PM explains Shahrizat's appointment PDF Print
Thursday, 20 March 2008 09:02

PUTRAJAYA (March 19, 2008): The appointment of Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil as special adviser to the Prime Minister will not disrupt or create difficulties to the Women, Family and Community Development Minister Datuk Dr Ng Yen Yen.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said as Special Adviser for Women and Social Development Affairs, Shahrizat will be helping Ng and liaise with her when there is a need to coordinate matters and there would not be any overlapping jurisdictions.

"This ministry is big and involves many people. There are more women now with all kinds of problems. And most of them, perhaps the biggest, are Malay Muslims. There are many things to be looked into. I have talked to Ng and she understands it very well.

"It is good for Shahrizat to deal with matters such as Islamic family law for example. I believe both of them can work together," he told reporters in his office after the first cabinet meeting of the 12th federal government today.

Abdullah said there should not be any confusion with regards to the appointment of Shahrizat which was announced yesterday evening, about six hours after he announced his Cabinet line-up live over TV stations.

He clarified that although Shahrizat holds a ministerial status, this does not mean she is a Cabinet member as she will only enjoy the benefits of a minister but will not join the Cabinet meeting.

On the declaration of assets by ministers and deputy ministers, Abdullah said he had decided for it to be done every two and a half years or twice in every term.

"I have asked the Anti-Corruption Agency to help prepare a suitable form for this. Once it is ready, it will be discussed and understood by all before making the declaration," he said.

He said the declaration will be done properly by having the necessary elements such as signatures, witnesses and Commissioners of Oath so that the government'e effort will not be condemned by others.

On Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's claim that Barisan Nasional (BN) members and MPs want edto join the Opposition alliance, Abdullah said Anwar can claim whatever he wants but it will not affect the government.

"Why should the government topple? This government is very strong. We have support. We don't go around purchasing people (for support)," he added.

Asked whether he was aware of attempts by opposition to buy BN members, he said: "I am aware. That's what I heard people say. I am not saying it. I heard people say and I am just repeating it only."

On the decision by Datuk Seri Radzi Sheikh Ahmad to quit as BN and Umno secretary-general, Abdullah said the two of them had discussed about it and he had accepted Radzi's decision to give way to others.

"I have no objection. I respect his decision. There was no negative words uttered. He just wanted to resign so that others can hold the post."

Asked about Radzi's statement that he could no longer function effectively as he is not in the Cabinet, Abdullah said it is a matter of perception as there have been other Umno secetaries-general who could function without holding any Cabinet post.

He said he has also spoken to Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor who has declared his willingness to take up the post.

On the two deputy ministers who had rejected their appointment - Datuk Anifah Aman and Datuk Seri Tengku Azlan Sultan Abu Bakar - Abdullah said they met him yesterday to discuss their decisions as both felt they had enough of two terms being deputy ministers and wanted to make way for someone else.

"The discussion went on well. There were no fights or raising of voice," he said, adding it was only natural for both of them to feel sad not to be promoted but there was nothing else beyond that.

He said he has already asked Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Musa Aman submit the name of his choice for replacement while in the case of Tengku Azlan, he said the replacement may not necessarily be from Pahang.

On Wanita Umno members' unhappiness with the lack of representation in Cabinet, Abdullah said he will meet them and speak to them, hoping they would understand that not many of them had won in the election.

On Umno Youth's decision not to take any action against Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir, he said it was the wing's decision made in the best interest of the party.

"I don't instruct the Umno Youth to do this or that," he added.

Asked whether the latest development after the Cabinet announcement will create divisions within BN, Abdullah asked: "Why should it create divisions? You tell me how. There would not be any quarrels. It is a matter of organising, and defining, and the sphere of responsibility." - THE SUN

written by hiro, March 20, 2008 09:12:00
One of the things that must have stood out like an eyesore is reappointment of Sharizat as adviser WITH ministerial status.

Firstly - if one is not a minister, why get perks of a minister?

Secondly - if problems are indeed faced by Malay Muslims, why not just appoint Sharizat as full minister and make her a Senator? Put Ng Yen Yen somewhere else

There is really a cloudy mind at work here. What the PM must clarify is WHO GIVES INSTRUCTIONS and WHO TAKES THEM? I bet it's still Sharizat
written by Bill Gates, March 20, 2008 09:13:57
Paklah. No need to explain. You have made a big blunder again on simple thing like this. Firstly yiu sacked Rafidah without realising that there is no wanita rep. Then you appoint Sharizat as advisor when during your cabinet announcement you said you are not appointing any losers. Thirdly the appointment of Sharizat to assist Ng Yen Yen is an act of distrust and belittling MCA.

So conclusion - you are now at the first stage of Alzheimer.
written by The dragonheart, March 20, 2008 09:16:30
He clarified that although Shahrizat holds a ministerial status, this does not mean she is a Cabinet member as she will only enjoy the benefits of a minister but will not join the Cabinet meeting.

In other words she is not a minister but have the power of a minister veil behind the PM...how confusing... !!!
written by faridib, March 20, 2008 09:55:25
Sounds typical coming from a confused & muzzled sleeper, with a little help from the desperate loser, SIL.
written by CPY, March 20, 2008 10:05:37
Maybe Dr Ng YenX2 is a 'angkongkia'(patung)? smilies/grin.gif
written by oknyua, March 20, 2008 11:28:47
Prime Minister, sir, only last week you said those losing the election would not be appointed into the government. You don't have to explain this, sir, because we are so used to you contradicting yourself.
written by Ah Chong, March 20, 2008 12:03:52
another words, Ng Yen Yen boss is Sharizat! not pak lah!
written by temenggong, March 20, 2008 12:12:51
Badawi did not trust Ng Yen Yen to find advisors on muslim women's issues, and as if there aren't any in the ministry. Sharizat is there to keep an eye of Yen Yen.

No one can understand muslim issues except muslims, but muslims can understand all non muslim issues.

This will not do down well with Yen Yen, MCA and especially chinese voters. Insulting them some more. Good!
written by ProboscisM, March 20, 2008 12:22:45
I really don't get the cabinet this time. If want to get some one who is more familiar to muslim issue (women), why dont Pak Lah get Rafidah and assign Ng Yen Yen to somewhere else like her previous post? Why need to make it so complicated?

Pull more string Pak Lah, as we will see how you conduct the show.
written by Keith, March 20, 2008 13:02:02
Why must there be a Minister(or adviser) to deal with Islamic matters? If this is the case then it is religious discrimination, because then there should be special adviser to deal with Hindu, Buddhist and Christian matters as well. Don't states already have muftis and the Sultan for this? The Prime Minister has no authority on Islamic Matters, why does he need a special adviser.

Why are we making a complex political hierarchy even more complex by introducing 'new' non-ministerial positions that are suppose to be ministerial status? Doesn't this undermine the authority of Yen Yen.

How would Hishamudin like it if Anwar/Najib was appointed special adviser for Education??

It just proves that in BN, everything is mingled between race,religion,gender and politics. How can we consider ourselves Malaysian if we continue to view ourselves through 4 different dimensions?

DUMB!!

http://keithrozario.********.com
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 20, 2008 13:34:04
She is a loser, rejected by the voters, and no longer respected by the people, and her appointment will cause more unhappiness, more critiscism, and the lost of more respect to the PM, who is already half asleep, and recuperating from the election-injuries, while the AP Queen and her army of red-ants is ready to attack!
written by TRANSFORMER, March 20, 2008 15:31:54
Appointing a loser is only done by a loser. Sharizat is rejected by the people but Rafidah is accepted by the people but what is Dollah doing? Denying people's choice and though his power is bigger and stronger than people's power?

To Rafidah, Thats the fighting spirit. Dont resign as Woman Head and MP. Lets fight together with the grassroot, like a wounded tiger. You have bang the table to fight with Dollah to prevent Khairi from joining the cabinet and has caused your position as Minister. You have win despite losing your post. Now, use your position as Wanita Head to fight for Dollah to resign. Dollah the stupid PM MUST resign. Wanita UMNO as the backbone of UMNO strength, is behind You. We need you to bring back the power of UMNO.

HIDUP DATO' SERI RAFIDAH, ALLAH MAHA ADIL. DATO SERI KEHILANGAN KUASA KABINET TETAPI MEMPUNYAI KUASA BERSAMA RAKYAT UNTUK MENGEMBALIKAN KUASA RAKYAT, MARILAH KITA BERSAMA WANITA AKAR UMBI UNTUK MENDESAK DOLLAH BADAWI MELETAK JAWATAN ATAU JATUHKAN DIA DENGAN HINA KERANA TELAH BANYAK MENYUSAHKAN RAKYAT DAN TIDAK MEMEGANG AMANAH YANG DIBERI DENGAN RASA TANGGUNGJAWAB. DIA TIDAK LAYAK MENJADI PEMIMPIN!

You guys, have some respect to one of the best Minister in Malaysia cabinet history. Despite the AP issue, she is not HP6 minister like the rest.
written by babakl, March 20, 2008 16:15:37
When Sahrizat was a minister and in the cainet, she can't even allowed to go against the law passed against Muslim women cos your bn rules do not allows to put right from wrong. Now pm sings a different tune. She is not in Parliment and not in cabinet, what can she do except receive monthly salary and allowance. Very stupid with such thinking.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 20, 2008 19:58:42
Tak malu kah, Puan Silly-zat, to accept the appointment, walau pun sudah rejected by the people?
You have no pride at all. Looks not so bad, but now appears like a lap-dog.
written by NRR, March 20, 2008 22:56:16
"Asked whether he was aware of attempts by opposition to buy BN members, he said: "I am aware. That's what I heard people say. I am not saying it. I heard people say and I am just repeating it only."

Isn't this rumour mongering? spreading rumours is an offence.
written by Sutha, March 21, 2008 19:00:22
Silly Zat is his new wife's good friend, wor!

If he doesn't give her the position, the wife will not give him her position.

Understand, ok? Ask DVD Chua for further details.