NEP vital, says Umno Youth chief PDF Print
Friday, 14 March 2008 09:26

The move by the DAP to scrap the New Economic Policy will lead to tension among races, Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said yesterday.

It would bring negative consequences not only to the Malay community but also to the community at large, he said.

"This is because the NEP has played an important role in the re-distribution of equity and established balanced economic participation and as such, preserved peace and harmony."

He was commenting on the statement by Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng that the DAP would do away with the NEP in its administration.

Hishammuddin said the NEP had reduced poverty among the people of all races.

"Where is the sincerity of the opposition in this matter?

"Do they purposely want to raise the anger of the Malay community or do they want to show their power without taking into account its consequence or effect on the country's prosperity?" Hishammuddin asked.

He criticised the DAP for being irresponsible and showing disrespect to the position of the Malay sultanate.

"Their intention to boycott the ceremony involving the appointment of the Perak menteri besar also showed that they are power crazy, and are willing to go against king and country."

Hishammuddin said this showed DAP was incapable of fighting not only for the bumiputera but also for the rights of other communities. - NST

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Commonsenses, March 14, 2008 09:35:46
true to a racist thinking kerismudin start to attack DAP, why did he not attack PKR and anwar who had made similar statement. Raise ur keris baby!!!!!!! This is the person who destroyed the BN coaliation.
written by FFT, March 14, 2008 09:37:20
The move by the DAP to scrap the New Economic Policy will lead to tension among races, Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said yesterday.

Waving of the keris and threatening minorities are the actions that will truly lead to tension among races, you neo-Nazi punk Hishamuddin.
written by Malaysiaku, March 14, 2008 09:38:13
"This is because the NEP has played an important role in the re-distribution of equity and established balanced economic participation and as such, preserved peace and harmony."

Hisham to the Bumis: "OK, one for you and 19 for me"
written by Ken Wong, March 14, 2008 09:42:40
I cannot believe that this comment is coming from a man who kisses his own kriss! If you say NEP has helped all Malays please proof it! I can still see many rural and urban Malays who are poor. The only ones I see getting all the benefits are connected ones. Why don't we try to make NEP more transparent so that all Malays have a chance to really benefit from it. Let's level the playing field abit more. If BN really stands for all Malaysian, the kissing of kriss event should have never occured in the first place. If we all think about it, the other races never hated the Malays and majority of Malays are also ok with others. It is only the repeated bashing by people like you that creates the tension. Please take heed of the Rakyats call for change. Firstly change yourself before trying to change others.
written by Debbie, March 14, 2008 09:42:58
Can somebody over there in malaysia borrow one of Pete's keris and shove it up this man" u know where. Dick head!
written by Ken Liew, March 14, 2008 09:45:12
important role in the re-distribution of equity and established balanced economic ???

Thats the biggest JOKE from the dagger kisser~!! Even it is true, only The Umnos benifits on it.........

written by Wisdom above, March 14, 2008 09:45:27
Just what is this very confusing word called NEP ?

Can someone quantify it into words & sentences what is NEP.

I am confused & do not understand what are its aim ,in words please.

Preferably, ask Deputy CM (1) & DSAI to explain it.

I never seen NEP in detailed written forms.

True, the BN UNMO-putrasN dare not attack DSAI when he explain the weakness of it.

Beware of MSM spin again to confused , attack & destroy.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

written by krising1, March 14, 2008 09:45:40
You bring much shame to your noble line. Makes one suspect if you are actually from that line.
written by joseph81, March 14, 2008 09:48:57
NEP should stay, in fact Malaysia should revert back it's original mission that is to help the poor color blindly. The intension was good, it's just that some pricks turn it around to benefit only a certain group
written by Toyolbuster, March 14, 2008 09:49:18
Hishame you ass hole, read my lips, stop your racist seditious threat. You and your stupid childish keris among that SIL issues have successfully toppled the BN and you still don't get it into your thick skull that contains less grey matters. If you and that SIL remains at the top still, we the YB will make sure that BN will fall before you can spell KERIS.
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 14, 2008 10:12:46
No! Kerismuddin, you're wrong. The NEP only benefited UMNOputras and cronies. We need a better policy that helps all the poor and none is marginalized.
written by Rundukon, March 14, 2008 10:13:49
NEP was introduced in 1971, among others, to help the bumiputra to achieve atleast 30% participation in the country's economy. The objective was supposed to have been achieved in 30 years i.e 2001.Nothing happened! The rich become richer, the poor remained poor.

Is Hishamuddin saying that we need another 30 years?

The fact is that BN has failed! A new program as initiated by DSAI, the Affirmative action' is needed to help the poor and marginilised irrespective of races and religion.
written by educationist, March 14, 2008 10:35:33
So, Nazri and Hishamuddin are playing tug of war. But going by pedigree, this keris waving chap carries more weight. Let's be clear on this - even as the opposition parties calls for the abolishment of the NEP[for that matter didn't it expired in 1990], no one is deying that they are disadvantaged and poor Malaysians of ALL races that need to be helped. What is asked for end of racial discrimination, cronyism and corruption in its implementation.
written by MarchOn, March 14, 2008 10:36:49
Kerismuddin (not LGE) is trying to provoke the racial tension. The media should provide fair report on both sides. TV3 yesterday ran a report showing LGE talking about scrapping the NEP and later showed another clip denying it, alot of people can be misled by this report....as we know how technologically advanced video editing is.... u cut here and paste there, cut the in middle before the FULL msg can be conveyed.
written by cancan, March 14, 2008 10:58:25
NEP, like a product,has a life cycle.

You need to analyze its usefulness and then reinvent and adapt accordingly.
It is no use to say it is vital for the sake of defending it.

When the crutches are taken away,you can still use your hand to hold the railing to walk.
You start with one step at a time.
Then you walk with two steps,then three steps and finally you will be able to walk without the crutches and the railing.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspopt.com/
written by Counterpointer, March 14, 2008 11:03:39
Debbie wrote:
Can somebody over there in malaysia borrow one of Pete's keris and shove it up this man" u know where.

Here! Take your pick.

All five together, also can.

written by cancan, March 14, 2008 11:04:35
Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by Tan Tan, March 14, 2008 11:29:19
Seriously, his dad is an ex Prime Minister for all Malaysia. How come this dude can become so racist?

First of all, Penang CM plans to cancel NEP is to attract more investments to Penang and not to anger Malays and WE ALL believes NEP should be modify to caters to the poor people of all races.

Do u think US, India, China, Europe investors want to give 30% of their company to invest in Malaysia? IF the rest of the countries practice this NEP, do u think UMNO related companies will invest abroad, well of course NO!

NEP is needed then because majority of the poor ppls is Malaysia during 60s to 70s which is the reason it caters to helps the Malays. However, today Malaysia had changed and do u think all Malays r still poor? I don't think so especially to those UMNO ppls. Rich like nobody business.

NEP is vital to UMNO ppls is what this dude is saying. Without this NEP, he worry he cannot compete with Mr. Hadi Awang's son or Mr. Anwar's daugther for future government projects. SINCE WHEN CHINESE OR INDIANS GET GOVERNMENT PROJECTS to begin with! Nonsense!

Today, Malaysia - Malays - 16 million ppls, Chinese - 6 millions, Indian - 4 millions.

Let's say, 40% of Malays are medium income earners, it is already 6.4 million Malays which is more than Chinese and Indian population already.

Let's say, 75% of Chinese are medium income earner to rich ppls and 40% of the Indian are medium income earner to rich ppls, the total is only 6.1 millions which is almost or lower than medium to rich Malays in this country. (by the way, all the so called rich Chinese ppls of the 60s or 70s had moved out of Malaysia and left the poor ones behind)

Let's say, 60% of Malays, 25% of Chinese and 60% of Indian are still poor and need help from NEP. It is 9.6 million Malays, 1.5 million Chinese and 2.4 million Indians.

So if NEP is caters only to the poor ppls, Malays still got 71% of the whole NEP benefits and Chinese only gets 11% and Indians only get 18%.

So I don't see if NEP which caters to the poor ppls in this country will angers Malays if UMNO ppls dun try to spin it and make it racist.
written by temenggong, March 14, 2008 11:38:26
Go on Hisham, wave that kris!!

As long as Hisam is still in the cabinet BN will lose!!
written by Malaysiaputra, March 14, 2008 11:41:17
Only Umnoputras are scared for the loss of NEP as they do not want funds to be spent helping the poorer non Malay Malaysians as it would mean less opportunity to be Umnoputras the like of Deros. Easy money with no hard work.

Where NEP is not applied, a new policy to help all will apply . PAS Malays never ever benefited form NEP ! only Umnoputras. That is the truth.
written by hiro, March 14, 2008 12:07:45
Hishammuddin has said a lot without actually saying anything useful at all. It's the same old line trying to bridge an unbridgeable gap, that NEP is good for community building. What NEP does - or what was done in the pretext of NEP, has been privately arranged government procurement contracts with commissions in millions benefiting those from UMNO. On the other hand, we hardly hear about eradication of poverty across the racial spectrum.

So how has NEP really benefited the people? I would daresay that the existence of NEP the way UMNO practises it is the source of tension in this country. DAP is doing well to get rid of the worst aspects of NEP while promising that those who are sidelined will still be rendered assistance - a truly useful and humanitarian approach to affirmative action.

Hishammuddin is clearly unwilling to give up on the old Malay way. He will soon be a political relic, never a chance to see the top post in UMNO, assuming by that time UMNO is still relevant at all.
written by densemy, March 14, 2008 12:09:14
In their arrogance they really do believe that what is best for them is also best for Malaysia

Cant they even read the messages that were sent to them last Saturday?
written by lpfee, March 14, 2008 12:33:24
Becareful now, they start to play racist line!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 14, 2008 13:36:33
He is a typical NEP drug-addict who cannot survive without NEP medication. He thinks everyone is like him, and need clutches to move around. The prolong consumption of the NEP drug has made him short-sighted and unable to think rationally. His dad had to sell a piece of land to enable him to go for further studies, and what a waste of money!
written by franklyspeaking, March 14, 2008 14:14:34
Lets stay calm and not get too emotional here. Loosers will use all sort of idiotic way and tactics to stir the harmony of the new Penang Govern. Let the Penang CM do his job and for your ann me to judge and if he fail then we the rakyat can kick his ass out of Penang in the next election.

4-5years without NEP in Penang, will not kill anyone, The whole country is under almost 40 year of NEP.... and look at the rich ones, the cronies(mind you they come in all shapes, race, religion and color) had 40 years of easy life at the expense of the poor!
C'on Hisamuddin, think like a winner on not a pathetic loose!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Dominic, March 14, 2008 14:18:43
Get lost Hisham! What tension are you refering to? Your raising of kris is the culprit of all evils. And thats real threat!! Its the cool head of majority of us that avert what cud have been another May 13th or even worse! Who says the NEP benefited all socities. It is those from UMNOPUTRAS who are the real winners! If you are so concern abt the equal distribution esp the poor, do us the Rakyat a favour. Go and empty the pockets of your gangs from UMNOPUTRAS and distribute to the masses. I can tell you, everyone of them can drive a `Toyota Camry` latest model if not a Mercedes! NEP must be removed completely. If the Malays or any ethic group that need special attention,sure by all means,every one should chip in be it from private or govt sector. Didnt the govt say they want to help and erdicate poverty so that everyone can have reasonable wealth and live a happy life!
written by Tompios, March 14, 2008 14:32:48
Bodohnya Hisammudin. Orang Malay Malaysia sekarang sudah ramai yang kaya-raya. Mungkin NEP perlu untuk orang Melayu di Sumatera yang masih miskin.
written by archie, March 14, 2008 16:05:50
Hishammuddin: The NEP had reduced poverty among the people of all races.

The Indians and the natives of Sabah/Sarawak don't see it that way.
written by joeawk, March 14, 2008 16:08:17
Vital for whom? For the malays or for the umnoputras? If it is for the malays, the malays would not have voted for PAS, PKR or DAP.

It is sad to hear from UMNO Youth just after their beatings at the recently concluded GE that they are so, so arrogant that they seem to deem the malays are stupid except those in UMNO.

I bet that UMNO will become even more irrelevant if that is their stand.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 14, 2008 16:15:00
"Pen is mightier than the kris"
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 14, 2008 16:27:11
Vital to keep all the severely retarded NEP addicts alive! including himself, and all his children.
written by InEffective, March 14, 2008 18:33:09
if and when this politician delivers for the peoples, then we can give some value to his words.
written by doggone, March 14, 2008 19:22:10
Hello kerisman. The majority of Malays, Indians and Chinese are already poor lah, except those in your clique. Even if you stir up racial tension, we also got no money to buy keris to fight among ourselves. We are
all smarter now and for your info, the grind of daily life to make ends meet (now have to work from 9am to 9pm) has zapped all energies required to even lift up that wavy blade just to kiss it much less have a duel.

For once, just keep a lower profile and see if your opposition brothers can do what they promised. I can assure you our Malay brothers in Penang would be the first to voice their disapproval should they fail to benefit without the NEP. Do you think for a moment the coalition of the new state government of Penang would even dare sideline any race?

I think you are afraid. No, I would say very afraid. You are afraid they might succeed without the NEP.
You are very afraid they might even make Penang one of the most prosperous state in the nation before the next GE. Kiss metal no more from now on and help the nation move forward before we have to sell it lock stock and barrel.

Make yourself relevant before we make you NOT !
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 15, 2008 00:13:44
Stupid idiot should kiss a book instead of the small toy-weapon!
written by Debbie, March 15, 2008 08:42:50
counterpointer,

you just made my weekend. Thanks.