 denial was the war cry. yet we have a situation here.

whatever thier nightare aybe, DAP-PKR-PAS has to combine together and work,
why leave the PAS candidate out of the goverment in penang?
Why leave the DAP candidate our of the goverment in Kedah?

would N.Sembilan be another Mess like Perak if BR won 4 more seats?
Im sure we going to see the best BR opposition in Negeri Sembilan.
written by mimag2005, March 22, 2008 18:59:31

... MIRROR MIRROR ON THE WALL...........

... RPK'S ARROW SAYS IT ALL...!!!!

written by Negarakuku, March 22, 2008 20:35:51
Cheers YM RPK!

Listen politicians and sultans, rakyat has spoken. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by sykeat, March 22, 2008 21:00:48
Since RPK brought up the issue, i'm now eagerly looking forward to have a non-malay or woman photo hang beside the one of our beloved Agong/Sultan and Permaisuri Agong.
Hopefully someone can make us (or our childrens) become Malaysian not separated by race.
written by ChiangKT, March 22, 2008 21:11:49
I think the main problem with these 3 parties fighting for more seats in the state is that each of these parties probably think that their party is the best party for Malaysia. So I hope they can work on their ideals so that there will be little conflict among them when they work together as a coalition.

On the racist issue, everyone is racist, unless they are buddhist monks where they have "no" attachments and walk the middle path. Having said that, we the un-enlightened one however can strive to be less racist as possible.
written by apasalahku, March 22, 2008 21:51:56
everyone should ****** for'Obama's Speech on Race Transcript'
written by justice6, March 22, 2008 22:07:20
argue argue argue... why we have chinese school? Tamil school? Religious school?... can't we have only 1 type of school for all?? If can't...forget about 1 bangsa Malaysia... that's the root cause of all this racist thing...
written by Wisdom above, March 22, 2008 22:08:35
Just hoped all nominees are the best brains among Malaysians from BR.

The Land offices will eat them alive if none are well versed.

I just hoped all 10 excos from PKR,DAP,PAS have some working knowledge on Land Administration Act.

Knowledge on Land Acquisition Act & Local Government Act need to be mastered.

Syabas. P. Barisan Rakyat.
written by matdeboq, March 22, 2008 22:51:38

You are dammed right Sir. Keep on hammering them.!
I or rather we appreciate your noble effort and stirring them to the right path's.
They have to be reminded that the breeze up there won't last long if they don't behave and live to the expectation of the peoples.
Furthermore with all those "glitter of golds" might blinded their eye's and they could get easily disorientated!
Luckily MT - RPK is here to stay and Stir.....whatever it is!!
written by fairnessforall, March 22, 2008 23:13:32
RPK, you are right. I dont see the reason for harping on the race of people chosen. We dont care what race or gender the person is as long as he/she is the best person to get the job done.

I think its the MSM who keep harping on this issue as they have been too influenced by BN who are racists, so even if the race or gender is not an issue that is what they tend to highlight on.

The BR from now should stop highlighting the race of anyone chosen or anyone helped. Thats not important as long as the person is among the less fortunate and needs help, he/she should be given assistance irrespective of anything else.
written by Camillus, March 22, 2008 23:21:33
Please bear with me whilst I indulge in a very recent experience. Keen on a return to Malaysia, I put my CV in for a role advertised on Jobstreet. The headhunter called. She asked me of my right to work in Malaysia. To which I answered, "I am Malaysian." She then questioned, "Malay?". I said, "Not Malay, but Malaysian". She asked again, "Chinese?". To which I answered, "Not Chinese, but Malaysian". She asked again, "Indian?". To which I answered, "Not Indian, but Malaysian". She repeated this, asking me of my spouse's details, origin, etc.

Her justification was that the hiring company will be needing such information. Is this so? Do companies in Malaysia need to know such explicit details of both myself and my spouse? Do they need to know if we indulge in "swinging", orgies, etc? Un-****ing-believable! (pardon my language). I provided a scan of my IC (albeit the old one as I do not have a MyCard) with my CV - that should be enough!

Malaysian is a country in which parallel worlds exist - but with minimal interaction. Parallel worlds that are highly sucpicious of each other. The stereo-typing of these parallel worlds!!! And that there are loads of "busybodies" smilies/grin.gif Hehe... And no, the above is not a single incident upon which I am making perceptions.

Raja Petra mentioned above on the use of the words "Malay", "Chinese" and "Indian". Recalling an old joke, it goes, "The problem with France is that is it is filled with French people" smilies/grin.gif Here, French means... coming from France. As such, why not have the initial thought (giving the benefit of doubt), that when I say "Indian" or "Chinese", I refer to nationals of a country. If I wanted to be explicit, I would say Malaysian-Chinese, Malaysian-Indian, etc. Why draw conclusions of racism? Why is it deemed (I believe so anyway) OK to say "non-Malay"? But "non-Chinese" is like a no-no? Here, what is so wrong in saying, "I have Indian friends"? What if I say, "I have French friends". Is this OK? What's the difference witht the former? Come to think of it, even if it were to mean Malaysian-Indian friends, what is so wrong with that? Why the need to associate it with tolerance? I'm sorry Raja Petra, I cannot agree with you on this bit. A number of posts within this thread mention of voting for the Opposition... of voting for an Indian PKR representative, etc. By explicitly mentioning race, can I conclude that these people are racists? As per your article? As a matter of fact, you did this yourself in the last paragraph of your article. Why the need to mention Indian and Chinese? And then justify? Why not a summary statement of just wanting to vote for the opposition? Even I know that the Subang representatives were non-Malays (and I am one dumb cookie smilies/cheesy.gif).

A friend of mine travelled to Malaysia. I inquired, and she added that is was not due to work - rather, to meet up with some Malaysian friends. On a trip to India, I excused myself from a particular evening's do - to meet up with old Indian friends. Here, both contexts are that of nationalities - no race inclination whatsoever!

(continued)
written by Camillus, March 22, 2008 23:22:21
(continuation)

What's needed in Malaysia is a total mentality shift. A shift away from race-based stereo-typing. A shift away from the above-mentioned parallel-worlds. There's this comment on another thread that says it's OK to stick to one's own race. That's it OK to do business amongst one's own race as one feels it "easier". Bollocks! (pardon my anguage again). If such is the case, then no need for the NEP really! Talk about self-fulfilling! There's no such thing of one race being better at one thing or vocation. Some people will cite the African-Americans and rap music. What about Eminem? Golf with whites? What about Tiger Woods? Please don't respond with such justification, makes it tedious to respond in return smilies/grin.gif

Then comes "de-sensitising". If I were to pose the following questions:

In articles and posts before the elections, there were loads on religion. What if I were to say that anyone who believes in a God is deluded ('cos there is no prove of existence)? Will it be debated constructively? Or will I be crucified?

Question posed by a prominent professor. Why do we call it "Great Britain"? Why the need for the word "great"? What is the Mandarin phrase for the country, China? Why the need to call it as such?

Can the Malaysian-Indians shake off the "pre-conception" that pre-dominantly rubber-tappers and lawyers?

Can the Malays in Malaysia compete on equal footing?

Will I be branded a racist and a troublemaker? Will I be crucified? Will I get derogatory remarks in which posters respond by picking out excerpts and not seeing it as part of the greater post?

The gist is... can Malaysians (ever) discuss the above in a constructive manner? And I answer... "No way! Definitely not in current Malaysia!" The above would be taken as being my very own "perceptions" and "views". I'll very probably draw criticism, rebuke and negative remarks - rather than being offered alternative perceptions with clear arguments to back those alternative perceptions - and thus prove "mine" wrong.

I guess I have to temper my keenness to return to Malaysia and make do with family visits every now and then!

written by Kapsiow, March 22, 2008 23:25:35
45 years ago I was taught to sing a song in school which I can recall the verse "satu bangsa, satu negara, Malaysia berjaya !!". If the people that run the country since then had stuck to this verse we wouldn't have the situation today.
If all the forms you had to fill in for the last 50 years did not ask you to specify "race", there would not be any need to split the people's rep in all states by race.
I guess segregating by sex is okay if you want to know if the person pisses standing up or sitting down.
written by Camillus, March 22, 2008 23:33:46
written by Kapsiow, March 22, 2008 | 23:25:35

45 years ago I was taught to sing a song in school which I can recall the verse "satu bangsa, satu negara, Malaysia berjaya !!". If the people that run the country since then had stuck to this verse we wouldn't have the situation today.
If all the forms you had to fill in for the last 50 years did not ask you to specify "race", there would not be any need to split the people's rep in all states by race.
I guess segregating by sex is okay if you want to know if the person pisses standing up or sitting down.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kapsiow,
I do it standing, sitted down and even on myself smilies/grin.gif Depends whether I am sober or not smilies/grin.gif
written by Camillus, March 22, 2008 23:34:20
*meant seated*
written by OrdinaryMan, March 22, 2008 23:41:36

I think there's nothing wrong in being a Malay-Malaysian, Chinese-Malaysian, Indian-Malaysian, Kadazan-Malaysian, etc. etc. Variety is the spice of life.
As long as one race doesn't claim itself to be superior to the others.

I suppose the same goes for religion too.

Cheers!
written by miwaki, March 23, 2008 00:01:13
In Singapore,they would report in this way: 5 graduated from Cambridge,3 from Stanford,and 2 from NUS.( Brilliant)!
(
written by Atheist, March 23, 2008 00:35:08
How do you solve this 'Ugly Malaysian' syndrome ? Like this as summarised somewhere else in your blog. It is part of the solution ... let's see if you (RPK) can figure it out !!!

On people pressuring you to resign, this is my advice. You have to stay on and answer for what mess you have brought upon to this country. There is no escape. Stay and change. The tigers and lions are now in the parliament. And soon the king of the jungle "Tarzan" will be in too, if his wife (Jane) makes way for him. He is famous swinging in between the races. And he has achieved in bringing all the races together thus creating a new era of politics in Malaysia . So be prepared to face this happy family elected by the people of Malaysia . Don't ever think of giving Samy vellu a post or job in your government. Not even a toilet cleaner. I wish you the best in the future of your career.

written by Dreamlander, March 23, 2008 03:03:06
What happened if the the 56,822 votes went to the "OPPOSITION" on 838 ?
(Link to http://bersih.org/?p=1157)
Then maybe MALAYSIA may NOT even have a Prime Minister or Cabinet by NOW !!!
Because the 3Ps (DAP, PAS & PKR) will still be haggling over the Prime Ministership
(Is there a Malay-Muslim qualification on this position?) and the Cabinet allocations.
It just proved that the 3Ps (especially the DAP & PKR) did not expect to WIN so many seats (State or Parliament)
written by bogeyman, March 23, 2008 03:59:43
Dear YM RPK,

Thanks for putting them in their place. I too voted for a malay from PAS and PKR in my area although I'm a Chinese. I didn't choose the colour of their skin, I choose the opposition. I've been doing that from the time I was eligible to vote.

I for one despise the word "racial & religious tolerance" which UMNO had been harping about. The bloody UMNO racists have been hoodwinking us for so long. We should be "embracing and celebrating racial & religious diversification".

I agree with some of our fellow commentators. Abolish stating our race and religion in official documents. Abolish vernacular schools, which had only bred racial polarisation.

Here's something radical of my own... every citizen should adopt an official Malay indeginous family name to identify themselves as Malaysian, just as the Indons and Thais do regardless of their origin. Who would have known that Rudy Hartono or Thaksin Shinawatra were of chinese descent if they were not well known. Instead many of us Malaysians adopt western names.

It would be difficult to descriminate against one another if one cannot tie a person's name to their ethnicity.... something like Suria Kelana or Cinta Samudera perhaps ?

Wishful thinking? Something that we will not see in our lifetime? None of us thought that BN will lose power either, especially in Selangor and Perak. Now we believe they'll lose the Federal Govt as well.

Since I'm at it, I'd like to propose you as Permanent Dewan Speaker so that you can put those fools in their place. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Malaysiaku, March 23, 2008 07:36:16
You are very right RPK. I fully agreed with you.

I guess this stems from the fact that the BN has been practising racial politics to divide and rule for 50 years and now old habits die hard. I can also understand that the Opposition while claiming it does not matter whether it is black or white cat catches the mouse, now tend to haggle for seats respectively to please their supporters. They merely wants to be seen as 'pushing the right buttons' and not seen to be 'playing out' the majority of their supporters - many of which were supporters as a result of the BN's actions in the past.

For now, I can understand that 'old habits die hard' and they are in a situation of 'Ludah dilanggit mati ibu, telan mati bapak' situation. But I can now begin to see that they are trying to be fair to all races unlike BN (which every third word from BN seems to be shouting about racial this and racial that)and is working towards implementing a fair and just State Govt in the 5 Opposition States. The fact that PAS, DAP and PKR are working together and compromising with each other also augers well for everyone as they would have 'pleased' all their respective parties' supporters while achieving their goal to govern fairly and efficiently. DAP. PAS and PKR will also be the check-and-balance with each others' decision in governing the States. There is no 'One Big Brother' attitude in any one party of the Opposition (which is important) unlike in BN where only UMNO can talk. Nevertheless, your comment is very apt and timly to remind them of this election pledge which is the 'black or white cat' thingy. Thank you RPK for reminding this to everyone.

50 years of BN racial discrimination and marginalisation and 50 years of Opposition fighting and garnering Rakyat's support in response on the racial platform will take a little longer time to correct. But, the Opposition is moving in the right direction.....so far. Hopefully, with constant reminders every now and then, the Opposition will be able to govern the 5 States based on transparency and meritocracy irrespective of race, colour or creed. I have full confidence that they will show us that they are different from BN. You have 5 years but on the same note, I wish to congratulate DAP, PKR and PAS (not necessary in this order) that you are moving in the correct direction so far. Keep up the good work! You have our continued support and blessings.

written by Malaysiaku, March 23, 2008 07:52:59
Bogeyman wrote: "I agree with some of our fellow commentators. Abolish stating our race and religion in official documents. Abolish vernacular schools, which had only bred racial polarisation".

I don't know...race OK can be removed but religion especially for Muslims may be a little difficult since they sometimes need to be identified as Muslims in some religion restricted situations (sorry my Muslim brothers :-).

Vernacular schools should not been seen as racial as it is a language. Every race can go to a vernacular school to learn the language. So, I don;t think it should be abolished. Even now, there are a lot of Malays studying Mandarin in vernacular schools across the country.

For a start, we could do away with the 'race' or 'keturunan' entry. We don't need this segregation. Religion is a personal thing with God, so I would propose that it is up to the person concern whether he wants to include this in his IC or not. It should not be for the Govt to dictate.

If we could start with this for a start and fine-tune as we go along, I feel, it will be in the right direction to a Bangsa Malaysia.
written by Camillus, March 23, 2008 08:47:03
So what if voters swing back to BN? If BN learn from the errors of their ways - and the opposition prove to be none the better - such a swing is - without a doubt - for the better! Saying that there is "danger" in a swing back to BN, is tantamount to saying that BN cannot change. For ****'s sake... look for the good in people!!! Or keep to the above train of thought and remain bigoted bastards! And you wonder why fellow Caucasians think that Malaysians, in general, are pretentious bigots! (please don't use the "westerners are worse angle, the majority of us know this, it only serves to further insult yourselves)

Yes, I am a new poster. And yes, I openly declare that I am racist. The thing is... I am very fair in that each race (including my very own) receive an equal dose of my prejudice and ranting smilies/cheesy.gif Maybe fresh blood (as in new posters) are needed to present alternative views and angles? Maybe the long-time bloggers on here have become complacent and have veered in the wrong direction?

Alas, you have bigots here who cry out for equality, but when it comes to choosing the best by means of meritocracy, having 10 Malaysian-Chinese reps - or 10 homosexual reps for example, is not OK. Bollocks to that! Progressive and moderate? My foot!

I believe (possibly wrongly) that a "forklift" change is necessary for Malaysians. Yes, there will be pain... 'cos we will be jolted out of respective comfort zones. Like I said, then again, I could be wrong.

Having a two party makeup is definitely for the better. Saying that, the Tories and Labour (in the UK) used to represent opposite ends of the spectrum - these days, it's like a choice between a wet towel and a damp cloth. In the next election, all indicators point to a massive swing towards the Tories - there is nothing wrong or "dangerous" about that!

Remember, politicians (or at least the majority - note the stereo-typing here smilies/grin.gif) are people who create waves, and then make us believe that they are the only ones who can save us!

written by Camillus, March 23, 2008 09:01:10
Ppl,

Apologies for the profanity. It just sickens me that there seem to be "regulars" here who think they have monopoly over MT - in every sense of the word, e.g. only their views are correct, holier-than-thou attitude, etc.

In my opinion, these people are no better than those power-hungry and bigoted arseholes (sorry again) ousted in the recent elections.

Goodnight.

Sincerely,
Semi-M
written by pengembara, March 23, 2008 09:24:14
Pete

You know something ... I did not even know what race the candidates in my DUN and Parliament were! Stayed a short distance from the royal town hence did not attend any ceramahs nor read the main-stream newspapers.

I just voted non-BN. And no, it is not a protest vote. It is a vote for change just like the last few elections that I have voted except this time I WILL GET CHANGES!

peace

written by bogeyman, March 23, 2008 12:05:06
written by mei yen, March 23, 2008 | 07:00:47

Here's racism raising its' ugly Malaysian head again! - "to do as the Indonesians and Thais do". If you are really Chinese your ancestors must be rolling in their graves. Btw, you've picked the perfect name for yourself 'bogeyman'.
______________________________________-

mei yen, take a good look in the mirror when you call me a racist. Who's the one harping on " Chinese and ancestors rolling in graves"? You just don't get what RPK was trying to convey, do you?
And here you are shooting me down for sharing my humble (I did mention - radical)views. I happen to have relatives in Thailand, so I know what I'm talking about.
You couldn't argue my point intelligently, could you? Instead, you took the easy way out and call me a racist. Perhaps I am a racist. Racist to people like you, who can't look beyond being Chinese above all else. Don't call yourself bangsa Malaysia, you're not ready for it and certainly don't deserve it.

Perhaps you could write a article on " Chinese Chauvinist Bigots".
written by bogeyman, March 23, 2008 12:50:30
written by Malaysiaku, March 23, 2008 | 07:52:59

Vernacular schools should not been seen as racial as it is a language. Every race can go to a vernacular school to learn the language. So, I don;t think it should be abolished. Even now, there are a lot of Malays studying Mandarin in vernacular schools across the country.

------------------------
Malaysiaku, thanks for your feedback. At least I'm getting someone to intelligently debate my views. However, I'll have to disagree with you.

Vernacular schools isn't just about language. It's about wanting to belong to their own kind. It's about being insecure with others than their own. Sure there are malays and indians in chinese schools. I applaud them. But how many is many? Do they even constitute even 1% nation wide?

We can have Mandarin and Tamil taught as a subject in National Schools, don't you think? While we're at it, in this age of globalisation, why not teach other foreign languages as well, ie; Japanese, Thai, Spanish, French......
written by Benut, March 23, 2008 15:03:47
we always get confused between race as a trademark and racist as an act being hatred...
Though both are nouns, the misuse of "race" can be related to racist... however that's not the point.
Even in the same race, discrimination always happen probably it depends how we look the subject is, the most looking good is our criteria.

No matter what, those criteria must be of discrimination and hatred even having similar black songkok or hair.
written by mimag2005, March 23, 2008 15:51:04
written by angfaulith, March 22, 2008 | 22:56:30

we in pas agree to be free and fair to all under an islamic aegis........
...............we hope that penang and selangor follow suit in time.

Dear Bloggers,

These are few of the Islamic teachings extracted from the Holy Qur’an :

[002:177]
It is not righteousness that ye turn your faces Towards east or West; but it is righteousness- to believe in God and the Last Day, and the Angels, and the Book, and the Messengers; to spend of your substance, out of love for Him, for your kin, for orphans, for the needy, for the wayfarer, for those who ask, and for the ransom of slaves; to be steadfast in prayer, and practice regular charity; to fulfil the contracts which ye have made; and to be firm and patient, in pain (or suffering) and a dversity, and throughout all periods of panic. Such are the people of truth, the God-fearing.

[005:110]
Then will God say: "O Jesus the son of Mary! Recount My favour to thee and to thy mother. Behold! I strengthened thee with the holy spirit, so that thou didst speak to the people in childhood and in maturity. Behold! I taught thee the Book and Wisdom, the Law and the Gospel and behold! thou makest out of clay, as it were, the figure of a bird, by My leave, and thou breathest into it and it becometh a bird by My leave, and thou healest those born blind, and the lepers, by My leave. And behold! thou bringest forth the dead by My leave. And behold! I did restrain the Children of Israel from (violence to) thee when thou didst show them the clear Signs, and the unbelievers among them said: 'This is nothing but evident magic.'

006:098]
It is He Who hath produced you from a single person: here is a place of sojourn and a place of departure: We detail Our signs for people who understand.

[011:118]
If thy Lord had so willed, He could have made mankind one people: but they will not cease to dispute.

[021:011]
How many were the populations We utterly destroyed because of their iniquities, setting up in their places other peoples?

[004:075]
And why should ye not fight in the cause of God and of those who, being weak, are ill-treated (and oppressed)?- Men, women, and children, whose cry is: "Our Lord! Rescue us from this town, whose people are oppressors; and raise for us from thee one who will protect; and raise for us from thee one who will help!"

The above are just a fraction of Islamic teachings.

A TRUE MUSLIM BELIEVER AND FOLLOWER IS ONE....WHOSE NEIGHBOURS FEEL ASSURED OF HIS PRESENCE....NOT THREATHENED...!!!!

written by bogeyman, March 23, 2008 17:27:35
My reply to Rhan,

Seems like I created a little storm in a tea cup here.... which was my intention... to stir up a civilised debate. Unfortunately, it attracted some people who didn't get it and had to resort to name calling because they can't hold an argument or took it out of context.

Yes, I agree that we should DEFEND THE MIDDLE GROUND. We are all on the same side aren't we? Now that we have got that out of our way, allow me to answer to your statement:
"Martin Luther King is not a black or African name and we all know what happen in Indonesia and southern Thailand. As for the abolishment of vernacular schools, if most of the rakyat agree, why not. But do you have any facts that support your claim that this system cause racial polirisation? "

Martin L King, Indonesia and S. Thailand.... I get what you mean. They all had names that that didn't reveal their ethnicity, yet...look what happened to them.

Now imagine if they had ethnic names. Would it have been better or worse or the same? I'm not saying that I'm right, but I believe it may have been worse. I did say my suggestion was radical, didn't I? So what's wrong with a Malaysian name to reflect one's Malaysianess? I did not suggest to make it compulsary.It is still our personal choice. My use of the words "every citizen should adopt an official Malay indeginous family name ......" was taken out of context. The word "should" was a suggestion as oppossed to the word "Must". I apologise if I confused most of you. Maybe I should have used a different choice of words.

BTW it is not compulsary in Indonesia, Liem Swee King didn't change his name, and he's a hero to Indons... which shows that things aren't all that bad with our neighbors.

As for venacular schools, I have no support to claim polarisation except my own observation at my work place... children in my neighborhood... on the streets. I didn't say it was the only cause of polarisation, but it didn't help in the integration of our society, did it? My opinion is that we should integrate the children at school level so that maybe more of us comes out color blind in society.

Thanks for your civil argument though.
written by inspirasi, March 23, 2008 17:44:14
this racial divide and rule approach dates back to colonial days (the British being the masters of that!!!!) and thru years of racism backed by our constitution...leaves us Malaysians in a state of distrust of the other races and being biased for their own based on 'blood is thicker than water'

r we mature enough now to totally drop the race issue? electing our representatives based purely on merit and integrity?

can we fully trust our representatives to fight for OUR cause...the rakyats needs as opposed to implementing policies for the better of one over another?

for that advanced state of maturity to exist theres much we need to do....

1. change the constitution...no form of discrimination to occur;

2. the schooling system...one national system...learning the same syllabus...children of all races and religions studying together... lessons for other languages and religious studies to be carried out extra to the main core curricullum...

3. a system of meritocracy to be implemented across all aspects of political, commercial and social life;

4. a strong sense of civic duty to be inculcated in all rakyat (the older readers will remember the civic lessons we used to have..and i must say it helped me and my genre to respect my fellow man and rakyat better!!!)...to get away from the me...me...me attitude...the kia see and kiasu mentality has to stop!!!

will it be susah implementing the above? u bet!!!

will there be pain? definitely!!!

will there be uproar from segments of the rakyat? for sure!!!

is that price worth paying for?...to have a new malaysia where the rakyat respect each other and care for the nations progress...a nation BEFORE self ideology..of course!!!

so where do we start?

the rakyat have given the opposition the mandate to make that change...i beleive in the step by step approach to change...at the same time i am a firm believer of 'striking while the iron is hot'

the iron was white hot on the 9th march...today it is only red hot...tomorrow it will be luke warm...

we leave it much longer...we will more than likely forget that the iron even existed...

WE HAVE TO ACT NOW!!!

we have the WILL....now lets together find the way...

ALL u representatives...LISTEN UP...act RESPONSIBLY THE WILL OF THE RAKYAT...or be accountable to us for your failures!!!!
written by SUV, March 23, 2008 17:58:43
teo san aah,
aiyah dis things take time 2 go awaylah laah..one step at a timelah..dont lah overshoot when entering the apex...
written by bogeyman, March 23, 2008 18:50:50
Dear inspirasi,

I couldn't agree with you more. We must be of the same generation. Civic lessons are no longer in the school syllabus and I think we all know why. So that UMNO can "Divide and rule!!"
But now the rakyat has woken from their stupor and spoken thru the ballot box. But that is not enough. We, the rakyat have to follow thru and keep our chosen representatives on their toes less they falter.
They must not fail us.
written by Syah, March 23, 2008 18:52:07
Wish all Malaysian were born colour blind. Each and every humans has only one creator and He has made them all equal in His eyes. Who are we then, the mere mortals, to say black is better than white or otherwise. Lets see it beyond race and colours and enjoy the fruits of unity together. No nations has lost being united.

Syah
written by Camillus, March 23, 2008 19:02:10
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Malaysiaku, thanks for your feedback. At least I'm getting someone to intelligently debate my views. However, I'll have to disagree with you.

Vernacular schools isn't just about language. It's about wanting to belong to their own kind. It's about being insecure with others than their own. Sure there are malays and indians in chinese schools. I applaud them. But how many is many? Do they even constitute even 1% nation wide?

We can have Mandarin and Tamil taught as a subject in National Schools, don't you think? While we're at it, in this age of globalisation, why not teach other foreign languages as well, ie; Japanese, Thai, Spanish, French......
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Bogeyman,

There are two ways of doing things (is there a third?). On one hand, you have assimilation under a national identity. Thailand is an example. On ther other hand, you have the preservation of individual identities. Both have their pros and cons - don't know what is the best approach.

You have, however, hit the nail on the head! It's all about moving out of one's comfort zone. Here's a random example: A Pakistani or Polish can very easily come into the UK, settle into their own communities, speak their own languages and never see the light of day in terms of knowing about other people. There are parallels with Malaysia here - not good ones though! There are many societies in the UK that feel isolated - just like in Malaysia. Many societies that are deeply suspicious of the other - just like the other.

Here's the challenge. Do we tell ourselves that change takes time? After so many years, the US is still drawn along racial lines. Do we hope that the emergence of a new party will work wonders? Or do we - as individuals - make a very conscious and pro-active effort to go out of our way to effect changes?

Raja Petra's article above tells us that all parties have self-interest at heart. Of course! Forget about committees and groups. It's individuals who have gone on to effect changes! Someone mentioned Martin Luther King, there's Abraham Lincoln, etc. Closer to home, there's Raja Petra, etc. Do you actually believe that BR could have achieved anything without MT, JeffOoi.com, etc.?

Which brings me to the next point. Raja Petra aptly called this site, "Malaysia Today: Your source of independent news". I believe he wanted to promote independent thinking. Not vote BN thinking, or support BR blindly mentality. But independent thought based on unbiased news and information.

Being an extremely prejudiced person, I am equally critical of both BR and BN. Our individual votes have served BN a wake-up call, which I hope would kick their arses into gear. Hope is good... but do not hold your breath...

Individual MT readers and others, need to go out and reach fellow Malaysians who do not have access to independent news. Effect change today!

Happy Easter!

P.S. Oh yeah, Raja Petra called this section "No Holds Barred". So I guess... anything goes... and expect everything smilies/cheesy.gif I myself, though new, have already indulged in slanging smilies/cheesy.gif - with some deserving pricks. It's fun to be a wind up merchant every now and then smilies/grin.gif
written by tanahairku2, March 23, 2008 20:28:56
The other day I was asked to fill up a form for an insurance claim. When I came to the part on race, I just drew a line across the words, Malay, Chinese, Indian, etc. and wrote 'Malaysian'. I told the guy off and that he should get his company to change the format of the form. Maybe we should all start doing this from henceforth, It will take a long time for the mindset to change, but we have to make a start somewhere, and now is as good a time as any.
written by mountainking, March 23, 2008 21:51:28
let's put some assumptions to put away appointment by racial line:

a. even if all the BR agrees to no race card, MB and deputy MB can be held by any race and gender, could the Sultan/Pertua refrain from putting their hands in the appointment? could they sign a declaration that they should be the role model for the nation if we want to move ahead by not making anymore noise?

b. if the BR is really interested in a non-race party, are they willing to adopt a common party name? let's do away with PKR, DAP and PAS.

c. can the BR leaders themselves stop making statement such as this state is a majority malay/chinese state, so therefore we need exco of that race to take care of them?

d. above all, could the leaders be willing to go to their own community/state and tell their members right on their face that "no more individual party identity"?

e. for a start, can we stop using this word "ketuanan melayu" and "son of soil"?

CAN PKR, PAS and DAP SIGN AN OFFICIAL AGREEMENT TO FORM A SINGLE PARTY WITHIN THIS YEAR? IF NOT, THAT PURELY MEANS THEY ARE MORE INTERESTED IN INDIVIDUAL IDENTIY. ANOTHER RECIPE FOR SELF-DESTRUCTION .....
written by bogeyman, March 23, 2008 22:16:59
Dear Camillus,

You wrote :
P.S. Oh yeah, Raja Petra called this section "No Holds Barred". So I guess... anything goes... and expect everything I myself, though new, have already indulged in slanging - with some deserving pricks. It's fun to be a wind up merchant every now and then "

Indeed we have, haven't we? But it's also a great relief to find an ally on the same wavelength. Apparently we have to put up with some posters who insist only their opinions are worthy. Only they are allowed to hog this space. It's no fun if you can only indulge small minded pricks and pussies. smilies/cry.gif There's no stimulus for healthy debate. What a shame...
written by Tiocfaidh Ar La, March 23, 2008 23:46:47
"And their race, religion and gender did not matter one bit when we voted for them. Why, then, should it suddenly matter now? That is what baffles me about the Malaysian mind."

Baffling indeed. After all those ceramah's about making a change for a better Made by Malaysians Malaysia, it seems that all the battle lines demarcating race are drawn up again right after the GE! Just when we thought we were going to move on...it seems like it's just a change of players, the rules of the game stay the same. Shame indeed. About 10 years ago, when Tony Blair and Labour came into power, I remember telling my Ang Moh friend that Malaysian Politics was too infantile for such a change. I will maintain what I once said, only this time round, I'd add that the Malaysian Rakyat's mind-set has changed,somewhat. What to do, harap pagar, pagar yang makan padi. Are we just going to sit tight and let the powers that be make us look like really impudent people or are we going to give them a gentle nudge and remind them of such a thing called Makkal Sakti?
written by harrbm, March 24, 2008 00:23:07
>
>

My god, why so complicated ? Just do it ! Just do it starting from yourself. Then your family and then your circle of friends. How ? There is no one correct way or wrong way. The idea of one race will take time but not forever.

got it?

>
written by Camillus, March 24, 2008 01:11:42
written by batsman, March 23, 2008 | 21:41:01

Guys, less than a month after the 12th GE, some people from the UK (eg. camillus) are already saying it doesn’t matter if the vote swings back to the BN. They also say that Malaysia is ripe for and should face some painful upheaval if it wants to progress. Such “troubles” are no big deal and part and parcel of the pain and suffering we have to pay as the price of joining the rest of the world in progress. I guess if the rakyat swings the vote back to the BN and if they don’t mind some “troubles”, then I shouldn’t mind either. What say you? Is the middle ground worth saving? Do we just pack up and go back to sleep and leave this space for BN cronies and self-confessed foul mouthed racists from the UK to occupy?

My worthless opinion? Take 2 pieces of blank writing paper and list down the opposition's crimes and mistakes on one and the BN's crimes and mistakes on the other. Which one will be overwhelmingly longer and drip with blood to boot?
======================================================= ======================================================= ===============================================

Batsman,
And what if BR **** up badly in the next 5 years? While BN change for the better?

I guess it's OK to put forth the "holier-than-thou" aura, i.e. you are right in that people and parties cannot change, a swing is bad, etc.

Stop acting like a pompous prick! Read postings on the whole! The problem with pieces of shite like you is that you are so set in your ways, you resist and rebuke any angle that diverges from yours - rather than consider the merits. The reason? I presume it to be a lack of exposure, probably due to mingling only amongst your own race, and as a result of this, having suspicions on any motives.

At the end of the day, political parties (most anyway) put their own interests first. Left wing or right, Labour or Liberals... they all have their own agenda. You want proof? Looking inwards, the BR had issues on selecting reps and ministers so soon after the election. Why so? (Please do not give nonsensical shite like they needed to negotiate, they are inexperienced, etc. We are talking about experienced campaigners here!)

I do, however, advocate "individualism". That which gave us Gandhi, Einstein, et al. (I know, I know, it also gave us Hitler and such smilies/grin.gif ) Each of us need to take charge and effect changes for the better.

If the definition of "middle ground" is to follow one party without considering the merits of the other, then I am against such a notion. (Fair enough, in this instance, the other party is BN - which is shite anyway). This Batsman character talks about "middle ground" and being moderate, but his (I assume he, if not, ought to call oneself Batswoman smilies/grin.gif ) postings are tinged with suspicion and bias. The only bit of truth... indeed... I am foul-mouthed and prejudiced - particularly against arseholes like himself. I had to resort to profanity... for want of better words and phrases to describe Batsman. I have a limited vocabulary - but I'm trying to rectify this smilies/grin.gif

Human beings are creatures of habit. So, should we drip feed changes and then see responses to these changes? Banks do this, and we have seen Northern Rock and Bear Sterns extend the misery of the world financial markets by "drip feeding bad news". Or do we make big-ish changes? I believe that we should do the latter. It's my opinion, and as I said, I could be wrong. Apparently, the new Penang government shared my thought by announcing the abolishment of the NEP at state level. Yes, there were some protesting, but this seems to have died down. Or do we "drip feed" changes and build pent-up frustration?
written by Camillus, March 24, 2008 01:25:45
written by batsman, March 23, 2008 | 21:42:59

Azalina importing new talent?
report abusevote downvote upVotes: -1
======================================================= =========================

Bigotry and bias at its best!!! Stupidity and idiocy transcends all boundaries.
written by nonpartisan73, March 24, 2008 02:22:47
wahh, suddenly i read something about vernacular school is about language? Hahha. Convincing. But songkok pulak is islam. Wow, never thought of that! Nice.

Again in MT. If you go against the flow, you are cybertrooper. Confirmed! Same ol, same ol.
written by James Loh, March 24, 2008 02:47:21
I'm a Malaysian Chinese. I see myself as a Malaysian before my ethnicity. I'm proud of my nationality and my Malaysian culture. However, I can denied my ethnicity too. Am I racist? I don't think so if I recognize myself as Malaysian Chinese. My aunt speak Mandarin only is she racist. An Ummah speak Malay or Arabic only is he racist?

Sometimes we need to determine the root cause analysis why racism exist? In my perspective, it exist due to our political system that were created since the colonialism and continued by Barisan National and all other opposition parties. Furthermore, Malay, Indian, and Chinese sees themselve as the victim in Malaysia. Hence, they focus on protecting their own rights. Whenever, you see yourself as a victim you'll justify any racist thinking, action or policy to protect your own race.

In order to stop racism, we must foster compassion towards other race or think of other races before our own race. Thus, as a Malaysian Chinese I'll protect the Malay heritage by promoting the concept of gotong royong to everybody. Secondly, I'll make sure that nobody will criticize Malay or Indian. Only when you put other race before your own race can you stop racism.

Lastly, even sharing a common language doesn't mean you'll stop racism. Look at Indonesian riot which Chinese were brutally tortured or the white and black problem in America. You can stop it with yourself first. I'm certain that none of us is perfect.
written by clshoon, March 24, 2008 04:26:30

I truly agree with u. Now, I start wondering whether voted the right party or not. Really sick of what happened recently.

Maybe you can help Malaysia once again by 'advising' your cousin and his 'secretary' on why they want Malay TMB?? why they opposed the initial BR's Selangor state coliation government's EXCO line up with the reason of 'imbalance' racial composition?? It makes me wondering whether they treat non-Malay as their Rakyat or not.

I think with you background, your 'advise' is very important to ensure the Mornachy Institution still relevant to the Rakyat and act as Role of Model for "Colour Blind Malaysian". Hence, they will be most respected Ruler in the country.

I really hope ONE DAY the monachy institution, politician and rakyat will be religion and colour blind to form a TRUE MALAYSIA.
written by singam, March 24, 2008 07:08:36
I'm afraid too many people are reacting too strongly to what was reported to have been the response from the palace. First of all, we are not even sure if the reports are accurate. Secondly, we are not sure who in the palace actually generated the response. Remember, the Sultan's palace staff were placed there by BN. Unless I hear the actual speech from the Sultan, I will not assume it was he who said what was reported to have been said.

People have asked why there was a strong reaction to Lim Kit Siang's call to boycott the palace ceremony but not to the BN reaction in Terengganu. As far as I am concerned, the BN MPs are dead horses. I don't give a shit what they do anymore. But the people we are depending on to bring change and truly represent the rakyat, I expect to display exemplary behaviour. Unless we set high standards, we could end up getting crap MPs.
written by gtl, March 24, 2008 08:30:17
50 years is a long time and malaysian has been molded into a racial mess. it takes time to be undo and remake into a new social order.
we hope this is step one of many steps.

tolerance is not a nice word, i wud prefer ACCEPTANCE of other culture rights and believe, and embrace DIVERSITY in this home of ours.

peace!
written by Sagaladoola, March 24, 2008 09:53:49
[quote}Naha : Nice chili, pedas. Lately, M-T is full of PKR and DAP apologists, so zealous, so cannot take any criticism of their heroes.

Hoi, kenapa kena taksub dengan pemimpin, hah? Why the hero worship? Racism is definitely a problem in Malaysia. Mendewakan manusia is equally a problem.

This is a very good statement. No one, race or religion should be free from criticism.

We should be loyal to the country, not to any parties or leaders.

written by Sagaladoola, March 24, 2008 10:00:44
Indeed true about this new State government thing. It is taking too long. I am feeling fed up. This is not doing any good to Malaysia.

written by tcng, March 24, 2008 10:15:32
RPK is preaching to the choir. I, and I guess most of the netizens, would have no issue with racial & gender & religion of the leaders. Even the entire cabinet or any state exco is make up of single race, single religion, many would have no issue as long as the team is capable and clean and able to deliver result. Problem is that in one-man-one-vote democracy, the emotion& feeling of the millions of average-intellegent men-on-the-street can be easily stir up by politicians - playing the race/religion card always work. Is the newly appointed Perak MB from PAS the most qualified candidate from the so called 'BR'? Or is there a more qualified non-malay candidate from PKR/DAP? Look, it is politically necessary to appoint a Malay (either from PKR or PAS) as Perak MB. If a non-Malay is appointed, especially he is Chinese-Msia from DAP, I bet UMNO will lose no time in playing up the race card..... Race & religion are the most fundamental fault lines of human being. Malaysian are far far from color-blind... we got to be realistic.
written by SUV, March 24, 2008 11:47:23
ants in the pants..hehe,betui teo san!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by densemy, March 24, 2008 12:56:07
After 50 years of entrenched racism, hatred and fear its not surprising that Malaysians are still thinking along racial lines

But three cheers to you RPK for pointing out that now EVERYBODY has to start thinking like Malaysians and they have to strike the words Malay, Chinese, Indian or whatever from their vocabularies and from all forms of identification
written by RasuahMinister, March 24, 2008 14:27:05
Malaysia's Agong can anytime announce "I want all 27 millions citizens of Malaysia from today onwards to be known only as Bangsa Malaysia"

Very simple task, but 50 years still cannot solve this racial issue.
written by Camillus, March 24, 2008 15:44:55
Batsman! Good morning, my good man!

I am honoured - that you look forward to my postings! I am so touched! Really means a lot - thanks!

It's only 7:40am here. Lovely, wintry Easter we had, our little snowman from yesterday hasn't melted away. But don't worry, there's a lot of time to insult your stupidity and idiocy smilies/grin.gif

Could you learn to convey your thoughts and views in a clear and coherent manner please. Only then can I really show what a real waste of space you are. Come to think of it, just continue as you are - saves me the effort smilies/grin.gif

Have a nice day - I know I will smilies/grin.gif

P.S. Actually, Azalina pays me more than 2.5 times (don't be jealous, OK?) the monthly figure you mentioned. Plus I get an Audi company car and lovely accomodation as well. But "shhhhhh", keep it quiet - don't tell anyone! Oh yeah, almost forgot... do remove the big stick up your arse - might just make you less uptight smilies/tongue.gif
written by Nicholas, March 24, 2008 20:11:07
I'm the one who wrote this article in CARI:
_______________________________________________________ ______________________
Raja Petra Kamarudin: I Challenge You.

Dear Raja Petra Kamarudin a.k.a RPK,

I'm a reader of your articles starting from your article that challenge the fellow with 2 mohamad in his name. I like your writing because you are daring and review a lot of secret that UMNO's press and TV media. You also point out the weakness of DAP and oppositon with facts and prove that is conviencing. I believe in what you said because you are the Cheif Editor of Malaysia Today and member of the Royal Family of Selangor.

Talk about the forming of EXCO members of Selangor government. The 3 parties - PKR, DAP and PAS are agreed on 4 - 4 -2 for the arrangement of EXCO members. The rakyat, would also have no objection with this arrangement. But this arrangement was being denied by His Highness the Sultan of Selangor with a reason that His Highness wants to remain only 3 CHINESE in the EXCO instead of 4. Now, the arrangement had become 4-3-3 for PKR-DAP-PAS. I'm really dissapointed with this racial based arrangement and wonder is there democracy in this state? PKR won 15 seats, DAP had won 13 seats and PAS had 8 seats in the state and DAP have to cut down their EXCO numbers and same with PAS just because His Highness does not agree. How unfair this arrangement is and the rakyat really wonder why would this happen in a call democratic - oppositon lead state! My concern is not how many Chinese are appointed in the EXCO but just to seek justice for this case as I foresee that the arrangement is racial based.

Dear RPK, we also like to know why the secretary of His Highness gave a statement saying only Muslims/Malay can be the Deputy MB of Selangor? Even thought there is no Deputy MB post written in the state, but this racial statement really made us uncomfortable and just feeling that we are still in the age of Tanah Melayu.

You had shoot DAP for being not cooperating with PAS, but now DAP had tolerate in Perak with PAS and let PAS candidate Nizar become the MB. DAP now also need to give way to His Highness and reducing 4 to 3 in the EXCO seats.

I'm challenging you, RPK, the leader of the new era thinking for the rakyat, to give us an explanation why the above mentioned status would accured? I can't post my comments in MALAYSIA TODAY because I can't register as a member.
_______________________________________________________ ____________________

I just want to know why His Highness bother about the numbers of DAP EXCO members and the numbers of Chinese EXCO members instead of Barisan Rakyat's earlier decision of 4:4:2 arrangment. That's it.

Your sincerely,
Nick Chang
written by Camillus, March 24, 2008 22:12:36
Milo & Batsman,

Guys, you were meant to keep it a secret. Why so bitter? I know that I am having the time of my life and all... no need for jealousy la! You want any pressies? Or maybe "bribes", as per the spin you'll put? Let me know what you want and I'll get it for you.

Ahhh... the good life! It's all about LUCK guys... all about LUCK. LUCK = Labouring Under Correct Knowledge. What knowledge? By being spies and... what's the other word you use? Oh yeah, "cybertroopers". smilies/grin.gif

I like the good times, I like to bogey smilies/grin.gif

written by songkram, March 24, 2008 22:53:15
aiyoyo why challenging RPK?For 50 yrs.rull by BN not event a single person dare to discust races issue openly, atlist now ur bro. RPK brought up; my man it's a good start.I bileve 95% malaysian still think like U 4:4:2/4:3:2 If we dont change ur mindset now and plant it to ur friend or ur next generation it will still be the same for next 50 yrs. WE vote for a change The sooner we change the betterit is.
written by bogeyman, March 25, 2008 00:48:27
Hi Camillus,

I see you're having a gala time humiliating what's his name?.. buttsman? You are quite a sadist, aren't you? Can't say I blame you for spewing profanities on him, though. Pseudo-intellects like him won't understand any other language to get the message thru their thick Neantherthal skulls.

He was literaly begging us at all times of the day to come on and lay abuse on him.."please..oh please....**** me!" Well, unlike him, I have a day job.

My guess is he's some sick masochistic ugly geek with no social life, sitting in front of the computer just waiting for you to come on so that he could jerk off whenever you abuse him.

I had good laugh when he accused you of being Azalina aka 'The Butch's spy. That really gave him away. Now everyone knows he's REALLY STOOPID! for sure.smilies/grin.gif

Looks like you're doing a fine job all by yourself crapping on him and his new friend. No need for you and me to gang up on them... it won't be a fair fight.

Okay, truthfully, to me, he's a waste of time. I'll just ignore him... bet he'll just pull all his public hair out if we don't respond to his call to abuse him.

See what you did? You just passed your sadistic streak to me already smilies/grin.gif

Coming back to our discussion before we got side-tracked by ol' coitus interuptus, you were asking :

There are two ways of doing things (is there a third?). On one hand, you have assimilation under a national identity. Thailand is an example. On ther other hand, you have the preservation of individual identities. Both have their pros and cons - don't know what is the best approach.

Ever wondered that both ways can actually work? Like I mentioned b4, I have living relatives in Thailand. They are proud to be Thai and having Thai names, but they also have chinese names they use at home. There's no discrimination. The older generation are able to speak in chinese dialects, the younger ones like my cousins, however only speak Thai and English, not because they were not allowed to, but because everyone chose to speak Thai at home. It only took one generation for them to fully assimilate.

Some of my Thai cousins married with the local folks, and nobody bats an eye. Sure, we have inter-racial marriages here in M'sia, too. Even in my family. But society still label them as mixed-blood, half-breeds, Chindians(Chinese-Indian), Chibai (Chinese-Bengalli), chapchung etc... Over in Thailand, there's no label, just Thais, because they don't notice anything unusual. But they still have their own identity. Chinese businesses like my relatives are still proud to display their identity at their shopfront.

Closer to home, there's the peranakan indian-muslims in Penang, the baba-nonyas of the Straits Settlements of Penang, Melaka and Singapore. Their language, cuisine and dressing ...all assimiliated with the local malays. Yet they still have their own identity and proud of it too. They still pray to their own gods and ancestors etc...The local malays of yonder years don't seem to mind at all.

So I guess it's possible to have it both ways. We just have to change our mindset and to borrow your words... move out from our comfort zone.

Like you said, we'll receive a lot of negative feedback for our views and attract the likes of buttsman, who can't even be consistent with his DEFEND THE MIDDLE GROUND crap, So be it, somebody have to start it somewhere, somehow...

If not us, Who?
If not now, When?
If not, Why Not?
If not not, Why?

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cheekhiaw, March 25, 2008 03:00:05
IT'S UGLY FOR SOME MALAYSIANS AND PRETTY FOR OTHERS

Nick Chang,

Answer to your question may be this: Some people are born with the right to be prejudicial. Others are not.

Just like the NEP doesn't it?

And like the right to insist others must wear their hat but not the other way round.

It is all very pretty Malaysian.

written by Milo, March 25, 2008 03:30:50
Correction:That's why, here in the cyberworld (where we have no constraints to our power of expression), we find more racists than we can find in the real world.
written by Milo, March 25, 2008 03:45:16
From wikipedia:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Racism
Racism has many definitions, the most common being that members of one racial group consider themselves intrinsically superior to members of other racial groups. Some sociologists have defined racism as a system of group privilege.

Institutional racism (also known as structural racism, state racism or systemic racism) is racial discrimination by governments, corporations, educational institutions or other large organizations with the power to influence the lives of many individuals.

[Ketuanan melayu is an expression that may fall within these definitions; There is no ketuanan cina or ketuanan india concept possible in Malaysia because eveyones know the law do not allow it to take root. Rightly or wrongly, this is the main reason why the term racism is often linked to the malays. It is not easy to correct the situation because the racialism concept is firmly structured in the law and customs of the country.]
written by inspirasi, March 25, 2008 03:51:20
the UGLY MALAYSIAN...how apt that description...

we malaysians have long had a reputation to be smiley...gentle...and friendly...and i CAN see where and how we earned that reputation...we WERE smiley...gentle and friendly...

that label was appropriate 50years ago...but today...we r a mass of hungry ants focussed on only one thing...getting one better over our fellow man...

the way malaysians drive their cars and bikes (and lorries) encapsulates our outlook...

irritable and impatient...any slight delay up ahead...and the honking starts...while one gets agressive when someone else honks us for inconsiderate driving...not only r we impatient and irritable...but we exercise DOUBLE STANDARDS as well!!!

'over my dead body'...driving style..NO ONE can overtake ME..i will let NO ONE come out from the junction...i will KILL whoever slows me down by 1 second!!!

'its my right!'...to cut in from any side...legal or otherwise...to turn without indicating...(safe battery)...to badly park my car (i also pay road tax what!!)...to weave in and out of traffic (my life what...why your business?)

malaysians r now world renowned for their reckless and atrocious driving attitudes...not really something we should be proud of...

but its not just the way we drive...its what makes us drive like that...

the whole selfish and inconsiderate mindset....

I DONT CARE HOW I GET THERE...I MUST GET THERE FIRST...AT THE EXPENSE OF EVERYONE ELSE...

this same mentality pervades right across the malaysian psyche...

WHY SHOULD I? seems to be everyones motto in life...

from cradle to grave...thro school...thro the work environment...within the family...in the community...

there is an obvious lacking of the sharing attitude...WHY SHOULD I?...always rears its ugly head...

coming back to the smiley (or not so smiley )'modern' malaysian...

i have this very bad habit of trying to catch the eye of people i come across in the street...in the shops...everywhere i go...

im conducting unconsciously my own smile research...and guess what the verdict is?

yup..u r right...the majority of malaysians (i meet) have forgotten how to smile...

not only that...they give me a nasty look of disgust and suspicion...

i am disappointed...but im not surprised...the modern malaysian is too busy...too busy trying to outdo the next man...too busy to realise that they live in a society of fellow humans...fellow rakyat...their whole being finely tuned so they do not lose out...its a race... a mad race...a race with no finising line...

theres no more community...no more neighbourly-ness...

the modern day Hang Tuah (just like the 3 Musketeers) would declare...

ALL FOR ME...AND ME FOR ALL!!!!

and we r now trying to build a new malaysia?

with those attitudes?

not a chance!!!!

when was the last time we thought of our nation? as opposed to what WE would benefit?

i recall a touching moment from the documentary Black Gold...all about the sickening exploitation of the coffee trade by the very powerful global cartel at the expense of the impoverished coffee farmers in Ethiopia (and others) (i strongly recommend u watch this...u will think twice patronising Starbucks)..when a young lad fighting poverty to get an education...has ambition to be a doctor...so he could help heal the sick in his Country...let me stress this point..again...his family is dead broke...with the meager scrapings...this lad has the chance to go to school in order to SERVE HIS COUNTRY!!!!

fortunately malaysia isnt that poverty stricken...but unless and until we shed the selfish attitudes...and adopt the simple mindset of the Ethiopian boy...any form of solidarity and harmony...living peace-ably one with another will ever be possible...

I am unsure the modern malaysian can learn to smile let alone give up our me me me attitude...even if its for the benefit of the nation...

as long as malaysians think ME and not WE...it will be a long road ahead...and yes we will remain UGLY..very UGLY...
written by Camillus, March 25, 2008 04:09:12
Correction:That's why, here in the cyberworld (where we have no constraints to our power of expression), we find more racists than we can find in the real world.
======================================================= =========================
Wholeheartedly agree! The anonymity of the Internet breeds false courage. Raja Petra, Jeff Ooi, etc. have the courage to put themselves out there. Unfortunately, here on MT, too many people hide behind the cloak of a pseudo-name! And then rant about "having balls".
written by Milo, March 25, 2008 04:27:44
Camillus, why don't you show whether you have balls? Post here your full name, HP no., e-mail and home address. That way everyone can contact you to debate directly. Leadership by example!
written by Camillus, March 25, 2008 04:50:59
Milo,

There you go:
Address: 18 Downing Street, SW1, London, UK
Mobile: 44 (0)7821 281784
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by Camillus, March 25, 2008 04:58:00
Milo,

Don't forget to e-mail me. Or call me. If you want me to call you, do provide your contact number.

BTW, isn't it way past your bedtime. Or did you wet your bed and then woke up?
written by Camillus, March 25, 2008 05:03:36
Bogeyman,

Interesting take, mate! Do let me ponder on this for a bit and I'll get back to you.Also, your language take does carry weight. The US education system caters for other languages. In the UK, there are language subjects at GCSE level and beyond. With the emergence of India and China, being able to converse in Hindi and Mandarin is definitely a good thing. Language skills can diffuse a hostile/tense situation! It can even be used to "pull" if one is in a club/bar in a different country smilies/grin.gif

Regarding vernacular schools, sorry mate, I'm not in a position to comment as I do not have exposure here.

On a different note...
The global economy is teetering on the brink of a deep and prolonged global downturn (if not already there). Inflation is a real problem. Commodities like wheat touched an all-time high! There's been a bit of good news, but will know more when work resumes tomorrow. Why is this important to Malaysia and Malaysians (from a political point of view)? BR wrested Penang, Perak, Selangor and FT. These are Malaysia's "industrialised" states and form the engine of the economy (in Malaysia). BR need to take heed of this - BN can easily use this as an angle of attack. Hoover lost his job in the Great Depression!

On yet another note,
We all need to go out and effect changes - in the right ways of course. Each and every one of us can positively effect change. Start at home - charity begins at home. Do not rely on political parties... too much. Why haven't PKR/DAP/PAS formed a single party with set purposes? Like Labour, which leans to the left, and only know how to "tax and spend". Now, all members can say they belong to Party "X" - as opposed to saying, "I belong to UMNO, DAP PAS, etc...

Finally, it's refreshing to engage in proper discussion. I got to disagree with you on one instance though - I can't just ignore batsman/milo as I'm no good at turning the other cheek! smilies/grin.gif Plus, it's just too much fun smilies/grin.gif

P.S. "Buttsman" - nice one!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Camillus, March 25, 2008 05:16:47
Milo,

Name: Milo's_mum_is_a_hoe
Number: 60 3 7552 525

More details on:
www.milos_sis_cumm_on _face
www.miles_wife_up_the_arse

written by Milo, March 25, 2008 06:11:54
Nice address, you have, but no balls and no breast smilies/grin.gif
written by Rhan, March 25, 2008 08:44:51
Bogeyman,
Refer to your radical idea, i think there is a reason why RPK keep on talking not only race but religion as well.
written by batsman, March 25, 2008 08:49:20
inspirasi - I share your noble sentiments, but right now there is too much filth and dirt. We need to sweep these away first. Then only and maybe only can we have some sort of decency.
written by Ken Liew, March 25, 2008 09:05:55
As you can see...... The UMNO deny any bad value that have been shown by themselves. But they will admit any good value that they never did.

such as STUPID-ness: WHO will continue/extend the contract with a COMPANY who did not meet the date or broke the agreement??

account blindness: our finance department will surely doom. Even any office tools/stationarry can qouted 300% more then its market price. And yet they sign the sales document.

The blaming games/ Irresponsability: The No Value once said, I just sign the contract. I was told to sign the contract~!! A contract/agreement is your responsability whenever you have sign it.

Its normal for the Umnos to deny they are racist and anything bad. Because they dont have the brains to differenciat good and bad.
written by KopiO, March 25, 2008 09:27:43
It is the Sultan of Selangor who insisted on the make-up of the state EXCO to reflect the racial composition of the population, not the rakyat. In this case, the Sultan has missed the opportunity to facilitate change amongst his subjects.
written by bumi non malay, March 25, 2008 10:15:14
On the issues of forming government QUICK ... I agree!!

However MT is becoming a PKR/PAS alter-ego in the making. Form quick GOV as long as PKR/PAS co-operation is evident and dominated by the supremist!!....in the mean time DHIMMI DAP are the culprit that require change, accept songkok and compromise, compromise, yellow card to the point of throwing away their DIGNITY.

The editors in MT also share the same mantra....promote the one track ideology for change and Obliterate other opinions. Editors of MT is the same as those UMNO Lackeys (ala Jeanne Danker) of Agong/Sultan Palace using their SERVANT STATUS to speak on behalf of Agong/Sultan. They are becoming Editor NAZI (from the Seinfield Soup Nazi show). smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif

The Loser in Selangor and Perak have been DAP....but never mind in time we will dig up the MB past....they are not teflon either. We will shift the focus on Opposition MB Character after we have weaken/obliterated UMNO-BN further first. For a better Malaysia...true believers need to play Dhimmi role for a short time then rise up to defend Freedom of Religio, Freedom from Racism and Freedom of Press.

The Freedom of Religion is the ACHILESE HEEL of PAS and PKR........their People Declaration MANTRA will be tested in time.....Believe it!!

A Shaky Government that does not RESPECT the Freedom of Religion and Choice of Religion as Guranteed by Allah will need to be Obliterated too....regardless of which Party they are!!

.....we await PAS with 2/3 majority in Kelantan to Drop the Apostasy Law that conflict with People Declaration.
written by KopiO, March 25, 2008 10:30:56
Batsman,
The delay was caused by the decision of the Sultan on the racial composition of the EXCO, which prefers a Muslim-majority make-up. That preference has put the opposition in a tight spot to walk the line.
written by alan cheong, March 25, 2008 11:12:56
there needs be a way or degree of individuality to describe our diversity.

there is nothing racial nor biased or intolerant about saying one has so-and-so number of malay, indian, sikh, chinese, iban ,etc, friends. but, in time, we will get past this, but the diversity remains.

just as italianos, hispanics, coloured people, native americans are americans, so too, WE ARE MALAYSIANS.

can't have the rice without different dishes now, can we?
or just spaghetti without other orders?
get real and celebrate our unity AND diversity.
written by densemy, March 25, 2008 11:19:24
Inspirasi.. I couldnt agree with you more. The Ugly Malaysian is indeed very ugly. Their whole concept of themselves as a hospitable friendly people is a delusional myth left over from the days when they lived a subsistence lifestyle in the kampongs. In fact their whole concept of Asian Values is another delusion and flies in the face of the real Malaysian

For the source of all these woes you need look no further than the way Malaysian children are reared/repressed... its no wonder they grow up to be inadequate
written by cheekhiaw, March 25, 2008 13:58:43
BAT'S EYE VIEW OF THE BIG PICTURE

The 3 parties agreed on their respective representations by the Sultan disagreed on the racial makeup, justified supposedly because of his consideration of the 'big picture' according to some quacks.

Some people think they are born with the right to be prejudicial while others cannot.

Others think they are born with the eye for big picture while others cannot.

Which category do we think quacks with bat eye sight would fall into?

written by wewant2change, March 25, 2008 16:20:22
'Non race base' in our beloved country can only achieve when all the application forms (regardless if it use in Govt office or private sector or any kind) remove out the fields like below examples:

"Race: [ ] malay [ ] chinese [ ] indian [ ] others"

"Religion:[ ] islam [ ] buddhist [ ] christian [ ] hinduism [ ] others "

"Status: [ ] bumiputra [ ] non-bumiputra
written by INSTINCT, March 26, 2008 00:39:00
To all Malaysians,

Are we heading to turn this country into a republic? or just Malaysian Malaysia? What do you all really want? Please respect the monarchy .... It has been there long time ago. It is the origin of civilisation. Do you all really want to take that out from the system. I wont.
written by Camillus, March 26, 2008 07:38:08
Bogeyman, you were right, and I, wrong. It would have been better to ignore these idiots - rather than engage them. I couldn't believe I stooped that low. Anyway, like I said, my bad. But I did learn something smilies/grin.gif

Certain posters here just cannot accept differing opinions. One person wrote, "Again in MT. If you go against the flow, you are cybertrooper. Confirmed! Same ol, same ol." How very telling! I believe many others can vouch for this.

According to some, there is "Ketuanan Melayu", but no such thing as "Ketuanan China" or "Ketuanan India". Well, I beg to differ. I could illustrate with a life experience, but given the excess of narrow minds here, I would be branded as being prejudiced (it is really tedious to respond to ****wits). Not that it matters - I am such! smilies/grin.gif After all, I am a "cybertrooper", enjoying the fruits of my labour. I am "of higher grade", as some posters put it! Well, if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys. If you do not want monkeys... smilies/grin.gif

Really, I am appalled at the sheer number of Malaysians that believe it's OK to mingle amongst one's own race. To do business amongst one's could race. Their justification - it is easier and more comfortable. Then, there is this statement that it's OK to make random statements if one perceives a race to be fairer - or not.

Singam, a lot of what you say makes sense. But the NEP was not the cause of racial problems in Malaysia. It definitely made things worse. There were already issues prior to 1970 - or the last 50 years for that matter. The "divide and rule" approach did contribute, but even this was not the problem. It was simply due to people not wanting to mix beyond their own kind, which brought about suspicions. Yes! The root cause is ignorance! The ones that did mix were few and far between. In fact, some aspects of the NEP can actually be construed as being good. One of the ideals of the NEP was to remove the stereo-typing of races based on the work they do. This is good. Saying that, the whole implementation of the NEP was a ****-up. (Sit back and watch how certain bloggers on here have a field day, misreading the above).

I read with interest on your take of defecting MPs - in droves at that! Has this happened before in Malaysian politics? Would the scourge not continue? As you will still have the same MPs (albeit in a different party)? Or can the leaders of the alternative front maintain order within ranks? Like the hassle-free appointing of chief ministers, etc.?

Labour parties the world over lean towards the left, i.e. socialism. Taxing and spending. On the flip side of the coin, you have parties that lean to the right. In Malaysia, all political parties run along racial lines - be it BN or BR. How can there be real progress if political parties within a coalition are so wary of each other? Political parties only want to perpetuate self-interest. They do this by seemingly doing what their supporters want. These supporters run along racial lines.

So there! Be it another 5 years or 50 years, Malaysian politics (and Malaysian life), will still run along racial lines. But the "rakyat" will be OK with this, as I believe the vast majority of Malaysians are still steeped in this way of thinking.
written by Camillus, March 26, 2008 14:33:45
Morning Batsman,

A poster commented, "Again in MT. If you go against the flow, you are cybertrooper. Confirmed! Same ol, same ol."

Does this not not say something? Peruse this thread from the start - you will come across posts that indicate frustration with BR for infighting so early on. We have come to expect this from BN. But BR??? You want a simple example? Chief Minister/representative issues in Terengganu, Selangor, Perak, Perlis, etc. What does that say? It says that both BN and BR components put themselves first - rather than the "rakyat"!!! There is a saying, "Everyone makes mistakes, but a fool insists on repeating them" - take it anyway you want.

People remember mistakes - not so much successes (with the possibe exception of sport). This is why, bad news... well... make it as news - much more often! Reputation is the cornerstone of success! Not internal bitching. Why am I annoyed? 'Cos DAP-PKR-PAS are making fools of themselves. I expected them to have thrown away the PKR-DAP-PAS tag by now - with their MPs calling themselves BR MPs. Food for thought, eh? And it started real good as well, with Lim E.G. declaring an end to NEP and all...

How can BR accept defecting BN MPs (if at all true) ? Are there no principles? Why are these BN MPs defecting (if at all true) ? 'Cos they have seen the light? Bollocks! It is because they want to protect their positions of power! Are you willing to compromise your principles - and to that extent?

Now, if I were to flip the coin over, can I not say that you are working in BR's interest? For free or otherwise? Can I not then make you out to be a "BR cybertrooper"?

You are right! I am not smart. I am a ****ing genius!!!

As for Milo, I am going to take Bogeyman's advice and ignore him.

P.S.
I accept your apology. I also salute you. It takes a big man to a). realise his mistake b). acknowledge the mistake c). apologise for the mistake d). and try to make amends for the mistake. A real shame that it did not rub off... what's his face? Oh yeah, Milo.
written by batsman, March 26, 2008 14:55:44
Camillus - Calling me a BR cybertrooper is an honour indeed. TQ, although I am not sure DAP, PAS and PKR would honour me similarly.

However, I go back to my contention that working for UMNO for free is even worse than being a paid Azalina cybertrooper. At least with Azalina cybertroopers, we can see the enemy and treat them as such. Your way, we don;t know how to treat you - as a friend or an enemy? Meanwhile your big mouth creates all sorts of damage and throws a spanner in the works of the struggle for democracy.

This struggle is not easy. Often it is difficult to distinguish friend from foe. UMNOs legacy of divide to rule has left deep imprints among Malaysians. I urge you all to find common struggles to combat corruption, abuse of power, crime and nepotism. Somewhere along these struggles, there will be connections to racism and these must be dealt with in due time, but find common cause for building rapport and trust first - then only tackle racism.
written by Camillus, March 26, 2008 15:54:43
Batsman,

You're most welcome.

That's so easy! Since UMNO is your enemy, then all who work for them (paid or otherwise) ought to be your enemy. Since you think of me as such, should I not be classified as your enemy as well? Si' o no? Unless you rectify further mistakes? In that I have nothing to do do with "UMNO", etc.? And that I stand for independent and critical thinking?

Now, why the change in the profound use of the abbreviation, "UMNO"? Where did "BN" go to? Why about "MIC" or "MCA"? Or even "Gerakan"?

That, in essence, is what you are all about. Inconsistency, Intolerance and all the "Ins..." and "Nons...", really! Another simple example - I posed questions, and you jumped to conclusions.

I respect you for your opinions, in the tenets of "Agree to Disagree". As such, my opinions are:

Both you and Milo have "big mouths" - that promote thinking along the lines of race, narrow-mindedness and intolerance.

You lack tolerance for - and acceptance of - choice - in every sense of the word. No choice for opinions, etc. Talk about narrow-mindedness! Is this democratic? If yes, then can I say that you are no better campared with UMNO? As you readily admit to serve BR, can I aso conclude that as you represent BR, they are none the better?

You are a hypocrite. You say one thing, then say another thing in total contradiction.

I, on the other hand, have been very consistent in what I say. And I am equally prejudiced to all smilies/grin.gif Hahaha...

Have a nice day!

P.S.
On the contrary, I felt insulted that you called me a "cybertrooper". Your apology went a long way though...
written by nonpartisan73, March 26, 2008 16:43:49
At last, the true nature of 'ugly malaysian' come out.

Man, if some of these posters are really really representing/supporting BR, i regret voting. I just hate Pak Lah, like lots of protest voters, doesnt mean we are all for BR, yet. Damn man. Chill!
written by batsman, March 26, 2008 20:02:18
Camillus - Alas, you reject even a gesture to give you the benefit of the doubt. Enemies it shall be then.
written by batsman, March 26, 2008 20:25:23
nonpartisan73 - may I probe a little deeper with a few questions? After you voted for the BR what did you expect? That the situation will automatically improve itself? That BN will realise its mistakes and rule with greater wisdom? If it is not too much to ask, could you enlighten me please?
written by Camillus, March 26, 2008 21:38:15
What gesture?
written by bogeyman, March 26, 2008 23:40:25
Dear dear Camillus,

I didn't tell you to ignore buttsman and his pet dog, Milo 'O'. I mean't only myself. You were doing a heck of a job amusing the rest of us, crapping on their pseudo-intellectualism and exposing their inconsistent hypocrisy ( with a good sprinkling of flowery language to add oomph!)

The more they say, the more they lose their credibility. In fact, they are only creating a reverse effect of their so called noble intentions. Of course they were too engrossed in their own self-glorification to realise that.
See posting:
As written by nonpartisan73, March 26, 2008 | 16:43:49

At last, the true nature of 'ugly malaysian' come out.

Man, if some of these posters are really really representing/supporting BR, i regret voting. I just hate Pak Lah, like lots of protest voters, doesnt mean we are all for BR, yet. Damn man. Chill!

Even those simple few lines by nonpartisan73 alone carried more weight that all the combined postings by those 2 nitwits.

Incase you haven't realised by now, you were trying to engage 2 very insecure, self centred adult-wannabes with overblown egos(isn't that an oxy-moron? with emphasis on MORON smilies/grin.gif) in proper debate. Children should be seen and not heard. And they are all noise, no substance.

How do we know that they are just kids? For the sake of the other readers, here are just some of their giveaways:

The frequent use of the words like 'cybertroopers'. (No adult would use that word for fear of embarrasement).

Incoherent postings to impress others eg. DEFEND THE MIDDLE GROUND. (Doesn't that sound like some computer game?)

Buttsman's obsession with masturbation,( and he couldn't even spell it right.)

Milo's obsession with breasts. ( Say no more)

Milo plagiarising the web for the definition of 'racism' to impress us.

Their obsession with Azalina. (Obviously they have no experience with women b4.)

Their obsession with espionage. (That's one of my favorites smilies/grin.gif)

Them 2 monkeys jumping up and down like they have chillies up their arses upon reading this post.(That's another one of my favorites smilies/grin.gif)

So there you go.... I shall catch up with you later on with some of the things you brought up..which were spot on. For someone who is residing outside of this country, you put many of our countrymen to shame for being more grounded and informed of the goings on in Malaysia.... and I don't mean those to chimps alone. smilies/grin.gif
written by bogeyman, March 26, 2008 23:48:22
Camillus,

Know why I say I'm ignoring them? There are many ways to spank the monkeys. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif (wink* wink*)
written by Milo, March 27, 2008 03:20:30
Hi batsman, my friend, good analysis! We and the rest (excluding the two nut cases, of course) will find ways to contribute.smilies/wink.gif

And this prick camillus new found partner, really a bogeyman to boot. Don't remember writing about him, looks like he felt left out and is lusting for some respond. Just to 'impress' them, a quick quote from the dict: Definition of bogeyman: "An imaginary monster used to frighten children." hahahaha, no wonder! It is all in our mind he exist!

batsman, these guys are send down from heaven to build our writing dexterity and mental creativity - and of course, for fun too. Plenty of spare time in between running my business. They will be my daily tim sum when I am relaxing having tea break.

Just for some stats, care to take a check on the postings of these two pricks? I can hardly find one posting with no names calling, especially this UK stooge - ALL negative to boot! All with venom, even if they are only imaginary. Also full of contridictions, plenty of teaching grandmother to suck eggs stuff, but probably too blind to see so himself. Telling indeed! Must be their upbringing or some mutation in their genes. No cure yet for reverse evolution syndrome, so sorry...for them.
written by Milo, March 27, 2008 03:31:01
This Camel "Camillus" fella said:.. Now, why the change in the profound use of the abbreviation, "UMNO"? Where did "BN" go to? Why about "MIC" or "MCA"? Or even "Gerakan"?
----------------------------

batsman, what this guy need is an education. He didn't know MIC & MCA and in particular the redunant Gerackan are merely imaginary partners in the BN. And he is debating with adults! What a joke! Only the retarded imaginary monster bogeyman is fit to be his bedmate.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Milo, March 27, 2008 03:38:53
Which cybertrooper will admit he is one....except the dumb ones. Keep denying you are one of them, camel, opp! camillus, we are not ashame to continue calling you what you are!
written by nonpartisan73, March 27, 2008 04:15:24
batman,
i just voted AGAINST the government. If you put a carpet against the Government, i would vote for the carpet.
written by batsman, March 27, 2008 10:22:02
Friend Milo - one of the reasons why I offered a gesture to "camel toes" is that I do not like exchanging profanities. Doesn't mean i don't do it. But these guys are experts in profanities. As Bogeyman correctly pointed out - I can't even spell masturbation correctly. It is like engaging UMNO in racial mud slanging. Further, what they spout is just a diarrhea of words and a constipation of thought. Forgive me my friend, but I have already shown what these two creatures from the nether depths of Azalina's "camel toes" are like. I can't stop them from spouting more vicious bile, therefore I do not choose to do further battle this time round.

However I do not forget my enemies (or my friends). I will choose the time and place for the next battle. Best wishes to you, friend Milo
written by Camillus, March 27, 2008 16:27:18
.....however I do not forget my enemies (or my friends). I will choose the time and place for the next battle.....

Hmmm... I, on the other hand, forgive and forget all who have wronged me - or not. I accepted your apology. I have forgiven you.

Bogeyman, pleas read the post above this. Can you make out the gist?

BTW, the mobile number and e-mail address I gave in a previous post are actually valid. We can catch up in that manner.

Till then,
C
written by Milo, March 27, 2008 20:57:09
Dear batsman, Your approach is of course the correct approach under most circumstances. But, this camel here is not only showing his art of profanities in this thread, but also in others, mind you, in nearly every single of his postings! His genious of a spin is "profanities" = "alternative views". So those who oppose their profanities are equal to opposing alternative views! What a spin doctor!

If you read my past postings, you would find I enjoy reasoning debates. However, I am also more than willing to engage any animal using their methods. I am here with you, friend, so as to show no one need to fight alone if attacked senselessly.

Appologizing to animals to keep them at bay is not effective. As the above post shows, they will take it as a chance to show how forgiving he is; he is the tuan and you the small man. And, he is so 'perfect' only others must appologise, not him. haha, what an egoistic & cocky prick! That this makes him a hypocrite and a time waster here are of no concern. So I choice to oblige as I have plenty of spare time in between work, being on leave for two months to work on my pet business project. Let his keep us entertain - even if we choose not to response further.
written by Camillus, March 28, 2008 02:56:35
This milo ais is the batu api lar. I think he is a little boy just trying to make problem.
written by Camillus, March 28, 2008 04:01:05
I miss Malaysian nuances - hehe. "lar" and "lor" and "mah", etc.
written by batsman, March 28, 2008 12:31:52
Milo - Thx friend. Cameltoes is now very lonely with no one to play with in his filthy cesspool. He is blankly staring into space unable to understand my last posting.

Vampiress - explain to cameltoes lar! heeheehee
written by nonpartisan73, March 28, 2008 14:45:46
written by batsman, March 27, 2008 | 10:10:15
nonpartisan73 - great! Now that you have vented your anger, time to think about a greater role for the BR. Will it just be used as a "carpet" forever? Or does it have something positive to contribute?

---------------------------

Dude, greater role for the BR? Bohoo.

As i said, i just voted AGAINST the Government doesnt mean i like BR or anythg. Don't twist it by saying i support BR just because i didnt vote for the Government.

I dont really expect anythg from BR especially from ex-BN members. Lesson learnt!.

written by batsman, March 28, 2008 20:38:28
nonpartisan73 - You are beginning to sound like a broken record. You an anarchist or something? Or just a closet BN supporter who got cheesed off and now hoping that BN learns its lesson and starts to make a comeback?
written by batsman, March 28, 2008 20:39:49
Vampiress - Great effort! Hope you didn't tear a muscle in the brain for the effort.
written by Milo, March 28, 2008 21:52:21
written by Camillus, March 28, 2008 | 02:56:35
This milo ais is the batu api lar. I think he is a little boy just trying to make problem.

Thanks Camel, for acknowledging I am a young human being, not your kind.
written by Milo, March 28, 2008 21:56:02
written by batsman, March 28, 2008 | 12:31:52
Milo - Thx friend. Cameltoes is now very lonely with no one to play with in his filthy cesspool. He is blankly staring into space unable to understand my last posting.
------------------------------

More like he is stranded in desert drying up in the sun. Wonder how does dry camel meat taste? mmm....a source of protein, too...
written by Milo, March 28, 2008 22:01:43
nonpartisan73, Thanks for voting the opposition. Even though, you also don't like the BR,your vote sitll counted in the fight against corruption and unfairness. You helped in the creation of hope for the country. That's the more important point!
written by bogeyman, March 28, 2008 22:09:23
Hi Camillus,

Sorry for not replying sooner. I was allowing some time for those two Bozos, Batsman aka Buttface and his faithful pooch Milo Tin Kosong (all noise but empty contents)destroy whatever credibility that they may have all by themselves.

Like I said b4, I have disengaged in any attempt to reason with those two little boys. I just let them self-destruct.

But since you asked, I haven't got the foggiest idea what the **** he was babbling about. It was pure nonsensity.

It's useless attempting to reason with them that what they are trying to do is backfiring on them. They accuse you of being a well paid spy hired by Azalina without realising that they are the ones who are turning off everyone else who have voted for change. Read the recent posts lately?. So who're the ones that are working for UMNO for free ?? I rest my case.

They should leave the job to the adults, not irresponsible, attention-seeking blogger wannabes of what's right or wrong.

While I'm at it, let me add to the list of giveaways from my last posting:
Buttface's pleading in one of his posts:
Please note that there is not a single profanity in all of the above. I don’t need to sink to the level of Camillus or Bogeyman to get my message across.
(Isn't that adorable? smilies/wink.gif, that's a pathetic attempt for self-praise and reassurance that no adult would do)
Milo T. Kosong's not so sublime attempt to drop hints a few times about running his own business, right after I've unmasked them for what they are in my last posting. B4 that, he was telling you he just finished night shift when you asked him of his bedwetting habit. He could at least be a little consistent with his lies. He has no idea who he's dealing with. Is the Bogeyman imaginary? BOO! Bet you his wetting his pants now.
They are ignorant of a particular poster's gender. Very typical of little boys with short attention span. I'm not giving anything away here. Let them crack their thick coconut heads figuring this one out.

There's plenty more, but I think that's enough evidence. Even if I'm wrong about them (which I know I'm not), they should be doubly ashamed of themselves for behaving like petulant brats.

BTW, did I see an attempt at some sort of a truce between you and Buttface? I think hardliners like DAP and PAS have been more successful with each other. smilies/grin.gif

Till then, I'll elaborate about vernacular schools at another time, when things are little more settled. I see another political storm in April, a bigger one.

Cheers

written by Milo, March 28, 2008 23:31:43
written by bogeyman,
Hi Camillus,
Sorry for not replying sooner....

Too late! Too late to say sorry! Your camel friend is dried meat in the desert.

Hi batsman, looks like bogeyman is 'right', we 'don't matter'. What is puzzling is why does this bogeyman needs to write a thesis to explain why we don't matter. Any interesting idea? Oh, I forgot, he is a bogeyman (I nearly spelt his name pu*iman), hahaha, an imaginary monster whose main job is to frighten little children. No wonder! hahaha! smilies/grin.gifsmilies/grin.gifsmilies/grin.gif. That's what you get when you mixed an imaginary monster with a camel - an altered view of the world where sand dunes reign and imagination run wild.
written by Milo, March 28, 2008 23:40:54
And oh yes, my imaginary friend. My work does require night shifts, I am dealing with people in another time zone, like your camel friend from UK who just died in the desert. So sad someone from the twilight zone would understand. smilies/angry.gif
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 00:00:17
bogeyman said: They accuse you of being a well paid spy hired by Azalina without realising that they are the ones who are turning off everyone else who have voted for change.

Yes, deny! Deny! and more denials! Still we know both of you are cyperspies here to spread discontent. If not, why need to deny so hard. We trashed you good, didn't we? hahaha! smilies/grin.gif. btw, don't imagine you voted for change, you didn't. From all your postings, we know you are only imagining things. But its alright, that's your job as a bogeyman!
written by Camillus, March 29, 2008 00:08:38
Bogeyman,

I've seen the rantings of these idiots. Our very own 'resident twin apes'.

There's more at stake though. Need to go and catch a flight back home, will write more when at the lounge. Annoyed with Raja Petra for his irresponsible call to boycott though.

P.S. Vampiress, apologies for any misunderstanding. I was laughing 'with' you. I like your summary of batsman's post - makes sense.
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 00:48:06
Camel-ius! You are resurrected from the death! Or was it my imagination? Or your ghost? Good, now we can have more fun! Imagine dueling with a ghost and a bogeyman, and possibly a vempiress (in the process of being recruited), one can't ask for more, as an in-between fun break while we discuss serious matter.

Camillus: Annoyed with Raja Petra for his irresponsible call to boycott though.

Why? Does the boycott affects your profits? Was Azlina angry with you for your failure here? Oh, you can expect more to come from RPK. And the majority of those who posted here will support his call.
written by nonpartisan73, March 29, 2008 01:25:38
written by batsman, March 28, 2008 | 20:38:28
nonpartisan73 - You are beginning to sound like a broken record. You an anarchist or something? Or just a closet BN supporter who got cheesed off and now hoping that BN learns its lesson and starts to make a comeback?

--------------------

haha, typical. This article is true to the core. Broken record la, 'closeted' BN supporter la. Very soon, im a cybertrooper apparently. Some people just dont understand the word 'against' and 'support'. Pity. Btw, no one should justify why/what/who they support. Independent thinking and democracy dude.

Milo, no need to thank me. what i did was simple, (broken record again just for further clarification, might sound like a remix by PM Dawn) i just did NOT vote for the Government.
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 02:16:20
'typical' is the new 'catch word'. Whenever your posting gave an impression of you to others who responded accordingly, just say 'typical'. It is a great defence which gives the impression the other guy or group of people is wrong about you. So everyone, just adopt the word 'typical' as your new defence weapon. It has been used 'typically' by a camel, an imaginary person, and now by a broken record.

nonpartisan73, no need to reject my thanks. Just as you "just did not vote for the government", I merely just "thank you for the vote." Your intention have no bearing. You do not like the BR does not matter. What I did was also that simple.
written by Vampiress, March 29, 2008 06:38:13
Aiyahh! Supporter of the racist pig is the worse one. Milo, u r STUPID racist pig izzit? Like the buta man following the buta man.

camillus, no porblem. I think I understand. Oledi read fromm the start, these two r idiot, rite?

Lucky I no vote. BR BN same same one lor
written by batsman, March 29, 2008 09:30:26
Dear Milo - Looks like the cybertroopers are now working in teams of four. "Pontianak sundal" and "secret BN supporter" just joined in the fray. This is really advanced hi-tech. Not enough to have each cybertrooper working alone, but now they gang up in teams of 4. Milo my friend - looks like we are outnumbered. heeheehee!
written by batsman, March 29, 2008 09:34:10
Milo - their tactics are clear - they use "good cop bad cop" strategy. Bogeyman and Cameltoe work as aggressive attackers, while pontianak sundal and secret BN supporter work as passive supporters pretending to be non-partisan. Their work is more insidious and is intended to cause regret and second thoughts among those who voted for the BR.

We have to watch out step and not give them excuses to slam the BR.
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 12:12:56
batsman, yeap! I noticed. Great mind thinks alike; these fools do not differ. They even try to speak in arrangements that are designed to win sympathy from audience in MT in their favour. They do this by teaming up and trying to give impressions that it is the general readers (actually only their team) see us as silly, as each seems unconnected.

Their new operatives are 'atypical' that include winning the host over (to win RPK loyalists over), catch phrases (like 'typical' to kill off suspicion when their identity are discovered), talking like 'chinamen' to hide their true professional background (giving the illusion that it is the common folks in the street that are against us, and thus the BR), use of complex-equivalence (like profanities = alternative views to try cut off opponents' attacks and make them look silly), mixed message (a mixed of high grade neutral arguements that make them looks quality stuff and 'plants' of dissenting views against the BR in-between, to try impress on the readers their anti-BR's concerns are genuine and it is their opponents who are unreasonable), pit the races against each others branding you a racist, like what vampiress just did) etc. are some of the give aways! The general direction of pursuasion is the same, subtly anti-BR. They may start with divergent views among themselves, and then start to converge slowly. Their multiple aims is to sway those more naive readers (which they can get some anyway), confuse the better ones and slam out the die hards. Using the above 'detection guidelines' anyone can smell their odor a mile away. Trust them to start calling us conspiracy theorists in a while to try discredit us. Waiting!

Team of 4 or 10, nevermind, in the cyberworld, there are no two-third majority here. Like they say, the majority can even elect the government, they cannot elect the truth! They could be operating on several names per person to cut cost as budget is getting low. smilies/grin.gifsmilies/grin.gif.

Anyway, our "truth" team BR is winning big in many departments in the real world. That's what counts! Our MBs are getting to the ground and winning people over. We are only here to neutralise these Azlina's hired-hands' influence. Btw, they should be retermed 'cyberspies'; their manoeuvres are too sneaky for the word 'cybertrooper'. We are in fact the BR voluntary cybertroopers!
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 12:31:54
Their constant use of "profanities" and "name-calling" have several uses: 1. To make them looks "natural" and "no hold bar" type like RPK. 2. To get opponents to react and lose credibility in the BR supporters' eyes (since they have nothing to lose) 3. Stigmatise you to a negative brand. That's why they use profanities so often.
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 12:32:53
SORRY, "No holds barred"
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 12:43:36
If they are really cyberspies, we defend the BR. If they are genuine MT readers who are merely anti-BR, we also defend. So, in essence, it makes no difference who they really are, as the impact of their writings are the same - will erode confidence in the BR. And we defend the BR not because they are perfect, but because they are our new hope. The BN had their chance, and they breached the rakyat's confidence. Even if they turn over a new leaf (which is unlikely and difficult), the BR should be supported for working their way to where they are now after so many years where their leaders suffered along side the rakyats. they simply deserve a chance to serve. That's the big picture!
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 12:59:38
Vampiress's task (if he/she is not just another name of the same person - camilus himself - from the interplay)seems to be to pit one race against another. It is obvious in the way he interpretes your recommendations and emphasize them. to pit the malsy against the chinese.
written by inspirasi, March 29, 2008 15:44:10
wow..this is real life FREEDOM OF SPEECH...where one rakyat can say whatever he/she likes about another...that is indeed progress!!!!

is this what us rakyat have voted for?

with FREEDOM OF SPEECH...comes responsibility...and accountability

spouting unreasoned thoughts...resorting to personality assasination..harping on the same old stuff...is in my mind irresponsible...

FREEDOM OF SPEECH...is a rare priviledge not enjoyed by millions around the world becos of their suppressive governmental bullying...and those who DO enjoy it...need to use it wisely

slanging matches between so called adults is a waste of time and energy...

at this time of hope and change in our deprived nation...what we need is positive dialogue...one with another...exchanging ideas...and putting into action what is good for the country...

so come on CHILDREN...stop the sniping...and worthless accusations and name calling...theres work to do...

or GO TO YOUR ROOM...and only come out when u guys know how to behave yourselves!!!!

signed..parent
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 17:19:29
Brilliant advice inspirasi! Stop the names calling and personality assasination(like calling others CHILDREN) and put forth some positive dialogues (looking forward to yours, we are trying hard to rid those who are interrupting useful debates and calling others to "GO TO YOUR ROOM"). Lastly, do behave responsibly and be accountable (do not fake as other's parent.

Now come out of your computer room, and start studying for your SPM!

Sign
Your Mother
written by inspirasi, March 29, 2008 20:35:13
milo...u call the last entries 'useful debate'

please!!!!

i must admit i did read some of the earlier ones...but after a while...it was macam broken record...same old stuff...name calling...accusations..nothing there to help move this country forward...

what i was trying to do..was to 'knock your heads together'...an old saying...ie. bring some sense to the children who have been indulging in that childish playground tit-4-tat activity...

grow up guys....theres work to do...
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 21:41:26
inspirasi, you have to learn the difference between 'useful debate' and 'response for other purpose'. You only debate and reason with people who WANT a useful debate. If they are here to disrupt by starting names calling and profanities, what they need is not a debate, but an appropriate response. Anyone who start that should expect a response.
It is like your case, start and end with names calling (children, childish, etc.) and no substance of any debate in between. Why can't you just ask for some order, rather than be a party to the very thing you demand others not to do? While you demand others not to do something, first, walk the talk. Then people will respect your views. Do not be the type of street advisers who can see the mole hill in others and can't see the mountain in your own backyard.If you feel it is a waste of time and childish, why are you responding and be equally childish? Yes, grow up...and stop unnecessary interuption of the work-in-progress...
written by batsman, March 29, 2008 22:31:28
Wow, working in relays this time. Another one turns up! Azalina must be spending big bucks for these clowns!
written by batsman, March 29, 2008 22:32:40
Dear Milo - suggest not to waste anymore time here and confront these arseholes in more current topics. Cheers!
written by Milo, March 29, 2008 22:43:00
batsman, agree. Already in other threads.