Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ong: Perak voters cheated

Ong: Perak voters cheated PDF Print
Thursday, 13 March 2008 08:52

KUALA LUMPUR: DAP has cheated its voters as a PAS state assemblyman will be sworn in as the Perak mentri besar today, Perak MCA chief Datuk Ong Ka Chuan said. 

Ong, who is also the MCA secretary-general, said DAP should apologise to its voters, saying it was sad to hear that Perak PAS secretary Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin will be the mentri besar. 

He said Mohammad's appointment went against the wishes of voters, especially non-Muslims. 

Having a mentri besar from PAS creates fear among non-Muslims. This also creates political instability.” 

Ong, who is also the newly-elected Tanjong Malim MP, said the Chinese in Perak voted for DAP to uphold justice and change for the better but the opposite seemed to have happened. 

On Perak DAP chief Ngeh Koo Ham as the Deputy Mentri Besar (I), Ong said the Perak constitution states that the MB must be a Malay, though the Sultan has the discretion to waive this. 

However, it did not state the existence of a deputy MB post, said Ong. 

There is no such post in the Perak constitution,” said Ong. 

The Regent of Perak, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah, met the three nominated candidates for the mentri besar’s post at 5pm yesterday.  

The candidates were Ngeh (Sitiawan), state PKR treasurer Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi (Behrang) and Mohammad (Pasir Panjang). - STAR

Comments (67)Add Comment
written by malaysianohope, March 13, 2008 08:58:28
Dear Ong,

If you read this, 'just go take a hike you scumbag/loser'. Don't threaten with racist remarks like your taiko, mr pm.
written by batsman, March 13, 2008 09:02:34
The BN counter offensive is started already courtesy of Lim Kit Siang but is is a weak one. First take care of DAP, the snake in the blanket.

I think the Sultan of Perak made a correct and wisest decision. Many people are caught by surprise at the victories of the opposition. Many are unprepared and may be having second thoughts. I think the Sultan’s decision was best for the stability of Perak for the following reasons:

When many have second thoughts, there will be instability in the govt of Perak. The Chinese will be the most stable while the Malays will be shaken. This means elected representatives from PAS and PKR have higher likelihood of crossing over to BN. This will cause instability in Perak. It is a difficult decision and the DAP has made it worse by promising to abide by it and then reneging on their promise.

A PAS MB will also show the Chinese of Perak and the rest of Malaysia that they have nothing to fear from a PAS govt. Anyway PAS cannot act “over the limit” because DAP and PKR have bigger representation. This is a new situation that has many promises, but DAP is fearful that their Chinese support may be won over by PAS.

Indirectly, but related, the DAP dominated govt in Penang can show to the people of Malaysia that it is possible to be free of Federal / UMNO subsidies and aid if Penang can stand on its own 2 feet.

This situation is the best for a new Malaysia. Unfortunately DAP with its “permanent opposition” mentality cannot handle this responsibility. It wants to sit permanently in the opposition benches. What a waste to vote for the DAP. Condemn the DAP, the “permanent opposition” to the rubbish bin! No use having a party that is too chicken to seize the reins of power.
written by thum, March 13, 2008 09:08:11
Ong Ka Chuan is a Semi-Value in making.
Some one should slap his silly for making racial instigations.
Really useless bugger.
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

Lim Kit Siang also another senile old fart. I hope it is just some political manuevering to appease supporters.

The DAP-PKR-PAS coalition should be focusing on the big picture and not this small kucimayong issues
written by batsman, March 13, 2008 09:08:59
Mr Ngeh did not become the MB of Perak even though the DAP has the highest number of seats, but he is fit to lead the DAP. Get rid of Lim Kit Siang, vote Mr. Ngeh as head of DAP!
written by bumi non malay, March 13, 2008 09:11:40
ha ha ha ha ha

Actually I feel CHEATED Reading this CRAP from ONG and STAR!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif

UMNO-BN shoe lickers doing their best to create RUSUHAN...ha ha ha ha.

When the Rusuhan is Inside UMNO-BN.......

All feeling uncomfortable with the Ku Li-Anwar meeting lately??.....why have the Federal cabinet not sworn in yet??......We call you UMNO-BN INTERIM GOVERNMENT!!!

Sorry the Perak Distraction not working....try another one....how about hang yourself UMNO-BN in light of Ku Li-Anwar meeting....are you UMNO-BN sweating yet??smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif?

la la la its a beautiful day for swearing in Perak NEW Malaysian Coalition MB!!!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by patycy, March 13, 2008 09:14:10
"M A L A Y 1st, malaysian 2nd!

Even the royal family are contradicting themselves................sighhhhhhh!

The majority has not been respected, the Perak Sultanate should explain the rationale in choosing the new MB so that his royal subjects can let this case rest.

Speak to us, our Royal Highnesses! Speak to us!"

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Birdbrain,

Please show facts to all readers here why would this be a racial issue? Do you mean by the PAS MB is not qualified to govern the state just because he's from PAS? Do you mean you are wiser than the wisest Sultan we have in Malaysia?

Do you deny the possibilities that PAS MB is the best man for the job?

Please answer all these questions.
written by billykbk, March 13, 2008 09:18:31
Dear Readers, pls echo my sentiment. Ask this moron Ong to disappear, Pls!
written by thquah, March 13, 2008 09:19:25
What is there to apologize to the Chinese, OKC. I am a Chinese and voted for PAS(BRakyat).A PAS MB will also show the Chinese of Perak and the rest of Malaysia that they have nothing to fear from a PAS govt.I think the MB will dare not be unfair to the Chinese.
written by feleaz, March 13, 2008 09:20:39
The victory in Perak was never expected and the oppositios were caught unprepared. In regards to the appointment of MB, i believe the Sultan and Raja Nazrin have both given a thorough study on thi matter before arriving at a decisions. Both Raja Azlan Shah and Raja Nazrin are very noble and smart men, they must have a good reason to appoint the PAS man to be the new MB. Sure this decision may not be the most popular decision but it is probably the best at this point of time. Afterall, under this difficult situation, there is no any decision that can please all party. DAP should respect the Sultan's choice rather than risk themselves of losing all the supports they have gained from the rakyat ( malays and non-malays ).

Having said this, i personally believe, everything is going fine behind the media. This is probably a "sandiwara" from the DAP so that they are not obviously seen as supporting PAS by their non-malay supporters. I think all the DAP assemblymen will attend the swearing in ceremony today. Keep our fingers cross.
written by hiro, March 13, 2008 09:21:04
Dear readers of Malaysia Today, I think we must not jump in and straight away condemn Kit Siang if what was shown on his blog is the true intent of DAP CEC and not some hacker trying to drive a wedge within the Opposition coalition, which serves the best interest of people like Ong Ka Chuan only.

It could have been a case of miscommunication and misunderstanding. In any event, the top party leadership should sit down and sort this out and make an announcement.

Obviously, if the good will of the Oppposition coalition is by and large intact, which it should be (!) considering it's been just 4 days since they win popular vote in Peninsular Malaysia, this problem can be peacefully resolved.

By political convention, the Sultan ought to give weight to the biggest winner of the state to be MB. It is only if DAP chooses to defer to the people, then another from PKR or PAS is chosen. But if DAP has made it clear that it won't have PAS, then I think the right choice is PKR, because DAP has to think of its constituency as well - which includes not only the Chinese but also Malays and Indians. I think the primary concern is that the Opposition has not worked out a formal coalition yet and it must not be seen that Perak is putting the cart before the horse.
written by atsanee, March 13, 2008 09:24:01
Oh please shut up Ong Ka Chuan.
Go eat sour grapes elsewhere.Share it with Chua Soi Lek and Toyo.
The people wanted the Opposition in and thats what they got.
The biggest cheaters are the BN group and they are out,as what the people decided.
So piss off
written by the1, March 13, 2008 09:24:06
Loser statement.
written by Toyolbuster, March 13, 2008 09:24:49
Will the IGP please arrest this Ang Ka Chrng slimeball under ISA for raising seditious statements. Haven't they learn enough that the Bangsa Malaysia have rejected the BN racist government.
written by back2future, March 13, 2008 09:27:17
the ong kacau wanna make some issue out of this but he never realize he a loser , be gentleman a bit like the pg mr koh la , same goes to badawi and ali rustam
written by CitizenBodohland, March 13, 2008 09:28:37
Ong Tarak Ong,

You damn listen:

If BN won Perak, MCA can become Deputy Menteri Besar meh?
Barisan Rakyat will have a Deputy from the Chinese and Indians as what was decided in Penang. This is what we called TRUE POWER SHARING. No matter who won more or less seats, DAP/PKR/PAS knew the true winners are the Rakyat. That's why NIZAR deservely call themselves BARISAN RAKYAT.

Ong, please go and pick up MCA ashes and do some rebranding. I can give you some examples of names for your rebranding:

Tionghua United Nasionalist Malaysia - TIUNAMA.
Chinese People Action Party - CIPAP.
written by rayden chan, March 13, 2008 09:28:53
Another sandiwara show from Ong arr?
When BN win 90% that time, is there any chinese MB at Perak?
U didnt say anything back then, and u should say anything right now u oppurtunities joker..
written by Thinker, March 13, 2008 09:30:20
Can Mr. Ong tell us how having some MCA servant boys under UMNO is better than this?
written by Sagaladoola, March 13, 2008 09:30:36
ONG KA CHUAN , BLOODY FEAR-MONGER
“Having a mentri besar from PAS creates fear among non-Muslims. This also creates political instability.”

It seems like Ong Ka Chuan is creating fear among non-Muslims and PAS. Such fear-monger like Ong Ka Chuan should go back to sleep .. Stupid bloody fool.

written by Troy, March 13, 2008 09:34:02
Pas should seize upon this opportunity to convince MCA to abandon UMNO and join the BR instead. Can't blame OKC being a lapdog for decades and after being so near and yet so far.
Did'nt we all say to give the incoming govt. at least a decent chance to prove themselves? At the time of voting had it ever crossed DAP's mind that they would have any chance of winning the State ? Uncle Kit, please bear in mind that your current success is not solely the effort of DAP alone. Penang alone will have stretched your resources.
written by Milo, March 13, 2008 09:35:50
While I am disappointed that the MB is not selected from the majority seats party, i.e. DAP, I have no issue that a PAS candidate is selected (if he do not insist on meddling rules to interfere with non-muslim) to led the state. I thinkl we should move on to bigger things, like making sure the state is governed properly. Ong Kah Chuan is just trying his luck to disturn the newly formed state government as would be expected of him. People are smart enough to know there is no cheating on the part of DAP for what is happening. To govern well, they need to be flexible and practical. Let him be.
written by goldmine, March 13, 2008 09:36:07
Come on! DAP has not cheated the voters, in fact the voters feels cheated by DAP through LKS's statement and this statement. The voters of Perak voted BARISAN RAKYAT regardless if it was PAS, PKR or DAP. Malays did voted DAP. There's nothing wrong with Sultan's decision.
written by timmy, March 13, 2008 09:38:47
I trust Kit Siang saw this coming if he didn't reject PAS for MB post. Ka Chuan will say -- DAP co-operate with PAS and duped voters.

Trust Kit Siang, he is in the politics long enough. I believe this protest is just a red-herring so that MCA and Gerakan has nothing to fire against DAP in the long run.
I believe Kit Siang personally agree to the appointment of PAS MB, but in paper he has to protest as he sees how MCA and Gerakan will use DAP acceptance of PAS MB to attack back DAP in Penang, Perak and Selangor and cause major devastation when it's member find that DAP are no longer different with MCA and Gerakan.
Look deeper, if DAP members find that Kit Siang is no different from MCA or Gerakan (obediently agree to whatever UMNO said), they might switch team and put the Selangor and Penang in jeopardy.
Kit Siang I believe is ready to be scapegoat for this to protect the interest of Barisan Rakyat by maintaining order and remain true to DAP principles.
He is not that stupid, you might angry with him today, but I am confident he will prove him right after a month or so.
I see Kit Siang protest is just a protest to silence people that may attack his principles and values. He knows what's at stake. He knows how to keep DAP in check and he knows how his enemy will attack him if he didn't protest.
Trust him and give him some time.
Look at PKR and PAS, they haven't condemn Kit Siang yet, I'm sure Kit Siang has explained before hand. Trust him!
written by batsman, March 13, 2008 09:38:50
Dear citizen - good one heeheehee!
written by Counterpointer, March 13, 2008 09:40:28
“Having a mentri besar from PAS creates fear among non-Muslims. This also creates political instability.”

The Regent of Perak should take this Opposition MP Ong Ka Chuan to task and demand for his explanation for making this seditious statement, questioning his decision and for showing his lack of respect.

written by krising1, March 13, 2008 09:47:36
Do not worry MCA. If the people do not like, they will punish the SAP in the next election. Right now, I can say we like what is hapenning.
written by Ben Nordin, March 13, 2008 09:58:18
BN has not stopped spinning. Ong Ka Chuan is fear-mongering same as AAB warning Guan Eng not to stoke racial tensions in Penang. Opposition, do not fall into their traps. Work together for the sake of the people who voted you in regardless of race or creed. There were Muslim Malays who voted for DAP as there were Chinese who voted for PAS because we wanted a change for the better. If we had wanted prima donnas, we'd just let BN continue ruling the states that they lost. Look at the big picture.
written by indianputra, March 13, 2008 10:00:52
Damn you Ong, don't be a chilli padi. we are matured enough to read through your message and I can assure you that the Chinese in Perak will spit on you for making these type of dangerous remarks.
written by devious17, March 13, 2008 10:01:02
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif A pathetic sore losers whinning! Oi! ong ka chuan, you looked stupid in person and when you talk you have confirmed my suspicion, you are indeed STEWPIG! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

It wasnt DAPs call but the regent of perak laa ...... cina ini bodoh laaa smilies/grin.gif
written by Muachee, March 13, 2008 10:05:33
F Off Ong, stop the cry baby act
written by Wisdom above, March 13, 2008 10:08:50
Someone please tell Perak MCA chief Datuk Ong Ka Chuan to shut up.

1)..The palace also issued a statement last night stating that the DAP had signed a document agreeing to accept any one of the three names proposed.

2)"state leaders defy Kit Siang"... A very matured & wise decision at state level.

3)YB LKS do not have 'local standi' as YB is not an elected Perak Stateassemblyman.

4)State DAP secretary Nga Kor Ming said the party’s elected representatives would be at Istana Iskandariah in Kuala Kangsar for the ceremony to swear in PAS’ Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, scheduled at 4pm today.

5)Do not blamed YB LKS as he will have a "hard time to explain" to his electorates.

6)DAP 1999 deep apprehensions of PAS is played up by MCA & Gerakan many times.

7)The Perak state DAP leaders are 'matured' in their decision to 'defy Kit Siang' .

smilies/cool.gifSee today BN MCA Ong Ka Chuan attacked DAP,PKR , by saying ' Perak voters cheated'.

Syabas . Barisan Rakyat.
written by idham, March 13, 2008 10:09:10
Mr Ong,

Shut-up and go play with your kids, wife whatever..

This is opposition affair ...

You and the rest of Baboon National had bullied us too much on MSM and I think that was more than enough.

DAP, PAS, PKR listen to people..

Anwar, LKS, Hj HAdi read what people voice in alternative media for own good.

Boycott MSM!!
written by qitaro, March 13, 2008 10:10:00
Ong Ka Cherng ... you go and take care of your crumbling mca first lah before making any stupid remark to stoke racial tension.
written by qitaro, March 13, 2008 10:11:43
Oh yes ... "Ka Cherng" literally means "the gap between your legs" in Chinese Hokkien dialect ... simply meaning "bontot" in Malay!
written by Hakim Abdullah, March 13, 2008 10:14:01
tolONG diam diam duduk lah....
written by Msian 2, March 13, 2008 10:16:11
OKC -- You are a low lifer. Never even dare to say a word for your own commnuity or for all Malaysians regarding all the corruption, nepotism etc. Maybe you are not intelligent enough or you have no nuts. Oh yes LKS may have said something unintelligent but at least you have to give him credit for guts. And Malaysians would rather see PAS in power than to see U and you UMNO cohorts in power.
written by raverz, March 13, 2008 10:26:56
Ong, mind your own ****in business.... go get your party sorted before you start tending to those of others....u should be helping bring up the country and not running each other down.
written by aiyomanaboleh, March 13, 2008 10:40:36
Timmy,

The sword cuts both ways. Though his statement may unite the chinese but I am afraid the malays may feel threatened by his stand.

Fence sitting voters may feel his statement is over the top and may feel cheated that his ultimate goal is still very inward looking, ie. only towards his own party.
written by DezMalaysia, March 13, 2008 11:09:01
Ong Ka Chuan, F### off & go lick your UMNO master's balls... You're outdated ! Chinese had voted for PAS in the 12th GE ! You're still day dreaming !

A Malaysian
written by gyshow, March 13, 2008 11:16:41
Hello racist Ong Ka Chuan from MCA, I am Chinese from perak and I have no problem with PAS become the Menteri Besar of Perak. DAP should just agree on this and go ahead with more important job of forming the new government. Race and Religion is not important here, good, transparent policy, clean government and fairness to all races are more important. Please don't play racial politic again, we will vote you out and hantam you kuat kuat 5 years later.
written by FFT, March 13, 2008 11:47:41
He said Mohammad's appointment went against the wishes of voters, especially non-Muslims.

The appointment of body snatching, keris-wielding neo-Nazis at the Federal level also went against the wishes of the voters, especially all Malaysians with half a brain.

But yet, you MCA swine bent over and took it over and over again.

Perhaps you and your fellow Ah Longs in the MCA should just focus on running your henhouses and brothels for now. You'll probably need it, since you have less state governments to make illicit money from.
written by timmy, March 13, 2008 11:50:34
Dear aiyomanaboleh,

There is no race issue here with LKS. He's agreeing to a Malay MB from PKR. So race issue doesn't arise.
He's not uniting the Chinese either. He is just don't want the BN to exploit the religion issue and says that DAP collaborating with PAS. You can't expect people to forget immediate PAS Islamic state ideology and DAP worst defeat in 1999 when it aligns with PAS.
Things need to be proven out. Chinese accept MCA last time although it aligns with UMNO because UMNO has no Islam name in it, it is about race Malay. Chinese can accept race issues, but religion card is very hard for them to dissolve because whatever seen as common practice in Chinese is a sin in Islam.
So LKS is protecting DAP and PAS from further harassment from BN, it may sound far-fetched, but you can see BN is happy to see DAP not align with PAS, and they won't have any valid reasons to attack DAP and PAS because they are misalign. Before Perak gov is formed, BN already started the attack. If yesterday LKS didn't protest, you can see the headline today, "DAP duped Chinese as they back PAS for MB".
When PAS MB sworn in and perform and show the Chinese community in 5 years time, PAS is not that extremist as portrayed by BN, and the Perak Chinese can live happily under PAS just like Kelantan, then LKS can proudly announced that DAP can cooperate with PAS effectively.
For now, he has to draw his line clearly, that he is not supporting PAS that is to show he is true to his words and principles. Or else DAP will abandoned him for MCA and Gerakan and there goes Selangor and Penang. BN is playing so many tricks, issuing statement after statement on racial lines, so LKS has to be on the attack mode to be on the defensive side.
If he cannot maintain his party, how can you expect him to bring his party for form Barisan Rakyat with PAS when the next election arrives? That's our ultimate goal, and that cannot be achieve in a day. A step at a time.
A protest then a gracious acceptance then ultimately an understanding that PAS is not that bad. No race issue here definitely. Religion issues yes, as all the Chinese had with Islam because all common practices of the Chinese (although we know is no good) is a sin in Islam. BN is smart trying to 'melaga-lagakan' the opposition.
Did Harakah condemn LKS yet? Why it didn't? Anwar has been silent because I believe he will do the same if he is in LKS shoe.
I rest my case.
written by ez24get, March 13, 2008 11:55:01
It is the Sultan who made the decision to appoint a PAS MB and you said that Perak voters have been cheated. Are you saying that it is the Perak Sultan who cheated the Perak voters.

How dare you say this to the Sultan! You must immediately withdraw your statement and apologise to the sultan!

You are actually the traitor to the chines community in Malaysia. 50 years have evolved and this is the best change to unshackle the 50 years' chain on all malaysians, the impediments to progress and the source for corruption.

And you sit there not only doing nothing but throwing in a spanner to impede the process of change. All for what? For being a slave to UMNO and get the scraps thrown at you and your brother OKT! All the selfish riches for you and your family but like Zakaria, when you pass on, your name and your future generations will be sullied forever. MCA should be wiped out completely.

What a useless chinese!
written by Raja Gasper, March 13, 2008 12:00:07
MCA Ong Ka Chuan shout shup up his mouth first.By voting for oppositions there
was Deputy Chinese Menteri Besar in Perak now.If Chinese vote for BN MCA there will be NO Chinese Menteri Besar in Perak being awarded from BN then.

Look who is in smart choice of changes.The people or the MCA which performed
wost and yet without shame still speaks proud and behave like gangsters.

The Sultan of Perak should kick out the MCA trouble makers from Perak.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 13, 2008 12:03:19
Enick KC Ong,
Ungkapan awak seolah-olah membantah pilihan Sultan Perak juga.
Kalau YB LKS sudah memohon maaf , sepatutnya awak juga harus mengikut langkah beliau.
Rakyat Perak sudah matang memahami isu2 dalaman negeri serta perpaduan kaum dan sebab kesemua inilah mereka bertindak memilih satu perubahan besar terhadap masa depan semua rakyat Perak.
Kini, siapakah yang membangkitkan isu sedimen perpaduan ? Tolong lihat dekat2 dengan cermin dan tanya diri sendiri soalan ini.
Kenapa tidak mengikut cara Ong KT yang berundur diri serta menolehkan segala tumpuan untuk membaikpulihkan parti MCA. Sebagai Presiden MCA yang telah memberi mandatnya serta pilihannya, bukankah sebagai ahli dalam MT, awak juga harus menyokong pilihan Presiden parti ?
written by Malaysiaku, March 13, 2008 12:10:05
Ong Ka Chuan is a racist. I really pity the people of Tanjong Malim for voting this racist in. The people of Tanjong Malim has been duped to vote for this racist. Perhaps Ka Chuak (Cockroach) is hoping to take over as MCA President by trying to fan racism? Oi Ka Chuak pariah, don't you know that the people has rejected racism you pariah! You should be in ISA. Abdullah, what have you got to say now about your people citing racist remarks or does BN condones this? Cakap tak serupa bikin.
written by Mr Bean, March 13, 2008 12:36:03
Dont try to gain support by being racists, like UMNO style.

Ong Ka Chuan-Dont think Rakyat are sooo stupid and dumb. Rakyat know you and your brother, Ong Ka Ting try to built an Ong Dynasty in MCA.

Ka Ting, last term as President, not seeking a Minister post, instead put Ka Chunan as Minister, to prolong Ong family monopoly in MCA SDN BHD.

There is also a possibility that Ong Ka Chuan is also eyeing the MCA President post after his brother step down!!!

He and Ong family can continue to dream on like Bodowi ZZZZZZZ, in next election Rakyat will definately vote them out because MCA is no longer relevant to Rakyat. MCA is mute, powerless, UMNO running dog WOW WOW, only take care of their Ministers, and now becoming more like UMNO, making racist statements.

Bye Bye MCA and Ong Dynasty in next election.

written by TB Tan, March 13, 2008 12:39:18
Why are we still fighting about the race of the leader? Was it not the aim to promote non-race base governance. Can we not look beyond the race of this man, he is a Malay but more importantly he is a MALAYSIAN. Should we not give him a chance to prove the Sultan's faith in him to lead Perak based on merits and non-race based mindset. It is our responsibility to lead the future generations to live, think and proud to be a MALAYSIAN not by the colour of our skin but on merits that we progress together as a nation for all ANAK MALAYSIA.
written by fireduck, March 13, 2008 12:52:26
I believe that this statement of Ka Chuan will come back to haunt him. It's racist and not sensitive to the rakyat's feelings.
written by nafis, March 13, 2008 12:56:07
I really hope what Timmy wrote is true [and he deserves a big pat on the shoulder for making us see this explosive issue in another light]

However, what the majority of us fear is that the rakyat's mind can be very fickle and very fragile. Worst are the ones depending on the msm. They hear one thing, and their minds are made. And that could translate into votes come next GE. With the onslaught day after day by mcadogs of racist remarks in msm, we could find ourselves back to square one.....*sigh*.....
written by budakindia, March 13, 2008 13:06:48
we have been cheated for the last 50 years! smilies/angry.gif we don't mind another "cheat" by the opposition! smilies/grin.gif anyway it's just for another 4 or 5 years and we decide again! MCA grow up! This will be the trend from now on! We want a good transparent government which you people couldn't do for the last 50 years!
written by Jebat2020, March 13, 2008 13:49:21
Ong Ka Chuan should be ARRESTED FOR RACIAL INSTIGATION OFFENCE.

Please ARREST ONG KA CHUAN NOW!
written by Hope4all, March 13, 2008 13:54:59
Hey Ka Chuan!
You won on Muslim military votes in Tanjung Malim, so cakap besar lah?

This old brand of political trickery from you will pull you down faster than gravity. By the way, you brother should resign, not just declined to get cabinet post!

written by burn22, March 13, 2008 13:55:30
hai si mangkuk ni, ong ka chuak! boleh belah lah lu! buat menyemak je...
nak buat kecoh. setuju dengan komen di atas, should be ARRESTED FOR RACIAL INSTIGATION OFFENCE.
aku malaysian malaysia. darah kito semua semerah!

hidup rakyat!!!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 13, 2008 13:55:59
Ong, you are just a busy-body and an instigator. You have always been a pain-in- the ass in MCA. You are certainly a very desperate person. You have shown the world how low a mentality, narrow-minded, and a lack of maturity...You behave as though you are a born lap-dog for BN!
written by yeechut, March 13, 2008 14:07:47
I feel utterly disgusted by OKC statements. That's precisely the type of mentalities that lost them BIG in this election. A statement like this from the top leader of MCA indicates that they have absolutely no inklings as to why they have lost so badly, and I don’t think there is any future for MCA as such.

What is there being cheated about? Does it really matter which race takes the CM seat? Does it matter that the deputy CM post is not stated in the constitution? His Highness endorsed it, and the rakyat accepted it. Isn’t that enough?

Yes, Lim Kit Siang made an error. This is understandable as DAP and PAS fought BN for 4 decades, and they are in a lot of ways defined by BN racial politics. These are old baggage that need to be shed. But we are no longer defined by the fight, and have moved on to a new chapter. What we see now is that the rakyat, the collective voice of everybody, beyond race and religion, is making the demand for rightness. And Kit Siang is responding to our voices. He owned up to his mistake and made a prompt public apology. Can we ever expect such an apology for any BN leader?
----------------------
The continuation of the "old ways" of doing things, and the persistence in the old habits of mind and life, is producing the current "neighborhood-wars" — as if it were possible to "play it" as in the old days, and expect that, somehow or other, things will work out politically. The "old ways" are no longer applicable. "Tribal" associations — whether religious, national, or racial — no longer have relevance in the now-interconnected state of humankind.

The World-Friend Adi Da
http://www.ispeace723.org/
written by gotsms, March 13, 2008 14:52:08
STUPID SO-CALLED REPRESENTATIVE OF THE CHINESE.

Haven't you realized the very people you said so called to represent after has abandoned you?

We do not welcome racist policies. And doggy styles. And please do not stoke fire.

The rakyat has already spoken. Leave the rest to the Sultan & Raja.

If Lim Kit Siang does not confirm - he will face an uphill task from the very Chinese, Indians, Malays who lent support to DAP.

All must learn: This is people's power. Makkal Sakthi! And people's wishes.

Conform, perform, or you're out!
written by The dragonheart, March 13, 2008 15:03:20
reading the M-T since last night... I can figure out who are more racist than the hatred racist...

many People here seem do not know what is collective decisions, what is undang2 tubuh and when it was legislated, what are Royal protocols, and how DAP can get 18 ADUN seats, and who voted for them ... etc2

Some people see things on the surface on... and they forget that BR won just by slim simple majority...

For me... just shut our mouth and if any dissatisfaction arise, it should be behind doors...and whatever collective decision made, they must explain to the rakyat... but never hammer you partner in front of the public and your enemies..

This will give an advantage to you enemy to convince their supporters who are almost 50% too in strength...

Please don't act stupid...
written by aiyomanaboleh, March 13, 2008 16:10:19
Timmy,

Let's not go into theories and concepts here. Let's do perception.

The first thing that came to mind when the news came was the fear that the ghost of 69 may be resurrected by his statement.

Without going into the history of it, after the palace has announced the decision, LKS issued a statement in his blog not agreeing to it. Now tell me, what will be the first reaction of a fair minded fence sitting voter be over his statement, not to mentioned the die hard DAPs and the Malays and other?. Stunned, dissappointed, let down, betrayed ..... Look at how Perak DAP's chief responded when asked by reporters. But according to your theory, LKS has purposely created this.

You can theoricalise why LKS issued his statement but emotion and fear are something that is not easily erased or set aside when kindled or rekindled here. You agreed when you say "you can't forget immediate PAS Islamic state idealogy ......" so don't expect others to stand to reason though they may be placated later by LKS.

LKS has since apologised to the Sultan but all this apology thing may not be needed if he has only been more objective in his thoughts.

The latest I heard is PKR has said they will pull out of the coalition if allocation of state exco seats are not fairly distributed. Syed Husin Ali also pointed out that allocation of state exco seats should be along racial lines.

Now you see what LKS has done, unnecessary opening up a can of worms.

written by matdeboq, March 13, 2008 16:13:28
I am a Perakian,I do agree with you 'The dragonheart'.
And now RIGHT Now.. There's words going round .encouranging people to demo/voice-up, against Mr.LKS!
written by Leon, March 13, 2008 16:54:18
His statement further confirmed my decision to vote against BN was the right thing to do. There's no place for race-based chauvinists in our country. Even DAP could come to its senses in the eleventh hour to make way for Nizar. Even PAS could drop its religio-centric hardliner stance to make itself relevant to today's society. No doubt BN and its component parties will be rendered obsolete in the very near future.
written by sonofman0, March 13, 2008 17:32:02
This article should never have been displayed on the Malaysia Today website. It should have been given the lowest rating possible and
then discarded as toilet paper.

Bloggers must learn how to recognize thrash and refuse to comment. The only reason I submit this comment is to tell the bloggers this.

It is an insult to the intelligence, judgement and authority of the Regent of Perak.

Are you trying to give the Regent lessons on the Constitution of Perak?

You are the one trying to create political instability with the same old tried and tested "divide and rule" tactic: Muslim vs non-Muslim.

You yourself have admitted that the "Chinese" voted for the DAP to uphold justice. Why? Is it because there was no justice and change was needed.
Did you not notice that Malaysians of ALL RACES voted for the DAP and not just the "Chinese"?

I do not fear Muslims. They are my fellow Malaysians. As long as I respect their culture and belief, why should I fear them?

However, there are those who incite and preach fear. I recognize them. I despise them. I do not fear them. They walk with the evil one.
They are the enemy of all Malaysians!

written by renoir, March 14, 2008 00:09:54
Timmy wrote:
>not supporting PAS that is to show he is true to his words and principles. Or else DAP will abandoned him for MCA and Gerakan and there goes Selangor and Penang. BN is playing so many tricks, issuing statement after statement on racial lines, so LKS has to be on the attack mode to be on the defensive side....Did Harakah condemn LKS yet? Why it didn't? Anwar has been silent because I believe he will do the same if he is in LKS shoe. I rest my case.]]

The problem is that such slimy tactics are what we expect BN to use. Voters have rejected the politics of race, religion, or creed, and politicians must keep up with the people's demands. For that to happen, a new worldview, amounting to a paradigm shift, is needed. And with it a new terminology and approach. DAP, PKR, PAS, with Anwar, LKS, and Nik Aziz, must understand this.

Or the next elections will see BN re-established its hegemony.
written by Ken Liew, March 14, 2008 09:49:31
Dear loser ONG, I think you really ong ong one......

mark my words, DAP is cheating us, is one thing. WE willing to be cheated, is another...... Our main objective is not to vote for BNs. And We did good in it.

Being cheated once, is not stupid.... continuing being cheated by the same person/party, is an ass stupid. HOW many years, or cycle, we have been cheated by BNs??? thats another question.