Mahathir's son tells PM Abdullah to resign PDF Print
Friday, 14 March 2008 12:20

KUALA LUMPUR (AP) - FORMER leader Mahathir Mohamad's son is telling Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to resign after the ruling party suffered massive losses in weekend elections.

Mr Mukhriz Mahathir is the first ruling party lawmaker to openly revolt after Mr Abdullah claimed he has the full backing of party members.

Mr Mukhriz says in a letter that Abdullah's agenda, leadership and style of handling problems 'can no longer be accepted by the people.' It says 'there is no point denying what is obvious, simply to keep your position as prime minister.'

Mr Mukhriz's aide confirmed on Friday that the letter was sent to Mr Abdullah on Thursday. - THE STRAITS TIMES

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Long Man, March 14, 2008 12:30:34
mmmm... good... at least this young man have shown his dignity... the senior umno leaders all are coward... i believe many within umno will stand up to urge bodola to resign...
written by jingoza, March 14, 2008 12:36:09
papa's boy trying to save papa's hide ! plus najib's hide ! bring out the skeletons in madey & najib's secret box !
written by rayfire, March 14, 2008 12:52:55
Finally the courage to do the obvious, kudos to this young man, hopefully it is in good faith and in interest of the rakyat and not simply because his father says so.

It is obvious, AAB has to go, why UMNO still says NO?
What is the use of having an incompetent leader who will continue to drag the whole nation down with his ridiculous ways of governance!!!!

Insaflah, sedarlah, Pak Lah!!!!! Undurlahhhhhh!!!!!!
written by wongnoball, March 14, 2008 12:54:35
Dear Pak Lah,

May be it is time to exercise ISA to stop the Great Mamak and his son to talk rubbish.
Last time you warned Hindraf don't challenge you but this time you are facing a REAL challenge lah.
If you really take action, please don't let his 2 eyes like panda lah !!!
And also 'take care' that ONE who always thinking of to REPLACE you lah!!!!
Pak Lah ..... I really worry your security after the recent election ..........
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif .....................
written by MarchOn, March 14, 2008 13:03:10
Pak Lah is a teethless tiger , making alot of noise is his major skill. If it's not Pak Lah, who else can take over UMNO, Najib - nay - not a good idea. They will need someone who will transform the party and maybe go back to it's original purposes - UMNO lama.... Maybe Kuli is better bet.
written by notsosmart, March 14, 2008 13:05:49
A typical UMNO arrogant behaviour. Always power crazy. They deserved what they have done to the rakyat. His father is the main culprit in all these episode,....cronyism, corruption.

If Pak Lah goes down. Then the BR/BA could face a harder hurdle to overcome. Pak Lah is more clean and gentlemen while TDM believed in dictatorship. The only weakness of Pak Lah is the softness in handling issues and at the same time he is facing a lot of resistance within UMNO. Likes the corruption culture that was so rooted with the UMNO members,to be eradicated.

All the rakyat and BR/BA must try to have dialog with Pak Lah ( UMNO sure will find ways to prevent this )as how we could help him to over come all the bad hats in UMNO, including his SIL.
written by InEffective, March 14, 2008 13:17:15
A diplomat's approach and training to leadership is doomed - because their tendency is to avoid conflict and strong positions where and when it really counts (not on demonstrators).
written by oknyua, March 14, 2008 13:30:04
I am intrigued with the headline, “Mahathir’s son...” Do you read anything from this?

So the letter was original; the action has begun. Since no script writer was appointed it is very interesting to see this episode. On the other hand, Mahathir’s Son must not underestimate the power on the “dark-side.” But now, Mahathir’s Son definitely has the leverage. He is comparatively un-tinted. The under-current is also in his favour. I am not surprise if coupe de grace happens sooner than expected. We just wait for “silence is consent,’ for the next few days.
written by Londonbridge, March 14, 2008 13:39:49
Rightly said. Bodollah and his so called "backing team" deserves this. Please accept the truth resign fo once for GOD's sake.

Dear blogers,

I just received an e-mail stating that there will be a massive gathering by PEMUDA UMNO demanding Pak Lah to resign and this gathering planned to be at all TOLL PLAZAS in Kuala Lumpur. It could be rumours but anyway take good care of yuorself and your beloved ones.

written by Jefus, March 14, 2008 13:45:13
another limit down in the Bursa for all GLCs?

all these guys got huge bets that the 12GE is a sure winner, a fire sale will soon begin! that's why Pak Lah cannot go, their loyalty is to their pockets.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 14, 2008 13:58:50
Dear Mr. PM,
1. You wrongly interpreted a statement by the new Penang CM, and had issued a warning to him. I think you should make a public apology for your HP6 mental status.
2. If making a legitimate statement is an offence, then the action by TDM son is even worst.
3. You accused the Indians for creating trouble, and use ISA on them.
4. I now challenge YOU to take appropriate action against TDM and his son.
written by apanama, March 14, 2008 14:04:50
paklah nak bagi nasihat. biarlah encik mukhriz buat cerita ayah dia.
dia seorang. nak lawan 181 mana boleh menang?
menang aku dah agak, dia nak jadi PM jugak. sebab semua fail lama belum sempat koyak, macam kat pejabat SUK selangor tu...itupun belim kira lagi tape recording manalah tahu masih ada Part 4, 5, 6...drama lingham.
kau orang pikir lah: lebih baik aku terus jadi PM ke, atau lebih baik bagi si tunggul separuh masak naik tapi orang belakang dia yang kasi telunjuk.

lagi pun gua dah bagi u orang buat demo bersih dan hindraf. tak lama lagi, gua akan lepaskan indraf5 dari kamunting. tunggu lah. paklah dah insaf ni...

written by sydput, March 14, 2008 14:05:30
This mukhriz guy was the first recipient of govenrment bailouts way back in 1998 if I am not mistaken. He and his brother was saved from financial disaster, by his father, using tax payers and Petronas money.
Badawi cannot resign now otherwise there will be chaos, with Umno guys fighting to grab power. I am sure, he is wise enough to let the Umno members to vote him out come general assembly end of this year. In fact, I think badawi will select Kuli into the cabinet, so that he can participate in the Umno elections, and call it a day. We will know soon enough on monday.
written by BennyG, March 14, 2008 14:13:25
HOW COULD WE HELP TO EXPEDITE THE RESIGNATION?

Please ensure that KJ disappears as well.
written by LKO, March 14, 2008 14:25:05
Pak Lah, thanks for restoring democracy to Malaysia! Even though you have to destroy BN to achieve that, you have my thanks!
written by artchan, March 14, 2008 14:31:04
TOMORROW HE WILL WITHDRAW THE LETTER..JUST WAIT AND WATCH THE SPINELESS ACTORS IN UMNO. REMEBER AFTER THE UMNO AGM, HE SAID SOMETHING LIKE "THERE IS NOTHING NEW IN THE PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS". AND HE GOT BANGED LEFT RIGHT AND CENTRE BY THE BALL CARRIERS...AND QUIETLY MUKRIZ SAID HE WAS MISQUOTED.
written by matdeboq, March 14, 2008 14:37:34
I wonder where's this Umno goons who use to defend DOllah! Shouting very fiercely during the first time Mukhriz comment on Dollah the last time around.
Come on laa say something pls! Either you are with the rakyat or Dollah ...KJ..and the rest of the gang.
written by renoir, March 14, 2008 15:04:11
Pak Lah is STILL the PM of the country, and that means other Malaysians, not merely UMNO, has the right to be concerned. Malaysians must not tolerate mob power, whether against SUQIU or Pak Lah, and Pak Lah must take action to prevent another illegal change of government. I hope the King's regiment will not stand idly by.
written by temenggong, March 14, 2008 15:19:43
But you did not say anything about your father Mahathir when he tore down the organs of power in this country!

Leave and join DAP Mukhriz, while you still have a chance. Such an invitation was extended to Sothinathan and Devamany but they wanted to harakiri. If Chua Jiu Meng had any sense he will join Keadilan.
written by Dominic, March 14, 2008 15:24:52
Mukhriz should have ask AAB enbloc to give up and not just AAB alone. Let the BR take over the country`s administrations. So long as the chosen is from `UMNO BLOC,its the same. No difference. One monkey goes out,the other ape goes in!!!If Mukhriz can just do that, sure,hes gonna be even more propular than his father during the latter heyday!
written by MsLim, March 14, 2008 15:43:43

Hello Everyone, Why bother that UMNOputras do. They have been running this country for 50 years. They do not need our advice. Let them do whatever they wish in their UMNO circle.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 14, 2008 15:58:40
If he choose to close one eye, or both eyes on this case, he will surely "die-standing"
written by sonofman0, March 14, 2008 16:41:01
Not worth the time and effort to comment.
written by atsanee, March 14, 2008 17:29:59
UMNO has a HUGE image problem and it stems ma9inly from the people who ran the show.
The only way it can get back some credibility is to fire the whole bloody lot.

Abdullah AB
Khairi J
Najib TR
Hishamuddin HO
Rafidah A
Nazri Taxi
Nor Muhamad

These are all tainted and must go.NOW.
Bring in new faces from the ranks.
Sorry,but the Mahathir kids are not welcomed.
The rakyat has said no to the formation of dynasties and clans.

To balance the inexperience,bring back the cleaner faces of UMNO of old like
Tengku Razaly Hamzah Post- PM
Musa Hitam
Muhiddin Post- DPM

Then UMNO ada harapan and PKR got a real fight on their hands.
written by The dragonheart, March 14, 2008 18:21:14
I think we are wrong in asking PakLah to resign first...

We should get Najib and Rosman out first, the most dangerous man in Malaysia, in terms of commission collector and C4 user...

Getting Paklah out is easy...

Once paklah is out KJ will follow...
written by InEffective, March 14, 2008 18:22:14
hmm - anyone undermining and demmeaning the illustrious governance is a threat to the nation's stability. wonder if the ISA weapon will be wielded?
written by Debbie, March 14, 2008 18:30:46
I dont give a f..(oops sorry its the month of lent) its just that Mahathir= Mukhriz.. and the same thing AAB= Khairy..same shit just different players.
written by angfaulith, March 15, 2008 00:26:04
im very happy with the election results. we are headed for a truly islamic state with pas now in charge of 3 states. the chinese must be shocked that even after giving their full support to DAP they still are not allowed to rule in perak. completely sidelined in kedah and now the sultan of selangor doesnt want a non muslim as deputy mb...
so as a muslim i am very satisfied that we are headed in the right direction as allah has preordained.... daulat tuanku and allahu akhbar
written by Namaste, March 15, 2008 03:09:33
Always remember that Politicians have short memories. Is it better for Pak Lah to stay on just because TDM is worried on DSAI ’s progress on the coalition of BR as he has the keys to all locks. TDM has practically killed his son's political career. Anyway TDM has been forgiven by DSAI and secondly does TDM have an UMNO/BN agenda?

It is not easy to cleaup what TDM did over 22 years of misleading the Malays to live with the Tongkat until UMNO has become weak, disunited with alot of back stabbing, arrogant, greedy, fully corruputed to the core, racist and NEP dependent. They are no longer the voice for 80% of the Malays. So he has finally put UMNO Malays in delima. What goes around comes around.

For Najib, he has to toe the line or Altantunya’s case may kill his political career too. So Pak Lah has his trump card.

Let us think outside the box as to why Pak Lah let Anwar free? Why did he choose to call for GE within 4 years and at the time of many controversies? He is smart in a way to clean up the deadwood, corrupt, cronies, racist, rapist, etc etc who lost their seat except for some retainning due to phantom plus living dead votes and now all were caught with their pants and panties down except for one who did not contest but yet died. In reality UMNO is divided with camps of Pak Lak, Najib, Mahanthir and Anwar.

SO let Pak Lah to stay on to complete phase 2 of his mission for the good, bad and ugly. For BR this is the best chance to proof and walk their talk as they are all answerable to the Rakyat. I also hope to see DSAI back to active politics after April 14 hopefully winning a by-election at the expense of his wife.

"Enter the Dragon" as Parliment will rock because he has those keys to unlock 22 years of TDM dictatorship plus 4 years of of Pak Lah's "cleanup" and sweeping the dirt under the carpet. Do you think we need Pak Lah to stay inside and TDM to stay in good health on the outside? Beware BN.

written by kzso, March 15, 2008 03:34:04
muhyiddin as dpm? plzzzzz lah... smilies/angry.gif