Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Guan Eng: Don't listen to rumours

Guan Eng: Don't listen to rumours PDF Print
Wednesday, 19 March 2008 18:52
by Regina William

PENANG (March 19, 2008): Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng today urged Penangites not to listen to rumours spreading via SMS about disturbances during the Maulidur Rasul celebrations tomorrow.

"The security and public order in Penang is under control and I hope Penangites are not influenced by these rumours that something will happen tomorrow.

"The police have given their assurance that nothing of that sort will happen and I am convinced that the security and peace in Penang will be maintained during the holy celebrations. Don't listen to baseless rumours and SMS.

"There are some parties who are trying to destabilise peace and harmony by resorting to such tactics," Lim said after chairing his maiden state executive council meeting.

Lim also urged Penangites to tighten their belts and help the state government minimise its expenditure, especially after the new state exco reviewed the state's financial status.

"We have a RM35.6 million deficit budget this year and we want Penangites to help us in our efforts to be thrifty. Our focus is to ease the burden and sufferings of the lower income group.

"We are working hard towards a better administrative and management system which will help us in our efforts to achieve a "clean" government.

"Penangites can help us in our endeavour so that the savings from these efforts can be channelled back to the state government," he added. - THE SUN

written by penang1, March 19, 2008 18:56:01
No problem wan! There wouldn't be any trouble. None of us is planning to go out to eat nasi kandar tomorrow, so there shouldn't be any trouble.
written by infusion, March 19, 2008 19:10:47
I admire the guts and cooperations of all Penangites!. Bravo!. Show BN the way out! My Best wishes to all in Penang and LGE will show BN the Correct, Correct and Correct way of running a proper government!.
written by doggone, March 19, 2008 19:30:07
Stay focus Guan Eng and the Penangites will help you with your honourable endeavours. These pathetic sabotage and minor teething problems will slowly die away when they cannot find any supporters. At the mean time try to get the police to find out without any big fanfare who are the trouble makers. With enough evidence, let the police make the announcements and charged them accordingly. Leave it to the police.
written by budakindia, March 19, 2008 20:43:30
Yes, don't listen to those UMNO morons! Let them rally for we care! Let the police handle these sore loosers! Hey Pak Lah, please take back these unwanted garbage back to your place! Ask Khairy which is still in hiding to collect back these feces! smilies/grin.gif
written by Naha, March 20, 2008 08:18:54
YB Lim Guan Eng, don't let their efforts at frustrating you distract you from doing your job. Many of us expect good things from your administration. Aim for modest achievements, so that every over-performance will be rewarded with more trust from the rakyat of Penang. All the best...
written by Malaysiaputra, March 20, 2008 08:50:14
Is the Umnoputra loosers now going to tarnish the name of Islam in Malaysia for the world to see ?. Loose in the election, now want to radicalise Islam in Malaysia ?.
written by hiro, March 20, 2008 08:55:46
I think Penang UMNO is doing it all wrong.

First, they have not sent ANY memorandum to Guan Eng.

Second, Guan Eng HASN'T DONE ANYTHING to take away any assistance to Malays, so what are they figthing for?

Third, Guan Eng has asked them to protest another day - so if they go ahead, they are not respecting their own Muslim festival

Fourth, if BN is trying to use ISA and say that "there you go, now that the opposition is in government they have no qualms using it as well", they are SO WRONG - Guan Eng permitted the peaceful protest to take place - but another time (and preferably another venue), and also offered them dialogue - it is clear that if there is disturbance, it is MANUFACTURED - and Penang Police don't need ISA to arrest them - they just need to effect the usual arrest and CHARGE these fellas IMMEDIATELY in COURT

What Penang UMNO is doing is really to make people dislike UMNO Malays. The rest of Penang Malays are just going along their lives fine, and perhaps a bit more hopeful.
written by Ken Liew, March 20, 2008 09:05:59
IN UMNO, BAD RUMOURS are 90% truth!!!

But we are facing a new governmency, so we should just wait and see. Umno again is makin up stories and fiction. for those who have faith on ourself and own votes. We must still beleive in ourselves and the new governmency.
written by NSTPravda, March 20, 2008 09:26:09
I am still the PM and I am still strong
Rumours who say otherwise are just dead wrong
So what if some state papers were destroyed when we quit
We in UMNO are just helping to tidy Komtar a little bit

Please do not believe all the opposition lies
Listening to all these gloom and doom is most unwise
Look I have more new and improved promises to unveil
Old promises can be recycled with slight changes in detail

We in UMNO exists in solid and eternal unity
Look at how much closer now I am to Oxfart Khairy
If the stupid rakyats favoured the opposition on polling day
It just means these ungrateful twits don't realize I am "Semua-nya OK"!
written by Ben, March 20, 2008 12:36:20
OK you can donate RM10 and I will give you a MT car sticker FOC. Limited to first 1,000 contributions. After 1,000 FOC care stickers, car stickers still available at RM10 each. Monies less courier charges will be donated to LGE CM renovation fund. Email me at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it his e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it for details