Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Anwar Demands `Major' Changes in Malaysia Race Rules

Anwar Demands `Major' Changes in Malaysia Race Rules PDF Print
Thursday, 13 March 2008 09:17

By Stephanie Phang and Angus Whitley

March 13 (Bloomberg) -- Malaysia's opposition parties, fresh from their biggest electoral gains ever, have vowed to dismantle the country's legalized system of preferences for ethnic Malays. Doing so won't be easy.

Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim said after the March 8 elections that ``major adjustments need to be made'' to the race rules. The parties will be able to accomplish some incremental progress toward that goal in the five states they won. They also will pressure the ruling National Front coalition to move quicker in easing the requirements.

For now, that's about all they will be able to achieve, because most of the system is controlled at the federal level by a set of 37-year-old directives known as the New Economic Policy, instituted to help the majority Malays catch up with Chinese business owners. States have little say over the NEP, and some regions controlled by the opposition are dominated by Malays who don't want their advantages undone.

``A lot of the laws are central and federal,'' said Ooi Kee Beng, an analyst at Singapore's Institute of Southeast Asian Studies. The opposition parties ``are in a daze and trying to feel their way around.''

Anwar's People's Justice Party, the Democratic Action Party and the Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party, known as PAS, won enough seats to deny the ruling coalition the two-thirds majority it had enjoyed in parliament for 34 years.

Intel, Sony

They will stop setting aside projects for Malay businesses in their states, parting ways with National Front policies. These opposition-controlled areas include Penang, a base for Intel Corp., and Selangor, host to Sony Corp. Penang also plans to do away with racial quotas when licensing street vendors.

PAS, which has controlled northeastern Kelantan state since 1990, has said it doesn't discriminate based on race, and won't in Kedah, the state it has just won.

``That would resolve a major part of the problem, but only at the state level, where we are in charge,'' Anwar, 60, told reporters on March 11. ``Hopefully, things will change, but not in the very near future.''

Criticism of the rules was taboo after they were introduced in response to race riots in 1969. They were aimed at alleviating poverty and rebalancing national wealth concentrated in Chinese and British hands, a vestige of Malaysia's status as a U.K. colony until 1957.

`Creative Destruction'

Anwar's opposition to the NEP emerged over time. Early in his career, he was a champion of Malay preferences. Then, in 1998, he was ousted from the government and the ruling coalition's dominant party, the United Malays National Organisation, after calling for ``creative destruction'' of Malaysia's economic system. He later began criticizing the NEP for being used to justify institutionalized corruption.

Now he wants to dismantle it. ``The New Economic Policy benefits the few family members of the ruling establishment and their cronies,'' he said.

The ruling coalition has eased the rules as it tried to lure global investment capital from China and Vietnam and explored free trade accords with the U.S. and European Union.

Malaysia's reluctance to increase access to government contracts by changing pro-Malay policies is among issues that have delayed a deal, U.S. Assistant Trade Representative Barbara Weisel has said.

``The NEP is very subjective,'' said Gan Kim Khoon, head of equity capital markets at OSK Investment Bank Bhd. ``A lot of it is left to interpretation.''

Lower Grades

The rules give Malays preferences over Chinese and Indians in education, jobs and investments. The country's 19 public universities admit Malays with lower grades than Chinese and Indians. Companies must sell 30 percent of their shares to Malays and declare how many Malays they employ to be listed on the local stock exchange.

``The country's economic development has been possible despite this expanding web of rules because the government has applied pragmatic exemptions,'' said Song Seng-Wun, an economist at CIMB-GK Research in Singapore. Malaysia's economy has grown an average 6.8 percent a year since 1970.

Selected foreign investors have been allowed 100 percent ownership of their local businesses since then under special provisions. In 1995, the government announced the first of a series of regions where the NEP wouldn't apply. Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, 68, launched a second such area in the southern state of Johor in 2006.

Suhaimi Ilias, an economist at Aseambankers Malaysia Bhd., a unit of the country's largest banking group, predicted Chinese and Indian parties in the UMNO-led coalition would call for the rules to be eased further.

``Whatever it is, something will happen,'' Suhaimi said. ``The whole point is about reinventing. And that's what this country needed going forward.''

While the opposition likely won't push for low-cost housing and other federal benefits to be dropped, the parties want them to be based on need, not race.

``Affirmative action will continue,'' Anwar said. Helping marginalized Malays ``will not be purely on the basis of race.''

To contact the reporters on this story: Angus Whitley in Kuala Lumpur at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it ; Stephanie Phang in Kuala Lumpur at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by batsman, March 13, 2008 09:29:28
LKS, you chickenshit. Learn from DSAI
written by MalaysianIAm, March 13, 2008 09:30:57
that's why everyone say, gov treats foreigners better than some of their own people.

and btw, dear all malaysians, regardless of what race you are, it's advantageous to put the NEP away. the NEP doesn't help many of the malays anyways, so why keep it? If the country does better (more competitive) economically, then with a (Johnson's) clean and clear gov, they will have more money to help everyone.

but obviously absolute power corrupts absolutely, so it's really up to us to pick the right leader to lead.
written by Negarakuku, March 13, 2008 09:31:40
BRAVO...this is call moving forward!!! If this article is true, Malaysia is making its name among the elite states of the world. smilies/kiss.gif
written by rayfire, March 13, 2008 09:31:57
I am glad that we are moving towards a just Malaysia for all, a the same time we have a lot of uncertainties that need to be addressed by the Barisan Rakyat to ensure smooth transition and acceptance by all people.
The most important thing for now is the respective leaders themselves must genuinely believe that change is needed and race/religion based perception should be removed from their mindset to move forward for better Malaysia for all Malaysians.
Recent infighting even before the respective state governments are setup does not reflect well on the future direction, so please iron out any differences and stand firm on your commitment to bring about a new dawn in Malaysia.
God bless Malaysia and all Malaysians, let us make change possible as it is the only means to help us survive globally!
written by indianputra, March 13, 2008 09:45:41
Things must be done slowly. Majority of the Malays must agree that NEP is not good for them. The anti-NEP campaigners MUST HOLD FORUMS, HAVE DIALOGUES, explain in detail to the Malays how they can benefit without NEP (which only favors the top echelon of Malays now.)

So, take it a step at a time.. Work on it with dedication and don't frighten the less educated Malays with bombastic statements.
written by Counterpointer, March 13, 2008 10:00:17
dismantle the country's legalized system of preferences for ethnic Malays

Well said Anwar !

That's the Mount Everest that we need to scale to leave behind our Third World mentality and to have a peek of being a First World nation.

It's not easy definitely and has got to start somewhere. My opinion is that this Perak MB issue would have had been a great first step to take, of this long and steep climb ahead.
written by RumahPanjai, March 13, 2008 10:14:45
Thats one step forward for Anwar. Walk the talk Anwar and we will be behind you till you get to be the next PM.
written by oknyua, March 13, 2008 11:01:37
In today’s STAR, the Prime Minister mentioned about growing globalisation that ultimately affects all Malaysia, but in the same issue he warned the Penang new CM in his (CM’s) comment that the concept of NEP that had cultivated nepotism, cronyism and corruption.

Is AAB’s genuine in his desire to see the Malays in particular and Bumiputeras in general succeed in the global competitiveness? Firstly, NEP and Bumiputera rights had been abused and we must be honest to admit it had been to the benefit of those who are connected, politically.

Secondly NEP cannot forever provide protection for the bumiputeras. We have 30 years to allow the Bumiputera to crawl and walk. Many have made it, succeeding in the academic and business world. But on the opposite side, there are those that start to think this protection is an inherent right.

Thirdly the NEP failed to address the poor of other races. Given a poor Bumiputera and a poor Chinese, for example, who is most likely to receive help (from the government)? This is the glaring short-coming of NEP.

The short of this is; the poor is the poor, no matter what colour or religion. They need help. The policies, whether NEP or whatever EP, need to reach to the real poor, not just the connected.

Whenever the word NEP is mentioned, people get agitated; the Bumiputera feel threatened, the non Bumiputera boiled in anger. Those animosities already point to the failure of NEP. As the advisor of Gerakan Tan Sri Lim KY suggested, maybe we need a new NEP. PAS suggested to throw the bad and retains the good in NEP. Dato’ Seri Anwar mentioned something like an alternative to NEP. That left only AAB’s administration that wants to maintain the NEP in its present totality.

(nOTE: I am a Bumiputera)
written by hiro, March 13, 2008 11:44:58
OMG!!!

I'm so rolling my eyes over here.

Look guys, the elections have just finished and the Opposition has been entrusted with a lot of responsibility. The opposition coalition have not expected such encouraging results and they are trying their level best to do what is right for the rakyat and to preserve peace while moving forward.

Obviously, there are going to be TEETHING problems such as one going on in Perak now.

I know you guys want the best for Malaysia, but don't you think you are going for an overkill asking Uncle Lim to resign?? This man has been here longer than DSAI, holding steadfast to the principles of good governance and democracy, never once throwing in the towel and giving up on US.

It could well have been an internal DAP misunderstanding, but such things can be resolved, together with the opposition coalition because their goodwill is still intact.

On the issue of NEP, don't be fooled by BN press who is obviously playing up the issue. Guan Eng never said he will not help those in need. Anwar is saying affirmative action to help those in need will still be in place. Hadi Awang is saying only GOOD parts of the NEP will be retained - which sounds to me like helping the needy too.

So open your eyes and be more reflective please - they are all saying the same things, albeit attaching a different label to what they are saying. This jargon issue is also a teething problem that they will eventually find a compromise.

So I urge all readers of Malaysia Today - give them more time and don't give them too hard a time. Just imagine - Kit Siang gave Badawi 100 days to settle in, then more - yet we are all trying to throttle their throats within less than a week. Be reasonable ok?
written by temenggong, March 13, 2008 12:46:40
Words are not enough. This we will have to wait and see as to how far PKR and Pas will go in implementing the removal of the NEP. We can see and judge this in six months!

The NEP was purposely drafted in such a way to be structurally flawed so as to encourage abuse!
The NEP has to be rejected in toto, and right away, and not gradually.
written by Namaste, March 13, 2008 13:22:07
Always remember that Politicians have short memories. TDM is worried on Anwar’s progress as he has the keys to all locks. For Najib, he has to toe the line until Altantunya’s case is resolved. Let us think outside the box as to why Pak Lah let Anwar free? Why did he chose call for GE at the time of many controversies? He is smart in a way to clean up the deadwood, corrupt, cronies, racist, rapist, etc etc who lost their seat and now all are caught with their pants and panties down except for one who died. UMNO is weak and divided in the inside with camps of Pak Lak, Najib, Mahanthir and Anwar.

The reality about Indians is that they are divided many more folds then all races put together. Do you know we have Indians in MIC, Gerakan, PPP, IPF, the newly stupid group of Nallakarapan, DAP, PKR and even PAS. Frankly we cannot do much for Indians if Samy Vellu and his thug force exist but only deteriorate further by the day. I wonder what Subra can do except to patronise PUBs to unite Indians in wonder land. Do you think they can be united?

Let us learn from Ghandhi who alone united the Indians because he was a Mahatma and through a universal force India got independent. He fought with ahimsa or non violence because the British have conscience within them but not with Indians. Here TDM is right that you will see more polical parties fo 1.8 million Indians.

Even in Maika AGM, SV and his Thug Force instill horror when jutification is raised. This is the level of Indians in MIC until HINDAF took to the streets because the NON MIC Indians completetly lost out to the greed of UMNO who hijacked NEP for UMNOPUTERAS only. Do you think this is what we Indians wanted if MIC and BN had done their job and in one voice? Think

The same is now brewing with the oppositions whom we all elcted for change but greed for power and representations are being capitalised by Govt. control media to fuel feud among the newly formed coalition of PAS/PKR/DAp. We can only hope for all BA parties to stay united and as Malaysians, move on to bring better governance in these 5 states where the rakyat has given the mandate to deliver for the betterment for all Malaysians.
written by Alex, March 13, 2008 20:16:03
The NEP is like opium to the malays. Once addicted very had to take away.
But if u don't quit taking opium you are in for a certain death!!!!
It won't be easy quitting opium addiction, but it has to be done.
Maybe our education syallabus can teach the young on the ills of NEP, so as to get everyone especially young malays to be on the right track from the start! and at the same time dismatle NEP!! Tell them what their parents/elders are facing during the transition period are just symptoms of recovery from opium withdrawal!!!!
written by Alex, March 13, 2008 20:26:15
Hey guys....
LKS is only putting a show lar. He had to do it to soothe the sentiments of the chinese voters in Perak. smilies/cheesy.gif
It will all turn out OK for Barisan Rakyat.
Politics is like that mar!
I myself dun mind the MB of Perak is a Malay from PAS just as long as he is fair and just! That's what we all want.
written by rastafarianz, March 13, 2008 20:31:35
Just saw in te he TV3 new few minutes ago, an ******* from UMNO/BN is asking Govt to pull back all the mega projects planned from penang and also pull back the Rapid Penang bus operation out of the state. This crook suggests the new DAP state govt to plan the development for penang and bring the so called change. He also said since the people of penang choose DAP, let them face it!!

The is it OK if we penangites stop paying income tax, road tax & etc which is part of the federal govt's revenue? Let us contribute to state govt so that they can have enough $$ to develope the state...

Is the BN govt want to revenge the states that choose oppositions? DAMN IT!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by angfaulith, March 16, 2008 15:19:15
anwar please listen and take advise from our tok guru nik aziz nik mat at all times. you are still young and not so experienced. but your islamic credentials are good and true. listen to our venerable leader and you can do no wrong. may allah guide you....