Malaysia's ruling party secretary-general quits PDF Print
Wednesday, 19 March 2008 19:15

(AP) — The secretary-general of Malaysia's ruling party quit his post Wednesday in the wake of the biggest election setback for the government in 51 years.

Mohammed Radzi Sheikh Ahmad, the top administrator of the United Malays National Organization party, announced his resignation a day after Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi dropped him from the new Cabinet.

Mohammed Radzi was home minister in the previous administration.

"I feel that I cannot work effectively anymore," Mohammed Radzi told reporters. He said he is also resigning his position as secretary-general of the 14-party National Front coalition, which is dominated by UMNO.

"I have done (my job) to the best of my abilities. My resignation is normal process of rejuvenation of the party ... so that the party becomes better and stronger, "he said.

He said he will remain in the party and continue to be a member of Parliament.

Mohammed Radzi is the first top level official in the either the National Front or UMNO to quit after the March 8 general elections. It was not clear if the move signaled the appearance of cracks in the ruling party's unity, or whether he was forced out of the job by Abdullah.

Mohammed Radzi made the shock announcement about 30 minutes before the new 69-member Cabinet was sworn in Wednesday at the royal palace in the presence of the constitutional monarch King Mizan Zainal Abidin.

The new Cabinet has 16 new ministers in a major revamp of the government. Abdullah dumped several old-guard politicians after the National Front, which has been in power since 1957, lost its traditional two-thirds majority in Parliament in the March 8 elections. It won 140 seats in the 222-member house.

Analysts blamed the election losses on Abdullah's failure to fulfill promises he made in 2003 after taking office to end corruption and ensure racial equality. Some of his old ministers were even accused of fanning racial tensions between the majority Malays and the minority ethnic Chinese and Indians.

Abdullah, who has pledged to provide a corruption-free government in his second term, retained 16 full ministers from the old Cabinet. But every ministry now has a new head in the reshuffle except for finance, defense, education and plantations.

The finance ministry stayed with Abdullah and Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak remains defense minister.

The biggest casualty of the reshuffle was Rafidah Aziz, who was fired as minister of international trade and industry, a post she had held since 1987. She was replaced by Muhyiddin Yassin, the agriculture minister in the previous Cabinet.

The new Cabinet has 32 full ministers and 37 deputy ministers.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by panca, March 19, 2008 19:25:12
Dato, that is an honourable thing to do, it should been earlier though.
written by kamal, March 19, 2008 20:21:32
Not surprising since he was the main cause of Shahidan's non-appointment as MB.

UMNO seems to be cracking day by day.

Its time Radzi tell the Malaysian rakyat to truth of how UMNO had been managed during his tenure to DEREGISTER UMNO for all the wrongdoings.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by oknyua, March 19, 2008 20:40:00
Dat' how about supporting Barisan Rakyat?
written by budakindia, March 19, 2008 21:02:04
Yup let them quit in large numbers! Then ask khairy, azeez and the mat rempits to hold all the posts in Umno! smilies/grin.gif That would be a sight! I'm laughing loudly while imagining that! Hahahaha! smilies/grin.gif
written by atsanee, March 19, 2008 21:04:16
Of the 2 Federal Ministers from Perlis who were in the previous administration, none were retained.

Azmi Khalid was clearly on his way out anyway.

He would have liked to contest a state seat so he can walk straight into the MB's role.
Shahidan Kassim threw a spanner in the works and alloted him a Parliamentary seat so that he will fade into oblivion.

Radzi Sheikh Ahmad on the other hand was the de facto leader of the anti Shahidan camp and engineered the make up of the new Dewan Negeri to ensure the majority of Representatives would demand 'new leadership'.

Radzi got his way alright but at the expense of 'his' state assembly going against the dictates of UMNO headquarters.

Radzi lost his head in UMNO accordingly.

Radzi was correct in claiming that he couldn't function as a Sec Gen of UMNO.
This was not because he wasn't made a minister(as he had claimed) but because he plotted and won against the wishes of UMNO HQ.
Having got on the wrong end of a tongue lashing from AAB,can you blame Radzi for not wanting to have anything more to do with UMNO HQ?
Best thing for him now is to balik kampung and milk the state government for as much as he can get.
Pay back time baby !!
As for Dato Seri Diraja Syed Razlan Jamalullail,he does look grand sitting next to(or waS IT ON TOP OF??)the new MB.
He better stay put there and put off any plans to move back to Parliament.
Seriously dont think he will be too welcomed,even as an ordinary MP.
Better stay in the kampung and share the spoils with Radzi.
Good news for them is Azmi Khalid is irrelevant.

God is great.
He gave Azmi a great looking wife,but the guys not so fortunate, you get to split projects in Perleh.

So Syed Razlan and Radzi, enjoy !!
written by Uncorruptible, March 19, 2008 23:30:17
What says the outspoken lady Rafidah, I wonder? Has she made enough yet?
written by NSTPravda, March 20, 2008 08:47:50
I am still the PM and I am still strong
Anyone who thinks otherwise is just dead wrong
So what if the secretary-general calls it quits
We in UMNO have no room for disgruntled twits

Please do not believe all the opposition lies
Listening to all these gloom and doom is most unwise
Look I have more new and improved promises to unveil
Old promises can be recycled with changes in detail

There is no crack in UMNO's eternal unity
Look at how close I am to Oxfart Khairy
If the stupid rakyats favoured the opposition on polling day
It still doesn't mean that UMNO and me are not "Semua-nya OK"!
written by CPY, March 20, 2008 09:36:41
Thats good for UMNO.