Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The Malay Votes DAP!

The Malay Votes DAP! PDF Print
Thursday, 13 March 2008 12:56

Can you imagine, Malays who for a life time being told that their enemy comes in the shape of the red Rocket, putting an "X" against the Rocket? It must have been the hardest thing to do for many of them, if not most. And yet they did it.

Paul Warren

Kit has still not got around to feeling like DAP is now government. He still thinks he has to oppose everything!

Kit has to realise that the DAP's role for now and for the remaining five years is to address the senses and sensivities of all those Malays who voted for DAP, the red Rocket.

Can you imagine, Malays who for a life time being told that their enemy comes in the shape of the red Rocket, putting an "X" against the Rocket? It must have been the hardest thing to do for many of them, if not most. And yet they did it.

If Kit lacks imagination let me help him see better.

Just look at the ordinary Malay who had for a life time been supporting UMNO and looked upon UMNO as his personal saviour.

Ever since 2004 he has been finding himself in a state of confusion, and he was unable to voice it lest he be called a traitor to the race. Yet the arrogance, the lies and the failures of his leaders were not lost on him. The unsympathetic attitude towards the non-Malays, he too noted. He did know that this was not part of the Malay culture.

Leading up to 8 March, he was reduced to embarrassment for his race if the behaviour of UMNO and its leaders was what UMNO represented.

He is angry now too. So angry that he will give the devil a hearing. But he knows in his heart that its a river fraught with uncertainty, more so, one that may put his race and religious leanings on an unknown plateau. But he has to cross it.

He wakes up in the morning for his morning prayer, having had such a restless night. He pleads to his Allah to just consume him completely so that he need not feel the guilt of casting his vote for that kafir Rocket. He even sheds a tear for he knows what he has to do.

He tries, but breakfast is just so hard to swallow. He feels the hollow in his gut and the shortness of breath. Takes his shower, puts on his best and like the condemned who steps out for the last time from his cell to be hung, he steps out of his house. Even asking to be forgiven for his actions.

The way to the polling station is just a stoid blank. All that he knows is that he may have been UMNO or a PAS supporter all his life. They are of his kind. The Rocket represents gambling, alcohol, pork, chauvinism. That is what he has been told and that is all that he has believed. And yet there is something from deep within that tells him he must.

Now he goes through the gates of the polling station. Enquires and determines the classroom he has to cast his vote in. He prepares to get his wallet out to retreive his MyKad. His hands shiver. He is unable to apply pressure on his MyKad to pinch and pull it out of the wallet.

He takes a deep breath and utters a prayer. Manages to pull out the MyKad. He puts the wallet in his back pocket. Looks up to the classroom. Another deep breath. Wills himself to walk. He is not thinking anymore. His head is spinning. What he has set himself to do goes against everything he has known about himself and his place in this God given land.

He cannot think anymore. He can feel a dampness in his eyes. He knows why he is grieving. He just does not know if he indeed is the personification of Judas or Brutus. Judas, maybe not. He has not received his 30 pieces of silver. No one offered. But Brutus?

He is begining to feel his leg shiver. Then go jelly. He does not feel the concrete under his feet. He has to go up the stairs to his polling station. He grabs hold of the hand rail. For the first time he needs support and for the first time he recognises and acknowledges his trepidation.

Takes another deep breath, and summons all his strength to walk up the two flights of steps briskly. Approches the entrance to the classroom. Does not look at or acknowledge the policeman sitting at the door.  He catches his breath. His heart is heavy. His mind a blank. He is on auto-pilot.

There is just one person queing ahead of him. Just darkness in his mind. But then again coming right up to here he has not really considered the consequences of his actions. He now sees himself accused the traitor of the community. He sees himself approaching Allah upon his death. He is lost for words to account for his actions. He needs time to reconsider. He has not looked at all the issues and the factors. But it is now his turn. It is too late.

He can feel his throat becoming dry. There is shortness of breath. There is anxiety. Hands over his I/C and that BN issued card that sets out his Electoral Roll details. He does not hear the SPR official call out his 4 digit Polling Station number. He does not hear his name. Here on he is on auto pilot. Nothing registers. Takes the ballot paper that is handed to him. Halts and takes a look at it. He just cannot read anything. He just looks at the symbols. The "dacing", and below that the Rocket and what looks like a strange Chinese name.

He just cannot feel anything now. He walks towards the polling booth. He is almost blinded. He is in a state of confusion. Its contradicting and conflicting emotions. One last time he does not feel the concrete below him. His legs are like jelly and it is like as if there is a force that is providing him motion. It is not him anymore. He has turned into his booth. He sees the black leaded pencil. Stares at it. The final stabbing. Hesitantly he picks up the pencil and takes a look at it. Brutus' dagger!

He puts the ballot paper flat on the school desk. Its a primary school. The desk top is even lower. He stoops and takes one last look at the ballot paper. He sees the dacing.

There is adrenaline. His blood is pumping. He feels the energy. The energy of betrayal. Not his. UMNOs! His eyes are burning with anger. He knows it is not him but it is UMNO that has destroyed all traces of what he knows to be a Malay. It is not about ketuanan. It is not about bullying. It is not about being inhospitable. It is not about being arrogant. It is not about being deceitful. It is not about being corrupt. It is not about being liars. It is not about being cheaters. And certainly it is not about arrogance. We are humble people.

His blood boils. He is an angry man. For himself. His country. His race. His religion. His family. His community. He feels cheated. By UMNO.

Takes one last look. His hands go straight to the bottom of the ballot. The empty square next to the rocket is his target. He presses hard on the pencil so that he makes a deep impression. Top left to bottom right he draws the first line. Then from the bottom left to the top right he crosses the first. It is to DAP. The deed is done. Ceaser, is slain!

Puts down the pencil. The deed is done. He does not want to look. He folds the ballot paper through misty eyes. First one. Then another fold.

There is a certain sense of peace. The rush of adrenaline has quietened. The warm to hot sensation is quickly being replaced by an uncanny coldness. Cold sweat!

Takes a step back. Looks straight ahead at the transparent ballot box. Gives it a sceptic's snigger. Walks straight up. But the walk is heavy. Each step is heavy. He feels the hardness of the concrete. Drops it and watches it as it reaches the pile of ballots already in there. Somehow he knows that he is not all alone. Those other ballots are those from his friends and neighbours. No, they did not speak about who they were going to vote for. They had not colluded. It has all come together. No. They had also not gone to any DAP ceramahs either. They only debated about UMNO. There was hardly any discussion about the DAP. The red Rocket! The demon!

Takes a deep breath and with a sigh of relief that the deed is done, he moves out unsure, confused, lost. But he only has one thing to console him. It needed to be done.

He goes home. Quiet. Recoiled and in deep thought about what he has done. He does not speak or acknowledge anyone. He can't afford to look at another in his or her eye. But then the other is also lost in the same dilemma. Yet unable to share. This is a burden he has to carry himself.

The night of the results, he waits anxiously. He worries and is sad to see the walls of Jericho crumbling. He is silent. He has no opinions. Then it is the Parlimentary and State Constituency that he voted in. There is a buzz in his ears. He just does not register. There is not a celebration. His wife, teenaged children, they are shocked. They look fearfully anxious. There is despair in the air. Almost coming to tears. He looks at them starring at them questioningly. They can see that he did not register. They all are looking at him like as if they have seen a ghost.

Then the young one comes up to him, hesitating, quivering and almost in tears. Takes hold of the wooden arm of the rattan chair. "Pak. Pak. DAP menang, UMNO kalah. UMNO kalah."

Long pause. Silence. Everyone look at him with wide open eyes for a response. They wait.

"Inshiallah".

He does not speak a word. He gets up. He goes to the bedroom. Closes the door. Pulls out his prayer rug. Goes down on the floor. Tears in his eyes. Is it a prayer of thanksgiving? Is it a prayer of despair? Is it a prayer of anxiety?

I don't know. I shall never know.

I am not Malay. I am Bangsa Malaysia. But tears are welling up in my eyes as I write this last bit. 

Lim Kit Siang. I do hope you read this!

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by CitizenBodohland, March 13, 2008 12:59:59
BARISAN RAKYAT must be formed officially as the first crucial step. Then work towards a three (or more) multiracial parties within the coalition.
PAS - rope in more Chinese Muslim and Indian Muslim while having a non-muslim supporters division with ISLAM as your pillar of governance.
DAP - rope in more Malays and Indians with DEMOCRACY as your axis of ideology.
PKR - Stay with your concept of MULTIRACIAL, and continue to strengthen the coalition.

Please note the powerful words in capital letters which will define the following:
ISLAM - The official religion of Malaysia.
DEMOCRACY - The pillar of good and fair governance.
MULTIRACIAL - The Malaysian Strength for Economy.
This will show that BARISAN RAKYAT is a COMPLETE PARTY.

By 2013, you will enter 13GE as a coalition of MULTIRACIAL parties. Which party representing which race will be a non issue by then. Not like the Barisan Najis with UMNO for Malays, MCA for Chinese and MIC for Indians. Rakyat will know which one is the obvious choice by then.

13GE WILL SURELY BELONG TO BARISAN RAKYAT.
written by Kuku Burung, March 13, 2008 13:04:46
Not just Malay voted for DAP. Almost my entire Chinese neighbourhood voted for PAS. This more unthinkable than for Malays to vote for DAP. To the traditional Chinese, voting for PAS means "masuk Islam" lah. You will lose your culture and become like Muslim. For A Malay to vote DAP it is more of accepting its ideology. Comparatively, it is easier for a Malay to accept DAP than for a Chinese to accept PAS. But, thank God things have changed.
written by billykbk, March 13, 2008 13:10:25
This article sums up the general feelings of Malays who voted DAP. It heralds a new sort of awareness and surely a new kind of politics. LKS is probably still living in the 80s or 90s. Very sad for him. Seeing DAP over 3 decades has made me believe that the old guards have to give way to young, refreshing DAP leaders....Hmmmm!
written by zanie, March 13, 2008 13:11:15
That's how hard it is to a plain Malay folks to change his support. It's like changing religion! So please think about it, think hard!
written by picadilly, March 13, 2008 13:17:51
indians who Voted PAS were Cheering away for doing something Unthinkable!!
I feel so proud of them who had the opportunity to Carry PAS flags.
Now PAS must win the hearts of Indians and Chinese by their actions.
written by Heikal, March 13, 2008 13:18:12
Lim Kit Siang and DAP, do not worry if the Menteri Besar is a PAS person. This is Barisan Rakyat, in the state administrations of Perak and Selangor we will practise democracy which embrace all points of view unlike Barisan Nasional where the entire EXCO members are just kaki mengampu and agree to whatever the MB thinks.
written by Traveller2020, March 13, 2008 13:37:26
Not to worry there are many who share your fear and dreams and am sure many Chinese,Indians and Malays have the same common goals.Just read Lim Kit Siang offered his apology.
Perhaps it is about time by this message he learns to be humble and go beyond the wrapped vision of Malaysian Malaysia.Unless one sees the big picture one will always focus on the small and forgetting the big dream to make Malaysia what it was when the 3 races stood side by side post Merdeka.It is 50 years after Merdeka the Barison Nasional touted that it brought peace, harmony and prospertiy in its election manifesto.Sadly, it became a joke.
I call on DAP to wake up in the dawn of hope and and share the dream with the coalition members.You cannot have a dream alone; dreams are meant to be shared and together a new Malaysia is born.Not this way.
written by gtl, March 13, 2008 13:39:53
2008, barisan rakyat made history. we supported the opposition whole heartedly.
first step towards the 3 major races becoming as ONE.

2008 - 2013, opposition needs to work together as ONE, we are a nation of ONE.

2013, if opposition fail to live up to expectation, this country is doom as we will go back to BN on our knees (UMNO will tell you in the face "told you so").
written by rayfire, March 13, 2008 13:42:20
Very touching indeed, I know it was a difficult decision to make after having supported dacing for 50 years.
I am proud of all Malaysians who dared to make the crucial attempt to make life altering changes that has built up a political tsunami that swiped across the northern region.
I believe Indians and Chinese too had gone through the same sentiment when it came to voting for PAS.
But now, perceptions have changed.
For me personally, in 2004 whenever I see PAS flag, I would have fear, fer of the unknown consequences if they were to form the government. I was happy to see dacing everywhere.
Now it has changed, I hate the sight of dacing moreover with sleepyhead photos all over together with khir toyo(l).
For once, I was awake early morning to be the earliest to vote them out.
I had candidates from PAS and PKR respectively, and similar to the experience above, a lot of uncertainty was in thought, but I made the right choice and voted happily for them. Almost cried in happiness when I came out of the voting station, knowing that I have done all Malaysians a favor. I waited until 4 am to know about the results, when finally they said, Selangor is under Barisan Rakyat. I was overjoyed. Couldn't resist the tear of happiness that trickled.
I was happy to wake up the next morning to see the new dawn for Selangor!
I sincerely hope our aspiration and expectations will be honoured by the reps and the Barisan Rakyat!
We had to make a choice, it was in utter disgust of how BN governed, so please don't disappoint us.
Please use the opportunity to show us, there is still hope in Malaysian Malaysia for All!

written by temenggong, March 13, 2008 13:53:37
Is it so hard for malays to recognise injustice and hypocrisy in their own community and resist it by voting? Have they been so brainwashed to be hardcore racists that they cannot see the harm they do to themselves, their future generations, and even more to others?

Do they think that by their voting the opposition they are doing the non malays a favour? Or that they were acting detrimentally to their community?

No, no, no! They know when to do a favour for themselves. Harm and injustice is so glaring that no malay can be blind to it!
written by teo siew chin, March 13, 2008 14:09:00
the rakyat has spoken!
the Giant has awaken!
too many years of corruption, abuse, being left behind
as the whole world progressed at such a fast pace
shocked the rakyat into this drastic step.

now that we have hope
PAS, DAP, PKR - i beseige you NOT to let the rakyat down!
show us you BOLEH, good and fast
LET US GO FORWARD TOGETHER, sama-sama
one for all and all for one! (the 3 musketeers smilies/grin.gif)
written by choong, March 13, 2008 14:11:11
i hope uncle kit reads this...

seriously, i have my trepidation on voting for PAS. it is against everything I have raised to believe about PAS. fundamentalist. extremist. bigot. amputation.

thank God i now see the light. no more BN, no more racial politics. only Malaysians for Malaysia.

i feel sorry for fellow Malaysians disappointed by the action of uncle kit. seriously, i am disturbed as well. it is unthinkable but i would have stop supporting DAP if uncle kit insisted on being so adamant about his stand.

thank God, for now he apologised. but there will be further announcements on DAP official stand later. i will reserve my full opinion till later.

let's hope it is on the same course as the winds of change.
written by choong, March 13, 2008 14:13:06
oh yeah, just in case you wondered, my PAS MP won with 26K majority. it is a massive reversal considering the BN incumbent won 8K majority in the 11th general election. i am so happy because my 1 vote is part of the 26K majority.
written by DontPlayGod, March 13, 2008 14:17:38
Yes, I agree wholeheartedly that the Barisan Rakyat should be formed officially and registered. Of course, it would make it that much easier if PAS would offcially drop its ISD. Other multi-racial parties can be roped in, e.g. parties from Sabah and Sarawak. Then we can have a truly two-party democracy, each checking on the other for abuses and wrongdoings.

Racial politics must be confined to the backburner. That will be the day. I hope that Malaysia can take its place amongst the nations of the world to be another developed nation.
written by rleecy, March 13, 2008 14:23:13
The Internet or blogger's communities are fast to condemn Lim Kit Siang. How fast they turn their head away and jump to conclusion without reading between the lines. Let's be honest about the whole concept of Barisan Rakyat. It is formed on a loose foundation of three parties, two of which on working extremely opposing agenda.

In Perak, DAP form the biggest majority on the opposition front yet because of the imposing Malays Muslim issue on the MB, DAP has no choice but to concede that only the prerogative of Sultan can they hope to see a Chinese as MB. Unfortunately it didn't materialise. Of all PAS being the smallest majority was given the chair.

This can provide the biggest and greatest ammunition to DAP arch rival - MCA (read not PAS). I bet you the headline on major newspaper would be DAP sold out Chinese. Let's be honest, we can't have a single party to be weakened at this critical stage, not PAS, not DAP, not PKR. It this case, PAS the winner at the sacrifice of DAP in Perak. LKS being a sly old fox had to make such a remark to quells the worries of Chinese voters for the interest of the coalition.

Apologies were subsequent made and all goes well. I didn't see PAS and PKR rebuking LKS. They all know this step has to be taken. To be exact, DAP sacrifices as much as other parties to ensure we have a strong alternative government in the future. Let's us all now not make a fuss over the entire issue, a crack in the coalition will give BN reasons to exploit and call a snap election in three years before the Barisan Rakyat can have a stronger footing.
written by Wisdom above, March 13, 2008 14:42:10
Bravo.....

One Unity, One common aim, One Voice.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.
written by FTFoong, March 13, 2008 15:19:13
I was moved to tears reading this article. I am sure it reflects the mixed emotions of many voters who for the first time in their lives vote according to their inner feelings. As a Malaysian, I voted for another Malaysian who does not belong to my race and I am proud to have done so. Malaysia need to be saved from the tyranny of the BN government and we are prepared to let the alternative (not opposition) have a go at governing. Who can be worse than the corruptive government that has ruled M'sia for the past 50 years? I hope the BR can prove themselves to be worthy of the high office they have been elected to and may the most high aid them in their future endeavours.
written by myfaris, March 13, 2008 15:21:17
Yes indeed. My whole family and I voted for DAP and PAS in the Serdang Constituencies. We want to show to Malaysia, no more racial politics. Our dream is to see Malaysia one day will be ruled based on a 2 party systems. So we did our part this 12th GE as the first step!
written by CL Lee, March 13, 2008 15:32:56
Hey.... It's not about Malays vote DAP or Chinese vote PAS....
It's about ---
Malaysians voted for MALAYSIANS!!!!
Malaysians voted for DEMOCRACY!!!!
Malaysians voted for TRUE INDEPENDENCE (after 50 years of MERDEKA)
Malaysians voted for ANTI RACISMS
Malaysians voted for MODERATION
Malaysians voted for ANTI CORRUPTION, ANTI CRONYNISM etc.......

So,let's face this as the true Malaysians, PROUD Malaysians we are.....
We have all overcame the bearears of fear, racisim, unfairness and hardships to vote our non traditional parties....
We have all raised above our selves to vote in the representatives, the parties that we wished will do good to all Malaysians, not those HYPOCRATES that used to be around...
This is just the Beginning.... we still have a long way to go
So... fellow MALAYSIANS... let's give ourselves a BIG APPLAUSE... and rest assured we have made the right choice.... for progress and prosperities,,
How else can we be wrong... when the one we had voted out has been completely hopeless....
written by Zeroed, March 13, 2008 15:48:52
Ah Kit, do not feel high and mighty that after all these years (decades) that you're up there now. You seems to be portraying that image anyway.

We did not vote out BN so that we could trade one shit for another. Your protest and the manner in which you protest doesn't paint a very nice picture at all.

Think macro not micro. What happens to exercising TOLERANCE. Fyi, among different races in the new generation now, we have surpassed the stage of tolerance. We, the new generation, accepts one another as brother Malaysians already. Maybe the age of tolerance was 10 years back or so.

If DAP, PAS & PKR still think that using racial sentiment still wins votes.....THINK AGAIN!!!

By the way, I'm a Chinese who voted for you buggers. Get your ass up, and get to work!!! Your arses belong to us, THE RAKYAT!!
written by gotsms, March 13, 2008 16:10:00
Dear Paul,

Thanks for your article. This brings tears to my eyes. Are we finally seeing the reality of a more inclusive Malaysia for Malaysians?

It is a tough time for everyone. My mum and family members who often vote for BN - at the ballot box, they are so worried. As if they have done something very wrong which can bring them to the chopping board.

It was a heavy heart. And they have still not heard us loud and clear and still stoking fire via their controlled media.
written by gotsms, March 13, 2008 16:18:31
Pengalaman luas aset utama Nizar terajui Kerajaan Negeri Perak

Johari Jaafar
Thu | Mar 13, 08 | 12:46:32 pm MYT

Mengenali Menteri Besar Perak yang baru, Ir Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, beliau dilahirkan pada 17 Mac 1957 di Kampung Air Hitam Labu, Kampar Perak. Beliau telah mendapat pendidikan awal di Kampar, kemudiaannya meneruskan persekolahan di Sekolah Menengah Anglo Chinese, Kampar.

Selepas itu menyambung pelajaranya di Sekolah Menengah Teknik, Persiaran Brash, Ipoh. Pada tahun 1972 beliau mengambil Advance Level (A Level) di Norwich City College Of Arts & Technology Norwich, Norfolk, England.

ImageBeliau merupakan lulusan Sarjana Muda Sains Kejuruteraan Mekanikal dari University Of Aston di Brimingham, United Kingdom. Sekembalinya ke tanahair, beliau bekerja di beberapa agensi kerajaan termasuk Jabatan Kerja Raya bahagian bengkel dan kuari, Perbadanan Pembangunan Bandar (UDA - Daya Urus), Perbadanan Pembangunan Pulau Pinang.

Beliau berpengalaman luas dalam menjalankan beberapa projek besar negara. Antaranya Projek Dayabumi fasa 2 & 3 pada tahun 1983, projek Pusat Islam (BAHES, Jabatan Perdana Menteri (1984), projek Wisma Darul Iman, Kuala Terengganu (1985), pengurusan bangunan-bangunan kerajaan dan swasta termasuk KOMTAR, Bangunan Persekutuan Gunasama, pusat membeli belah dan pengurusan semua lif di hospital Kerajaan Negeri Perak, Pulau Pinang, Kedah, Perlis sehingga kini.

Sebelum dilantik menjadi Menteri Besar beliau merupakan Pengarah Urusan di beberapa firma swasta. Di luar negara pula beliau banyak menjalankan beberapa projek di beberapa buah negara, antara di Birmingham, United Kingdom, Zug Switzerland, Miano Italy, Bangkok Thailand, Sdyney dan Goldcoast Australia, Doha Qatar dan Tehran, Iran.

Dalam bidang politik pula, beliau berkecimpung dengan PAS dengan memegang Ahli Jawatankuasa PAS kawasan Kampar (1999 - 2001). Beliau menjawat jawatan Yang Dipertua PAS kawasn Kampar (2001 hingga kini). Di peringkat PAS Negeri Perak, beliau memegang jawatan Bendahari PAS Negeri (2001- 2006), Setiausaha PAS Negeri (sebelum menjadi Menteri Besar Perak).

Walaupun beliau seorang yang berpendidikan tinggi tetapi beliau amat aktif dengan kegiatan masyarakat. Antaranya kuliah dan majlis ilmu di masjid-masjid dan surau-surau, ceramah motivasi pelajar dan institusi pengajian tinggi, menyampaikan khubah jumaat, bantuan kepada fakir miskin, mewakili PAS dalam program program kaum bukan Islam serta terlibat secara langsung dengan beberapa Badan Bukan Kerajaan (NGO).

Beliau mempunyai lapan orang cahaya mata hasil perkongsian hidup bersama isterinya, Fatimah Taat. Anaknya pertama merupakan lulusan BA Syariah Universiti Mut'ah, Jordan. Anak kedua pula lulusan hafiz al-Quran di Universiti Mut'ah Jordan. Anak yang ketiga juga lulusan hafiz al-Quran dari Universisiti Damsyik, Syria dan Universiti Lebanon. Manakala anak yang ke empat hingga ke lapan sedang belajar di beberapa pelbagai institusi pendidikan dalam negeri.

Menurut Setiausaha Kerja PAS Perak, Khalilul Abdul Rahman, Nizar merupakan seorang yang pemurah dan mudah bergaul dengan masyarakat dan mengambil berat masalah kakitangan di bawahnya. "Jika ada kakitangannya yang menghadapi masalah, beliau akan cepat menyekesaikan masalah temasuk masalah kewangan," jelas Khalilul. "Sebagai ketua pejabat, beliau seorang yang peramah dengan orang ramai termasuk orang bawahannya dan beliau bersedia mendengar pandangan orang lain," ujar beliau.

Memperjuangkan hak dan kepentingan rakyat menjadi agenda perjuangannya, kerana itu beliau bergiat cergas di dalam Badan Bukan Kerajaan (NGO). Umpamanya Gabongan Pengguna Air Perak (GPAP).

Keistimewaan beliau, walaupun lulusan dari luar negeri beliau mampu mengajar (buka kitab) di masjid-masjid dan suara-surau.malah beliau sendiri mampu mengelenggarakan ibadah kurban termasuk penyembelihan bintang kurban.

Di samping itu Haji Nizar juga selain boleh berbahasa Inggeris, ia juga boleh berbahasa Cina dan Tamil. Inilah Menteri Besar yang dikehendaki oleh rakyat, mampu mentadbir, berwibawa dan mempunyai pengetahuan agama dan boleh membaca khutbah jumaat. Perkenan Sultan Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah yang memilih Mohammad Nizar sebagai Menteri Besar Perak memang tepat, oleh itu semua pihak perlu akur dengan keputusan yang dibuat oleh Sultan Perak. - mr
written by joeawk, March 13, 2008 16:49:06
Mr. LKS,you hv been around very long. We thank you for helping to keep democracy alive all these years.
However,going by your outburst and your apology, it is very clear that you have been left very far behind.You sounded like Mahatir.
Perhaps, it is time to pass the baton to the younger generation because your stay cannot help us move ahead. You can only hold us back.
Mr. LKS, it is time to go. Once again, thank you very much.
written by Mat Poyo, March 13, 2008 17:24:35
Dear all,

Firstly, thank you DAP Perak from the deepest of my heart, for rising above the party-ethnic boundaries. You have done what most of Perak Malays, even those who voted for you, could not do. For that DAP Perak has my (and my family's) utmost respect.

We Pas-members reformasi-supporting Perakians who lived in Chinese-majority constituencies in Perak have long been faced with the dilemma of whether or not to support the DAP. In 1999, the first time my family members, close relatives and neighbours were all united in the opposition front, the dilemma first confronted us. The opposition candidates for Gopeng/Sungai Rapat Parliament/DUN came from DAP and Keadilan. Because the DAP candidate was a Malay, it was easier to vote for the rocket. For me, being my first General Election, the choice was easy. For my parents and their friends, i could sense their awkwardness and deep-rooted fear of the DAP, although they all voted for DAP in the end. In 2004, it was easy. DAP had given way to PAS for our constituency. So it was PAS/PKR that we all voted for. Then SPR played their game. Our malay-majority Taman was suddenly placed under Pasir Pinji/Ipoh Timur. We the younger ones had a harder time getting the old folks to come out to vote this time. With great effort by our PAS YDP and the younger members at our Markas, again PAS members in our areas turned out in large numbers to vote for the rocket, just in case LKS needed our help. The campaigning had its funny moments - the story my father told of my elderly Malay neighbour urging the Chinese traders at Pinji Market to vote for DAP and not Barisan, to the amusement of the traders, was greeted with much laughter by us. Shd have told my dad to record and Youtube it. However, the very same people, my parents included, suddenly felt uneasy when it appeared that the DAP had won big in Perak, the very party they (and I) just voted for a few hours earlier. My mother even suggested removing the huge PAS flag planted right in front of our house, just in case.

What I'm trying to say is this. There had been a paradigm shift, and for many Malays, it happened in 1999, continuing until now. But deep-rooted fear and prejudice, fed by memories of zaman kominis, the '69 Election and 50 years of mind-poisoning by Barisan had taken its toll, especially for my parents' generation. Maybe we even have to see the passing of this generation before we can truly see a true muhibbah Malaysia, where a DAP Menteri Besar would be greeted with open arms.

We have achieved victory, but let us move carefully and slowly forward. Which is why DAP Perak's stance to accept the Sultan's decision had to be especially applauded. I have full believe that we Perakians, who are 100 times more genuinely muhibbah than Klang Valley dwellers, will make it work.

Pengundi Saluran 3,
SK Jalan Pegoh,
Pasir Pinji,
Perak.
written by faridib, March 13, 2008 18:39:27
The feelings described above is exactly what was felt by many muslims...read muslims, not malays, because it does not imvolve ideology as someone put it but the Quran specifically says that a muslim should not prefer a non-muslim to a muslim to be his leader(4:144). So it was a very, very hard decision. But i think all those muslims who voted for DAP know that between a bad muslim(upholding bad cause) & an ordinary non-muslim fighting the same cause, it has to be the latter.

At my place, there was not even one...yes, not a single DAP flag & I knew nothing abt the DAP candidate but in the name of partnership & a common goal, I voted DAP agst the heavy heart.
I suggest all BR/BA leaders & supporters cast aside their differences now that they've achieved their common goal. Also, can't the BA leaders sit & thrash out 1st any grievances/differences before making public announcements? BN is waiting for any single crack amongst them to publicly condemn their coalition. Pls work for the interest & priority of all.
written by hiro, March 13, 2008 20:40:45
I just want to say what I have said in my other comments. Forming state government by a coalition of opposition party who have just tasted victory for the first time is not easy. It's unfortunate that the disagreement is out for all to see. But truth is there are probably thousands of issues going on in the mind of Kit Siang when he said what he said.

Compared with the internecin war now already starting in BN, this little delay in naming Perak MB is NOTHING.

So I ask you all my friends, to give all of them, be it DAP, PKR or PAS, some time to sort this out. The goodwill is intact so there should be no difficulty for this matter to be resolved. And once done, I am certain they will in the general spirit of having won big in this election, say something conciliatory, even apologise to all Malaysians for the hickup.
written by BennyG, March 13, 2008 21:28:54
It is indeed touching to read this. Even my friends who had never voted for PAS did not hesitate to vote for PAS. Although there are still those that stated they should vote for their own race.

Most in MT is supporting ONE MALAYSIAN BANGSA but still we read about internal DAP & PAS sabotage. Either they shaped up or BARISAN RAKYAT must be formed. It seemed that in such a short time, we had seen enough to warrant a call for BARISAN RAKYAT to be formed. In as short as 3 years time, there will be a serious need for BARISAN RAKYAT to unite all Malaysian.

RPK, please do consider since ombudsman is not a viable alternative as DAP, PAS & PKR will not agree to it.
written by Compadre45, March 14, 2008 01:26:01
being a malay I am always for Opposition DAP, PAS , PKR , but i noticed that DAP was more a chinese dominant party. I just wish that its not just a chinaman party for the chinese only. If it is i urge all of us to think again and vote them out in the next election if they don't covewr all races equally and fairly. I dont think its fair for malays and indians to vote for DAP to mostly look into chinese affairs and less on other races. Same advise goes to PAS and PKR. Lets not see such things happen. WARNING IN ADVANCE !!!!!
written by Anak Kampung, March 15, 2008 07:14:24
Compadre45, I suggest you consider joining the DAP if the only thing you have against them is race and otherwise you agree with their ideology. That way you will be helping to move forward Bangsa Malaysia. By reacting as you did you are just moving things backwards. DAP have been trying to attract Malay members for years but they are fighting an uphill battle against government media who paint them as communists etc. As you well know. Secondly, I think you will find that there are many more Indians in DAP than you think. In fact, if I am not mistaken, there were more Indians elected from DAP this time than from MIC.
written by singam, March 15, 2008 14:03:52
Paul, that was an excellent article - well written, moving, capturing those deep-seated feelings we speak of. Malaysians, putting their faith in Barisan Rakyat, have overcome inner demons and cast votes for the much-feared "enemy". This is surely a turning point in Malaysia's history.

All you wakil-wakil and ahli-ahli, who henceforth shall be called Yang Berkhidmat, please take note. Your people have expressed their trust in you. Do not betray that trust. Do not let them down.

We are Anak Bangsa Malaysia.