12 proposals for parliamentary reform and modernization PDF Print
Friday, 21 March 2008 11:57

Lim Kit Siang

In 2004, I had made 12 proposals for parliamentary reform and modernization for Malaysia to have a "First World Parliament" not only in infrastructure, but mindset, culture, practices and performance.

These 12 proposals for First-World Parliament should be adopted as the parliamentary agenda of both the Barisan Nasional and the Opposition in the 12th Parliament when it convenes for its first meeting in May, viz:

1. live telecast of parliamentary proceedings;
2. daily two-hour question time;
3. Prime Minister's Question Time twice a week;
4. Opposition MP heading the Public Accounts Committee (PAC).
5. some 30 specialist Parliamentary Select Committees with a Select Committee for every Ministry;
6. about ten general Parliamentary Select Committees to produce annual reports on progress, trends and recommendations on national integrity, IT, women's agenda, environment, mass media, corruption, etc;
7. allocation of certain days a week specifically to deal with Opposition business;
8. research and constituency staffing for MPs.
9. an Opposition Deputy Speaker
10. modernization and democratization of Standing Orders
11. code of ethics for all MPs.
12. Ministers' Parliamentary code of conduct

The political tsunami of March 8, 2008 general election is an unmistakable mandate and demand for far-reaching changes in Malaysia after 50 years of nation-building, including the creation of a vibrant, vigorous and truly representative First-World Parliament.

At the meeting of PKR, PAS and DAP leaders in Kuala Lumpur on Tuesday night, I had proposed that PKR President Datin Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail be the Parliamentary Opposition Leader of the new Parliament until Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim regains his full civil liberties and is re-elected to Parliament, and the proposal was agreed by the leaders of the three parties.

DAP MPs and I will give full support to Azizah and the Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz who is now fully responsible for parliamentary affairs, to turn the Malaysian Parliament into a First-World Parliament ¡V as it is better to be late than never.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by Birdbrain, March 21, 2008 12:01:46
Don't worry, YB Kit, your wish will come true!

Very soon Barisan Nasional will be the Opposition in Parliament and that's when they will agree to your proposals.

Long Live Barisan Rakyat!
written by indianputra, March 21, 2008 13:49:26
LKS.. look man.. The current BN Government and the parlimentarians are NOT going to support you. These fellows are still living in the 'aura' of the previous Government. Pak Lah don't even understand the innersignificance of your 14 points.

But wait, there is always a silver lining in the dark clouds. My prediction is that within the next 3 months, you guys will be the Government and BN the opposition. Then you can implement thos 14 Parliment Commandments.. Isn't that a nice thought!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 21, 2008 14:02:12
13. Use English only in the parliament
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 21, 2008 14:05:15
14. 3 times absent = suspension
written by penang1, March 21, 2008 15:07:55
I am only half as smart as LKS. He got 12-items, I only have 6.

1. Please bring your own handkerchief. If you fall asleep in the parliament and you drool, please use your own handkerchief to wipe it off. Don't use your sleeves. Yucky !

2. Please set the alarm with your cellphone. Set the alarm before you go drooping in parliament, so you can wake up before the meeting is adjourned.

3. Try not to tie your necktie to tight. In case you want to quarrel, your tie may hinder your breathing. We don't want our parliamentarian die in our parliament. Banyak sooey, you know?

4. Please script your lies. We know you lie. The day you stop lying, the Sun rises from the West. But if you lie, please lie as if it's the truth. Don't lie like you are lying. In other words, if you want to lie, please script your lie in such a way that we can believe in your lie. Thank you !

5. Become Robbin Hood from time to time. We also know you curi duit. Who don't like duit, right? So you curi duit. But, please, learn from Zaid Ibrahim, you curi duit, sometime you give back a little, like Robbin Hood, you know?

6. Please have some humor. We know you think you are humorous, but you ain't. The Malaysian Parliament is world famous because of the "bocor" humor, the "you cacat because God punish you" humor, the "Cina babi" humor, and all that. We don't mind you try to be humorous, but please, be genuinely humorous. If you don't know how to be genuinely humorous, go to the Net, there are a lot of the Net sites with jokes, humors, puns, and all that. Copy some, by-heart if you need to, but if you feel that you need to impress us with your humor, do it in such a way that it is not offensive, okay?
written by wongnoball, March 21, 2008 17:10:37
Make sure you also pratise TRUE democracy in your own party also.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by batsman, March 22, 2008 08:47:18
Make it possible for the Agong to walk in anytime the parliament is in session and deliver a speech on whatever topic he wishes.