Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Small things please small minds

Small things please small minds PDF Print
Saturday, 15 March 2008 14:08

Let me say this again. You are no longer the opposition, so please stop thinking and acting like an opposition. You are now the government, so please get down to acting like a government. The voters put you in office to run the state so can we please see you running the state.

One of the Parti Rakyat Malaysia (PRM) leaders -- I won't mention his name though -- said something very funny about ten years ago. “PRM has never won any election so we always prepare ourselves for defeat. God help us if we even win the elections. We will not know how to manage victory. But we have a lot of experience managing defeat. So we are very happy to be given the 'danger's seats in the 1999 general elections. If we are given 'safe' seats and we actually win we might panic because we will not know what to do if we win.”

Actually, as funny as this may have sounded ten years ago, today, this is no longer funny. In the recent general election, the opposition did prepare itself for defeat but the opposite to that happened. And now they don't know what to do. To be fair to PAS, though, they did prepare for victory. They prepared themselves for taking over Kelantan, Terengganu, Kedah and Perlis. They did not, however, prepare themselves for Penang, Perak and Selangor. They thought, at best, they will only be able to deny Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in these three states.

DAP and PKR, on the other hand, never thought that the three 'mixed' states could ever fall to the opposition. Maybe the four 'Malay heartland' states face better prospects of falling but this would merely see PAS emerge as the Taiko of these states which will not involve DAP and PKR too much other than a 'token' representation in the state governments.

But the unexpected happened. And this is because the opposition did not listen to us, the rakyat. You can't say we did not tell them often enough. Even in my ceramahs all over the country I openly declared that Barisan Nasional will lose its two-thirds majority in Parliament, five states will fall to the opposition, and two states will see Barisan Nasional lose it two-thirds majority in the State Assemblies. Then I named the five states that will fall -- Kelantan, Terengganu, Kedah, Perlis and Penang -- and the two states that will see Barisan Nasional lose its two-thirds majority in the State Assembly -- Perak and Selangor.

The opposition leaders just laughed and asked me, “Betul ke Petra? You ni tipu pengundi.”

This pissed me off and in my ceramah at Kampong Raja Uda in Port Kelang I told the voters, “Kampong Raja Uda has never fallen to the opposition since Merdeka. This time around I want you to give this kampong that carries my grandfather's name to the opposition. If you don't then I will never step foot in this place again. And if you give Kampong Raja Uda to Barisan Nasional you will be mencemar (defiling) my grandfather's name and I want you to remove my grandfather's name and change the name of this kampong to something else.”

“Aiyah, why do you say something like that?” Ronnie Liu asked me.

“Why, what's wrong with saying something like that?”

“If we don't win then you can never come back here again.”

“If we don't win then I won't want to come back here anyway. So what's the difference? But we will win. That is why I dare make that declaration.”

“Aiyoh, you are so confident lah. I am not so sure.”

That's right, the calun himself went cold when I made that open declaration because he himself was not too sure whether we had any chance of winning a seat that has always been a ruling party stronghold since 50 years of Merdeka. And we not only won Port Kelang but we won the whole state as well.

Okay, so I was slightly off in my prediction. We did win five states though, but it did not include Perlis and Terengganu. Perlis and Terengganu were switched with Perak and Selangor, the two states I said we will be able to deny Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in the State Assembly. Nevertheless, it was still five and the five are not all in the Malay heartland as what the opposition thought would happen. Three of the five are in 'mixed' states, which means Malay votes alone can't do the trick. You need the votes of the Indians and Chinese as well. Even PAS candidates such as Dr Siti Mariah won in seats where the Malays are a minority and unless you can get overwhelming support from the non-Muslims it would be impossible to win.

And that was when the problem started, when the opposition unexpectedly won the three 'mixed' states. Thereafter, the opposition did not know what to do. It took awhile for it to sink in it that the next step would be to quickly form the government. Instead, they got sidetracked and the whole process got delayed. Fine, there were some 'real' issues -- at least to those opposition leaders although I do not see them as real enough issues -- but some were so stupid that I felt like kicking these lamebrain dodo birds in the backside.

For example, when you have an audience with the Sultan during the swearing-in ceremony, you need to be properly attired. Proper protocol needs to be observed. Certainly you cannot use jeans, T-shirts and slippers. Malays need to wear a Baju Melayu and non-Malays a suit (not a sports jacket which does not match the pants). Malay women must be in Baju Kurung and non-Malay women must be in a dress -- not wearing pants like what one DAP State Assemblywoman did recently. Malay women should wear a scarf or selendang (no need to fully cover the head) and the men must wear a songkok, preferably even non-Malays though they may be wearing a suit instead of a Baju Melayu.

Even when you have an audience with the Thai King, Japanese Emperor, or the Queen of England there are dress codes to observe. But the DAP State Assemblymen refuse to wear a songkok. They argue that they refuse to 'look like a Malay'. Hey, these same people are wearing a suit. Why do they not protest for being asked to look like a 'yellow' Mat Salleh? A suit is not Chinese. It is western. You don't mind wearing a suit and start looking like a banana -- yellow outside but white inside -- but you refuse to wear a songkok because it is a Malay thing. “We are not Muslims,” they reply. Indonesians also wear songkoks and millions who do are not Muslims, they are Christians.

Teng Chang Khim of DAP wants to become the Deputy Menteri Besar of Selangor. He has organised demonstrations the last couple of days to pressure his own party into proposing his name for Deputy Menteri Besar. But he refuses to wear a songkok. Instead, he wants to become a Chinese 'hero' by boycotting the audience with the Sultan of Selangor to protest being asked to wear a songkok. He wants to become the Deputy Menteri Besar but he boycotts the Sultan. What the fuck! How the hell is he going to be sworn in as the Deputy Menteri Besar if he refuses to go meet the Sultan? Does he want the Sultan to just send him a SMS?

The formation of the Selangor state government has to face delay just because, amongst others, one DAP man wants to become a Chinese 'hero' by refusing to wear a songkok. Anyway, the Sultan has helped solve Teng's dilemma by declaring that there will be no post of Deputy Menteri Besar. Now Teng need not worry whether he should continue being a Chinese 'hero' or transform into a 'traitor to the Chinese race' by wearing a songkok. And I suggest Teng also not be appointed an EXCO Member or else he would be placed in a serious dilemma as to whether to wear a songkok or not when he has to appear before the Sultan to take his oath of office.

Maybe back home you wear your shoes in your house. But when you come to my house you take off your shoes. And if you refuse to do so because you do not want to 'look like a Malay' then no need to come to my house. In my house I dictate the house rules and dress code. This is my home and I am king of my castle. You are just my guest and you must act like how a guest should act. And if I invite you for my daughter's wedding, and if I say that all guests must wear a songkok, you can decide whether to boycott my daughter's wedding or come wearing a songkok.

These DAP chaps are trying to become heroes of the Chinese race. They do not want to have anything to do with what is perceived as Islamic or Malay traditions. Malays are very happy to respect and observe Chinese traditions. If you invite us to your house for a wedding, and if you dictate the dress code, we would be very happy to comply. We will not boycott the wedding just because we do not want to do what is considered Chinese. But this does not appear to be the Chinese mentality at all.

Come on DAP. What is so jijik about a songkok? There are more important things to do than fight with the Sultan over what we should place on our heads when we appear before His Highness to take our oath of office. We have Selangor, the most important state in Malaysia, to run. Do you mean to say that just because of a songkok you are prepared to let the whole state government fall?

And another thing, what is it with these protest demonstrations? You are no longer the opposition. You should stop thinking like the opposition and start acting like the ruling government because that is what you are. Small things please small minds. And that is what we have voted into office, leaders with small minds. And these small minds get easily distracted by small things instead of quickly forming the government and start running the state. Until today, one week after winning the elections, the Selangor State Government has not been formed yet. Thus far only the Menteri Besar has been sworn in. The State EXCO, which is the machinery that actually runs the states, has not been set up yet or taken its oath of office.

We hope the new Menteri Besar, Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, will not repeat Khir Toyo's mistake. We just kicked Khir Toyo out and the last thing we want is to see a clone of the man we just sent packing. Khir Toyo held too many portfolios and he kept all the important portfolios to himself while the 'useless' portfolios were given to the other EXCO Members. This is exactly what Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is doing. Abdullah kept all the key Ministries for himself. And because he is holding too many Ministries, and all the important ones on top of that, his Ministries are not functioning and therefore the country is not functioning as well.

Khalid must overhaul the old, failed system. He should focus on being a good Menteri Besar and not try to monopolise all the portfolios, which will just swamp him and bog him down. There are many capable people, so he should get all the others to help him the run the state. He should not treat the Selangor state government as a family sundry shop where the main man is salesman, checkout counter clerk, cashier, bookkeeper and storekeeper all in one. Sure, the Menteri Besar should also hold one or two portfolios, but he should not hog six or seven of the most important portfolios and then throw the minor ones to the others. This will just ensure failure and come the next election the voters will kick him out and will give the state back to Barisan Nasional. And it will be 30 years before the opposition can ever dream of retaking the state.

Let me say this again. You are no longer the opposition, so please stop thinking and acting like an opposition. You are now the government, so please get down to acting like a government. The voters put you in office to run the state so can we please see you running the state. All this haggling over how many EXCO seats each party should get and who should be the EXCO Members and whether to wear a songkok or not has delayed the setting up of the government and this has allowed the previous administration to shred and destroy many crucial documents. By the time you finally take over many files will no longer exist.

There is one thing you have forgotten. The Menteri Besar and EXCO Member posts do not belong to the political parties. They belong to us, the rakyat who voted for you. So can PKR, DAP and PAS please stop quarrelling. Stop demanding you want this and you want that because all these posts do not belong to you. They belong to us. By right you should have come back to ask us, the voters who put you in office, as to what you should do. It is we, the voters, who should have the final say. Now, not only do you ignore us, the voters, when you set up the government, but you squabble amongst yourselves as if all this belongs to you in the first place.

The state governments do not belong to DAP or PKR or PAS. They belong to the voters. We are only entrusting you to manage our assets. But you act as if the state and the positions in the state belong to you and you fight with each other for control over them. If you are not careful I am going to mobilise thousands of rakyat and we will march to the Menteri Besar's office to give you a hard kick on your backside. And don't test us. We will do it. We, the rakyat, give you till Monday to prove to us you have a functioning state government. If not, on Tuesday, expect a huge crowd outside your office.

The rakyat have spoken. When we said we, the voters, will deny Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament and will at the same time give you five states, we did just that. And if we say we will be in front of your office on Tuesday if by Monday we don't see a functioning government, you can bet your sweet ninny we will do just that as well.

In the meantime, to all voters, standby in case we need you to be part of the largest assembly of voters Selangor State has ever seen in 50 years since Merdeka. Either we see a functioning government or we are going storm the Selangor State Secretariat building just like the French stormed the Bastille.

Comments (142)Add Comment
written by Heikal, March 15, 2008 14:23:45
Do not worry everyone. The Barisan Rakyat states will be govern well. BR has leaders who doctors, ulamak, CEO, engineers, scholars, corporate figures and so on. They are intelligent men and women. Have trust in them. They are just inexperience with this kind of power. Please remember Kelanatan, when PAS first came into power it face a big debt. Now they almost stteled all of their debts and from being one of the poorest state in Malaysia, now it is only the 6th poorest despite the rural economy and no natural resources, and Kelantanese have one of the highest spending power in the country.
disagree 18
agree 148
written by hiro, March 15, 2008 14:27:50
Hmm, I am intrigued whether the issue of Teng not wanting to wear a songkok is real. I would certainly want to know his reasons for not wanting to wear one. Could his objection be that it wasn't voluntary? The Sultan of Selangor is fairly forward looking for what I hear - would he have insisted on a non-Malay wearing a songkok?

The funny thing is, when I visited Teng's blog, he mentioned that he may have supporters who wants him to be the DMB, but he is leaving to the wisdom of party leadership for such a decision and has not lobbied for it himself. In light of what he said in his blog, I'm just wondering if the facts stated above are up to date?

But yes, indeed it would be sad if the parties are bickering over posts in Selangor. But I am confident that like Perak, once the big guns step in, it will be amicably resolved. The goodwill between them is still strong. But they better resolve these issues fast and get on to work and train their guns on implementing their manifesto and on BN.

There's no time to lose!
written by babakl, March 15, 2008 14:29:36
RPK, sport on . I too do not care cat is black or white as long it serve its purpose. What the hell all this nonsens of fighting? BTW, bloody dap teng, a songkok does not rep, anything religon or race. It is part of protocal attire. So, go to hell with tour bloody thinking. What a bloody stupid mind and shame to you . I do agree with RPK, If you do not masuk Islam, you still not Muslime. So why because of attire u need to be bodoh sombong. Wait till tne next time round. Dap please drop him or else we will kick him.
disagree 46
written by kasiakanaun, March 15, 2008 14:33:02
Please lah Mr Pete, it takes us 50 years to kick out BN out of Selangor. BR have been there not even for five weeks yet. May be if after 50 days nothing happened, barulah kita pakat-pakat buat apa yang patut.
disagree 22
written by Raja Petra, March 15, 2008 14:35:38
Dear kasiakanaun, by 50 days there will no longer be any documents (read: evidence) left. How do they run the state in the absence of these records? See how fast Guan Eng took over Penang.
agree 139
written by Long Man, March 15, 2008 14:37:23
i'm in... selangorian... please make yourself in standby mode on monday and tuesday...

shittt... i really adores this 'old' man... thanks rpk...
written by surgeffect, March 15, 2008 14:37:59
It's going to be hard to change. When someone has done something for so long, and now it all has to change, like they say, it's hard to teach an old dog new tricks. But now, this old dog must learn new tricks or else it will be put down. This is a bit of an unpleasant situation for everyone except Barisan Nasional. Pushing one to do something in a hurry when one is inexperienced to do it may result in a catastrophe.

That being said, it is still salient that all that is said must be done. Without forming a government sooner, all that must be done can't be done in time. Mind you, the next elections may be just around the corner. Another 4,5 years is not much to bargain with. Within this short period, they must prove themselves and win the support of the rakyat. Time is wasting, and you, the new government, must realise the significance of this.

To DAP, I am your supporter, believing in your nationalistic ideals to create a fair, equal and secular government as how it was meant to be in a first place. The recent elections have not only declared a denial to BN, but also it has shown that we Malaysians, are of no race, but of a Bangsa Malaysia. We can stand together if and when we want to. We have a co-operation that is alien to all in the rest of this blue marble we live in. With nincompoop ideologies that you do not want to wear a songkok, or a baju melayu, or a saree, or a gwailo suit, or a dhoti, or whatever, you are no different from those you chose to oppose. Please wake up and smell this rotting carcass you left in your closet that now you show and be rid of it. We, the rakyat, are the true powers of the democracy, and we have proven this. Don't make a mistake that you will dearly regret. Uncle Lim, you already have apologized once since the elections, do you really want to apologize again and again? How many apologies can we take? It's going to be part of your track record as a new breath in government and knowing that our mainstream media is a pet of the BN, will you risk these chances?

And to PAS, please, all of us agreed that we will want to do away with the NEP. It is opposed to religion as well as to a true democracy. Yes, help the poor, but that is it, help the poor and not only one poor race. The NEP helps only one race no matter how you look at it. To Hadi Awang, you are old school, please, wake up as well, what was given to you today was what we decided to give you. So don't turn around and do things that we didn't want you to do. It can't be any simpler than that.
disagree 24
written by Tornado, March 15, 2008 14:39:33
Hey dude,

Awak nih betul2 bikin malu sama cina. Lu ini cina tahun 50an ka?? Aiyooo...macam mana mau jadi ADUN kalo otak talak jalan.

Pakai songkok tarak kasi lu jadi melayu. sama jugak kalo gua belaja kung fu ma...tarak kasi gua jadik selup Wong Fei Hong...

Ini olang kasi malu cina saja. Selupa abdullah sama shahidan jugak, mauk lawan sama raja....
written by cocomomo, March 15, 2008 14:42:00
Good advice RPK!!

Hope the DAP leaders will listen. If you are only interested in being in the opposition , the voters will grant your desire the next time round. This is a fastatic oppurtunity and use it well and you will be moving up to the federal level.
Hope the DAP leaders can leave up to expectations. Malaysian Malaysia - act for all Malaysians and you will move forward. Behave like MCA/Gerakan or umno and you will loose support of all Malaysians, including the Chinese.
What is wrong with wearing a songkok, Teng? Don't you wear western clothes? Don't you wear a tie? Why can you be a Malaysian and be comfortable with whatever Malysians wear? Please change your narrow mindedness or be cast into history like other racists.
disagree 19
written by malaysianohope, March 15, 2008 14:49:45
Greetings Abang Pete,

I'm glad I made a similar call in your blog titled 'Resurrecting the Dead', where I predicted a 'Tsunami', a denial of 2/3 majority but was slightly off on the call of popular vote exceeding 51% (but we achieved it if only Peninsular Malaysia).

Regarding the other aspects of your article, I fully agree that the Opposition were astounded that they reap so much but for devine intervention, make the Creator smile on us on the glorious night of 0803. They were obviously caught off balance about the proper protocol when dealing with the Royalties but the horse trading is expected, given the mismatch of idealogies of the 3 parties.
written by Jeevan, March 15, 2008 14:51:20
Right on Raja,

We have erred, our forums and protests against the BN did not sink in, until they lost 5 states.

But for BR its even worse, we have given them the 5 states on a platter, it's time for them to wake up to the responsibility. There are many that think they deserve more time to acclimatise, when what they need is actually a Baptism of Fire.

Say the word, whenever it is time for us to wake the BR parties up, the Barisan Rakyat will be ready.

Hidup Barisan Rakyat!!!
written by Hockchew, March 15, 2008 14:53:03
DAP started off as party for petty traders and so now they are behaving like petty traders. Come on, what wrong in wearing a songkok especially if you are going to be a YB, Exco or DMB.

Luckily today the educated professional is joining them in this GE otherwise we can just throw them away since they only have LKS and his cronies. Wakeup DAP, is is a Malaysian Malaysia or a Chinese Malaysian?

I am a Chinese Malaysian of the Christian faith and I have no obljection to wearing a songkok since there is no religious connocation on this matter. I consider it our Malaysian national dress code. Maybe I will just buy a songkok this coming aidilfitri and be prepared in case i become a YB or YAB.

RPK, you wise oldman, I am behind you all the way. Hidup Rakyat Malaysia!
disagree 25
written by Kuku Burung, March 15, 2008 14:56:06
Well, politicians are politicians. That is why I admire RPK's gut in saying that he is not the politician type. But on the other hand, I implore the people, including RPK, please be patient with these lots. I remember reading, in my school days, that when the peasants took over the government in the French revolution, they actually did not know what to do. They killed the nobles, good and bad, women and children. At lease we have these lots who want to see democracy in our country practiced. If, I hope, they have people at heart, they will form a good government, and keep BN morons out for good.
written by Wisdom above, March 15, 2008 14:56:58
..Small things please small minds..

Future shock, culture shock, election victory shock.. etc.

But I call it " mental shock ".... Mandate of heaven this nation awaits.

In 'IT' term it is called 'PC hanged, server down, virus detected need innoculation',..etc .

Look like , all new leaders need to learn to " Unblock, unlock , overhaul" ,
and adopt a new paradigm shift , read new rules, consult the 'Wise' for guidance.

RPK did an excellent exposition on this topic,..
"You are now the government, so please get down to acting like a government".

Think positive, be pro-active, re adapt , move ahead .

One Unity, One Voice, One common aim .

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

written by riboak, March 15, 2008 15:00:43
Have you heard of self-sabotage? This is something someone has when his mentality is not changed. In this post-election scenario, LKS has been losing all these while... and that mentality is stuck in him. So when he suddenly wins, his program took the auto-pilot of self-sabotage, and kicked in... he announced a ceremony boycott. And that immediately 'made' him lose again... just as what his auto-pilot is set to be. Fortunately he came to his senses quick enough.

written by Zym Zym, March 15, 2008 15:02:14
Teng is just another ignorant and stupid fool. What's wrong with wearing a songkok??? RPK is right, this guy still carrying the opposition mindset. Some people just never learn. pity for him.
disagree 25
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 15, 2008 15:04:11
Malaysian Malaysia? No, chauvinistic. The songkok is a cultural attire share by the Nusantara. The Chinese and Indians in Malaysia are sons of the soil. Does it cause any harm or pain to don a songkok? After so long as part and parcel of Malaysia still can't accept the national attire? One will still be a Chinese or Indian if he or she chose to dress up in Malay costumes. You can't convert into another race but you can convert to other religions. Please grow up!
disagree 20
written by future, March 15, 2008 15:05:25
Thank You Y.M.RPK and you have put across the message to our new Y.B and perhaps
some of them is still in the dreamland.
The rakyat has put you up there to carry out the responsibilities and be mindful
there is no 'HONEY MOON' period.
written by msiaman, March 15, 2008 15:07:08

You ought to suggest these new YBs to attend some grooming class lah. Most may not have been properly trained on protocol as well as manners. In terms of being the ruling government, they ought to be instructed to shed all racial segregation. There shouldn't be racial nor religious separations in terms of treatment but must be sensitive to all race and religion on thier taboos and customs. Only then would they be able to show the rakyat they meant what they say.
written by renoir, March 15, 2008 15:12:19
Hahaha! Just last night I wrote in M-T about those wanting to be more heroic-than-thou (rather than the more well-known holier-than-thou), and today you've touched on that kind of thing. Since your article is rather long, it's probable that you'd thought of the matter even earlier than I did. So is this a case of great minds think alike or - goodness!- fools seldom differ?smilies/smiley.gif Sure hope it's the former!

About the songkok, what a reader here says is correct: it should be voluntary. However, I'm confident that if that's the protocol, it's not something cooked up by the royalty to slight minority groups. Here the Muslim concept of "niat" is important: the dress code is just something to emphasize in front of His Highness the unity of the rakyat. It has no other purpose.

I think the Opposition cannot escape the culture ingrained into our people by BN for 50 over years. Despite the good intentions of the Opposition, there will be times when they will act like the people they despised. They will posture over small things and forget the big picture. As I said somewhere else in M-T, there's a difference between a good leader and a great leader: a good one acts consistently on all issues and all occasions. A great one knows when to bend the rules and be magnanimous. It's not a case of forsaking principles but, rather, a remembrance of priorities.

written by cm2121, March 15, 2008 15:14:17
Yes. It is imperative that the Selangor Govt be formed a.s.a.p. Petty issues should be put to rest and concentrate on the serious job at hand. While all this squabbling is going on... important documents are going missing one by one.
written by cm2121, March 15, 2008 15:16:30
To wear songkok or not to wear songkok??? Aiseyyman... what is this. Get on with the job of forming the Selangor State Government. The rakyat have high expectations for you guys. Please prove that they have made a wise choice.
written by franklyspeaking, March 15, 2008 15:17:42
yeah.... got really fed-up with power-lobbying, just like the old gang.
just let me know the time and i will be there showing them my finger if they dont buckup. am on standby mode!
written by Tom Cruise, March 15, 2008 15:24:09

I am an avid reader of your articles as well as an ardent admirer. If at all Malaysia becomes a Republic you will be my choice for 'President' that’s how high I value and appreciate your good efforts in highlighting the truth and in your quest for justice.

The problem with this new found political status accorded to DAP is that they do not see the bigger picture and I suppose this has been the reason for all the bickering. I am proud to say that Guan Eng has done very well and I suppose the leaders in Perak should follow suit without much delay less they want an administration without any real documents.

PAS has shown excellent 'CHARACTER' and I truly am proud at the way they have conducted themselves. YAB Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim too, should be commended for his resolve and the way he has brought together PKR and coordinated their working relationship with PAS and DAP.

It's time to move forward as one family and build Malaysia together.
written by ymeei2, March 15, 2008 15:24:09
Aiyoh, what is this haggling over all the trivial issues instead of putting your heads together and start running the state govt??? Beats me how these 'small-minded' people reached this level of politics. Like our RPK said, pull your acts together and we the rakyat mean business. Time to wake-up and do some serious work now!!! 4-5 years is not too long, just a few winks away.
written by southallman, March 15, 2008 15:24:48

Your logic re dress code is slightly flawed and I beg to differ, when the British Queen invites someone to her palace, if he/she is an African King/Queen or a Maori Chief and he/she wishes to dress in thier national dress, then as long as it is decent, no one has a problem with it.

Now you (RPK) were to invite me to my house and I am a SIKH, your dress code says I should wear a Songkok and you insist I do, are you having a laugh or what or are you trying to insult me by telling me that I should replace my TURBAN with a songkok to meet your dress code. Why bother inviting me when there is going to be a conflict over dress code. This is being pushed too far in one direction. If I invite you to my house and you want to wear a songkok, so be it whilst I will be proudly wearing my TURBAN, I won't ask you to wear a TURBAN, likewise I think we all need growing up and stop seeing things so black and white and be more sensitive and accomodating to other's besides us.

Long Live the TURBAN, Long Live the SONGKOK
disagree 17
written by BillyH, March 15, 2008 15:33:22

I'm not sure if this is true or not, but if its true then we can't have petty ppl like Teng or whatever his name is as a Deputy. I'm Chinese myself and this sort of behavior reminds me of crude Australian ppl who refuse to take off their shoes when they come to fix my hse lights, stove etc. But I doubt a learned man like himself, who prob has a tertiary education and traveeled abroad will not resort to such behavior, are there any more reasons for him not attending?

But I somewhat agree with soulthallman, but southallman, this is not some Ah Chong, or Vincent Tan or Muhammad's hse we are going, its a Sultan and you must respect that. Other than that I think as normal folk, yes petty things like you should wear my songkok or i must wear you turban is sooooo dumb!
written by Sunnysoul5, March 15, 2008 15:40:14
RPK, please be patient with these opposition leaders who never in their dreams can ever be in power of forming a government. They have been branded as the “opposition” or “pembangkang”, so it is not easy for them to change themselves over-night without some adjustments and transition.

It is not necessary to have the Deputy Chief Minister or Deputy Mentri Besar title in order to discharge the duties effectively. Work hard to gain promotion to that vacancy, rather than having a civil war over the political status in a hurry. The Sultan of Selangor is one of the most progressive rulers, and is right for not appointing any DCM to make sure this “overnight” ruling coalition can last the mile and demonstrate their leadership capabilities.

DAP leaders should stop lobbying for the DCM position, because whatever is yours is yours otherwise you do not deserve it. Be patient and develop the credibility and capability. Time will tell and truth prevails. Get down to form the state government and work hard to earn your promotion.

As for the MB, he should be just the CEO with a couple of non-conflicting portfolios to ensure proper check and balance as well as self-restraint. Do not let power overwhelm the situation and go haywire.

The Selangor voters for the BR are waiting patiently to see how these chosen ones perform in one of the most developed state that was tainted with some perceived excesses and abuses for some decades. Do the right thing to develop this wonderful state further to showcase to the rest of the nation. Pool the local resources and expertise together to transform the social economic development without fear or favour.

BR leaders are probably losing sleep over the weekend to ensure that they are able to reach the consensus to form the state government and get down to work and fulfill their election promises.

BR leaders please demonstrate your finest personalities, characters, attitude and spirit for the sake of repaying the voters who make your unexpected dreams come true. Your are entrusted with the duties and responsibilities to help manage the assets of the state, so please cool down and reach out to your heart and soul to come up with the shared visions, value systems, missions, goals and objectives as well as key performance indicators.

Do not let the voters down when they cast the ballot paper to bring about the winds of change.

Leaders do the right things!

Long live Selangor!

written by southallman, March 15, 2008 15:45:24
I have had tea with the Queen at Buckingham Palace and trust me she had no problem with me and other Sikh's there wearing turban, yes , we were dressed smart , our turban also was smart not falling/hanging all over the place. As long as one is smartly dressed ( defination decide yourself) then there should be no conflict on the issue. I dont judge a book by its cover, more what's inside. The Sultan's should also do likewise, SONGKOK or no SONGKOK . Lastly in my eyes, Ah Chong, Vincent Tan, Muhammad, Muniandy and a Sultan all have my equal respect and love. I don't reserve/give EXTRA SPECIAL respect to the SULTAN, PM or YB, that I give to those who have earned it. When a pin pricks Ah Chong, Vincent Tan, Muhammad, Muniandy and a Sultan, the blood that flows out is red for all of them. I rest my case
disagree 16
written by MarchOn, March 15, 2008 15:50:58
During a international church meeting in Korea, all the Pastors were asked to wear their tradional suit, one Pastor from Malaysia had a baju melayu complete with songkok.
written by kasiakanaun, March 15, 2008 15:54:48
Dear Pete and I quote,

"Dear kasiakanaun, by 50 days there will no longer be any documents (read: evidence) left. How do they run the state in the absence of these records? See how fast Guan Eng took over Penang."

I know you mean business but I was only saying things "tounge-in-cheek" (for a cooler) and of course things have to be done real fast and effecient.

BTW, did receive the note, just in case.
written by orangmsia, March 15, 2008 16:01:20

First of all congratulaions to all the 'opposition' parties which won big in the election, with your effort giving talk in the ceramah and constantly renewing your blogs.

Hope you can be patience with the new coalition govt formed by PKR/DAP/PAS. I believe they will do better than BN. Time will prove everything.

I just hope that you can respect the decision of non malay for not wearing the songkok. We still remember that previously graduates in UTM Skudai were forced to wear songkok in their convocation and after a lot of protest from non malay graduates, they finally scrapped it.

If possible please comment on the sultans 'conflict' with the newly formed state govt/menteri besar esp. in Perlis, Perak, Terengganu and Selangor. I know this issue is sensitive but a lot of 'rakyat' like me are not comfortable with the rulers heavy involvement in the above matter.

Keep up the good work. Thank you
written by Zeroed, March 15, 2008 16:16:56
YM RPK,

I fully vote you as 'tai Kor' of the Rakyat. Thanks you for your continuous effort in making sure those that those politician behave and keep under check.

I'm right behind you all the time. Lets make those buggers work for the Rakyat.
written by picadilly, March 15, 2008 16:30:23
RPK, Your prediction on 2/3 majority has been a fact in Negeri Sembilan.
Its obviously split into the east and west.

anyway, thanks for the concern and effort you are taking

we are with you
written by Jefus, March 15, 2008 16:31:03
the longer time taken to take office, the more time there is to spirit away 'evidences'

take the opportunity to save the evidences so as to put away corruption if found. this way you will put culprit out of politics.

don't pussy foot about headgear, there's bigger fish to fry!!!
written by Vehir, March 15, 2008 16:31:33
All wakil rakyats are our servants
We the voters are the BOSS
The elected leaders should ask the BOSS as what RPK said.
Istana has certain formalities, just follow, dont be another racist because you have won and now trying to proof your colors. If lost or did not get 2/3 majority will these elected reps jump up and down?
Opposition parties was not prepared with the power sharing if the are elected to office. Only after elected they are talking who to take the lead.
This resulted in many secret documents under BN rule being destroyed.
Elected reps must not show the POWER
Instead these reps must show their HOURS to the voters.
Also a strong warning if you dont take care of our areas and you come after 4years we will reject these politician from winning.
written by Rhan, March 15, 2008 16:37:28
Malaysia is situated in the Malay Achipelago Region.

Malay Achipelago Region not in Asia meh?
written by singam, March 15, 2008 16:38:16
People keep saying give these newbies a chance, give them time...

I have one simple question - How much time do they need to come to terms with their new station?

They are not in kindergarten, to take their time to slowly learn and adjust. They are in a hostile environment, under attack by those they displaced while under observation by those who put them where they are. They don't have the luxury of time.

One thing they need lots of is humility. Without humility, they cannot learn. If they don't realise there is much to learn, they will learn nothing. And learn they must, if they wish to form a government and run a state.

If the only way to make them learn is to kick their backsides, then so be it.
written by mijoan, March 15, 2008 16:46:31
I was a member of the Cadet Band at St. John's Institution, K.L., from 1963 to 1967. One set of our ceremonial uniforms included a songkok. After all St. John's Institution, Bukit Nenas, K.L., a La Salle Brothers' School was a Catholic School,
yet the Brothers introduced a songkok as part of the Cadet Band's Ceremonial uniform. We did not feel it was wrong. The way, the De La Salle Catholic Brothers educated us with discipline, respect for race and religion, and love for all our neighbours, made us strong in our mind, body and soul. Therefore I do not feel that it is wrong to wear a songkok or a Malay Costume. It all depends on our mind, the way we think and the way we were brought up by our parents.
disagree 17
written by BennyG, March 15, 2008 16:47:28

It's not surprising for these incidents to happen. They were like that before they would even dare dream of controlling the state. They will be like that when they have a chance.

That's why the leadership plays a very important role in any organisation/party. When a piece fall out of place, the leader must quickly put in back since a chain reaction will follow very soon.

Unfortunately, as seen in Sabah/Sarawak, the leaders did not stop the bickering. That's why my concern is not only in the next election but how the country will be run. If DAP/PKR/PAS disappoints the people, do we vote BN again. I, for one, will not. BARISAN RAKYAT must be formed now, not as a political party but for a big/huge group of like-mind people. When the election comes, BARISAN RAKYAT will be heard. If a ombudsman could not be a single person, then BARISAN RAKYAT will play the watchdog role.
written by Malaysiaku, March 15, 2008 17:00:14
Sorry RPK, you lost me there about the refusal to wear the songkok thing. Is it mandatory that the Sultan is insisting that every male should wear a songkok? I don't seem to read it any where here in your article that the Sultan is dictating that a songkok should be worn. I am all for proper protocol and dress code but if the wearing of the songkok is not mandatory surely the discretion for one to wear or not to wear is up to that person don't you think? It surely doesn’t mean that he finds the songkok ‘jijik’. That is an unfair and inaccurate statement from you.

Your analogy about coming to your house or my house and dressing to the request of the host does not draw an accurate parallel. If I am going to your house or you to mine and IF there is a dress code, we will have to abide by it to respect the host otherwise don't come. I agree with this. But, if there is no mandatory dress code, then it should be up to the guest visiting to dress as he deems fit albeit smartly to reflect his upbringing and occasion of the visit.

You seem to make it an issue and deem it as an insult just because the DAP guy did not wear a songkok. Well, unless it is stated as a mandatory and he still refused to wear the proper mandatory attire then he would have shown disrespect to the Sultan otherwise it is his right not to wear it.

Further, I have the impression of you now (correctly me if I am wrong) that just because the Opposition has won with the support of the Rakyat, you make it seem like the Opposition should listen to every whim and demand that you make - from petty dress code to how they should run the State Govt to not marginalizing any race. For Pete’s sake, they have just come on board to run the State less than 10 days! You are jumping the gun before anything else. Sorry this is the impression I get of you now. While I appreciate your fantastic efforts in helping the Opposition to power in your own way (kudos to you), RPK please also do NOT let this go to your head and swell it. Let the Opposition run and only judge them at least one year from now when they have implemented some programs. How on earth are they ever going to get anything done with all of us on their backs? In your cemerah speech you said give them 5 years and if they do not perform, then kick them out. Did I heard wrong, Pete?

You, the Rakyat and I put them there and now do the honorable thing by giving them the chance to do their thing un-harassed. Otherwise join the party and run it the way you deem fit.
written by LC Teh, March 15, 2008 17:05:35
Hey, If PROTOCOL says, to be an Anak Bangsa Malaysia, one has to wear a songkok, I'd proudly wear it!
- The Songkok Issue? - Let's change mindset too.
disagree 18
written by LC Teh, March 15, 2008 17:07:26
Hey, If PROTOCOL says, to be an Anak Bangsa Malaysia, one has to wear a songkok, I'd proudly wear it!
- http://lianchye.multiply.com/j...ndset_too.
written by lord, March 15, 2008 17:30:31
maybe he's more comfortable wearing bintang tiga cap smilies/grin.gif
disagree 16
written by TingMK, March 15, 2008 17:52:37
Is songkot purely Malay traditional dress and nothing to do with religion?
If it is so, then I think non-Muslims should be educated in order to clarify their misunderstandings and eradicate their fear.
If it is not so, then it should be understandable that non-Muslims reject it.
And even it is purely Malay traditional dress, i think someone from MCA may makes it an issue if DAP YB wears it.
written by Toyolbuster, March 15, 2008 17:56:01
When my family gets invited to a malay wedding kenduri, my wife will proudly dress them up in baju melayu complete with songkok and baju kurung for the girls. These are malay traditional costumes, just like sarong kebaya which were so fashionable in the old days among all races. These days, the office girls, especially chinese, loves to wear baju kurung to work, usually on fridays. But nobody gives any thought to it as being islamic or malay, but just malaysian.

Teng should thank his lucky star that he won his seat due to the "vote BN out" campaign. But if he gets nominated again for the 13th GE, we should remember to vote Teng out.

Pete, just give the signal and we shall see you on tuesday. I was already pissed off with kit siang for his stupid stunt but forgave him after he apologised very quickly. But with this Teng fella, he is OUT for good for making us, people who put him there, look so stupid now.
disagree 17
written by choong, March 15, 2008 18:07:57
Dear YM RPK,

I think I know which DAP state assemblywoman you are talking about. She does have a very poor sense of dressing. It is well known fact and she has been criticised before. But she serves the people well. This is a testament to the fact that her majority won in her parliamentary constituency is the biggest recorded in the country.

On the songkok issue, it is only a head gear. Teng should not fret about it. He should consider it an honour to appear before His Majesty. Not every rakyat is fortunate enough to see His Majesty face to face.

As for the DPM position, I think it is symbolic but unnecessary. But do give this state government a chance. They are in the process of getting things done.
written by teo siew chin, March 15, 2008 18:10:59
Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra

Do not be so harsh on the new kids on the block lah!
How's about you come up with a "How To Run A Government For Dummies" ?!

Thanks.
(kindly do a nutshell-version it cos time is running out smilies/grin.gif )
written by teo siew chin, March 15, 2008 18:12:13
BTW - which should be prioritised?
catching the crooks from the old gomen
or running the new gomen?
written by mei yen, March 15, 2008 18:31:39
you are giving Teng hell for not wearing the songkok. The reality check is ... the Chinese will give him hell for wearing the Songkok. Besides, this is the first time I've heard that wearing a songkok is mandatory before a Sultan. I have watched on TV, many people being conferred datukship and mind you, they were not wearing songkoks. Enlighten me further, please.
written by temanmu, March 15, 2008 18:37:39
The corruption, cronyism & nepotism trail will disappear soon.

Also, will the BN local authorities be able to back-date contracts awarding their cronies unfavourable contracts for the next 3- 5 years?

A suggestion:

Just go after big cases of corruption & nepotism ... perhaps those involving more than RM10,000.

We don't want to close down the State govt by being too over-zealous!!!

And the town councils too!

written by teo siew chin, March 15, 2008 18:57:52
Dear Mimag2005

Running a government is hard as compared to merely being opposing it.
More so the governing of such varied people who have now awaken and are making demands!

It is easy for us on the outside to criticise the newbies without offering anything constructive.
Whack them you must
But guide them too, you must
Unless you wish them to use the exact blue-print that has existed the past years.
written by omarkhayyam, March 15, 2008 19:17:57
ur right pete, we gave them d mandate .... rest assured it will be taken away as easily as it was given.

blogging communities will watch and track any chauvinistic racist or religious fanatics that steps out of line.

we got rid of corruption n cronies ( to a certain degree) now lets watch other negative elements and expose them to be mauled by voters comes balloting time

written by back2future, March 15, 2008 20:17:47
RPK u are my true HERO , I really SALUTE U , coz u bring the truth , u show truth , u fight for the truth and the truth prevail at last - the election result . the most important that u hv which others in malaysia will nevr hv is , u fight your agenda without concern about the color of skin and the logo of the party , you only concern is the right thing. thanks RPK on behalf of all malaysians who agreed to this.
written by temanmu, March 15, 2008 20:33:34
RPK... I notice you may be going for dinner in Klang where Tan Sri Khalid will be present too!

Do remind him about your impending Tuesday storm!
written by Hades, March 15, 2008 20:39:22
Barisan Rakyat needs to ask itself "What do we need to do to
ensure Malaysia remains a progressive and well developed country,
being run by a government that is well respected by it's citizens ?"

If this question is asked by every elected member of Barisan Rakyat,
we will not witness this type of incidents taking place.

We, Malaysians, do understand it has only been a week, and there is a
lot of issues that needs to be ironed out before a a solid and stable
BR government is in place.

However, we being understanding should be seen as a sign as weakness.
You will be well judged in 5 years, and 5 years is not a long time.
You have been given an opportunity by the people of this country, now,
prove to us, you guys have what it takes to govern.

Raja Petra's message is loud and clear, and we hope BR is listening.
written by orangmsia, March 15, 2008 21:03:27

you should realize why chinese don't like songkok, look at this:

http://zul4kulim.********.com/...inese.html
written by BillyH, March 15, 2008 21:16:49
cruzeiro,

I agree with you. This Southhallman fella is just on a bragging marathon. He probably just had a cuppa English BreakfastTea while watching the queen on the tele and has no idea on what protocol is. He sounds like someone who has no respect for tradition and probably identifies himself as English, speaks in a forced English accent and probably has season tickets to Manchester United games( after years of saving $$$.

I don't need to have had tea with the queen, swirl, sniff and hold a wine glass with 2 fingers to know that, its a shame someone like Southhallman can even get THIS right.

I'm so tired, just went out for a late movie with Kevin Rudd and Michael Jackson, they dropped me off on their private jets
written by Kay, March 15, 2008 21:24:47
Pls lah, DAP leaders, be matured and sensible. There is REALLY NO HARM in wearing a songkok. In fact, our Malay friends and the Royalty will be doubly thrilled to see non-malay rakyat assimilating according to the situation. I, an indian have gladly, when the occasion arises, many a times worn a songkok.

Pls do not do anything to project an adverse situation, especially in these challenging times. Above all, pls do not be in the wrong books of HRH The Sultan.

written by TruthSayer, March 15, 2008 21:33:10
I was an auditor and our creed is "In GOD we trust.... All others we audit"

Seeing this article, i popped over to Teng's blog and found this

Maybe he's just covering his backside but he deserves to have his say...

Raja Petra made scathing remarks on me in Malaysia-Today.
Although I am in the rush to go to Penang now, I have to respond immediately.
Firstly, I did not organize any demonstration to pressurize the DAP into making me the Deputy Menteri Besar of Selangor. I do not know how did Raja Petra gather the information that I had done that. If he likes rumours and then to rumour, then that is what he is worth.
There were some gatherings organized by voters and local leaders in Klang to express their views and support for me. They have their democratic right to do so but I have nothing to do with those activities.
Of course, someone will say, "surely you must be the mastermind". Well, can someone teach me how to prove that I have nothing to do with those activities? I really do not know how.
Secondly, I did not boycott when HRH Sultan granted audience to the DAP respresentatives recently. I was not directed by the party to seek audience with the Sultan. How could I boycott when I was even not directed to be present?
I was also not invited to attend the swearing in of the new Menteri Besar recently. There was nothing I could boycott when I was not even invited. Doesn't Raja Petra know the basic palace protocol that one will not attend any function in palace if not invited.?
Anyway, I agree, and perhaps I am the only one in the DAP who noticed that the DAP stateassemblywoman was not in compliance with the palace protocol by wearing pants in seeking audience. If she had cunsulted me beforehand, I would have had advised her accordingly.
Thirdly, the issue of non Malays wearing songkok is a separate issue that has nothing to do in the present forming of the new government. The delay, if any, in forming the new Selangor state government has nothing to do at all with the issue of Songkok. It has been a party policy and needs to be deliberated in view of the new development. In any event, it will not be an issue that deters the swearing in of the new line-up. I will further discuss the issue when I come back from Penang on Monday. We, in the DAP, know the larger picture that emerges.
Meanwhile, Raja Petra and the readers of Malaysia-today should also learn to be patient to find out the truth before jumping up and down on rumuors. Yes, they also have to learn before teaching others.
written by DontPlayGod, March 15, 2008 21:34:21
Speaking of protocol, does this cover all the races in Malaysia? How about the Sikhs then? Do they have to shave, cut their hair short, and also wear a songkok if they are to have an audience with the Sultan?

Can someone answer this RM64,000 question?

written by apasalahku, March 15, 2008 21:45:19
"....just like the French stormed the Bastille." Love that.
Corrupt cops, Recalcitrant government, inept Opposition, racist mentality. Only a storm can change Malaysia; not mini typhoons.
written by BillyH, March 15, 2008 21:47:56
TruthSayer

And the truth shall set us free smilies/smiley.gif

Yeah I think many of us need to take a step back and take everything with a pinch of salt.
written by Mat Keris, March 15, 2008 22:04:38
Raja Petra “You don't mind wearing a suit and start looking like a banana -- yellow outside but white inside -- but you refuse to wear a songkok because it is a Malay thing.”

> Suits maybe originated from the West, but they have been UNIVERSALLY accepted as a proper FORMAL DRESS CODE all over the world for ages already.
> As far as I know, the only people who don’t wear suite are the COMMUNISTS, the MULLAH and the SAKAI. Do Malays consider themselves as one of these …?
> Whereas Songkok is only a symbol of KETUANAN MELAYU, it’s NOT even Malay to begin with … It’s a DUCTH HAT! May I know why Malays are so proud of this DUCTH HAT?

Raja Petra “Even when you have an audience with the Thai King, Japanese Emperor, or the Queen of England there are dress codes to observe.”

> Sure … But all they ever ask is PLEASE DRESS FORMALLY ie. Takshin went to see the King in Armani suit.

Raja Petra “Malays are very happy to respect and observe Chinese traditions.”
> Example?
> All I know is some of the (Malay) Supremacists can’t even accept suits as a form FORMAL ATTIRE.

> If I were the Sultan, you guys can even come to see me with a condom on your head … no sweat.

>I therefore SUPPORT Teng Chang Khim not to wear the Dutch Hat called Songkok, because it neither has anything to do with Malays nor Malaysia.
written by Mat Keris, March 15, 2008 22:08:00
Malaysia is truly a Supremacist State. Why so?

We have Malay Supremacist … UMNO
We have Islam Supremacist … PAS
What most do not know is …
We also have Royal Supremacist … Raja Petra bin Raja Kamaruddin

NB: LOWLY RATED COMMENT [SHOW] - You should ***** on [Show] to read the 'buired’ comments because they are normal the truest … the best!

May God save the Rakyat from these Supremacists.
disagree 22
written by Williams C, March 15, 2008 22:16:38

Thirst for POWER and MONEY stem from

GREED, ANGER and STUPIDITY.
written by Uncorruptible, March 15, 2008 22:31:51
The songkok is not unique to Malaysia, just a symbol of a Malay in times gone by. It is s non issue really. Those who want to wear may wear and those who don't, so be it. Let's not get bitchy over this triviality. Alleviating the people's problems is above all.
written by Malaysiaku, March 15, 2008 23:40:32
Cruzerio: "Sorry buddy - the "whim and demand" that you refer to is the Palace protocol that he speaks of".

What palace protocol? I can't find that stated anywhere. If it is indeed Palace protocol that mandates the wearing of a songkok than I think it would be wrong if Teng refuses to wear the songkok, otherwise I think RPK is being too petty and taken upon himself to be the custodian of Palace protocol. I can agree with most things RPK says but unlike many readers here, not all.

written by Malaysiaku, March 15, 2008 23:49:37
"Pls lah, DAP leaders, be matured and sensible. There is REALLY NO HARM in wearing a songkok. In fact, our Malay friends and the Royalty will be doubly thrilled to see non-malay rakyat assimilating according to the situation. I, an indian have gladly, when the occasion arises, many a times worn a songkok".

Boy, this sure sounds like a BN tune to me. Look, you can't force anyone to dress the way they don't want for whatever reasons. To do so will be like a tyrant trying to 'force' and pressurized others to fit into what you want. I will wear what I want and when I chooses. And, if I am invited to see the Sultan or for that matter the Agong and if it is not a mandatory code of attire by the palace, I will come WITHOUT a songkok! If there are some that don't like it, tough!
written by malgal, March 15, 2008 23:53:21
ah theng ah, if it is true (or is the mouthpiece of the bn misinforming the public again ah?) that you are being hardheaded and being rude to the sultan for not wanting to wear songkok, adoi lah. do you attend official and posh functions in your chinese satin gown kah? if you did, are you representing your kaum/province in China kah? if like me, you are born and have lived in Malaysia all your life, is your baju the qi pao meh? I have several cheong sams no doubt but also baju kurong and many many sarong which I wear all the time without being conscious of which race i belong. My father, grandfather, uncles and husband and all his bros all wear sarong as their pyjamas without making a big deal.
Grow up Ah Theng, and begin to be Malaysian. You were put there by Malaysians and yes Malaysian Chinese also, but I bet they too dont have this bigoted view of what's Chinese, what's not. WE ARE MALAYSIANS bro!

written by Malaysiaku, March 15, 2008 23:59:21
"When Genting Casino imposed the rule to have proper attired, and setup a counter to loan the batik, there are tons of non-muslim/non-malay wearing it. I never heard anyone who refuse to do that because it make them looks like Malay".

That is because Genting made it a mandatory attire. I don't see anywhere that it is a mandatory attire to wear the songkok in the Palace so why do you want to force another to wear one? Not wearing a songkok doe not mean disrespect to another race just that everyone has a right to wear what he feels comfortable with. Does it mean that other races have to circumcise as well just to please our Malay brothers? Grow up.
written by renoir, March 16, 2008 00:02:06
written by cruzeiro, March 15, 2008 | 21:51:29
>so Teng wasn't invited ...... poor soul - You're forgiven, Teng!!!]]

Which is why when I'm not sure I tend to focus on the propriety of an action or non-action, rather than on the individual. We don't know yet the whole story, and indeed anyone could be mistaken. Teng is right that we also have to learn before teaching others. The dialogues here are a learning process - we all learn as we go along. But it'll be a pity if readers cannot express their opinions until all the facts are in. This is neither a formal debate nor a public trial. Excitement in blogs comes from timeliness, and the risk of being wrong is more tolerable than the state of being outdated. What's important is that we modify our positions as the air clears.

>People wanna demonstrate support for you and you cannot tell "your supporters" to stop it becos it's their right?]]

Touche! The sin of omission could be just as noxious as that of commission. But again, perhaps more facts will surface later.

Gotta go now - Keira Knightley is waiting in the next room and her thighs are opened ....

written by teo siew chin, March 16, 2008 00:44:28
what i shudder at is that the start of a new governance is again by way of sandiwara - can the play-acting be scrapped please?
but then again, it could be an upgrade from the previous b-grade movies
and hopefully the next production is a blockbuster!

Dear Renoir - you gotta read more cos i can tell ya, Keira don't do porno ! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
Serious stuff aside, what you think should be on the BR's action plan?
written by panca, March 16, 2008 02:01:57
Pete, we hope we do not have to be there on tuesday but we will if things are not falling in place.

The BR is on STANDBY Mode. The New Government of Selangor consist of Parties-in-Arms, they must show they are prudent in their approaches especially the need to quickly ruling and running the states.

No one has clocked-in! The files are missing and flying. Worms are wriggling their ways out, some on the way, one has gone to the grave. No more delay, brothers and sisters.
written by patlu, March 16, 2008 04:34:25
RPK: "There is one thing you have forgotten. The Menteri Besar and EXCO Member posts do not belong to the political parties. They belong to us, the rakyat who voted for you. So can PKR, DAP and PAS please stop quarrelling. Stop demanding you want this and you want that because all these posts do not belong to you. They belong to us. By right you should have come back to ask us, the voters who put you in office, as to what you should do. It is we, the voters, who should have the final say. Now, not only do you ignore us, the voters, when you set up the government, but you squabble amongst yourselves as if all this belongs to you in the first place."

To me, this is the most important message. Lets not be side-tracked by the songkok and other petty issues driven by ego and worse, driven by respective political political party agendas to "please your members".

Political parties reading this, please check your membership count (current VALID PAID-UP members) and total them together, BN or BA. The fact of the matter is, the majority of the rakyat who voted in "Barisan Rakyat" do not belong to any political party. (I purposely used the name BA as you do not deserve to be called Barisan "Rakyat" as your current mindsets and attitudes do not reflect that yet.)

Please draw on collective wisdom and start walking the talk. To each their expertise. Put in the right people with the right expertise to run the state government as you would run a company, accountable to the shareholders, the nation, irrespective of party membership, race or religion.

It will help to start your day with a prayer to ask God for guidance in all humility; and to look at the challenges with a SOLUTION-DRIVEN and MALAYSIAN mindset.

The same applies to the rakyat, make this your mantra, "Saya Anak Malaysia". Everyone of us has a role towards improving the state of our economic, social and political lives.

Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia.

Pat Lu
written by talk2stop, March 16, 2008 08:12:12
As an outsider I think Malaysia politics is a joke. The winner does not know what to do with the prize or price?
DAP is still carrying a heavy baggage refuse to change with times making Chairman Mao proud. PAS is trying to dismantle their Islamic ideology but will not go any farther if others are not prepare to embrace them.
I am a banana in my adopted country and proud of that. I like McDonald but eating rice is still the best. Wearing a songkot or baju Melayu will not make anyone a Malay.
You can take the body out from the Chinese but you never able to take the Chinese out of the body.
So DAP do what you call to do.
written by nafis, March 16, 2008 08:47:18
Nyah ha ha

Trust dear Petra to give some whacking smilies/grin.gif

therefore

dear PAS/DAP/PKR, listen to US and stop bickering, don't imitate amno and be-end [masin mulut wa] to argue and sulk over itty-bitty things which are no issue at all! These petty things [attire and what-not] can be easily solved if everyone kept his/her head level. Best of all, study by heart all the protocols...ceh you are our gomen now lar, so start acting like one smilies/wink.gif
written by Rhan, March 16, 2008 09:49:16
I am both a Malaysian and Asian, and being a Malaysian, I think it is my right to wear or not to wear something, get it?

Don’t get over excited over the small win. Don’t we feel suddenly we are not sure what are the roles of Royal anymore? If today the Royal could reject BN recommendation, tomorrow they could do the same to BR. We are not here to craete a monster to defeat another monster. What we want is balance and check and I fully believe Teng is playing the role, not only he should check BN but at the same time, do the same to BR especially those DAP family dynasty and of course other family dynasty as well.

Btw, I think RPK is too buddy with Ronnie.
written by damarwulan, March 16, 2008 11:36:08
I went to a Chinese Malaysian friend's house in US and was told to take out our shoes when we enter his house. Even the KwaiLoh did the same when they enter his house. If the BN leaders are half past six, these BR leaders are LCE (form three) drop out, sikit baik tapi masih BODOH. Don't they know that BR stands for BARUA RAKYAT, and you must listen to the people that put you there?
written by ericc, March 16, 2008 11:39:46
yup, very true, our new MPs should think bigger, that they are no longer the opposition, and should work with the Sultans. come on dudes, it's just head-wear we're talking about. if you put no significance to it, then it's just that, a part of the dress code. grow up dudes and drop the fear-of-islamisation stance. broaden up your world-view please.
written by lord, March 16, 2008 12:30:58
Michelle Yeoh's Mat Salleh fiance find no problem donning the songkok.

written by mendela, March 16, 2008 15:19:04
By the way, when a singh with turban on his head meets our Sultans, is he needed to put on a songkok too? Is there really a dress protocol when we meet our Sultans?

Are we living in 21st century?
written by Raja Petra, March 16, 2008 15:45:23
Dear mendela, if the turban is for religious reasons then you may use a turban, just like what some of the PAS leaders do. But you are not supposed to be bare-bodied (no pants and/or no shirt) and bare-headed. A hat, turban, songkok, white skull cap, etc., are considered 'formal' and therefore respectful while bare-bodied and bare-headed are considered 'informal' and therefore LESS respectful though not DISRESPECTFUL. If you are a military man and you are in uniform then you MUST wear your uniform cap (or songkok or turban if that is an approved part of your uniform). Sikh soldiers wear a turban. But an unturbaned Sikh would have to wear a military cap. And a State Assemblyman has his uniform as well in case you did not realise. In fact, all senior government servants have their special uniforms as well which they use for formal functions but not when they go to the office or attend meetings.
written by SUV, March 16, 2008 16:21:53
kapai singh n anak anak talak pake turban smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by renoir, March 17, 2008 03:39:35
teo siew chin wrote:
>i can tell ya, Keira don't do porno !]]

Hahaha, must confess I've read little about her - noticed her in maybe a couple of movies and found her sexy, that's all.smilies/smiley.gif

>what you think should be on the BR's action plan?]]

I think Guan Eng and Khalid Ibrahim are making good starts. They're rejecting a crony-infested NEP and coming up with a plan to help the poor of all races in a big way. As Syed Husin pointed out, since Malays are the biggest group at or under the poverty line, they will continue to be the largest recipients. Savings from ridding corruption, nepotism, and cronyism will be more than enough to double the funds for this purpose. The result of a just, color-blind administration will also forge greater unity among the races, something urgently needed to repair the polarized state created by BN and especially UMNO. The country has suffered much under BN, so not everything in the 5 states could be solved overnight. But with right attitude and stout hearts, I'm confident that PAS, PKR, and DAP will collectively nurse Malaysia back to health.

In this respect, I must say that I'm most amused at the threats and slanders against DAP by people who seemed to have conveniently forgotten the keris waving barbarity, the constant threats of May 13, the divide-and-rule policies of BN. Except for people like RPK, Cruzeiro, etc., it's obvious that most anti-DAP crawlers here in M-T are BN sympathizers (cyberloonies)trying to pass off as more-patriotic-than-thou citizens who'd eat their wive's soiled panties for lunch in defense of national unity or out of respect for the Sultan. It's enough to make a cat laugh.

To be continued
written by renoir, March 17, 2008 03:40:25
To elaborate on an earlier posting:

>About the songkok, what a reader here says is correct: it should be voluntary .... the dress code is just something to emphasize in front of His Highness the unity of the rakyat. It has no other purpose.]]

Notice the first sentence: "It should be voluntary."

Why is it important?

Divorced from political context, it's a trivial matter. But NOT when seen against decades of blatant racism. This is the racism that, to put it briefly, permitted a few ruffians from one community to say they have the right to 30% of other people's private enterprises, that barred large numbers of qualified students from other communities from public colleges, that turned a civil service paid for largely by other communities in a single, ethnic-based organization, that, in an expression of perverse logic, treated all pleas for equity as anti-national and all demonstrations other than its own as terroristic. To add insult to injury, the communities that enabled this elite to build palaces inside the nation and own properties overseas were often called "orang asing" and "pendatang2." Further, contrary to the Constitution, the pendatang2 soon find themselves attacked for things such as keeping dogs, rearing pigs, and practising different religions. Their places of worship were often restricted, and some even destroyed. Their children couldn't bring lunch to eat at the school cafetaria, couldn't attend college commencement without a tudung, and often had to wear costumes identified with the dominant community.

Given such circumstances, if you're a non-Malay parent, wouldn't you see every instance of wearing a baju kurong as a surrender to racist oppression? Every instance of donning a songkok as a bow to unmitigated tyranny? Not to mention a sellout to your people, a betrayal to the rights of each community as defined by our Constitution? What if the reverse occurred - if Malays were told to cough up the bulk of the country's taxes, but not allowed to build mosques or use a small percentage of those taxes for vernacular schools. What if Malays were told that their children couldn't attend certain public universities or enroll in certain departments. What if a Chinese minister habitually took out a "kuan tow" (a kind of spear) to threaten the Malays and then lamely said that it's a Chinese custom? Then, under this kind of atmosphere, a Malay is told that in order to meet the Sultan he should wear a Mao suit or, in the case of a woman, a qibao? Even if that Malay were to accede to the request, wouldn't his parents, his friends and peers accuse him of selling out his race? Wouldn't shouts of "Takkan Melayu hilang di-dunia" reverberate all over the nation?

For some of us, wearing the songkok isn't a problem partly because we've to some extent survived the system. For myself, I'm very much at home with Malay food, sarong, songs and pantuns and everything else (my mom was a nyonya anyway). My love for this country motivates my call to fellow non-Malay Malaysians to be forgiving, to be magnanimous, to let bygones be bygones for, by the grace of God, the recent GE has given us some hope. Moreover, racism might be an UMNO trait, but that doesn't mean our sultans share that disability. For His Highness (and unlike UMNO), the dress code is simply a way to emphasize the unity of the rakyat.

But don't imagine for a moment that Teng - or some of those older Chinese citizens - don't have good reasons for rejecting the songkok. They do, and to understand that is the first step towards turning this country from its racist mire into a more tolerant, inclusive nation. God bless Malaysia and our royalty.

written by teo siew chin, March 17, 2008 09:05:30
Dear Renoir

Thanks so much for your comments.
To the small minds who have negatived it - grow up and post a rebuttal instead!

Gotta tell you tho, i oso thought it was the older citizens who rejected the songkok but surprise, surprise it's more of the younger ones!

DOWN WITH RACISM!
DOWN WITH BIGOTS!
written by teo siew chin, March 17, 2008 09:32:00
Dear SUV - 'poison dwarf"?? hahahahahaha you're a mean dude, mean!
written by joeawk, March 17, 2008 12:58:23
THOSE CHAUVINIST IN THE DAP HAVE BETTER BUCKUP FAST. TIME HAS CHANGE AND YOU JUST NEED TO ADJUST TO THE CHANGE. I YOU CAN'T CHANGE THEN GO BACK TO YOUR PIGSTY.
written by bumi non malay, March 17, 2008 13:44:51
Perhaps time to tell the Sultan that non-muslim need not wear Songkok. Songkok = malay = muslim. I agree with Teng. Its a principle thing. I will not want to be DPM or any non malay to give away their DIGNITY just to wear a songkok for a Post. As non malay it is not appropriate. Perhaps Teng should have wore an attire like Yap Ah Loy with the Chinese Skull Cap.smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif

If Protocol means associated with something one is not acustomed with, then hang the position associated with protocol and cop the Crap of Hina Sultan. But Teng was stupid to protest...Stupid! Stupid! Stupid! Teng should just say forget about the position and I will continue to serve the people, the disadvantage, the needy! One can put the Sultan to shame with his prejudice!!

One needs principle in life and I applaud Teng or any NON Malay for it. If the Sultan is so proud that he will only swear someone in with songkok, then it is Malaysia loss.

If wearing a suit, polished shoes, groomed hair, proper dress is not a respect enough for protocol to Sultan...then I say the Sultan needs to Move with times too!!

Keep giving your Dato, Datuk, Tan Sri, Tun to people who wear songkok at your ceremony......All sultan must be proud of their contribution to Malaysia UMNO-BN songkok wearing Cronies thus far for the past 50 years. Some people will wear anything to get a title, some would not. I prefer to be in the camp of "no title" and thus "NO Songkok"...there is pride in dignity or vice versa!!

Someone need to tell the Sultan the People voted them in, the way they are, with and without songkok, on wheel chair, defects...etc.....Sultan should show some grace, humility and dignity to whoever rakyat voted in.

Songkok = malay = muslim..... this taboo of born malay=muslim must be obliterated....i.e Freedom of Religion.

Thus PAS need to remove APOSTASY Law in Kelantan.....Raja Petra should get ready to give PAS a Yellow Card......1 year dealy 1 yellow card.

After all its in the "People Declaration".....we await this Apostasy outcome in a state with 2/3 majority.

Otherwise you will be called Refree Kayu...Raja Petra! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

It is a "small mind thing" but big enough to have written something about it....kind of "oxymoron article" don't you think!!?? smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Milo, March 17, 2008 13:57:28
written by joeawk, March 17, 2008 | 12:58:23
THOSE CHAUVINIST IN THE DAP HAVE BETTER BUCKUP FAST. TIME HAS CHANGE AND YOU JUST NEED TO ADJUST TO THE CHANGE. I YOU CAN'T CHANGE THEN GO BACK TO YOUR PIGSTY.

Sir, that times have changed works two ways. If I do not wish to wear a Songkok for cultural or religious reasons, why use a ancient protocol to compel me to wear one? If we recognised times have changed, then it is only fair that such protocol also change to something more accomodative. Does the new Zeitgeist of leaders and heads allows them to be so fixed as to not knowing the distress of their protocol will cause others?
written by JJFoo, March 17, 2008 14:15:31
You really bash-up Teng Chang Khim over the songkok’s thing. Sorry, I have to disagree with you on this one.

Personally this boils down to the issues of “freedom of choice” and “respect the values of others, reciprocally”. If Teng chooses not to put on a songkok, than he chooses not to be in the presence of the Sultan in his palace, if the palace’s protocol call for the songkok as a headgear. This couldn’t amount to insult or disobedient (correct me if I am wrong) but if, Teng chooses to be in the presence of the Sultan in his palace, knowingly very well that the palace’s protocol call for the songkok as a standard headgear for all male, than he is guilty of being disrespectful of even insulting.

Hopefully we won’t be reading headline such as “Malaysian elected state assemblyman not allowed to perform this elected duty due to inappropriate headgear” in locally or overseas press.

Ultimately, whether Teng could do a proper job as an assemblyman is much more important than what he put or does not put on his head.

We are also talking about “values” here. E.g. personally I would make sure not to serve even a single serving consisting “pork” to my dinner guests even if only a single participant is of Muslim faith (some of my family members are), some may not mind but personally for me, that is a “no, no” out of mutual respect toward each other “values”. In the same token, my Buddhist’s friend would definitely have no qualms if a course of “beef” was serve during a “kenduri”, they would happily skip the “beef” and continue with the other delicious “non-beef” serving. It’s not a problem, it only natural for us to have different sets of “values”. Forced “values” is not so palatable for me. Regret using the “pork” thing as an example, but can’t think of a better way to put it to you.

Agree with you that there are bigger fish to fry than the songkok’s thing, just need to get this off me chest and let this songkok’s thing be “water under the bridge’
written by harrbm, March 17, 2008 22:30:39

>

I have great respect for songkok sensitive chinese malaysians. By all means, get your wakil rakyat to propose it to all Sultans to modify their adat resam orang melayu for the sake of songkok sensitive chinese malaysians. Lets see what happen. for all you know, the DYMM may agree.

>

written by cheekhiaw, March 18, 2008 13:39:34
Much ado about what covers the head when what is needed for the country is what enlightens that which is within it.

Throughout history, all cultures (political and religious) in power deemed themselves honoured when their subjects are made to wear their costumes.

What got to be on the head was apparently especially important to those 'powerful' people of the dark ages whether they were from Europe, Middle East or Asia.

As an example, to the arrogant Manchu rulers of China a century or so ago, wearing their hairstyle was the epitome of overlordship (they had their own NEP system too) and was to be compromised only at the price of the head.

The Qing, of course, gained more lasting infamy than respect from that antic of theirs.

History seems to show that it is the arrogant vile that feel most honoured if others ape after them, and most exalted by their one-size fits all version of 'only my way or nothing'.

The US of George Bush Jr. is just the latest ‘global’ version of such arrogance.

Today we see first hand how our own version of such a 'My Way' attitude by an M character had on the Malaysian Dilemma he created.

Forcing others to wear his stupid notions in their head is far worse than that of forcing outfits on others, but they all have small beginnings.

It may start with a book, a hat, or a megalomaniac's dream.

written by NickChan, March 18, 2008 17:48:19
Ask any soldiers, they will agree that May 13 is good to 'control' chinese monopoly and business. "Supaya kita tidak diperintah oleh cina".

Is that part of their training?
written by KKchan, March 18, 2008 21:43:37
I really think this "songkok" issue is a storm in a teacup. Chinese ladies proudly wear the baju kurong and kebaya and all look good. They don't feel Malay or Muslim. You will see them in these attire mostly during Fridays, Hari Raya Puasa or when they attend Malay weddings.And when we see them so attired, do we think they have become Malay or Muslim? So too the songkok. It is just a headgear, nothing religious or racial about it. Indonesians wear them and they don't think of themselves as Malays but Javanese, Bugis, Achenese or whatever ethnic group.
I remembered what Tun Suffian said when the judiciary here changed from wigs to songkok. Like now, there was also some noise along the same lines. He said what was important was not what you put on top of your head, but what's in your head. Time to move on to bigger and better things!
written by Sagaladoola, March 19, 2008 09:07:12
Hahahaha .. well, throughout that "songkok" thing, I managed to weed out several pro-disunity people, some even posting DAP posterboy pictures, DAP

1) Labu - Posting the DAP posterboy website with the name "ALL RACIST CHINAMAN MUST SEE HIM."
2) bananachinese - posting a gif file on DAP members with not very positive message. This was posted http://mylivingwall.com/v2/blog/?p=66
3) bumi non malay - Riling up Monarch condemnation and asking for a petition do it.

People, please pay attention to these people smilies/cheesy.gif

Good luck in your battles.
written by TeohSC, March 19, 2008 12:51:31
This guy Teng does not have the attribute to be a leader in a multi-racial society like Malaysia. He should be pragmatic enough to know that wearing a songkok is just like wearing a tie. He should be knowledgable enough to know that songkok has nothing to do with religion. And we Chinese are supposed to be well-known for being pragmatic.
written by ekt tan, March 23, 2008 19:07:09

About the dress code. Western cut suit is acceptable for all formal occassions.To put it plainly. Would one have to innist that the president of the USA wears a songkok to have an audiance with the Sultan or the Agong if he refuses ? I think the answer is obvious
written by michaellmy, April 04, 2008 15:32:37
Teng Chang Khim of DAP wants to become the Deputy Menteri Besar of Selangor. He has organised demonstrations the last couple of days to pressure his own party into proposing his name for Deputy Menteri Besar. But he refuses to wear a songkok. Instead, he wants to become a Chinese 'hero' by boycotting the audience with the Sultan of Selangor to protest being asked to wear a songkok. He wants to become the Deputy Menteri Besar but he boycotts the Sultan. What the ****! How the hell is he going to be sworn in as the Deputy Menteri Besar if he refuses to go meet the Sultan? Does he want the Sultan to just send him a SMS?

It can't get any better than this. Well said.
written by popiah, April 04, 2008 17:18:24
I couldn't have put it in better words. The old opposition is the new government. So now govern.

Hunting down the faults of the previous gov should give way to providing a plan and a timeline on who/what/when/where things are to be done.

I am most certainly not asking the new government to totally forget about the corruption of the old gov, but, while they are doing that, the states needs to be run. People need to see clear cut directions for moving forward.