Cabinet Ministers Must Declare Assets, Says PM PDF Print
Tuesday, 18 March 2008 18:00

PUTRAJAYA, March 18 (Bernama) -- All ministers in the new Cabinet as well as deputy ministers must declare their assets, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said today.

"I want their assets to be known to the public, that is important," he told Bernama.

Abdullah said they would be told at the new government's first Cabinet meeting tomorrow about the matter and the time frame for them to submit details of their assets.

He said at the meeting, he would also determine their direction as Cabinet ministers and what they should do.

"I will advise them on their conduct whereby they must uphold integrity. That is most important."

The prime minister said he would also advise them on what they should adhere to and what they must avoid doing.

"The do's and the dont's will be spelt out to them tomorrow," he said.

"I want them to know what I expect of them and how they should run their ministries. That is absolutely important.

"They were appointed to serve the people. These are the things I want to emphasise (Wednesday)."

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by NickChan, March 18, 2008 18:07:34
What about their relatives?
What bout Nori? Badawi's brother? Baharom's 2 wives and their families? What bout Khairy's millions?

I doubt this exercise will bear fruit
written by R Hum, March 18, 2008 18:09:41
Badawi still has not learned why the rakyat rejected the BN.

In the cabinet we still have :

Keris waving championship holder -Hishamuddin Hussein

Foreign currencies smuggler into Australia - Muhammad son of Muhammad.

Ha. so much for a new team. Still the same.
written by CitizenBodohland, March 18, 2008 18:09:47
KABINET KAYUUUUUUUUUUU !!!!
Too late laa Pak Lah. You should have said all these nice things 4 and a half years ago.
NO MORE DAMAGE CONTROL please. Rakyat wanna puke.....
written by mountainking, March 18, 2008 18:10:31
they should declare the asset before and after they hold office. can you get those out of office to declare their assets, please?

if not, they could still be clean in the beginning and utmost corrupted when they leave office.
written by Long Man, March 18, 2008 18:16:09
no wonder he dropped his SIL, samy & rafidah from joining the cabinet...

eleee... cheap idea... first of all, will these cabinet people declare transparently (bodola won't know how much they made, since bodola always sleeping)?... if they declare the assets transparently, will the pm declare it to rakyat transparently?... go to hell lah... what the crap...
written by krepot, March 18, 2008 18:25:59
I would like to see Tan Sri Muhammad Muhd Taib's asset declaration

Since this request was made in English, I doubt if he will be making this declaration. Tan Sri nie tak speaking la....Tan Sri nie bodo cikit! smilies/grin.gif
written by Littlebird, March 18, 2008 18:26:20
Last time didn't declare 2 million in briefcase but now elected to cabinet. Not to mention conviction stands as of today. Now, kononnya must declare publicly. Maybe say now tak paham bahasa malaysia...

BTW, did pas government declare their assets all these years? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Malaysiaku, March 18, 2008 18:31:03
talk, talk, talk and more talk. Who are you trying to kid? Make the ACA independent so that they can be accountable to the Rakyat instead of under the PM. This is a bull-shit way started by the Mamak Mahathir.
written by Hope4all, March 18, 2008 18:35:32
Do u think the public is stupid again? When will you ever learn? If M2M declares his asset to be worth RM$100k only, do you really think the rakyat will believe it? Or will u just slap the wrist of the people providing false declaration??
written by batsman, March 18, 2008 18:57:34
What is the penalty if they are found to be lying? Make this into law with clear cut penalties - otherwise it is just whitewash.
written by Motherchell, March 18, 2008 19:20:28
So you want them to declare their assets , pak lah ?!!!!!!!!!

So you expect Musa , the ACA , Bukit Aman, the Courts to safe guard and protect us with all the declarations??/ . Malaysia has just added you to the Book of Insults.

Man ! !!!! its like asking one thief to check the other bank busters,and robbers. Pak Lah , better you ask Ronald Biggs for help!!!!!!
written by Shyetan, March 18, 2008 19:54:38
This is a gimmick - declare assets?
Anyway it looks like AAB has returned with a body full of diseased parts - how to fight man? It was hoped that he would come up with a rejuvenated body instead he is limping back like a sick man discharging himself out of a hospital - great lord - how to survive man?
written by Democrats, March 18, 2008 20:11:37
Will they publish their asset details out in the MSM? It would make a got comic section for us. What's the penalty for false declaration? Death by firing squad? Hanging or Gas Chamber? I suggest hanging followed by firing squad - just in case. I suggest asset list of immediate family as well, Auditted by independent auditors annually. Will not work as it's easy to hide behind proxies and foundation, but what the heck,AAB at least, make it you are more serious than just a statement like that.

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 18, 2008 20:24:55
Rosmah second husband is a billionaire.
written by Sidq, March 18, 2008 20:43:38
BN never learned!!
written by toolan, March 18, 2008 20:45:24
You did it again ! Pissing us up each time you make a statement.

Still back at where you were four years ago I see.
Still there at kerajaan tadika.

First and foremost , declare your own assets first and make it public and dont forget your underwears as well.

If this new cabinet is gonna start off with this direction of yours - finish la!

written by doggone, March 18, 2008 20:52:28
Let's see if you make us squirm again peklah.
I bet it's just another talk without the walk.
We know you're tired. Half wanting to fight on and half wanting to retire, which you can't until the toilet is cleaned.
written by Taikohtai, March 18, 2008 20:59:05
Just ban all politicians from being involved in business. Can't you all see the major major conflict of interest?
Politicians are elected to serve the rakyat, not serve themselves.
That's why systems in many Western democracies are moving forward while those in third world are languishing because of the warlord mentality.
But then, how can one expect AAB to live in a modest two storey house like most rakyat? LGE sets a shining example here and AAB is a nobody compared to him and many of the BR candidates. So please don't talk about a clean gomen when people like M2 is now a minister............what a joke!!
written by KKchan, March 18, 2008 21:18:40
You declare in full all assets, directly or indirectly held, including those of your immediate family. You could put all your assets in a blind trust (i.e you don't know if the assets are dealt with in any manner) or you dispose of them, especially shares of companies which potentially can raise a conflict situation. And you re-declare them periodically, otherwise it will defeat the whole purpose. Both PM and DPM are also require to declare their assets. Are they exempted from this exercise? If PM does not, then it is just "do as I tell you". That is simply not good enough. Then post the declarations in a website where all can have access. The declarations should be statutory in nature and if they are found wanting, both civil and criminal sanctions should apply.
written by nnraja, March 18, 2008 22:24:57
Malaysians..again we are being fooled by our PM.. Declare Assets my ass! No thief will declare their assets to another thief...

Again, with this new line up of Cabinets , we are talking BA or BR to merge as new goverment soon.. Hidup ANWAR....bye bye sleping Pak-lah and hell with your nad your cabinets
written by apasalahku, March 18, 2008 22:28:45
You put Muhammadx2' me no speak Engrish' Taib in the Cabinet and you expect them to declare their assest??? Damn AAB, just went i thought you can't be any more stupider.....
written by Daryl, March 18, 2008 22:33:18
Is not a bad idea for assets declarations for ministers(copy cat move) but before that you need to get implement open tender for anything above $150K.

PM, you heard about conflict of interest? Probably yes but you still went ahead to rob and rape rakyat's money. You are asking how. Without competition you can give the contract to anyone and that someone might be related to you in some way and that is only one part of the problem. Next, once the contract is given you have implementation problem because you need to make sure that person make money. So, cut cost, sloppy work and no QA and yet are approved. There are more reasons why handing out contract without competitions is BAD BAD BAD..

All the above can cause injuries to rakyat and sometimes can be fatal. Competitions allow better work and cost saving... And hello more rakyats money can be use for welfare of the poor......
written by aliseman, March 18, 2008 22:33:32
Asset only? What about liablities? Especially when stock market have plunged to more than 300 points, i am sure a lot of BN MPs and ADUNs are in deep shit. Last i heard, somebody at the fourth floor, SIL of you know who, already lost more than rm100m when MRCB drop more than 60%. With margin calls come calling since last week, more shit is going to surface.

These Cabinet ministers and their deputies must declare their liabilities. If their liabilies get paid at the end of their term, we want to know how.

Water stock in Selangor have dropped tremendously. Jaks(drops about 60%), KHSB(drops about 70%), KPS(drops about 70%) and Syabas(drops about 50%). Want to bet if none of the previous Selangor BN ADUN didn't get burnt?

Now, tell me, do you think these a..holes bought those shares with margins or their own money? I am sure their liabilities are huge. Too bad, they cannot touch make the rakyat pay their liabilities this time.

For your info, Equine, owns by Patrick Badawi drops more than 80%. Yeahh......... Padan muka
written by seek justice, March 18, 2008 23:00:19
This is going to be so much fun. Jokes abound!!

The Ministers will be declaring that all they own is a beat-up Perdana and that their luxury cars are not really theirs and all sorts of imaginable nonsense.

Any idea on how the rakyat can be privy to the declared assets?

STAR, NST, UM, BH please take this up and publish the assets declaration!
Yeah, sure!!!! It would remain, I know simply, my wishful thinking!
written by Dominic, March 18, 2008 23:22:49
How to ensure that all cabinet minister declare their asset truthfully and no hanky panky? Does AAB or his goons have a formula that can ensure full and complete compliance? Dont be silly, its just window dressing! No way it can be done effectively. I suppose AAB need a tailor made super calculator from Texas Instrument to measure up all the wealth from his UMNOPUTRAS!!! So finally, if anything in excess which escaped their orginal declaration, we the Rakyat should be the riteful beneficiaries!
written by qitaro, March 18, 2008 23:42:01
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
Declare ASSets?? You can continue tipu your kampung supporters lah!
written by delCapo, March 18, 2008 23:47:35
ya man... now THAT's the real reason why JJ, Adnan, Rafidah & KJ is left out...
Mat Tyson & Naziri sure very very creative... hehehe

the one 2 who will hv no probs showing off will be AmirSham (ex MBB CEO) and Sulaiman Taib Jnr
written by bexe, March 18, 2008 23:56:11
AAB you are a joke. You don't know how to lead and don't know how to be a good manager.

First you declare your own assets and set good example. Let everyone scrutinize and approve of it.
Second you do not appoint people with a bad record or even criminals and then expect them to show clean hands? The fact you still appoint them shows you have not learned the lesson.
Third you "prequalify " your appointees against the standards that the people have set and will accept
Fourth, you clean your enforcement house so that they will carry out enforcements without fear or favor. Know what that means?
a) Clean up the Judiciary and appoint clean, independent, smart and qualified people to the bench.
b) Get rid of the present AG and all his goons so we have independent, qualified, clean, efficient AG
c) Do the same for the ACA and the Police.

After that maybe you will win some hearts and minds. That is what the people want and that is why you got a slap in the face. If you didn't get that, then please step down NOW. Business is NOT as usual!
written by artchan, March 19, 2008 00:45:02
DECLARE FOR WAHT..SYIOK SENDIRI..THAT CASE I SUGGEST YOU GO WANK YOURSELF. COME ON LAH PM. DECLARE ALREADY MUST TAKE ACTION..HOW THEY GOT SO MUCH MONEY IN SHORT TIME. LAST TIME YOU JADI PM..SAME STORY..DECLARE FOR FUN ONLY. YOU THINK THE RAKYAT BUY YOUR STORY. I THINK BEST YOU STAY AT HOME AND JAGA JEANNE...
written by artchan, March 19, 2008 00:46:17
IT IS GOOD HE CONTINUE TO BE pm...SURE TO LOSE A FEW MORE STATES...AND PARLIAMNETARY SEATS TOO.
written by Sutha, March 19, 2008 01:03:19

What is the point of declaring when the illiterate Sleeping man knows nothing about the declaration.

Underdeclare at start of "earning game" and underdeclare at "end of game" and the difference accumulated is nil, or

Overdeclare at start and underdeclare at end ===> net reduction. Ok What!

Use proxy names to collect assets and nothing to worry ma!

written by archie, March 19, 2008 01:49:33
What if their assets are in their proxies' names?
written by asguard, March 19, 2008 08:44:49
No point for asking them to declare their assets now... they have been require the wealth long time before Bodowi's time......
written by Ken Wong, March 19, 2008 09:35:36
I think they should also ask people like Rafidah, Samy, etc to declare their assets and also their family members. Lets see how rich these people are after being a Minister for so many years. I mean if they have nothing to hide.... why would they object, right?
written by laksa maner, March 19, 2008 10:09:36
The answer is "all declaration if there is any will be FALSE, incomplete and vague."

I can assure you all this. Clean minister mean his/her family members, relatives, and parents must be clean too. Meaning, none of them had been involve in corruptions, abuse power and so forth.

If just Ministers to declare their assets, NO POINT AT ALL. Don't think that rakyat are too stupid. You guys hide all the assets, liabilities under proxy. We know it, you also know it, however Allah know most. It is a sin for cheating and rob rakyat and goverment's asset. Whoever voting this fellows previously, now and then will also involve in SINS.

DON'T TRUST PANCING UNDI Strategy that announce by F**kLah (PM) yesterday. Why? In MMT's case, "kenang jasa". Is it right to "kenang jasa" by putting the corrupted guy in place? Please think. You as a PM can recommend him to go for "Anugerah" but no a Minister. This is a VERY VERY VERY WRONG Strategy. However, as an ordinary rakyat what can we do? We just can VOTE BN OUT in next GE by starting from next Sarawak State Election which will be conducted most probably 2009 or 2010. It is not far away.

We wait and see.