Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Yellow card for the opposition

Yellow card for the opposition PDF Print
Thursday, 13 March 2008 16:44

The market perception is that PKR can't be trusted. The common belief is that the people in PKR can be bought. But it appears like PAS and DAP are bigger slime-balls than PKR. At least PKR did not try to sabotage the forming of the Kelantan, Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor state governments.

Lim Kit Siang is a passionate person. That is not crime I suppose because I too am a passionate person. I am passionate about my wife and I am passionate about Malaysia Today. I expect this passion is required in my line of work and to stay focused for decades on end. I have been with my wife since 1968, one year before May 13, and to spend 40 years with the same woman and still feel like we are on honeymoon does require a lot of passion. I may have been working on Malaysia Today just four years now, but it is four straight years, 365 days a year, morning till evening, with no holidays in between. And six years before that since 1998 I was working on www.freeanwar.com as well as my own website that carried my name. (I was hoping that after ten long, non-stop years I could go into retirement, but it now appears I have more work ahead of me compared to the first ten years before this).

Anyway, back to that passion bit. While Kit Siang and I share the same thing in common, we are both passionate, I would like to believe that my passion is positive while I am yet to decide how to categorise the Grand Old Man of DAP's passion. From where I am sitting, Kit Siang is passionately opposed to Islam and this does not bode well for DAP at all.

But Kit Siang is merely the 'non-executive' Chairman of DAP. Is it not the Secretary-General who has executive powers instead of the Chairman? Why then is Kit Siang making all these damaging statements when in the first place he should not be the one making them. When he was the Secretary-General, he was the one running the party while Chan Man Hin, the Chairman, sat quietly in the background and did not ruffle anyone's feathers. Now that he is the Chairman, Kit Siang should also sit quietly in the background and allow the Secretary-General to run the party like how he did before this when he was the Secretary-General. Kit Siang is not DAP and DAP is not Kit Siang. Apparently, this important fact seems to escape him.

For more than four years now PAS has never touted the Islamic State issue. For all intents and purposes, PAS has practically dropped the Islamic State issue, though they did so silently and gave the issue the decent burial it deserves. Apparently this is still not good enough for Kit Siang. He wants PAS to stand up on a soapbox and openly declare that it is abandoning Islam. Would in that same breath Kit Siang also want PAS to abandon the 'Islam' word in its party name and change the name to Parti Melayu or Parti Malaysia or something like that (because that would be what it would tantamount to)?

In the recent 2008 general election campaign, the DAP ceramahs were practically flooded with PAS flags and T-shirts. Motorcycle convoys with riders wearing PAS T-shirts and carrying PAS flags escorted the DAP candidates as they made their rounds to meet the voters and to speak at the ceramahs. Why did DAP not chase away these people? Some of them were Malays from PAS while many were Indians from Hindraf. Yes, Indians from Hindraf were wearing PAS T-shirts and carrying PAS flags at these DAP events. But no one chided these people or demanded that the 'offensive' PAS paraphernalia openly displayed by PAS and Hindraf activists be removed from sight.

When DAP wants to win votes it does not mind the presence of PAS members or their T-shirts and flags. Now that it has won the votes, DAP does not want to have anything to do with PAS. Hello....brother....it does not work that way. You won with the help of PAS members so now you have to live with them as partners for at least until the next election. Then, in the next election, maybe PAS and DAP can engage in three-corner fights and we shall see who wins the most number of seats.

In both the 1999 and 2004 general elections, DAP could only win 10 seats in Parliament and did not have enough state seats to form the government. Now, not only is DAP's 28 Parliament seats a new record for the party, but it even won enough seats to form the state government in Penang. And this was achieved not just on anti-Islam Chinese votes alone. It required Malay and Indian votes as well to achieve this.

DAP is not an anti-Islam Chinese party. It would get nowhere as an anti-Islam Chinese party. Even Chinese themselves do not want and will not support an anti-Islam Chinese party. Most Chinese are intelligent enough to know that DAP will not get anywhere as an anti-Islam Chinese party. So why this passionate anti-Islam stand?

Is Kit Siang's 'stage-show' merely a distraction from what ails DAP in Selangor? Supporters of Teng Chang Khim, Teresa Kok and Ronnie Liu are locked in battle. Each has their clique that wants to see their candidate installed as the Deputy Menteri Besar of Selangor. But there is no Deputy Menteri Besar post and His Highness the Sultan of Selangor will not appoint one. So why bother to squabble over who should be the candidate to fill a post that does not exist? Yesterday, Teng's supporters held a demonstration to demand that their man gets appointed as the Deputy Menteri Besar. In spite of the announcement that there shall not be any Deputy Menteri Besar, today, they plan to hold another demonstration and MCA and Gerakan are going to send their supporters to help Teng mobilise a crowd of 10,000 to prove that his support is overwhelming. Can we please remember this name and come next election we send him to where Zakaria Deros now resides?

Three names were submitted to His Highness the Sultan of Perak. As they could not agree as to who of the three should be the new Menteri Besar of Perak, they left it to Tuanku in his wisdom to decide who should be the Menteri Besar. Tuanku looked at the State Constitution and Tuanku looked at the candidates. PKR said their candidate is the least qualified of the three and it has no objections to one of the other two from PAS or DAP being selected. PKR does not want to insist on its candidate just for the sake that the Menteri Besar is a PKR man.

Before Tuanku could decide, Ahmad Awang jumped the gun and announced that the Menteri Besar will be from PAS. Even the PAS President was caught by surprise. But the damage had been done so all he could do was hold his tongue. PKR knows that PAS Perak has a mind of its own and is practically uncontrollable. The PAS party structure is such that each state is independent, practically autonomous, unlike Umno where the President rules with an iron fist like the true dictator that he is. Even the Umno President's son-in-law has more power than the state heads of Umno who most times would also be the Chief Minister (Menteri Besar) of that state. There is of course both good and bad in such an arrangement but there is certainly more good than bad as Umno has so many times proven.

So PAS Perak jumped the gun. The PAS central leadership bit their lips and allowed the 'transgression' to pass. PKR too, in the spirit of comradeship, decided to say nothing lest it upset the delicate partnership that was in the midst of being formed and had yet to take off. But DAP decided to oppose it and to boycott the swearing in of the new government, giving the impression it was still anti-Islam in spite of the strong presence of PAS in DAP's recent election campaign and in spite of the large number of Malay votes it garnered to be able to do as well as it did.

PAS, too, has not been too honest about what happened in Perak. It realises that DAP would not be too comfortable with a PAS Menteri Besar so it stole the thunder and hoped that the 'early announcement' would 'lock' DAP and PKR and leave them no more room for negotiations. PKR was quite happy to not negotiate the issue anyway so the 'hijacking' was totally unnecessary. It just made matters worse when the end result was a hopping mad DAP that would rather see Perak fall back to Barisan Nasional than a PAS Menteri Besar taking charge of the state.

In Selangor, Hassan Ali engaged in secret negotiations with Khir Toyo to explore the possibility of PAS forming an alliance with Umno to jointly rule the state. This alliance would of course exclude PKR and DAP who were going to be Menteri Besar and Deputy Menteri Besar respectively. The delay in forming the state government due to the disagreements and the DAP infighting about who should be the Deputy Menteri Besar meant that this would give Hassan and Khir time to come to an agreement. But they could not come to an agreement because both Hassan and Khir wanted to be Menteri Besar and none would back down in favour of the other.

This is treason of the highest degree and Hassan Ali should be tied to a tree and shot. I would do that myself if not for the fact that I would like to live a couple of years longer instead of being hanged by the neck until I die before the year is out.

The market perception is that PKR can't be trusted. The common belief is that the people in PKR can be bought. In fact, Azalina did buy off one PKR candidate for RM1 million so that she could win the election uncontested. And in other parts of Malaysia a couple of other PKR candidates were bought off as well, the going price being RM1 million per head. But it appears like PAS and DAP are bigger slime-balls than PKR. At least PKR did not try to sabotage the forming of the Kelantan, Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor state governments.

The opposition parties have disappointed more than 50% of Peninsular Malaysia voters who gave them five states and helped deny Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament. Consider this your yellow card. If you are not careful, Barisan Nasional can call for an election on 8 March 2011, the earliest legally allowed, and the voters will give the opposition its red card. Then the opposition can be sent back to where it came from, a dog barking at a hill (anjing salak bukit). Maybe that is all the opposition is good for. Maybe all the opposition is capable of doing is to bark at the hill while Barisan Nasional just laughs at them and asks them to go back to China or India or wherever it is that they came from.

Lim Kit Siang said Barisan Rakyat does not exist. Hello....brother.....it does exist lah. Barisan Rakyat is the people's front or people's movement. This is the people's power or makkal sakhti that we screamed at every ceramah for two weeks leading to the 8 March 2008 general election. Barisan Rakyat is not Barisan Alternatif lah. Barisan Alternatif is a two-party coalition comprising of PAS and PKR, which DAP was also once a member of. Barisan Rakyat, however, is the people's front. It is a movement of people who support all those six political parties which endorsed THE PEOPLE'S VOICE and THE PEOPLE'S DECLARATION just before the recent general election. Barisan Alternatif, the two-party coalition (plus DAP of course) did not win the recent general election. The recent general election was won by Barisan Rakyat, the people's movement, a coalition of all races.

Let me tell you, my dear Kit, that Barisan Rakyat not only does exist but is also a very potent force. Barisan Rakyat will decide who gets to form the government. And Barisan Rakyat can also kick you out and change the government if you do not perform or you misbehave. And, today, Barisan Rakyat has given you a yellow card. Don't force Barisan Rakyat to give you a red card the next time around.

Makkal sakhti. Suara rakyat, suara keramat. People's power.

Comments (123)Add Comment
written by East Highlander, March 13, 2008 16:57:20
Kit Siang has shot himself in the foot and as a result has put strain on the fragile coalition of PAS-PKR-DAP which was beginning to show signs of stronger untiy and moving towards formalisation. Being a seasoned politician it's hard to accept Kit Siang making such an unforced error and playing into the hands of people wanting to stir up racial tensions. It's almost as if he wants destroy the Barisan Rakyat.
disagree 17
agree 144
written by PHUKETBOY, March 13, 2008 16:59:04
I,as a non Muslim declares that if DAP does not buck up, next election, I will come back here and definately give my vote and my family votes to PAS and PKR.
Watdee Khrab
agree 124
written by Jeevan, March 13, 2008 17:00:07
was a bit dissapointed with the earlier piece you wrote at 2 am, BUT this one from is the RPK that we wanted to hear.

i have no fear, as i know that the power is truly in the hands of the people.

Hidup Barisan Rakyat!!!
written by Task Force 101, March 13, 2008 17:01:45
I am sad to see this state of affairs. I cannot see the rationale of DAP's action in Perak. As for S'gor, also there is confusion and shadow play. This does not augur well for the Opposition. But,I am willing to put this down to inexperience and also initial euopria since DAP has not tasted power before. PAS has (Kelantan) and PKR (via PKR adviser supremo Anwar) but DAP has never had control and shared control. So, it can be slightly overwhelming. But I am disappointted that the Opposition did not prepare for success and end up running around making a fool of themselves.

I would like to think that PKR, DAP and PAS are the crux of a situation as Msia was post independence and forming the Alliance (pre 1969). There are some rough edges, egos and personal bogeymen that still need to be exorcised within the leaders. My advise to these leaders is that : Malaysia and the rakyat has already exorcised and buried its bogeyman called May 13, 1969. Have the courage and maturity to do the same.

We put you there. Now get going with the job preparing us for a globalised and competitve and mature world.

We put you there. We can remove you to.

GET TO WORK!
written by shock, March 13, 2008 17:01:50
kit siang's act of last night is almost unforgivable - he owes all those who voted for dap an apology - imagine, a week ago, all of us were so anxious about whether bn will still call the shots and leave the indians, chinese and disenchanted malays behind. on 9 march, we were delighted to see that a wind of change has blown across malaysia. however, as at 12 march, the wind was suddenly taken out from the sails - what a hugh let down by dap - thye have obviously forgotten the lesson learned in 1999 - or has success got into their head - whatever it is, dap better buck up or be ready to ship out come the next election
written by the1, March 13, 2008 17:02:44
I think it's more about LKS then DAP, LKS does not represent the whole DAP.
Infact, Guan Eng instructs Perak assemblymen to attend swearing-in of MB, the process is still going on, worst still the spin from mainstream media really confuses us.

Some idiots, even start talking about swinging next vote from Barisan Rakyat.
Then when BN wins, those are the people that complain the most.
Again, they might be cybertroopers.

Have faith, be patient, Barisan Rakyat!...
written by Jay Krish, March 13, 2008 17:03:23
Excellent YM RPK... you take no sides and give stick to whomever deserves it. And please... don't form party all laaa, we need your unaffiliated, unbiased, independent judgment
written by anallu, March 13, 2008 17:04:58
I agree that Kit Siang seems to have been intemperate, but I understand that he has already withdrawn his party's objection. I hope Kit Siang has learned his lession that in politics a leader, before opening his mouth, thinks about the repercussions of his words!
written by alan cheong, March 13, 2008 17:05:26
AGREED !
kit, you jerk, quit the overzealousness and grow up.
YOU throw away this chance for us, WE'll be out for YOUR blood.
written by asguard, March 13, 2008 17:08:29
If you guys can't work together now.. don't expected people to vote for you again in next elections.. people might think twice before cast the votes or maybe perhaps won't even bother to vote anymore...if you don't take this piece of advice given..we have given you a chance to show it...and not fight whom should be this and that... that's is bad... for this one i forgive you for now but if ever occur another fiasco probably you won't get me vote in next ge.... i think many of the people also would by then.... so now choose which one do you prefer to have the support or no support at all in next elections... and do remember we the people are watching BR very closely...
written by malaysianohope, March 13, 2008 17:08:58
Uncle Pete,

Forgive lah the old man...just ignore his ranting.. you know let him let off steam but in the end will come to his sense which he did. I think he does not deserve a yellow card but a warning from us all will suffice.

Talking about sharing of power I think someone should tell PAS to be all inclusive in Kedah, you know they conveniently left out the DAP Dun candidate who had won.
disagree 18
written by insankerdil, March 13, 2008 17:09:02
yup - RPK should stay as the BR watchdog!
they didn't perform or misbehave -
RPK will put on MT's frontpage -
and we RAKYAT will kick them OUT!

so all BR MPs & State-Assemblymen - WE ARE WATCHING YOU 24/7 !

p/s: all RAKYAT should have 1 platform where we can report any misbehave or unpleasant attitude of our MP/SA.
written by ZamZamAlaKazam, March 13, 2008 17:09:51
...just because you didn't get to have what is your presumed right doesn't mean you are slighted.

...in the long run, with the precedent of a king selecting the most suitable leader not necessarily from the biggest winner, we may see the king playing a more active role in the check & balance equation.

...just remember this is still a journey, our destination to a better malaysia is still FAR.
written by R Hum, March 13, 2008 17:11:19
LKS please go quietly into the night.
disagree 19
written by Ken Wong, March 13, 2008 17:11:21
RPK kudos to you on this article. Kit please wake up and smell the coffee. Don't act so foolishly. Give everyone a chance. Give us Malaysian a reason to support Barisan Rakyat!
written by East Highlander, March 13, 2008 17:12:28
Swearing in ceremony of Perak MB called off. Thanks Kit Siang!
disagree 17
written by shamadz72, March 13, 2008 17:12:29
I heard the swearing in ceremony in Perak has been cancel due to disagreement on exco post allocation. Can anyone confirm? Suck lah like this....
written by Lyon, March 13, 2008 17:13:10

Well said, and to the point. Its the people (the Peoples Front) who casted their votes to enable victory and this should not let their victory to further inflate their already 'inflated' heads.

Cheers
written by RichPoon, March 13, 2008 17:13:39
i keep telling people that you can't trust politicians from both sides,,,,,all of them are power crazy,,,,,very disappointed with lks and dap!,,,,we voted for better times and power crazy politicians!,,,,,make me sick!!!!!
written by aryn, March 13, 2008 17:13:47
Uncle Kit, thanks for service rendered. Still need you around but if you keep on doing this like still living in the 1960s, you may end up like Samy Velu.

Have an open mind lah Uncle Kit. I'm sure the chinese community are abrest with the current situation. Why don't you learn from Anwar Ibrahim...anak india pun anak kita, anak cina pun anak kita, anak melayu pun anak kita (next time think about Sabah and Sarawak too).

Anwar, at a time like this you must stand up and guide these two -PAS/DAP hotheads - to the aspiration of the rakyat. Whack their heads if need be.

PAS Selangor? You dare stab the rakyat who voted you in Selangor, in the back. We can throw you out again mind you.
written by yeechut, March 13, 2008 17:14:47
Yes, Lim Kit Siang made an error. This is understandable as DAP and PAS fought BN for 4 decades, and they are in a lot of ways defined, in the reversed sense, by BN racial politics. These are old baggage that need to be shed. Please give each other a bit of time for this. Be strong with each other, but have compassion as well.

Please give credit Kit Siang is responding to our voices. He owned up to his mistake and made a prompt public apology. We can never expect such an apology for any BN leader.

We are no longer defined by the fight with BN now, and have moved on to a new chapter. What we see now is that the rakyat, the collective voice of everybody, beyond race and religion, is making the demand for rightness. It is the collective that matters now. The different parties are strictly secondary. Lets come to term with this and move on.
-----------------------------------
The continuation of the "old ways" of doing things, and the persistence in the old habits of mind and life, is producing the current "neighborhood-wars" — as if it were possible to "play it" as in the old days, and expect that, somehow or other, things will work out politically. The "old ways" are no longer applicable. "Tribal" associations — whether religious, national, or racial — no longer have relevance in the now-interconnected state of humankind.

The World-Friend Adi Da
http://www.ispeace723.org/
written by red door, March 13, 2008 17:15:25

May I suggest this? If those 3 stooges kept on fighting each other, I suggest that you Yang Mulia RPK set up the real Barisan Rakyat. You personally hand-pick the candidates that you think can lead the new party in the long run. And you become their "minister mentor" from behind.... Just my 2-cents.

written by Enid, March 13, 2008 17:22:27
Here is the blow-by-blow account on the drama as it unfolds:

11.42am: The DAP apologises for its statement yesterday that the party’s CEC protested the appointment of Perak Pas secretary Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin as Menteri Besar.

2.16pm: Perak DAP chairman Ngeh Koo Ham announces that representatives from all political parties in the Perak coalition government will attend Nizar’s swearing-in

2.30pm: Nizar, Ngeh and Jamaluddin in a meeting with Perak Regent Raja Nazrin Shah, presumably about the confusion on who should have been Mentri Besar and also the line-up for the State Exco

2.45pm: PKR issues a statement saying it won't take part in the administration if the Exco composition is not reconsidered though it accepts the decision to appoint Nizar as Mentri Besar

3:05pm: Ngeh clarifies in a statement the confusion behind the appointment of the new Perak Menteri Besar but gave the assurance that the new coalition state government would stay united and agree to a collective leadership.

3.30pm: The Raja di-Hilir arrives at the Istana Iskandariah. Police have cordoned the area. No one is allowed into the compound. Only Bernama and RTM is permitted to cover the swearing in while other members of the media have to sweat it out outside the palace while waiting for developments. A crowd of 100 has gathered at the roundabout outside the Istana Iskandariah

3.45pm: Former Mentri Besar Datuk Tajol Rosli arrives at Istana Iskandariah in a Toyota Fortunner

3.55pm: Nizar, Ngeh and Jamaluddin leave Istana Kinta but refuse to speak to the media. It is assumed that they are going to Istana Iskandariah

4:15pm: The media has got word that the swearing-in may be postponed till tomorrow but no official confirmation has been given.

4.45pm: The swearing-in has been definitely postponed till tomorrow due to haggling over the Exco line-up. DAP, PKR and Pas cannot agree on the composition after DAP, after conceding the MB's post to Pas, is now demanding a lion's share of the Exco seats. Both DAP and PKR state leaders have retreated to their respective headquarters in Ipoh to deliberate on the issue.

4.55pm: Ngeh issues statement that Raja Nazri has instructed the coalition to collect the signatures of all 31 DAP-PKR-Pas assemblymen agreeing to work together under a coalition government and that Nizar is the collective choice as Mentri Besar. Ngeh also denies that postponement is due to PKR's threat to pull out of the coalition because they didn't get their Exco seat allocation

MESSAGE TO LIM KIT SIANG :

Let BN form the government, they are more experienced at that. You just sit at the opposition's bench. That is what you are good for. Nothing.
disagree 17
written by joeawk, March 13, 2008 17:23:14
LKS, don't continue to be an ass of yourself. I hv always have a little suspicion that you do not want DAP to succeed. Times has change and if you can't fit in anymore, please leave. Don't be like Mahatir to UMNO, leave us the young to manage our affairs.
written by Saint, March 13, 2008 17:24:56
Saudara Lim Kit Siang should understand that he is not in the opposition any more; so also PAS and PKR. They are in power and people are watching; in fact the whole world is watching. Diplomacy is the key word for political administration, and all political parties should understand this. The Rakyat has "tasted blood"; undermining their patience is not recommended. If we can throw out a 50 year old party, dumping a 5 year "loose agreement" is child's play. Please wise up for the sake of the Rakyat. We were fed up with BN; now you are playing politics instead of administration the states.
written by Chandramooi, March 13, 2008 17:33:20
Mr Lim.
Before u open up your insiduous gulp, recite this ancient upanishad mantra 1001 times when commenting the Regent's decision.
Lead me from the unreal to the Real;
Lead me from darkness to Light;
Lead me from NO BRAINER to BUDDHA

Look beyond your party and race!
written by malaysianohope, March 13, 2008 17:39:16
You guys are all jumping the gun lah. Just let them be and do their horse trading. In the end I am confident the jigsaw puzzle will sort out itself. Just have a beer and chillout. By tomorrow everything shall be fine.. Just watch.
written by mikewang, March 13, 2008 17:41:01
Dear YM Pete,

Thank you for your article and your critical assessment of the situation.

We have more wisdom than the combined weight of the CEC of DAP.
I supposed many of us just inundated the access to all popular political blogs and to any DAP YBs we could lay hands on last night.
We are relieved that the result is that the old man quickly retracted his stance and issued an apology to Tuanku.

By the way, the Uncle Lim is no longer the Chairman of DAP. That's now Karpal's job.
Guan Eng's father is merely an advisor.
I suppose only in DAP an advisor can still wield so much power.
That is bad and the party should change this.
written by malaysian2008, March 13, 2008 17:44:41
The nation know and the BN always say, the opposition can't run a govt. except kelantan PAS who have rule and run the state govt. for past 18 years.

The opposition alliance just won another 4 states;the rakyat Malaysian is trying to give them a chance to prove they can form and run an state govt,bearing in mind this is not even the whole nation yet.

There are already in quarrel, sigh what a f**k, come on the barisan Rakyat should not fighting for greed and power, just join hand and run the states that together you all won on MALAYSIAN votes. non racial , non religious, just our suara malaysian. Prove BN wrong, shown MALAYSIAN you opposition alliance do able to run the state govt, prove us we can vote you all in as a MALAYSIAN MALAYSIA govt in the next 5 years.

Don't be like BN aiming for POWER & GREED. Prove to us you are malaysian alliance and able to run the winning state in coperation.

DON'T LET US "WHO VOTE YOU IN" REGRET OF WHAT WE DO.
written by cocomomo, March 13, 2008 17:56:41
The first time that I voted about 35 years ago I happened to be registered in the constituency that Lim Kit Siang was a candidate. I voted for him/DAP. Yes he is a passionate man. He has soldiered on for 40 years . He has gone had times with years under detention because of what he believed.
Let us not write him off. I was upset with him last nite. He has apologised. Let us move forward.
RPK, maybe the two of you passionate guys should have a chit chat. LKS has concerns about the PAS based on the past. Enlighten him further.
written by Chuang Tze, March 13, 2008 18:01:20
Leopards never change their spots, and old habits die hard ! However, this old leopard, LKS, had better realize, and quickly, that it took a very determined, well-informed and courageous RAKYAT Electorate to give the BR a 5 state mandate, plus denying BN a 2/3 majority so the BR can be our guardian in Parliament while we gauge their performance and work out in our hearts & minds whether we can trust the BR with our Nation.

If the RAKYAT has the guts to vote the BR in and throw out the 50 year rule by BN despite their many threats and empty promises, we certainly have the guts to chuck out any untrue, selfish, recalcitrant BR reps and indeed the whole BR, if that is necessary to save Malaysia from chaos.

Better stop posturing, and fighting for personal glory (seats, representation etc.), all you BARISAN RAKYAT reps out there or I shall
unsheath my 15kg, 7 ft. kwan-tou and chop you guys to bits!!

Literally the RAKYAT will tear you to bits if you disappoint us,
as we have done to the BN !!!
written by Rozlan, March 13, 2008 18:34:55
PAS, too, has not been too honest about what happened in Perak. It realises that DAP would not be too comfortable with a PAS Menteri Besar so it stole the thunder and hoped that the 'early announcement' would 'lock' DAP and PKR and leave them no more room for negotiations. PKR was quite happy to not negotiate the issue anyway so the 'hijacking' was totally unnecessary. It just made matters worse when the end result was a hopping mad DAP that would rather see Perak fall back to Barisan Nasional than a PAS Menteri Besar taking charge of the state.

I was made to understand that PAS rep had been chosen by consensus at 4.00 am on 9th Mac..So I dont see any problem with that..Slimeball was not the issue

In Selangor, Hassan Ali engaged in secret negotiations with Khir Toyo to explore the possibility of PAS forming an alliance with Umno to jointly rule the state. This alliance would of course exclude PKR and DAP who were going to be Menteri Besar and Deputy Menteri Besar respectively. The delay in forming the state government due to the disagreements and the DAP infighting about who should be the Deputy Menteri Besar meant that this would give Hassan and Khir time to come to an agreement. But they could not come to an agreement because both Hassan and Khir wanted to be Menteri Besar and none would back down in favour of the other.

This is treason of the highest degree and Hassan Ali should be tied to a tree and shot. I would do that myself if not for the fact that I would like to live a couple of years longer instead of being hanged by the neck until I die before the year is out.

Pleas echeck back the facts
written by talk3talk4, March 13, 2008 18:36:45
Interesting take.

DAP is racist and anti Islam

PAS can back stab (apparently worst during Barisan Alternatif days) but is only considered as "uncontrollable" and when DAP complain, yellow card for DAP. Not to forget both DAP and PAS also awarded "slime balls"

Malaysiakini just reported that PKR is threatening to pull out from Perak exco team (but will continue with the coalition state gov't just like DAP want to boycott but continue with coalition). Wonder what the verdict on PKR will be. Will our host here have another ceramah of expletives?

written by ahkok, March 13, 2008 18:49:21
if this is how DAP, PAS and PKR is going to act not even 1 week after the announcement of the elections, then I really will never ever ever vote for the OPPOSITION anymore. Yes, I am calling them the OPPOSITION because it seems like they can not work together for the betterment of the country as a coalition. You can only oppose what you do not like but not tolerate anything which deviates from your ideals.
It really makes many people want to kick their own ass for voting DAP, PAS and PKR in. AAB may be shamed when the results was announced. Maybe now he can afford to smile again and say that he purposefully let DAP, PAS and PKR win so that they can once again go after each other's throat for positions of power. He can show the whole country that BN is a coalition which thrives on power and corruption but at least it is systematically doing so. But then DAP, PAS and PKR will do it like a royale rumble. so how is worse?
written by cruzeiro, March 13, 2008 18:58:07

RPK Sir,

This was what I said long ago (as written in my blog – although targeting PAS more than DAP)- it is two idiotic oldies, PAS and DAP, that actually keep the BN in Power. They are ideological trojans to each other - in favour of BN. PKR is catching on ....
They are both unwitting accomplices to the crimes committed by the BN regime.
The only difference is, they got shagged so bad for it all these years, that they've forgotten their true roles in society. (In fact, they come to believe that it is their role to be just that!).

And also, don't know that it is the people who can and will decide if they are ready to rule.
All these years they've run their organizations as personal fiefdoms, in very much the same mold as that of BN parties - and they've come to believe that they're always right.
Both PAS & DAP have used the BR campaign as a political tool to gain power - an alliance of convenience to use the people, for their own interests.

Now - Syed Husin of PKR speaks like a Moronic “hero” to stir the shit ....... idiocy sure is infectious.

They did not see BR as a real & living entity, but as a marriage of convenience - they want all the credit for themselves!!!
They think it was a "trick" - an illusion.

They've actually come to believe that they were so "terror" in campaigning suddenly, or that "God" showered blessings on them miraculously.
They've become angkuh, sombong and bongkak so bloody fast! (either that, or they are just so shell-shocked by the scale/magnitude of their victory, that they've lost their minds).
They'd probably sneer at You, Haris and all bloggers/netizens if you told them otherwise.
They really don't deserve what they got - they got too much for too little (except in a few cases).

Maybe we should withdraw our support, give BN the state govts that they squabble over - only then will they realize that they had netizens campaigning for them for free, long before they even started their campaigns!
This is what happens when we give people a free ride - they try to rob you!
Give the word when the time is right, Pete - and we'll start the campaign to demolish them! Especially those turncoats who talk to BN parties (and seek their "support").
Let's show them that BR is Real.

I'm really sick of these lying fork-tongued maggots and faggots .... fighting for morsels like the stray "kurap" dogs that they are.

written by diehard, March 13, 2008 19:13:30
just show us what you can do in penang first...ok uncle kit...
written by Kuku Burung, March 13, 2008 19:33:36
So now that PKR has made its statement that it will not participate in admin of Perak government, what are we going to say? To me they all come to power hunger, DAP, PKR, PAS. The Peral episode is not over and so does Selangor. What a mess.
But, if my info is correct, Tian Chua of PKR has announced that it was all a misunderstanding. Now DAP gets 6 seats, PKR 3 and PAS 1 MB seats. So hope that all are happy. Semua ini budak-budak.
written by castrol, March 13, 2008 19:34:33
DAP to boycott Perak MB swearing in? Well, I think it is their right to do so, but is it worth it? While riding in the wave of popularism among the majority of Malaysians, it is in my opinion, that this is an unwise move. Why stoop to the level of UMNO like what happened during Penang’s CM swearing in? After all, the Barisan Rakyat, that means DAP, PKR and PAS is the champion of all Malaysian, right? Howeve, Penang CM, Lim Guan Eng did the right thing when he calls for full attendance in the swearing in ceremony.

That said, in another perspective, who can blame DAP? They have won the most seats and PAS have won the least! I have nothing against PAS or Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, but remember, the coalition has submitted three names to the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, and it includes one each from DAP, PKR and PAS.

So, if DAP is not in favor of PAS being the MB, then why submit a PAS candidate as MB in the first placed? They could have always submit one candidate from DAP and two Malay candidate from PKR or in any combination, but exclude PAS. Maybe it was a gamble. DAP may think that the sultan will not choose a member from a party which has the least seats, but it backfired!

You see, DAP have repeatedly proclaimed during their pre-election ceramahs that they are multi-racial and will fight for all races in Malaysia against the evil UMNO led BN. As such, to carry this label through to the post-election period, and to feel good themselves as well as to appeal to the masses, they submitted a PAS member as MB.

Whatever it is, the prerogative now will lie in the sultan’s own choosing. It is the coalition of DAP, PKR and PAS who have submitted these candidates. Period! So, in other words, it is their own doing.

To Lim Kit Siang, the onus is on you! Accept it and move on, towards a better Malaysia. Malaysians have no time for this kind of squabbling. We have experienced it in the form of BN, so, end of story!! If DAP want to protest, then they should see the sultan himself!

On another note, there has been calls within UMNO, specifically from Nazri Aziz and Badawi, and again to the effect threatening the Malays in Penang that, if the DAP lead state government go ahead with their policy of side tracking the NEP, then UMNO will not be responsible for the future of the Malays in Penang.

Dear these two morons, do you think the Malays in Penang are uneducated bunch of fools? UMNO has not done much for the Malays in the first place! All benefits in Penang all these years have gone to a select few and UMNO cronies. Remember PGCC? So, if UMNO has neglected the Malays in Penang, what is a wrong if the Malays turn to DAP, PKR or PAS? After all, Penang has Malay as a DCM.

It is my strong believe that, even if our Malay DCM in Penang are unable to address the problems faced by the Malays in Penang, then the Penang CM or the other DCM, Dr. Ramasamy, will.

Just as if the Chinese and Indians are faced with problems and our Penang CM are away, do you think DCM Fairus Khairuddin and Dr. Ramasamy will shun away? I think not, as the spirit within the Barisan Rakyat in Penang will rise above all else. It works three ways, in this instance.

Just remember, the current crop of leaders in Penang is that of a different kind, unlike BN. I like what I have seen thus far in Penang, with Lim Guan Eng as CM. I just hope he and the rest will continue with just and fair governance.

I will leave what happens in Perak to the hand of the sultan, and it is my sincere hope that all parties accept the sultan’s pick for MB, regardless of race. If DAP can be gracious enough to accept PAS as MB, who knows what is in store in Kelantan come next election.

To DAP in Penang, and particularly Lim Guan Eng and his deputies, so far so good. Best of luck and remember your pledges. God bless.
written by OrdinaryMan, March 13, 2008 19:45:40
I thought I'm giving the Barisan Alternatif 5 years to prove itself. Hardly 5 days and it's already disintegrating. smilies/angry.gif
written by jocelyn frank, March 13, 2008 20:01:41
Is LKS alone who spoilt the soup n not the Perak chefs,look now PKR is protesting against less Exco seat,we have predicted that the wise Sultan of Perak will postponed it until they settled the nonsense fight.
Now,umno will go all out to buy over any 2 monies hungry elected candidates at whatever cost to maintain their monye making state gov.
I had said earlier DAP should ask this big mouth old man to retire and shut his bloody f*** mouth..........He had forgotten where he came from,who supported him n the party,if Gerakan old Lim can shut his big mouth,be like him........
Anything can happen to Perak & Selangor at anytime .......just watch.
written by Khan, March 13, 2008 20:05:53
Sad state of affairs! The power haqs gotten into the heads of Kit Siang and he almost lost his sense. Look DAP! Without the support of Malays, Indians and others, you are nowhere to be found! I am a PAS supporter and a muslim but I even went to the extent of becoming a polling agent for DAP this election and rejoiced when it won!

But you are proving that my father was right as he kept on telling me that you are none other than a chinese chauvinist!

I still believe common sense will prevail so I can tell my father that he is still living in the past!
written by hiro, March 13, 2008 20:35:55
Guys, I've commented on this many times and I feel there is a need to do this again.

I think we all clamour for a smooth transition from opposition to government. But it is never that easy. This is real politics at work. MB power is obviously something to shout about. Even if DAP controls the exco meeting, MB can have certain discretions. That's one.

Secondly, most MAlays, INdians and Chinese voted for DAP, and I believe DAP is trying to be sensitive to their needs. Come on. Honestly speaking. If PAS is MB, would you not even think that there is no concern AT ALL?

I refuse to believe that Kit Siang or DAP is anti Islam. I believe they are passionate about the Federal Constitution which is secular in nature, and when PAS said previously they wanted to form Islamic State over and over again, it is not something that you can just forget overnight and accept PAS' turnabout at face value. Trust takes time to form.

So these are all factors. And these factors are to be considered seriously.

Too bad indeed that it's opened up so much heated debate, but I believe that with the recent election victory, the various opposition parties still have the goodwill to work this through amicably. If the Perak divisions can't reach an agreement, let the big bosses resolve this i.e. Guan Eng, Anwar and Hadi Awang.

If there is one thing to bear in mind, it is this. What the opposition is going through now is considered a teething problem. You only need to look across the spectrum and remember that BN has screwed us up for 50 years, and also realise that within BN, internecine war has already begun. And these guys are leading the FEDERAL GOVERNMENT. Who's the bigger culprit here?

So I implore all of you, my friend, to have patience and let them sort out this mess and make an announcement. I believe that in the announcement, it will be conciliatory.
written by Kcc, March 13, 2008 21:28:15
Oh God....please help the opposition. With stuPIG opposition leaders like LKS who's an arrogant and partly brainless creature, the coalition could end up being the laughing stock of the BN, making the supporters of BR look like bloody fools.

I've never liked LKS. His son's better - at least he's on the right track in Penang.
written by malgal, March 13, 2008 22:04:50
rpk, you nipped the bud in time i think. it is hard work and you have to be up to the nanosecond. imagine how infuriated we feel when lks unhinged from the talk. had you not written your timely yellow card and held it up for all to see, how an incensed lot would boil and boil and boil over no doubt feeling helpless for the next 5 years. or 3 years as you rightly surmised. it will teach lks to do much thinking before jumping the gun. and that goes for the rest.

yes it is barisan rakyat that howled through the elections and that brought the wind of change. again i say makkal sakti.
one more stunt from lks, my esteem for you will just evaporate. guan eng, you're doing well man, dont let daddy lead you astray.
written by Uncorruptible, March 13, 2008 22:23:21
PAS should not be equated with Islam please RPK. It further confuses the issues.
Objectively, I cannot understand how PAS could be selected for the MB's post. PKR should have got the job and I don;t think they are not interested.
Anyway, these are all teething problems. With sincerity to help the rakyat, everything should be able to be worked out. Only be very careful that the evil corrupted past will take every opportunity to take over the present.
written by harrbm, March 13, 2008 22:56:15
>

can someone tell me why Perak sultan chose the candidate from PAS.
what is/are the basis? Is it a chess move? If so what will be the next three moves?
lets discuss objectively.

>
written by sufc, March 13, 2008 22:56:22
rpk, i m for one find it hard to believe that in selangor that pas guy hassan ali was trying behind the scene to negotiate for a pact with khir toyo. you must be kidding!!
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 13, 2008 22:58:07
This is what I think should be the course taken by PKR, DAP and PAS if they are wise:

1. The Kedah state government should include the sole DAP representative in its exco line-up as originally planned by the PAS Menteri Besar.

2. Mr Lim Guan Eng should have included the sole PAS representative in Penang.

3. Since the Perak Constitution does not allow a non-muslim to be the Menteri Besar, and taking into consideration that the PKR's candidate is the least qualified compared to PAS, DAP should give in and in that process claim more Exco seats. Or be satisfied with Drs Khalil Idham Lim as MB from PAS, but not Malay?

4. As for Selangor PKR should be MB. DAP should get more Exco seats.

Remember who voted you in. If it is not the Rakyat you all won't be there in the first place. Sort things out and show the Rakyat that you're capable and can represent the rakyat, your masters. If not next GE you all will be dumped.
written by sufc, March 13, 2008 22:58:48
as for another pas guy, ahmad awang, i can understand (if what you said is true)his intention. He is a religious person and of course would propose someone from a similar background. period
written by Malaysian Abroad, March 13, 2008 22:59:04
At last I'm in. For the past three weeks, I have been following closely, almost up to the minute, events unfolding in my beloved country. The political upheaval and the partial realisation of my fellow Malaysians that there needs to be change and that change must come in a democratic way sent goosebumps up my body and a flush of pride seems to resonate. For once I was proud to be a Malaysian, not Malay but a Malaysian.

Yes. We the Rakyat have spoken, though not all of us, but a substantial proportion. I kept visualising that, hopefully in 5 years time, the other proportion would join us in achieving a truly Malaysian Malaysia. Looking at the news today, I became so dejected about the petty and almost childish rant being played out by some DAP and PAS politicians. There are only two words I can say. GROW UP!!! Is this what it boils up to? The Simpsons analogy by RPK explains the reality. The PKR, PAS and DAP coalition may be in its infancy, but please do not behave like overgrown infants. Maybe the fragile coalition is not ready to have powers in their hands? It certainly seems so. All I can see is that ‘coalition’ is mimicking exactly the same attitudes of those they seek to unseat. We need to show solidarity. Not just in words but in deeds. Remember it is the rakyat that have spoken. Without the Rakyat, imagine just where you would be. And remember, power and legitimacy is only there if we the rakyat allows them to be there.
written by Areyaar, March 13, 2008 22:59:13
It is early days yet, and there are bound to be any number of teething problems. The current scenario is an entirely new one, with different parties suddenly coming into so much of power. They will definitely need time to sort things out but one hopes they do not take too much time. BN meanwhile is waiting for every little mistake they make to rant and rave about the opposition, which, by the way, they are doing with great fanfare.

What we need to see are positive steps towards a promising future. The big boys at DAP, PKR and PAS surely know this. As such they really should put their best foot forward. If any of them is going to begin this era with a show of bully boy tactics and shove-it-down-our-throat policies, they will only give BN the ammunition it needs to run the opposition down and create more disgruntlement at every level in society. Already there are rumours of such bully boy behaviour in some places. Community halls being forcibly taken over and other such things. This will not do.

There were many loud and repetitive promises of a great new future for Malaysia and all Malaysians alike. Are these parties going to deliver? Every single person who voted for them believed they would and they still do. Please keep the dream alive and bring it to fruition.

written by FFT, March 13, 2008 23:03:05
So now we know who all the Trojan horses are. Good.

And they cut across party lines.

Either the respective parties purge themselves of these treacherous swine, or next election BN will return with a 99.9% majority.
written by Vehir, March 13, 2008 23:19:55
Perak needs a Malay Muslim to be the Menteri Besar. DAP is out. PKR dont have academic qualification. Pas has the requiment.

DAP has most seats won. DAP wants to tie up with PKR but not PAS. If that's the case then ask one of the elected DAP or PKR candidate to resign and go for a by-election.

Put Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the candidate. Wait till 15th April 2008. Go for the election. Get DSAI elected. Then ask DSAI to be the MB. All this must be agreed by DSAI.

In the meantime PAS rep can hold on to the MB's post. If the law is open to replace a MB who has just taken office and can be replaced after a month then this should be the right solution.

People's power voted the candidates. Not the party voted for the candidate. The power rest in the hands of the voters. The voters are the BOSS. We can put you in and we can throw you out. Be careful in saying anything for all party leaders of DAP-PKR-PAS.

If DAP/PKR/PAS are too arrogant and want to rule their own way without listen to the voters, sorry to say that in the next general election you will be thrown out by the same people who voted you in power.

NEVER SHOW YOUR POWER. SHOW YOUR FORMULA AND SMART PARTNERSHIP FOR ALL RACES.
written by temenggong, March 13, 2008 23:47:31
So many suddenly taking up issues with LKS and DAP but looks like no one is willing to take up issues with Hadi of Pas and Anwar of PKR over Syed Husin's recent demands. Or with the sultan on archaic traditions. Why don tok about that, ah?
written by Fido, March 13, 2008 23:54:17
maybe a yellow card to the sultan of selangor too for the statement that he will only accept a malay deputy MB ?
written by Mana2boleh, March 14, 2008 00:14:34
Yes, agreed with Vehir. Let Anwar subsequently take over the MB post. Best solution.
written by harrbm, March 14, 2008 00:15:48

>

I cant sleep. This is about my country and the road my fellow Malaysians and I chose. I am sipping a Jim Beam Black right now. I am getting tipsy. why ? It's because i am sad and mad.

Did I go to war for something i believe in? Or was it for something what others believed? Did I betrayed my fellow country man? Will my beloved country be on stand still till god knows when?

PAS ! PKR ! DAP ! UNCLE LIM, DATO SERI, IMAM NIK ! were you or were u all not READY ?

God, please save my Malaysia.

>

written by harrbm, March 14, 2008 00:17:12

and you YM RPK, with due respect, please resolve this once and for all.

>
written by rhyder, March 14, 2008 00:20:14
written by sufc, March 13, 2008 | 22:58:48
as for another pas guy, ahmad awang, i can understand (if what you said is true)his intention. He is a religious person and of course would propose someone from a similar background. period
======================================================= ===========================

i strongly object to that statement. a truly religious person would not do such a thing. a true muslim would consult his colleagues and then issue a statement. please don't try to justify this on religious grounds.

like someone said, i wish all these clowns would grow up!!!
written by seek justice, March 14, 2008 00:44:54
I can fully understand how RPK was feeling when this brilliant article was being written. This is dedicated to DAP specifically and BR generally:

All of us who supported you through the election process did so against a lot of odds and huge sacrifices. We haven't had enough sleep and the stunts since yesterday are making most of us (who still want to fight it through) very agitated and irritated.

Personally, I have sacrificed my hours of prayers to have God be at our disposal. Mind you, I'm going through a very, very trying time personally. I've been praying to God for the last 4 years for Him to help me with my problem. But, for the whole of last week, I forgot about myself and directed all of my energy that I spent to be with God for you, the BR parties.

Now, I've to continue to pray to God for you guys to buck up. Tonight, it my night prayers, I'll ask God if you guys are worth my sacrifice!!!!
written by Damnblurrr, March 14, 2008 00:53:37
I am a Chinese and Initially I heard the news about the delay in swearing in Perak due to DAP-PAS-PKR squabbling this afternoon which I just brushed aside. However, after viewing this, then I realized that it is true. This afternoon info are fm my Chinese friends who are getting annoyed as they voted DAP that let us all DOWN with this issue. Seriously, if this continues, my friends and I will say BYE BYE to Barisan Rakyat next 5 years! It is truely pathetic to know that we won the battle but after winning we hv internal fighting! What a MORON!
I would suggest to accept whatever offered and work towards serving the RAKYAT....we know better who to vote next 5 years!
written by Compadre45, March 14, 2008 01:18:24
My instincts tells me that there are still race based issues existing inside DAP and PAS and not so much in PKR. DAP has high percentage of chinese candidates, PAS has the most amount of malay candidates. PKR has almost proportional amount of malays , Chinese and indian candidates. Probably PKR under Anwar may end up more a Opposition party people will respect and look upon in the long run. Too much of a single race dominance may only favour more towards their respective race and representation will be less focused on the other races in the case of DAP and PAS. This may be a potential problem if DAP and PAS dont cover all races equally and fairly by the next election. Thats what we rakyats are looking for from now onwards a "fair and just" political parties to govern Malaysia. But than again its too early to speculate anything now as we have to see how these 3 parties will perform for the coming years to come, before 2012.
written by sonofmalaysia, March 14, 2008 04:50:02

Dear All,

Forgive uncle Kit lah, he had gone 'berserk' temporarily, because the outcome of this GE is just too overwhelming for him. Can you imagine, after slogging for 30 years, over-night, DAP beat BN to pulp, son becomes Chief Minister! Chief Minister you know! So many of his machai's become deputy Menteri Besar and EXCO members ! It was just too electrifying for him, how not to be crazy !! His brain just got overloaded and short circuited, that's is why the unfathomable thing he said.

I think now his brain wave has calm down. Some one please , give him some Valium for the next few days and keep an eye on him !!
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif

Phew !! Uncle Kit, control your euphoria, calm down, what you have done, you have scared the shit out of so many of us !!
written by kzso, March 14, 2008 07:08:28
hello bros,

you should respect uncle lim too. it's a matter of principle. hope lks won't budge if not his credibility will go down the drain! lks knows that for perak the winner was bn. it's a contitutional party. dap, pkr and pas do not exist as a single party thus there're is no barisan rakyat and there's no barisan alternative. it's just a perception and marriage of convinience.

in-fact, if you look by party to party that won in each states, the only winner was bn , it's just that they don't have a simple majority. the so called 'barisan rakyat and barisan alternatif coalition' just exists on paper.

looks like the only clever sultan is the sultan of selangor. hrh demands all parties (pkr, pas and dap) to sign an 'agreement' as a 'team' (but not as one entity constitutional party ie either ba or br).

if bn or umno was smart (well with ydp pm at helm, what to expect) , they can seek for an audience the sultan's of each states that as a constitutional party they have won but without simple majority but will leave it to the sultan to decide. it's another blunder by ydp pm and umno!

on uncle lim, you should respect the old man. at least he can still give his piece of mind and say his principle! long live lks! he aoplogise to the sultan and regent but principle is still a principle!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by kzso, March 14, 2008 07:09:11
... he apologise...
written by kzso, March 14, 2008 07:17:22
but still boycotting... smilies/cool.gif
written by Selva, March 14, 2008 07:24:05
The proposed coalition govt in Perak is still in its infancy. While there is a common goal, there are bound to be differences. Lets us look at it positively. It is better that everything gets straightened out now before the marriage of DAP-PKR-Pas is solemnised. This is better than what we had before-UMNO-MCA-Gerakan-MIC where only UMNO had the say and the others said nothing, heard nothing and saw nothing and therefore got nothing. Give the BR a chance and I am sure that with the support of all, there will be a good marriage that every Malaysian can be proud of. In the meantime, do not read the crap in the mainstream media-thats just for UMNOputras, MCA goons and MICwallahs.
written by venna, March 14, 2008 07:25:52
It just dawned on me why DAP-PAS-PKR alliance seems to be having trouble. This seems to be usual teething problems.

Firstly, I believe, it is because this is only the 2nd time they are seriously working together. The first was when they

agreed on which seats they would contest. It is good to note that DAP and PAS was able to share power on MB and State Exco in Perak. However they seemed to have "forgotton" to consult PKR on the exco seats.

Anyways this is natural in many other countries for coalition govt to fight it out in public. We may not have noticed this in BN though. I wonder why?

The Rakyat who voted for DAP-PAS-PKR alliance may be having some gut-wrenching moments lately, but I think this is ok. BN did a great favour in ensuring DAP-PAS-PKR did not win the Federal Govt (remember postal & phantom votes?). This has given DAP-PAS-PKR a breathing space to refine their power sharing arrangements at the State level first. Through this process I expect for them to build the trust further and form effiecent state governments. I think the most difficult thing for them to do was to decide not to field their candidates in a areas where they fielded in the previous elections. This they have done remarkably well. Perhaps this may be due to the genius in DSAI. So, let's just bear with them.

We should however tell them in no uncertain terms that they must work within DAP-PAS-PKR coalition. They must know that if they do anything else, we would treat this as high-treason as stated by Raja Petra.
written by nafis, March 14, 2008 08:04:25
they are all intoxicated with all these new found power. I just hope they would not the "kera-kera mendapat bunga" and rip it all to shreds.

So bengong and kebudak-budakan.

Especially that hassan ali. I have never trust him since '99. There's something about him that says 'sleaze'.

I like to compare these traitors like eating noodles. The insurance agent that's MIA now is the instant noodles ["I got the money now and bye-bye everybody"]. He's gone and that's it-and we don't give a f*ck]

hassan ali is like prawn noodle with dumplings. He is taking time preparing for a gourmet meal, planning [insidiously too] behind our backs, ready to take in some non-halal ingredients[amno], and when his plan comes through, he'll gulp it down and at the same time, taints us all.

HOW CAN HE DO THAT TO US? Trying to work and cooperate with f*cking amno? WE have worked soooo hard bringing in together dap, pas and pkr to kick amno's ass out of the gomen - OUR GOMEN - And now he DARES to betray us all!
Hell hassan ali, i'll make sure you won't get voted next time, PENGKHIANAT! PEMBELOT! ULAMAK DALAM SEMAK!
written by Jarratt, March 14, 2008 08:19:33
Kit Siang really screwed us over with his haste actions. What's worse is that I assume not that many people knows PAS jumped the gun and that makes it an even worse PR problem for DAP. And if there was to be any statement, it should have come from Guan Eng, not Kit Siang. But now the problem of Perak has shifted to PKR right?

Still, all of us have to realize that all of us were blindsided by these results. From the party elders in both sides down to each one of us that went to the ballot boxes. We thought we were just voting a protest vote without really rocking the Malaysian political world as we know it. And for the Opp. it seems like at best they thought they could deny 2/3 majority in parliament and in state legislations, not to run 5 states. So I bet that most of them thought of the BR as only a tool for the election to do better than 2004, then after that to each their separate way. Instead they now have to turn from an opposition into a government and they have to learn to work/communicate with each other in a whole new level. They also have to build some sort of trust and confidence among each other to even have the hope of continuing to chip on the 50-year lead the BN machinery has had in terms of communication and coherence.

So let's hope that more time will create a better opposition for the rakyat and for the next election

We've been patient with BN for 50 years (at least most of us have at one point or another), what's one more week compared to that?
written by sheppardlight, March 14, 2008 08:23:26
Dear RPK

DAP-PAS-PKR alliance is only because of taking advantage of the stupid corrupted government of BN. It is not out of sincerity, of pure love for the country and the people. They are not really united by one common idealogy to take control of a country, which must be done very much ahead of an election.

Wonder why the early Caliphs after the prophet never wanted to be leaders when they were appointed, compared to now, all fighting for. Dont you think something is wrong somewhere?
written by est, March 14, 2008 08:31:51
LKS,

You belong to immature politicking of the past. You are outdated. You rely on rhetorics most of the time. Today, even when trying to form government, you are still stuck to the past of rhetorics. Only know how to oppose. Where is your strategy. Or must I say you are just good at making noise. Slimy!
written by grant, March 14, 2008 08:36:43
guys guys... take a min to ponder... Penang is also an opposition coalition formed state.. why are we not seeing such a chaos in Penang but more in Perak and upcoming now in Sgor?? something behind the scene is going on...
written by sheppardlight, March 14, 2008 08:50:59
aiya grant
is he your uncle or father in law? he he. just kidding.
written by Rundukon, March 14, 2008 08:54:15
Kerana santan pulut binasa, kerana mulut badan binasa, kerana kit siang BR perak binasa.

The constitution says (sort of): The Sultan may appoint amongst the YBs a person who command the majority of the House. It follows that if there is no consensus amongst the YBs from DAP, PKR and Pas, the Sultan may appoint MB from BN.

DAP may bring motion of vote of no confidence on the MB. But can DAP succeed? BN has 28 seats, DAP 18, PKR 7, Pas 6. The motion will fail if only 2 Pas YBs rejected it. 30 against 29!

Fikir2 kan lah.

written by Sagaladoola, March 14, 2008 09:16:55
--------------------------------------
smilies/shocked.gif DAP, THAT IS ENOUGH ! smilies/shocked.gif
--------------------------------------

I am fed up ... I thought the MB of Perak would be sworn-in yesterday .. sheesh ...

Bloody .. what are they all doing?

Enough ! Enough ! Enough !

DAP, just take 7 seats, PAS 1 seat, PKR 2 seats for Exco .. Enough, no 8-1-1 arrangement. That is very unfair for PKR ! DAP, you gotta tolerate. I feel so pissed off I was about to run a criticism campaign on DAP ! Don't be so greedy !

DAP has to understand, now you are the government. Don't think 100% of only Chinese welfare, chinese welfare, chinese welfare ! You've got to think about the Malays feeling, how they think etc. Get a Malay guy as an adviser. Speak to people like Ahiruddin Attan or Haris Ibrahim.

Goodness gracious. Why are they suddenly abandoning this NEP thing? You have to tell them , the Malays a solution that they will be given a place under the sun if you abolish NEP. It does not bode well with the Malay supporters. I have to say DAP is very brash ! You don't think before you speak.

Think before you execute. Don't just think chinese, chinese, chinese !

Enough!

I am so pissed off ... One more stupid action, I will run a criticism campaign on my site... You don't destroy my online campaign for Opposition for 4 consecutive years .... Sheesh.....

written by Sagaladoola, March 14, 2008 09:20:06
Furthermore what is all this Stupid Demonstration . I am sorry, I think I have to scold these fellas. What is this?

PAS got to control its own people. Otherwise, many bad things will occur in the future. And this Hassan guy, if that is what he did, just get rid of him.

written by Rundukon, March 14, 2008 09:26:35
DAP must realise that the real king maker in Perak is the Malays. Without PKR and Pas, DAP will be languishing in the opposition bench.

When Kit Siang said that 'DAP will have nothing to do with the governing of Perak if the MB is from Pas', did he mean that DAP is prepared to be in the opposition?

So be it then. Surrender the Perak government to BN! If that is DAP wish!

Fikir-fikirkan lah.
written by Florance, March 14, 2008 09:38:56
Dear RPK and all of you out there,

Thank you for your support and assurance.

Makkal sakhti. Suara rakyat, suara keramat. People's power

I believe we can trust in you. We want a save place to live
for the future of our children and ancestors. I also believe
if anything goes wrong the "it will not take very long for
the table to turn around" So what we say is "lets work for a
better and brighter future"

written by Florance, March 14, 2008 11:10:56
Dear Grant,

You seem to retaliate to every statement, cool down....
Lets give them a change to settle down first.....
I am sure after whatever has taken place in this election,
no one will dare mess around with "Suara Rakyat",
if they can do it ONCE (Vote for a change),
they can also show it in action!!!! (wait and see).
Let's not judge anyone or drop into conclusion...
written by Dominic, March 14, 2008 11:43:44
Uncle LKS,it sadden me to know that you are still that stubborn and thick headed after all these years. Time have change and we are living in the 21st century. Remember the millions of voters who had voted for DAP,PAS,PKR to make BR what it is today. But you alone, yes its you alone who defied the million voices and aspiration and instead stick to your own ideology. Theres no point to glamour for this particular post for this limited 5yrs term. Come the next GE,everything that you had fought and stood for will be GONE..yes gone. A legend will be lost forever. But on the other hand, if DAP under your stewardship can give and take, I assure you, come next GE, DAP will be rock solid!!! The `Red Rocket` will reach for the sky and beyond!!!
written by densemy, March 14, 2008 12:00:03
As with too many aspects of life in Malaysia, once again EGO and SELFISHNESS have dominated this obscene lust for power battle

How about adopting a philosophy of commonsense, merit and the welfare of Malaysians as your motto
written by Jarratt, March 14, 2008 12:16:55
Runduokon, it's fine that Malays are kingmakers in Perak. That's why most people predicted that PKR's Malay candidate would be MB. PAS DAP have not had a good relationship as they are in opposite ends. So when you put the party with the smallest number of seats to the highest position, in addition to that party having had bad experiences with you in the past, it's natural LKS and them would jump up in shock. But DAP PKR PAS submitted those names because they couldn't decide like RPK said, so now they should listen to what the Sultan has ordered.

But at least the cracks are shown on the outside for the rakyat to see. If they get too comfortable in doing politics in smoke-filled rooms like BN does, then soon we will have another monster that is not very much different from the BN that goes "we will discuss it within the party" stance cutting the rakyat out of the equation
written by KTRaj, March 14, 2008 13:04:34
If LKS still sticked to his "kuno" mind, and if he comes to Penang. I'll be the first one to throw slippers at him, like someone did when S.Vellu in Prai.
Why not we just pust put-- AAB,LKS and SV into old folks home and let shout at each others"Hidup Melayu, Hidup Cina, Hidup Indian" until rest of their life.

written by sampalee, March 14, 2008 13:50:30
If the rocket want to remain releveant,the party leaders[not just lks,but many of the older ones]must weaned themselve of the pas phobia.The rakyat is the boss,so listen to the rakyat and not the bn press.The rakyat WANT dap and pas to work as part of the BR team to effectivly serve the rakyat and ensure the evil bn is never allowed to return to frustrate the rakyat.
written by citizenmy, March 14, 2008 15:06:23
With 5 states under Barisan Rakyat control, they can consider centralizing the overall management for the 5 states. Who sits in the MB or Exco seat not supposed to be the concern. The kind of person who sits on the seat must be the key concern. The MB and Excos should focus on development and management of state, instead worrying of politicking. Let politicking handled by elected representatives, but let the management run by qualified person, not even necessarily be from the Barisan Rakyat. What rakyat wanted to see is the result, they are not interested in politics. Politic and election is just a mean for rakyat to get the best by using the system.
written by Rundukon, March 14, 2008 15:08:47
Jaraat, actually I dont give a damn who the MB is. Most important he is a Malaysian. I got pissed off because LKS is more Chinese than Malaysian. We all have been fighting for Malaysian Malaysia.

LKS should have been more professional. Discuss sensitive issues behind closed doors.

LKS outburst is offensive. Its 'penghinaan' terhadap Raja. LKS not only offended PAS supporters but the Malays as a whole. One must remember that Malays are willing to put their bodies in front of firing line to protect their Kings.
written by panca, March 14, 2008 15:17:27
Barking at the hill similarly as....in chinese or more preciously 'hokkien, it's called "barking at the train". So very ridiculous to bark at the passing train....passing train, guess by then the opposition will miss the next Barisan Rakyat Train if they are not to what they have been given the mandate. So watch out and please cooperate. Do us The People of Malaysia, the service, not disservice.
written by JJFoo, March 14, 2008 15:46:37
What to expect for a bunch of oppositions who traditionally can’t even garner enough votes to oppose effectively. Count our blessing, they can’t form the government. Anyway it’s a well earned “leaning curve” they deserve, hopefully “ego” can be kept under check.

Boycourting the Perak’s swearing-in ceremony by Lim Kit Siang’s DAP confirm his amateurish nature dispite being a "vateran", it was a great disappointment but hopefully it serve as a wake-up call to the oppositions to buckle-up as there will be much, much more sacrifices need to be made to make this nation we all can be proud of. Please, please no more petty squabbling.

Lim Kit Siang is just giving away free ammunitions to the ruling coalition to shoot him down, if this is not plain stupidity? What is?

written by malaysianohope, March 14, 2008 16:09:19
Just read Malaysiakini...

The deal to compromise in Perak's Barisan Rakyat State composition is now signed, sealed and delivered.

Abang Pete should be proud and since it's Friday les celebrate with beer all round on ????

Next stop to get the stubborn oldman to attend the ceremony and LKS to personally bring a box of Cuban cigars for Tuanku (for his 'bundle of joy' PRINCE) .

Cheers!!!!
written by Tan SN, March 15, 2008 12:11:15
Hello Kit Siang,
Do you think you are so calibre that you lead DAP in winning the election?
Hell no, only BN screw themselves up that we voted you!!
Do you think you so professional pointing out all the wrong doings of BN which you have been doing for years without any success previously??
Hell no, only BN screw themselves up that we voted you!!
Do you think you are still relevant in the political scene??
Hell no, please step down.

You might have integrity, but you are lack of sense of understanding in this current political scenario and the Rakyat needs and feeling.

Somehow, I doubt Guan Eng too.
written by Kopi37, March 15, 2008 18:09:25
"Yes, you are my RPK, my true idol and spiritual leader!"

Teng Chang Khim, let me tell you straight to the face, you have yet to grow to be matured in politics, don't ever dream of putting such a big hat on your pea head! Your Brother's name Teng Chang Yow was just mentioned to be the black horse for the succeeding CM of Penang, he fell flat like jelly fish landed on the beach! Which means, it's bad omen to the family of Teng, it's 'pantang' and your small name and pea head can just unfit for such a heavy crest of Gold! Don't even think about it!

For the old YB Kit Siang, I had gave my two cents worth to your blog and for the sake of your beloved son Guan Eng's future, you people ought not to be swollen head cuz winning of this election! Your party's record was not good in 1990 in Penang when it was crowned Sleeping Beauty and we are still fresh in memory! DAP was regarded as the barking dog in the Parliament and the people's powers blew the party up like feather in the sky not because the party is great, not because your son is handsome enough, all because we Penangites are prepared to risk a bit, for one term of less than 5 years, to give DAP a chance, to give Guan Eng a chance to prove that they have all capable of adapting to the change for betterments of Penang's filthy environment of the past! Kit Siang is old and I solely agree with RPK that you should stay behind screen quietly and enjoy your reclining chair, or perhaps an Osim since you can afford now being having the state coffers beside you!

Bear in mind, you may do more harm than favour for your beloved son and the Party and why don't you look at the mirror, where is Samy Vellu now?!..................

Don't let victory blinds your lazy eyes, we have yet to see how good your party can be effective Government! Not even UMNO can fool us, what about you?!.........
written by Kopi37, March 15, 2008 18:35:16

WE are all armed with bows and arrows and just flank beside you, you shoot, we shoot! We are here at your disposal! You served it right, a Yellow Card to Lim Kit Siang! How dare so soon he forgot the People's Powers and denied the facts! One of his feet is still in the mire and he has become such arrogant! Has he forgotten the powers of change or is he challenging with his robot philosophy that he is undefeatable?! Is best he regrets now than later when his Party is trashed to garbage like Gerakan!..................
written by housedad, March 15, 2008 22:24:53
Lim Kit Siang now is showing his true colors. DAP have to remember that people vote for them due to the incompetencies of Barisan, not because DAP can govern. Remember what happened in Trengganu before? People vote for PAS due to Wan Mokhtar's incompetencies.
Lim, not that easy to NOT be influenced by powers huh? I hope this is not another classic case of the Malay proverb " Macam Kera Dapat Bunga ".
written by Stormquest, March 16, 2008 01:52:49
I just read Lim Kit Siang's article entitled "Time to move on into the uncharted political waters" at his blog where explains the difficulties and dilemmas faced by the DAP over the last few days.

Kit Siang goes on to say "DAP was unfairly and falsely accused of being anti-Malay and anti-Islam when DAP had reservations about a PAS Mentri Besar for the Perak DAP-PKR-PAS coalition government – which was completely baseless as DAP had supported a Malay State Assemblyman from PKR to be the Perak MB".

Kit Siang also adds "It is most regrettable that there are comments on my blog as well as writings by commentators misreading or deliberately distorting my very brief and straightforward comments on the Perak coalition government issue".

In the meantime, Teng Chang Khim has responded to RPK's article on his blog. These are entitled "Beware of the BN controlled media" and "Raja Petra made scathing remarks on me in Malaysia-Today".

Care to comment on this, RPK?
written by Kopi37, March 16, 2008 18:20:11
Too much political postures and histrionics won't do any good for DAP as UMNO was the proponents in this field and they were toppled bad in the recent election!

A word of advice to DAP and Teng Chang Khim, do not be retarded in learning this lesson and endeavour to stir the hornets' nest by engaging into debates with RPK as the peoples are not interested to know how good and well they can talk and debate, we will only appraise and evaluate the works that they are capable to produce. We evaluate based on the baseline of DAP's promises to the rakyat, their manifestos and we are ready to check every steps of their movements!

Do more and talk less will be the best policy as DAP is no longer the barking dogs but they are the administrators and implementors of governances in the states. Just how well you can do will be the credit points for next term's criteria for promotion! To have a pass or flop will all subject to yours actions and not mere talks! Hope to see the good performance!.......................
written by Camillus, March 17, 2008 22:21:30
Dear fellow Malaysians,

I know I am seriously off-topic here, but I would like to make everyone aware of the state of the global economy.

Please do a ****** search for "Money as Debt" - ***** on the first result. Viewing this 47-minute clip will be 47 minutes well spent. To make live easier:
http://video.******.com/videoplay?docid=-9050474362583451279

Not scare-mongering or anything of the sort, just wanted to advise you all to be frugal and remain 'liquid'.

I hope you all keep well...

written by sophiesworld, March 18, 2008 00:32:07

malaysian politics is definitely getting more complicated. but it may be a step in the right direction in the long run

http://sophiesworld-sophiesworld.********.com/2008/03/new-beginning-for-malaysia.html