Reform or become irrelevant, BN told PDF Print
Friday, 14 March 2008 09:45

Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein says BN needs an honest assessment

Barisan Nasional will have to undergo major reforms if it intends to remain relevant, Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said.

He conceded that the results of the recent election had exposed discontent in sections of the community.

"What we have done is just not enough. This is my view," Hishammuddin said at the opening of the 43rd Southeast Asia Ministers of Education Organisation (Seameo) Council conference and third Asean education ministers' meeting here yesterday.

He said prime minister and BN chairman Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had indicated an independent post-mortem of the polls results would be carried out.

"Clearly, we heard a protest vote."

BN won 140 seats for a simple majority in parliament while the other parties won 82.

Hishammuddin said BN was not in denial.

"We know our weaknesses. We must undertake major reforms, major changes if we are going to meet the expectations of the public."

That, he added, would start with the new cabinet line-up.

Hishammuddin said that despite the poor showing, the polls results were not an outright rejection of the ruling coalition and its leaders.

"One major problem is that we have not been listening to the people."

He said there were many reasons why the people had voted against BN, and an honest analysis was needed without going on a witch-hunt.

Hishammuddin also rejected suggestions that BN's poor showing was owing to weaknesses in Umno, saying that "unfit" leaders would eventually be weeded out.

Instead, he said it was time for the party and other BN component parties to close ranks and work hard to regain the confidence and trust of the people

Hishammuddin said Umno Youth would begin rebuilding once the cabinet was unveiled. - NST

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Hakim Abdullah, March 14, 2008 09:54:59
funny to read contradictory remarks from this man. It is like "Hey, I just got shot!..Gosh! look at the hole in me...what are those red liquid coming out from me?"....and the fact that he is holding a smoking pistol...
written by FFT, March 14, 2008 10:00:16
Reform?

Let's start by not raising that keris anymore.

therwise, all of you should jut grow stubby little mustaches and change your part name to Nazi Party of Malaysia.
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 14, 2008 10:01:23
Only now Kerismuddin realizes and it's too late. UMNO should/BN should have reformed long ago. Anyway if UMNO is serious the damage can be corrected and that too depends in which direction it's going.
written by Chandramooi, March 14, 2008 10:03:55
Dumbo Kerismuddin,
U go kerising around and your no brainer boasting that UMNO do not require the mandate of the non malay support are the punca akar of your party's resounding flop. More to come and clear symptoms showing up now to sigify your way to DOOOMSLAND.
written by conface, March 14, 2008 10:06:03

if ong ka ting holds a chicken knife at his forehead n say he won't hesitate to soak it with umno-putera blood if being challenged.....how would u feel???

umno's enemy is not the oppositions, but their very own old-school-taught leaders...!!
written by mypanida, March 14, 2008 10:18:36
Reform ????

NO....the right words were REPENT and ATONE...

and the do a Zakaria Deros...i.e.....drop down and died.
written by RumahPanjai, March 14, 2008 10:19:15
Very well said kerismudin. Unfit leaders should be weeded out. Shall we start with you walking the plank....a fit leader respects other races NOT waving a Keris and wanting to draw blood! A pea brain can't be a good leader. You are one of the main cause of BN losing. Get this into your head. Be a jantan and admit it.
written by Counterpointer, March 14, 2008 10:23:35
A Wimp like him who dares to raise his keris without feeling apologetic about the offense he caused and which drove away the voters in droves, but absolutely CHICKEN to own up to his actions is an Indelible Black mark for BN.

Even a bigger Wimp is the one who closed one eye to his actions.

Keep this up and in the next Elections, BN can truly R.I.P.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 14, 2008 10:28:31
Bukan semua orang boleh jadi seorang pemimpin melainkan naluri hati mereka itu betul2 jati kepada negara.
Apabila seseorang itu menaikkan namanya melalui saluran bangsa dan parti serta mencabar rakyat Malaysia berbangsa lain maka tidak layaklah manusia sebegini diberi peluang kerana tabiatnya tidak akan berubah hingga akhir hayatnya.
Dunia politik memang dipenuhi dengan orang-orang yang pandai berwatak dan memainkan emosi rakyat.
Impian SATU MALAYSIA tidak pernah dipertengahkan langsung oleh UMNO kerana mereka tahu Orang Melayu akan merajui perlaksanaan perpaduan perkauman Malaysia dengan berjaya dan kaum lain akan menyokongnya dengan hati terbuka.
Dalam kandungan Orang Melayu sahaja, kita boleh lihat dari mana mereka berasal dan apakah kepercayaan serta budaya turunan yang berbagai juga.
Dari semua yang dikenalpasti, Orang Melayu memang berbudi dan kaya dengan adat sopan satun ... budaya kaya ini sudah mula hilang di kalangan anak2 muda Melayu disebabkan oleh arus perubahan semasa.
Institusi keluarga mula kehilangan kasih sayang disebabkan kedua-dua ibubapa hendak bekerja untuk menampung keperluan harian keluarga.
Dalam impian memajukan negara dan bersiang untuk dikenali dunia, kerajaan BN gagal menyediakan satu pentas kemuliaan bangsa, budaya dan kepercayaan yang adil dan saksama untuk semua bangsa agar keunikan negara ini diperlihara.
Pembangunan negara yang dilaksanakan selama ini dibayar dengan keruntuhan ahklak serta moral semua bangsa di Malaysia dan kegagalan persefahaman membina SATU MALAYSIA.
written by qwerty, March 14, 2008 10:33:14
Datuk Seri,

You are clearly in denial mode or trying to point the finger of blame elsewhere.

Let me tell you from a rakyats' point of view, why BN got kicked in the butt:-

Evertime the keris Panca Warisan is raised........ we voted opposition!
Everytime Pak Lah flip-flopped.....................we voted opposition!
Everytime KJ gets in the news......................we voted opposition!
Evertime MPs asked us to leave for Tongsan,India...we voted opposition!
Evertime an "Istana Haram" is built................we voted opposition!
Everytime a temple is demolished...................we voted opposition!
Everytime a corpse is snatched.....................we voted opposition!
Everytime a beg is snatched........................we voted opposition!
Evertime our child is kidnapped & murdered.........we voted opposition!
Evertime the police offered to "settle"............we voted opposition!
Evertime a tear gas canister is fired..............we voted opposition!
Evertime a rakyat is imprisoned by ISA.............we voted opposition!
Evertime religion is politicise....................we voted opposition!
Evertime racial fire is stoked.....................we voted opposition!
Evertime the rakyat is oppressed...................we voted opposition!
Everytime, everytime, everytime....................we voted opposition!

Datuk Seri, do you see the picture now?
written by Ben Nordin, March 14, 2008 10:34:40
What do you mean "..become irrelevant."? It already is. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by MarchOn, March 14, 2008 10:49:31
Yes reform and be prepared to become the opposition in 4 years time.
written by batsman, March 14, 2008 11:03:02
UMNO - you are still part of the checks and balances. Just don;t ride roughshod over the people when you are invested with the power.
written by Bigjoe99, March 14, 2008 11:07:49
UMNO hope lies in getting rid of money politics i.e., campaign financing. So long as it relies on corruption to fund its politics, it won't reform.
written by temenggong, March 14, 2008 11:10:09
If BN still keeps the NEP in what ever language, and if BN still retains; Hishamuddin, Nazri, Rafidah, Sharizat, Ali Rustam, Nor Mohd. Yakcob, Azmi Khalid, Tengku Adnan, and Zulhasnan in the cabinet, then BN has not and cannot reform!

written by densemy, March 14, 2008 11:47:28
I wonder if he thinks he is one of the UMNO weaknesses... or is it all the other guys .
written by oknyua, March 14, 2008 11:51:01
Dato Hisham, apakah engkau anak-cucu wira Onn Jafaar tak mampu berfikir?

Look at your comment on NEP - jauh serung, mereng, kata orang Jawa. It's not only your Keris act, no. It's not only your racist statement, no.

Just look how your father and grandfather acted, you would have learnt many valuable things. I hope you read MT and not just KPMU because in MT the individuals give you the feedback based on our real feelings. Register with MT, call Labisman or if you dare, call YM Raja Petra. Good day to you Dato'. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Shyetan, March 14, 2008 12:04:07
Give us some more of your wayang keris and you'll see what will happen next
I doubt you know your weaknesses - a bigot like you! It's always someone else's and not your own weakness where you are concerned - too bad Dato

written by hiro, March 14, 2008 12:11:29
Hishammuddin does not have any credibility to ask for reform. He is like a thief asking another thief to give up stealing. In order to reform, he must relinquish his post as UMNO Youth chief and go into early retirement.
written by Vertigo Cure, March 14, 2008 12:12:37
kerispuddin, the first thing to reform is to get rid of yourself. If you can't do it, then you can't reform. The only way to save the basket of apples is to get rid of the rotten ones.
written by wongnoball, March 14, 2008 12:12:48
Dear Dato Sri Keris,

Heartfelt thank for waving your fantastic KERIS every year.
I think you alone is not enough lah !!!
Next time make sure you ask every member to bring their own KERIS.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif ...........
written by The dragonheart, March 14, 2008 12:37:46
If UMNO could have taken good care of ALL malays and the other races who are not in the BN, you wouldn't be like this now... no point crying over spilled milk!

All of you UMNO people and ur BN friends needs to go for a brainwash (not brain storming) therapy... change your mindset, change your greed, change ur heart...
written by Daryl, March 14, 2008 13:25:47
Is this the best you can do UMNO? Where are all the moderate and real Malay that can actually lead this country? Why do you take a racist to call out that reform is neccesary for BN?
Good news for BR and people like me that truly and praying for a Bangsa Malaysia to become a reality...
written by Kuku Burung, March 14, 2008 13:31:15
KriShamMU,
You are the cause of the BN downfall when you raise that keris. Own up, man, unless you are a chicken. You are a disgrace to you honourable grandfather Dato Onn and your father Tun Husein. You grandfather promoted a multiracial politic, and your father was best known for uniting all races. You have singlehandedly destroyed their legacy. It is the case of the forefathers bearing the sins of their child. Shame on you.
written by Chuang Tze, March 14, 2008 15:06:17
The only way Kerispudding can face his illustrious grandad, Dato' Onn Jaafar, and his dad, Hussein Onn, is to commit Sepukku, with his keris ! I would gladly be his second !!

The BN is not irrelevant. It is becoming more and more relevant everyday ... as it turns into the Opposition party in 2013 !!! The Barisan Najis with the United Malaysian Nazis Organization (UMNO), the Malaysian Chimpanzees Association (MCA), the Malaysian Impotency Congress (MIC), and the Perpetual Motion-with-no-aim party (Gerakan) !!!

Viva BARISAN RAKYAT !!
written by renoir, March 14, 2008 15:15:43
"What we have done is just not enough. This is my view," Hishammuddin said.]]

Huh??? You mean UMNO should've done MORE of what they did???????
written by truegrid, March 14, 2008 17:37:13
No, Dato' Sri,
it would appear you've done quite enough to kill off the BN, and for that we thank you. Look at yourself in the mirror and have a sense of sense of irony, you thug.
written by InEffective, March 14, 2008 18:31:35
no meaningful contribution to the nation's peoples by this politician.
rather a comprehensive erosion of our nation's strengths and capabilities in education and learning.

Totally dysfunctional and irrelevant.
written by kclim, March 15, 2008 01:48:19
The irony of it , everytime Datuk Seri Hishammuddin raised his keris I got mad. I told myself enough is enough we will show him the pen is mightier than his keris at the polls. In retrospect I wish to thank Hishammudin for brandishing the keris. Honestly less states would have fallen to Barisan Rakyat if he did not display those acts. I believe each time he raised the keris, he severed off another state to put in on a silver platter for Barisan Rakyat. I hope he hangs around long enough for the next five years, raise his keris every year , to help deliver 5 more states to BR in 2013. Terengganu, Pahang, Johor, Melaka and Perlis would be very nice thank you.