Now walk the talk, Nik Aziz tells five states PDF Print
Thursday, 20 March 2008 08:52
KOTA BARU: Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat has called on the five Opposition-led state governments to form a consultative council to implement the election manifesto of PKR, DAP and PAS. 

One of the proposals in the manifesto is the welfare state concept which Nik Aziz said must be implemented to avoid critics branding it as election rhetoric. 

The council is expected to coordinate development programmes, lure investments and study the water tariff issue. 

Nik Abdul Aziz, who was speaking to reporters after chairing the first post-election exco meeting, said the Opposition must ensure that election promises are kept. 

Despite health concerns, Nik Aziz said he would continue to lead Kelantan. 

Even the Chinese want me to continue as mentri besar. The community set up 16 posts during the election to support PAS. What else is there for me to say?” the PAS spiritual adviser said. 

Deputy Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Yakop said Kelantan had adopted most of the incentive plans announced by Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor state governments. 

State PAS secretary Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan said the Kelantan PAS manifesto would be fine-tuned into action plans. 

He declined to comment if parking and other forms of local council summonses would be waived as had been done in Penang and Perak. 

He said the state agreed that ratepayers whose properties were assessed at below RM50 would not have to pay assessment. - STAR

written by Bill Gates, March 20, 2008 09:01:14
Well said Tok Guru Nik Aziz. Your 18 years reign in Kelantan is a living proof that PAS is not a Taliban government. UMNO is the taliban and saitan that fight for their own rights in the name of NEP, upholding Monarchy Institution and Malays.

written by penang1, March 20, 2008 09:07:47

While I may not agree with Nik Aziz on everything, I do respect his integrity - He is a Muslim that does not violate the basic tenet of Islam, unlike many so-called "muslims" in bn.

His asking for "Walking the Talk" is exactly right. We should insist that BR starts walk the talk - with no lies, no cheat, no wool-over-the-eyes, no scandal, no conceit, and with the attitude that they are going to work WITH the people.

Thank you, Nik Aziz, for being a shining beacon for all !

written by ultraman, March 20, 2008 09:13:52
Yes, Tok Guru, you are right. Walk the talk now.
A good example is Tok Guru himself. He led a simple life living in his kampung house. A true muslim he is too. Not wanting to spend for his own luxury at the expense of poor rakyat's money. Unlike our Chief Islam Hadhari's imam who want to travel in style - brand new executive jet. Every two weeks must fly overseas.

Lim Gian Eng, we hope that you can look to Nik Aziz for guidance. Not to be tempted by greed. Keep an eye on all excos. The former exco in my place own a million ringgit house with lots of complimentary gifts from developers and businessmen.
The other states are looking at how clean the opposition can be. If they can maintain their high standard of cleanliness, the rest of the states will definitely fall to Barisan Rakyat. Thus BR will be the federal government. Show it that we can!!!
written by sampalee, March 20, 2008 11:32:55
Dap and Pkr are lucky to have Pas as a contributing partner within BR.
written by angfaulith, March 20, 2008 11:53:07
yes we agree entirely with our spiritual leader nik aziz as the de facto leader of the opposition. we thank our dap and pkr brothers and sisters for supporting us as we march forwards towards forming the federal govt. do not be afraid of an islamic state as we have shown that this concept works and does not discriminate against other religions. our purpose is to reap the rewards in heaven and not earth....
written by mypanida, March 20, 2008 20:36:59
Thank you Tok Guru, for standing tall even when the situations were bleak courtesy of BN who were trying to strangle you and your party's struggle.You are a good man and deserved every honours there are to be heaped upon you.We will help Kelantan develope with all the resources that are in our hands now.What we are asking of you is a simple request.Please tells us off regardless of our races if we ever strayed.

zzzz
written by StevenO, March 21, 2008 04:25:40

This is against the UN Human Rights Charter even. Please don;t tell me your govt will discriminate against mamaks.

Yes we understand about the UN human right convention issue.

Nobody wish to discriminate against the mamak, or anybody else for that matter. But can you blame us if they wish to attract discrimination upon themselves??!!

You tell them to start behaving like Malaysian in the first place and not acting like morons more ultra than the Ultra Malay. What the heck is it that they demand to be call Malay and not mamak? Why is there so much shame in being an Indian muslim??!!

By the way, are you a mamak?
written by snailriver, March 21, 2008 14:23:57
Thank you so much Tok Guru for leading by example and showing how a real leader should be. I have so much respect and admiration in your character and for what you have achieved in your Kelantan leadership. It will not be loudable to say that you remind us of great Mahathma Gandhi with your honesty,simplicity virtues.If all the leaders can follow your footstep and have so much humility, love and responsibility for the rakyat that nominate them to power, Malaysia will become a heaven for all some day....