Perak Gerakan Proposes BN Becomes Single Party For all Races PDF Print
Sunday, 16 March 2008 21:13

(Bernama) -- Perak Gerakan today proposed the dissolution of all component parties of the Barisan Nasional (BN) and the conversion of the coalition into a single political party accepting direct membership regardless of race.

Its chairman, Datuk Chang Ko Youn, said this was necessary to ensure that the BN remained relevant in the current political scenario following the recent general election where Malaysians did not vote for parties representing any one community.

"Many voters did not vote for candidates based on race or ethnicity. This shows a decline in racist politics," he told reporters at Wisma Gerakan, here.

Chang, who is also Gerakan vice-president, said that if the proposal was accepted, then the BN component parties should be dissolved and the BN must be established as a single political party to face the next general election.

He said the proposal was the outcome following the feedback and opinions received from most of the Gerakan divisions in Perak.

He also said that the conversion of the BN into a single political party would also help it to face up to the challenge posed by the DAP, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and PAS.

The Umno-led 14-party BN coalition failed to recapture Kelantan from PAS and lost Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor to the opposition in the March 8 general election.

At the federal level, the BN won 140 seats, eight short of the two-third majority in the 222-seat parliament.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by Malaysian Abroad, March 16, 2008 21:33:22
Hmm. This sounds like deja vu to my ears. Only a few days ago I posted a comment about the possiblilty of the country coming up with an almost utopian two party system where racial politics is eliminated and where we will take our first steps towards becoming identified as Malaysians.
written by thum, March 16, 2008 21:39:50
I don't think the top leaders and those UMNOputras would agree to it.
tak cukup makan. smilies/cheesy.gif
They will find some excuse and validate that excuse as the truth.
hell with them.
Gerakan should join the the new PKR-DAP-PAS alliance smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by karyeowl, March 16, 2008 21:59:56

Not in your wildest dreams that BN will be a single political party! UMNO always is the taikor in BN. UMNO = BN, and BN UMNO.

The chances of the PKR-DAP-PAS turning into a single political party would be much greater than BN. If the Barisan Rakyat wins again in the 13th GE, UMNO maybe irrelevant, and formation of single political party of BN may then be possible.

written by angfaulith, March 16, 2008 23:18:17
yes i totally agree. under the stewardship of pas , barisan rakyat can become a stronger entity indeed....
written by Msian 2, March 17, 2008 00:39:12
How cannnn? Mana boleh cari makan. Girlfriend sini sana nak minta ini itu, nak mayat mega projects. Nak rumah besar value at $60 million. Orang kampung boleh balek kampung changkul kuat. Sampai election time, we promise projects. Is there any determination for a Malaysian Malaysia or more of how much more can we korek Malaysia.
written by Chuang Tze, March 17, 2008 00:49:19
Its not only the Bangsa Malaysia issue which this would seek to address, but 2 facts remain:-

1. The BN is massively corrupt and this is just "eyewash" for the RAKYAT as the Umnoputras will still abound in the BN.

2. Gerakan sold us out before, and unless its leaders such as Chang Ko Youn, Lim Keng Yaik, Koh Tsu Koon etc. all apologize for selling out the RAKYAT in the first place by joining BN in 1972, why should we even listen to these BN running dogs ??
As they say, my luck is good and I can't hear the ghosts (Gerakan running dogs) talk !!!
written by mara koman, March 17, 2008 07:51:48

Hello gerakan,, if you realy meam what you say. Thats not going to happen in Umnoputra's. They are blood sucking scums,,, they dont mind go against their own poor malays..

-Belive me , the Umno putra's will use racial issue like kg baru, may 13, malay marginisation. This is the Umnoputra's alibi ha.....
written by pywong, March 17, 2008 09:29:18
No need. Very soon the hanger-ons will implode, leaving only UMNO standing. Then they will have a one-party party, with no clothes. smilies/grin.gif

py wong