Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Petrified in Perak

Petrified in Perak PDF Print
Saturday, 15 March 2008 20:52

“But I was quite petrified and kept looking down on the ground. Never in my life have I been so scared around Malays. At that point and about 30 minutes after, I really wished BN had won Perak with UMNO holding the majority and the DAP in the Opposition as usual. Or at least PAS and PKR had more seats than DAP". 

No joke. Not alarmist. Well, it was confined to the North-South Highway. The Simpang Pulai Rest Junction, I think. It also had a Petronas gas station.

I was hungry, so I ordered nasi ayam. At first, of the four to five Malay staff there, all ignored me and it took a few times to take my order. And when my drink was late and I called the boy, he acted dumb till finally they brought my drink without a smile. Not to mention my chicken portion was almost half of that of the Malay men sitting next to me….My tomato and cucumber were also smaller. Am I being over-sensitive?

Anyway, I was quite annoyed with their attitude and service but sensed that they were trying to piss me off. I was there. Maybe another five Chinese. The stalls were manned by Malays. Some other travelers who stopped over were also Malay. And I don’t know.

But I was quite petrified and kept looking down on the ground. Never in my life have I been so scared around Malays. At that point and about 30 minutes after, I really wished BN had won Perak with UMNO holding the majority and the DAP in the Opposition as usual. Or at least PAS and PKR had more seats than DAP.

From the results, the state government barely has the support of the majority group. I don’t know why? But they looked angry. It was just the stares, the angry look. Or the lack of eye-contact or usual chatter and smiles. Generally, in Perak, or in that junction, they are quite friendly.

READ MORE  

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by seek justice, March 15, 2008 21:01:31
Relax Jed! You were tired, so were the people manning the stalls. Its the school holidays, there must have been a lot of traffic and they were just plain tired.

God Willing, nothing untoward will happen to any one of us, the rakyat who just want to have a fair representation.
written by talkingback79, March 15, 2008 21:04:43
First time i read yr column. I think yr points are chicken shit. They are shallow, colorless and very hype dampened.
written by ultraman3, March 15, 2008 21:06:40
I think you are over imaginative (perasan), maybe it's just that their customer service is bad..
written by temanmu, March 15, 2008 21:07:21
If you felt insecure, you should have left immediately. You just needed 20 - 30 mins till the next stopover to satisfy your hunger.

It beats having your anxiety level raised and producing more gastric juices!

Anyway, those related to PLUS, the highway robbers, are mostly UMNO supporters... need come "strings" to get those stalls!
written by teo siew chin, March 15, 2008 21:11:41
can one guage overall sentiments based on one pit-stop on a hi-way?
written by notsosmart, March 15, 2008 21:13:30
Don't worry yourself unnecessary, Jed. Those unhappy faces could be a BN supporter. If you are not happy with them then don't go there next time. There are others Malay who are much happy to talk to you about the new gomen.

Just ignore those sore loser. Like those BN protester in Penang. They just could not believed and accepted it.
written by educationist, March 15, 2008 21:14:15
Take it easylah! Ya, who knows, those chaps may be supporters of BN. But, surely they are not going lynxed you.
written by kamal, March 15, 2008 21:20:14
Sorry for such behaviour from my people. Commonly, Malays are very friendly and easy people and will not treat another even another Malaysian race differently.

Maybe these are UMNOputras who feel that they will be deprived of that 'special' privilege.

Malaysian wealth is for all of us to share.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by charcoy feng, March 15, 2008 21:37:19
Don't think everyone will behave like Husam who you admire so much......
written by billykbk, March 15, 2008 21:42:06
Excuse me, pls don't speculate. How could you feel insecure when the supposedly Malay workers gave you a bad service and looked stern to you? That sort of thing makes you insecure? Then, don't ever go out. Some Chinese are worse than that, and you feel safe. Maybe, you stumbled upon UMNO lackeys/members who are still reeling in shock after the defeat nationwide, and when they see a Chinese they don't feel nice. Apa lah lu!

I've travelled extensively, and frequently stop at these rest areas for my meals. At times, I meet such workers who NEVER care about customer service, and when you look at them you wanna puke.

Don't let your imagination run wild la. All M'sians are good except the BN/UMNO donkeys, ok? If you're still scared, call me next time you travel. Crazy!
written by Ben Nordin, March 15, 2008 21:47:04
Relax, Jed. It's just your imagination. Or maybe of all the places you could go you went to the one place that supported BN. smilies/cheesy.gif Anyway, I chatted with a few Malays from Perak who voted for DAP and Chinese who voted for PAS and PKR. And they're all friendly. Hey, maybe they think you're MCA? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Milo, March 15, 2008 21:47:22
You only have one life. You cannot live in fear or live your life because of another attitude. The general rakyat has been angry with the BN for so long, so it is time for their dumb supporter to be unhappy. The impact of the opposition massive win is that we now have a choice. If either side does not perform or tries to use threats or abuses its power, we will vote the other side instead. That is the BIG PICTURE we should be more concern with for the sake of Malaysia and the future of our childern.

I say, if the service is not good in any stall manned by anyone of any race, go else where.
written by mimag2005, March 15, 2008 21:49:05

Hi Erin,

Surprised to learn of your experience.

I was there last Tuesday.. Had a chat with the staffs. Thumbs up for BR..!!!

HEY NEWLY ELECTED LEADERS...!!!!!

PLEASE STOP YOUR CHAUVINISTIC WAYS...!!!

WATCH YOUR ACTIONS....!!!

......THINK....!!!!.... BEFORE YOU UTTER....

written by Kcc, March 15, 2008 21:55:15
Jed,

I'm not sure if your experience is really what it was; or it could be purely imagination. I certainly hope, for the sake of this country, it's the latter. To prove if your fear is valid, try visiting other Malay eatery or stalls. Try talking to them. If ALL of them ignore you and give you the same lousy treatment, then your fear is justified.
written by Mr Smith, March 15, 2008 21:56:28
Hallucination. Nothing more. Jed, please grow up.
written by asza, March 15, 2008 22:00:10
Erin,

Sorry to say but "what you do to yourself none can do to you". I think this is over imagination and a nice thriller story.Before looking and other people's faces and judging them i think we should look at our own first.
For those who think, can get alot from ur story (may it be true or false).
Even that i do not belong to any of the races i felt hurt by some of the islamophobic statements made by DAP people.
Be cool man Malaysians deserve more than this, you all are great people smilies/wink.gif)
written by adzera, March 15, 2008 22:01:02
What a moronic, shallow and racist view from a single incident. You must be one of those idiots that have mental condition in dealing with people from other races and colors. Due to their own paranoia and insecurity, they feel threaten and scared, just like the white man that enters the black ghettos back in the 80's. Come on...to wish BN had won the election from this one experience shows the low level of tolerance and trust towards others. FUCJ OFF RACIST!
written by Toyolbuster, March 15, 2008 22:07:52
Just because you are scared of the malays, you wanna vote back BN? Till when are you gonna live in this valley of dinasaurs and be treated as 3rd class pariah? I am from Ipoh, in other words Ipoh Mali, and I live near gunung rapat, which isn’t that far from simpang pulai. We have lots of malay friends there who are like abang adik to us. I have been frequenting to many of such stalls like the one that you went to. Some of these “waiters”, you really want to wring their neck because they are just plain lazy and lay-backs. You do find such characters too in some big hotels. Don’t be so paranoia like Kit siang. Your “enemies” are the BN leeches, not malays. But just your thought of voting back BN really scare the shit out of me. Never realise there can be such contented and educated 3rd class subjects of BN.
written by glock17, March 15, 2008 22:48:03
to tis writer...

pls relax, there r no racial issues here. most of the workers are tired and exploited by their bosses and not about you. i would suggest u go get a check-up at hospital bahagia for bipolar disorder.

glock17
written by babakl, March 15, 2008 22:48:35
Hai Jed, I think you r at wrong place. I have meet very nice, good friendly Malays who will smile and sit besides u to have a chat. A bit tired and sensitive at that moment for you. I say it again, Generally Malays are friendy and nice i mean those not breed from umno.
written by macaufan, March 15, 2008 22:48:47
Those malays were cheated by umno >50years still don realise they've been cheated & they still believe in those lies published by umno regime control mainstream media. POOR guys...... d message/result fr this 12th GE is very clear that m'sian(malay,chinese&indians)hv weak up & we r all united to fight for our rights,justice, free & fair equality for all m'sians !
written by ralverd, March 15, 2008 22:53:48
Sorry but IMO this article doesn't make any sense at all. First, what makes you think that the people who work in the store are Malays? Can't they be Indonesians, or other immigrants who aren't at all related to our political situations? Secondly, you are on a roadside food stall, cheap food and all, do you expect first class service? Third, what made you think that they were picking on DAP supporters? Can't they be DAP supporters themselves? How would they know if you voted for DAP in the first place? Just because you received better service from Chinese lads who were probably eyeing you up, does that tell you that these people are discriminating against you? AND FINALLY, what would you say if these people had done the same to you if BN was ruling the state instead?

- I'm not Chinese. I'm Malaysian -
written by sitiawan, March 15, 2008 23:02:53
Your Imagination is running WILD!!!

You should drive straight to TANJUNG RAMBUTAN,

It's a stone throw away anyway.

If you want the add,let me know.
written by talkingback79, March 15, 2008 23:03:06
'I really wished BN had won Perak with UMNO holding the majority and the DAP in the Opposition as usual. Or at least PAS and PKR had more seats than DAP".....

- So which party did you really vote for then???!!!

Perhaps that scenario was real but you sound like a very plastic person with an equally plastic conviction.
written by TingMK, March 15, 2008 23:03:32
I'm not pessimistic as Jed Young, nor optimistic as others. I choose to be careful - carefully watch what UMNO is doing and the response of the Malays. And also pray earnestly for it - for all races to put away racism and truely become a bangsa Malaysia in mentality, emotion and deeds.
written by talkingback79, March 15, 2008 23:14:37
MORE, ADZERA....MORE....!!! Yr comments are not far from mine. This Jed is way off, aye?
Before this election, I alays had that suspicion of malays. I mean the way their big UMNO caretaker shouts about supremacy and all that kris shit. But now i know that there is a 49% chance (election result) that every malay that i see is as much a normal person as everybody else cos he/she also has a sense of pride in defending his/her honour...
written by talkingback79, March 15, 2008 23:17:07
...and have enough guts to vote for the opposition. Now THAT IS WHAT I CALL HAVING GUTS..

(FYI, I am a Chinese Malaysian.....from Penang)
written by talkingback79, March 15, 2008 23:24:54
I was in a RapidKL bus in Sentral when suddenly the Malay man sitting next to me, a total stranger, stared at me and started talking loudly to me and in frightful manner. What did he utter? His point was that from now on, things will be happily different!! His words moved me.
written by temenggong, March 15, 2008 23:31:38
What a chicken shit chinaman! Or woman! Imagining on top of that.

I have traversed the north-south Plus highway more than 160 times in the last five years. The malays manning the rest stops are often like that! Just low on courtesy. Often they are so low on manners and efficiency that you feels like slapping them! Same in any sector. Try Hilton KL.

This recent elections has given a reminder to everyone just where they stand; mostly in a fools paradise. Notice LKY's rantings like a lost soul! The malays too are slowly coming to find out that they are not the masters of the land, and that it was a lie sold to them, and that they gullibly bought it. They are angry with that, and not your face Jed!

If you want to vote the BN next time, go ahead. Don't bother to give us warnings. Not in the next ten years can umno or BN reform!

What was the point of your pathetic message anyway? To frighten us?
written by talkingback79, March 15, 2008 23:33:47
The only people right thinking Malaysians should watch out for are the mamaks. Knowing their shrewd mentality, and their new found ground level integrity to be recognised as Malays, there will be attempts to instigate the malays against the chinese and indians (their rightful race). I believe its starting to surface.
Any person who would sell their own ethnicity for another is toilet stuff.
So my Malay brothers and sisters, please be wary of this.
written by Negarakuku, March 16, 2008 00:43:22
If what you experienced was true, those are low grade Malays. Some Chinese are even worst! smilies/grin.gif

We must learn to respect each other and not be afraid of each other. This attitude is towards a progressive Malaysia.
written by hiro, March 16, 2008 01:12:27
LET ME STATE THIS IN BOLD FOR ALL TO SEE: THERE IS NO TENSION FROM THE MALAYS BY AND LARGE. THE ONLY ONES WHO ARE LIKELY TO CAUSE TROUBLE, OR WHO IS ALREADY CAUSING TROUBLE WOULD BE UMNO MEMBERS. SINCE BADAWI WAS THREATENED, HIS DIVISION HAS BEEN TRYING TO MANUFACTURE MALAY ANGER AGAINST THE PENANG STATE GOVERNMENT FOR ALLEGED REMOVAL OF NEP TO DIVERT ATTENTION FROM HIS TROUBLES. THAT'S JUST A LIE AND MOST MALAYSIANS HAVE ALREADY WISENED UP TO THE FACT THAT EVERYTIME UMNO GOES THROUGH A ROUGH PATCH, IT IS SOMEONE ELSE WHO BECOMES THE VICTIM. BUT WE ARE ALL SMARTER NOW. AND RUMOURS CAN BE CHECKED BY CREDIBLE SITES SUCH AS THIS. WE MALAYSIANS WILL NOT ALLOW UMNO TO TRIGGER RIOTS EVER AGAIN.
written by adzera, March 16, 2008 01:29:04
This type of prejudice we are going to face at home, office, factory, shops, etc, in our effort to create a truly bangsa malaysia, irrespective of race, color or religion. Race is just a label, black/white/yellow are just colors and religion is a personal faith and beliefs between you and your maker. The self imposed racial barrier...which we have been taught causes misjudgment and untrustworthiness towards others....that even a small thing like 'being served nasi ayam with small cucumber' and f**ked up service seemed like a racial discrimination as stated by the writer. We shall not let race becomes the inhibitor in our beliefs in creating a truly bangsa malaysia, UMNO racist pigs will take advantage of these racial sentiments as their existence depends on it. We shall make them irrelevant when we become color blind and these racial barriers are lifted completely.
written by wanchen, March 16, 2008 02:05:23
'allo...why so paranoid la? You sure you didnt have your zipper down or something? This is really carrying it too far. You can go anywhere and no one cares if you are a Chinese, Indian or whatever. Life goes on, except for the politicians and their toads...
written by Wisdom above, March 16, 2008 02:15:35
YB LKS , legally trained , suffered a mental block .

YB LKS never see himself as part of a New State Government. He cannot as a MP.

YB LGE read the People’s Declaration & He endorsed it.

YB LKS did not understand what he had read? or he never read it at all?

I called it a paradigm shock.

YB LKS cannot see through the battle cries in ‘Barisan Rakyat” , people voice.

Barisan Rakyat connotes One Unity, One common aim, One Voice.

See his posting in his blog cited by MSM colorful reporting caused much confusion.

You feel uneasy at nasi lemak stall is real . Spirit of Barisan Rakyat is not there after YB LKS posting in his blog.

Maybe you ate your nasi lemak among staunch BN supporters who were lousy losers.

After 3 weeks, things will get back to normal.

Crude Oil at US$ 110 a barrel will help all Malaysians to unite against inflation.

Just smile at all times even your coffee gets cold.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.
written by Chuang Tze, March 16, 2008 02:49:30
These stall-owners/ operators are the Umnoputra kecik, just as all the shop-owners in KLIA are !! How do you think they got such choice business locations ?!! Of course they are not happy.

Also, you will chance upon some Malays with the old mentality that they should be treated special cos they are bumiputra ... and suddenly they realize that they have been made use of by all the corrupt politicians in the BN to stay in power, and they can't decide which is worse - to continue supporting the BN and contribute to the plunder of Malaysia or face the brave new world !!

Quite a mental adjustment to make!!
written by mimi76, March 16, 2008 03:12:19
Jed, I think you are just being paranoid. I think the people are more united than ever. We are in a common cause make umno obselete in PRU 13.
written by Anak Kampung, March 16, 2008 05:18:01
Jed is a symptom of what is wrong in Malaysia. How is it possible that there are people in this country whose only contact with people of another race is at a highway rest stop? And I am sure this goes all ways and is true for all races. These barriers 'on the ground' need to be broken down if we are to move further. This is part of what we need to work out instead of 'reacting' the the election results.
written by asianguy, March 16, 2008 08:23:00
Perhaps the Malays working there voted DAP/PKR/PAS, and they thought you were an MCA guy! smilies/grin.gif
written by talkingback79, March 16, 2008 11:04:37
I don't know whether you chaps realise or not but since after the election, the mood here among bloggers seemed to be reinforced with much confidence and goodwill which is taking us towards a more understanding path.
I know everyone here is faceless...male or female, malay, chinese, indian east malaysians etc etc but nevertheless, the bashing has subdued. Reason? Obvious. We have booked the culprits - the UMNO dogs, the ballless MCAs and The Black Hole of MIC. Would be a phenomenal escalation what is happening here is channeled all the way to the kampongs and villagers.
written by mypanida, March 16, 2008 12:31:55
luckily they didn't poison you.....but i might... after reading such utter rubbish from you.

zzzz
written by Areyaar, March 16, 2008 19:52:08
It could be the guys there were just being lazy and/or tired. But if you did feel threatened or ignored or whatever, I don't know if I would have dared eat or drink whatever they served because if, indeed, they were resentful of you, goodness knows what they could have done to your food and drink. You know some people are capable of all sorts of things.

Anyway, most Malaysians, be they Malays, Chinese or Indians, are not petty minded people. They are too busy living their own lives to take it out on strangers.
written by Anak Desa, March 17, 2008 16:40:00
I am surprised at this article mentioned about rest area and experience at Simpang Pulai Petronas Station. The writer is a preceived view and make assumptions as he oe she thinks and acts while expecting the same around the person. Pls grow up....