Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow State jewels, but little experience to govern them

State jewels, but little experience to govern them PDF Print
Thursday, 13 March 2008 10:06

By Reme Ahmad, THE STRAITS TIMES

AFTER the shock victories, now comes the tough task of ruling.

The opposition coalition that found itself unexpectedly in control of four new states is hunkering down to the nuts and bolts of governing - armed with little experience to do so.

Among the three coalition partners, only Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS) has ruled a state - and that, too, one with a rural economy.

The other two parties, the Democratic Action Party (DAP) and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), have no governing experience at all.

The stakes are high because if the opposition does well in Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Perak, the Barisan Nasional could have a tough time regaining control of them at the next election.

But if their coalition fails to deliver - or worse, falls apart - these partieswill likely be booted out the next time around.

'This is the best chance to create a two-party multiracial system in Malaysia, so they cannot afford to fail,' said lawyer S.P. Pathi, president of the non-governmental organisation Education Welfare and Research Foundation.

The four states that the opposition captured last Saturday contain many industrial jewels that have drawn multi-billion-dollar investments. Among them are two of Malaysia's busiest ports, Port Klang in Selangor and Penang Port.

The country's main industrial hub is located in Selangor's Petaling Jaya, with sprawling stretches of factories and plants, including many set up by international investors such as Motorola, Carlsberg, Sony and Texas Instruments.

There is also a slew of foreign high-tech industries, in Penang and the township of Kulim in Kedah, including Intel and Fuji Electric.

In Perak's Tanjung Malim, Selangor's Rawang and Kedah's Gurun towns are giant vehicle plants owned by Proton, Perodua and Naza.

Malaysia's main holiday islands are also now in opposition hands - Penang, Langkawi in Kedah and Pangkor in Perak.

New Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng of the DAP alluded to the burdens of office after he was sworn in on Tuesday.

Entering his office and sitting on the chief minister's chair for the first time, he said: 'I already feel the heavy responsibility.'

To move fast, the coalition may have to get more technocrats into its midst, some observers say.

'When the reality sinks in, you would have to start looking at issues to be addressed and projects to be carried out,' said Mr Lau Kien Foh, director of a major accounting firm.

While PAS has had experience running Kelantan for 18 years and Terengganu for four years, its expertise has been vastly different.

In those two states, PAS was the sole party in charge. It could introduce new policies without having to consult other members of a coalition.

The population of the two east coast states is predominantly Malay - about 95 per cent - which means pro-Islam policies would be accepted readily.

But in Kedah, the new PAS-led government under Menteri Besar Azizan Abdul Razak faces a different environment. The conservative Islamists won the most number of seats in the election last Saturday, but not enough to take control of the state assembly. So, it has to work with the PKR and DAP as coalition partners.

Also, Kedah has a substantial number of minority races. Chinese, Indians and non-Muslims of Thai descent make up a quarter of its 1.9 million population.

The opposition coalition also has to tread warily so as not to frighten investors in the industrial cities of Kulim and Sungai Petani, or spook owners of hotels and pubs in Langkawi.

Moving to quell any unease, PAS secretary-general Kamaruddin Jaafar told The Straits Times: 'There are mixed feelings about us, but it means a great deal for us to make it work. Things have to be discussed with our coalition partners at the highest levels, and this is ongoing.'

The opposition also holds a trump card over its rival in Kuala Lumpur: It is in the federal government's interest not to do anything to spook investors.

Yet another advantage is the fact that the leaders of the PKR-DAP-PAS coalition have professional experience.

PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim was the former deputy prime minister, finance minister and education minister.

PAS vice-president Husam Musa, an economist who worked in a bank and who now runs the state finances of Kelantan, is fully involved in helping the opposition coalition build up its strength in the four states.

New Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng is an accountant by training and had worked in a bank.

And the PKR candidate for the Selangor menteri besar's post, Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, headed national equity fund Permodalan Nasional and plantation-property company Kumpulan Guthrie for many years.

Foreign investors are not unduly worried about the changes, said Mr Vincent Leusner, president of the American Malaysian Chamber of Commerce, which groups 800 companies.

'I don't think the landscape of investments in Malaysia would change much,' he told The Straits Times. 'I don't think anybody is frightened.'

OPTIMISTIC

'I don't think the landscape of investments in Malaysia would change much. I don't think anybody is frightened.'

MR VINCENT LEUSNER, president of the American Malaysian Chamber of Commerce

written by bumi non malay, March 13, 2008 10:25:56
Reme Ahmad = Imbercile = Kadir Jasin ??

working overtime for Khairy to notice for promo to Group editor in chief....with your OPPOSITION WEAK THEME??...as I have said my Kindy son year book would not even ask you to proof Read!!...& its not working because you work for NSTP!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif

Opposition cannot govern state lah BODOH....Learn new word COALITION of PKR,DAP,PAS in 5 states. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by asguard, March 13, 2008 10:34:03
Yeap...is the testing time for the oppositions...
written by cble, March 13, 2008 10:52:16
Jika tidak dari satu permulaan, mana datangnya pengalaman. Oleh itu biar BA diberi peluang memerintah kelima5 negeri itu sehingga satu penggal untuk mempastikan bahawa mereka boleh memerintah dengan baik asalkan kerajaan Pusat pimpinan tidak mengsabotag mereka seperti apa yang dilakukan keatas Trengganu sebelum ini. Jika ini berlaku ahli BN seharusnya meninggalkan terutama sekali UMNOputra.
written by Mr Bean, March 13, 2008 10:53:24
Little governing experience is neither a problem nor liability. What are important is having right and pro-Rakyat policies, dedication and commitment, good corporate governance and transparency, etc.

Previous State Governments had proven that very experience government bring nothing good to the Rakyat but arrogant and racist statements, corruption, poor corporate governance, wastages and higher taxes, bureaucracy, etc.

All the best to the new state governments
written by cble, March 13, 2008 10:53:49
opes pimpinan UMNO
written by densemy, March 13, 2008 11:24:50
For ****s sake. You dont need experience to govern... what you need is commonsense, imagination, intelligence and the welfare of your constituents in mind... As well you have the combined assets of your fellow parliamentarians to ensure that you make the right decisions

You are just perpetuating another BN myth if you repeat that line... "They dont have experience". Look how BN managed to misgovern the country and they had 50 yrs of "experience"

In any other democracy the public service provides the brains and the continuity needed to carry over from one administration to the next. But not in Malaysia where the public service is simply seen as a bottomless pit into which you can pour all your unemployable graduates and then forget about them
written by NSTPravda, March 13, 2008 11:57:12
There is not much time to gloat and less for glee
Not when state cash is leaking to the hands of our “Cronies”
The burden of governance is definitely immense
This requires tons of political and more common sense

The Pet Chicks of MCA is already trying to mislead
With the usual lies about Oppositions perceived misdeeds
As yet, it is still too early for their lies to make any impact
But given time and opportunities these might be used as facts

It is imperative that the Opposition speedily consolidate
Cut out all the interparty fighting and useless debates
Remember, what is gained now is but a chance to show the people
That you are not just another group of incompetent poodles

The big test is yet to come in the near future
When BN regroup and try to launch a counter
That time will come, and soon, we daresay
We hope BR is ready and semua-nya OK!
written by CitizenBodohland, March 13, 2008 12:47:13
BARISAN RAKYAT must be formed officially as the first crucial step. Then work towards a three (or more) multiracial parties within the coalition.
PAS - rope in more Chinese Muslim and Indian Muslim while having a non-muslim supporters division with ISLAM as your pillar of governance.
DAP - rope in more Malays and Indians with DEMOCRACY as your axis of ideology.
PKR - Stay with your concept of MULTIRACIAL, and continue to strengthen the coalition.

Please note the powerful words in capital letters which will define the following:
ISLAM - The official religion of Malaysia.
DEMOCRACY - The pillar of good and fair governance.
MULTIRACIAL - The Malaysian Strength for Economy.
This will show that BARISAN RAKYAT is a COMPLETE PARTY.

By 2013, you will enter 13GE as a coalition of MULTIRACIAL parties. Which party representing which race will be a non issue by then. Not like the Barisan Najis with UMNO for Malays, MCA for Chinese and MIC for Indians. Rakyat will know which one is the obvious choice by then.

13GE WILL SURELY BELONG TO BARISAN RAKYAT.
written by Kcc, March 13, 2008 14:52:08
Whether little experience or no experience, one should be given a chance to lead in order to prove that one can lead the nation. When BN started 50 years ago, i'm sure they didn't have much experience, some none at all. So, what's Rene Ahmad yakking about when he said that the coalition (opposition) don't have the experience or little experience to rule?

YOU don't want to give them a chance, say so. YOU are against them, say so but pls don't bullshit by giving excuses that the opposition has little experience in governance. if YOU don't give them a chance, they will never be able to prove their capabilities.
written by Wakeupmsia, March 13, 2008 15:23:42
Remee Ahmad should not pre-conclude that the Barisan Rakyat have little experience in running a State. Did Lee Kuan Yew have the experience of running Spore in the early 60s? Well, obviously not. But today, Spore is a darling nation.
The important principle is dedication of work and fair play. Expertise and professionals are aplenty, if lacking, just hire. So, Remee, you should not pre-judge the future for you are not Nostradamus. In addition, journalism taught us to report events on a present scenario and not to give personal views. Bad journalism, remee ahamad!
written by krising1, March 13, 2008 15:41:52
If the moron of a dentist can run Selangor for so long, any moron can run these states. And the ones who are running it today are not morons. You will see the states in the DEMOCRATIC CORRIDOR turning into really developed states.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 13, 2008 16:57:32
Barisan Rakyat akan lebih berjaya apabila mereka membolehkan diri mereka mendengar pandangan rakyat secara umum dan juga mengeluarkan satu penjelasan umum kepada rakyat bila bila masa untuk memastikan segala yang dilaksanakan adalah demi masa depan rakyat dan negara.
Sesuatu yang benar tidak akan takut kepada penyoalan rakyat.
written by joeawk, March 13, 2008 17:07:14
So long as the coalition of PKR,DAP n PAS practices transparency and not greedy for themselves, they would have done fairly well.

They do not need BN asskisser to tell them what to do.
written by angfaulith, March 16, 2008 15:15:37
yes please follow us in pas. we will show you the way brothers. in the days of the prophet islamic law was fair to all races and creeds.. let us once again follow the true path... allahu akhbar!!