Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The Three Christ of Yipsilanti (2)

The Three Christ of Yipsilanti (2) PDF Print
Sunday, 16 March 2008 23:09

I wish to reiterate that the letter I wrote yesterday (The Three Christ of Yipsilanti) was not meant to condemn any group or individuals.

The opposition parties are borned out of the resistance to the constant threats, intimidations and instigations from the BN racial politics. In the case of DAP, historically, it took the role of Robin Hood, the underdog hero that fought to uphold the identity and welfare of Chinese population. Of course this is a form of chauvinism for it gained the support and sympathy from the Chinese at the expense of exclusion of other races.

To be fair we have to give credit to the DAP leaders, as without their persistence thorough the think and thin of it, going in and out of ISA detention and prison we would not have the vehicle and the grass root support to see the victory now. The underdog hero role is a baggage that need to be shed. But DAP is also under a lot of pressure, and they have to make a lot of very difficult adjustments. It is going to take time for its leaders, let alone its grass root support to understand and comprehend the new role that DAP has to take on. And worst of all is that its arch rival MCA has been busy fanning the fire from behind.

A few MCA leaders made some statements regarding the Perak MB issue that appeared in the Chinese newspaper on Friday. The statements read like "Chinese are betrayed by DAP conceding MB to PAS". When I read statements like this I fume with anger. These bunch of sore losers has no sense of social responsibilities. The do not care how dangerous it is to instigate racial sentiments in a delicate time like this. So much for being the elected or aspire to be elected statesman or representative of the rakyat. For them every damm thing has to be sensationalized. This is their political chip. One criticism of Ong Ka Ting is that he is too quiet, and that is equivalent to being politically bankrupt. This the dirty nature of politics. Oh man, I do hate politics. I really want to give the whole bunch a good spanking, especially the self-proclaimed devout Buddhist Ong Ka Chuan.

I generally have been very upset by the coverage of the election in the mainstream newspapers. The incident I related above got me fuming mad. And when I saw the cat fight cartoon referring to the Perak MB issue in the front page of  Friday Sun I slam the paper down, and I swear that I will not put up with any of these bullshit anymore. When I received an SMS calling to boycott of the mainstream papers last night, I promptly forward it to every single contact in my SIM card, even to names that I can't remember. Guang Ming Daily is the only paper that I read now.

I don't want to second guess Raja Nazrin Shah's intention on his choice of Perak MB. But my first impression is that it is a stroke of genius. It is going to stir the pot big time. It is going to force DAP face-to-face with PAS. It will force DAP to work closely with PAS – the one single party that DAP sworn no allegiance with. If DAP can pull it through it will demonstrate to all that DAP is mature enough to accommodate other races.

I am very happy with how things are unfolding. The news that the Perak MB will be sworn in tomorrow is a big relief. My salute to YB Lim Kit Siang for making a prompt apology and giving a very balanced explanation of it in his blog, and kudos to PAS youth for openly supporting the new government. This is the type of cooperation that will move us forward.

For me the greatest significance of GE 12 is not the birth of a two party system in Malaysia. The greatest victory is that we, the rakyat, are no longer helpless, isolated individual that are subverted and manipulated by the power mongers. We have found our collective voice. It is voice that transcends religion, race and ideology, and it is powerful enough to cause a political tsunami.

Yee Chut Ngeow

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by beijing, March 16, 2008 23:27:44
Chinese are betrayed by MCA, not DAP. Im chinese and i belive and trust, and i support PAS.
written by penang1, March 16, 2008 23:36:51
I do not support anyone but the people, and MCA has been selling out the Chinese people for the past 50 years.

Running dogs will never get my vote, it's that simple.
written by hakuna, March 16, 2008 23:37:28
The mainstream media if they keep on following their present path are literally planning their own demise.
Playing up racial sentiments is a very dangerous trend and worst still the very fire may destroy these establishments.
Can't these media just accept the fact that the rakyat have shown the courage ? In due time they may lose their business and cyberspace will be the only option for news.
Please don't commit suicide.
written by harrbm, March 17, 2008 00:00:02
>

I have great respect for DAP who is STRUGGLING for JUSTICE, EQUALITY and racial harmony. Its a big and torturous job and i dont mind if DAP failed bcos IT IS a BIG job !

I await for all Malaysians to go for one common agenda !
MALAYSIA FOR ALL !

AMIN...

>

written by Hairy Potter, March 17, 2008 00:03:01
What the newly formed BA coalition(is it official yet?) must do immediately is to start its PR exercise with the rakyats. We should be made not only to understand, but to be convinced of your agenda to enrich the lives of every single living soul of this beloved country. The NEP might be a sensitive issue to be rebuked at face value in the eyes of the traditionalist Malays. So what they want to hear is, what are the securities that they are now left with when there is no more NEP? What will happen to their decendants should they die tomorrow? To the non-Malays, non-Bumis, they do not want to be deprived off unfairly.

Most of the new generation Malays understand that if our government are just and truly work for the people, there is nothing to be worried about. They will still enjoy their rights as bumis. To the non-Malays, they understand that the intentions are good but it was the implementation that was bad. Inequality will then be a non-issue. Everybody will benefit. Everybody will be enriched. Everybody will prosper regardless of race and religion.

Thus, DAP’s Malaysian Malaysia is a very promising agenda provided that it is really being carried out again, with the interest of all the rakyats with no bias and favouritism provided what was being enshrined in the constitution is being respected. What makes us all restless and full of suspicions is because we fail to see a just government so far. The government failed miserably to make us feel safe and secure. What they excel in with flying colours is to show how good they were at amassing millions of dollars into their retiremnet funds while making sure that the rakyats feel week and incapable of carrying out their lives without them.

We finally became brave enough to change this thought. We finally became smarter and able to read between the lines. We finally ‘see’ instead of just looking. All we want now is to have a government that is working for the rakyat instead of the other way round. Forget about what Pak Lah said. He didn’t mean it. Deep inside his heart, he was actually referring to us as his coolies.

To us rakyats, the government is like our parents. We want to be treated equally. If our parents can do that, then we can all live as one big happy family. As simple as that. So, please stop quarelling and don’t complicate things.

Salam.
written by Spear Bing, March 17, 2008 03:05:15
Mr. Ngeow,

The fault lies not in the mindset of Ong Ka Chuan and his MCA leaders and the MSM's Chinese Newspapers.

It has something to do with his educational background and upbringing.The reason why students from the Chinese stream excel in Maths and Science is because of the overemphasis on the left side of the brain. Years and years of this left brain enculturation process has made them so focus and concentrated on a particular issue,matter,object, project or whatever, that the bigger issue is lost in the background. Ong Ka Chuan's argument is typical of this delusional mindset. He has lost his macro bearing, he thought the Chinese can be bought by this short-sighted reasoning. Politician like him will not go far.
written by Negarakuku, March 17, 2008 04:37:27
When the day Malaysia is for All happens, this country will be ejected into the same level and value as the European countries. smilies/wink.gif
written by Kimm, March 18, 2008 14:42:54
Labisman STOP using "Christ" in any of your comment. Matter of fact I found yr comment rather lenghty and boring...................