Nazri: We may see end of NEP PDF Print
Friday, 14 March 2008 09:33

The election results signal the beginning of the possible demise of the New Economic Policy (NEP) and special rights for the Malays, said Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz. 

The Umno supreme council member said it appeared that the Malays, especially in the town areas, had become more confident now and felt they could compete with the other races on a level playing field. 

“We (Umno) have to really sit down and think. It looks like the educated Malays do not care about Malay rights anymore,” he said when contacted.  

“The Malay doctors, lawyers, engineers feel they have made it on their own merit. 

“It looks like the NEP is not something that can be used to persuade the Malays to support the Barisan Nasional.  

“The Malays are saying ‘you can’t scare us by talking about us losing our rights, because we are here on our own merit’.”  

Nazri said it looked like some Malays felt that the NEP was unfair, and questioned  

why special rights should be given to the Malays. 

He described the new confidence among the Malays as good for the Malay psyche. 

In the just concluded election, the Barisan only managed a simple majority in Parliament, and lost five states (Kedah, Selangor, Kelantan, Penang and Perak) to the Opposition. 

The Opposition had largely said they would dismantle the NEP and put in a place a new affirmative action policy based on need rather than race.  

Nazri, who retained his Padang Rengas  

parliamentary seat by a majority of  

1,749 votes, said he barely survived the political tsunami. 

He said the youngsters – Chinese, Indians and Malays – who returned from Kuala Lumpur to vote in Perak had tried to persuade their parents, who are Barisan supporters, to either not go out to vote or vote for the Opposition. 

“I only survived because of my personal touch with the voters,” he said. 

He believed the political landscape in the country had changed irreversibly and that all parties would now have to work harder. 

“Every wakil rakyat will have to work to win the hearts of the people. This is good for Malaysia because, at the end of the day, it is the rakyat who benefits,” he said. 

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by Hakim Abdullah, March 14, 2008 09:44:32
Nazi says one version, kerismuddin another...they contradict themselves as usual. But the message sounds like they are soliciting for pity and hoping to rekindle af ire to ignite a dangerous racial inferno....
written by krising1, March 14, 2008 09:44:39
Finally a flash of brilliance from one who I ahd given up as brain dead!
written by conface, March 14, 2008 09:48:15

Merely winning the voters' heart is a shallow strategy, walk the talk!

Action speaks louder....!
written by FFT, March 14, 2008 09:58:45
Ah, somebody is greasing the skids to facilitate his upcoming act of jumping ship.
written by savemalaysia, March 14, 2008 10:01:31
To Nazri,
I remember very vividly during the debate on the BERSIH demo in Parliment few months ago(From TV3 Niteline), you said that the BERSIH was organised by opposition and you mentioned loudly in Parliment that the opposition" tidak akan menang pada 12th GE dan akan kalah teruk ". Shame on you lah!
written by apasalahku, March 14, 2008 10:03:06
Nice..very nice..Mr Taxi/Racist x 80 times/'Bodoh!'/whosesonwasinvolveinmudercasebutgotoff/parliament monkey is making the gamble of his life.
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 14, 2008 10:08:58
If BN, especially UMNO, remain arrogant, next GE it will be wiped out. So to remain relevant it must change. No more corrupt and incompetent representatives in parliament or state assemblies. The voters are getting sophisticated.
written by Daryl, March 14, 2008 10:11:06
The kampung folk are still poor because politicians from UMNO keep them that way. This way they can still and rob from the NEP program. Every five years you lie to them that we need this to help them. So, the urban folks know that and is willing to spread the truth to their parents after tey saw the palace you politicians build for yourself...
written by Ken Liew, March 14, 2008 10:11:36
Educated Malays are already berdikari, thats why Malay rights are not so important to them......

But some Malays (UMNO mostly) are still to stupid and wanted to make the Malay rights NEP/DEB to their own benifits.... cos they are still weating diapers.

For me, Either reforn the NEP/DEB for the good of ALL MALAYSIAN, or just trow it away......
written by MMhunter, March 14, 2008 10:31:55
This is malay way to peril...nthing more then that.He is just trying to be sacastic esp with the educated malays
written by Ben Nordin, March 14, 2008 10:33:15
Malaysians from all walks of life have been questioning the NEP for years as it seems to only favor the few and those few that is in BN. They realize that the Malay, Cinese and Indian elites in BN have kept them in a poor state so that before elections, the same elites would come and reveal themselves as saviors dishing goodies out everywhere. Not anymore. Thats why the tsunami occurred. Against arrogant elites who ride on the success of the past and line up their own pockets at the expense of the Rakyat.
written by cancan, March 14, 2008 10:35:04
This election results have shown that Malaysians of all races have woke-up to the reality of bad governance.

Like a company that fails to deliver results,the management needs to be either revamped or sacked.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by Toyolbuster, March 14, 2008 10:36:28
Hoi you Nazi shit head, you survived only because of the 5000 postal votes, 1000 hantu votes and 500 Guinness world record holders of oldest voters. Net net you still lost by 5000 majority votes in a BN stronghold. That makes you an illegitimate MP like most of your fellow stooges. The Malay Doctors, Engineers, Lawyers have made it on their own merits you dick head. They did it with sheer determination, hard work, love and support from their own parents. Yes, some may have gotten loans from Mara or government agencies, but they had to pay back. Have the UMNO goons paid back their study loans? The people who made it possible for the rejection of BN, in other words, the NEP, were the rural Malay majority. They are rejecting the NEP simply because it benefits only the UMNOputras like Rapida, Daim, Tajudin, Halim Saat, SIL, and the whole jingbang. In any case the NEP should have expired dacades ago. The UMNOputras were able to threaten the non-malays with ISA if the the NEP was being questioned simply because the Malays were being patient and tolerant, but not beacause they supported it. However, this time around, thanks to goons like you Nazi, Zam, Hishame, SIL and many others, the Malays can't sit and witness the blatant rape and molestation of the country's wealth benefiting the few morons. Well, now you know that the simple minded rural folks aren't as stupid as you wish to believe so. Just wait for the next round of tsunami, its always the 2nd wave that kills.
written by savemalaysia, March 14, 2008 10:38:32
To racist Nazri, it is very unfortunate for most of the malaysians that you still have your underwear after barely survived the political tsunami. We(the boss) have to give you a good lesson for constantly utter arrogant statements in the parliment or press conference. Pls sombong some more lah!!!!
written by Sudahlah tu, March 14, 2008 10:43:19
NAA, ini bukan kerana kehadiran awak bersama pengundi tetapi kepintaran konco2 awak semasa PRU12.
Harus kita lihat dari sudut kepentingan perlaksanaan DEB sebenarnya hanya mengongkong pertumbuhan daya persaingan orang Melayu sendiri. Mereka yang kaya akan menjadi lebih kaya dengan laluan istimewa mendapatkan pinjaman bank dan belian rumah mewah dengan harga diskaun. Mereka juga melibatkan sistem korupsi dalam sistem DEB bersama dengan YB/YB, Datuk/Datuk daripada UMNO untuk mencari keuntungan perniagaan bersama kerajaan.
Harus kita faham, orang Melayu meliputi lebih daripada 60% jumlah rakyat Malaysia dan mereka lebih suka diajar memancing daripada diberi ikan setiap hari.
UMNO sudah lama 'menipu' mereka dengan hasutan2 perkauman dan 'gula2 kehidupan yang tidak membantu tetapi sebaliknya sudah merosakkan ahklak kemurnian bangsa Melayu sendiri.
Tabiat awak yang suka menyalak apabila nampak peluang untuk menonjolkan kedudukan sendiri tidak boleh disambut baik oleh rakyat jelata yang berpendidikan.
Pendekatan persefahaman awak dengan ajaran Tuhan tidak begitu kuat namun selalunya awak suka bertayang-tayang bila di khalayak ramai.
Orang Melayu memang beradat dan berbudi ....
fahamkanlah istilah jati dulu sebelum bercakap ....
written by Counterpointer, March 14, 2008 10:55:20
Finally after the build up of gas after the elections, he farts.

Guess which way he would have farted about the NEP had BN won big?

written by Malaysiaputra, March 14, 2008 11:30:31
YES< out Umnoputra centered NEP , and in MEP (Malaysian Economic Policy) to help all races of Malaysians who qualify for help.Including PAS Malays, Chinese, Indians and other Malaysians.

And Malaysia will march forword to new heights in the post NEP era !
written by temenggong, March 14, 2008 11:30:53
Wah!! Finally got brains!!

Everything you said is korek, korek, korek!!

Looks like you guys undestimated malay confidence and the new malay psyche!

Looks like you are the only one who is not braindead! While the rest are artifically kept alive! Now if you keep talking like this, come August you can be DPM!

written by Bigjoe99, March 14, 2008 11:37:22
To transforn BN political capital of the NEP to that of a socialist agenda is not so simple. It fundamentally conflicts with its more liberal capitalist tenets that favours the UMNOputras. In other words, changing the NEP is not about changing one tenet but essentially at least two main pillars of UMNO.

No way...
written by oknyua, March 14, 2008 11:38:41
I agree in context, but there is a serious mistake in Nazri's thinking.

#“We (Umno) have to really sit down and think. It looks like the educated Malays do not care about Malay rights anymore,”#

We care therefore we act. We see the least qualified Malays with the right lingo and politics being promoted. We see the right Malay doctors, judges, lecturers, engineers etc are NOT considered unless they have the RIGHT political affiliation. This is insulting the capability of the qualified Malays in particular and the Bumiputeras in general. You have to admit this had been practised since TDM's time and more so under AAB, all in the name of NEP.

But PAS had said the right thing, "keep what is good in NEP", like helping those that needs help. Dato' Anwar suggested finding an alternative that effectively remove nepotism, cronyism and corruption. Dato' Nazri, I was your admirer when you first entered politics, because you said many rational things. Maybe you go backwards to the time you entered politics and see how your brain operated then.

written by zonefinder, March 14, 2008 11:57:26
The Rakyat can see right thru these guys and their reverse psychology. Umno is still in state of denial and have not realize the reasons for the loss in BN. This numbskull Nazri are still as arrogant and condescending as ever talking down to our Malay bros. Badawi's first job should be to silence these stupid loud mouths if he wants BN and Umno to survive.
written by cble, March 14, 2008 12:05:36
DEB pada dasarnya memang baik. Tujuanya untuk membantu bumiputra dalam apa jua bidang yang mereka didapati kekurangan seperti dalam pendidikan, perniagaan dll. Malangnya UMNOputra salah mengunakanya dengan mengkayakan sekolompok kroni2 yang mesti menjadi pakturut, sedangkan majority orang bumiputra yang harus dibantu merempat. Lihat sahaja disekitar luar bandar. Apa yang di bantu tidak propotion dengan harta karun yang pimpinan UMNOputra telah kumpulkan untuk kemewahan duniawi mereka dan keluarga. Itu sebabnya DEB tajaan UMNOputra harus ditolak. Setelah 50 tahun merdeka, apa yang majority rakyaat melayu perolehi? Tepuk dada tanya hati.
written by densemy, March 14, 2008 12:12:17
For ****'s sake ... WHY ARE YOU STILL TALKING IN TERMS OF RACE??

Is it impossible for you to think of Malaysians as Malaysians??
written by hiro, March 14, 2008 12:12:19
Well, it looks like Nazri is the first willing participant for real reform. But before you think that this guy has turned over a new leaf, you should seriously examine what this guy has done for Malaysia in the past 4 years, with Special Complaints Commission, a restrictive Lingam Inquiry, and refusing a Commission for Appointment and Promotion of Judges. He has a long way to go before regaining the trust of Malaysians.
written by ultraman, March 14, 2008 12:14:50
Nazri should be ashamed ofyour ownself. Please do not potray Malays are weak and Parasitic like you Nazri and the few UMNOputras.
The succesful Malays have pride and they feel that Malays are just as capable , if not more than non-Bumiptras. That is why they are willingto take the challenge. To them, NEP is still relevant but must be implemented to benefit the really poor Malaysians. Asit is, the UMNOputras are fighting for it to enrich themselves.
Nazri, as we know, you have no class. But the successful Bumis are far, far smarter than you and many of the ministers. Do not project your weakness on those Bumis with pride!!!
written by archie, March 14, 2008 12:25:43
The original objectives of the NEP were eradication of poverty irrespective of race and identification of economic function with race. No right-thinking Malaysians would object to that.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 14, 2008 12:33:30
The taxi-driver himself is a product of NEP.
NEP is like a factory producing "mentally handicapped" people.
The next generation of NEP offsprings will not even know how to fry an egg!
written by lpfee, March 14, 2008 12:34:59
WARNING !! They start to play RACIST line!
written by The dragonheart, March 14, 2008 12:35:29
I think the people of Padang Rengas who voted and re elected Nazri are real dumb or they were been cheated in broad daylight...

If UMNO could have taken good care of ALL malays and the other races who are not in the BN, you wouldn't be like this now... no point crying over spilled milk!

All of you UMNO people and ur BN friends needs to go for a brainwash (not brain storming) therapy... change your mindset, change your greed, change ur heart...
written by balpal, March 14, 2008 12:56:17
Thanks Nazri. I suppose this is the first time in your entire political life you have made a sensible statement. Dah kena baru tau.
written by sonofman0, March 14, 2008 12:56:23
Dear Fellow Bloggers,

Learn to recognise the MUSIC of the PUPPET MASTERS. It is playing on this page. It begins like a lullaby. It is TESTING THE WATERS!

It has succeeded in getting you to participate on this page by commenting on the main theme: MALAY SPECIAL RIGHTS!

This is a MISTAKE! You are the FUEL of such pages. STAY AWAY from such pages. Let them DIE on the vine of the web.

Support pages which talk of MALAYSIANS!

written by Krazee, March 14, 2008 14:03:13
No right minded Malaysian will oppose the NEP if it had been used for the right purpose of bring up the poor malays. If NEP is to give 15% discount to buy a RM850,000 house then it's a mockery.
NEP helped increase the number of BMWs, Merc and all the high end cars on the roads while the Pak Ciks, Mak Chiks abang, kakak and adiks in the kampung still barely have eoungh to eat and still we call it relevent??? These ppl felt the pressure when the price of rice, flour and sugar increase.....
written by sampalee, March 14, 2008 14:07:25
As long as one sincerely repent,we must forgive.To show real repentance,Nazri should resign from umno and join BR,if he have indeed heared the Rakyat.Hope,he does not exhibit partial hearing.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 14, 2008 14:12:13
NEP = handout money, using money to buy votes, and making the recipients of NEP even more lazy, more stupid. They will realise too late when the future generations have to beg on the streets!
written by joeawk, March 14, 2008 14:41:17
Nazri is shying away from the real reasons why malays are shunning UMNO. UMNO is unto itself where the NEP serves the UMNO putras more than anything.

The loss suffered by the other component parties of BN was also attributed to UMNO's arrogance and manipulative implementation of the NEP. There is no need to look very far because the reasons are right in front of your eye if you care to see.

Equality is not about race but about heping those who are underprivileged. It is friday and you have just finished your friday prayer. reflect on discrimination and manipulation and see where it fits into your holy quran? Tell me the page.
written by Michael Sun, March 14, 2008 15:47:01
God works in strange ways.

Suddenly, taximan Nazri saw the light of his wicked ways.

Hopefully, he should tell Badawi that NEP ala BN-style is just like opium. Once addicted, it will destroy the whole Malay race. The very mention by Guan Eng on Penang's intention to abolish NEP, Badawi is already signs of "withdrawal systems" experienced by drug addicts.

NEP in its true form is the "eradication of poverty irrespective of race" which is very noble. Over the years the UMNOputras plundered the wealth of this country and of course some BNputras waited for the crumbs thrown to them.

The moment Malays can buy a RM5.0 million bungalow from a developer at 8% discount, NEP should end. The poor Malays, Chinese and Indians cannot even afford a public housing.

For the sake of Malaysia, review NEP and implement it on a needs basis rather than on race. Following UMNO's argument that Malays are poor and being in the majority, they will be the main beneficiary.

Lets pray for God to give wisdom to all leaders on both sides of the political divide.
written by Negarakuku, March 14, 2008 18:01:33
“The Malay doctors, lawyers, engineers feel they have made it on their own merit.

“It looks like the NEP is not something that can be used to persuade the Malays to support the Barisan Nasional."

We dont want to be brand like "Malay leeches". We want to be Malaysian. DO YOU UNDERSTAND????????????????

So Nazi, NEP is to persuade Malays vote BN and not to help poor Malays? You are born SOMBONG BODOH BENGGANG!!!!!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by amus, March 14, 2008 18:02:18
is this the guy who BODOH everybody tht crosses path with him?
my my my...he is talking some sense after almost getting knocked off!
but nazri....u r a little too late laa mangkuk! umno is doomed!
written by Negarakuku, March 14, 2008 18:04:58
In addition, isn´t this NEP against Islam teaching when you discriminate other race or people or worst "suck others blood" to feed your family? smilies/sad.gif
written by SuperShyteStirrer, March 14, 2008 18:31:17
Isn't it amazing that this clown still has not "got it"! He is till resorting to the old UMNO way of making veiled threats. I was at the Bersiah Rally and it would not be an exaggeration to say that more than 90% of the Malay presence that day was working class. Furthermore, the message I got was that the ordinary Bumiputra was NOT getting ANY benefits from the NEP - only the UMNOPUTRAS were benefiting so the NEP does not make any difference for the ordinary Bumiputra. Nazri, if you want to learn anything about this General Election, please speak to some ordinary folks and not your UNMO/MCA/MIC/Gerakan/Other BN Clowns.
written by Motherchell, March 14, 2008 20:23:30
Before you pretend to redeem Nazri , and your buddies AG Patil , And Musa , you underestimated us all . You thought the rkayat were some deadwood, your interview in Al Jazerra speaks volumes of the arrogance,you need to shed and prove yourself before you can be forgiven.

WORK ON THE RELEASE OF THE ISA DETAINEES , OR CHARGE THEM IN COURT, DELAYS!!!!!!!!! IS YOUR DOWNFALL FASTER THEN YOU CAN IMAGINE!!!!!

Remember one thing Nazri, politics is not about bigotry ------ if you go to any library (ie if you dont know how to operate a PC ) youll see of how the pseudo powers of bigots was suicide for themselves in the history of the world .

If you don't chnage (including the other 2 )-- you never know ,if a "Tsunami" waits at your door one morning for all the crimes you three committed against the Rakyat. You will be brought to the same Court of Law that you were assigned to take care with finesse , but you didnt !!!!!!Time is running out my friend !!YOU have no other option, but to be good from on. Take your pick!
written by nowinnofee, March 15, 2008 00:09:56
I am wary about this Nazri guy...there is udang sebalik batu. Is he planning to defect into opposition?
written by Ben, March 15, 2008 02:12:15
Old habits die hard, this one die even harder. Once a racist always a racist even when he bites the dust. Why is it so difficult for Malays in this new landscape? Just because you say so? Can they only survive in the greenhouse under your protection and perish in th marketplace when you no longer have NEP? Definitely not. There are many capable Malays who dislike the stigma you have attached without their permission. Of course, there are also those who prefer the alibaba role and easy money. Its bloody rude to impose on others your own beliefs especially those who have succeeded on their own merit.

Now you will know how its like to be a minority in the midst of Rakyat who loves peace this nation and wishes to move ahead; not to gain undue advantage because of race only but on merit. We all know now that NEP has benefited the elite and not the common Malays. Even the special quota for bumiputra entry to universities has brought undesired results. I had accidentally asked a young security guard why she was working for poor pay even though she was a graduate. She said her family have to makan, so she had no choice while waiting for response to many job applications. Why was it so difficult for her to get a good job? You can figure that one yourself. So stop fishing for sympathy.
written by ahmadbadrul40, March 15, 2008 14:28:11
Nazri is a funny guy.