Can Anwar become Prime Minister in next few weeks? PDF Print
Sunday, 16 March 2008 21:57

If there is one name that has pushed Barisan Nasional leaders out of their comfort zone and caused confusion and anxiety, it is Anwar Ibrahim.

When he said on Tuesday that the Opposition should be referred to as the government-in-waiting, he was not referring to five years down the road. He was referring to the next few weeks or months.

He knows that if he manages to convince 30 Members of Parliament to cross over, the government of Abdullah Ahmad Badawi will fall.

Since the PKR-DAP-PAS alliance that he cobbled together won big on March 8, taking 52% of the popular vote in Peninsular Malaysia and snaring 82 of the 222 seats in parliament, Anwar has become the most mentioned name in Umno circles.

Along the corridors of powers and in Umno circles, there is a belief that the former deputy prime minister will not rest and settle for second-best, not with the momentum of being a reformer on his side.

He knows that the troops of the BN war machine are demoralised and its leaders still reeling from the psychological scars of Election 2008. He will go for the kill, rattling the coalition’s cage, creating the impression of an inevitable wave that some fickle-minded BN MPs will be tempted to abandon the BN ship and join the Opposition.

An Umno division chief from Pahang, who requested anonymity because of the sensitive nature of the information, said: “The talk on the ground is which MPs Anwar is going to approach to join PKR. Everyone says that Sabah and Sarawak MPs are being targeted. But I think everyone except the PM and DPM are targets.’’

Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir, in a letter asking Abdullah to resign, noted that a move has been made to woo BN representatives to join the Opposition. The fear of crossovers is palpable.

Among the senior leaders of BN, the question being asked is this: who can take on Anwar?

Increasingly the view is that no one individual is strong enough to withstand the momentum of the former deputy prime minister. Abdullah is like a general who has been badly wounded in battle. He needs time to recuperate from the deep wounds he suffered – time which he may not have.

If Abdullah steps down and Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak takes over, the latter will be vulnerable to a personal and potentially costly onslaught by Anwar.

During the election campaign, Najib was assailed by Anwar over the murder of the Mongolian model and over a few defence deals. Expect the ferociousness of the attacks to multiply if Najib becomes Number 1 now.

Even the return of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad could be counterproductive.

The Malaysian public believes that Anwar was wronged by Mahathir. This was evident during the election when attempts to paint the former DPM as a charlatan, racist and chameleon failed miserably.

So who can stop Anwar?

Professor Shamsul Amri Baharuddin, a political commentator, says that only a united Umno and BN can hold the line against the Anwar-led Opposition.

“Anwar is pressing BN at 20 different points. Only if they are strong and united can they survive. But can they stay united?’’ he wondered.

The next few weeks will be important. If the new Cabinet catches the imagination of Malaysians, the morale of the ground troops will improve and it will boost the confidence of BN’s leaders.

Otherwise, the grumbling against Abdullah will grow into a crescendo and it may embolden Dr Mahathir or Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah to step forward to “save the party’’ – a situation which could lead to a party split like in 1987.

Such a scenario will be heaven-sent for Anwar.

Umno politicians believe that any upheaval in Umno or BN will convince the weak-hearted that it may be prudent to cross the Parliament floor.

Within the higher reaches of Umno, the strategy appears to be to rally around Abdullah, go down to the ground and get the troops ready for war. But for Umno and BN to prevail over Anwar, they will need a few conditions to be met.

1) Abdullah must be able to hush his band of critics in Umno.

2) Abdullah must be able to inspire the troops on the ground.

3) Abdullah must be a strong leader and reform his party and the country.

4) Anwar and the Opposition need to commit a few major mistakes.

5) For the public to fall out of love quickly with the reform-minded Opposition. - THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

written by MasterYoda, March 16, 2008 22:09:01
4) Anwar and the Opposition need to commit a few major mistakes.

5) For the public to fall out of love quickly with the reform-minded Opposition

Lets hope that this never happens. we the Rakyat must cooperate and ensure the BR leader tread carefully!
written by Yacob, March 16, 2008 22:32:58
Inshaalah, not more than 8 weeks from now, BN will be replaced by BR.
written by loosecannon, March 16, 2008 22:33:00
UMNO is imploding and the tsunami is continuing to cause damage. It's unlikely that Badawi will be able to rein in the infighting and those in his party who are baying for his blood. Given the circumstances, it might be possible for crossovers.

The best option is to entice those in Sabah and Sarawak to cross-over. They will be less problemmatic for Annur than those from Pen Malaysia who are like spoit brats. Besides, many of them hate Tain Mahmud and Musa Aman respectively. They are just waiting for the right moment to dump both of them. Likewise people in the two states are waiting for real development, not the so-called "politic of development" by Taib whose sole interest is to "develope" his family bank account. The smaller parties in BN are all fragmented and waiting for a strong leader like Annur.
written by teo siew chin, March 16, 2008 22:42:10
These conditions have already been met:

1) Anwar has hushed his band of critics
2) Anwar is inspiring his ever-growing troops on the ground as we speak
3) Anwar is a strong enough leader to reform the country
4) BN has already committed many critical mistakes
5) Many has already fallen out of love with the BN

My take? Anwar is all poised to checkmate!
written by rocky, March 16, 2008 22:44:27
If Anwar promises a clean govt, why not. He has so far kept his word and hey the guy is a lot better than the BN guys out there. we malaysians need some kind of reform and Anwar is the right guy for it
written by thum, March 16, 2008 22:50:34
I sincerely hope so. Coz right now the mainstream media (STAR and NST) is really blowing things up. Now in Perak, women NGOs are asking the Sultan to cancel the appointment of Nizar as MB and instead declare BN as winner with minority coz BN has 28 seats whilst the others, they claim, are a loose marriage of convenience. I pray that the appointment still proceeds tomorrow else, it is a stalemate there.

So, if anwar's gonna be PM, he has to act fast. And BR should get a lawyer to represent them and take mainstream media (esp the STAR) to task for irresponsible reporting. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

Unfortunately, no matter how fast also, it can only happen mid April when his ban expires. I pray all goes well in the coming weeks. smilies/cry.gif

written by Beautiful Mind, March 16, 2008 23:23:57
What people are predicting is that Anwar Ibrahim will never stop inching his way closer and closer to become the next Malaysian Prime Minister.

He is a fighter. Right from the days from his UM student leadership era till the time he became the Deputy Prime Minister only to be denied his righful position as the PM because of you know what, he has never stop
his struggle to get back to where he was before he was put away out of sight.

The political tsunami, the defeat and the damaged done to the Barisan Nasional government is evidenced that Anwar is de facto reason behind the Force 7 hurricane hitting the BN camp. I bet a lot of them still dont believe it has happened. Well..you better believe it!.

There has never been a better situation than it is now for Anwar to get serious about the possibility of him taking the Premier position. As it stand, the PKR-DAP-PAS alliance is already strong and is gaining momentum by the day. There are a huge number of electorates who have switched over to the Barisan Rakyat simply because they know that the Barisan Nasional led government has no-more objectives to fight for.

We have got independence and our country is progressing well even if is is not govern by Barisan Nasional. We can do equally well or not better. Our relationship with the outside world will be better with the BR as it represents a multi-racial party and we can certainly strike the right cord with nations like the Middle East, China, India or the West.

What is good about Anwar is that he has positioned himself better in the international arena. His name is well-known all over the world now than before. I say this because after the Malaysian election, news coverage,certainly at the place where l live, were referring Anwar as the Leader of the Opposition Coalition Party and it says that the Opposition party has caused a major upset in Malaysia since Independence.

With BN deprived and denied of their magical 2/3 majority, they simply has lost a huge degree of power and with all the internal conflicts happening within UMNO, l will not at all surprise that there will be people who will be persuaded to swing side to the Opposition.

I told my wife who is a Serawakian, if not because of Sabah and Sarawak winning for the BN, the Barisan Rakyat would have got another two states on top of the present 5 and that would have been disaster for BN. As a Serawakian, she told me that the BN in East Malaysia – Borneo is somewhat different from BN in the Peninsular as it comprises of their own ingenious people and there is no Chinese, Indians and Malay division like what it is in BN of the Peninsular. Certainly there is no racism issue there as what we have within the UMNO peninsular regime. That was her own personal view although until now l am not sure what she would have crossed on the ballot paper given the chance she could vote. PAS maybe.

Providing there is no slip-up and if we can capture Sabah/Serawak plus members of the Barisan Nasional defecting to the Opposition Coalition, l see no other person fit to be the next PM than Datok Seri Anwar Ibrahim.
written by tom73my, March 16, 2008 23:55:17
It's not the question of can or cannot be. Anwar SHOULD be the next PM as soon as possible for the sake of Malaysia. Who else in this country has the competencies, clout, and trust of all Malaysians? Bodowi, Najib Mongolsubmarine, Kerismudin etc etc are all but clowns. Only Anwar can save Malaysia. Think hard, my fellow Malaysian.
written by Bill Gates, March 17, 2008 00:01:08
If street protest has never been UMNO's culture and suddenly we see it happen i Penang, Selangor and Ipoh I begin to believe that UMNO is trying to instigate the public to go against BR. Even the women's group and student's group sponsored by UMNO has come out to create tension.

In Perak for example, the women's NGO s sendinga petition to DYMM Sultan of Perak to appoint the minority BN to take over Perak's admin citing BR as a loose coalition. This is UMNO's culture o not able to accept defeat because defeat means losing billions of projects.

SO BR got to be careful so as not fall the trap laid by UMNO.
written by harrbm, March 17, 2008 00:27:43
>
OH MY god ! OH MY GOD !

My mathematical calculations, equations and the sentiments shows a high probability of ANWAR achieving the objective.

My goodness...

I hope Malaysians is ready for this.

What a twist!

>

written by agadam magadam, March 17, 2008 01:18:49
Anwar is almost there.. No such thing as second best for this 'LION'... The Mamak (Mahatir)fellow is trying his best to topple Badawi and replace him with Najis.. So that he will be safe from Anwar's wrath.. But ..it's not going to happen.. Anwar will soon be PM and then the Mamak gets hung upside by his balls.... Cant' you all feel the undercurrent..????
written by penang1, March 17, 2008 01:35:13
Fact of the matter is - there is no one honest enough from the BN camp that the people can believe.

And I am not kidding !

Everybody is on the take. Everybody's hand is in the till. All the megaprojects, all the billions of ringgits missing, you can find fingerprints of BN.

Oh yes, many are planning to save themselves now. Some are even contacting foreign embassies on emigration. While others, like Zaid Ibrahim, are trying their best to re-do their image --- champion of the disabled, hero for the people ... but it just won't work.

The people have 50 years of experience. We have seen it all.

DSAI may not be perfect, but at least, he got the experience, and he know the ropes. We simply don't trust najib, hisham or even ku li, for they are way too deep in sin.

And my last advise to the BN folks - run, if you can. Becoz we are coming after you and your bank accounts !
written by Chuang Tze, March 17, 2008 01:38:59
You guys at Malaysia Insider, and Asia Sentinel, should keep this mum !! This has been worked at ever since the results were finalized for the GE !!! Let's not publicize this too much and keep the details of the strategy quiet so DSAI has enough space with which to work his magic.

Personally, I am expecting this to happen not in the next few weeks, but after DSAI can be re-elected into Parliament after April, and before the UMNO summit, say sometime in May, or June, if we Malaysians are lucky we should have a BR Govt. by then, and be rid of the Barisan Najis and its racial politics and corruption for the next 5 years !!! YES !!!
written by sheppardlight, March 17, 2008 03:26:30
If Anwar really can be the next PM in the next few weeks...its multiple orgasm!

I remember back in 97, how much i wish this Barisan Government would be out so they can be hanged on the trees.
written by Negarakuku, March 17, 2008 04:45:05
If Anwar really can be PM?

Anwar is an old Umno member, we must not forget that but I think he is a "new Anwar" not a racial MP anymore so why not? I believe people should be given a second chance. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Kopi37, March 17, 2008 09:57:46
Looks like Anwar is the only one but he is still not the MP yet, just how soon he can be one or perhaps he will have to go for amendment of the constitution, the election act in order to lawfully install him as the next PM?

We definitely support him to be our next PM! If not him, then who else?! Najib? It will be a total nightmare for all the Rakyat! Who wants a man of that character to be our Supremo must be mad and insane!........................ smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Namaste, March 17, 2008 13:35:13
Certainly justice will be done to DSAI for what he has gone through and UMNO and BN coalition will see this big wave coming as he has the keys to all locks. TDM you are forgiven anyway and that is the difference between you and DSAI. Who else had the redential like him at the moment? Poor Pak Lah you have a huge task ahead and to undergo all this shit caused by your arrogant Ministers and 4th floor goons.
written by Kcc, March 17, 2008 13:58:37
Our focus now is to ensure that BR lead their respective States well with minimal - or preferably zero - mistakes. Whether Anwar soon becomes the next PM or not should not be a major concern to us. We know that it will eventually happen, and we know that. It's just a matter of time but we don't know when. So while waiting, we just get on with our lives and let the governments do their jobs.
written by Kopi37, March 17, 2008 14:41:07
Yes, brilliant! Let the state Governments go through the transitional process and then we will appraise their integrity of works and fulfillment of manifestos to ensure they surpass the baseline criteria before we crown them too much!

Once bitten twice shy and therefore, all Rakyat must discreetly analysize and weigh their qualification of suitability to ensure not to jump from the hot pan into the fire! Can we afford to be run over by the 2nd tzunami?!..............
written by Sudahlah tu, March 17, 2008 15:47:47
Saya melihat arus perubahan rakyat kali ini cukup menakutkan ramai pemimpin UMNO serta komponen2 BN yang lain.
Mereka tahu yang perubahan kali ini membawa erti yang rakyat lebih bersedia mengambil risiko dan mengharap pendekatan yang baru untuk masa depan Malaysia.
Kalau betul khabar angin tentang peluang DSAI mengetuai BR sebagai PM, saya percaya rakyat akan menyambut perlantikannya dengan hati yang terbuka dan sokong padu.
written by panca, March 17, 2008 17:41:47
If Anwar becomes PM.....

Many would think at their back of their heads if Anwar would still be Anwar of umno(as a decoy to the voters who back PKR). Would he be the same old umno or would he not when he becomes PM?

Why would he want go back to the old ways when he has a lease new life, more promising that supporters fought with him to what he is today? Doesn't many things gone through a man like him while in prison, endure the hardship of the bias sentence makes a greater thinking man for fairness, justice and cleaner and good governance be the priority in a government to be? There are lots of questions who makes or breaks a man?! Why would he want to throw that away, now that he has a second chance after umno?

In short, he was an umno man, a malay, a muslim. He became One with umno then he learns more by being thrashed by these goons, they stayed away from him when he was in trouble. He learned many things from how he has lived like an umno lives! Then as he learnt, now he unlearns, he is out, he is Anwar of the political CHANGE the voters voted. The change of guard. The CHANGE takes place with voters and leaders and within themselves, Be Changed!

We needed that badly, that change that can transform Malaysia for All.