Razaleigh to challenge Abdullah for Umno presidency, cites need to 'heal' party PDF Print
Wednesday, 19 March 2008 23:18

By: Alina Simon

KOTA BARU, Wed (NST): MP for Gua Musang Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah has made public his intent to challenge Umno president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi for the presidency. He has offered himself to lead Umno to “heal the party”, which he described to be "in a bad way.”

OUT AGAIN: Datuk Radzi Sheikh Ahmad hugs a supporter after announcing his resignations as Umno and BN secretaries-general. He was replaced by Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor who, like Radzi, was dropped from the CabinetWhile acknowledging that his advancing age might be used against him, the 71-year-old former Finance Minister, who held the Gua Musang parliamentary seat since 1969, expressed willingness to take up the challenge if he was given the opportunity.

Tengku Razaleigh, who challenged but lost to then Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad in the 1987 party elections, said he was “young” then and ever ready to challenge anyone with his ideas.

“I still have ideas, I am still brave because I am independent and I don’t depend on anyone. If my service is still needed and my strength can still be used, I am offering myself to work for the rakyat,” he told a press conference here today. “Even though I am old but I am still strong. If there are enough nominations for me to contest in the Umno election, I will give my service if I am needed.”

The Gua Musang Umno division chief, who described Umno’s defeat in the recent general election as the most painful and horrible moment in his political career, said he would call for a special meeting in his division tomorrow to discuss his proposal for the party to hold a special meeting to discuss the defeat.

Tengku Razaleigh had recently distributed letters to all Umno divisions and branch heads, urging them to utilise a section in the party’s constitution to call for a special Umno EGM on May 11, the party’s anniversary, to discuss the dismal polls performance.

He felt the meeting should be held before the annual general meeting in August to “avoid confusion.”

“I felt the general assembly has to deal with lots of issues, so let us have this special meeting to discuss the election results. I hope the other Umno divisions will consider this. This can be done according to the party’s constitution and it is an abnormal thing. We need to discuss this defeat. Haven’t the Umno members realise we’ve lost five states? Are they still sleeping?”

On the desire of the five opposition-led state government’s desire to do away the National Economic Policy, Tengku Razaleigh said the topic was questioned because some quarters tasked with implementing the policy had “abused their powers to the point of raising ire of both commoners and Umno members.”

“The discrimination should not have happened as the NEP was a trust for the rakyat,” he said. “The policy is not meant solely for a group of people but the rakyat should view its overall objective which is to bring unity to the country. I support the policy in principle but I feel that it should be continued to remain as it was formulated back then.”

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by Uncorruptible, March 19, 2008 23:26:45
Hmmm...anyone can lead umno now since the Malays themselves have rejected the NEP - a vehicle for umnoputras to plunder the country. So this old has-been is trying to fish in troubled waters. He will be using the racial card more and more to get whatever support he can. He would surely be opposed by other umno opportunists.
written by zul4kulim, March 19, 2008 23:27:47
Razaleigh is also no longer a good leader with feudal background...age is catching up.

But a big news in UAE about Malaysia boleh
http://1426.********.com/2008/...n-uae.html
written by confuseus, March 19, 2008 23:38:01
Bravado, Ku Li.
SIREH AKAN PULANG KE GANGGANG !!!
Kerja PM lah yang paling senang, enjut sikit KSN, dia akan hentak semua KSU dan lain pun akan bekerja dengan seikhlas hati.
Tapi kalau PM kaki tidor, semua bermaharajalela lah macam Raja Mongrel !
Masa dah tiba untuk Confuseus tuang kekacang-kacang, he, he, he !!!
written by mike1m, March 19, 2008 23:49:46
ku li test power
written by manny_california_usa, March 19, 2008 23:51:15
Ku Li you tetap akan jadi 'pekerja kuli' jugak buat selama-lamanya. Jangan harap nak jadi 'boss' sekarang. It's not the party that needs to be healed but the corrupted UMNO leaders and you are one of them.

Ini mesti kerja Dr. Mahathir ni.....
written by RumahPanjai, March 20, 2008 00:02:10
Come on Razaleigh, be a jantan. Just admit it. The NEP was abused by UMNO. Instead of helping the Malays it was hijacked to line the pockets of UMNOputras. Go live and a gua.
written by BennyG, March 20, 2008 00:02:23
Excellent news!

No wonder I could not access MT today. I was expecting the BN cybertroopers were at it again or there was some spectacular news.

Finally, the rumblings had proven to be true. The 1st to desert BODOWI would be UMNO Youth (no wonder no action is taken against Mukhriz). Wait a min! Isn't KJ the real leader behind UMNO Youth? Did he work out an agreement for BODOWI to step down and secure something from it? The plot thickens.
written by The dragonheart, March 20, 2008 00:31:14
Good YM, Do it. Its better than Najib to have control over UMNO.

UMNO and BN had done enough damage to the nation. UMNO or BN is not irrelevant yet. But their hands, feet, mouth, face and intestine are filthy dirty. They need a thorough overhaul and clean-up.

There are people who said that DSAI is comming from backdoor to rule,... to me it is very much better than using phantom voters to cheat and win.

There are talks that UMNO is going to reveal bad thing abt DSAI past which has not been told before. If it is true UMNO have such secret information about DSAI past history, let it out. It is good to know, but don’t tell lies because all these while UMNO and BN have been lying to the rakyat and to their own grassroots and supporters too. The main streeam medias and TVs have been lying for many many years… They robbed, they raped, they eleminated . they terminated, and they cheated the rights of the rakyat for their own pocket, families and cronies. Yes maybe Anwar did some for his cronies when he was in power.

We cannot wait for another 4-5 years before we can clean the BN. BR/BA need to rule the Federal Government in order to clean the mess of our nation too. I always believe that a new broom sweep well. While YM Ku Li can do the cleaning of the the UMNO and the BN, we need to put a watchful eyes on this PKR,PAS, DAP coalition too. If they cannot perform as what they promised, they too must get the boot on their ass in 4-5 years from today. By that time, BN/UMNO would be pretty clean if not 100% cleaned. The main corrupted players must be put sentence… of course not by Hudud just yet… maybe by giving them a nice place to stay in Sungai Buluh or Kajang.

Who, if not DSAI would be brave enough to do this? YAB Lim cannot do it because he is a chinese. How right he can be, the Malays/UMNO will not accept a Chinese to punish their Leader.

Nik Aziz? No way! He will forgive and forget. How good Tok Guru treat the UMNO in Kelantan, they still want to bite him back.

If UMNO and BN can not be clean fast, these party will not be relevant anymore. If this happens, the PKR,PAS,DAP coalition will not have a strong opposition. Without a strong opposition, PKR,PAS,DAP team would/might turn out to be what UMNO/BN used to be now. Then the rakyat will suffer. This cannot be allowed to happen.

I hope the clean leaders of UMNO (hopefully YM Ku Li is) BN take this as an opportunity to revamp their party, a vacation time to review they mistakes, and a blessing to make BN/UMNO into a better party for the future. May Allah Bless you all.

Last but not least, I would say,… Go Anwar Go! Use what ever door you need to come in to the corridor of power, and start the cleaning up and change the nation for the better. Let the rakyat decide whether we like you for the next term or not.
written by SotPlug, March 20, 2008 00:40:57
It's good to reform BN starting from UMNO.
Next GE, BR will be the gov. So we need to ensure we have a significant opposition voise (BN).
If BN don't start to reform now, next GE we'll hear:
BN? Who's BN? BN is not relevant now!

And I'll just be smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by daniel, March 20, 2008 00:56:18
Here's a leech creeping up yer ass!
written by fairnessforall, March 20, 2008 01:14:07
BennyG said L

Excellent news!

No wonder I could not access MT today. I was expecting the BN cybertroopers were at it again or there was some spectacular news.

Finally, the rumblings had proven to be true. The 1st to desert BODOWI would be UMNO Youth (no wonder no action is taken against Mukhriz). Wait a min! Isn't KJ the real leader behind UMNO Youth? Did he work out an agreement for BODOWI to step down and secure something from it? The plot thickens.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
I thought the same thing. Afterall KJ did say as long as Bodowi is the PM he will not accept Ministers positions, so now he got to get rid of Bodowi so he can start his climb.
written by Jebat2020, March 20, 2008 01:28:48
hmmmm....sorry Kuli, not good enough, try again..and errr...your gneration to lead the country has gone now...it's the turn of my generation now...please move away...

Next...
written by Keith, March 20, 2008 01:46:04
Well, between Ku Li, Badawi and Anwar. Based on statements these 3 have made, Anwar is definitely the best candidate.

I just hope, this is a precursor towards the demise of UMNO, and move away from Racial politics in Malaysia.
written by asiana888, March 20, 2008 01:55:22
Wow! I am surprised by the deafening silence of no.2 (Najib). One would expect him to mount a legitimate challenge to be no.1

Hmmmm????!!
smilies/cool.gif
written by Chuang Tze, March 20, 2008 01:55:22
A failed politician and one of the Umnoputras trying to convince the RAKYAT he is back to reform UMNO ?? We were not born yesterday, Ku Li !!

However, you would be a more palateable alternative to Najis who has too much of an explosive character !! Between you and Bodohwi, there is not much difference and I would have to do a toss up, and if this is the case, may as well leave it to Bodohwi to continue on.

Looks like Bodohwi is having problems with both the Youth wing and Wanita wing. Anyway, both you and Bodohwi look set to cuntinue ... I mean, continue with the NEP, so I hope your transformation of UMNO is successful, to a Unfair Marauders & Nazi Organization !!
If the NEP remains, that is what UMNO will stand for
for all the plundering and racial segregation !!!

It's BARISAN RAKYAT for me !!
Viva BARISAN RAKYAT !!

written by miwaki, March 20, 2008 02:44:50
Instead of trying to save UMNO,why not leave it as it is since Barisan Rakyat is people's choice.UMNO,MCA and MIC are irrelevant to Malaysia and we can be much better off without BN.
written by rajaphillips, March 20, 2008 02:52:37
Mamak Mahathir must be behind this one and yes, Razaleigh will play the race cards and work up the Malays - thats NOT GOOD for Malaysia
written by Mimi, March 20, 2008 02:59:14
Ello people, before you start calling Ku Li names, you have to remember that this is one man who is from a different stature of UMNO politicians. Currently he is the only UMNO leaders that deserve some respect from BN and BR supporters alike. Ku Li goes a longgggggg way back. His principles and ideals might come from a cleaner and very different UMNO of the past(maybe even similar to current PKR). Now, this is a worthy opponent of Barisan Rakyat to compete with. Should the orangutans realise this and manage to get rid of Pak Lah and bring Ku Li in, then BR has to prepare themselves. At least Ku Li is not such an easy and predictable challenge as Pak Lah was and will ever be. Ku Li, to me is the only person now that might be able to turn over BN. Ku Li might be THE force to be reckon with. Ku Li might be the significant 'weapon' that BN has to challenge and threaten ANWAR's comeback.

On Anwar's sinister background and motives, I think UMNO has been trying to say this FOR QUITE SOME TIME!!!! For God's sake dont u think that if Anwar is really evil that they would be able to PIN IT ON HIM BY NOWWWW!!!!!BN and its machinery has been trying everything in their power to smear Anwar in every media that they have a share in and that is basically ALL in M'sia. YET, they still cant convince any of us of ANWAR's guilt. Well, MAYBE BECAUSE HE DOESNT HAVE AN ULTERIOR MOTIVE!!! For once, why cant we start having faith and give Anwar some credit for a change. Afterall, everyday he is 'Discredited' in the mainstream media. Give the guy a break will ya!!!
written by KC Chew, March 20, 2008 03:47:06
Plz lah pople. while the country is being raped, robbed and plundered, he was hiding in the musang cave and did nothing, not even a hiss on the BERSIH and HINDRAF gathering. Now, he is trying to be the champion? he is no different from the rest of the UMNOputra, an opportunist at best.
written by Gerald, March 20, 2008 06:30:14
Ku Li, why only now? I'm sure you've seen the worst of corruption, nepotism during BN rule. But But why only now you want to voice out when the boat is sinking?? To me, you are NO better than Najib and the other UMNOputras. Maybe it is time for someone to come up, and offer to rid UMNO party, ONLY THEN HE IS SEEN BRAVE ENOUGH TO BE PM......SO opportunists why not try your luck... we call it ONE IN A MILLION CONTEST OF A LIFETIME...MALAYSIA BOLEH
written by Gerald, March 20, 2008 06:45:32
Why choose a corrupted Muhammad Taib who swindled Malaysia money back to the Govt?? He is a goner, has-been and irrelevant. Hasn't BN learn their lesson in this General Election. COME ON SABAH & SARAWAK, UNITE TOGETHER AND JUMP SHIP TO OPPOSITION! GET RID OF THE PRESENT GOVT! THE PM HAS BELITTLED YOUR BIG SUPPORT AND CAN'T YOU SEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE??????????????
written by johanssm, March 20, 2008 07:23:03
No matter who is the leader of umno,it will still be a failure .
As umno only knows how to drums up May13th , NEP and ketuanan Melayu.
Those are the 3 acts that Malaysian wants to avoid.
Add those mentioned 3 things plus corruption, those are things which we Malaysian wants to throws out.
Ku LI or Bodohwi equates to the same shit.Its just a different type of shits but the same odour if Ku Li champions ketuanan melayu and NEP.
Therefore Ku Li is no longer righteous.
As umno is infested with NEP roaches and NEP rats, what can Ku Li do now.
If Ku Li really wants to save this country and bn, he could have done it years ago.
Why wait till DSAI and Barisan Rakyat comes to the picture.
Better to leave "DYMM Sultan Sir Tun TanSri Datuk Bodohwi the Emeperor of malaysia and some say Kepala Terbatas" shiok sendiri alone.

If ask me, i suggest umno be disbanded and joins Kelab Lanun Malaysia
written by Bigjoe99, March 20, 2008 07:36:52
Its too early for Ku Li to step up like this. Calling for EGM when there is no popular support for it AND this announcement shows he is not doing his homework and his old bad habit of mistepping.

He is in contention but he has to do his homework, build a base or coalition. If I were him, I would not have announced it but set up meetings all over the place to get feedback and grouses as well as offer a private vision to key figures.

Anwar is doing the smart thing - working the grounds and key figures. That is the way Badawi can be taken down.

With this all he has done is set himself up to be a pawn for someone else. I suppose that is good if that someone is capable of doing something. But the best one is Anwar and no one in UMNO now can do what he does. Mukhriz with his father's backing is only a possibility and NOT an ideal solution.

We do live in interesting times...
written by Malaysiaku, March 20, 2008 07:47:14
“The discrimination should not have happened as the NEP was a trust for the rakyat,” he said. “The policy is not meant solely for a group of people but the rakyat should view its overall objective which is to bring unity to the country. I support the policy in principle but I feel that it should be continued to remain as it was formulated back then.”

Yes, and that would be that the NEP is for all races - the poor and the needy before UMNO hijacked it for their own elite class under the pretext of for Bumiputras but was used to enrich themselves for the last 40 years. This is what the Opposition parties have been harping on and doing something about it.

AAB should step down along with his son-in-law and the rest of the bodek and useless Ministers.

written by Malaysiaku, March 20, 2008 07:48:55
My feeling is the Mathathir Dynasty should never be allowed to lead the country again. 22 years of torture and marginalisation is enough.
written by atsanee, March 20, 2008 07:56:13
"If he is givenm teh opportunity"

Well,Kuli,you will never be given the opportunity.So please stop dreaming.
The new UMNO is not what you know as the ori UMNO.
Unless if the Razak/Onn /Mahathir dynasty are using you to do the dirty AAB and you will have to step aside when AAB is no longer around.

My observation is UMNO is beyond repair and any hope of salvation.

Just join the BR for a better Malaysia.
written by Malaysiaku, March 20, 2008 07:57:02
"Ello people, before you start calling Ku Li names, you have to remember that this is one man who is from a different stature of UMNO politicians. Currently he is the only UMNO leaders that deserve some respect from BN and BR supporters alike. Ku Li goes a longgggggg way back...."

Prince or not Prince, I feel that Ku Li is the same as all UMNO putras. Nevertheless, he would be better than AAB and Khairy. BN would be revived somewhat and be given another shot....but if the Opposition performs, UMNO and BN will remain as the oppostion for many decades to come. The Rakyat's trust have been abused and it is very difficult to get their trust again. The agony and marginalisation over 50 years especially in the last 22 will be something that will not be erased for the next few generations at least. Unless you are one of the marginalised, you will not feel how it is.
written by Malaysiaku, March 20, 2008 08:01:22
"Its too early for Ku Li to step up like this. Calling for EGM when there is no popular support for it AND this announcement shows he is not doing his homework and his old bad habit of mistepping".

My little bird told me that this is all planned...Mukhriz, Ku Li, others will follow. Mukhriz merely was testing the waters. This group with Ku Li, Mahathir, Najib and gang is waiting for this chance for a long time. It is 'Now or Never'.
written by ahmadbadrul40, March 20, 2008 08:01:53
Mahathir has destroy every civil institution and judiciary when he was in power. Now nobody trust the judiciary anymore.

How many UMNO members actually join UMNO to help the people? I think zero. All of them are in for the money. So don't expect any of them to heed the call of Ku Li. The whole UMNO parties are full of hypocrate. Say one thing and do another.

UMNO, MCA and MIC is doom. The only kind of party that will survive in years to come are multiracial party. Enough of racial parties.

Ku li says "Haven’t the Umno members realise we’ve lost five states?".

Ku LI haven't you realise, nobody trust UMNO anymore. Nobody. They cheated in elections and they still lose. Enough of your pro-malay policies.

written by foresight, March 20, 2008 08:03:24
Just reject any PM or leader who vows to defend their own race and religion.
written by EYFF, March 20, 2008 08:10:59
To heal UMNO ??

To the Corrupted and Ultras, UMNO is whole and healthy when it is free to bully, be corrupted and with the ISA freely applied to nip out any perceived dissent against its members!

A health UMNO is a “MIGHTY” UMNO where people practicing their democratic rights like RPK, Lim, Anwar, etc could be locked away under the ISA or trumped up charges as per the previous TDM administration!.

A healthy UMNO environment is one where bloggers, demonstrators, etc are given free holidays in the various islands or lockups!

A healthy UMNO is like an UMNO under TDM when Anwar was locked up!

UMNO is sick under AAB because he did not crack down hard enough on the various demonstrations and did not send all its leaders /organizers on free ISA holidays. He should kill enough of them to send them an UMNO prescription!

UMNO is weakened and sickened by AAB for not silencing all his critics in the paper and the net!

Yes AAB is bad and a virus. AAB is very bad because he released that bad Anwar!

Yes AAB is a bad UMNO leader for letting UMNO & Co. getting blogged and shamed for the world to view!

Yes AAB is very bad because he deprived RPK and his cohorts of bloggers of free ISA sponsored holiday to the islands!

Yes AAB is a bad UMNO leader because as PM he should dance to TDM (the greatest UMNO leader’s) tunes! AAB should have stepped down as PM when TDM say so!

Yes, all ultras UMNO members should vote for Ku Li so that he could heal UMNO and bring back the glorious day of TDM where members can steal, bully, sex, lie, etc free of criticisms or consequences!

Yes vote for Ku Li and get an injection of NEP and be sent to political paradise!

Yes vote for Ku Li and in the 13th GE, UMNO can RIP!
written by harrbm, March 20, 2008 08:21:11

>

Ku Li is doing what a man have to do. He has his reasons. Of course, he is not alone. There are former Semangat 46 members still in UMNO. Then there are Mahathir men too. Brave Mukriz have gain many followers.

Grandmaster Mahathir and Grandmaster Anwar both want Pak Lah to step down. Now Tengku R want him down too. Seems like THE GOOD THE BAD AND THE UGLY situation.

Najib is silently waiting. Mukhriz has inflicted first blood. Pemuda UMNO Hisham has retracted and has pass the buck to Pak Lah. Why ? Why not Pak Lah step down. And how can a letter from Mukhriz, a rookie, could shake UMNO? what's the panic about? Will Pemuda change their stand?

Now, Rafidah, J. Jarjis and other top guns were made to look like the scapegoats and was shown the way down.

If Ku Li dont do it , someone else will.

got it?

>
written by MsLim, March 20, 2008 08:58:30
Sure, all top UMNOputras, present and ex members have skeletons in the closets; old timers TDM, Daim as well. I won't be surprise this includes Ku Li. I'm sure DSAI also has his. So folks if they splatter DSAI's dirt, they are not what Dr. Chua Sui Lek said "holier than thou". I would rather trust DSAI as his term in prison gave him time to reflect and will have changed him to a better person now.
written by loosecannon, March 20, 2008 09:06:14
Ku Li is just an opportunist. People like him knew every well what was happening in the BN and yet he shut his trap like the rest of his fellow opportunists. They all went down on their knees and kiss Pak Lah feet. Now that the wind is blowing in the opposite direction, they all gang up on him. Honestly I'd rather see Pak Lah continue helming Umno, even for the sake of just keeping Najib and his SIL in their respective places. Besides, Ku Li is not exactly lily white. When he was a minister under Mahathir, he was quite well know for his extravagance. It's annoying that has-been politicians like him kept popping out like boils on the backside.
written by qwerty, March 20, 2008 09:17:16
Ku Li,

You can't heal a terminally ill patient! Better put UMNO to sleep gracefully.
Disband BN & start a new clean coalition without all the luggage.
written by CPY, March 20, 2008 09:51:06
So Ku Li, you want to challenge Pak Lah ah? U sure can win wan ah? Why don't you establish Semangat 2004 leh?
written by DezMalaysia, March 20, 2008 10:02:19
Another power hunger & time opportunist vying for top post. It makes no difference even after major changes in UMNO / BN. The UMNOputeras policies & legends still continue...

UMNO is better off buried and laid to rest.
written by Taikohtai, March 20, 2008 11:08:04
Some are laughing, some are crying, and some like me are both laughing and crying!

Ku Li is an old man who thinks he is young enough to lead again hahahahahhahaha
Ku Li is from the old school with ideas dating back to the stone age, boboboboboboboooo
Ku Li is so irrelevant that he only got voted back because the voters think he may not last too long and a by-election would be called soon, hahahahahahaha
Ku Li represents all the sickness of BN, bobobobobobooooooo
Ku Li is the CLOWN PRINCE OF MALAYSIA, Hahahahahahahahahaaa!!
written by mypanida, March 20, 2008 20:55:42
Huh....????

UMNO is beyond healing.

Euthanasia is the way to go.

MATI kan UMNO....dan semua nya OK......

zzzz