Home arrow Special Reports arrow Allah or Yahve did not die on the cross

Allah or Yahve did not die on the cross PDF Print
Sunday, 30 December 2007 10:38

Written by Kazi Mahmood

World Futures

In Mauritius, where I come from, a teacher accused the Muslims of being terrorists. This is a first in the peaceful country. The teacher, a Chinese lady, said to my nephew Ishtiak (his name) that terrorism was written on the faces of all Muslims. This caused an outcry and the end of the story came when the teacher had to apologize in public over her remarks.

The recent wave of protest amid the banning of the controversial use of the word ‘Allah’ in a Christian publication in Malaysia raises several pertinent questions. First of all, why the use of the word Allah in a publication that would definitely associate the Creator to a ‘son of God’ and the holy trinity when Allah Himself rejects this concept?

The Malaysian government has simply banned the publication from using the world Allah and this has raised the ire and anger of the Church and of news editors and bloggers who are struggling for ‘freedom of expression’ in the country. There was a thin line between total freedom of expression and the possible anger of Muslims against the publication. Had this issue gone out of hand, there could have been further divide between the ethnic groups and their religious beliefs.

While it is true to say that the Christians (many church leaders and bloggers stated so) had the right to use the word Allah, the truth is far from this reality however. I lived with a Christian family when I first came to Malaysia some 15 years ago. The members of the family, to whom I salute my reverence and gratitude until today, were never offensive towards Islam. They never used the word Allah when they spoke about ‘God’ and they never suggested anything that could disturb the religious belief of their guests. They had more than one guest at a time living with them in their rented home in Gombak.

written by Malaysiaputra, December 30, 2007 15:10:06
You see, Kazi, the Fernandez did not use the term Allah because they did not use the Bahasa version of the Bible. Besides, long before you were around, the Arab Christians were already using the term Allah but that is not the point. The point is why should the govt of Umno determine how the Christians call their God in Bahasa ?. Also why should the Muslims be so sensitive ? moreover the Christian publications are not meant for Muslims to read .

What actuall are the Muslims afraid of when the Christians use the same term Allah ?.
written by Vikram, December 30, 2007 15:55:03
Kazi - No one is attempting to offend you or the Malaysian muslims. What is at question here is the term ALLAH actually stands for. If it stands for GOD in Arabic, then any language should be free to use that term in reference to the almighty.

Indonesian Muslims are far more advanced in their thought process. The term Allah can be used to refer the almighty and muslims are allowed to convert. The BN government is just making use of all these issues for political advantage.
written by Malaysiaputra, December 30, 2007 22:02:28
ALi Cordoba, since the Muslims do not believe that Allah has a son and that the Christian does, there should be no confusion at all if a Muslim were to chance upon such article. Moreover, Christian articles will refer to Jesus as Yesus Kristus, and not Nabi Isa as the Muslims do, so how can a Muslim be confused ?.

As you have read in other posting , the word Allah has been used for a long long time in the BM edition of the Bible.

To say that the Christian's use of the word Allah can confuse the Muslims is unfounded.
written by dassky2000, December 30, 2007 22:26:39
Even the sikh's use the allah to describe god. What so big deal?
written by temanmu, December 30, 2007 23:03:50
Why don't we look at it the opposite way?

If UMNO is afraid that Muslims will be converted to Christianity by the word Allah, won't the Christians using the word Allah be tempted into becoming Islam too?

It works both ways!

written by monstercat, December 30, 2007 23:13:13
written by kzso, December 30, 2007 | 18:55:19
Vikram,

The Indonesian over there believes that the Christians in Indonesia are "ahli kitab" but sad to say that not all Christians are "ahli kitab" nowadays.

The Moeslem believes in four books ie Taurat, Zabur, Injil and Quran. The Injil is the "old testament" not the modified one. Please listen and view Ahmad Deedat's VCDs about The Bible; Bible and Al-Quran; Is Jesus God and many more.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why do you think the Bible was modified? I’m prepared for the answer. And that Ahmad Deedat – sorry! You are blinded to believe in his rhetoric – he mentioned something about Jesus not recognising people calling him Jesus because He only knew His name to be Isa. So why on earth should the Christian changed the names? Well, Deedat, my GOD IS UNIVERSAL! My God understands whatever language I use, even when I do not speak, I just thought it out in my heart, my God knows!!!!

And kzso, sad to say the Muslims in Malaysia are adopting Arab cultures and thought those are Islamic. The Malay culture is fast eroding to make way for the Taliban turban, the long robe, soon the women would wear hijab, oh sorry that one is Islamic. This Deedat and most Islamic scholars are very good at speeches and very charismatic. They can recall and recite many verses in the Quran to proof a point. But when you check those verses, there weren’t any concrete proof to make his point stick. Who has the time to check out 20 verses he mentioned during a debate????

You are taught that the Christians are frauds. Well, the old testament did say that there will not be another prophet after Christ, and any others that claim so are false prophets. So you based your truths on the Quran, the Christians based their truths on the old and new testaments. So be it! You do not have to be condescending towards them. If you are, expect to receive the same!
written by Bukit Chandan, December 31, 2007 13:54:03

Lately, we are seeing that the Government of Malaysia is trying to frighten her citizens. Islam does not preach to make a human being be frightened of another human being. Islam preaches that a human being should be frightened of Allah s.w.t. only. In that way, a Muslim will not do wrongful deeds. We believe that all other religions also have this universal concept. So, we strongly urge the Government of Malaysia to immediately stop frightening the people.

From time to time, we will publish our C-List. Today, the following is the latest list:

No. Name Role Date Logged
----------------------------------------
1. Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar UMNO 21-Nov-07
2. Musa Hassan IGP of RMP 21-Nov-07
3. Ahmad Said Hamdan DG of ACA 21-Nov-07
4. Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman Chairman of EC 21-Nov-07
5. Noor Hisham Yusoh UMNO 21-Nov-07
6. Wan Mohd Safiain Wan Hasan UMNO 22-Nov-07
7. Mohd Johari Baharum Deputy Minister of Internal Security 22-Nov-07
8. Zakaria Md Deros UMNO22-Nov-07
9. Mohd Khir Toyo MB of Selangor 22-Nov-07
10. Khalil Yaakob MB of Pahang 22-Nov-07
11. Osu Sukam PBS 22-Nov-07
12. VK Lingam Lawyer 22-Nov-07
13. Musa Aman CM of Sabah 22-Nov-07
14. Ramli Yusoff Director of CCD RMP 23-Nov-07
15. Abdul Taib Mahmud CM of Sarawak 23-Nov-07
16. Vincent Tan Gambling Kingpin 27-Nov-07
17. Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor Minister of Tourism 27-Nov-07
18. Chong Kah Kiat Ex-CM of Sabah 19-Dec-07
19. BK Tan Organized Crime Syndicate 23-Dec-07
20. CP Goh Organized Crime Syndicate 23-Dec-07
21. Abdul Ghani Patail Attorney General 23-Dec-07
22. Christopher Wan Soo Kee Director of CID RMP 23-Dec-07
23. Kalimullah Hassan Advisor of PM 28-Dec-07
24. Zaki Azmi Advisor of PM 28-Dec-07
25. Omar Ong Advisor of PM 28-Dec-07
26. Norza Zakaria Advisor of PM 28-Dec-07
27. Rafidah Aziz Minister of International Trade and Industry 31-Dec-07
29. Azalina Othman Minister of Youth & Sports 31-Dec-07
30. Mahathir Mohamad Ex-PM of Malaysia 31-Dec-07

Best Regards.........
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by Petaling, January 01, 2008 01:55:26
The point made by "monstercat" in the last paragraph must be taken as a counter-argument for a more rational Islamic opinion in this matter. If Christians were to assert their belief that their God is the Almighty and that all others after Jesus are false prophets, then how would YOU, the Muslim critics respond? What if the Christian response is as violent as what we have seen in many well publicised situations? All hell will break loose, I believe. From history, we saw how politicians and Kings in Europe used Christianinty as a shield to persecute non-Christians. We saw how the practised Christianity was counter to what was in the book. Islam is at the same stage now in the world political arena. We can see that the moderate and rationale Islam that we saw brought the Middle East to their golden age has been replaced by a replay of the same mistakes committed by the Europeans of the Middle Ages... Just replace the word Christianity with Islam... and it all look the same.

It is time to move on for a better world. We are not asking Muslims to compromised their principles but just do not continue to allow yourselves to be manipulated by the puppeteers but live your lives answerable to Allah. You'll then be fine. Amen.
written by monstercat, January 01, 2008 04:48:28
Petaling, I agree with you. Religion should be a personal triumph, to each their own believe in their spiritual belief. I wouldn't want to live in an era where the priest dictates how we should live our lives. Yes the Christian believes such and such - so be it! The Muslims believe such and such - so be it! The Hindus and Buddhists believe such and such - so be it! Only curiosity towards another religion will one seek to know another. And should one discover such religion as the right path, by all means convert. And we should learn from history - priests or the holymen are not good in politics, neither are they good in interpersonal skills and many more. They do not know how to run a country, what more to say a country with various ethnic and religious make up. Disaster lah!!!!!

Oh by the way, happy new year everyone, YM Raja Petra and family and everyone at Malaysia Today.