State land in Penang to be auctioned PDF Print
Thursday, 20 March 2008 09:18

By CHRISTINA CHIN

PENANG: To ensure transparency, the state government will call for auctions when alienating state-owned land. 

By holding a public auction and making the land alienation process public, a higher price can be obtained, said Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng. 

Land alienation is a big problem. Why is it that when the state alienates land, it is not made public? For example, there is a piece of land opposite my house which I do not know of but someone from Kuala Lumpur gets it. The people want to know.  

We want to make it public and do it on an auction basis so that we can get the best price and highest premiums,” he said in an interview, noting that many people were unhappy because past practices were “riddled with corruption and cronyism.” 

Lim said the only way to end this was through transparency and an open tender system. 

He said this also applied to state and council contracts.  

By putting it on the notice board and the Internet, the information will be accessible nationwide. We cannot completely eliminate abuse but we can reduce it.  

I believe every Penangite will support it. Some people question why the same faces are always getting contracts but with transparency, at least even if they don’t get it, they will be satisfied,” he said. 

He said it was reported that the Penang Bumiputra Petty Traders Association also supported an open tender policy for contracts and projects because they say: “Balik balik, dua tiga orang saja yang dapat” (the same people are always awarded the contracts). 

They question the point of giving out licences if they cannot even succeed in their bids,” Lim said. - STAR

written by Jivathma, March 20, 2008 09:29:09
WOW, so much of shit has been going around while BN was in power. But will anybody be held accountable and punished. I'm sure the list will be long. Good job Lim, keep smoking them out! Make Penang to become the role model state and that will keep UMNO/BN on their toes, 24/7..I'm sure it can be done.
written by loosecannon, March 20, 2008 09:33:32
Bright idea to auction all state land. In Sarawak particularly Kuching, high value state lands, some with colonial buildings on them while others are green lungs, have been alienated to ruling politicians and their families and cronies for conversion to commercial purpose. The total value is in the millions.
written by notsosmart, March 20, 2008 09:50:07
Integrity of the Penang gomen will be the benchmark for all other state gomen performance. All honest and country loving rakyat will have to monitor their respective state gomen closely. Exposed their wrong doing if found any. Let put the current gomen to shame for failing the rakyat. Today modern world belongs to its citizens. Show your responsibility for the country.

Though the battle is over and won, the reconstruction process need the fullest support of all rakyat. So, please show us your contribution and participation.

WELL DONE FELLOW MALAYSIAN. THANK YOU
written by ultraman, March 20, 2008 10:03:42
I hope Lim Guan Eng would reserve a certain percentage of contracts exclusively for the Malays and ceratin perecentage for Indians and the rest are open to all races including the Indians and Malays. In this way the Malays and Indians interests are taken care of. Otherwise you may have the same comments: "Hanya Cina saja yang dapat". Or it can be "Hanya Melayu saja yang dapat".

Yes, DAP has to be fair and seen to be fair. If you can shown these qualities to all, the next few states in Malaysia will definitely fall to PKR or DAP or PAS!!!
written by macanhitam, March 20, 2008 10:16:38
prove to penang malays and all, that you are indeed the CM for all races. Good move on the bonuses for KAFA teachers sir!
written by CPY, March 20, 2008 10:22:58
Wow, I don't really know what it means by alienation, but your idea of auctioning state land sounds good becos you may be able to sell at a high price. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Ben, March 20, 2008 11:42:07
Praise the Lord! You are just into your first week and another piece of good news. Please keep it up and inspire others to serve the Rakyat well. At this rate, your 100 days report must be a thick book of excellence. You are liquidating assets for the Rakyat, not line your own pocket. As your boss I am pleased. What a great difference!

Please get your Chief of Staff to document it well for all to see and buy as model of good governance.
written by temenggong, March 20, 2008 11:44:51
Guan Eng,

Open tender with minimum reserved price, and NOT auctions!

Auctions can be easily abused by colluding parties working to keep the prices low. Tenders should not require disclosure of ethnicities so that it truly remains unbiased! A 10% deposit by bank draft, no reselling within a period of 7 years, and a declaration that the buyer is a malaysian citizen, should be enough.

The state govt must always reserve the right to repossess if the land is not developed within a reasonable period of time. This prevents the creation of land banks and profiteering!
written by truejustice, March 20, 2008 12:03:35
Dear YAB Lim,

Its an open secret that tender is always awarded the day before its announced! Even if there's no tender and 3 quotation is possible, there will be abused cause the same company will prepare 3 quotes and still get the job. What must be reviewed is the amount required for quotation and tender. Most of the people involved in corrupt or bias practice are usually the tender committee, the head of dept, the engineer / technical person, procurement dept...imagine how much a person needs to feed in order to get the job!
Be brave and continue probing into how jobs are awarded and you will understand how the system works and how it benefited the same company over and over again...
written by Bill Gates, March 20, 2008 12:16:18
Good suggestion ultraman. The DAP-PKR-PAS should start to prove themselves as your actions are being watched. Good effort will result in more support for BR in the next election.
written by penang1, March 20, 2008 13:06:11

Already told you guys, lots of state land in Penang were illegally sold off by BN, particularly one exco from Gerakan has reportedly been making HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS over the years !

We wanted to catch the crook, but we had no proof. We were waiting for the chance to get the documents so that we can sue that crook. But, sigh, DAP let bn got off the hook by letting them removing all the documents.

With all the documentation gone, we can no longer catch the crook!

Thank you, Sdr. Guan Eng, thanks for your big help !

written by bayan, March 20, 2008 16:16:18
Kerajaan BR kena telus sekarang ,jangan amal macam orang orang dahulu . Hasrat kerajaan sekarang nak buat tender terbuka amat dialua-lukan , Jangan beri muka pada orang orang seperti Azhar membolot semua projek projek .