Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Shabery on bloggers, politics and the middle-class

Shabery on bloggers, politics and the middle-class PDF Print
Thursday, 20 March 2008 09:08

NEW Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek shares a few quick thoughts on his appointment and the general election results. 

Q: The Information Minister post is a contentious position. (Former information minister) Datuk Zainuddin Maidin had his hands full? 

A: I take it as a serious challenge that I have to bear. Information is always very important. Everybody wants to know what's happening in the country and what are the government policies, or how we are going to manage things that could easily be misunderstood by people. That is a challenge for me. 

Q: The new media has exploded. Are you going to engage the bloggers at all? 

A: Well, I wish I could see them. But I don't know how many there are. Bloggers can be local and global. They can be everywhere and they emerge every day. They are important. In this explosion of information technology, everywhere is the centre of information. And people are free to express what they think. There is the good and bad about that. I wish we can sit down and talk to them and think openly what's best for the country. That's the bottom line. 

Q: Your jump from parliamentary secretary to minister has been phenomenal. 

A: Politics is not like you need to sit for STPM or before that SPM, PMR or UPSR. It doesn't work that way.  

In politics, somebody can emerge from nothing. And somebody can almost become prime minister and then they are nothing after that. That's politics. Everything is temporary. What remains is your integrity and your good name. And that's the thing I think that our team is trying to promote this time.  

Q: Are you nervous at all about your appointment? 

A: Yesterday, yes I was. But today, I look around and there are people around me who share the same vision, the same ideas of what the Government and country should become. 

Q: Will the new Cabinet line-up inject new spirit into the Government? 

A: There are new faces and young faces. The new faces might not be all that young. But, I hope the people accept this as something that is fresh – a new approach brought about by the Prime Minister. Surely it will bring new inspiration especially to those who want to see current developments truly fulfil the aspirations of the new generation in our country. 

Q: Why do you think Barisan Nasional did not do well in the elections this time? 

A: My thinking is that it is the middle-class urban voters who shape the ideas and the outcome throughout the country. This also happens in other South-East Asian countries. In Indonesia for example, we see it in Jakarta. In the Philippines, we see it in Manila, in Thailand it's Bangkok. In Malaysia, we feel it in the Klang Valley.  

The thinking of the young people in the Klang Valley – their doubts, uneasiness, new ideas – these are what they bring with them. If I go to a kampung in Terengganu, for example, there is not one household there where they do not have a child or a cousin who is living in the Klang Valley.  

It is the thinking of the middle-class people or the urban voters that is very much going to shape the outcome of the election as a whole. We have to look at this. We have to tackle this. We may be a good constituent worker, take care of our voters and meet them; but if we are out of touch with the thinking of the people here, we may get some results which are out of expectations. That's the thing.- STAR

written by budakindia, March 20, 2008 09:13:21
"Politics is not like you need to sit for STPM or before that SPM, PMR or UPSR. It doesn't work that way."

You have a believer, Khairy Jamaluddin! smilies/grin.gif
In Malaysia, even convicted criminals like MuhdX2 can be a minister!
And the PM saw nothing wrong in that even it was committed in a foreign land!
Still he pledge no corruption in his cabinet? smilies/grin.gif
What a joker!
written by Bill Gates, March 20, 2008 09:17:21
Another spin doctor appointed by KJ. Make sure you know the difference between Myanmar and Burma. Also make sure your maths is good. 40,000 is not the same as 4,000 [re: BERSIH]
written by batsman, March 20, 2008 09:54:00
Bloggers and SMS senders are not angels. Sometimes they can act like a mindless violent mob with vicious intent. All it takes is the right mood and a revengeful individual.

Stop the boycott on nasi kandar stalls. Stop punishing the many for the crimes of the few. Identify the criminals and get them - don't use blanket punishment on the innocent.
written by CPY, March 20, 2008 10:17:19
batsman, you are right. dont kenakan all the mamak just for a rotten few. Shabery, don't call bloggers monkeys. Jeff Ooi will be da de-facto Shadow Information Minister.
written by est, March 20, 2008 10:43:24
"What is best for the country.." is as simple let us citizen know the truth. The only way to ensure that we build trust is openess. Let it not be a situation where some party out there decide what we should know and what we should not know.

Allow the media, to publish what is on the ground. Don't SPIN it around. The sooner we get down to the truth and openness the better. There will always exist people who would want to SPIN it to their advantage, but we are mature enough to smell the rat. So once the media gets down to publishing the truth, SPUNNED-NEWS will contradict itself - people will see through it. There will be sufficient contradiction. The problem is if the truth is hidden, then whatever is being SPUN can be perceived as truth. Today, if you see what is on the net, it doesn't mean that its the truth, but it many a time contradict what is being reported. So people just don't believe both sometimes. Isn't this enough evidence that we Malaysian are not as naive nowadays.
written by Umar Rentaka, March 20, 2008 11:33:10
Don't trust this fellow Sabbery one cent for his views. He was put there only to kill the bloggers. Bloggers watch out!!!

Please refer to Marina Mahathir's rantings blog for her views and prove.
written by Daryl, March 20, 2008 13:11:06
I take it as a serious challenge that I have to bear. Information is always very important. Everybody wants to know what's happening in the country and what are the government policies, or how we are going to manage things that could easily be misunderstood by people. That is a challenge for me.

Actually, it is not that difficult and I believe a five years old kid can do it. Report base on fact, fair and do not print anything that are bias to one party. Always check your fact before reporting it and you will be okay.

But, I guess it will be quite a challenge for you because you need to spin the story and cover the BN's huge ass..... Any way GOOD LUCK on a job that pays well but probably send you to HELL..
written by deunan, March 20, 2008 15:49:26
I don't trust those who used to be in Semangat 46 and joined UMNO upon it's dissolvation (S46's). This guy used to be the Information Chief of S46. A failed one at that. Betrayed the ideals and sold his soul to join UMNO back again. Yes, S46 then was imperfect vehicle for perjuangan and not many realize that, but to join UMNO after that?

I have the utmost respect for Tun Salleh Abbas. He left S46 and did not follow others like sheep into UMNO.
written by cruzeiro, March 20, 2008 16:30:23
"I wish we can sit down and talk to them and think openly what's best for the country. That's the bottom line. "

==================

Yeah, rrright!

We are all right here, and Dang Wangi has a good & reliable list.
Dont give us the Global or Local crap - we were "Glocal" long ago.

First tell your "machais" to drop the case against RPK,
then return all confiscated PCs to show your sincerity.

Don't just give us shabby PR talk, Mr. Shabery - just do it!
written by mimag2005, March 21, 2008 04:37:37

" Say What you Mean........MEAN WHAT YOU SAY....!!!!

written by audrey, March 21, 2008 08:27:44
Do you know, in Japanese, Shaberi (Shabery?) means talk, or noisy... or chattering...

Hope this doesn't imply that our new Info Minister will be talk only, no action.
written by artchan, March 21, 2008 10:50:44
i thought UMNO said..bloggers are unemployed, internet only for booking air tickets. Shabery..i think you better continue using RTM and Berita Harain and Utusan Meloya..and New Shit Times..
written by Naha, March 21, 2008 11:14:49
RPK, risking your ire in repeating myself by cut-and-paste, I wish to reiterate:

Bloggers, I hope you remain neutral always. You have been instruments of change this general election, but reading the comments at M-T recently I sense there is an emerging idiot mentality among people who read blogs: they expect bloggers to take sides with those whom they support, and they go ape-shit at you excellent folks or at other commenters for criticizing their heroes. Some are obviously PKR, DAP or PAS zealots, and should Barisan Rakyat come into power, I will not be surprised if these characters would campaign for you bloggers be served libel writs or be detained under ISA.

Bloggers who remain impartial, like our beloved YM RPK, or my other favourites like Husin Lempoyang and Patrick Teoh: I salute you for your courage to speak up, and please remain impartial when the rest of us become worshippers of our servants whom we voted into power. May God bless you!
written by cruzeiro, March 21, 2008 14:36:35
...... but reading the comments at M-T recently I sense there is an emerging idiot mentality among people who read blogs: they expect bloggers to take sides with those whom they support, and they go ape-shit at you excellent folks or at other commenters for criticizing their heroes.
============

Naha,
Nobody said all commenters were sensible ....

There are plenty who still subscribe to ideas of prejudice, unthinking "idol worship", and chauvinism in the comments section.
Maybe they will be more open to other ideas in due time - it's all a process of learning and relearning for everybody (me included).

And there will be just as many who think that commenting in MT qualifies them as part of the "bloggers" bandwagon - you may consider the various "cybertroopers" from various groups among them.

So, it would be wise for readers to know who the consistent and sensible commenters/ bloggers are before jumping to conclusions about "bloggers' sentiments".

Believe me - there's been a sea of change in many people over the years. That is what open discussion and debate is all about - bear with the "unsavoury" comments once in a while.

Expecting neutrality from all commenters, would be asking for a little too much too soon. Everybody deserves to be heard (to a certain extent).
Change and progress takes some time and getting used to .... it has started, it has to happen, and it will happen in due time.

Cheers, mate!
written by chiongguo, March 21, 2008 23:06:06
Many years ago when the internet first started to take off and when all visual interfaces were still text a group of us in the soc.culture.malaysia discussed and argued about the importance of the 4th estate. And it all started around Ning Baizura's umbilicus.

At that time we had no idea that blogging will become the voice to be reckoned with. Traditional media in malaysia had failed society miserably and the voices of dissent, of reason, of fairness, of decency etc. were all stifled in the power play of the greedy.

The question that all of us must ask ourselves what is the real motive of the meeting called by Shabery ? Is he trying to find ways to shut down this nascent and terribly vital 4th estate in Malaysia ? The recent centralised gateway set up by Badawi with the help of the SB, in the name of keeping virus out of malaysia can be used to actually stifle this 4th.estate. The proclaimed noble aim of maintaining security is nothing more than an excuse for putting in place greater control over the flow of information within the cyberspace. Sophisticated data-mining tool could easily be used to detect, find and if need be denial of service for people or things that they find uncomfortable or felt is a threat to them.

If this centralised gateway is set up with such noble intention and since it is set up with so much of the tax payer's money could this center come under the supervision and oversight of an independent body ? Will bloggers be allowed to be part of this independent body ? Will suhakam have technical representatives in there to ensure that our rights as citizens are not violated ?

When Badawi first launched this center, which was very low key, and the reason given was security I couldn't help but laughed my toes off. The very nature of the internet is designed around security consideration and the key strategy is distributed gateways and path. To centralise it is to put all the eggs in one basket.

The emerging influence of blogs in order to be a viable 4th estate must go beyond the electronic media as large segment of the population today still do not have access to this media. Popular and viable blogs can have a summary of its posts and reporting and formatted like a newspaper periodicaly that anyone can download. Interested individuals or organisations could then print it out for their family and friends. In this way no print license is necessary. This 4th estate has to be carefully nurtured as it is such an important institution. Particularly in Malaysia where the other 3 estates had been so badly corrupted by that M fellow. It is significant to note that this 4th estate, malaysian style, came about as a grass-root movement rather than a business venture. How long it will last and how relevant it will be in years to come and how much credibility it can garner remains to be seen.

Bloggers must set the agenda and not Shabery.

written by Anak Desa, March 23, 2008 23:20:02
At least the new Information Minister Ahmad Sabery knows what he is talking...Hope changes happens