Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow I oppose an Islamic State

I oppose an Islamic State PDF Print
Friday, 14 March 2008 15:23

Islam forbids oppression and favouritism. Therefore the New Economic Policy would have to be abolished and a meritocracy system would have to be introduced to replace it. The Federal Constitution of Malaysia would also have to be amended to remove the rights and special privileges of the Malays.

“Let me show you something,” I told my wife who I have been with for 40 years now.

We were in Kota Bharu in Kelantan to cover the Islamic Party of Malaysia's national convention. I admit, surrounded by the long-robbed and 'properly-covered' PAS women, my wife looked like a fish out of water. But they did not seem to mind that amongst their midst was this uncovered woman in tight jeans and even tighter T-shirt that revealed more than what Muslim women are supposed to reveal.

The normal convention would be for the women to sit on one side of the hall and the men on the other, the proper segregation of the sexes in true Muslim fashion. But my wife chose to sit beside me in the men's section and we sat close to the exit so that she could pop out into the corridor every hour or so to recharge her nicotine level. Yes, an uncovered woman in tight jeans and T-shirts and puffing away on top of that would not be considered the normal setting in a PAS gathering, and sitting in the men's section as well to complete the unorthodox scene. But this did not appear to have ruffled any feathers or triggered any murmurings from amongst the 1,500 or so PAS delegates from all over Malaysia.

I swung into a back alley and slowed down as we neared about a dozen or so young girls and boys loitering in the dark shadows. Some were probably mere teenagers but they all had one thing in common, they all had good looks.

“Look at those boys and girls,” I told my wife.

“What are they waiting for?” my wife asked, half-suspecting she already knew the answer.

“Customers of course.”

“Sure, I can understand the girls are waiting for customers. But what about the boys?”

“Also for customers?”

“Men customers?” she asked with a 'don't tell me they're waiting for women customers' look on her face.

“They waiting for women, of course. What, you mean you women can't also buy sex off the streets?”

“I know we can, but maybe in KL, this is Kota Bharu.”

“Hey, Kota Bharu women also need sex.”

I stopped the car and signalled to one extremely good-looking young man to come forward. “Hey, what you doing?” My wife was taken aback and did not know if I was just teasing or whether this was for real.

“Don't worry. I just want to demonstrate something to you.”

As the delicious-looking young thing came closer I lowered the window and he popped his head into the car and greeted us with a sweet “Hai Pak Cik, Mak Cik.”

“Hey, you panggil kami Pak Cik, Mak Cik, tak mahu berkawanlah. Panggillah Abang dan Kakak.”

“Oh, sorrylah, Abang, Kakak. Jangan marah ia?”

“Tak marah. Bergurau je.”

“You looking for a man?” the hunk of a young guy asked.

“Well, sort of.”

“For you or for Kakak?”

“Which one you prefer?”

“Both also okay. Abang pun boleh, Kakak pun boleh.”

“Kalau dua-dua sekali?” I asked, as my wife thumped me on my chest, appalled that this may be going further than she would like it to.

“Dua-dua sekali maksud apa?”

“Dua-dua sekali, threesome.”

“Threesome also can. Lagi enjoy.”

“You biasa buat threesome dulu? Tak nervous?”

“Biasa. No problem.”

“Threesome you biasa buat macam mana? Husband tengok ke wife tengok ke tiga-tiga sekali?”

“Semua dah try.”

“Tapi yang mana you prefer?”

“I suka tiga-tiga sekali. I kat tengah......So, Abang dan Kaka nak tak? I guarantee puas.”

“Okay, bagi kita check-in hotel dulu. I datang balek setengah jam lagi.”

“Alright....datang balek okay? Jangan tak datang.”

My wife could not hold back her laughter as we drove off. “You really teruklah. Wow, Kota Bharu also has all this.”

“Of course, you can even get this in Saudi Arabia so what is Kota Bharu?”

PAS has been ruling the 'Islamic' state of Kelantan for 18 years and, in spite of the loud Islamic State rhetoric, you can still decide whether to live the life of a pious Muslim or instead indulge in a 'western' lifestyle of sex games. And of course if bakuteh and beer are your thing you can never be short of those as well.

I am not trying to say that PAS' Islamic State proposal is pure rhetorical bullshit. I am not even trying to say that an Islamic State is 'safe' and poses no danger to anyone who would rather live the life of a devil's disciple. What I am emphasising here is that Islam has to rise above mere rhetoric. Shouting about Islam will not bring about changes. Legislation and the creation of an Islamic State would also not bring about changes. Changes can only be brought about through education and by the will of the people to live the life of a true Muslim. That, and only that, will bring about changes. And we do not need an Islamic State for that. If the people refuse to change, no Islamic State can change them. Furthermore, screaming about an Islamic State would just alienate and antagonise non-Muslims, who as it is already fear Islam and would run scared from anyone who rants and raves about Islam

DAP is one example of a serious infliction of Islamphobia. The DAP people are so scared of Islam and scared shit that the non-Muslim Chinese will punish them come the next general election if they form a coalition government in Perak with a PAS man as the Menteri Besar. Can we really blame DAP when they have suffered such punishment in the past and the very thought of this episode being repeated sends shivers down their spine?

It is easy to accuse DAP of being anti-Islam but if we were in DAP's shoes we would certainly not act any differently. This is, after all, a matter of political survival, and if it is politically expedient to oppose Islam, then this is what must be done just to stay relevant to the non-Muslim Chinese and to continue getting their support. If DAP is seen as 'selling out', this would be the beginning of the end for DAP. Nevertheless, while we can appreciate what motivates DAP -- and while we may have no quarrel with their reasons for flying off the handle at the prospect of forming a government with PAS and then having PAS as the Menteri Besar on top of that -- it is their methods that we find fault with.

Making public statements to the government-controlled media who would just exploit the issue and present the opposition in a negative light is just not on. Have you noticed that the Barisan Nasional states of Perlis and Terengganu are also facing problems? Perlis and Terengganu too can't form governments and there is a serious deadlock as to who should be the new Menteris Besar. But the media does not play up the issue of Perlis and Terengganu. They do, however, play up Perak and Selangor which are actually lesser problems than Perlis and Terengganu.

Let me say this again and let me say it loud and clear. READ MY LIPS, PAS. WE DO NOT NEED AN ISLAMIC STATE. WE NEED MUSLIMS WHO ARE NOT HYPOCRITES. And that is why I oppose the creation of an Islamic State. An Islamic State would give an impression that everything is honky-dory whereas in actual fact it is not. An Islamic State would give an impression that we are all good Muslims whereas we would be nothing but a bunch of hypocrites. Better we have no Islamic State than we are reduced to a bunch of munafiks living in an Islamic State.

Let me tell you why every Malay in Malaysia should also oppose an Islamic State. And these are just three of the reasons amongst many.

Islam forbids oppression and favouritism. Therefore the New Economic Policy would have to be abolished and a meritocracy system would have to be introduced to replace it. The Federal Constitution of Malaysia would also have to be amended to remove the rights and special privileges of the Malays. Every rakyat would be treated as equal to one another and Malays would no longer be the Lords or Tuan of this country and Ketuanan Melayu would therefore no longer exist. This would also mean the quota system, special discounts for Malays, and much more, would all immediately cease to exist. An Islamic State would give the non-Malays an advantage over the Malays and the Malays would be left far, far behind, economically as well as academically.

Side-incomes would be drastically reduced or eliminated altogether. The basic salary for 95% of the Malays is very low compared to the non-Malays. This is because most Malays go into government service or join the police, army, navy, air force, customs department, etc., where the salaries are very low, whereas most non-Malays are either professionals, go into the corporate world, or run their own business. The non-Malay take-home pay, therefore, is quite substantial while Malays have to resort to commissions and kickbacks to supplement their meagre income. Under an Islamic State, corruption would be severely dealt with -- though not as bad as China which shoots their corrupted civil servants in the head -- so all forms of corruption would have to come to an end.

Without these commissions and kickbacks, Malays would become very poor. Corruption, rather than the New Economic Policy, helps the Malays keep up economically with the non-Malays. The New Economic Policy is therefore a convenient camouflage to legalise corruption because what, under normal circumstances, would be considered a criminal act becomes perfectly legal if done under the ambit of the New Economic Policy.

Malays would suffer more than non-Malays. In time, Malays would face severe handicaps when a high percentage of the Malay population has to learn how to survive without the advantage of hands. It would be very difficult for the Malays, who as it is can no longer receive a university education -- because of the removal of quotas as required under an Islamic State -- to compete with the non-Malays who still have two good hands. Considering that more than 95% of those who work for the various government agencies are Malays and all the government departments are corrupt, it would be the Malays rather than the non-Malays who suffer severed limbs. This problem would be further compounded during the Umno general assemblies when kerises can no longer be raised because no one in the assembly has any hands left with which to hold the kerises.

Just these reasons alone are enough to justify Malays opposing to the death the setting up of an Islamic State in Malaysia. And if the non-Malays suddenly realise the advantage of an Islamic State and start pushing for one, the Malays should resist this call by the non-Malays for the setting up of an Islamic State which would clearly give the non-Malays an unfair advantage over the Malays.

To make matters worse, once an Islamic State is set up and many, many years later the Malays discover that they have been left behind because of the Islamic State, there would be very little the Malays can do since starting another May 13 would be impossible without hands to brandish parangs.

Comments (100)Add Comment
written by malaysianohope, March 14, 2008 15:37:00
Abang Pete,

I think we get your drift but you are only one of the rare Abang who thinks the way you described but we need more people like you. After what we've seen elsewhere scares the hell out of us.
agree 212
written by Jay Krish, March 14, 2008 15:39:40
Aiyooo bosss...

where do you come up with all this laaa... lol! i don't know whether it's an astute observation or an hyper-active imagination. excellent read anyway!
written by sitiawan, March 14, 2008 15:39:42
Perfect timing,Perfect Article.

Long Live BARISAN RAKYAT!!!
written by Malaysiaku, March 14, 2008 15:42:19
Hahahaha! RPK, you are wonderful! I will support an Islamic State provided we begin with the investigations and punishment of UMNO and BN people! I am sure there are enough sewerage to drown the rats. Great write-up. Thanks RPK!
written by mypanida, March 14, 2008 15:45:34
This problem would be further compounded during the Umno general assemblies when kerises can no longer be raised because no one in the assembly has any hands left with which to hold the kerises.

======================================================= ==========================

ROTFLMAO... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

zzzz
written by Heikal, March 14, 2008 15:46:15
Abolish the NEP, under the NEP the Malays became too complacent and they are trapped in their kampung mentality. 7% discount for house, prefrentials for higher education in public universities, malay reserve land only giving involvement for malays but does not make them any better, smarter or more skillful.

Just look at Singaporean Malays. They know they don't have 'special privileges' to protect them, so they go out and compete with the best Singaporeans. Now there are many malays in Singapore who are Ministers, member of parliament, athletes, writers and professors. And do they have NEP to help them?
disagree 16
agree 207
written by MarchOn, March 14, 2008 15:46:57
I long for the day when one Chief Minister can respectfuly serve the Malaysian community (without racial bias) or in the case of Penang, Perak & Selangor and even Kedah, the need to install deputy chief minister just to ensure the different races are taken care of..... we need to change our mentality (BN's brainwash since school days)... I very sure that LGE can serve all the community well, and Khalid (Selangor)surely can serve the chinese and Indians well and fair... so there is really no need to install a non-malay just to proclaim that the government (state's) is not racially bias. We need to move away from that mindset... if not we'll just become another BN in 10 years time. A BR leader should be appointed according to his/her ability and expriences...please no more race base appointments... we are all Malaysians.
Everything you (BR) do please provide detailed info on why such and such strategy.... don't rely on the MSM, they will just twist the fact to suit BN's propaganda... use other channels, maybe create your own websites, alternative print media. Also if MSM media continue to be bias in their reporting please warn them... also taking action like banning their media on for a short period of time might teach them a lesson (if the law allows it).

We have the same blood - A Malaysian Blood.
written by CHEERFUL Joo, March 14, 2008 15:49:58
Bravo YB RPK, you are a true Malaysian. I respect you even more.
written by shock, March 14, 2008 15:50:16
pak blah blah and yr assitants - pls do not talk about the NEP - if after the policy has been in placed for the last 37 years and it has not achieved the desired objectives, then it is time to change the policy - it has obviously failed to achieve anything other enriching certain parties - the UMNO politicians uses race as a platform for their own power - as it is, people are rejecting raced based parties - but UMNO has no choice - if they do not seem to champion the cause of the malays, then they will die faster (as it it they are already dying) and be sent into oblivion - so to all non malays - please do not allow pak blah blah and his assistants to goad us into making some stupid mistakes and thus allowing anothe unwanted may 13 to happen - long live barisan rakyat
written by Milo, March 14, 2008 15:50:29
I think the issue is not about opposing Islam, or for that matter opposing any religion. Religion should be a private affair, period. The moment any party be it PAS or others put the religious tag on their party, there would be complication, as it implies they have to push the religious agenda once in power. In which case, other's religious rights will be inevitably be tramped upon. You may say, in Islamic tenets, fairness is an important principle. But that claim itself will automatically makes others' religion termed unfair. If we say all religions believe in the same principle of fairness, then it is a universal principle where there is no need to put a religious tag on it! Common, we are working to remove the racial divide, don't make it complicated by having another potentially more explosive divide using religion. Carve out a set of universal principles that are acceptable to all walks of people, and there will be no need for a religious tag. It is pure arrogance for any leader to think his religious convictions and principles should be the basis to govern the lives of others' faiths.

If you have a Islamic Party, Buddhist Party, Hindu Party and Christian Party, I can guarantee you will find even a dumb ass put to represent each of the parties will get almost the full votes by their respective devotees. Wake up people, keep religion at home and out of politics, or else, sooner or later, serious problems will arise!
written by temenggong, March 14, 2008 15:51:00
Dear Panglima Rpk,

The article was most apt in the aftermath of the elections.

It is up to Pas to clearly repudiate the NEP as unislamic and call for its nationwide abolition. It is up to PKR to call for freedom of religion for malays!

By the way, which street was that?
written by Task Force 101, March 14, 2008 15:53:40
The scene tat was played in the article as this is a fact. I am aware of these scenarios as should every Msian as these are the marginalised and abused of soceity regardless of religious persuation. No body wants to do this for a living!! I pray for those young boys and girl for Allah's mercy and blessing.

As i have always stated in this comment blog, Islam is a peaceful religion. It is the dingbats in UMNO and immature, attention seeking idiots of Al-Queda who want power and remain remain relevant that uses Islam to the deteriment of all including good Muslims. Its really the case of one rotten apple spoiling the whole barrel.

I like the fact that PAS has dropped its Islamic state position but I hope that the next generation of PAS will have the same wisdom of Sulaiman the Magnificent to ensure all races can pray, live and worship their respective beliefs.

Following the true hadiths and surahs of Islam, all races and ppls must be respected and I like Hadi of PAS statement that NEP is for all races and should be implemented as such. He has stated u do not need NEP to treat all races fairly. This is refreshing.

It was a new dawn when Malays roar in unison and support when asked to defend a Chinese or Indian. Its a bright new sun when a Malay, Chinese and Indian stand in unison to work together regardless of NEP and all its trappings.

Tat day has arrived and this article is the apex of it.

written by Hockchew, March 14, 2008 15:55:37
Before the GE, I told many people to vote for PAS in my area. Reason is obvious, TDM already declared Malaysia to be an islamic state. If so i might as well voted in the pious muslim in PAS and let them pray and prepare to their akhirat and let us the non-malay make our bucks. If you voted in the Umno, they will steal our money and hookwind the muslim.

Pete, are u dreaming or it is the real KB? How come I never heard of such a place. Sex is available everywhere but definitely not street boys/girls in KB. Heaven forbid. I think you have strayed into Sg Golok .
written by temenggong, March 14, 2008 15:56:17
The malay reserve land provisions is what is keeping the malays feudal, rural, agrarian, poor, immobile and bonded in servitude to penghulus and politicians.

The NEP was supposed to make the malays less agricultural based, but the opposite happened over the decades!

The 5 opposition states should abolish the MRLs and free the malays!
written by Milo, March 14, 2008 15:58:27
I agree with Pete's analysis, which is basically to govern a state using good/universal principles rather than religious-tagged principles. If your practices are attractive and effective in bring about good to the people, they will voluntarily join you - no force or coesion needed at all. If they decide to go to hell, that's really their choice - and it is between God and them to sort out.
written by ez24get, March 14, 2008 16:11:01
Yet another very enlightening and timely article by RPK!

This election you can see the reaction of the various races supporting each other. I can't help but amused that many chinese gingerly and nervously put their first foot into the new world and marvelled that PAS can be so moderate allowing pork selling, temples and kuils to co-exist with the mosques. Similarly PAS malays marvelled and smiled at non-malays supporters carrying PAS flags in earnest in their motorbikes and cars. They always thought that the other side sits an ogre waiting to consume them. It was like all Malaysians have entered into a new world, a new unchartered territory, seeing a new perspective of the other side.

All these was the result of the UMNO government driving a wedge between the various races painting a terrifying picture of an ogre waiting on the other side that will consume whosoever dared to cross over. It was like a dark cloud being lifted over the citizens exposing a new light. It is this 50 years of relentless indoctrinations by the BN lead government that have ingrained in the minds of Lim Kit Siang, Hadi, Mahathir, Badawi. You can't really blame these people because they have spent a most part of their lives under the indoctrination. But they are slowly warming up to a new dawn where race politics have become redundant.

No doubt there will be people from the old order who will still fight for race based politics and try to turn Malaysia back to the old. Therefore, it is the duty of this young generations and the new leaders like RPK, Haris, Anwar, LGE, and the like to take control of this new rich country and give it back to the people regardless of race and religion!
written by Chuang Tze, March 14, 2008 16:11:09
An excellent piece, RPK ! I fell off my chair and my sides nearly split with laughter ! You have a Machiavellian sense of humour that is most infectious !!Might I hasten to add that please let me know ahead a little when we are going to turn into an Islamic State so that I can start many "Hands Free" restaurants like those in Thailand, and South Korea !!! Do you want some shares, RPK ?!! We should make a killing as the corrupt are usually rich and they need to come to our restaurants to get fed and for some ... you know what ... !!!
written by teo siew chin, March 14, 2008 16:13:31
OMG, i laughed so hard, had tears in my eyes! YM RPK, that wife of yours is so cool man! the 2 of you are truly partners-in-crime! smilies/grin.gif There should be more of your kind is what I'm saying.

Anyways, this islamic-state phobia thingy must be addressed.
Even though there is no reason to fear, the fear is real.
Dunno if it's a fear borne of ignorance or experience.
gotta admit, islam has not been the favorite poster-boy.

The article above should be clear enuf.
how's about YM RPK do a road-show, weave his magic again and deliver the above message to the masses.
(macam rock-star hehehehe.
and bring the wifey along!)

written by aryn, March 14, 2008 16:14:50
Come to think of it, PKR's manifesto to offer minimum RM1,500 salary should help many of us esp those living in the cities. The malay civil servants should know better than to re-elect Umno/BN esp in Putrajaya.

Inilah jadi nya kalau sudah dependent on the false NEP. Yang untung Umno leaders and their cronies. Melayu juga yang rugi.
written by zonefinder, March 14, 2008 16:21:54
Islamic state or not, as long as its a fight against injustice and arrogance, we will join hands with our PAS and Malay brothers to fight as one. The Bersih rally was only the beginning. Hidup Rakyat!!

ps preferably no Islamic State lah!
written by malaysianohope, March 14, 2008 16:28:23
Greetings Guys/Gals!

Just read Malaysiakini...

The deal to compromise in Perak's Barisan Rakyat State composition is now signed, sealed and delivered.

Abang Pete should be proud and since it's Friday les celebrate with beer all round on ????

Next stop to get the stubborn oldman to attend the ceremony and LKS to personally bring a box of Cuban cigars for Tuanku (for his 'bundle of joy' PRINCE) .

Cheers!!!!
written by Counterpointer, March 14, 2008 16:32:32
RPK, got to say this to you; only you can drum some common sense into the PKR-DAP-PAS coalition. But will PAS listen to your clarion call? If they do, then it would truly be the beginning of the end of BN's rule.
written by fairnessforall, March 14, 2008 16:41:57
RPK, great piece. Maybe it should be translated in Malay and distributed to the kampung folks.
written by SamYap, March 14, 2008 16:42:49
I am not a muslim and hence, I suppose I cannot comment on what is or isn't an Islamic state; or least thats the public perception of who can or canot comment on Islam.

However, I can comment on the current (and future? ) situation.

First of all, in case some of us here did not notice, there was a sort of one "upmanship" kind of race between PAS and UMNO over the years. Each trying to outdo the other by proclaiming one is more "Islamic" than the other. In the process of it, the rakyat had been led around by their noses by both sides' ulamaks.

Now, the smart cookies are the power brokers, shakers and movers in the two political parties. These fellows are in fact using the holy words of the revered Prophet to achieve their political ends. But at the same time, they tell everyone, including non-muslims that no one except the learned ulamaks are allowed to engage in debate about whose Islam is better.

In the meantime, the muslims are frustrated and confused because there are opposing views all around. It even reached a point where, in some families, some members will go the state mosque while the others will attend the PAS sanctioned mosques.

While all this going on, the mighty politicians in both parties continue to plot and plan to achieve their own goals.

I would like to quote a learned friend of mine when I was student in London, he was an Egyptian and a graduate of the Al Azhar U in Egypt. He said, "In the end whats important in Islam is something very personal between my God and I. Even if my president or my imam says my wrongs are forgiven and a state pardon is given, it means nothing...because I have yet to answer to HIM the Almighty and All Merciful".

So religion, in any guise or any form, if one examines it closely, is really a personal relationship between the believer and his Almighty.

Further, I wish to bring to attention, that any state which is founded on religion, is very difficult to dismantle, if and when, the people wish to change it for whatever reason.

One can even dismantle a communist state with minimum bloodshed, as in the case of the Soviet Union or Romania. But dismantling a state founded on relgious belief is quite another thing.

A good case study is that of the Holy Roman Empire. So, you think that empire is dead and gone? You think that because the White Europeans now are sunning nude on their beaches and thier women procuring services of gigolos are signs that the church is dead? Think again.

The very fact that the Pope can raise such a hullabaloo with his lecture about Islam and muslims being baddies, is sufficient to tell you that the church still has clout. The number of Christians and Catholics are enormous and if they had to put on their clothes and fight a war believing that its Armageddon, you can bet your bottom dollar, they will do it.

Even in this new millenium, you still have a President of the most technoloically advanced state in the world, proclaiming that he is bombing the people of Iraq because his God told him thats good. And, know what? Surprise surprise! There were lots of people who were prepared to believe that bullshit.

So do we have any hope? Maybe, it all depends on whether we can accept more enlightened views rather than mere dogma.
written by tmf, March 14, 2008 17:08:23
There is really nothing one should worry about when dealing with a genuine Muslim who is very likely to be fair minded.

Many years ago, in 1980, my family’s tyre shop in Klang Lama always got into trouble with corrupt enforcement officers from DBKL, for not paying them kopi-o money on their rounds of inspection, and there was no reason to as we have seen to it that the surrounding was properly maintained.

On one nasty occasion, a very rude officer who could not extort any payment from us, issued a summon with some frivolous charge of traffic obstruction. He was extremely rude and antagonistic as all other shops in the vicinity, in order to avoid problem, just pay meekly on their every visit regardless any offence was committed, except my family’s tyre shop.

I was outraged and demanded that the officer explains the charge but he told me off and just left with his gang laughing along. With tears in my eyes, I rode my Honda cub straight to DBKL and stormed into the office of Datuk Bandar to complain.

Of course I was stopped by the secretary who explained to me about appointment needed and Datuk Bandar having meeting etc.

Feeling frustrated, I retreated to a nearby coffee shop, and remember a senior of mine from Faculty of Law, who was posted to DBKL.

I went to her office, told her in details on what has transpired. She told me to see a certain Director in DBKL whom she said has very low tolerance on corruption and abuse of power.

I went to the Director’s office as directed, was told by the secretary to wait. Soon a man in green jacket and with beads in his hand emerged with an entourage of officers surrounding him.

I was taken aback, and cursed my senior who caused me to face an ayatollah or something, remember the year was 1980, after the Iranian Islamic Revolution and there were posters of Ayatollah Komeini all over our campus in UM.

Though the incident happened 28 years ago, I still remember what followed.

He had a glance of this long haired young Chinese boy with helmet in his hand and asked his pretty secretary:

“ Whats this?”

“ Mahu complain.”

He looked at me again, dismissed his officers and gestured me to follow him into his office, where I told him everything as quickly and as best I could. He asked some questions on my background and then summoned two officers to his office.

Apparently those were Senior Officers in charge of operations on enforcement. I was asked to repeat my ordeal. “Ayatollah Director” then asked the two Senior Officers if they knew their officers were abusive and corrupted as I mentioned. The two advised that investigation has to be conducted first before any conclusion could be made, at which point “Ayatollah Director” blew his top and snared at his officers:-

“What for? You mean to say, this young boy dare barge into my office if he is not genuinely aggrieved? Do you have any idea how your officers conduct themselves in the field? Do you care for our reputation?”

To cut a long story short, those corrupt officers were disciplined and I was told by “Ayatollah Director” that his door will always be opened for me and thank me for taking the trouble to sort things out the correct way.

Since that incident, I had no prejudice in dealing with any Muslim, and I find it rather easy to tell if a Muslim is genuine.

By the way, “Ayatollah Director” real name as I remember is Nawi Embong, I regreted not making any effort to locate him to express my gratitude. However, I have related his good deed many times to many of my friends. Now, I want to dedicate this true story to DAP.

agree 115
written by glock17, March 14, 2008 17:30:18
well said pete....it was point blank.

glock17
written by panca, March 14, 2008 17:36:00
It' s totally the opposite what nazi and kerismuddin said in the STAR & NST, they are hell-bent on championing the word NEP despite the fact that it's the men on the streets' knowledge of its hidden agenda for this goons. Hijacking the NEP to serve their personal greed and political aims. They are still at it at this time, hoping the majority believes they are being deprived if the NEP is done away. There is noNEP to be done away in the first place, it's a farce. And as long as the goons are there they will play it up. The position of the Malays are enshrined in the Federal Constitution. The NEP is about for all for all Malays, all Non-Malays and that is what Malaysia is all about for all PEOPLE OF MALAYSIA. Every deserving malaysian, unites as THE MALAYSIAN RACE. The umnoGoons can forget those rhetorics of racism, kerises brandishing, such overtures and mentality are clearly shown in the March 2008 Election results. Just as The PEOPLE thought perhaps over time things can be different as these goons can be let off if they contribute to society in a credible manner,(bury the hatchet or in this case, bury the keris threat and insult) they failed already to slip our memories. They are poisoned with such inflated ego and make-believe, hijacked policies, they remain. I guess it is true to say a dead snake is still a snake and worst if it is a cobra. It's still a dead cobra.

Well as we read the above article by YM RPK, it is like one having a calm mind. Because the calm mind is a clear mind. A clear mind is able to see through the settled pool of disturbed water.

The law that we abide by it applies to all without any discrimination, that shall bring fairness, prosperity, joy and peace to all. That shall be the law of love for all on this land.
written by KC Chew, March 14, 2008 17:41:29
Apa nama itu back alley ah Pete? Lorong apatu. Nah, just joking. This is a good, provocative read.
written by sampalee, March 14, 2008 17:43:53
On a more serious note,the rakyat do not encourage corruption,Islamic state ot not.Like umno,corruption is the common enemy of the rakyat.Cari makan by all means,including incentive like structued commision paid to sales staff.Unlike the evil of corruption such earning is open and transparent and also taxable.The seed of corruption can destroy the best and purest,like a drop of sour in clean white milk.
written by pengembara, March 14, 2008 17:57:51
Dear Pete

Lovely read.

A little side - one of your junior from the Nat Type Pri School Jln Meru, Klang who happens to be a classmate of mine - actually runs a bah kut teh business in Kota Baru. He does good business and gets little or no hassle from the local council. And definitely no 'duit kopi' for any approval.

As for me, I feel very comfortable with Muslims having work, play and live with them for the past few decades.

And yes, we do share some tipple except the Holy month then we all have 100 plus.

peace
written by InEffective, March 14, 2008 18:03:03
Not sure why/how this linkage of muslims to sordid practices is relevant or justified. The religion has strong values, but in all peoples of all faiths there are poor and feeble faith practitioners. Not in agreement that the lable of hypocricy is warranted.

From the angle of governance and human decency, all support should be given to kids to get out of such conditions, and alleviate the pressures that create such conditions. Got nothing to do with religion. In fact, it would be appreciated if we dont undermine religion - you are free to undermine or demean anyone who takes advantage of children.
written by Ireland, March 14, 2008 18:13:02
i guest NEP shouldn't be abolished in a day time.... as it need a transition over time to acceptance.... what opposition should best doing is to modify the current NEP for the benefit of all and slowly this implementation will be accepted by majority and gives the Malays time to adopt the changes.... then maybe over next election or after that we could take deeper root solving method.... this is exactly what happen when china starts to release their communism fundamental.... it was done gradually NOT in A DAY..... today they are still have the communism fundamental but adopted the new paradigm which opens to global....
written by jothy, March 14, 2008 18:24:23
We need policy makers in this country who can think like you and how wonderful this nation of Malaysia will be. We will be the best country in the world to live in. God bless you for your thoughts.
written by palmyra, March 14, 2008 18:32:58
I seconded the notion that "Better we have no Islamic State than we are reduced to a bunch of munafiks living in an Islamic State". Given the state of minds of Malaysians, especially the Malays, pushing to an Islamic state is not a wise move. A nation can be label institutionally as an Islamic state but it doesn't guarantee its people (leaders especially) are conforming to Islamic values, cultures, so on so forth. What really matters are the quality of dignity and perseverance of the individuals who runs the state. Corrupted Muslims in an Islamic state is equally the same virtues of the suci bersih milk being mixed with piggy shits! So be it an Islamic state or the other way around is not crucial but what really matters are the quality and dignity of individuals, especially those with power to rule the state. After all, this state and any other states in this mortal soil isn't ours absolutely - it's His.

written by miracle, March 14, 2008 18:35:46
thank you YM Pete.. i am waiting for this article ... i guess only you be able to express and write on this issue... i support... i am not anti muslim nor malay .. i have many malay friends... and have muslim in my family ... my brother is muslim ... married malay with a muslim daughter ... i speak fluent malay too...
written by seek justice, March 14, 2008 18:53:07
The only true Islamic state is Iran and even then, we cannot be there to freely practice because Malaysians are of the Sunnah Wal-Jamaah sect and the Iranians are Shiites.

I hear RPK loud and clear and with a heavy heart, I agree with him wholeheartedly (does that statement qualify as an oxymoron?). I suppose, in line with an important Islamic teaching, 'tread on the straight path, do good and not evil', each one of us will somehow contribute to a better Malaysia.

I was once like your wife, RPK, 'untudunged' and always in short skirts. Now, I find so much solace in wearing the tudung and it is very personal, don't know and won't explain to anyone. I let my daughters decide for themselves whether or not they want to put on the tudung. I don't think God loves me less that I cannot stop getting my nicotine fix till now.

Live and let live. Don't be nervous about the serbans and the jubahs donned by the PAS people to mean that they are terribly Islam, we are wearing western garbs, so why can't they choose to dress like the Arabs? We all belong to HIM and to HIM, we will be going back to!
written by The dragonheart, March 14, 2008 19:36:36
Well done Engku... This is not the first time you manage to hammer nails into peoples' head on the same issue as above...But Malaysian mudah lupa...

You need to spare lots of nails and hammer in you bag... verytime when Malaysian becomes Pontianak Sundal Malam... U need to nail them again...

Good job well done! Tahniah!
written by cruzeiro, March 14, 2008 19:40:45

RPK Sir,
That was good.
Never thought I'd hear you say that so point blank.
At the end of the day, people have to realize that no amount of edict, laws or declaration can make a nation Islamic, Christian, Hindu or whatever.
It all comes from education and the culture that is prevalent in a society.
These things would automatically infuse the ethical values in the people.
It is all about the ethical/ philosophical "values" that are instilled in the young ones of today, that will make the nation of tomorrow - not the clothes, laws, edicts or religion.
Cheers.
written by Anti Relon, March 14, 2008 20:32:35

From The Times (UK)March 12, 2008

It's time to take a stand against Islam and Sharia (Part 1)
Maryam Namazie, head of the Council of Ex-Muslims in Britain, says that rights are for individuals, not religions or beliefs

Juliet Rix
Picture this, says Maryam Namazie: “A child is swathed in cloth from head to toe every day. Everything but her face and hands are covered for fear that a man might find her attractive. At school she learns that she is worth less than a boy. She is not allowed to dance or swim or feel the sun on her skin or the wind in her hair. This is clearly unacceptable, yet it is accepted when it is done in the name of religion.”

Namazie is the founder of the Council of Ex-Muslims in Britain (CEMB) which started life in the middle of last year. On Monday - in celebration of the centenary of International Women's Day - she spoke at a conference on Political Islam and Women's Rights, and launched a campaign against Sharia.

Iranian Muslim by birth, Namazie, 41, is friendly and softly spoken. But she does not mince her words. It takes nerve to start an organisation for people who have rejected Islam. In Islamic law, apostasy is punishable by death. Namazie receives periodic threats, usually on her mobile phone: “One said, 'You are going to be decapitated'...I went to the police. They were very attentive at first because they thought it might be linked to the attempted bombings in Glasgow . But when they realised it wasn't, they never bothered contacting me again.” Doesn't she worry about her safety? “Yes, I do, frequently. I worry about whether I will live, especially now I am a mother. If I see someone looking at me strangely, I wonder.” Why doesn't she use a pseudonym? “They can find out who you are anyway. And the point of the Council of Ex-Muslims is to stand up and be counted.” She doesn't really like the label ex-Muslim and would prefer not to frame her identity in religious terms but, she says, it is like gays “coming out” 30 years ago: something has to become public if you are to break taboos. The CEMB has more than 100 members with inquiries from people who do not dare to join. “Some have horrendous stories but do not put them on the website because they are afraid.”

Namazie's grandfather was a mullah and her father was brought up a strict Muslim. Both of her parents (now living in America) remain Muslim. When Namazie told her father about the launch of the CEMB, she remembers that he said: “Oh no, Grandpa is going to be turning in his grave.” “So I told him that what I am doing benefits Muslims, too, because if you live in a secular society, you can be a Muslim, a Sikh, a Christian or an atheist and be treated equally.” Namazie's opposition to state religion is informed by her own experience. She was 12 when the Iranian revolution “was hijacked by the Ayatollahs” and her country became the Islamic Republic of Iran.

“I had never worn the veil and was at a mixed school. Suddenly a strange man appeared in the playground. He was bearded and had been sent to separate the sexes - but we ran circles round him.” She can still picture, too, the face of “the Hezbollah” who stopped her in the street because her head was uncovered. “I was 12 or 13. It was really scary.” Worse happened to others: “There were beatings and acid was thrown in women's faces, and there were executions on television every day,” she says. Then her school was closed “for Islamicisation”.

© Copyright 2008 Times Newspapers Ltd.

This service is provided on Times Newspapers' standard Terms and Conditions. Please read our Privacy Policy.To inquire about a licence to reproduce material from Times Online, The Times or The Sunday Times, ***** here.This website is published by a member of the News International Group. News International Limited, 1 Virginia St, London E98 1XY, is the holding company for the News International group and is registered in England No 81701. VAT number GB 243 8054 69.

disagree 18
written by Negarakuku, March 14, 2008 20:49:57
HAHAHA YM RPK, you are not only bright but a funny person too. You are not fake like many politician that is why you should be the next PM of Malaysia. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

May you and your family be well and happy!
written by Malaysian Abroad, March 14, 2008 21:39:07
I read with interest all the recommendations of working together as a coalition, compromises and a two party political system. What strikes me as most interesting is that how do we define a two party political system? We accuse the BN of being racially based, yet the coalition that exists in the DAP, PAS and PKR seems to mirror the same problems, to a certain extent. Maybe it is too early to think of? Or maybe it will not happen?
But just imagine, what if, yes what if there is a truly a party for all Malaysian? We the rakyat have sown the seeds and took the first steps towards that utopia. Yes we have. The results of the just concluded elections is living proof that many of us (and I mean the rakyat) have discarded our racial sentiments rise onto a pedestal never before thought possible. We have shown that it does not matter whether we are a PAS, a DAP or even a PKR supporter, we voted as Malaysians. The problem is as long as we think of ourselves as a coalition, and I believe this is what the leaders of the respective parties themselves think it is, the idea of a two party political system will remain just that – an impossible utopian dream.

We have seen with our own eyes and heard with our own ears, the Malays voting for the Chinese and Indians and vice versa, all of us emphasising that we are beyond racial politics. All we ask is that the leaders to do the same. Once you have done that then, and only then, we can truly be a party for all Malaysians.
written by DontPlayGod, March 14, 2008 22:31:55
I think each of the Barisan Rakyat(for ease of reference) parties should appoint RPK as their consultant. RPK need not be a party member of any of the BR parties. That I think will build BR into a much stronger and creditable coalition.
What do you say, folks?
written by Spear Bing, March 14, 2008 22:37:12
Dear tmt,

The Malaysian Civil Service does have 'Nawi Embongs' in its midst but they are far and few between.

But having said this, the principles of integrity, honesty, self-discipline, accountability and moral ethics are coloured-blind. Every single human being, irrespective of colour and creed, can have the capacity to instill in him all these values of goodness and virtues. His upbringing, wholesome nurturing and nourishing by his parents and elders will have to start from the very young when the heart and mind are still fertile to embrace these values.

written by DontPlayGod, March 14, 2008 22:46:29
Walia, I can't figure out what you are raving on about. In other words, you agree that the NEP should be continued and the unfair treatment of the non-Malays should continue. But, remember, many Malays don't agree with the NEP, too. Otherwise, they wouldn't have voted in the opposition DAP, PKR, and PAS. All these three parties are agreed that the NEP should go. Don't aim your rantings at DAP alone.
written by malgal, March 14, 2008 22:49:57
So now, those who shuddered at an islamic state should now leap up and embrace it.
And those who mooted for it, might cower, cringe and cry `no no no'.
Look bros and sisters, we have come this far with PAS PKR and DAP. Of course there will be teething problems, lets look for solutions not shoot ourselves in the foot. Put aside fears and suspicions of each other, we came through TOGETHER. And TOGETHER, we'll get there.
written by tmf, March 14, 2008 23:36:17
Dear Spear Bing,

Well said. Let us highlight more Nawi Embongs and encourage the others.
written by Thundercat Pink, March 14, 2008 23:47:58
I was waiting for him to write something to mend the broken pact in Perak when news broke that LKS asked for boycott. When BR broke - I know I can count on RPK.
RPK, I salute you.
written by Mik, March 14, 2008 23:57:28
As some pointed out before, the politicians should not be addressing crowds or making statements using these words :malay, chinese or indian or by refering to any race. They should be making statements as Malaysian. Say the ppl's interest will be taken care off. Say, get rid of corruption from Malaysia. (not possible but nice to hear). Just ignore whatever the opposition says ( i mean here BN). Just focus on your agenda, the best for Malaysian. Whole malaysia. Not chinese, indian or malay. EVERYONE.
The main problems in parties.
1. They holding more on party's principles than fighting for a better malaysia. The parties and their leaders need to focus on improvement of Malaysia as whole. Need an agenda. Like in rotary club it says "service above self". but then, there is only ONE Nik Aziz and One RPK and ONE Datuk Seri Anwar (tho he is still a politician). How many out there willing to work and sacrifice for the people , not a particular group or race? How many??
2. The party member's selection process. Leaders should screen thoroughly when u select party members just like in MNCs. Not everyone can work in say, Shell. They need a set of mind, an ideal if they want to work in companies like dat one. So in PKR or PAS or DAP if they dun follow the ideal of the party, better screen them out. Then, the party will b more focused. easier to manage. Dun have to kurung ppl coz takut they will defect. Or others wont go and negotiate with the oppostion. Its like snake with many heads now. I wonder how u (YM RPK and Datuk Seri Anwar n the others) are coping with them.

Until then, these parties will b no different from others (BN). Yes, when they are new, they will be full of bright ideas and force but give them a yr or two. Do u think they wont be corrupted by power and money? Power and money has no morale on its own. it dpends on the weilder, borrowing from somewhere i read. So we need to set a check and balance system, but for now, we dun have one. Only the rakyat's power. Thank you to YM RPK, Datuk Seri Anwar, and the team. Thanks to BERSIH. Thanks to HINDRAF. These are special ppl who has touched everyone's life. How did they do it? by Being SELFLESS.Now, how many of those appointed leaders are like these special ppl? When u are concerned about ur own self, u are selfish. Ppl dislike you. When you are concern only about your own family, only ur family will like you. When you are concern about your village , only ur villagers will like you coz u will do anything to make sure you villagers dun suffer. u dun mind if other villagers suffer. SO, If u are concern about the whole nation , focus on the whole nation, the whole nation will love you. You see a living example rite here. Have you wondered how much people's power does YM RPK commands? Check the crowd when he gives speech. Sorry YM RPK, i could not find better example. I can use Nik Aziz tho, but not everyone knows him.

what i mean to say here is ... one has to be selfless when he serving the country. Thats all.
written by rimaukl, March 15, 2008 00:14:07
Excellent overture, YM RPK!!! As for the issues between DAP and PAS, you hit it spot on.

Let us all not forget that PKR, DAP and PAS didn't expect the current outcome of this election until about 9PM last Saturday. They had mere hours to clobber their coalition team together, while BN already had theirs planned weeks before.

Let us all not forget that the media IS PRO BN and would highlight and blow any small matters out of proportion, while hiding BN issues.

Let us all not forget that BN is all out to spread rumours that are detrimental to the coalition to create friction with the Rakyat. Sending out news that PAS would introduce hudut law in Perlis and telling the Chinese community in Perak that DAP sold them out to PAS are some cases in point.

Let us give the new team a change to get their act together. With YM RPM policing their every movement, I am confident that the brighter day we all wanted to see when we cast our votes will shine through!!!

BARISAN RAKYAT MALAYSIA
Dari Rakyak,
Dengan Rakyak,
Untuk Rakyat!!!
written by rimaukl, March 15, 2008 00:16:38
Opps... I meant KEDAH and not Perlis. I need my sleep.
written by temanmu, March 15, 2008 00:43:23
Sex, politics, violence in one article ... that's versatile!

The BA components should learn from you, RPK!

written by sykeat, March 15, 2008 01:10:39
Things has to be done slowly, drastic change will bring negative impact.
Now oppo got 5 states, Rakyat will see whether they can do better than BN.
if YES, the next GE they might get another 1 or 2 states...or even take over the gov(if things work out according to plan)
NEP need to be "re-adjust". Suggestion as followed;
i. discount for house buyer below certain income or only entitle for houses below 100K (don't think those bumi can buy RM500K house in Damansara needs 10% discount)
ii. education quota system only will bring down our universities standard (from top 50 to top cannot see)priority as follow, merit then lower income family
iii. increase salary of civil servants - can reduce "tutup sebelah mata" case, attract more people from non-malay to join in (recruiting cannot tutup sebelah mata or race selective)
written by hakuna, March 15, 2008 01:57:19
RPK , a GREAT ARTICLE with wild imaginations.
Great to have people like you around - you entertain , hard hit ,what not - you are a TOTAL PACKAGE.
written by Beautiful Mind, March 15, 2008 02:22:00
When the Archbishop of Canterbury proposed and suggested that some form of Syariah law is applicable in the UK, it caused an uproar and many accused him of being out of touch with reality as some thought that Islamic law or Syariah law is barbaric and is not in tune with time.

Syariah law is the essence of creating an Islamic State. When there is Islamic State like what we find in countries like Afghanistan, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, it practices Syariah law.

Certainly the idea of an Islamic State appeals to many Muslim. After all it is the law of Islam and Islam will not punish anyone who obeys and play by the rule. Islam prohibits favouritism and Islam is not barbaric as it has always been portrayed by the West who are constantly trying to find a reason to demonize Islam. But the West have always been in antagonism with the ideals and values of Islam. An eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth and life for life is not seen as applicable in this days and age.

Hence the idea of using some form of Syariah Law in the UK was emphatically declined.

In countries which comprise of just one race where majority are Muslims, this will not cause a problem as people are fully aware what Syariah law is. If the law says that you will get your hands cut off because you steal, is it not stupid to steal then?. If the law says you will get stoned, will people not be stupid to commit adultery? . The simple rule of the thumb says you play with fire, you will get your fingers burn.

In Malaysia however, the social mixture is somewhat different because we are living in a multiracial and a multicultural society. People are practising different religious faiths although Muslims comprises the majority. I can see the reason why some Muslims want Syariah law to be practised. They maybe in the opinion that the sins, the anti-social activities, the killings and all the crimes that is happening around us can be eradicated once and for all. After all who would want to walk around with just one hand! This is the idea behind it. The Sharia law is a law from Allah and it is not man made so it should be perfect and should be used. Muslims would be double a hypocrite even if they pray 5 times a day, pay the zakat, fast during Ramadan and perform the Hajj but at the same time they reject Allah's law. That's the opinion of some.

Anwar Ibrahim would not have been incarcerated, ISA would have been abolished, corruption would be wiped out, children can play in the field safely without some maniac preying on them and the country would have been a peaceful place to live on the planet. That's the idea.

But people say, this is 21st century. We no longer live in caves and the law should reflect the modern world that we are living just now. People should be given the right to practice their idealism and to live life the way it seem feet. And this is what people in Malaysia are trying to advocate.

As a Muslim, I am in the opinion that every religion teaches its followers to be a good human being and every person has a right to practice what they believe in peace. As to the Shariah law this maybe applicable to Muslims but not to non-Muslims. I said maybe. And I truly believe that a good person is not determined by the religion or the colour of the skin but it is how the person is raised, education and the whole make up of that person himself.

If we can educate our children to be a good civilian, abide by the law, respect the rights of others then we may be able to create society which will live with all the essence and idealism of a modern, democratic and a civilized nation like what we have in the UK, Australia, US and the western countries.

But then again the modern, democratic and the civilized nation of the UK, US, Australia also have their own share of problems just like Afghanistan, Iraq and the Saudi Arabia with their Sharia law.

In the UK and US, an intruder vandalises your property, terrorises your family, stole your belonging, you caught him and gave him a real good hiding, you will end up in jail. That's modern law for you. A drug addict and criminals roam up the streets intimidating civilians got away with light punishment. Killers and murderers went on a killing spree, raping women etc gets life and eligible for parole after 10 years. And some got away scot free. That is also modern law for you.

Many Islamic scholars said that liberalism and some of the western values that we adopt today is in complete contradiction with Islam and l would have to dis-agree on this. Good values are good to all if not most religion and bad values are bad to all if not most religion.

I just have one thing to say before l end. That we all need to be nice to each other, follow the rules and follow the norm. Hear no evil and say no evil, live and let live.
written by ralverd, March 15, 2008 02:30:41
This was an exceptionally entertaining article. I couldn't help but laugh when you suggested a threesome, even with your wife around! Now on the political part, we all know that Malaysia will never be an Islamic state. Ask yourself, seriously. I still don't get why everyone is showing so much concern on this issue. What I am personally worried about is corruption. We may have a stronger opposition this time around, but we are still facing vast cases of corruption. China grew like bamboo when they managed to banish several civil servants from their office. Can't we learn something from it, rather than worrying about losing your gambling dens or something?

- I'm not Chinese, I'm Malaysian. -
written by lokenpal, March 15, 2008 06:55:44
This is the real face of PAS!!

Miles apart from the corrupt dick heads from BN.

>>>>> Selangor PAS reps to contribute 30% of allowance to help poor

By DHARMENDER SINGH

SHAH ALAM: All PAS MPs, state executive councillors (excos) and assemblymen in Selangor will contribute 30% of their allowances to help the poor in the state.

Selangor PAS Commissioner Datuk Dr Hasan Ali said the decision for the contribution by all three categories of representatives had been agreed upon by all those concerned and it was expected to start from the first payments that they receive.

“We talked about a welfare-conscious state in our manifesto before the elections and we feel that it should start from the elected representatives themselves,” he said.

He said the representatives had also been told to bear any costs for victory celebrations themselves as no public funds should be wasted on such functions.

Dr Hasan said all PAS MPs and assemblymen had also been directed to declare their assets and use their own vehicles for transport as no new ones would be provided.

“The assemblymen will declare their assets to the Mentri Besar while the MPs will declare theirs to the party leadership,” he said, adding that they would be given three months to do so.

He said they were also barred from being directly involved in businesses to avoid conflicts of interest and ensure that they were not “too busy” to attend to their voters.

He said they would be given up to six months to settle their affairs if they are already involved in businesses.

“We have also directed all the party candidates during this general election to set up service centres to serve the people in the areas regardless of whether we won the seats or not,” he said.

Dr Hasan said all the representatives had also been warned against corruption or abuse of power as the party would take strict action and hand over their cases to the relevant authorities for action.

“We have promised the people a clean government and we will protect it at all costs,” he said.

written by RasuahMinister, March 15, 2008 11:59:33
Islamic orgy in Kelantan is very popular, myself together with my friend were once offered 3 Malays girls at a back street somewhere in Kota Bharu. The asking price is RM800 one night.
written by Kcc, March 15, 2008 12:15:19
Let me just say this ...whatever we do, just do it in moderation whether it's practising religion, ruling a State or fulfilling sexual desires.

I have no complains about PAS and I'm a non-Malay. I see that they are reasonable and friendly unlike many BN ppl who are cocky and show-off.

So, PAS or PKR or DAP rules!!
written by Milo, March 15, 2008 12:50:41
This is the real face of PAS!!
Miles apart from the corrupt dick heads from BN.
Selangor PAS reps to contribute 30% of allowance to help poor
-----------------------------------

I think this may be jumping to a conclusion too eary. There is no doubt the current sets of PAS leaders are noble in their deeds, unlike most of the BN leaders who have been spoilted by system.

In the LONG TERM, PAS's religious tag could be causing either its own downfall or the country's downfall if they take power. No individual of other faiths can feel comfortable with a party that uses her sets of religious tenets to govern him. Even in Muslim countries, different Muslim sect cannot live with each other, which is why they have war till to day with no end in sight.

Religion is very personal and any imposition by one party to another will cause unbearable distress. There is always a great fear of the appearance of future zealots in PAS'S leadership once they take power. It is not just about PAS leaders' pereception and actual sense of fairness (which is a very subjective thingy), but about the perception of interference by others.

If UMNO is smart, and luckily for PAS they are not, they just have to turn remove religion from the system of governance which have thus far stupidly and arrogantly interferes in other's religious beliefs, I assure you the table will be turn against PAS.

The simple truth is religion (monotheists in particular) tend to breed arrogance, because everything these religious people do, they have this common delusion that they are doing them on behalf of God. The more conviction they have, the more zealous they are in "promoting God's work". In a way, we can say fanatics are born out of good intention plus delusion. Why do you think the three greatest monotheists religion (who believe in the same one and only creator) today are still having wars with each other!

The religious tag of PAS will be their greatest liability when UMNO wake up and start making religion a personal right of individuals. PAS was only choosen todday because UMNO has interfered with others' faiths while PAS has smartly toned down their religious fervour during the election. In the long term, PAS cannot sustain this as their urge to make Islam the dominant force will necessarily force them to impose their belief system on others directly or indirectly. And because they think it is a mandate from God, they will not tolerate decent, This will be the start of trouble. I say keep religion personal and out of the public domain - and we can have lasting peace!
written by picadilly, March 15, 2008 16:19:55
Pete' I thought DAP was acting like dimwits when they freaked at an PAS MB but today when I saw the way sleepy face LIM KENG YAIK Whacking them up and down that DAP has failed and screwed up all the Chinese voters for Having an MB from PAS I can see where DAP is coming from...

DAP is between the fire and the devil.

whatever thay do, it is going to be against them. The best is to merge with Keadilan and form another Multiracial party.I can see malays, & Indians accept Keadilan more openly. It may be the DAWN OF A NEW HOPE.

The only chance to Bring BN down
written by SUV, March 15, 2008 16:48:31
pas is foloing the satwic side of islam.go figure wat sattwic means
written by qwerty, March 15, 2008 18:59:20
Wah...! Pak Raja,

"I suka tiga-tiga sekali."

PKR kat atas, PAS tengah-tengah, DAP kat bawah!
No thanks for putting that image in my head.ROTFL!!

written by notsosmart, March 15, 2008 21:00:52
Yes RPK,

Absolutely correct!..... Correct! Correct! Correct!

Maybe you can teach all those UMNO morons about "The Formation of Islamic State". They have been sleeping in class for much too long.
written by ksra, March 15, 2008 22:02:21
I disagree with Raja that Islamic State to eliminate NEP. Knowing how hypocrite everything is in Malaysia. As soon as Islamic state is formed, not only everyone has to abide by the hypocrite islamic law from backward society of middle east but also has to live by the NEP. Time to wake up. The sooner the malays can learn how to fish, the better everyone will be. The sooner they realize that religion should be choice not born with, the sooner Malaysia can become more progressive.

written by ksra, March 15, 2008 22:10:36
I think the recent election results also has showned that Malaysian do indeed becoming more progressive. Politics along the racial lines are loosing steam. Two or Three big party systems might emerge from this. BN clearly will continue to loose popularity if they continue to stay the way it is. PKR and DAP will certainly experience rapid growth.But if they are smart, they will merge but it is too early to say. PAS will loose popularity in the long run unless they get continue funding from middle east.
written by ksra, March 15, 2008 22:17:39
Ngfaulith,
Are you sure you want to see Malaysia ruled by the mullahs?? Just look at middle east, Afgan and Pakistan. To me Malaysia is the most or second most progressive muslim country in the world. If Malaysia adopted sharia law, then Malaysia is marching toward the way Taliban ruled Afgan.
written by miwaki, March 16, 2008 02:14:51
I don't mind being ruled by anybody except BN because They are incompetent,corrupted and arrogant.Like I said before ,those who are scared of PAS should relocate to Kelantan or at least go there for a holiday to enjoy the beautiful beaches and mingle with friendly people.

written by DontPlayGod, March 16, 2008 10:48:28
I have always subscribed to the view that religion is a private and personal matter. No religious state/Government(whether Islam, Christian, Hindu, Buddhist, or any other non-main stream religions) can do anything for anybody's personal belief and behaviour. No religious state can change an evil person into a good person. Moreover, I don't subscribe to the laws that permit a lawman or government officer to play God, or act on behalf of God to enforce the so-called man-made God's laws. This will go down as one of the aberrations of mankind's governing law system.
written by The One, March 16, 2008 19:19:36
Dear Raja Petra.

i may have lower knowledge than you,
but i have been brought up in a surrounding,
where in my understanding now,
is that, if we are to oppose an Islamic state,
than we are opposing the way of God.

i have been informed that the best system is the system set by God,
rather than democracies and such.
is not Islamic state would apply law created by God,
which i have been told as literally perfect, and thats what we have to do,
and to follow.

so, my dear guru,
please make me understand,
if we are to oppose such system, aren't we opposing our God?

how is that acceptable and your statement,
"An Islamic State would give the non-Malays an advantage over the Malays and the Malays would be left far, far behind, economically as well as academically."

could you please elaborate on that?

maybe im not truly enlighten about this Islamic state u're talking about..
written by dassky2000, March 16, 2008 22:29:56
Boss, could you please provide me whereabout in Kota Bahru I can get this services? Discreate pls. smilies/grin.gif
written by ksra, March 16, 2008 22:44:18
If I may, would you please clarify which part of my comment that touches your nerve the most.
I also dismay at your statement that" An Islamic State would give the non-Malays an advantage over the Malays and the Malays would be left far, far behind, economically as well as academically." It seems to me that either you don't feel confident enough on the ability of malays to compete on equal footing or you don't feel confident about the sharia law to govern and to bring out the spirit of competitativeness into malays.

written by fromamovingtrain, March 16, 2008 23:52:08
A curiously dark- humoured piece here.

I am no professor in anything but it seems that many, if not a great majority, simply missed the point here, so much so that they wouldn't know what an islamic state is and your stand on it even if it hits them in the face.

And it is for a good reason too that this was written. An intidote to pkr-dap-pas 'seperti kera mendapat bunga' syndrome that's prevailing now. Not too helped by many of us supporters' stance of looking blankly at each other, used 6b pencil in one hand and asking "now what"?
written by Raja Petra, March 17, 2008 09:51:38
Dear Xerxes please explain to the Malay-educated "The One" and "ksra" what you mean by satire. They sure need help, poor things.
written by tcng, March 17, 2008 10:49:24
I hear you laud and clear and I believe you are against Islamic State. Unfortunately, PAS is still a political party on Religious platform. The image of PAS leaders in white robe outfit remind many that the leaders would be more concern with conforming to Islamic 'law' such as segregation of sexes, women wearing sexy dresses, the so-called undesirable western pop music than governing and brining progress to the country. wooing foreign investors etc. In other words, PAS , from whatever perspective you look it, does NOT equal to progress. It may be tolerance to other religions, it may be Clean (not corrupt), the leader may be living in his small simple house, but it is still NOT progressive.

The best thing that you (RPK) can help to make it happen is to persuade PAS and DAP to merge with PKR. Thus forming a real multi-racial party for Malaysian.

With regards to Teng Chang Khim refusal/reluctance to wear a songkok... you must understand that wearing a songkok is seems as 'Masuk Melayu', although songkok is a Malay custom and NOT a islamic one, unfortunately , it is seens by the non-Malay as 'Masuk Melayu'.
If Teng Chang Khim is seens as "Masuk Melayu" , his political rival will capitalise on this and his political future would be affected.

RPK must try to understand why many people have no issue wearing 'western clothing/suit' but not songkok..... one is seens as Modern/progressive/advance and the other is seens as backward (unfortunately). The image would not change until songkok-wearing people are successful in world stage. Even leaders the mainland chinese, Japanese & Korean who are so proud of their heritage, wear western suit.

One more point, I disgree with your analogy that if one wish to go to your house, he/she should follow ALL your house rules. Otherwise , don't go your house.

When non-Muslim to some function, says company dinner', they prepare halal food for the Muslim guests.
They do not say : come join us if you can enjoy the food with us, otherwise, don't come.
I used to work for a USA MNC. We have regional meeting regularly with co-workers from Taiwan, China, HKG, Japan, Korea, Singapore, Holland, USA , Phillipines and Malaysia. The Manager from Malaysia operation was a tudung wearing Malay lady. Once she joined us for a KTV session in Taipei. She had fruit juice while most others had alcohol. One of us took the trouble to buy halal food from a near by restaurant to bring it to the KTV. We did not tell her that, join us if you can eat the food in the KTV (yes, most Taiwan KTV serve foods, more than just chicken wings) together with us, otherwise, don't bother to join. Even though she is the only Muslim among the 8-10 of us..
written by Milo, March 17, 2008 23:14:27
tong comments are spot on!
written by ksra, March 18, 2008 09:21:26
It is sad that such a respected freelance writer like you are judging what race I am from my comments.
written by tcng, March 19, 2008 17:56:17
If Anwar can convince PAS & DAP to disolve the parties and join PKR enmass, UMNO/BN is likely to fall in GE13. DAP leaders must understand that there is no future for a non-malay led party , unless it wants to play the role of constructive opposition forever. PAS should also understand that many Malay do not subscribe to its platform. The reason for many Malay and non-Malay voting PAS in GE12 is the PKR factor. Whether it is a multi-racial party of a coalition, it has to be led by Malay. Face the reality.
written by SYXL, March 21, 2008 23:07:11
I respect any person’s personal religious beliefs.

But I would like bloggers and readers here to consider whether religious teachings should enter into political solutions.

Islam teaches against discrimination (I think most religions do also).

The NEP sprang from the recognition that on the whole, and in absolute number, the Malays were and still are disadvantaged. Chinese business and clan associations would not easily, if at all, help the Malays in the economic sphere. Chinese clans even exclude other clans and admit and favour only their own. Under-pinning this was (and still is, though to a lesser degree) the fact that many Chinese looked down on the Malays as inferior.

Such prejudice is especially harmful because it is held against another race. But we must also recognise that the Chinese (and other peoples too) have other deep-rooted prejudices against their own – both tribal and socio-economic – such as against Chinese from certain regions or provinces and the poor or unrefined. But these divisions are far, far less dangerous or hard to solve than racial prejudice.

Despite the above, it would not have been impossible (though far from easy) to choose other avenues of solution for the disadvantaged position of the Malays in general. UMNO chose the NEP – as a solution AND because it is a powerful political tool. The tool quickly became an avenue for cancerous corruption - what should we expect after all: all Malays are stupid and honest? Therein lay the seed of further racial division.

Solutions must address the causes. Are the Malays generally disadvantaged because of what they are – their racial inheritance – or are the causes historical as well as social (like Chinese clans not convinced to help, etc)?

I sincerely think that it is noble to call on Islam’s teaching against discrimination as the moral argument to remove the NEP because it directly appeals to our better selves. It is also efficacious because many Malays can understand this.

But there is a caution.

Islam and Christianity (to name just two wide-spread religions) have other teachings that have been twisted such that great harm is wrought upon mankind. Even today, preachers quote the Bible (especially in the USA) to promote further prejudice, fear and extreme views. The ordinary mind is too brain-washed and the spirit too incapacitated by religion to reject outright such assault on its moral sense.

Do we see pitfalls in mixing religion with political solutions?

written by Catharsis, March 22, 2008 06:21:08
.......................there would be very little the Malays can do since starting another May 13 would be impossible without hands to brandish parangs...............

without more education about what is Islam is all about FEAR will definitely rear its UGLY HEAD..................the problem with our electorate is they allow fear to overwhelm them without doing any reflecting thinking about all eventualities- that would indicate the level of maturity of our people as a THINKING POPULACE

written by brancha, March 23, 2008 10:59:48
I cannot help but feel sense of concern and apprehension for you - being surrounded by more than a few whom I regard as ill-minded instigators cheering and pushing you on as flunkeys do. Yet I have serious doubts that when it comes to the crunch, they’d still be around to support you objectively and altruistically.

The right abusive catchword or mantra mentioned, they’d trigger piles upon piles of enthusiastic encouragements and extended instigations. Reminiscence of the schoolchildren mobs of the ‘cultural revolution’.

Don’t get me wrong here, I think you have done very well and you and your blog certainly have a place in Malaysian history and our hearts. Your courage and clarity of arguments is second to none in this land.

And there are many decent and upright contributors and commentators regardless of race too.

I am confused by this piece, though. Felt it’s so unwarranted but I’m pretyy sure you’re just venting yr rage thru such sarcasm.

I do not think that your audience understand what an Islamic state really stands for or for that matter, Islam. And Islam as a faith and a way of life embraced by more than half of the population in Malaysia and by more Chinese and Indians too elsewhere on the planet -certainly do not deserve the disrespects it received here.

Why don’t you arrange a public forum to discuss the subject.
written by ksra, March 24, 2008 09:03:00
I am particularly troubled by certain ruling of supreme court of Malaysia that it did not jurisdiction over sharia court. With that it pretty much said that Malaysia in certain cases have cannot overrule Sharia court. Too me that is no separation of state and religion. In my observation of Malaysia since 80's to now, it certainly has proper and has become an economy power in SEA but at the same token it has become more Arabization. I hope the Malay beautiful culture is not overwhelm by the Arab culture. That would be a Tragedy.
written by lawling, March 24, 2008 14:21:55
RPK wrote:
An Islamic State would give the non-Malays an advantage over the Malays and the Malays would be left far, far behind, economically as well as academically.

What kind of logic is that, RPK? Are you on ganja?

In the revolutionary Islamic State of Iran, a local Iranian man, complained to me that he failed to get into Tehran University, because the Mullah in charge of the local mosque refused to recommend him.The Mullah was of the opinion that his parents did not attend Friday prayers regularly and hence not supportive of the Revolution!
written by brancha, March 24, 2008 21:15:15
There was once a civilization that was the greatest in the world.
It was able to create a continental super-state that stretched from ocean to ocean, and from northern climes to tropics and deserts. Within its dominion lived hundreds of millions of people, of different creeds and ethnic origins.

One of its languages became the universal language of much of the world, the bridge between the peoples of a hundred lands. Its armies were made up of people of many nationalities, and its military protection allowed a degree of peace and prosperity that had never been known. The reach of this civilization’s commerce extended from Latin America to China, and everywhere in between. And this civilization was driven more than anything, by invention. Its architects designed buildings that defied gravity. Its mathematicians created the algebra and logarithms that would enable the building of computers, and the creation of encryption. Its doctors examined the human body, and found new cures for disease. Its astronomers looked into the heavens, named the stars, and paved the way for space travel and exploration. Its writers created thousands of stories. Stories of courage, romance and magic. Its poets wrote of love, when others before them were too steeped in fear to think of such things.

When other nations were afraid of ideas, this civilization thrived on them, and kept them alive. When censors threatened to wipe out knowledge from past civilizations, this civilization kept the knowledge alive, and passed it on to others.

While modern Western civilization shares many of these traits, the civilization I’m talking about was the Islamic world from the year 800 to 1600, which included the Ottoman Empire and the courts of Baghdad, Damascus and Cairo, and enlightened rulers like Suleiman the Magnificent.

Although we are often unaware of our indebtedness to this other civilization, its gifts are very much a part of our heritage. The technology industry would not exist without the contributions of Arab mathematicians. Sufi poet-philosophers like Rumi challenged our notions of self and truth.

Leaders like Suleiman contributed to our notions of tolerance and civic leadership. And perhaps we can learn a lesson from his example: It was leadership based on meritocracy, not inheritance. It was leadership that harnessed the full capabilities of a very diverse population–that included Christianity, Islamic, and Jewish traditions.

This kind of enlightened leadership — leadership that nurtured culture, sustainability, diversity and courage — led to 800 years of invention and prosperity. In dark and serious times like this, we must affirm our commitment to building societies and institutions that aspire to this kind of greatness. More than ever, we must focus on the importance of leadership– bold acts of leadership and decidedly personal acts of leadership.

The author of the above views has been touted as a potential Vice President in a McCain administration. She endorsed Senator John McCain as the Republican nominee in the 2008 Presidential elections and campaigned with him.

She holds positions on the board of trustees of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the Foundation Board of the World Economic Forum. She is an Honorary Fellow of the London Business School.
written by brancha, March 24, 2008 21:24:06
"I hope the time is not far off when I shall be able to unite all the wise and educated men of all the countries and establish a uniform regime based on the principles of Quran which alone are true and which alone can lead men to happiness." -
Napoleon Bonaparte as Quoted in Christian Cherfils, 'Bonaparte et Islam,' Pedone Ed., Paris, France, 1914, pp. 105, 125
written by brancha, March 24, 2008 21:31:45
"If any religion had the chance of ruling over England, nay Europe within the next hundred years, it could be Islam."

"I have always held the religion of Muhammad in high estimation because of its wonderful vitality. It is the only religion which appears to me to possess that assimilating capacity to the changing phase of existence which can make itself appeal to every age. I have studied him - the wonderful man and in my opinion far from being an anti-Christ, he must be called the Savior of Humanity."

"I believe that if a man like him were to assume the dictatorship of the modern world he would succeed in solving its problems in a way that would bring it the much needed peace and happiness: I have prophesied about the faith of Muhammad that it would be acceptable to the Europe of tomorrow as it is beginning to be acceptable to the Europe of today."

Sir George Bernard Shaw in 'The Genuine Islam,' Vol. 1, No. 8, 1936.
written by lawling, March 24, 2008 21:59:22
Hi RPK,

Another Islamic country, Bangladesh, has Hindu, Buddhist and Christian minorities!A Hindu businessman
complained to me that he could not get any contracts from Bangladesh Government Departments as they were all given to Muslims. He had to contend to source for work from the foreign community or from foreign missions.

At first it was racial discrimination between Pakistanis and Bangladeshi but after Independence
it ended up with religious discrimination instead.

I hope if we ever become an Islamic State, such problems will not occur in our beloved country.
written by DontPlayGod, March 25, 2008 12:27:40
UMNO already claims that Malaysia is an Islamic state. The other component parties just acquiesce, without even a whimper. But the Islamic practised by UMNO is unfairness, discrimination, racism, and ketuanan, generally unjust laws and favouritism, favouring almost completely one race.

Not having studied Islam, I can only judge Islam from what I see, and I see Islamic leaders practising what they call Islam. So how do the Muslims want me to judge Islam.
written by DontPlayGod, March 25, 2008 12:32:30
lawling wrote:

"Another Islamic country, Bangladesh, has Hindu, Buddhist and Christian minorities!A Hindu businessman
complained to me that he could not get any contracts from Bangladesh Government Departments as they were all given to Muslims. He had to contend to source for work from the foreign community or from foreign missions.

At first it was racial discrimination between Pakistanis and Bangladeshi but after Independence
it ended up with religious discrimination instead.

I hope if we ever become an Islamic State, such problems will not occur in our beloved country."

But Malaysia is already an Islamic state and discrimination and racism is already being practised here.

Where have you been all these decades?
written by lawling, March 25, 2008 19:49:11
Don't Play God Wrote:

But Malaysia is already an Islamic state and discrimination and racism is already being practised here.

Where have you been all these decades?

Wah! Like This aarh! I was in Kelantan, hiding there! Like what RPK said, if an Islamic State is like that, cannot be too bad lah!
written by Obiterdicta, March 28, 2008 23:19:23
Testing...