Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow DAP its own worst enemy

DAP its own worst enemy PDF Print
Thursday, 13 March 2008 02:57

The Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar. The Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar even if that Chinese is from DAP. And the Malays left it entirely to Tuanku to decide if Tuanku wants a Malay or Chinese Menteri Besar, never mind from which political party he may be from.

The last few days, while everyone was still in euphoria and celebrating the recent 'victory' in the 12th general election, a few Malays who can be regarded as from amongst the elite, intellectual, progressive and privileged-class were busy meeting and planning preparations for the next general election due in 2013 if this government goes the full five-year term. Yes, even before the Perak and Selangor state governments could take their oath of office, this handful of people were already hard at work contemplating the next election in five years time though most of these 'concerned' Malays do not even know if they are going to still be alive five years from now.

The plan was simple. Leave PKR to its own devices and allow it to sort out its affairs. After all, PKR has Anwar Ibrahim and who better than this one-time Finance Minister cum Deputy Prime Minister to sort out the party that was born out of his six-year incarceration. DAP and PAS, however, would need some weaning. And they would have to be cajoled and coaxed into a massive image makeover from the present Ketuanan Cina or Chinese chauvinism and Islamic fundamentalist or extremist/Taliban baggage that they are currently carrying.

The make-up of this group of Malays was quite a mixed bag. There were Umno die-hards, civil society movements types, revolutionary wannabes; basically not the usual Malays you would meet in a mosque or government department. But they were Malays and Muslims nevertheless. The only difference about these Malays as opposed to the 'usual' Malays was that they all shared one thing in common -- they would like to see emerge in Malaysia a single 'race' that no longer carried the label of Malay, Chinese and Indian and who were no longer separated by religious differences and intolerance.

I woke up early this morning to start updating Malaysia Today and after a ten-hour stint left for a 6.00pm meeting followed by a dinner appointment. I returned home at 1.00am and thought that I could at last jump into bed and get a good night's sleep. Twenty hours is, after all, a long haul and a 57 year old man like me needs as much beauty sleep as he can get. But sleep eludes me. I have been told that there are problems with forming the Selangor and Perak state governments and the problem appears to be DAP.

There goes our plan of transforming the Chinese face of DAP. There also goes our plan of transforming the Taliban face of PAS. It now looks like we shall have to go back to the drawing board and rethink our entire strategy.

The 'secret agenda' we hatched was to build up a group of Malays who share the same aspirations of seeing a one-Malaysian race emerge from the ashes of Barisan Nasional's 'defeat' in the last general election. Barisan Nasional is about race and was founded on race. It also needs to make race the main issue to stay relevant. If race no longer becomes the issue, then Barisan Nasional becomes irrelevant. And this can only happen if DAP is no longer perceived as a Chinese party and PAS a Taliban party.

It is now past 2.00am and I am still not asleep. I might as well stay awake and make it a 24-hour 'shift'. So, instead of hitting the sack, I am writing this article because if I don't then I can't sleep anyway so it makes no difference.

The PAS problem is simple. We are already talking to various non-Muslim Chinese to moot the idea of them joining PAS. We have of course not spoken to PAS yet so we really don't know if PAS will want non-Muslim Chinese as members. We hope they will though, as this will show the non-Muslims that PAS is not the enemy and that an Islamic party poses no danger to those not of the Muslim faith.

DAP is more dicey. They will of course not turn away Malays, as in the past Malays have even held key positions in the party. The question would be whether DAP would accept Malays as equals the same way they rant and rave that Chinese must be accepted as equals and that there should not be any first-class and second-class citizens. It is easy to dispense medicine but not that easy to take the same medicine you dispense others.

How wonderful to see Indians and Chinese not of the Muslim faith running around in PAS. How equally wonderful to see intellectual, progressive, elite and privileged-class Malays 'infesting' DAP. The mobilising would take over two or three years. Then, in 2010 or so, the exodus of non-Muslim, non-Malays into PAS and the Malays into DAP would commence in time for the next general election in 2012 or 2013. In one swoop, PAS and DAP would be transformed into true multi-racial, multi-religious parties and, together with PKR, Malaysians would have three 'Rakyat Malaysia' parties to choose from.

DAP says, never mind whether it is a black cat or a white cat. The most important thing is that the cat catches the mouse. DAP says, there must be a one-Malaysian race and not Malaysians labelled as Malays, Chinese and Indians. The Malays are ready for this. At least the intellectual, progressive, elite and privileged-class Malays are. And they are also ready to see the end of the New Economic Policy and a policy that considers deserving and needy cases, plus merit, as its replacement.

It takes two hands to clap though. The Malays are ready to take that one step forward. But if DAP keeps taking one step backwards, then that bridge can never be built and the divide will never be eliminated. Why must it always be Malays who are asked to sacrifice? Malays are prepared to sacrifice. But why must it be only the Malays who are asked to sacrifice? Should not nation-building be everyone's duty and not the duty of just one race.

The Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar. The Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar even if that Chinese is from DAP. And the Malays left it entirely to Tuanku to decide if Tuanku wants a Malay or Chinese Menteri Besar, never mind from which political party he may be from. But DAP won't accept a Malay Menteri Besar regardless if the Malay is from DAP, PKR or PAS. It must only be a Malay Menteri Besar who is not from PAS.

DAP says, this is people's power. DAP says, the people are the boss. This has been DAP's rallying call and battle-cry from one election to another. The 2008 general election was about people's power. The people demonstrated who is the boss in the 2008 general election. But DAP does not respect people's power nor regard the people as the boss in its decision to defy Tuanku by boycotting the swearing in of the Perak state government.

Comments (204)Add Comment
written by Dreamlander, March 13, 2008 03:04:07
Mr. Lim Kit Siang
Please be patient. DAP has survived many years under NEP. We cannot dismantle this institutional albatross overnight. Frankly, if DAP is a genuine multi-racial party, it should at least have selected some Malay candidates to stand in the 12th GE. How many Malay candidates did the DAP field? Compare yourself to PKR, which is truly multi-racial. The BA/BR winning Perak is unexpected. If DAP had expected this, then you should have read the state’s constitution in advance and fielded several Malay candidates to anticipate the occurrence of such an event, just in case!!!. Even the threat that the DAP intends to boycott the Perak MB swearing-in ceremony as a protest against the state’s constitution is grossly immature. You know full well that this non-Malay, non-Muslim clause cannot be changed immediately. This lame excuse exposed your ignorance of the Perak’s state constitution. A shocking disclosure from such seasoned (and legally knowledgeable) politicians in the DAP. Since the choice of the MB was decided by the Sultan/Regent of Perak, who are the most legally and scholastically qualified pair of father and son amongst the royalties in Malaysia, the DAP Central Committee has, by its uncalled for action, unwittingly antagonized the most respected royal household in Malaysia. Now that the rakyat have voted you into office, cast aside the politics and get on with the job of administering a state government. You have been given a chance denied DAP for 40 years. Prove to us that you deserve our trust and support. Or is it that 40 years in the OPPOSITION has conditioned all your reflexes? Or perhaps you are really a Trojan Horse or a MOLE???
A Pro-BA/BR Chinese Voter
(I am sad to have to disclose my race to drive this point home)
disagree 23
agree 570
written by Chuan, March 13, 2008 03:10:15
I can't sleep either...
disagree 24
written by johanssm, March 13, 2008 03:21:34
Hell , how to sleep lah...should not read the DAP news.

Anyway i wrote an e mail to DAP HQ , hopes able to brainwash LIM KS.
This is the content
- IMPORTANT message for the attention of Tuan Lim K.S. and Tuan Lim G.E.
Regarding the Perak MB boycott.

Please be advise that life have never been fair , even when DAP managed to get the majority of support , the journey is still unfair. All because of certain race protocols to be a menteri besar.
But at least it is the starting of something.

We as Malaysian have and waited till this day, lets be as real MALAYSIAN and accept the position for the MB by a PAS people with grace and with full honour.

Supporters of DAP and as well as future Malaysian will be able to judge DAP as a fair and progressive party even when the rules are unfair.
"Life is never fair".
Sometimes we have to give the cake to somebody else because of some technicality.
But, the real true is that DAP already won the war!
Issue like this MB is just a small battle.

The real picture is that DAP won the war.
So please do not be bogged down just by a small battle.
I believe my message simple and precise.
We are not barisan nasional, we dont behaves and think like a child.
Please support the MB installation ceremony and sent a sorry note to the sultan for misunderstanding.
Although its not the fault of DAP.
This means we are gentleman to grace wars and battles.

-end-
agree 345
written by mikewang, March 13, 2008 03:23:20
I can't sleep either.
I am utterly disgusted.

Tomorrow, I hope we see better sense from DAP leadership.
If they boycott and slight Tuanku, they will be going downhill ALL THE WAY.
agree 192
written by jocelyn frank, March 13, 2008 03:26:51
I think LKS had too much nightmare with PAS in the past.
The Perak DAP had agreed whoever been chosen,the saying of boycotting of swearing in is LKS own show to the Perak chinese voters and his own movement,the Perak voters want a change,whoever from the opposition to become MB.I beleive that most Perak voters will never support LKS big mouth unmatured talking.
Hidup Rakyat,Hidup Barisan Rakyat.
agree 114
written by kclim, March 13, 2008 03:33:20

I am very disappointed with LKS trying to speak for the rakyat. I am compelled to copy out my comments below from " an open letter to DAP on Perak MB's appointment". Please forgive me as I cannot sleep till I have voiced my feelings on the subject right here in this article.

Barisan Rakyat has finally broken through a seemingly impossible barrier with the 12th GE.
I wish to ask of DAP if prior to the elections, the magical genie asked of DAP if they were to be given Perak with 18 seats plus PKR 7 and PAS 6 seats to form the next government would they accept the condition of a PAS MB. If the answer is yes then so be it . If no then back to the same old BN monkeys. I am sure DAP would gladly agree , as afterall the common foe is BN and there is nothing to lose at all. So why all this nonsense of not attending the swearing in ceremony of so called partners and show utter disrespect to the spirit of barisan rakyat and the Royals of Perak. Did we detect DAP ( Lim Kit Siang ) saying they have not yet agreed on Barisan Rakyat? A bit too late isn’t it now that the honeymoon is over and the baby is on the way.

My dear Mr Lim Kit Siang better beware these are modern times. You are an old man. Times have changed. You need to accommodate others and adapt to the evolving events. I hope you do not adopt the arrogance of the previous government. As surely as the people have given you the chance to serve, the people can withdraw support when the time comes. So please end the squabbling all you guys DAP/PKR/PAS and get down to work. Please do not squander this opportunity as whatever happens in Perak will affect the other states in Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan. You are sitting on a powder keg so please refrain from smoking lest you blow up all those closest to you who matters the most. You have fought a long time we know, please don’t throw it all away because of a miserable MB position which is God’s gift to the people of Malaysia and not DAP alone. Be contented with what is given and greater things will come your way. In due course the time will come when Malaysia shall accept a Malaysian MB. Need I say more ?
agree 278
written by Wudan, March 13, 2008 03:52:39
Morning fellas, same here. I feel like gathering my Malay and Indian friends to drive over to Ngeh Koo Ham's house and stage a silent and peaceful protest in front of his lawn. My friends and I are totally devastated by these developments in the last 72 hours. Lim Kit Siang should be retired like Churchill after the end of WW2. The war has ended and we need new leaders to lead this country.
agree 137
written by Msian 2, March 13, 2008 03:55:56
Not happy with Perak's DAP posturing. The Sultan & the Regent would have thought thru things very carefully and the submission of 3 names is a very noble thing to do, so lets not mess up the BA partnership. The BA partnership has 5 years to do a great job & it is the consultive process/leadership that will make make the difference. PAS has a proven record of fairness in Kelantan & we need them just as much as we dislike BN policies, So lets not be petty. I am a chinese and I admire Perak's royalty for their grasp of things in the country. So lets have an open heart to welcome the new challenges & theres plenty to do. Lets not allow BN to have any opportunities to create problems for the newly form BA.
agree 137
written by Wudan, March 13, 2008 04:00:02
I dread to read Utusan Malaysian headlines later in the morning. How about 'DAP hina dan kurang ajar kepada Sultan Perak?' We already had 'Tiada DEB lagi' yeaterday. Sigh! Lim Kit Siang! Lim Kit Siang! Wei Ser Mok! Wei Ser Mok!Wei Ser Mok!
written by erin, March 13, 2008 04:11:25
U r not alone Pet, I can't sleep too and i believe there are many out there who can't sleep either...

I was about to wrap up earlier tonite due to postpone-laundry, suddenly the article from TheStar pop up at MT and my YM and SMS starts pouring to confirm is that news is TRUE or just another spinning from media.

Then we wonder why Pet didn't put any comment on this until 12am. after 12am only i start hearing some news from Pet. He must be in some important meetings before this, and must not expected this to happen at least not during the honeymoon week.

So, after done with the laundry around 3am plus, i was thinking what's gonna be on tomorrow's headline on mainstream media (printed/electronic)? emm let's check on some updates on the matter and hoping to see a statement "LKS was sorry" or maybe "All Perak Assemblymen will be joining tomorrow's swearing-in ceremony".

Then Pet alert me of this article, he's not yet sleeping at 3:30am. I believe most of the people appreciate your effort, but people like LKS really didn't see things openly (yet). He was waiting for this moment for the entire of his political career, and maybe the feeling of being on top of the state is over whelming himself and that trigger him to come out with such selfish statement.

Until now not even LKS's blog say sorry or any DAP members confirm of joining the ceremony.

Hope when LKS wakes up (if he can sleep, which i think he can't get any beauty sleep either), 1st thing in the morning, he must reverse his statement, and seek for apology from the King of Perak and not to forget, apology from RAKYAT who voted DAP for the sake of BARISAN RAKYAT coalition.

p/s: better later than never
written by bexe, March 13, 2008 04:12:50
If everyone had abdicated their responsibility to appoint the MB and left it to the Sultan; then whatever the result of his appointment, should stand. No more to argue eh? LKS? eh?
written by AhSeng, March 13, 2008 04:16:30
"The Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar. The Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar even if that Chinese is from DAP. And the Malays left it entirely to Tuanku to decide if Tuanku wants a Malay or Chinese Menteri Besar, never mind from which political party he may be from. But DAP won't accept a Malay Menteri Besar regardless if the Malay is from DAP, PKR or PAS. It must only be a Malay Menteri Besar who is not from PAS." RPK

One sided view. Prepared to accept as compares to acceptance after it became a reality is two different thing altogether. But one thing I am quite sure, if the Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar from the DAP, our Tuanku certainly are not prepared for it, at the end we still have a Malay Menteri Besar. How can it ever be proven that the Malay are willing or prepared to accept a Chinese MB even if he is from the DAP? Furthermore, if it was the Malays who are truly prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar from DAP, logically as a gesture of goodwill, they should not be why submitting their candidates in the first place? But in the case of DAP, the party is willing to accept a Malay as Menteri besar from PKR even though DAP has the majority of seats in the DUN. I think we got to be fair and I know it is hard to be fair.
disagree 58
written by fearless, March 13, 2008 04:16:40
Legally and technically, BN shall be the one forming state government in Perak and Selangor.

BN is the majority alliance (officially with SPR) in Selangor and Perak, both Sultans already giving their consent to opposition loose alliance to form government itself is a democratic way.

Don’t blame Perak Sultan is undemocratic to pick PAS candidate because opposition alliance have submitted three candidates in th first place.

Perak Sultan is just exercising his constitutional power to reject DAP candidate. Nothing is undemocratic in this aspect.

DAP can amend state constitution to revoke this clause if DAP can get 2/3 ADUN to support them.

If DAP is upset with Sultan's choice, I will say DAP is the one undemocratic for refusing to accept Sultan constituitonal power given by the Dewan Negeri and rakyat. Besides, they can be labelled "biadab" for disrespecting Sultan.

IF Lim Kit Siang truly believe in democracy and holding principle, the best thing is DAP pulling out from Perak and Selangor government. Let BN forms the Perak government and PKR PAS forms the Selangor government.

Don’t play this sort of emotional trick, DAP is looking bad in the eyes of people.

YB Lim and DAP are loser after this incidence.
disagree 18
agree 114
written by patlu, March 13, 2008 04:19:30
Time we changed the battlefield. Proven yet again coalitions don't work. Out with race, religion, old ways of doing things and "number of seats" politicking. We only want qualified and professional cats to catch mice, move forward put our country back on course, put food on the Malaysian table.

I'll bet the first coalition to merge as ONE PARTY will have the advantage in future General Elections. I'll bet it will attract more professionals from all fields and industries will come forward to chart the way forward, simply because Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia. And that party will have my vote.

Read "The start of a two-party system?" at http://www.malaysia-today.net/...w/4093/84/ I've added my 2-sen there.

Meantime, DAP, please WALK THE TALK. smilies/angry.gif

Sleepless in Malaysia

Pat Lu
written by erin, March 13, 2008 04:22:50
it's 4:30am now
and i think YB Lim Kit Siang should resign.

counting vote:
disagree 24
agree 188
written by doggone, March 13, 2008 04:23:07
Who in their right mind can get off to sound slumber with news like this. The BN medias will have a field day tomorrow and that will take the 40 winks out of us too.

No erection after the election.
Niamah !!!
written by doggone, March 13, 2008 04:25:10
DAP. We want a verbal apology in print !!!
disagree 18
written by doggone, March 13, 2008 04:29:02
D.A.P.
Deflation After Penetration.
disagree 16
written by Jivathma, March 13, 2008 04:33:01
Common Lim, don't bloddy blow all the hard work away. Once you turn off the switch the fan doesn't stop rotating immediately. It take a some time. You supposed to be the wise guy.
written by Wudan, March 13, 2008 04:36:59
Dear Ah Seng and Negerakuku, you two fellas just don't get it, do you? Just wait for the backlash from UMNO, MCA, Gerakan and MIC later. Don't be two lost souls still swimming in a fish bowl years after years. We, the Barisan Rakyat, only got this ONE chance to make it. There is no and we will not get a second chance.
written by renoir, March 13, 2008 04:40:10
This has been a most unhappy day. I phoned up several DAP members and supporters, including those who'd contributed a considerable sum of money to the party, and quite a number disagreed with the decision-makers. I still don't want to say negative things of the party I and my family have supported for so many decades. Suffice to say that it's not without precedent for those who love a party to become determined foes of that very same party.

I understand fears of any form of theocracy - I've spent over half a dozen years warning against that kind of thing. But when the other side has agreed to meet us halfway, it's wrong not to reach out. Ideology can be a strong servant but a bad master, and DAP shouldn't allow itself to be imprisoned by it. For once let politics stop and magnanimity flow. That's the difference between a good leader and a great leader.

I hope some good sense would prevail tomorrow.

written by FFT, March 13, 2008 04:43:28
To understand the magnitude of this situation, you need to simply realize that Kit Siang's little blog outburst has done to UMNO's desire for racial tension the equivalent of putting a bazooka in the hands of a psychotic gorilla. You've just armed the beast.

The only way this affront can be overcome, and at the same time remove the ammunition from UMNO's hands, is to pass a people's motion of no-confidence against Lim Kit Siang. And have that tard step down from his Parliamentary seat.

If timed well, Anwar Ibrahim can contest the resulting by-election for Ipoh Timor.
disagree 16
written by burn22, March 13, 2008 04:43:51
aku tak boleh tidor la...
diharap esok, wakil2 DAP will appear! kalau tak, hancur impian rakyat yang diharap harapkan. MB tak MB, tak mustahak, yang pentingnya, lepas empat lima tahun, apa nak jadi... malaysian malaysia terbarai terus... silap2 esok terbarai dah! cantak!
minta tolong DSAI selesaikan masa'alah diaorang. yang jadi menteri pun orang malaysia! asalkan jangan jadi kaki mat taliban, cukuplah...
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 04:44:11
Negarakuku.

Correction Please !!

BN and not DAP won most seats in Perak - 28
BN not PKR won most seats in Selangor - 20.

So do you still want democratic process ? Then appoint BN MB. God Forbid !!!
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 04:47:10
FFT wrote : "If timed well, Anwar Ibrahim can contest the resulting by-election for Ipoh Timor."

My response :

You think anyone from BA/BR can win any by-election now ?

Dream on !!
written by ucopdublin, March 13, 2008 04:48:30
I believe LKS should immediately resign!!!
disagree 19
written by AlexChong, March 13, 2008 04:50:35
I trust LKS will do the right things for the rakyat today!
written by doggone, March 13, 2008 04:51:20
This website most probably started the tidal wave of change and you Pete helped them all out in their ceramah. This is what they do in return.

I am as 'Cina' as they come and voted for that dickhead Rocket. Please pass me the baton with the word 'CINA BODOH !!!' I need to carry it around for awhile until they apologise. Fark me up when you see me on the road around PJ Selatan. I deserve it.
written by tzarina, March 13, 2008 04:51:26

You may not feel apprehensive about PAS, but many non-Muslims are - like it or not. PAS's image took a severe beating due to their own overly Islamic views on how things should be. Especially the women. We know how fundamentalists tend to perceive women in general. Just because PAS has selected one woman for the Kelantan Exco does not mean that they have suddenly become liberal. Furthermore, we would like to know where PAS stands on the following issues:

- current problem of civil courts clashing with syariah courts?
- current problems of body, baby, wife etc snatching due to claims of apostasy and conversions?
- will fundamentalist Islamic lifestyle such as dressing and segregation between males and females be imposed?
- will national schools and government universities increase or decrease their ever encroaching islamization?

These are just some of the issues that concerns the non-Muslim. It wasn't BN in general that was carrying out these overzealous activities...it was the little Mullahs in the various government departments. Therefore, the ULTIMATE QUESTION here is: will PAS being in power cause these fanatical little Mullahs to feel even more empowered to impose their Talibanistic virtues on the rakyat? Or will PAS tighten the reign on them and allow more freedom of religion and expression in these states?

Even if PAS is not the main party in Perak, the very fact that one of their member is the Menteri Besar does make us shiver a little. Yes, we want to be Anak Bangsa Malaysia. Hell, I will vote for a Malay, Chinese, Indian or African if he or she has progressive plans for our country. But a candidate from an Islamic fundamentalist party is another story. Many voted for PAS simply due to disgust of BN. It doesn't automatically make PAS acceptable.

So, for the love of the country, please get PAS to answer the questions raised here to allay our fears. Especially on how they plan to control the little Mullahs running around as Moral Police, pretending to be teachers and headmasters in national schools, etc...

disagree 30
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 04:55:06
Anak Kampung,

LKS has said there is no alliance/coalition with PAS only with PKR. So in essence there is no BA/BR. So how to compare ???

BN is a proper coalition of all component parties.
written by AhSeng, March 13, 2008 04:55:09
If we are fighting for a true democracy in Malaysia and we have to fear backlash from UMNO and their cronies, I suggest stop fighting and join them! Everyone can talk and everyone can claim they walk the talk. we shall see.
written by smalluncle, March 13, 2008 04:56:33
Mr Lim Kit Siang Sir, sorry for my rude comments in the other 2 earlier MT articles on your decision to boycott the ceremony.
Now at almost 5.00am ( see how many couldn't sleep because of you??? smilies/cheesy.gif ) I have cool down and I suggest, DAP/PKR/PAS must sit down to irons things out closed door. Engage mediator like Our Great Raja Petra if neccessary.
You need to really remove your mental block of being a Cina party. Didn't you get the message fom the Ratyat, its your tagline " we are Malaysian " that win he seats.
Fankly, for Perak state, if you add the BN MP's who are mainly in Malay dominated constituents, come PRU13, Assuming Barisan Rakyat (thats you and the Gang) did an excelence job managing the state, AND rakyat give you 100% win, How many seats can you bag? At most 2 - 3 more and this will likely be the chinese area. your winning seat ratio will certainly not be 18-7-6. It maybe 20-23-15 something like that.
So, please go serve the people first, as its not easy to change rakyat mindset (they are like you and me too). So take you time to work towards a truly Malaysian party. How about recruting more members from other races for a start.
Hope to read about you at the ceremony at Istana later today shaking hand with the new MB of Perak, OK. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Wudan, March 13, 2008 04:56:43
Correction doggone. Bukan Cina Bodoh but Cina DAP Bodoh and I have just met the biggest one.
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 04:57:41
tzarina,

You should have asked all these questions before 8th March. Not afterwards. Now that PAS has helped BA/BR to win seats, you throw all sorts of accusations to them.

Most convenient.
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 05:01:58
Spear Bing,

Do not forget 13 is Pak Lah's lucky number. So let's see what happens on LUCKY 13th March.
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 05:07:20
If all Swearing In ceremonies (Perak & Selangor) and cancelled/postponed tomorrow because of these issues, the people in the MB and SUK's office will be kicking themselves for shredding all those documents.

Now they have to re-build all files, when BN comes back in with their MB sworn in by the Sultans.

After all, if I were the Sultans, why should I appoint an MB from golongan yang kurang ajar, biadab dan menderhaka.
written by Hairy Potter, March 13, 2008 05:07:58
WTF is LKS trying to do? Why agree to sent out 3 names in the first place? If DAP is not prepared to accept an MB from a PAS member, just say it before presenting the list to the palace!

It is very disrespectful to provide the palace with the list and say that you are ready and willing to accept any name selected just to protest after. We don't need this now, LKS. Use your ****ing brains just for this last time, at the very least.

If the 18 reps from DAP were to be absent tomorrow, I hope the Sultan will at least bar all of you from entering his state permanently if he can't bar DAP from having a presence in Perak. Thats the price that you should pay for treating the Sultan without the respect that he is entitled to as the head of state.

You are a disgrace to the Rakyats that has fought the moronic BN.

written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 05:08:12
Sorry meant to say

If all Swearing In ceremonies (Perak & Selangor) are cancelled/postponed tomorrow
written by tzarina, March 13, 2008 05:10:47
To whoisthis,

Sorry, this questions were already asked earlier. No answers were forthcoming. Despite this, lots of Indians and Chinese voted for PAS anyway, because we already experienced what life is under BN. But it does not mean that we are all jolly happy being under PAS also. We are cautious. And it would help if PAS would answer the QUESTIONS. See, questions are not accusations. We just need reassurance. So that we can decide whether to stay in Kedah and Perak, or migrate to Penang.
disagree 20
written by doggone, March 13, 2008 05:11:55
Where the hell were all the other DAP members?
Where were your smart-ass brains when it was needed to stamp out
this pathetic suggestion of non-attendance when it was mooted?
Where the hell were you guys?

Teresa Kok.
Please apologise for those dickheads ASAP.
Save the day, or we won't save you.
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 05:12:48
tzarina,

Then I suggest you read PAS' Election Manifesto on a Caring Government. Your questions will be answered.
written by campuras, March 13, 2008 05:17:12
maybe it is time for LKS and other old poliies from DAP and PAS, to retire and make way for yonger generation with a different views, not corrupted by May 13 or see the world through coloured lens.
written by est, March 13, 2008 05:17:32
DAP

You boycot this swearing in which is constitutional, we will boycot you in the next election. How about this?

written by burn22, March 13, 2008 05:17:57
aku sekor malaysian bodoh!
di harap wakil2 DAP will appear tumolo!
i have faith in YB LKS...

mimpi kot???
written by est, March 13, 2008 05:18:31
LKS

You still want to talk about race? Then your time is up. You are outdated.
written by est, March 13, 2008 05:24:07
DAP

Don't let this victory in the election get into your head. You couldnt have done it alone.

As much as AAB could not have done it alone in 2004 but thought that he and his SIL contributed to the big win in 2004, see what has happened in 2008? He was riding on the bad will of TDM then, but AAB let the win got into his head.

Similarly, DAP didnt get all the votes solely because it was seen as a viable alternative. It rode to a large extent on the bad will of BN. Nevertheless, if you are smart, seize this rare opportunity and prove your worth and stop this I, you and he mentality.
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 05:26:33
Spear Bing, You are really going overboard !!!
written by fearless, March 13, 2008 05:28:33
Lim Kit Siang is big talking on Bangsa Malaysian but his inner heart is still rooted with Chinese chauvinist.

He shall take this golden opportunity to show us that DAP can support PAS candidate irrespective of his race and religion.

I thought this is Malaysia Malaysian he shouted for past 40 years.

DAP only won 18 out of 59 seats, they are neither majority nor most seats winner,

What on earth Sultan shall pick DAP candidate based on the democratic principle?

written by est, March 13, 2008 05:38:44
DAP

Today's call by DAP to boycott swearing in of MB disappoints me deeply. First I thought it was a SPIN. Then I found out that it was on Lim Kit Siang Blog. That angers me a great deal.

LKS, you are outdated. Time to step down or we will bring you down.
written by doggone, March 13, 2008 05:39:09
Look at the number of pissed off bloggers within 2 1/2 hours in the wee hours of the morning and you will know the 'tsunami' of repulsiveness this childish move by the DAP has created.

Aiyah, I will be glued here until I read an apology from them.
Bloody hell !!
written by Spear Bing, March 13, 2008 05:40:15
Dear whoisthis,
Yes I know I am going overboard... never felt like that before. But so is also Kit Siang going overboard by disobying Sultan's wishes.

Its all a question of mindset of Kit Siang. He thinks he represents the Chinese Rights. RPK already repeated many times that PAS cannot and will not demand for an Islamic State because they don't enough quorum to change the Constitution.

The Perak State Exo make up will be the majority of DAP Excos. So what is the problem with a PAS MB?

Don't be too big headed just becauce DAP won so many seats.
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 05:43:52
DAP says they want to introduce elected officials for Local Councils.

Man, I can just see now the infighting and back stabbing that will go on in these Local Council Elections to gain "power" amongst the parties.

If not anything else, we the Rakyat will have an entertaining time the next 4 to 5 years looking at their antics.

Comedy of Errors !!
written by teohchye, March 13, 2008 05:57:09
Bravo, RPK. My sentiments exactly! I think LKS is letting the success of the opposition coalition go to his head. He should not forget that many of the seats DAP won are not because they are DAP but because they are part of the holy trinity of PKR/DAP/PAS. I do not think each of the 3 partners would have done as well if they had gone it alone. PKR would not have done as well; neither would PAS (except maybe in Kelantan) had each of them gone it alone. So, LKS please do not be a wet blanket! It takes the participation of every individual to make a party a success. Do not let this success go to your head. In fact, I am beginning to see some of this arrogance in Junior in Penang. I do not think Koh Tsu Koon was toppled by Ramasamy or DAP; he lost because of the holy trinity! Was it not complacency and arrogance (sprinkled with lots of dumb-ass stupidity) that cost the BN? So think again, LKS.
written by Daryl, March 13, 2008 06:00:46
I am keeping my eyes glue to the LKS situation and I hope he retract his statement. If not GOD BLESS DAP because it will no longer be part of this Barisan Rakyat movement and probably die of a slow death.

WHY WHY are Malaysian politicians so narrow minded. Stop acting like you are power crazy because you do not want DAP legacy to die with Lim's family. Build a party that will be recognized by Malaysian in the history book of Malaysia and not just this five years. REPENT before it is too late..
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 06:03:33
Someone just wrote on LKS's blog

"THE SOLUTION NOW SEEMS TO HAVE A BY ELECTION AND HAVE A MALAY DAP CANDIDATE TO CONTEST , AND LETS SEE THE OUTCOME. AND IF HE WINS, HE CAN BE THE MB."

It will be interesting to see, given the current scenario if a DAP Malay or BN Malay candidate would win.

Not even surprised if PAS would also field a candidate, maybe even a Chinese or Indian candidate.

I repeat.

Comedy of Errors !!
written by Spear Bing, March 13, 2008 06:04:00
Its time to catch 40 winks. Let's hope good sense and sobriety will prevail on the DAP turf. smilies/cool.gif
written by ultra, March 13, 2008 06:04:00
Feel great now huh, Uncle Lim? Feel like an adult now! Go play at the kindergarten with your friends now. Make sure they don't steal your pocket money.

Hypocrites!
written by SCANNERLAMA, March 13, 2008 06:05:08
may be we should tell the king to dissolve the dun.. so we can have perak's state's election... let see if this time around dap can win back those 18 seats by themselves...
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 06:09:57
SCANNERLAMA

Tuanku does not need to dissolve the DUN.

During the 1st session of the new DUN, all BN has to do is pass a motion of no confidence on new MB. They have 28 votes against 31. As has been reminded many times PAS has only 6.

If DAP votes with BN, the DUN will be automatically dissolved due to no confidence in the new govt. If they vote with BA/BR they are screwed.

This is interesting indeed. Dawn of a new era. Politics at its best (or is it worst) in Malaysia.
written by Wudan, March 13, 2008 06:14:45
Uncle 'Old Major' Lim. In all the ceremah I have heard you said,

"Whatever goes upon two legs,is an enemy. Whatever goes upon four legs, or has wings, is a friend. And remember also that in fighting agaisnt Man, we must not come yo resemble him. Even when you have conquered him, do not adopt his vices. No animal must ever live in a house, or sleep in bed, or wear clothes, or drink alcohol, or smoke tobacco, or touch money, or engage in trade. All the habits of Man are evil. And, above all, no animal must ever tyrannize over his own kind. Weak or strong, clever or simple, we are all brothers. No animal must kill any other animal. ALL ANIMAL ARE EQUAL".
written by Palmdoc, March 13, 2008 06:21:10
I agree 100% with you RPK. If there is any hope of forming a 2 party system, a shadow Government of sorts then DAP, PKR and PAS must learn to work together.
I hope LKS has a change of heart. If you preach Bangsa Malaysia, what's your beef? You sound so hypocritical.
I say give the PAS candidate a chance to prove himself.
DAP if you boycott then you alienate alot of us who had so much hope for a better Malaysia.
written by Wudan, March 13, 2008 06:21:33
[to resemble, sleep in a bed.] And I forgot to add you always ended your speech yelling 'Makkal Sakhti! Makkal Sakhti! MAkkal Sakhti!
written by ultra, March 13, 2008 06:27:34
Oh yeah, and another thing. Let's see how this news being splashed on the front page of every newspaper in this country.

Fantastic advertisement!
written by teohchye, March 13, 2008 06:29:38
This is the best showing ever by opposition and it is a good sign! Please do not waste this by this petty squabbling over who gets to eat the drumstick and who gets to eat the parson's nose. I think the opposition's success is largely contributed by DSAI who has played his part very well as a conductor. An orchestra of talented musicians will not be able to perform well as a group without a good conductor; neither will a talented conductor perform well without good musicians. So please LKS, let DSAI be the conductor and all the rest be musicians for now. Too many cooks will spoil the broth.
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 06:31:51
tzarina,

To a certain degree PAS had already implemented part of their Caring Govt when they were ruling Terengganu.

For example, students were given scholarship for overseas and local university studies. Zero percent loans for Govt servant. Free medical services by their doctors, abolishing Quit rent and Tol and many more.

But all that people remembered were Hudud and Qisas. That shows the power of negative reporting by the mainstream media.
written by FFT, March 13, 2008 06:35:33
All of you DAP supporters who are arguing for Kit Siang's principles are still missing the point. There is one very crucial reason that the Perak Regent picked an MB from PAS...but many of you miss it, even the ones bashing Kit Siang.

Take a moment to ponder who a well-known, infamous figure from Perak is and you will know why the appointment of a PAS MB is a stroke of genius.

I believe Raja Nazrin and his father are skilled chess players.

Kit Siang and Co. should just stick to playing dumb.
written by whoisthis, March 13, 2008 06:39:00
To me what BA/BR should be concentrating on right now is how to serve the people.

There are people in their states who are below the poverty line, there are people without housing, food, clothings, education, water, electricity, telephones and the list goes on and on.

I do not for 1 minute believe that Ah Chong, Ali or Maniam who cannot feed his family tonight cares a F*** who the MB is.

He will want to know how this MB will put food on his plate.

It is so pathetic that you think that you are the most important people in Malaysia today.

Just 2 days ago I read a statement/remark by a DAP MP "Do not call me YB"

I must have misread. "DO NOT CALL ME YB, for I WANT TO BE YAB"
written by Michael Sun, March 13, 2008 06:45:38
Just like you Pete, I was awake whole night.

LATEST: I heard that DAP has reversed its decision to boycott the swearing-in of the Perak MB on Thursday. Too late now. The mainstream press has already gone on overdrive.

HOT NEWS: PKR has withdrawn from the coalition in Perak.

That means BN will form a minority government in Perak.

PETE- I agree with you that DAP under the powerful influence of Kit Siang is its own worst enemy. Kit Siang being an elder should be more cool, calm and collected. Maybe the recent election successes have gone into his head.

Kit Siang has been an Opposition leader almost all his life and knows only three things - oppose, oppose and oppose. Kit Siang forgot that DAP is NOT the opposition in Perak and he has to behave like a statesman not an oppositionist. When victorious, be magniminous and "kill" with your kindness.

It is better that DAP becomes the kingmaker in Perak rather than be the king. He should read the Sun Tzu - Art of War again. Granted Kit Siang has done a lot for being the "voice of democracy" in Malaysia, but his shelf life has now expired. Let his son Guan Eng truly takes over and he gets a new DAP advisor.

Perhaps his son now can recommend that Lim Kit Siang receives a "Datukship" from Penang and he can retire and start writing his memoirs, "How I conquered Penang"
or "How I stopped the Green Crescent in Malaysia"

Let's hope for a better Malaysia through better new leaders in tune with the X and Y generations.
written by est, March 13, 2008 07:07:24
For a newbie to err in a press statement, I can understand. For LKS to say he erred in a press statement, that is unforgiveable. Are you telling me that you 30-40 years experience in politics is indeed not experience at all? Are you telling me that your 30-40 years is 1 month repeated over the entire period? Cut out all those crap about boycotting!
written by Wolzard, March 13, 2008 07:12:04
FFT says:
"All of you DAP supporters who are arguing for Kit Siang's principles are still missing the point. There is one very crucial reason that the Perak Regent picked an MB from PAS...but many of you miss it, even the ones bashing Kit Siang.

Take a moment to ponder who a well-known, infamous figure from Perak is and you will know why the appointment of a PAS MB is a stroke of genius."

I say:
"Honourable FFT, Well spoken! Nevertheless I do not know the answer at all as to who that well-known, infamous figure from Perak is...Please enlighten me!"
written by est, March 13, 2008 07:13:13
LKS

You think you are very smart about calling the boycotting? You have just proven that the Sultan of Perak has just made the right decision in seeing you through.
written by est, March 13, 2008 07:16:28
LKS

I am sad that after 40 years, you are still such an amateur. Don't have to say anything about you. Just make a decision that your paradigm and your true color will come out. Ha ha!
written by Dominic Kok, March 13, 2008 07:19:13
tzarina,
Do you realize that in the euphoria of lambasting LKS, we have forgotten that basically a lot of non-muslims do have deep reservations towards PAS. But recognize that too that in the spirit for the need to work together, it is not of utmost importance, the priorities of setting up governance is primary.
RPK had mentioned in his ceramah and SpearBing has echo that in his 0540hrs reply that PAS does not have the quorum to make the changes at whim. Nizar is appointed the leader of that council that is supposed to look after the state of Perak and that council will/should be made up of DAP and PKR. Unless the DAP is left out completely from the council and only PAS & PKR makes up the numbers, then DAP must do what it needs to do.
Otherwise in the spirit of cooperation, LKS has erred and created a very very sad and disappointing decision to all who had held the Bangsa Malaysia theme close to heart. He not only has let his private opinion of the Royalty be made known but has also let Ngeh down by embarrassing Ngeh publicly. Ngeh is the leader of DAP for the state of Perak, had voiced cooperation regardless of the Sultan's choice, while LKS is a parlimentarian rep., but in his arrogance he has put his foot in his mouth. His authoritarian arrogance sometimes knows no bounds and his outburst should bring to attention that it had a place sometime ago but might be 'outdated' now.
He sounds very much like Mahathir and they do share a lot in common after dancing with each other for so long, he misses his sparring/dancing mate. Maybe it is time to step aside for others to helm the ship.
It is heartening to see that so many concern ppl cannot sleep because of this, where in fact LKS should be the one who should be awake responding like mad to our grievances. I, from the otherside of the globe felt sick in my stomach when the news flash came in.
DKFC

p/s Looks like I took too long in composing my thoughts...
written by asatec, March 13, 2008 07:19:41
Tell DAP that they must attend the Perak MB swearing in ceremony.
I am from PJ Utara,voted for DAP,just because there were two signs on the ballot papers .
Please remind DAP that,be humble and work closely with PAS and PKR.
If DAP shows its cockiness at this early stage of victory,4 years later,some honest,learned and intellecture,or someone like RPK,Bakri Musa, will stand as Independent in PJ Utara.The vote will definitely swing.
written by Ckchew, March 13, 2008 07:25:12
it's high time to merge all 3 opposition parties & leave behind all those stupid public spat behind.

that's the only thing that could bring us & all malaysian forward.

written by harrbm, March 13, 2008 07:30:42
I do not agree but i accept it.
This should be the chivalry spirit of DAP WARRIORS
and the those who broke down the wall of racial divide.

I am a Malaysian.
written by jingoza, March 13, 2008 07:44:51
lks is creating real shit out of his 'ego' or pas bashing/hatred which he has had for a long time ! come on lks be a responsible leader after all the support from all malaysians to vote & except dap even knowing how chauvinist you are ! you and you're stuborn head will give good ammunition to fallen bn to screw barisan rakyat ! think again lks smilies/angry.gif don't make malays hate dap after accepting them as brothers smilies/sad.gif
written by sheppardlight, March 13, 2008 07:46:56
when i saw the news from mainstrean DAP to boycot the ceremony i thought it was the usual lie from them. how can we then trust DAP PKR PAS to run the country? belum apa-apa lagi sudah ada problem. so stupid.

or maybe LKS was offered the RM10m?
written by est, March 13, 2008 07:49:06
It is indeed wise to make PAS the MB being the smallest in the coalition. Why? The voice of the majority is already in the legislature. The leader of the pack if it comes from the smaller component will ensure that the voice of the smallest component is not drowned. I think it is equitable in that it brings about some check and balance in itself. This is what democracy is all about.

We see 50 years of one big party drowning the voice of everyone. Now, why can't we explore another formula?
written by temanmu, March 13, 2008 07:59:23
DAP will turn up after all, lah!

written by Bill Gates, March 13, 2008 08:00:52
I am a Malaysian Chinese and am looking forward to be called a plain Malaysian. The issue of the 12th GE is about smashing UMNO's politcal hegemony so that we are able to form a Malaysian Malaysia. In one of Kit Siang's ceramah. he has said that the opposition will be able to deny BN a 2/3 majority with DAP, PKR and PAS winning at least 25 seats each. And he is quick to dissociate himself from PAS fearing backlash from the chinese community.

Kit Siang should be prepared to eat his humble pie. I understand that it is a matter of principle that LKS has to reject PAS as he did not want to be associated with PAS. But in reality many chinese did vote for any opposition because a vote for opposition is a vote against UMNO. Didn't we all say so? Check all my posting in this blog and I believe the chinese,the malays and the indians have done that too.

AS what YM Pete said, we should all throw away our old perception of DAP being a chinese party and PAS a taliban party. Pas has demonstrated it is changing. What we read about Pas in the paper are all spin up stories. I do not think many people started to question about DAP-PAS relationship except for the idiotic Ong Kah Chuan.

Come on DAP, doesn;t matter if there is a temporary setback and backlash from the chinese community, but we all have to respect the decision of the Sultan.

Give Nizar a chance to performa and I believe he will be accpeted by all races in no time just like Nik Aziz in Kelantan. Since DAP has been given more say to run the Perak's government, then take the opportunity to prove that you are no longer a race based party and if you perform to the people's expectation you will win admiration both from within and without.

I have voted LKS and team in Ipoh Timor and I want to make my stand clear that I will support a Malay even though he is from PAS to become the new MB of Perak.
written by teohchye, March 13, 2008 08:04:25
LKS, please face the reality of the situation in Perak which is not like Penang where the coalition has a two-thirds majority. The 3-seat majority in Perak meant that only 2 DUNs, whether from PAS, PKR or DAP need to defect and, voila!, you have handed the state back to BN. Please think before you destroy the people's trust and the mandate which everyone fought so hard for.
written by est, March 13, 2008 08:05:50
Democracy is about giving a voice to everyone. Looking at the composition in Perak - DAP 18, PAS 6, PKR 5, it is an objective choice. Don't get clouded by DAP having 18.

DAP, you may be having 18 but the State Constitution has to be respected. If you can't produce the person that fit the bill of the State Constitution then it goes to the next. And the next is PAS having 6. It is an obvious choice.

So DAP, don't twist things any further. If your coalition don't work, the next in line is BN with 27 intact. DAP, PAS and PKR - I would think you guys have been given a very good chance to prove yourself and if you cannot recognise this opportunity, then you are not worth the salt.
written by teohchye, March 13, 2008 08:11:39
Even if DAP state DUN Ngeh Koo Ham had made a mistake of not getting DAP national leadership approval, it is now the duty of the national leadership to support him. If not, then it would not reflect well on the Perak DAP state leadership. It will also not be unimaginable to see defections to BN from anyone in the PKR/DAP/PAS coalition.
written by laziramsi, March 13, 2008 08:12:52
LKS,
For the first time in my life, I realised that the UMNO's were right about you. What you preach all these time are BULLS##T. Maybe you should resign, for the sake of DAP's future. Like AAB should resign for the future of UMNO.
written by nafis, March 13, 2008 08:13:15
I can see tajol rosli smiling .........S-H-I-I-T-T

Kit siang, ARE YOU HAPPY NOW?

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH,KAPISCH???!!!

GROW UP, OLD MAN! smilies/angry.gif

let me say this : You are the TROJAN HORSE that RPK had written about. "Bangsa Malaysia" konon.....
written by choong, March 13, 2008 08:13:27
Dear YM RPK,

Now that PKR emerged as a viable multi-racial and religion party, I have no more qualms in rejecting DAP if they continue with this kind of rhetoric.

With relatives like this, I don't see why DAP has to worry about political enemies like BN.
written by rayfire, March 13, 2008 08:15:36
smilies/shocked.gif
Oh Dear, I thought it was unilaterally agreed that Sultan be given the priority to choose the Menteri Besar.
Why objection was not stated earlier and only now after the Sultan has chosen the most suitable candidate in his view??
Please YB LKS , I sincerely hope you will give this person a chance to prove his worth.
I am sure, Perak Sultan has chosen this person over other candidates for a good reason, which is not purely on race or religion.
He is an engineer by profession and looks like an approachable person, who has given guarantee that he will look after the welfare of the whole community!
So why not give him the chance?
Does it matter what race or party that person belong to as long as he is able to do the job well, I think we should be happy.
Please remember, the rakyat who is the boss must be happy and comfortable wit the chosen candidate.
Now is not about party anymore, it is about the "forming a state government" , many things should be considered!
It does not reflect well on DAP to protest now once the decision is made by the Sultan.
Ngeh did say it is up to the Sultan to decide , and now that he has decided ,we should respect that decision.

So I sincerely hope you could calm down ,discuss it out as we need to maintain the synergy of the barisan rakyat spirit on to achieve great victory for Malaysians as a whole.

Please revert your decision and take heed of the Sultan's decision and rakyats aspiration, put people before the party! Don't make the same mistake as BN.

Remember, people are watching, and people have chosen not only because they trust barisan rakyat but mainly due to their profound hatred against BN.

Use this opportunity to do good.

Even if PAS leader leads, decision is to be made by all excos.
So it is not a big lost.

Hope my humble request is accepted by YB LKS and DAP supporters!

Let's make Malaysians Malaysia work!
written by doggone, March 13, 2008 08:22:55
LKS, please post an apology and your course of action regarding this issue.
You really need to pacify the nation before this turns sour.
I have been up without sleep hoping to hear some announcement from you.
I am tired man, real tired.
written by confuseus, March 13, 2008 08:24:14
Confuseus has whacked LKS before and he will now whack him again.
Stupid, Stupid, Stupid, LKS. The arrogance has gone to this old man head!!
The requirements is in the State Constitution, you stupid old c—-k and you cannot change the constitution overnight like what BN has done many times before.
This is the problem when you have no experience and track records in handling power and LKS has none, zilch, anande, hammada !!!
BA needs an ombudsman or an arbitrator NOW or they can kiss the power goodbye!!
Democracy is SECULARISM!!!!!
written by grant, March 13, 2008 08:27:19
If the Opposition pact breaks down it is all because of the Face Value Greedy Bastards from DAP.. I said so.. Chinese are stupid! So is DAP.. esp LKS!
written by Atheist, March 13, 2008 08:27:49
like it says ... no holds barred!!

I think even RPK will come to appreciate my father's wisdom. He said .... this country is better off being run by Malays than the Chinese.

I have come to believe that the meanest Malay may help you one day than the nicest Chinese ... from personal experience!!!

Therefore, circumstances has allowed to show what is truely wrong with this country. DAP has shown it 'true' colours by signing something and not agreeing to it due to 'kiasu' and 'kiasi' mentality.

The Sultan, by tradition and state of mind, expects to see a Malay MB ... for that matter of fact .... so do I. Else, I could also be imaginative and see a Chinese Sultan as well. This is how well The Chinese have adopted the Arab and the Camel story.

The 'show' in Penang is expected within the Chinese realm and the fact that the new broom sweeps well. But then again, how long will the broom remain 'new' ????

The Chinese will say anything, do anything and etc while you have something that they need. After that ... you might be worse than a second class citizen. At present, they want money and lots of it, after capturing 5 'rich' states. Explains the meeting with PM on the Petronas kitty ... doesn't it.

The question is ..... So how do we solve this problem ??? But ...... that is another story .... for another time .... yet to come !!!!!!
written by Hope4all, March 13, 2008 08:30:30
I want this opposition coalition to work, and work for the long term. So make it work!

Even now, BN is not stopping to stir fear through through the control of mainstream media.

LKS, are you BN's last hope??
written by Jivathma, March 13, 2008 08:32:49
Dear Everybody,

I fully agree with the writer and I am a Malaysian Indian, now residing in the UK. PLEASE GO TO THE DAP WEBSITE AND LET THEM KNOW OUR DISSATISFACTION ON THEIR FEEDBACK COLUMN. I have done. I am really upset with LKS.
written by Jengking, March 13, 2008 08:32:59
Say whatever good things about DAP,its all about POWER.DAP ke, UMNO ke, Ape-ape saje, Its POWER that the are going after, not the welfare of the nation. DAP is showing its true colours now. Suggest PAS to breakaway from the PERAK Coalition and join up with UMNO to form the state Government. Teach this greedy chauvinistic LKS a lesson.
written by Rundukon, March 13, 2008 08:34:41
I dread to think of PAS leaving the BA!
written by indianputra, March 13, 2008 08:35:51
Lim Kit Siang, YOU ARE AGAIN IRRITATING THE RAKYAT with your statements. PAS, DAP and PKR asked His Royal Highness to make a choice. HE DID and why are you now causing problems?

Sometimes age brings in senility. Understand that.. Let the youngsters WHO HAD BEEN ELECTED BY THE RAKYAT lead Perak and why don't you just SHUT UP!!!

Indians and majority of the Chinese in Perak have ACCEPTED PAS and that includes the UMNO members in Perak.

LKS, don't let US LOOSE RESPECT FOR YOU.. Play the game, be a nice. Be the mentor for whoever are the current and future leaders. Assist them to be better leaders than what BN dished out to us over 50 years.
written by armyofgod, March 13, 2008 08:36:03
LKS...apologized dude. Shame on u...i wonder what will happen to this country if u elected the next PM...now i can imagine...consider my last vote as haram... smilies/tongue.gif
written by ahkok, March 13, 2008 08:36:25
with DAP acting this way right after winning Perak... Heck, I am in Uncle Lim's constituency and I am not going to side his this time.
PKR has Anwar who was Finance Minister and DPM so he is proven that he knows how to handle the economy of the country and of course state is not a problem.
PAS has been controlling Kelantan for so many years and they have proven that they can turn around the country from full of debt to cleared without any support from the federal gov.
DAP is unproven and yet they are shouting and ranting about how they should be given the MB's post. why not learn from PKR and PAS first before you try to run. In your own words, if it is a cat that can catch the mouse then it is a good cat.
written by Rundukon, March 13, 2008 08:38:47
I dread to think LKS was offered RM100million to make such statement!
written by Wisdom above, March 13, 2008 08:39:13
Dear RPK, you explained correctly & explicitly.

1)written by tzarina, March 13, 2008 | 04:51:26 RPK,
You may not feel apprehensive about PAS, but many non-Muslims are - like it or not. PAS's image took a severe beating due to their own overly Islamic views on how things should be.

2).. RPK already repeated many times that PAS cannot and will not demand for an Islamic State because they don't enough quorum to change the Constitution.

3)Its all a question of mindset of Kit Siang. ( DAP its own worst enemy )

I read for past 3 weeks & I perceived that YB LKS do not quite grasped the spirit of ' Barisan Rakyat '.

4)I hoped all parties DAP,PKR,PAS ,their State Representatives & MPs have read the all the comments & views of the 'common man '. People's Voice.

5)written by FFT, March 13, 2008 | 06:35:33
..There is one very crucial reason that the Perak Regent picked an MB from PAS...

..Take a moment to ponder who a well-known, infamous figure from Perak is and you will know why the appointment of a PAS MB is a stroke of genius.

..I believe Raja Nazrin and his father are skilled chess players.

6) His Royal Highness has exercised his prerogative to pick a MB he is most 'comfortable' with. RPK will know what this is.

7)MB must be someone who can handle official protocols. Only an ex-Civil servant will appreciate the diversity & royal palace protocols of a MB.

smilies/cool.gifIt is my humble opinion, His Royal Highness has chosed PAS nominee because,

a)Nizar, 51, is a professionals who made it to the top echelon of the PAS leadership in the state.

b)An engineer who obtained his degree from United Kingdom’s Aston University of Science and Technology in Birmingham,

c) Nizar was highly respected for being a Quran reading champion.

d)“He is the religious type and a successful businessman,”

9)I also believed PKR leadership was disappointed too. PKR do not speak to the press is a very wise move.

10) You may not feel apprehensive about PAS, but many non-Muslims are - like it or not. DAP leadership has this deep ' apprehension'.

11) Before & even after elections, MCA, GERAKAN always hit out at DAP & PKR(cina members) for having a 'PACT' with PAS.

12) See how MCA Ong Ka Chuan hit out at Chinese voters last few days, who voted for PKR & PAS.

13) MIC instill fear & called the Indians as 'traitors' to vote for DAP,PKR,PAS.

14) DAP has apprehension & merely expressed negative cognitive views.

I believed all events will go well with DAP in due time.

I have not heard what DSAI have to say about this yet. Will comment later.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

written by PHUKETBOY, March 13, 2008 08:42:56
Dear Khun pete,
All you effort, tired nights and unwavering support to the 3 Parties have now come to a complete standstill. I have never voted for the Opposition except this time. Could you please tell those especially KS to come down from the Arrogrant Platform and face reality, if not, The next Tsunami will hit his party ONLY.
I laud your strength and only you now could stop this stupid boycott.
Watdee Khrab !
written by cble, March 13, 2008 08:42:58
Kesimpulanya mungkin juga LKS sudah mulai nyanyuk sama seperti Tun. Faktor umur juga mesti diambilkira. Jalan keluar LGE seharus meminta bapanya bersara sahaja daripada terlalu aktif sangat dalam permainan politik ini hingga menyebabkan BN akan berkuasa semula di Perak.
written by bumi non malay, March 13, 2008 08:46:01
haiya all of you missing the Principle Point I was talking about!!

If Malaysia is ever going to accept the minority ruling over the majority....this Stroke of Genius decision (as FFT) put it, is meant to open your minds and heart come 2012, 2018....When Nazrin Shah is the Next Agong....May even select a Chinese or Indian as PRIME MINISTER of MALAYSIA!!! Get ready for the Revolution of Mind Set and paradigm shift from PERAK Sultan!!

Minority ruling over majority is GOOD. He/She will work hard to prove their worthiness!!

To digress a bit, spare a thought for the PKR Rep ("kecewa" is an understatement, lets hope he does not jump ship because of this for $10 million today)that was recomended but not selected after all PKR won #2 amount of seats. PAS #3.

In Sultan Perak case, last becomes first, minority people/groups/weak are in the back of his mind all the time. Still cannot see it? His Principle have always been the same...does not matter in Parliament, cabinet, rakyat. Poor, disadvantage, minority has been the Sultan #1 concern. Next time when DAP is the minor party and he get selected as MB over PAS & PKR in Perak....what say you?

All Focus on LKS, never on the PAS person or PKR person that was rejected. So if LKS cannot make it there means CHINESE HINA Sultan Perak..... So the media wants all Malaysia to conclude.....Grow UP!!...the new Dawn has arrived!!

So before you jump into the Rhetoric of Raja Petra and his I(LKS)smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif....think about the Principle thing!!

Lastly All is well, Nizar of PAS will be MB....may even be a DAP memeber before the swearing. Will that appease the Gods of Racism inside you??

As the dust settles....the 2 other Deputy MB, one Cina, one Keling (since you guys still want to fan racist stuff), will be ACTING MB when Nazir goes on leave.

So That means Indian Chinese Malay will have CHANCE to be MB in PERAK during this 5 years for several times. Think about it!!...fulfill criteria of all race being MB...ha ha ha ha...DAULAT TUANKU x 1000!!!smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

WIN-WIN for people of PERAK.......Never in the History of Malaysia apart from now will we have chance to see Indian MB or Chinese MB but in Perak!! Daulat Tuanku!!Daulat Tuanku!!

p.s MB ..... name only..like datuk, tun, tan sri...........Its the Principle that matters!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

p.s.s ...All this Hina Sultan just Crap. We all know MB of Trengganu & Perlis Hina the Sultan there for not turning up in the swearing in but meeting UMNO-KL for May 13 planning work shop. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

The Real REAL Problem UMNO-BN don't want Malaysian to know is the meeting of Anwar and Ku Li lately...........just chit chat........enough Fear to send those BN components leaders to reject cabinet position......la la la....its a beautiful day for swearing in of MB Perak too!!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif

Is this worthy to be publish under Surat/Letter??? smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Rundukon, March 13, 2008 08:49:29
I am starting to believe LKS was offered RM100million to make such statement! Or perhaps RM250million!
written by malaysianohope, March 13, 2008 08:52:31
G'day Pete,

Let's analyse how Tuanku could have decided on the 3 candidates put forward:

PKR- First term assemblyman, too green

DAP- Not ideal due to race factor

PAS- Race and Seniority

So the obvious choice is PAS although I hope one day they should do away with the only race factor. So LKS and everyone chill out and accept Tuanku's decision with magnanimity and focus on the future.
written by notsosmart, March 13, 2008 09:04:45
LKS, like TDM are now irrelevant. They are from the old era of racist ideology. LKS should step down from the premiership. Let the young blood run the country.

It is irrelevant who will run the state gomen, PAS..DAP..PKR.. as long as the interest of all the rakyat are protected. This was the struggle behind this 12th GE. Hence LKS should withdraw his statement and makes a new open declaration.

Whatever are the outcomes, we all will continue to support the BA/BR parties. Let this internal issue be resolved soon. We are not going to let the condemned BN taking this opportunity to return to power. Unless LKS has his mind intoxicated TDM. If so, then he should immediately resign from DAP.

written by educationist, March 13, 2008 09:04:46
RPK you have spoken well, loud and clear for all of us Malaysians who voted to give the opposition a chance. PKR started it at Kedah by rejecting PAS nomination of the sole DAP ADUN as an exco member. DAP missed the chance to be magnaminous by not appointing the sole PAS ADUN in Penang to the EXco. Perak DAP showed the Malaysian spirit bt accepting PAS Nazir as MB. But now comes our lord of the opposition LKS declaring a boycott. We cannot force him to listen to us but DAP needs to face us in 5 years time and we'll remember who it was that caused the opposition to unravel, and so soon after the elections!!
written by gyshow, March 13, 2008 09:07:37
Dear Raja Petra

I am a Chinese from Perak and I fully supported your idea of a Malaysian race. I'm shocked to learn that DAP is going to boygott the Menteri Besar from PAS. My thought is as long as he has good quality, integrity, and implement good policy for the state and fair to all races, I don't care what color and religion he is from. Come on LKS, DAP had to change to a real multi racial party and uphold your Bangsa Malaysia spirit. We can vote you in this time and we will vote you out next time if you don't change
written by back2future, March 13, 2008 09:18:17
dear all , LKS have no choice but to make this remarks , coz he dont want the chinese in ipoh to feel cheated by having a pas as a mentri besar , u can c , now the ong kacau already make this an issue , deep in LKS heart he really dont want to make this statement ...... is a thought decision to make , coz to chinese if pas take over , they will be ban here and there for beer and so on ,thats wat in their mind ..... but i beleive the DAP will attend the ceremony coz we all respect the sultan ... no matter wat his decision is , just we do care for who the voters also. eventually i beleive all will understand and the barisan rakyat will go forward ..... dont worry anwar is there to mend things .
written by glock17, March 13, 2008 09:20:34

I agreed with yur concerned that the crack in Barisan Rakyat have started. I am with you of the ideal political party that have Chinese protecting the Malays, Malays protecting the Chinese, and not to forget Malay/Chinese protecting the Indians or vice versa.

However, LKS is still in his euphoric state of jubiliant seing his son swearing in Penang. Yes, DAP has got the majority seats but they need to have PAS participation or representative as MB as a tactical cloak should Umnoputras goverment machinery starts using racial tone to counterback the Malays.

If LKS still cannot understand the importance of this strategy, it would be good if he switches back his parliamentary to Penang.

As for DAP/PKR Perak bravo for for standing up by yourself. Do the decision that is best for Perak and the whole Opposition Coalition.

There are a lot of chanllenges ahead and I kid you not....welcome to the reality political world of illusions !!!

Glock17
written by emcube, March 13, 2008 09:25:59
I'm a PAS supporter and i supported DAP in the 12th GE. PAS members were seen helping DAP candidates in their campaign. Now LKS said no coalition with PAS only PKR. I felt cheated and LKS (DAP) is not getting my vote or anyone else i can convince in the future unless LKS/DAP changes its stand towards PAS. PAS governs fairly for all as proven in Kelantan and will be proven again in Kedah. I have my trust in them. If they are proven to be deviating from their own Islamic teachings ie to be fair to all regardless of races or religions, then we remove them. Rakyat with the help of BN and other parties are ever willing to do this.

Live to your own saying: "doesnt matter if the cat is white or black as long the cat catches a mouse." The Sultan has made his choice. Just accept it or your are insulting the Sultan, the Malays Ruler. You are not sensitive to the Malays and you expect PAS and Malays to be sensitive to you??. That is very unbecoming of an elderly and seasoned politicians like you.

I thought that PAS, PKR and DAP are all bound to the Manifesto Rakyat. But i have not seen a firm commitment from DAP to this. Maybe DAP has ulterior motives/different agenda for this country.

I would like to suggest that next GE, leave DAP out of BR unless they change their attitudes towards PAS/Malays while PAS/Malays attitudes are already changing towards DAP for a better Malaysia. Leave them out of BR and lets see if they can garner the same number of votes and seats. Impossible DAP could have won so many State seats if not for the BR where PAS is also contributing.

Better still DAP should remove LKS and Karpal and replaced with a better forward looking leaders. They are too old to change. Their mind set fixed and having a mental blocked problem.
written by hiro, March 13, 2008 09:26:05
Dear readers of Malaysia Today, I think we must not jump in and straight away condemn Kit Siang if what was shown on his blog is the true intent of DAP CEC and not some hacker trying to drive a wedge within the Opposition coalition, which serves the best interest of people like Ong Ka Chuan only.

It could have been a case of miscommunication and misunderstanding between the central leadership and state leadership AND NOT A CASE OF RENEGING ON THEIR PROMISE. In any event, the top party leadership should sit down and sort this out and make an announcement.

Obviously, if the good will of the Oppposition coalition is by and large intact, which it should be (!) considering it's been just 4 days since they win popular vote in Peninsular Malaysia, this problem can be peacefully resolved.

By political convention, the Sultan ought to give weight to the biggest winner of the state to be MB. It is only if DAP chooses to defer to the people, then another from PKR or PAS is chosen. But if DAP has made it clear that it won't have PAS, then I think the right choice is PKR, because DAP has to think of its constituency as well - which includes not only the Chinese but also Malays and Indians (more of which voted for DAP instead of PAS/PKR for reasons which we must appreciate). I think the primary concern is that the Opposition has not worked out a formal coalition yet and so it must not be seen that Perak is putting the cart before the horse. You must understand that DAP and PAS did not have a formal arrangement and that was how it was represented to the rakyat.
written by Mr Smith, March 13, 2008 09:28:23
I think Kit Siang is main wayang as he does not want to be seen as colluding with PAS. After getting the feed back from the Chinese I am sure he will agree to this appointment.
Kit is NOT against any Malay as he accepted PKR to fill the post but dooes not agree to a PAS MB.
All I can say now is GIVE THIS PAS MB A CHANCE.
written by tmf, March 13, 2008 09:29:01
Let DAP protest if thats what they want to do, althogh the timing and circumstances clearly indicate that they should not. Boycotting the swearing in of their strategic partner is rather rude and politically unwise.

It is now up to PAS to prove that their Welfare State is beneficial to all Malaysian and let DAP and all other sceptics be convinced that PAS can be fair and effective.

DAP can voice their stand but DAP should also pledge that once decided, all support must be given to the new state administration to ensure they do not let the people down.

The urgent task now is for PKR, DAP and PAS to merge into a formal structure with an agreed common agenda for the nation, endorsed by Malaysians. Respective roles and responsibilities can then be clearly defined and the coalition can then move on to the next election with confidence.

written by East Highlander, March 13, 2008 09:31:25
Lim Kit Siang, as you so stupid to think DAP won big in Perak becasue they are so popular! On the contrary DAP won big becuase of the people's hatred towards the BN. So keep your big ego in check and your big mouth SHUT!

This 'alternaitve coalition" is still in its infancy so its leaders must show resolve in settling contentious issues behind closed doors and not wash their dirty linen in public.

Lastly don't slight the Royalty because they could be an important ally in transforming Malaysia into a country without racial and religious divisions.
written by emcube, March 13, 2008 09:34:14
YB LKS, (if he ever reads this blog)

Live to your own saying: "doesnt matter if the cat is white or black as long the cat catches a mouse." The Sultan has made his choice. Just accept it or your are insulting the Sultan, the Malays Ruler. You are not sensitive to the Malays and you expect PAS and Malays to be sensitive to you??. That is very unbecoming of an elderly and seasoned politicians like you.
written by Ben Nordin, March 13, 2008 09:37:10
What? Not even a week and already bickering like school kids? The Opposition must realize that they were voted in not because the people love them but because the people are disgusted with BN. There were Malays who voted for DAP as there were Chinese who voted for PAS. The point is that the people wanted change and for the better. Not just change for the sake of changing. Boycotting the swearing-in is like snubbing the Sultan. Snubbing the Sultan, whom, by the way, has voiced concerns in the past to the BN government to buck up and take care of the peoples needs)is like disrespecting the people. Have you forgotten why you're there? Please don't go the way of Um..NO!/BN elites. I do hope the news of boycotting is not true and just some rambling of the mainstream media.
written by Long Man, March 13, 2008 09:45:52
disaster?... hope not... bn surely clapping their hands... they might also offer dap to join bn... it's not even one week since opposition winning of 5 states... come on lks... we still have much work to do... if u are still with your ego... rakyat might have no choice but to pray for the agong to take control of malaysia...
written by timmy, March 13, 2008 09:46:10
I trust Kit Siang saw this coming if he didn't reject PAS for MB post. Ka Chuan will say -- DAP co-operate with PAS and duped voters.

Trust Kit Siang, he is in the politics long enough. I believe this protest is just a red-herring so that MCA and Gerakan has nothing to fire against DAP in the long run.
I believe Kit Siang personally agree to the appointment of PAS MB, but in paper he has to protest as he sees how MCA and Gerakan will use DAP acceptance of PAS MB to attack back DAP in Penang, Perak and Selangor and cause major devastation when it's member find that DAP are no longer different with MCA and Gerakan.
Look deeper, if DAP members find that Kit Siang is no different from MCA or Gerakan (obediently agree to whatever UMNO said), they might switch team and put the Selangor and Penang in jeopardy.
Kit Siang I believe is ready to be scapegoat for this to protect the interest of Barisan Rakyat by maintaining order and remain true to DAP principles.
He is not that stupid, you might angry with him today, but I am confident he will prove him right after a month or so.
I see Kit Siang protest is just a protest to silence people that may attack his principles and values. He knows what's at stake. He knows how to keep DAP in check and he knows how his enemy will attack him if he didn't protest.
Trust him and give him some time.
Look at PKR and PAS, they haven't condemn Kit Siang yet, I'm sure Kit Siang has explained before hand. Trust him!
written by Toyolbuster, March 13, 2008 09:47:51
In just 1 silly statement, I have lost all my respect in its entirety for Lim Kit Siang whom I have admired all these years. Though he made it clear that he was not in support of a PAS candidate to be the Perak MB, but he was also in favor of a Malay MB from PKR if selected. We have to be clear on this that Kit Siang was not against a Malay candidacy but rather from PAS. Regardless of what his preference may be, Kit Siang should respect and accept the decision made by Tuanku. Period.
written by Chuang Tze, March 13, 2008 09:49:41
My knee jerk reaction was to condemn Kit Siang and DAP for creating a mess in Perak, but after reading the BN controlled media today (Star), I realized that DAP is playing out its sandiwara to appease die-hard Chinese supporters in Perak.

My prediction:- The Perak DAP WILL ATTEND the MB swearing in ceremony. Kit Siang will continue barking for the sake of countering Ong Ka Ting's accusation (today's Star) that the Chinese in Perak have been "sold out", which is a grave accusation in Chinese culture.

In the end, Kit Siang will accept the decision and will show up in Perak to shake the new MB's hand, saying that it will work out to everyone's expectations in the end. To the non-Chinese this seems to be a total waste of time and effort, but it will serve to placate the older generation of Chinese in Perak and this is important 'cos in Chinese culture, great restpect and deference must be given to one's elders, so this is a group that we cannot ignore.

I can bet the Star and other BN owned and controlled media will blare "Crisis in DAP leadership" next, but that is to be expected.

Let the dust settled and don't lose any sleep over this episode.
I am sure Anwar, well experienced in politics has seen Kit Siang's
outburst for what it is and is not losing any sleep over it !!
written by lembu susu, March 13, 2008 09:57:07
I think the crux of the issue is not that DAP is against a Malay, but is against the type of Islam PAS is revealing. Kelantan and Terengganu (where they once rule). Past records showed their true color. So, you cannot erase the apprehension that are in the minds of most Chinese as what PAS promise now has yet to be proven by actions. If DAP is against a Malay, they would not have supported a Malay from PKR to be the MB.
written by Kuku Burung, March 13, 2008 09:58:13
I think it's time for elder Lim to retire, along with those hardcore old DAPs. We are in the new era, awakened by astounding victory for the rakyat. It has very little to do with you guys. You guys were just at the right place at the right time. The people wanted a big change, and they entrusted that responsibility to you guys. If you think DAP is something, you are wrong, dead wrong. I voted for DAP this time, and PAS too. What I want is to see a fresh awareness of our basic expectation -- a united Malaysians! So please resign if you cannot understand that.
written by qitaro, March 13, 2008 10:00:51
Dear YB Lim Kit Siang ... I doubt you will read MT or listen to us but I certainly hope someone in DAP will tell you and advise you accordingly.

Don't get blinded by power and authority. Please look further lah ... develop a better Perak and make the Opposition a much stronger coalition. It doesn't matter who becomes the Perak MB as long that person is not from BN. Period.

The voters understand you spent your entire life fighting for democracy and struggling to make Malaysia a better place for all Malaysian.

I voted for DAP in Selangor and I trust the Sultan of Perak made a wise choice. Please do not question nor doubt his choice. There must be a good reasons behind his decision.

written by Kuku Burung, March 13, 2008 10:01:34
But what I heard is that Perak DAP reps will defy LIM KS to attend the swearing-in in the spirit of cooperation. Good on you, Perak DAP.
written by whash, March 13, 2008 10:14:59
My wife and i voted for PAS and keadilan in different state seats.
Please be more open on the issue of Perak's Menteri Besar appointment. As stated in one of party DAP's objectives is to have malaysian malaysia concept, i am a malaysian chinese feel that DAP must honour its words so that DAP be more appealing to malaysians.
Should DAP hope to have continuos or even larger victory in the next election, this few years shall be the working platform for DAP to establish itself by proving to Rakyat that DAP is no longer a race-based party, have more multi-racial members, most of all is to work towards the party own mission n vission which is MALAYSIAN MALAYSIA
Likewise to PAS, we hope to see a rebranded party which can be more appealing to malaysians.
written by Milo, March 13, 2008 10:21:12
The issue of malay giving in "too much" should not arise. The UMNO-led government has actually taken too much from the other races which is one source of the overall discontentment in the country. So, it is only logical that some "giving back" from the malays is expected to square things up. Please bear in mind that the other races cannot give up on things they don't have in the first place.

As for the Perak case, the issue is not just who leds, but also one of religion-based fear - perceived or real. There is still this lingering fear of PAS by non-muslim that they will interfere with their religious practice if they are in leadership. The cases of unreasonable invasiveness of the muslim authority in the country thus far give no assurance to non-muslim in a way that only those affected can understand - which is one reason why UMNO is so distrusted and even hated by other races.

On the hand, unfair as it is perceived to be, in a colition-based government, a PAS MB in Perak should not be a big deal. There can be unhappiness, but certainly not any boycott. However, we should not hit out at the DAP so fast and furious without knowing the full underlying reasons or context of what is really happening. Remember that the information we get is almost always incomplete. I am sure they will resolve it in time.

written by raverz, March 13, 2008 10:25:16
all i can say is piss off old man! ur turning out to be exactly like the rest of the UMNOPutras... a racist bastard. we voted u in, at least take some pride in proving to us why we should have a DAP candidate as the MB....let your son prove his worth and let Nizar do the same. PAS has proven it's capabilities in Kelantan.... DAP can't say the same as they never have had control till now....I think 1 state is enough for now....let's see how you perform. and please air your dirty laundry at home.

This is coming from a non-Malay.....
written by ultra, March 13, 2008 10:30:37
LKS is not in touch with modern aspirations. Politically, he's a dinosaur. Maybe we should have another poll in Malaysia Today on whether LKS should retire from politics.
written by smalluncle, March 13, 2008 10:37:19
Kit Siang is concern about PAS's Islamic policy rather than he being Malay. I think he too have a merit for the concern. As Perak race composition is different from that of Kelatan & Trengganu. His concern can be understood.

However, being on the same front, BR should work out what policy can and cannot apply to the state of Perak or modification of some policy. It should not be solely PAS adninistrative policy as the state is won together with DAP & PKR.

Whatever it is, Kit Siang should change the attitute of being Opposition and only fight, boycott.

Remember, you are now the RULING PARTY. PLEASE LEARN to use words like "I wasn't aware" "I'll look into it" "we shall discuss" "its rumours" but NOT "SAYA PANTANG DI CABAR!"
written by malgal, March 13, 2008 10:37:42
Mr Lim Kit Siang, you and all have done so much to come to this. Please do not UN-DO now. When all are ready to sweep into the new Malaysia with hope and fervour, you will not hold on to your old dogmatic guns. Not now Mr Lim with all due respect to your work and brilliance and ceaseless passion. Work now as a team, a work mate not a solo hero within the confines of your party and party alone. When can we really start feeling Malaysian ? When can we really look forward to the day when the column `race' is erased from government forms? Now is the time to put bias aside and let MERITOCRACY reign.
written by PHUKETBOY, March 13, 2008 10:39:04
LIM KIT SIANG ,
Stop behaving like Samy Velu. It has just been less than 1 week after the results and now you are behaving more and more than Samy. Go get yourself a toupee and wear for God Sake ! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Mat Poyo, March 13, 2008 10:52:37
Dear all,

Firstly, thank you DAP Perak from the deepest of my heart, for rising above the party-ethnic boundaries. You have done what most of Perak Malays, even those who voted for you, could not do. For that DAP Perak has my (and my family's) utmost respect.

We Pas-members reformasi-supporting Perakians who lived in Chinese-majority constituencies in Perak have long been faced with the dilemma of whether or not to support the DAP. In 1999, the first time my family members, close relatives and neighbours were all united in the opposition front, the dilemma first confronted us. The opposition candidates for Gopeng/Sungai Rapat Parliament/DUN came from DAP and Keadilan. Because the DAP candidate was a Malay, it was easier to vote for the rocket. For me, being my first General Election, the choice was easy. For my parents and their friends, i could sense their awkwardness and deep-rooted fear of the DAP, although they all voted for DAP in the end. In 2004, it was easy. DAP had given way to PAS for our constituency. So it was PAS/PKR that we all voted for. Then SPR played their game. Our malay-majority Taman was suddenly placed under Pasir Pinji/Ipoh Timur. We the younger ones had a harder time getting the old folks to come out to vote this time. With great effort by our PAS YDP and the younger members at our Markas, again PAS members in our areas turned out in large numbers to vote for the rocket, just in case LKS needed our help. The campaigning had its funny moments - the story my father told of my elderly Malay neighbour urging the Chinese traders at Pinji Market to vote for DAP and not Barisan, to the amusement of the traders, was greeted with much laughter by us. Shd have told my dad to record and Youtube it. However, the very same people, my parents included, suddenly felt uneasy when it appeared that the DAP had won big in Perak, the very party they (and I) just voted for a few hours earlier. My mother even suggested removing the huge PAS flag planted right in front of our house, just in case.

What I'm trying to say is this. There had been a paradigm shift, and for many Malays, it happened in 1999, continuing until now. But deep-rooted fear and prejudice, fed by memories of zaman kominis, the '69 Election and 50 years of mind-poisoning by Barisan had taken its toll, especially for my parents' generation. Maybe we even have to see the passing of this generation before we can truly see a true muhibbah Malaysia, where a DAP Menteri Besar would be greeted with open arms.

We have achieved victory, but let us move carefully and slowly forward. Which is why DAP Perak's stance to accept the Sultan's decision had to be especially applauded. I have full believe that we Perakians, who are 100 times more genuinely muhibbah than Klang Valley dwellers, will make it work.

Pengundi Saluran 3,
SK Jalan Pegoh,
Pasir Pinji,
Perak.
written by cruzeiro, March 13, 2008 10:55:22
Mr. LKS,
Don't you see the writings on the wall?
Time to go, uncle - the bus is waiting ..... don't do a semi value/ mamak kutty act, for Gottsakes!!
At least shut up, cos you cannot be the spokesman for the "New Malaysian".
Dinosaurs cannot live in this world - let the deserving take over.

Last but not least, don't be "biadap" to Sultan/ Raja-raja Melayu.

I've spoken to a number of Chinese DAP supporters (as LChuah), and they too believe the same!

Pack your bags, Uncle ...
written by AlwaysMalaysian, March 13, 2008 10:57:12
I hope by the time I posted this comment, LKS has changed his mind and apologize to Malaysian fro what he has said. Otherwise, this could be the start of the end for DAP and also the opposition coalition. You can wait for another 40 years to deny BN's 2/3 majority.

He needs to be aware that, he is no longer alone and nobody. Whatever he said, is being monitor by all Malaysian. Which will determine the result of the next GE.

Please remember, if it is not because of Malaysian from all races, no way anyone could form a government. UMNO made a miskate by saying things that hurt some ehthic groups, and they tasted the worst defect since they were formed.

I am Malaysian, I don't care where my ancestor came from (I know my great grand parent migrated from China). If I dig deep enough, everyone's ancester came from the same place! So stop being racist!
written by zonefinder, March 13, 2008 11:00:01
I agree with the views by Timmy and Chuang Tze. LKS is an old fox. His dilemma is in how to placate the grass root support as well as deflect potential ammunition for MCA. I will not be surprised if DSAI has also been consulted and possibly PAS before the DAP CEC came out with this statement.
LKS will come out with a statement later today to declare that the DAP has changed their mind after feedback from the Public and attend the swearing in. This will, in one stroke, resolve his dilemma.
Have faith, my friends, as this is how the wayang will play out.
written by fromamovingtrain, March 13, 2008 11:23:38
It is really heartening to read that most comments here (150 odd) and in other postings regarding this issue tend to criticise lim kit siang for his stand about the perak mb post. This shows that at least in here in mt, we are almost unanimous and thus are ready to move forward through the unchartered waters that we have triumphantly brought ourselves to. Congratulations to all of us here.

To those who still think that lks was right, the dap cec was right and demand that right to be upheld and not budge, pause to think about this:

You fought against bn on several constitutional issues. You get upset with bn's 2/3 majority which enables them to amend the constitution at their whims and fancy. You thoroughly bellieve that the constitution is a sacred document and was drawn up by wise people amongst our forefathers and therefore should be left intact, for all to understand, respect, uphold and serve. This appointment of a malay-muslim menteri besar AND the sultan's discretion to waive such is entrenched in the states' constitution, also drafted by wise forefathers for all people in the respective states (with a sultan or royalty) to understand, respect, uphold and serve. Why cant't you accept both? Are you saying you accept that a malay muslim be the mb of perak BUT you disagree with the sultan's choice? Or are you saying you will agree with the sultan's choice BUT cannot accept a malay- muslim as mb bacause dap controls 18 seats? These people from dap cec, and you here (albeit minority) are the real hipocrites and disloyal citizens of the country. You turn against the constitution and you turn against the sultan, KONON in the name of principle. RPK would probably have suitable names to call you, because all that come into my head cannot at the moment be printed here.
written by zonefinder, March 13, 2008 11:42:06
Relax guys, news came out about an hr ago on Limkitsiang.com that he has retracted his statement. DAP will attend after all ( I didn't know about this when I wrote my comments at 11am).
That's why some of us think that LKS is an old fox and why he's a politician and we are not! He's a chess grandmaster...
written by emg385, March 13, 2008 11:45:11
The past few days after the election has left me confused about this pact called Barisan Rakyat.The term Barisan Rakyat was mentioned many times during the Ceramahs by Haris Ibrahim and yourself. Has this pact been formally accepted by the leaders of PAS, DAP and PKR and do you have evidence to that fact??Who are the Leaders who have agreed to work as a coalition under Barisan Rakyat prior to the elections? Can you name them for us please so there will not be further confusion!!

People attending the Ceramahs seem to have accepted that Barisan Rakyat actually existed and their voting decisions may have been influenced by this.Now I am not so sure whether the Rakyat may have been mislead since no leader of the Non-BN coalition seems to openly accept that such a pact(BR) actually existed!! All we hear are DAP-PKR co-operation and PAS seems to be on its own platform. Care to elaborate on this RPK?

You also claim that the Malays are prepared to have a Chinese Mentri Besar. Where is the evidence to that claim? Why were there no appeal to the Sultan or declaration of support from any Malay group or even from PAS or PKR for a Chinese Mentri Besar in Perak!! Instead everyone was insisting for a Malay Mentri Besar because of the clause in the State Constitution!!

Kindly clear all these confusion for the Rakyat please!!
written by palmyra, March 13, 2008 11:52:07
This is really a 'turn-off'...We were just in the midst of moving towards a better new Malaysia and this thing came. Come on lah...by having this thing around would promisingly be manipulated by the 'no 2/3 majority government'. This will be positively taken as an advantage by them, the 'no 2/3 majority government' to further sabotaging the boat which is rocked by this unpleasant incident. Please Mr LKS, open up and brace your kind soul for a better future in the new Malaysia. We can't afford to jeopardized this golden opportunity of a better and new Malaysia as it doesn't always come around even one in a blue moon.
written by timmy, March 13, 2008 11:56:22
There is no race issue here with LKS. He's agreeing to a Malay MB from PKR. So race issue doesn't arise.
He's not uniting the Chinese either. He is just don't want the BN to exploit the religion issue and says that DAP collaborating with PAS. You can't expect people to forget immediate PAS Islamic state ideology and DAP worst defeat in 1999 when it aligns with PAS.
Things need to be proven out. Chinese accept MCA last time although it aligns with UMNO because UMNO has no Islam name in it, it is about race Malay. Chinese can accept race issues, but religion card is very hard for them to dissolve because whatever seen as common practice in Chinese is a sin in Islam.
So LKS is protecting DAP and PAS from further harassment from BN, it may sound far-fetched, but you can see BN is happy to see DAP not align with PAS, and they won't have any valid reasons to attack DAP and PAS because they are misalign. Before Perak gov is formed, BN already started the attack. If yesterday LKS didn't protest, you can see the headline today, "DAP duped Chinese as they back PAS for MB".
When PAS MB sworn in and perform and show the Chinese community in 5 years time, PAS is not that extremist as portrayed by BN, and the Perak Chinese can live happily under PAS just like Kelantan, then LKS can proudly announced that DAP can cooperate with PAS effectively.
For now, he has to draw his line clearly, that he is not supporting PAS that is to show he is true to his words and principles. Or else DAP will abandoned him for MCA and Gerakan and there goes Selangor and Penang. BN is playing so many tricks, issuing statement after statement on racial lines, so LKS has to be on the attack mode to be on the defensive side.
If he cannot maintain his party, how can you expect him to bring his party for form Barisan Rakyat with PAS when the next election arrives? That's our ultimate goal, and that cannot be achieve in a day. A step at a time.
A protest then a gracious acceptance then ultimately an understanding that PAS is not that bad. No race issue here definitely. Religion issues yes, as all the Chinese had with Islam because all common practices of the Chinese (although we know is no good) is a sin in Islam. BN is smart trying to 'melaga-lagakan' the opposition.
Did Harakah condemn LKS yet? Why it didn't? Anwar has been silent because I believe he will do the same if he is in LKS shoe.
I rest my case.
written by SUV, March 13, 2008 11:59:13
i slept well,last nite smilies/grin.gif..waah,dah agak ,si nyanyok unkel lim tu akan pusing 180 darjah..aah apa dap perlu buat utk progres?d progrssive fellas must tindang pungkok pungkok spt unkel lim kiluar dri parti smilies/cool.gif
written by kindaeasi, March 13, 2008 12:12:43
To Lim Kit Siang,

The people are SICK with racial politics. The Sultan chose a PAS Malay as MB of Perak therefore let it be. If you are dissatisfied, bring it up at joint meeting between PKR/PAS/DAP. PAS/DAP should unite and merge under one banner. This banner should be a NEW political party called BARISAN RAKYAT/BARISAN ALTERNATIVE. We the people will DISMISS you at next election if this kind of behavior prevail.

Edward Siripala
written by Richard Lo, March 13, 2008 12:13:06
An email I have typed out to Lim Kiat Siang but DAP's website seems to prevent people from providing feedback...

Might as well post it here for LKS to read. Will persevere to post it at DAP's website.

-----------------------

Dear Mr. Lim Kiat Siang,

I refer your press statement on "DAP CEC has given approval for the formation of a Perak coalition government headed by DAP or PKR but not by PAS – DAP Perak SAs to stay away from swearing-in ceremony"

According to your press statement, DAP CEC has on 9 Mar 08 given the approval to form a coalition govt comprising of DAP, PKR and PAS. While you did not mention the specific approval date that DAP CEC has given with regards to its approved choice of MB, I give you the benefit of the doubt that such approval is given on the same day. If this is the case should the DAP CEC clearly communicate this to Perak coalition govt designate when they are submitting the nominees for MB to the Sultan. If DAP CEC do not want a candidate from PAS to be the MB why the silence from the beginning. Plus the coalition parties also announced publicly that they will work with the MB chosen by the Sultan.

Your press statement only proves to BN the following:

1) that the coalition of opposition parties is weak and have no common platform to govern the state.
2) campaigning on the ticket of multi-ethnic platform is a mere lip service for election only. The coalition of opposition parties never believe it in their hearts.

Unless I am wrong, the choice of PAS nominee as MB should not be relevant unless the MB has a veto in the state assembly. If MB has no veto power, why should DAP and PKR be worried given that DAP and PKR have a majority say in the state assembly.

I urge you for the sake of all the voters (not just Perak) who gave the opposition parties a big voice in Parliament and also a chance to govern 4 states (which may I remind you is a bonus) to work cohesively in forming the state assemblies and governing the states.

If this kind of in cohesiveness continues the coalition of opposition parties will lose the confidence of the Malaysian voters in the next GE.
written by delCapo, March 13, 2008 12:21:11
DAP & Uncle Lim,

Be very very aware that BN & UMNO are in the background trying to start fire & stir shit to break up the DA-PKR-PAS pact, even to make us look bad!!!

DUNFALL INo THEIR TRAP!!
HANG IN THERE... WORK ON & WITHIN WHAT WE HAVE....
we are just starting to kick ass.. dun shoot yourselves now!!!!
written by ez24get, March 13, 2008 12:28:46
Thank you RPK!

You are the strategist and the Kingmaker! You will be the glue to hold PKR, DAP and PAS together. The old generations like LKS, Hadi, Badawi, Mahathir have spent their entire lives under the race based environment created by the UMNO regime. 50 years of indoctrination isn't easy to rid off.

Already there are signs that Hadi and LKS are slowly warming up to this new reality. To be fair to DAP not every DAP are against change and can be seen in the opposition to LKS media statement. And also to be fair to LKS, race was not an issue because he was ameanable to a PKR malay MB. It's just that he had a very bad experience with PAS in the past and this is just his knee jerk reaction. And he doesn't want to disappoint his die-hard supporters and allow MCA to criticise him later on. More over he apologised very shortly afer in less than half a day.

Let bygones be bygones. Look to the future and plan what can be done for the greater good of the rakyat.

So RPK keep on your good job of planning and strategising for the nation. Malaysia needs people like you!
written by SUV, March 13, 2008 12:46:37
Thank you RPK!

You are the strategist and the Kingmaker!

pete,tolong jelaskan.. smilies/grin.gif
written by red door, March 13, 2008 12:47:29
"The Star" spinning at it again

My three-paragraph statement at 7pm last night (Wednesday) that the DAP Central Executive Committee emergency meeting on 9th March had not give approval for a PAS Mentri Besar to head a Perak coalition state government was not made out of disrespect to the Perak Regent whom I have always held in the highest regard and I apologise for any offence caused.

The statement (was) on the party position at the time.

There have been further discussions and developments on the matter in the hours after the statement.

Announcements of the latest position will be made.

Lim Kit Siang

The Star Online http://www.thestar.com.my/elec...ection2008

LKS apologized to both the Sultan and The Regent
http://blog.limkitsiang.com/

written by SUV, March 13, 2008 12:51:20
DUNFALL INo THEIR TRAP!!
--------------------------

ahah,tepat sikali..dung did fall on unkel's lim primitive head..aah,guan eng aah,pas pili dap olang jadi exco,u ada bikin salupa kah?guan eng,olang cina r zeroing on u ,dia olang ciakap shama caya,sikalang ,pirkala paling poonting,ini dap boleh bikin kelja atau tilak..haah,guan eng,and co,u r being watched!!

written by humanist, March 13, 2008 12:55:36
Maybe Lim Kit Siang should think about his own overstay of welcome as well. And at least starts mentoring younger generations to succeed himself and please. Not just Lim dynasty, some outsiders.
I am still curious on the insider stories of why Wee Choo Keong and camp left DAP last time to join PKR.
Al.
written by pelukis, March 13, 2008 12:55:42
UNCLE LIM,……YOU kina paham la why itu Tuanku aaa pilih ini olang ‘Mohammad Nizar’ yang balu minang itu kelusi Dun Pasir Panjang pala pilihan laya Sabtu lipas, sibab ini olang ‘Mohammad Nizar’ atalah solang jurutela pelunding lulutan Aston University of Science & Technology di Birmingham, England….kalau aaa di banding aaa dengan itu olang ‘Jamaluddin Mohd Ladzi’, BEKAS ITU POSMEN aaa dari PKR…..mana satu baik aaa uncle Lim?…ADA FAHAM Uncle Lim, why itu Tuanku yang bijaksana pilih ini olang!!.

Itu Pak Cik Hj.Hadi selupa juga la…TATAK PANDAI INI POLITIK…TAK LAK SABAR, CIAKAP BUKAN2 aaa..BAGI OLANG TAKUT LA
written by Mat Saman Kati, March 13, 2008 13:07:17
What happened at Istana Kinta last night?
See http://matsamankati.********.com
written by sampalee, March 13, 2008 13:21:37
What nonsense about bad experience with pas.Till now we are still keeping alive the false and evil propaganda of bn.Time to bury the falsehood.The truth is the RAKYAT wants pas and dap to work alongside each other.United,we will make mincemeat the false propaganda og bn/mca.
The past intolerence of Muslim is the work of umno[body snatching,demolising quil and temples etc]Why are we non muslim so STUPID as to believe it is pas.Dap should be proactive and explain to the non-muslim communities the truth on the ground and not use pas as a scapegoat for any of the party failure.
written by DontPlayGod, March 13, 2008 13:26:06
From what I understand from the above article, LKS is not against Malay, but only a PAS Malay. I think LKS still has fearful memories of the 1999 elections when DAP was wiped out when it co-operated with PAS. This I think is what he is afraid of.

LKS must now go down to the ground and find out from his Chinese supporters whether the Chinese have changed their views and are willing to co-operate with PAS in forming a new Malaysia. PAS, to make it easier for DAP supporters, must state in no uncertain terms, that they have abandoned the Islamic State Document.
written by atsanee, March 13, 2008 13:33:03
This sad episode shows up the wisdom of our beloved RPK in staying out of active politics.

I sincerely hope Anwar will remain just the de facto leader of BR and like RPK, resist the temptation to rush into Parliament.
There are more important things for DSAI to do that others cant do.

Now,there are enough BR voices in Parliament for the people's concerns and interests to be voiced, to debate government policies and to check on government actions.

There is still not enough people to speak for the greater good of BR, to see the big picture and this MB Perak is a case in point.

I hope Anwar and people like RPK will be around to orchestrate the BR from behind the scenes till things have settled down and the BR get the hang of things and start ruling states rather than just opposing.

People like Toyo are down but definitely not out and they are just waiting for BR to trip up.

So dont give them a chance.

DSAI please help to keep the BR house in order.
Finish them (BN)off next round please.
written by Traveller2020, March 13, 2008 14:23:17
Not to worry there are many who share your fear and dreams and am sure many Chinese,Indians and Malays have the same common goals.Just read Lim Kit Siang offered his apology.
Perhaps it is about time by this message he learns to be humble and go beyond the wrapped vision of Malaysian Malaysia.Unless one sees the big picture one will always focus on the small and forgetting the big dream to make Malaysia what it was when the 3 races stood side by side post Merdeka.It is 50 years after Merdeka the Barison Nasional touted that it brought peace, harmony and prospertiy in its election manifesto.Sadly, it became a joke.
I call on DAP to wake up in the dawn of hope and and share the dream with the coalition members.You cannot have a dream alone; dreams are meant to be shared and together a new Malaysia is born.Not this way.
written by cruzeiro, March 13, 2008 14:29:43

I hope Sultan Azlan would be compassionate & kind to come out with a statement accepting LKS's apology.

It will definitely help calm things down and restore a lot of confidence.

Tuanku,
Please do it.
written by delCapo, March 13, 2008 14:44:35
Now PKR's offering to give BN some entertainement by shooting their own feet too!!
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79751

There are other ways to negotiate and work together!! BEHIND CLOSED DOORS!!
Sikit sikit pull out... sikit sikit boycott... somemore annouce to the whole world.
Then pull back, then apologise

You bunch of wankers are really starting to redicule the mandate we have fought so hard to give you....

pui!!
written by teo siew chin, March 13, 2008 14:47:46
"People like you still have racist branding in mind do not deserve to comment here. Go and eat sh*t. "
-------------------------------------

hahaha KC Chew, my sentiments exactly though i dont agree about the eating part smilies/cheesy.gif

PAS has experience governing a state.
PAS accepted the People's Declaration.
PAS is ok by me so long as they chop off the hands of those who cheat, steal, lie, especially those who are corrupt!

by their own, PAS, DAP, PKR conjure some negative vibes.
perhaps for the good of the nation, they should now close ranks and unite with a view of one single party and also with a view that in due time there will "emerge in Malaysia a single 'race' that no longer carried the label of Malay, Chinese and Indian and who are no longer separated by religious differences and intolerance" as propounded by YM RPK and his group.

this is the time of reckoning for PAS, PKR, DAP - do NOT let your rakyat down!
all for one and one for all ! - The Three Musketeers.
written by EYFF, March 13, 2008 14:59:28
Appropriate Behavior!

The Sultan is careful and being practical by choosing a member from the weakest (least no. of MPs in Perak) party in the alliance as the MB. The performance/quality and integrity of the new Perak Government is still untested. A “weak” MB will need to be more transparent to secure the cooperation of all the members and would not incline to abuse his “limited” power and more check and balance is possible. A weak MB that is “defective” can easily be replaced.

Furthermore the three parties had submitted the three candidates and agreed that they would abide by the choice of the Sultan. It is rather dishonorable and in bad faith for DAP to backtrack and questioned the Sultan choice to appoint the PAS candidate as the MB.

DAP behavior is not appropriate for a winner. A winner or a loser should act differently. In this case DAP act like a loser! Perhaps because DAP were never winners for ages, and with the surprise victory in the election still have not shift gear from a loser brain/altitude to a winner brain/altitude?

As the other races and non-UMNO Malays viewed UMNO as a Party ruled or strongly influenced by Malays’ ultras so do other races viewed DAP in the same light i.e. by Chauvinistic Chinese! How can you therefore trust DAP when they even dishonored their pledge/words to the Sultan! Please show the other races your finer qualities so that they can trust you and would not question your pledges or intents.

Apologized to the Sultan and accept that his choice is for the best for everyone in Perak. It has nothing to do with fairness, races, etc and the BN dacing does not apply anymore!

Well DAP if you want to keep on being winners then have the brains of winners. It will be quite a new experience.

How to do that? Well tap into the wisdom of your forefathers. A Chinese is a Confucius-ist if he is in Government (winner) and a Taoist when he is out of government (loser). Please Mr. LKS understand that and explain to your members.

To prevent doubt and suspicion among the Malays, please hasten slowly on the NEP and do not make all sorts of statements concerning it in this your moment of euphoria. Winning can get one so drunk! The NEP had been wound up for about 40 years and time, patience and understanding are required to wind it down and transfer its focus to all underprivileged Malaysians regardless of their colour or creed!

DAP if you want to stay as winners then behalf as one and continue to be winners in the next election. Behave like losers, fight, flex you muscle, be insensitive to the aspiration of the Malays and the other races then you will be losers the next time round!

I am a Chinese and I will vote against you if you do not behave like winners.
written by ZamZamAlaKazam, March 13, 2008 15:33:03
...I'm seeing this as a precedent to the appointing a leader not from the majority winner...

...imagine that the Agong exercising something like this, then AAB would not be the PM...

...just view the whole thing as a journey, not the destination.
written by delCapo, March 13, 2008 15:35:56
Risking of being branded Seditious here... so pls remove this comment if it is.

I'm paranoid enough to think that BN is also lobbying the Royals (esp Perak & Selangor) to not giving the new coalition an easy time in forming the state govts.

Paranoid enough to think that if PAS is made the Perak state MD, & they stricke a deal with BN (which is possible 7 rumours are flying)... the state will be returned to the other side.

Having said the above, there's still no reasons for PKR & DAP to behave like wankers... work on it! negotiate... dun annouce craps to the media!!

Act like real winners, as magnimously!!
written by vineeth menon, March 13, 2008 15:41:18
You said it right..

Lim!! wake up !! people voted DAP not because you are Chinese, Its just that you are a part of BR component party.. Dont forget that or get ready to be screwed by very own minorities in near future.

You are actually punishing the people for electing DAP by making such wrong statements/moves ..DAP will loose its remaining credibility..
written by Farmer, March 13, 2008 16:16:17
DAP already appologies read on http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79736

This is not big mistake they done. Its first day of the office dilemmaphoebia. Anyway they will be some improvement when days passes by.

written by R Hum, March 13, 2008 16:56:49
LKS is an Adviser and MP for Ipoh Timur. He is not the Secretary General of the DAP party.As adviser he can advise only.

Look LKS, you have been opposing the last twenty five years. Take a break. Malaysia is entering a new era. You behave exactly like Dr M, who continue to refuse to keep quiet after stepping down from office.

written by matdeboq, March 13, 2008 17:36:29
Well it seem a SNAP election is coming by ! But I do hope not.Mr.LKS please be rational.Leave your old school kinda stuff..move forward pls.No more this racial card stunts.
Show us your Malaysian Malaysia!!
written by Anti Relon, March 13, 2008 18:40:39

PRINT CLOSE

Dangers of democracy
Sholto Byrnes

Published 13 March 2008

Proponents of liberal democracy so eager for Anwar should realise that he is playing a dangerous game

"In some countries the opposition cannot win, but we are not like that." The words of Dr Mahathir, Malaysia's longest-serving prime minister, never rang truer than when the results of the recent elections came in. Mahathir's hand-picked successor, Abdullah Badawi, led the ruling coalition, the Barisan Nasional (BN), to its worst result since independence 50 years ago. The BN still has a simple majority, but it is in crisis after the opposition quadrupled its tally of MPs from 19 to 82.

Gone was the crucial two-thirds majority the BN needed to amend the constitution. Gone was BN control over four of the country's 13 states, as was any hope of regaining the one state previously held by the opposition. Gone, too, was the longest-serving (self-serving, many would say) cabinet minister and head of the Malaysian Indian Congress, Samy Vellu, one of four cabinet members to lose their seats.

Badawi gambled on holding elections just before the de facto opposition leader, Anwar Ibrahim, was allowed to stand for public office again. He lost spectacularly, and Keadilan, the reform party set up as a vehicle for the former deputy prime minister, jailed under Mahathir, emerged as the biggest opposition party in parliament.

It's bad news for Badawi. But is it bad news for Malaysia? The election should silence critics who called the country a democracy in name only. The stranglehold of racial politics whereby three main parties delivered to the BN the votes of the Malays, Chinese and Indians (in turn roughly 60, 30 and 10 per cent of the population) has been loosened, allowing hope that a politics of ideas and principles might one day replace that of race. In Penang State the opposition DAP (Democratic Action Party) won, and the Chinese-led party's support came from an unexpected quarter. "Even the Malays voted DAP!" was one text circulating among astonished Malaysians.

"The government needed a kick up the butt" was another, expressing widespread dismay at the performance of Badawi, whose affability barely cloaks weakness, indecisiveness and unwillingness to confront the corruption he had promised to root out. (It didn't help that his closest adviser is his son-in-law.) The tens of thousands who attended protest rallies held by Bersih, a "clean-up public life" group, and the Hindu Rights Action Force in Kuala Lumpur last year were dismissed by ministers as "troublemakers". Now a fair few of those irritants are MPs.

That democracy has dealt such a blow to a ruling elite grown arrogant and incompetent may be cause for cheer. So, too, may the fact that a free and fearless internet has shown up the censorship and bias of government-controlled media.

But democrats should be wary of what they wish for. Anwar has been fawned on by the liberal west since his sacking and jailing on trumped-up charges in 1999; his name was even connected with the job of UN secretary general. But the company he keeps deserves to stem the tide of sycophancy. His opposition coalition includes an Islamic fundamentalist party, PAS, that approves of amputation for thieves and thinks there are lessons to be learned from Hezbollah. Previously in control of only rural Kelantan, where it required women to wear headscarves, instituted separate lines at supermarkets for men and women, and banned gambling, nightclubs and rock concerts, PAS will now be in charge of two more states.

Further success would be disastrous for a country that has been both a Muslim state and a multiracial, multi-religious democracy since independence - a record no other can match (Turkey is a secular, not an Islamic, state) - and in which sharia courts only have jurisdiction over Muslims, and even then strictly for marriage, divorce and so on.

Any advance by PAS, whose constituency is almost entirely Malay (Malays make up the vast majority of Muslims), may be a sign of a healthy electoral process, but is a setback for Buddhists, Hindus, Confucians, Christians and animists, for Chinese, Indians and indigenous tribes - for anyone who does not sign up to PAS's hardline agenda. Proponents of liberal democracy so eager for Anwar should realise that he is playing a dangerous game, one that could result in increased democracy but a reduction in liberty. The west needs to think long and hard about just who its friends should be in a region that contains more Muslims than the entire Arab Middle East. If the day comes when it rues having spurned the more pluralistic and liberal managed democracy of Dr Mahathir in favour of so-called reformers who ally themselves with medieval theocrats, it will almost certainly be too late.
written by Anti Relon, March 13, 2008 18:41:55
The above report is from NEW STATESMAN (UK)dated 13 March 2008
written by rimaukl, March 13, 2008 18:50:11
Dear YM RPK, wow! I can feel the frustration in your article and I saw that you've left out the point that LKS was for the PKR candidate but not PAS. To a large extend, LKS is very much similar with TDM. They fire off their mouth without thinking about the consequences. At the same time, I see lots of people bashing LKS without taking a step back and considering that there could be more behind the scene than what we know.

In any case, I'm confident that this "issue" will be ironed out. A few bumps along this difficult new track SHOULD NOT derail the Barisan Rakyat's locomotion! Bangunlah Malaysia!
written by Thinker, March 13, 2008 19:44:22
The Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar. The Malays are prepared to accept a Chinese Menteri Besar even if that Chinese is from DAP. And the Malays left it entirely to Tuanku to decide if Tuanku wants a Malay or Chinese Menteri Besar, never mind from which political party he may be from.

BUT they are not willing to accept a Malay MB if they get less exco positions.
written by JohnQ, March 13, 2008 20:54:55
DEAR SIR RPK,
I suggest you to draft new constitutions,behind closed door, without any disturbance, of the new multi racial party Barisan Rakyat that should be formed from the dissolution of DAP/PKR and PAS. (Pls avocate that to happen)
Or else the new multi racial party of BN will steal the limelights and members if they form it sooner, after the disastrous lost.

PLEASE AVOCATES the formation of barisan rakyat party in a new BLOG title.

Best regards,

written by mimag2005, March 13, 2008 21:28:43

.....Dumb...Ass....Politician...DAP...!!!

written by SotPlug, March 13, 2008 22:20:53
This is a prickly issue. We should all be able to see that the first DAP statement was to calm the Chinese voters. Had DAP not make the first statement, the Chinese voters who voted for DAP will get angry. Even now Ong Ka Ting is harping that DAP cheated the voters.

But in the end, DAP knew the decision was already made by the Sultan, and therefore apologize to calm down the Malay voters. Hopefully with both statements made, there'll be no racial tension.

I did not see DAP doing anything wrong here. The only thing wrong here is that DAP, PAS and PKR should have had better cooperation and submitted one instead of three names to the Sultan. It just shows that BN was right that this is a very loose coalition.
written by Avanza1, March 13, 2008 22:40:20
Now that all confussion, frastration and tension are over. I still sincerely hope all will hold on to the principle of equality regardless of race and religion. If we aspire Malaysia Malaysian nation then be quick to repeal the discriminatory constitution in all 9 Sultanate states that the MB must be a MALAY MUSLIM. Do MT want to hold on to constitution drafted by BN state govt. It will be meaningless to continue talking democracy , people power and Makal Sakti.

I do not belong to any political party and the whole thing was twisted by many Malays. I don't think DAP is against Malay. I would say it is against PAS because it's ideology is against the principle of modern democratic principles. It like the stand on Federal LAW and Shyariah LAW.
written by Beautiful Mind, March 14, 2008 02:24:56
I agree that there should be one race - Malaysians and the malaysians should not be segregated according to Malay, Chinese, Indian or others. If one is born in Malaysia by a Malaysian parent, he or she will be a malaysian. Am l right or am l right.

I am sick and tired of one race thinking that they are more superior than others. We all have a part to play to ensure that our country stand tall shoulder to shoulder with the rest of the other developing or developed nations. Malay, Chinese and Indians are all Malaysians who should contribute to make our country more progressive and we all should compete with one another. We used to see all the Chinese got good grades in exams but not nowadays, the Malays seems to be catching up well. It all goes down to hard work and being competitive. You want to take a lead then you need to work harder.

Being raised in a Malay village and went to an all malay school right from primary to University level, l seen them all before me. All the Ketuanan melayu mentality as so forth. An idiot in the village still think that he is one class above the Indian and Chinese who works as doctors and lawyers and this trend may still exist to this very day.And l must admit that my attitude was more or less similar like most of my friends who grow up with me in the village. They are all Barisan Nasional supporters.

It took someone like Anwar Ibrahim and Raja Petra Kamaruddin to change my thought and perception towards all this. And l am sure there will be many many more who will change when they see sense and logic. Let us all not damage this through conflicts and disagreement.

We need to bridge the gap and show solidarity and unity between ourselves. That DAP, PAS and PKR can share the same values and work together. Without unity, we will never advance. If we argue like cat and dogs, this will have an adverse effect on the kind of brand that we have been trying to potray to the public at large.

We will need to respect law and order and respect the Constitution. Respect our King and Queen and abide by the decision that they have made with regards to the selection of Chief Ministers like what is happening in Perak now.

Once that is done and dusted, we all should move forward and leaders must positioned themselves to arrange proper strategies so that BR will maintain it's stance among the rakyat by fulfilling the promises made before the election. This will not be too difficult as Anwar will be there.

We are still at the dawn and hopefully we will see day-light. What we will not want is an eclipse of the sun. And l am hoping DAP can see some sense.
written by Ken Liew, March 14, 2008 08:45:26
Again , PATIENT PPL! PATIENT!!

The pieces of cake have been shared to all, not like last time, Umno takes 99%.

We have WON and make a BIG STEP, why so rush on all these issue. In the end, Our Sultan have been reasonable. So please be PATIENT!
written by ahmadbadrul40, March 14, 2008 09:42:33

I have to give you the respect of able to create a cult group in the cyberworld. People from all race just agree with your articles without much critical thinking.

You have to remember, most of the chinese in MT are english educated chinese. But 80% of Malaysian chinese are chinese educated. And they don't see it that way. They don't like PAS. And I know you were once PAS supporter.

Why don't the Malays be color blind and let the parties with the most seats become the MB. Where is all this meritocracy and transparency that you and your progressive Malays are talking about.

Trust DAP can put a good candidate to become MB. And I bet my ass, they will treat the Malays better than UMNO treat the Malays.
written by harrbm, March 14, 2008 13:53:52

Everybody,

Please dont use force. Use persuasion. Persuade Uncle Lim to let the show begin smoothly. Pujuk uncle Lim . pujuk dia.

To me he is the hero.

>
written by jay, March 15, 2008 16:17:05
Can somebody,SOMEBODY, PLEASEEEEEEEEEE.. pull the plugs out of TV3 and TV1, they are probably the one's that would cause racial riots, by continously potraying the demo's being staged by UMNO morons. These are things the BN are clever not to kill the media coverage
written by campuras, March 16, 2008 13:57:07

What are you nut heads on about. This is demcracy, they party that wins the most seats should take a leading role in setting up a government. What type of government are we setting up with a party with least seats setting up the leadership position.

To matter worst, the Sultan is playing a role in setting up the Persk State government. The Sultan may as well rule the state. What a mess, Is it the DAP fault, No, PAS NO BN no. It is the consititution delimma we find ourself in. Is it a bad thing, hell no. This is a testing time for our budding democracy and the rule of law. Something good will come out provided the governmetn of the day is continously put on check with a gilloutine on its neck. Perfrom or get out.
written by penang1, March 16, 2008 14:01:14
I got the following from SCM, while it has some f-words, the message does describe the DAP colorfully.

-------------------------------------------------------

Wanted: Smart Pills ! Will Pay $$$$$ for Smart Pills !!
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

I mean, smart pills that are guaranteed, not the bogus type.

I need to buy smart pills for the DAP people, and I need them
urgently !

I am not known to be smart, but currently, the people of Selangor, Perak and Penang desperately need to make the DAP people smarter, so that our future won't be destroyed by their stupidity.

= = = ==============================

In Selangor, the women DAP came out with an announcement that they want Teresa Kok to be the Deputy Menteri Besar because they want "a woman to be a Deputy Menteri Besar".

You hear it right. They want Teresa Kok to be the Deputy Menteri Besar of Selangor ***solely*** because Teresa is a female !!

I am not saying that a female can NOT become a Deputy Menteri Besar, but for the women DAP to come up with an annoucement that they want Teresa to be the Deputy Menteri Besar because they want a "woman to be Deputy Menteri Besar" is still too much !!!

Please, people, please think !!

If a group of cheese lovers in Selangor
campaign to elect a piece of Cheddar
Cheese to be the Deputy Menteri Besar
of Selangor, how would you feel?

Ridiculous, right?

So is the demand of the women DAP of Selangor.

They could have said that they want Teresa to be the Deputy Menteri Besar because Teresa has the experience, or Teresa has the support of the people, or Teresa has the connections to make things work, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

But no. The women DAP wants Teresa to become the Deputy Menteri Besar of Selangor solely because Teresa is a woman !!!

To People Of Selangor,

Do you think the women DAP of
Selangor should be forced feed
the smart pills??

In Perak, despite my advice, plea, and warning, the DAP Perak ****ed up nevertheless.

For 3 long days, I tried very hard to tell the DAP of Perak to NOT play with fire. For 3 long ****ing days, the DAP of Perak played with their balls and then played with their balls again.

Finally, the Chief Ball Player of Perak issued that totally ****ed up announcement.

We all watch that pathetic circus show that followed - apology,
denial, ball playing, dress up and set to go, get to the palace, and at the last second, got the boot by the Sultan of Perak.

It wasn't that the DAP Perak didn't have a chance. They had THREE FULL ****ING DAYS of chance, but they threw it all away.

What a bunch of ****ing idiots !

To the people of Perak,

If you ever find the smart pills, give them to the DAP Perak. Them idiots need the smart pill, and they need it now !!!

In Penang, I posted a message warning the Penang DAP that they were tricked by Koh Tsu Koon.

I told the DAP Penang that Koh Tsu Koon had tricked them by telling them to delay the inauguration ceremony until the 11th, March.

I also told the DAP Penang that while they (DAP Penang) hold off taking office one whole day, all the documents would be destroyed.

I told them so.

But the DAP Penang, just like the DAP Perak, just wouldn't listen.

They (DAP Penang) also played with their hairy balls, played them for the full 24 hours, happily awaiting that inauguration ceremony at 11th, March, and after that, when the DAP Penang got to the Chief Minister office, they found that ALL THE DOCUMENTS ARE GONE !

See? I told you so !

I specifically told them to watch out, but them DAP Penang with hairy balls just wouldn't listen !

But hey, do you still remember what they told us, before the election?

The DAP Penang told us that they would be DIFFERENT, that unlike the bn, them DAP Penang would LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE.

Yeah, listen to my foot !

I don't have the smart pills, so I have nothing to force feed them DAP "hairy balls" Penang idiots.

Anyone, please, if you got really good smart pills, please sell them to me.

I will even pay top $$$.

All this is for the betterment of Penang, the state I loved so much.

Please send me the smart pills, charge them to my credit cards.

Thank you !
written by angfaulith, March 16, 2008 15:45:27
thank you to all in the dap especially to lim kit siang for supporting the pas candidate as menteri besar in perak. as we move forwards towards a truly islamic state under the guidance of nik aziz nik mat and the guardianship of the sultans we hope all non muslims will support and pray for our inevitable victory.
we will be fair to all as long as it does not go aganst the teachings of the qoran and the teachings of the prophet muhammad s.a.w. allah hu akhbar!!
written by Milo, March 21, 2008 19:53:51
I think the DAP has been made an unfair fall guy whenever there is some form of negotiation going on for posts after the election. Very few seems to give a thought to the fact that it is the duty of every party to negotiate a fair deal based on what their party belives to be fair. Negotiation shopuld not be made a dirty word, or else, those with impure agenda would abuse the situation unfairly for their benefit.

That the malays can accept a chinese as MB is long over due, and considering that Penang has been having a Chinese MB all these years, makes it even less of a big deal. That's why I was more than a little disappointed when an MB from DAP which won most seats within the BR collition is not recognised for the MB post initially based on racial and religious ground. But I respect the choice from PAS later because I trust Raja Nazrin (because he has the moral high ground) selection of the PS candidate is based on information I do not have, and as it turns out, the PAS rep has awesome talents. So the case is settled on the negiotiation. So I ask: What's wrong with negotiation? Don't you want leaders who can negotiate for your interests? Com'om people, get real!

As for Selangor, I do not know the actual qualities of the people's rep vying for the Deputy MB post, but certainly, if we assume that they all have about the right qualities for the post, I would anytime prefer a woman candidate for no other reason that women are under represented in the political scene. Terresa would be a natural choice from DAP as the votes she got reflected her popularity, her courage to speak out and her devotion to the people over the years is well-known.

DAP certainly have views and behaviors I don't agree with, but negotiating for posts (if none appropriately) and recommending a woman rep are certainly not something I would object to.

That's my views for now.
written by Milo, March 21, 2008 19:56:10
correction: if done appropriately