Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow No fury like Rafidah

No fury like Rafidah PDF Print
Thursday, 20 March 2008 08:47
COMMENT BY JOCELINE TAN

News that Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz had not been reappointed a minister was followed by high drama in the Wanita Umno wing as the senior ladies lamented their lack of representation in the Cabinet.

ALL hell more or less broke loose in Wanita Umno the day the new Cabinet was unveiled. 

A large part of it had to do with the wing’s chief Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz being dropped from the Cabinet.  

Then there was the fact that the only woman in the new Cabinet was Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said whom the senior ladies do not regard as a member of the women’s wing or, at least, not yet. 

The general feeling is that we are not appreciated. We have been made to feel insignificant, even irrelevant, particularly when the heads of the Youth and Puteri wings are appointed to posts,” said a senior Wanita exco member. 

An emergency meeting was hurriedly called by Wanita secretary Datuk Faridah Abu Hassan at their PWTC headquarters. Faridah, a long-time loyalist of Rafidah, had panicked because Rafidah had apparently indicated that she wanted to resign from all her posts. 

The Iron Lady was said to be so upset that she had contemplated quitting as Wanita chief and even as Kuala Kangsar MP.  

We must do something, this cannot be allowed to happen,” one of them said. 

Rafidah was not present and her deputy Datuk Seri Shahrizat Jalil chaired the meeting. 

It was a rather chaotic meeting with people trying to talk at the same time and with little consensus about what to do next.  

It was then decided that Wanita members would be asked to convene in Putrajaya that very evening to show how unhappy they were and to petition the Prime Minister. 

Unfortunately, the SMS instructions going out were less than clear and some of the women went to the Prime Minister’s residence while the others went to his office. To add to the confusion, a few of those who had advocated going to Putrajaya decided to go instead to Rafidah’s house in Damansara Heights. 

In Putrajaya, the women dispersed at about 7pm only after being told that Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would meet the wing’s exco the next day. 

But the drama was far from over. 

A late announcement from Putrajaya that Shahrizat, who lost her Lembah Pantai seat in the polls, had been appointed special adviser with ministerial status on women’s affairs did little to improve the situation. 

Instead, it only made Rafidah more furious resulting in a heated exchange of words over the telephone that may have damaged relations between the two women for some time to come. Rafidah apparently accused Shahrizat of stabbing her in the back. 

Rafidah’s reaction to the sudden end of her long political career had been stunning to say the least. 

She was like a wounded tigress,” said a senior Wanita Umno politician. 

She was livid, fierce and wrathful, lashing out at people around her, including Shahrizat who has been an uncommonly loyal deputy. 

It was meltdown time for the Iron Lady. 

Even as people were trying to absorb the implications of the new Cabinet on Tuesday, speculation was rife that Rafidah was preparing to resign as leader of Wanita Umno. 

But she calmed down and was back to her usual confident self by the time she faced a packed press conference yesterday. There was no hint whatsoever of her rage the day before.  

She said she would not relinquish her Wanita Umno leadership, that the Cabinet was the Prime Minister’s prerogative and that her grandchildren liked the idea of her spending more time at home.  

Rafidah is 64. She has been in politics close to 40 years, 32 of which were spent in the Cabinet. And she has been, without a doubt, in a class of her own and there will be very few who can hold a candle to her accomplishments. 

At the same time, like many politicians who have overstayed, she has accumulated more than her share of political baggage. 

It is said that Abdullah had been under great pressure to drop her after the controversial Approved Permits issue several years ago. But she survived the Cabinet reshuffle in 2006. 

Sources said that even before the general election, the Prime Minister had been soliciting feedback from people about the prospect of retiring Rafidah. The feedback he got was that it was time for her to go. 

Another reason for her exclusion is that the Government is anticipating complications over the issue of her not signing her nomination form during the elections.  

Her PAS opponent will likely file a complaint and there has been a precedent of a candidate being disqualified for not signing his nomination form. 

Some suggest that the Cabinet line-up also says a lot of the Prime Minister’s intentions for the Umno elections due later this year. 

His appointment of Shahrizat as women’s affairs adviser and Azalina as Tourism Minister is seen as a hint of the future hierarchy of Wanita Umno. 

But, of course, the final outcome lies with the women’s wing and also whether Rafidah will let go gracefully or fight like a tigress to stay on. - STAR

written by Bill Gates, March 20, 2008 08:55:07
Hi Rafidah. When you started at MITI 21 years ago you were only 50kg. But when you leave MITI now, you carry along with you not only you over 100kg but your liability baggage. What? MITI belongs to you? Get out and get prepared for your old ACA files to be re-opened. Also soon you will also lose our KK seat.
written by Malaysiaputra, March 20, 2008 08:57:34
Macik macik at Wanita Umno, Pak Lah wants to see new sweet young faces in Parliamen to cheer him up lah !. Grandma Pidah's looks doesn't cheer up Pak Lah when sitting in Parliamen.
written by krising1, March 20, 2008 08:58:13
Bill Gates, all that extra weight is because she became an IRON LADY.

Madam Iron Lady, do not be fooled by all this support you see around you. Tun Mamak just said that when he was resigning, many said that they will resign with him. No one did. You will abandoned and deserted just the same. Then you can take pot shots at the government from the sidelines.
written by loosecannon, March 20, 2008 09:17:25
Typical reaction from this egotiscal drama queen. She has this high opinion of herself and treat others like idiots. Remember the time she was sniffed by dogs at an Australian airport?

The Election Chairman let Pak Lah down by not disqualifying her when she failed to sign her nimination paper. Now that's a real idiot.
written by macanhitam, March 20, 2008 10:14:19
did she just said that she wanna resigned from all posts including the MP of Kuala Kangsar???? Lets have a by-election then & let BA sweep bandar diraja clean!
written by NSTPravda, March 20, 2008 11:20:15
Wanita UMNO acts like a bunch of headless chickens
To the fury of a corrupted tough old hen, the plot thickens
By dropping Kak Fidah, PM is ruining her lucrative AP-ness
This fowl deed should have been done prior to his electoral mess

So now that the chicken shit has proverbially hit the fan
Belatedly our lightning quick PM decided to give her the pan
We don’t think feisty Kak Fidah will just give up, and fade away
And leave the scene clucking quietly as if everything is Semua-nya OK!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 20, 2008 13:28:40
Hoi, makcik, what makes you think you are so great? You are just one ot the brainless HP6 monkeys, you are a product of NEP, you are fat and over-weight, and you will soon die of heart-attack, for sure!
written by TRANSFORMER, March 20, 2008 14:20:23
Good Dato Seri. Thats the spirit. Dont resign as Woman Head. Lets fight together with the grassroot, like a wounded tiger. You have bang the table to fight with Dollah to prevent Khairi from joining the cabinet and has caused your position as Minister. You have win despite losing your post. Now, use your position as Wanita Head to fight for Dollah to resign. Dollah the stupid PM MUST resign. Wanita UMNO as the backbone of UMNO strength, is behind You. We need you to bring back the power of UMNO.

You guys, have some respect to one of the best Minister in Malaysia cabinet history. Despite the AP issue, she is not HP6 minister.
written by omarkhayyam, March 20, 2008 15:14:20
First the writer Joceline aahh the famous joceline who once compared Kera J with TDM .... when BN ruled high and mighty she worshipped the floor that BN leader walked.

now after 12 GE and knowing the fate of "lickers" Joceline attacks Fidah ? wow,

next, as for you Rough_fida, you deserve this ..... UMNO did this to Onn Jafar, Tengku and a long list of people.

we remember because we are out of that circle you won't neither any of them.

watch how gonna dump dumb dollah smilies/smiley.gif

written by Eskay Lim, March 20, 2008 19:58:19
What's there to be angry Rafidah? You have been the AP Queen for so many years so now let other people enjoy the benefit. You should be very happy that Badawi allows you to rest so that you have more free time to count your APs in your own or your cronys' possession.
Consider yourself very lucky too because PM Badawi is now waging a serious war on corruption. This time it is serious, he said.
written by bumi non malay, March 21, 2008 07:29:50
Old Horse - Tun Dr. Senile

War Horse - Raja Petra

Old Fat ugly ANGRY horse - Rafidah.... good riddance!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

It is no loss to Malaysia....truly!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by PHUKETBOY, March 21, 2008 11:02:30
Radi is no mincepie ! My prediction is she wants to hang on to her post so she can turn the tables on Abdul when the right time comes ! Watch her do it ! That's why Adbul is very worried that she is not resigning from her post. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
Watdee Khrab !
written by Beezee_Beezee, March 21, 2008 11:10:49
Folks.....Inilah Balasan ALLAH SWT terhadap orang ISLAM yang tidak terhenti henti memakan hak manusia manusia yaang diperbodokan...Insyallah ini hanya lah tips of ICEBerg akan bermula lah episod PIDAH dimeja RCI INSYALLAH....
written by sonofman0, March 21, 2008 17:57:04
Don't cry for me Azalina .......
written by Sutha, March 21, 2008 19:15:48
This is always the fate for people who have no principles. No one will truly support in the long rum.

I remember her drama when the Mamak Toon announced his resignation during the ArmNo Conference, and I also remember her snide remarks on the same man over the APs issue. Forgetting that he pulled her out from political downturn in nineties and also from ACA when the AlJuburi wint for her.

You deserve it, Fat Corrupted Woman. Praying 5 times a day does not make god to be on your side. You got to learn to be on god's side.
written by ribena ice, March 22, 2008 00:27:41
after 30 odd years still not enough?? still greedy? i'd would love to retire and enjoy my sin-free earned money.
written by Anak Desa, March 23, 2008 23:30:30
Rafidah is a stupid woman like senile Semi Value ,who dont care two hoots that the writingon the walls says these two farts overstayed.My friend who works in her ministry said she was throwing tantrums and showing sour face.
written by Anak Desa, March 23, 2008 23:34:25
She forgot to sign her second copy of her PRU 12 election nomination candidate form. Soon there would be a case to be file in the court against the verdict for Rafidah, as there was a similar case happened before where the court throw out the winner and declared the opponent as the winner. So Pak Lah dont want to take chances.