Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow An open letter to the DAP on Perak MB's appointment

An open letter to the DAP on Perak MB's appointment PDF Print
Thursday, 13 March 2008 00:39

I am a Malaysian Chinese residing in Petaling Jaya and had voted for your party's candidates in the 12th GE.

I had attended practically all your party's ceramahs in the PJU and nearby areas. In the ceramahs, your speakers had continuously stressed the importance of a multiracial government that takes care of its rakyat regardless of status, race and religion.

It is therefore a great shock and disappointment to hear that the DAP is calling its Perak state assemblymen to boycott the swearing-in ceremony of the new Perak MB tomorrow just because the MB is from PAS. I feel very much let down by this decision.

Firstly, your party calls for the establishment of a Malaysian Malaysia. Isn't PAS part of Malaysian Malaysia. Or are you telling us now that just because they are from PAS, they are not? Then in the first place, you should not have ask the voters, especially your supporters, to vote for the 'Bulan' knowing fully well it is referring to PAS. If you can ask voters, especially your supporters, to vote for PAS, then why can't your party now accept a PAS assemblyman to head the state government. I was led to believe that as long as a person is qualified, he will be supported. As many speakers said in your ceramahs, 'It doesn't matter whether it is a white cat or a black cat, as long as it is able to catch rat, it is a good cat.' Doesn't the same argument holds, whether the MB is from PAS, DAP or PKR, as long as he is able to look after the welfare of the rakyat, then he is a good MB.

Secondly, if a candidate from PAS cannot be accepted by the DAP, then why in the first place you decide to set up a coalition government with them? The argument that you can cooperate with the six PAS assemblymen and yet can't accept a PAS member as the Perak MB does not hold water. Are you trying to fool us just like what the BN government had done over the last 50 years? Don't think that the public is stupid. How can we, the rakyat, trust you now when even before the state government is set up, you are already fighting among yourselves in the so-called 'Barisan Rakyat' coalition.

Thirdly, your party's Perak state chairman Mr Ngeh Koo Ham had repeatedly said that DAP, PKR and PAS will abide by any decision made by the Sultan on the Perak MB. Now that a decision had been reached, you are going back on your words. As I recall from one of the speeches by Mr Gobind Singh Deo in SS2 on March 7 in which he said, "A politician must be responsible for what he said. After making a statement, he cannot then said that he is saying things in a sarcastic manner etc so as to deny his earlier statement." Mr Gobind Singh said this when commenting on Tun Mahathir's statement that when he said Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was innocent, he was being sarcastic about it. The same standard should then be applied to all DAP party leaders and speakers. You must be responsible and accountable for what you say. When you said that you will accept the decision made by the Sultan, then you must stand by what you had said. Going back on your words now can only show that the BN is right and that your party leaders, especially Mr Lim Kit Siang, is only going after personal glory/power without any regard to the well-being of the rakyat and the party. DAP would then be just a party that is "cakap tak serupa bikin".

Fourthly, your party has not come out with any reason for the rejection of the PAS assemblyman as the Perak MB. I, as a voter that voted for your party, demand to know the reason behind this decision. Your party had always stressed the importance of accountability and transparency in your election manifesto. Now, please 'walk the talk' by also being transparent and explain your decision to the public. Anything less would make you no better than the BN government which 50% of the peninsula rakyat had just rejected. Anything less would also guarantee that the rakyat would make their voices heard again in the next general election, voting against the DAP.

There are many more reasons for my feeling of utter disgust and consternation for this decision made by your party's CEC. However, I will keep them to myself at this moment.

On the morning of March 9, 2008, I truly believe that a new era has dawned on Malaysia as we are finally able to transcend race and religion in our efforts to make Malaysia the truly great country that she should be. A truly Malaysian Malaysia. Sadly, just three days later, that new era does not even have a chance to begin as the group of leaders that are supposed to lead us there are now fighting among themselves for whatever reasons best known to them.

How can we move forward as a nation when we have leaders that are so selfish, egocentric and who don't practice what they preached? Is our country forever going to be mired in mediocrity amidst a culture of intolerance, suspicion, fear, corruption and cronyism?

I sincerely thought that DAP is part of the future and a cure of our country's ills. However, this decision by your CEC had shown that DAP is a party of the past. It is already blinded by its election success and is no longer in touch with the aspirations of the rakyat to build a nation based on trust, integrity, tolerance, responsibility and accountability, regardless of status, race and religion. You had forgotten that the rakyat is the boss that voted for you and put you there to serve us. You had betrayed your voters and had rejected the rakyat's wish to move forward to form a Malaysian Malaysia.

I rest my case.

Teh Seng Hin

Comments (63)Add Comment
written by HJ Angus, March 13, 2008 00:47:30
The first mistake was to submit 3 names for the ruler to select but the second will be more serious as it will insult the ruler.

BR needs the goodwill of the palace if it wants to lead Perak. The first error can be a learning curve and I am sure your ardent supporters can understand that.

It is time to show some statesmanship to all Malaysians.
written by Chuang Tze, March 13, 2008 00:54:08
Looks like we need to replace the old guard ... becoming too rigid mentally to look at the broader picture ...

Come down from your High Horse, DAP, and realize that the 2008 elections turned out the way they did because the RAKYAT is fed up with the BN and wants to reject them !!

It just so happens the Opposition was there to enjoy the watershed of votes coming their way !! So, take this as a long awaited opportunity to serve the RAKYAT instead of behaving like a spoilt juvenile delinquent and throwing tantrums because you didn't get your way !! How immature can you get for a man your age, Kit Siang ??!!

I have never failed to vote for your party these past 5 elections ... you really disappoint me !!

Just accept the Deputy MB 1 position and move on and make sure you don't throw away this golden opportunity to serve the RAKYAT above all else ... soemthing you have waited decades to do !!!

written by generalhonest, March 13, 2008 00:55:39
Completely agree with the writer.

DAP.... do the honorable thing and do not boycott the ceremony. Accept the decision by the Sultan and move on for the sake of the rakyat. We voted for you , now act like someone who deserved our votes.
written by Ireland, March 13, 2008 00:56:04
I am indian from taiping, also agree with you, well said....
written by bumiku, March 13, 2008 00:56:59
I agree with Teh. Mr. Lim, your state (in this case Perak) party chief had spoken on behalf of your party. CEC can not and should not be stating otherwise after the Sultan has made the choice. Pls be a team player. Attend the swearing in ceremony.

Then sit down with PKR and PAS and sort things out. Be one or be gone in 2012. The choice is yours. The ball is in your hands now.
written by Jan, March 13, 2008 00:58:43
I am extremely disappointed by Lim's actions. Very very unwise.
written by Motherchell, March 13, 2008 00:58:47
I fully agree with you TEH S H , I too don't want to hear any more of this riff raff, the DAP must know that the YESTERDAYS ARE OVER WITH OLD baggage. THE ONLY WAY FORWARD is with unity and confidence that we can all be different with the New CHANGE.!!
written by hakuna, March 13, 2008 00:59:08
I was shocked with the DAP’s stand on the issue but reckon they might be merely doing this for their hard supporters to ensure that they made a stand. They should just accept the sultan’s choice and not boycott the swearing in.
We should get away from this racial issues - we are Malaysians immaterial of race or religion.
If there was a prior agreement just after they knew they could form the government it should be adhered to eventhough it may have been made in haste - a gentlemen's word.
BN are like vultures now waiting to pounce on anything they could get to discredit this alliance.
Throw away this ego, you wanted to serve the people - we have given you the chance , so don't spoil it.There are enough of you in the state exco , so why the worry - you can still do all that is required.
Please for Pete's sake go for the ceremony - we will salute you for this. please take heed to this advise.
written by smalluncle, March 13, 2008 01:00:24
HEY you guys, better get this boycott things out of your chic brain. If DAP really boycott then When DSAI seek re-election, I shall vote him out. As I see no future the cheat of BR can go any further. And most important, such decision can creat serious racial tension. So it looks like LKS is no better than some of the BN racists.

Learn lah a bit. You can't change the Sultan decision, so settle it behind closed doors. Don;t exposed your backside, now you see, you kena kuat kuat. Suddenly our nation heroes becomes Rasputin, see how readers of MT tembak you. Think, think think for the rakyat. LKS, Don't force me to use XXXX letters word on you OK. Settle it in gentlement manner.
written by Muachee, March 13, 2008 01:05:12
well say Teh. I am a Chinese and has no problem accepting a PAS MB, what's the matter with DAP?
written by labisman, March 13, 2008 01:06:58
I am a Malasian and say MENYAMPAH!!!! porrrraahhhhh
written by Raymond, March 13, 2008 01:08:15
It's like the US & the old Soviet Union, they have been battling away for so long, that old warrior like Lim Kit Siang dont know when to put his guns down. Kit Siang this battle is OVER, put down your guns. It's time to be a statesman. For the sake of the coalition established on March 9; do the right thing. Accept the decision of the ruler. Dont waste all the efforts for your dumb vanity, and ideology of the past. If we are to succeed in establishing a government that is free of race politics, then DAP must be the first to accept the change. Dubai is a islamic country, and yet, everyone has freedom, safety, and a fair chance there. Let's put aside old mentalities, and embrace the newly appointed CM from PAS.
written by bumiku, March 13, 2008 01:09:33
Yes, talking about DSAI, I think he better be coming out and speaking to both PAS and DAP over this NEP issue.. Also, I need to ask, Why did PAS mention that they will not recognise DSAI until he wins a by-election?.. Very unwise of PAS on that move. After all what DSAI had done in garnering the votes for everyone, is this is the gratitude they are showing now?
written by Leon, March 13, 2008 01:11:21
Bulls eye!
written by Leon, March 13, 2008 01:12:01
Have we voted for the wrong party? DAP cakap x serupa bikin? Sickens me...
written by Spear Bing, March 13, 2008 01:13:37
It's a 'symbolic boycott' in anticipation of MCA/BN's backlash. DAP Wakil Rakyat will attend and witness the oath swearing ceremony.

LKS and his DAP leaders are matured enough to understand that HRH Perak Sultan is the decision maker here.

The Chinese in Perak will also understand. But not the MCA leaders. They will continue to hurl accusation one after another. DAP has to bite the bullet.
written by eks, March 13, 2008 01:16:29
Hey..YB Lim Kit Siang what happend to ur Brain ? Are u over excited with the victory ? Pls pay some respect to the Rakyat Who voted for ur party.In future Don't make Stupid things AND Statement like this anymore.Beware we're watching you.Don't be so Stubborn you Old Man.We have all the respect on you.So,pls Don't SPOIL IT.
written by Kuku Burung, March 13, 2008 01:16:32
I was going to write the same thing that Mr Teh wrote, but my command of English is not as good. Very well said, Mr Teh. I voted for DAP believing that it will help us overcome the blot that darkened our society -- racial and religious prejudices. If the DAP goes ahead with the boycott, it will only means:
1. It still live in the dark ages
2. It is unable to forgo the prejudices that entangled us for over 50 years.
3. It does not do what it preached - honour one's word
4. It forgets that the rakyat has put it there, and God allowed it.
5. It will dishonour the intention of our sovereign Sultan of Perak -- that will be terrible.
6. It will lose the image it portrays - it will lose the next GE.
So, please think carefully, sensibly, and honestly, before you act. (The Chinese say: Think 3 times before you act).
written by gyshow, March 13, 2008 01:22:10
I am very shocked and disappointed to hear about the boygott and felt betrayed. What difference is DAP to racist UMNO ? Just 3 days after election, this thing happened, where is Malaysian Malaysia spirit ?
written by bumiku, March 13, 2008 01:23:08
written by Spear Bing, March 13, 2008 | 01:13:37
...The Chinese in Perak will also understand. But not the MCA leaders. They will continue to hurl accusation one after another. DAP has to bite the bullet.

I would like to correct that, the Chinese in Malaysia will understand and they won't listen to MCA over this. Racial politic is coming to an end. UMNO, MCA and MIC's days are numbered! Now, pls prove us rakyat right. Go attend the ceremony and enjoy the tea!
written by cklife, March 13, 2008 01:25:30
DAP.....

What a joke..... Lim Kit Siang.. You should talk to PAS. Allow them to have the MB in Perak.. and set criteria and different set of rules in Perak. If Perak were to be governed under the same rule as in Kelantan or Terengganu, the Non-Muslim voters will definitely vote you out...

I have friends already started to talk about possibilities of shutting down PUBS, discotheque... and have Non-Muslim wearing everything covered up..and all the things Non-Muslim might fear it happen...

I support PAS for MB... but... they must know their line... very very clear that they don't kick off hatret by voters in Perak.

OK.. Let PAS do have the MB..
it's not important to us anyway.. what's more important is how you're gonna run PERAK....

Lim Kit Siang.... don't boycott the ceremony...
EXPLAIN TO THE PEOPLE THAT YOUR INTENTION IS FOR THE PEOPLE...
For all you care.. Deputy is already Mr Ngah.. he should give good advise to the MB... so let it be....

don't spoil the election mood....

written by kclim, March 13, 2008 01:33:45
I fully agree with the writer Teh Seng Hin. Well said, a true Malaysian indeed.

Barisan Rakyat has finally broken through a seemingly impossible barrier with the 12th GE.
I wish to ask of DAP if prior to the elections, the magical genie asked of DAP if they were to be given Perak with 18 seats plus PKR 7 and PAS 6 seats to form the next government would they accept the condition of a PAS MB. If the answer is yes then so be it . If no then back to the same old BN monkeys. I am sure DAP would gladly agree , as afterall the common foe is BN and there is nothing to lose at all. So why all this nonsense of not attending the swearing in ceremony of so called partners and show utter disrespect to the spirit of barisan rakyat and the Royals of Perak. Did we detect DAP ( Lim Kit Siang ) saying they have not yet agreed on Barisan Rakyat? A bit too late isn’t it now that the honeymoon is over and the baby is on the way.
My dear Mr Lim Kit Siang better beware these are modern times. You are an old man. Times have changed. You need to accommodate others and adapt to the evolving events. I hope you do not adopt the arrogance of the previous government. As surely as the people have given you the chance to serve, the people can withdraw support when the time comes. So please end the squabbling all you guys DAP/PKR/PAS and get down to work. Please do not squander this opportunity as whatever happens in Perak will affect the other states in Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan. You are sitting on a powder keg so please refrain from smoking lest you blow up all those closest to you who matters the most. You have fought a long time we know, please don’t throw it all away because of a miserable MB position which is God’s gift to the people of Malaysia and not DAP alone. Be contented with what is given and greater things will come your way. In due course the time will come when Malaysia shall accept a Malaysian MB. Need I say more ?
written by Common Man, March 13, 2008 01:40:46
Me too. I am very disappointed with LKS. I am a Chinese who have never fail to vote for DAP.Old racial politics is of the past. Please move over for the new era.If DAP or you Kit Siang cannot change, then you have lost my vote next GE.
written by Bruno, March 13, 2008 01:54:52
Don't have to go 5 years laaaa, 5 days already got problem!

Uncle LKS please don't be playing into BN's hands. We voted for you because of your claims for equality regardless of race and creed. You even claim that you have no qualms on who runs the country as long as there is equality. Now you are back tracking and it seems that you are no better than the BN. For once in a long long time we Malaysians have a chance to make it right. Please don't screw it up Uncle.

Take a chill pill Uncle LKS and maybe take a Star Cruise trip with Dr M and talk about the good old days. At the rate you're going, you and him are pretty much a cut from the same cloth. Both being an egoistic and self serving bigot.

Ps. I voted for you guys. Please don't let us down.
written by The dragonheart, March 13, 2008 01:55:29
Thank You Mr Teh Seng Hin.

Let close this topic and I hope LKS apologize openly to the Rakyat and LKS SHOULD make an apology to HRH Immediately.

Let pull up our socks and move forward to a better Malaysia. Remember... we have 7 BN states to prove that our 5 states are far away better ...
written by fireduck, March 13, 2008 02:01:48
I feel EXACTLY the same as Mr Teh. Please LKS, let the Sultan make his decision and let it go. Don't be a selfish idiot. There are bigger battles ahead, so don't let your head swell and get all giddy by the success of this GE. The wind of change was simply one of anti-BN, not particularly pro-DAP alone. Please take note of that.

And although some may explain that your protest is just sandiwara only to pre-empt the MCA accusations, I say, so what? MCA is not relevant anymore! They can bark like hell on that DAP-PAS alliance issue, but do we care? Hell, no! I am willing to accept the PAS rep as the MB. And like Mr Teh said, as long as he's a good and caring MB, doesn't matter which one of the parties he's from.

Your party's deficiency is your inability to attract Malay members, and then fielding them for the election. Take clear note of that, and restructure, re-invent, your party so that the young dynamic Malays will want to join too.

Your ego is in the way, Mr LKS. And same for the whole DAP CEC and state leadership. Be inclusive, not exclusive like the BN. Or do you want the BN to retake Perak? Remember, BN has more seats than any single one of your parties. don't fight among yourselves so much until you force one of your partners out of the coalition, over to the BN. Then you can kiss the MB and the whole state Exco goodbye.
written by La Cha Mau, March 13, 2008 02:06:09
I'm a Malaysian Chinese, ROCKET supporter as well as having been against anything that is BN,UMNO or for that matter Malays as a whole. Yet for this 12th GE, I'd actually hoped that PAS would have stood for the GE on their own WITHOUT any co-operation whatsoever with any other political party. I'd also hoped that they would win the Federal Govt outright on their own & also win every state govt in the Peninsula.

Reason: PAS Islamic political governance far exceed those of BN & UMNO. Pls go to Kelantan & see for yourselves. I'd fervently wished that PAS can totally eliminate & eradicate all social evils currently existing or being practiced in non-PAS governed states. Without the social evils, it would automatically help bring about a drastic reduction in corrupted acts of whatever kind.

Therefore Saudara, I would urge you to direct your son the sec-gen to convene an emergency CEC meeting to rescind this boycott decision & while you are at it pls also propose that all CEC members will proceed to embraced Islam via conversion henceforth. This bold decision will endear yourselves to all Malaysians esp to all UMNO & PAS members.

If yr party had urged Malaysians to JUST CHANGE IT then, I will now urge you & your CEC members to JUST DO IT & make everyone happy. Do not be stubborn. Zakaria was and whole Malaysia saw what a heavy price he paid for it.

ps: As for me, I have already converted to Islam a few days after attending your ceramah way back in 1973 in Beach Street,Penang because my fear for you is far greater than my fear for Satan himself.
written by Avanza1, March 13, 2008 02:15:11
Enough is Enough. Let the swearing of MB go ahead, then let them start their important work of serving the ppl. Reduce powerty, enhance our economy, fight crime, corruption....many more.

Today we have breached the race divide. Next let try to breach the religion divide. Are we up to it or we need another 50 years. Let us see if we are still around.
written by jocelyn frank, March 13, 2008 02:23:13
I think LKS is too overjoyed over DAP victories all over the states.This old man always speaks things wrongly out of his mind,dont feel too proud over the victory that had just acheived.
Against the people power will of peace & new change , voting you as a victor doesnt mean that you can talk & act as you wish.We are watching you too.......
Is time for him to retire soon..........
written by redwine, March 13, 2008 02:31:49
RUKUNEGARA :

NOW THEREFORE WE, the people of Malaysia, pledge to concentrate the whole of our energy and efforts to achieve these ambitions based on the following principles:

* BELIEF IN GOD
* LOYALTY TO KING AND COUNTRY
* THE SUPREMACY OF THE CONSTITUTION
* THE RULE OF LAW
* COURTESY AND MORALITY

* KEPERCAYAAN KEPADA TUHAN
* KESETIAAN KEPADA RAJA DAN NEGARA
* KELUHURAN PERLEMBAGAAN
* KEDAULATAN UNDANG-UNDANG
* KESOPANAN DAN KESUSILAAN

written by doggone, March 13, 2008 02:46:13
All of a sudden, almost everyone here has lost that 'proud to be Malaysian' feeling with their stupid bickering.
Tell you what lah BARISAN RUCKUS. We will pardon you this time with our eyes wide open only that an infant falls down taking their first step. I am a Malaysian Chinese and I gave you, DAP and PKR my vote in PJ Selatan.

Now I vote PAS for the CM position in Perak.
I have spoken. I suggest the DAP prove themselves in Penang for all to see and let PAS do the same in Perak. PKR has same burden in Selangor.

Don't you 3 buggers forget the people who placed their lives and trust in you. At this trying times please do NOT extinguish the flame of hope. We really thought we could see the end of the tunnel. Now are you trying to blow out the illumination? Fook me !!!
written by patlu, March 13, 2008 02:48:24
SPOT ON, Teh!

BOTTOMLINE, we need PROFESSIONALS to run the country and I'll bet HRH Raja Nazrin did his homework and did the right thing. Perhaps someone should post the candidates' CVs online and let the people judge for themselves.

For crying out loud, LKS,
put race and religion aside
WALK THE TALK
put our country back on course!

Really, we need to evolve to a Two-Party System. Coalitions don't work. Just proven yet again. smilies/cry.gif

Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia
Pat Lu
written by Dreamlander, March 13, 2008 02:56:20
Mr. Lim Kit Siang
Please be patient. DAP has survived many years under NEP. We cannot dismantle this institutional albatross overnight. Frankly, if DAP is a genuine multi-racial party, it should at least have selected some Malay candidates to stand in the 12th GE. How many Malay candidates did the DAP field? Compare yourself to PKR, which is truly multi-racial. The BA/BR winning Perak is unexpected. If DAP had expected this, then you should have read the state’s constitution in advance and fielded several Malay candidates to anticipate the occurrence of such an event, just in case!!!. Even the threat that the DAP intends to boycott the Perak MB swearing-in ceremony as a protest against the state’s constitution is grossly immature. You know full well that this non-Malay, non-Muslim clause cannot be changed immediately. This lame excuse exposed your ignorance of the Perak’s state constitution. A shocking disclosure from such seasoned (and legally knowledgeable) politicians in the DAP. Since the choice of the MB was decided by the Sultan/Regent of Perak, who are the most legally and scholastically qualified pair of father and son amongst the royalties in Malaysia, the DAP Central Committee has, by its uncalled for action, unwittingly antagonized the most respected royal household in Malaysia. Now that the rakyat have voted you into office, cast aside the politics and get on with the job of administering a state government. You have been given a chance denied DAP for 40 years. Prove to us that you deserve out trust and support. Or is it that 40 years in the OPPOSITION has conditioned all your reflexes?
A Pro-BA/BR Chinese Voter
(I am sad to have to disclose my race to drive this point home)
written by bn haramjadah, March 13, 2008 02:56:23
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN LKS FROM NAZRI OR ZAM, by making a stupid statement like this you just shot off your toe fool, think before you talk, if you were adviced by your 4 th floor boys advsers sack the lot of them, and I just voted dap tony pua, does that mena I got conned, you lim kit siang sound no different than hisshamuddin's keris waving, what is the bet we will see you tomorrow at the swearing in ceremony, don't go, barisan rakyat breaks up, and dap goes back into opposition, and than where you put your face, DAP DIES THE NEXT ELECTION LIKE MIC, we did not vote opposition we voted against the bullshit of bn, with this statement you lost dap a lot of credibility, which you will have to work very hard to regain. so shut your trap and do the job the rakyat voted you to do, another thing THINK, THINK THAN OPEN YOUR MOUTH, OR SHOULD LIM GUAN ENG PUT A GAG ORDER ON YOU LKS, HE IS YOUR LEADER NO? LIM GUAN ENG ASK THIS STUPID FATHER OF YOURS TO SHUT UP, YOU HAVE REALLY PISSED US OFF LKS
written by mikewang, March 13, 2008 03:09:01
DAP !

I am a Chinese who voted for your party and I am utterly disappointed with your action to boycott the swearing in of the Mentri Besar.

1. You have slighted His Royal Highness, the Sultan of Perak, since it is your party which agreed that they would abide to the choice of Tuanku.

2. You have sown the seed of discord to the opposition cause and threw away a golden chance to the concept of Bangsa Malaysia regardless of race, class or religion.

3. By being the largest group in the coalition, PAS cannot initiate any Islamic policy without your consent. Can't you understand this SIMPLE logic ???? BODOH KA YOU ORANG ?

4. Saudara Lim Kit Siang,

It is through accidents of history that chances are given.
No one expected DAP nor the opposition to win big and since win big you people did, you need to seize the opportunity of a lifetime to make the change for generations to come by putting good governance above fears.

The People have overcome their fears to give your party and the opposition such a chance.
A chance that you and I may not get again in our lifetime.

It is rude to boycott a swearing in ceremony among political enemies (like UMNO in Penang), it is suicidal to boycott the swearing in ceremony of a political friend.
Moreover, it is also very disrespectful to Tuanku.

Do you still want UMNO to be the winner against the choice of the people ????
Please knock some sense into the heads of your party members/leader.
You need to threaten to leave DAP and take the party down with you if party members disobey.

YES, it is as serious as this !!!

-----------------------

One other thing DAP.

Please learn and understand history before your representatives boycott the swearing in.

In 1969, the then Sultan REFUSED to grant an audience to DR Seenivasagam eventhough the combined opposition had won a majority against the Alliance. The coalition of opposition parties could not even be explored. Then came May 13 and the rest is history.

In 2008, BN just need 2 crossovers from your party and they will form the next government.

Today we have a wise Tuanku who gave the opposition a chance to show that you people are capable of good governance and DAP wants to throw away that chance.
Moreover, it is extremely impolite to show disrespect to Tuanku.

Bear in mind that BN is still the largest single party in Perak with 28 seats against 18 for DAP. If you people cannot form a coalition to rule, then this opportunity will be handed to BN.

Think !
Is your fear of PAS greater than your fear of handing back the government to BN ?

I swear I will never ever vote again for DAP if you squander our chance of seeing a bangsa malaysia rising from a just government.
I won't even trust your government in Penang if they share the same value as you.

I am utterly disappointed with DAP.
I hope good sense will return tomorrow starting with the party issuing an apology to Tuanku !!!
written by goddad2901, March 13, 2008 03:16:04
Kit Siang, you really not only failed me but also all voters who gave you all the mandate to walk your talk. Really regretted spending so much time and effort to canvass my relatives, friends and associates to put an "X" next to your rocket on 08 March. Told them to try opposition this time around, but what happened?

Even before settling the dust,you wanted to snatch the headlines.My question to you is: Why do you still want to run or treat DAP as your family business??? Have you realised now DAP is part of the coalition to run the Perak state government? Or are you thinking you are still in the opposition? Your tantrums and behaviour of ‘boycotting or ‘walking-out’ proved your old self. (As the saying goes: How can the leopard change its spots?)

Kit Siang, we expected you as a ‘very senior politician’ to at least ask for an audience with our beloved Sultan to enquire and voice your discontentment without much great ‘hoo-hah’ or publicity!!! Why do you create unwanted embarrassment to our Royalty?(We presume you already know that our Sultan is the most learned and wise amongst our Malay Rulers.) We hate to say, IF we and our rakyat did not want a change of government, do you think that DAP and your so called coalition brothers would win and win big???

We would advise you to cherish whatever is given to you and DAP. We voted you to do a good job coz prior to the election, you complained that you all are not tested coz you all did not have a chance. Now that you have, and barely 5 days into it and you start your nonsense. I do not mind spending more than 10k and flying more than 12 hrs to be on time to cast my vote, but I will really mind if you treat my home state as ‘LIM ENTERPRISE’..

Lastly, we dare you and your assemblyman to boycott the swearing-in ceremony!!! Say what you mean and mean what you say!! We will NOT beg you all to attend but we will decide your future come PRU13.
written by Wakeupmsia, March 13, 2008 03:16:59
Hello DAP! What's going on. Go for the swearing-in ceremony of the new MB for Perak. What's wrong with you? PAS is OK
written by Msian 2, March 13, 2008 04:22:53
DAP, have U guys forgotten we have great things to do. Listen to the people, do not boycott the swearing in. Its a very blessed moment, it took 50 years to achieve. The sultanate deserves an apology. PAS have a track record of being fair,even if I am wrong, PAS wants to be fair right before March 8th.
written by FFT, March 13, 2008 04:34:01
All DAP members and supporters worth their salt should petition to have a motion of no-confidence in Kit Siang, with the purposes of having him removed/dropped by the party from his Parliamentary position.

Let that also serve as a lesson to the other leftist douchebags in the CEC.

If timed well, the resulting by-election can see Anwar standing for the Ipoh Timor parliamentary seat.
written by renoir, March 13, 2008 04:57:52
Readers here might remember my posting about some really rich people from Subang wanting to attend DAP's ceramahs. And I said that if the rich felt that way, the middleclass must've been even angrier with BN. Since then, I'd phoned up DAP officials, including a longtime friend who also got elected in Klang, for DAP's schedules. Many did attend those conducted by Hannah Yeoh and others - one of which saw the presence of LKS as well. And the party has admitted they were surprised at the amount of donations received.

I can frankly tell the party this: if you don't change, then, like Mr. Teh here, this new group of supporters WILL NEVER VOTE DAP AGAIN!

written by radiohead, March 13, 2008 06:20:45
I agree with the author.
Please stop the boycotting crap and join hands for the swear in ceremony. For a good politician position and title come second but serve the rakyat who place their trust in you first.
Proof to the BN goons the BR can stand strong and govern better...no race, religion, color and creed.
The decision of MB was from the Sultan and needs to be honored.

And please in future do not come up with such harsh statement that can shake the integrity of the BR coalition.
written by foresight, March 13, 2008 06:22:06
I thought that BN didn't learn. Looks like DAP is no different. If the worst happens when PAS has had enough of it and decides to join BN, there will be another tsunami in the next election and this time it will sweep DAP.
written by radiohead, March 13, 2008 06:23:15
And yes I am still celebrating the election results in the UK as rakyat so please don't spoil it.
written by Agahdemo, March 13, 2008 06:57:40
Lim Kit Siang, i m totally disappointed with your CEC stand on the Perak MB appointment. Please act like grown up adults...stop the boycott........ your
coalition make us proud one day and you took it away next with your foolish
stand..... totally disappointed with you and DAP......
written by omarkhayyam, March 13, 2008 07:06:29
Yo Kit,

my malay wife spend saturday afternoon travelling back to Ipoh from Penang to vote for you !

our network our malay chinese and indian frens "sms" email and phone up others to attend ceramahs twice in han chiang once each in sungai nibong and sungai ara !

accept the sultan's prerogative and well-thought over decision and move on.

we dont need another shahidan or samy in the this DAP/PAS/Keadilan coalition, remember we are watching you guys just like we watched BN.

so just shut and and start serving the rakyat or comes 13 GE out you go and join BN

written by shooks, March 13, 2008 07:48:52
Sigh. Here we go again.

The Rakyat take one step forward and the politicians take us three steps back.

My parents who were staunch UMNO supporters and lived through the May 13 incident voted for DAP during the election. While my Hindu Indian neighbours voted PAS.

We saw the bigger picture which is a better Malaysia for EVERYBODY. Unfortunately, the politicians are still living in the past.

I dread to think that these are the people who are going to lead us to a new Malaysia.
written by Jivathma, March 13, 2008 08:30:20
Dear Everybody,

I fully agree with the writer and I am a Malaysian Indian, now residing in the UK. PLEASE GO TO THE DAP WEBSITE AND LET THEM KNOW OUR DISSATISFACTION ON THEIR FEEDBACK COLUMN. I have done. I am really upset with LKS.
written by hiro, March 13, 2008 09:39:04
Dear readers of Malaysia Today, I think we must not jump the gun and straight away condemn Kit Siang if what was shown on his blog is the true intent of DAP CEC and not some hacker trying to drive a wedge within the Opposition coalition, which serves the best interest of people like Ong Ka Chuan only.

It could have been a case of miscommunication and misunderstanding between the central leadership and state leadership AND NOT A CASE OF RENEGING ON THEIR PROMISE. In any event, the top party leadership should sit down and sort this out and make an announcement soon.

Obviously, if the good will of the Oppposition coalition is by and large intact, which it should be (!) considering it's been just 4 days since they win popular vote in Peninsular Malaysia, this problem can be peacefully resolved.

By political convention, the Sultan ought to give weight to the biggest winner of the state to be MB. It is only if DAP chooses to defer to the people, then another from PKR or PAS is chosen. But if DAP has made it clear that it won't have PAS, then I think the right choice is PKR, because DAP has to think of its constituency as well - which includes not only the Chinese but also Malays and Indians (more of which voted for DAP instead of PAS/PKR for reasons which we must appreciate).

I think the primary concern is that the Opposition has not worked out a formal coalition yet and so it must not be seen that Perak is putting the cart before the horse. You must understand that DAP and PAS did not have a formal arrangement and that was how it was represented to the rakyat.
written by Bill Gates, March 13, 2008 11:58:10
BE ONE OR BE GONE.

I like that.
written by mikebravo, March 13, 2008 12:32:12
Mr. Lim Kit Siang........... dah mula durhaka pada Sultan............... Belum apa apa dah tunjuk bia..dap..... Lupa...
written by Kal El, March 13, 2008 12:32:45
I was really pissed-off when i heard that DAP will boycott the PAS MB.
I am one who voted for the opposition irrespective of PAS/DAP/PKR as long as it is not BN.
To me, as a malay, the boycott is not really towards the PAS MB but is actually to the Regent's decision which is to me indirectly shows disrespect for the Sultan which can be categorised as 'BIADAB'!.
I really got fired-up by this & would not hesitate to retaliate if such actions is continued without apology to the Regent.
Hence, my 2sen advice here for you MB LKS to just shut-up & do your work.
Don't force us malay to show you the door.
written by abuya, March 13, 2008 12:40:32
aiseyman kit siang......
I think u better tido like itu Cemerlang, gemilang and terlentang.... sheeeshhhh
written by Kal El, March 13, 2008 12:45:27
We would tolerate & hope for a better future with our brothers from other races.
The only thing us Malays wont tollerate (i dont care bout umno malay as being a malay doesnt mean being an umno member..it thats the case..then i would have been categorised by the malays as a traitor for voting outside umno & BN) is if someone from another race showing disrespect to our Sultan & undermining their authority.
I have tolerated (when in high school) a friend of mine undermining the Sultan & saying they are worthless & etc..i didnt retaliate as i respect his views & we are best friends..fyi my friend is a chinese..
We Malay are a tolerant ppl..we will share where we can as we would like to live in harmony with our other Malaysian brothers.
But dont test water lah MB LKS.
We love our brother Malaysians & want to live peacefully & move forward to a new future.
written by funfac3, March 13, 2008 12:46:50
"Remove the bad adviors" says Keng Yaik. I agree, remove LIM KIT SIANG from the Barisan Rakyat.
written by mikebravo, March 13, 2008 13:02:20
Bagus dah minta maaf.... Tapi tidak akan lupa...... Saya cadangkan LKS bersara awal.. lebih baik.. Kalau hendak lihat BR jadi lehih mantap....
written by mikebravo, March 13, 2008 13:08:26
LKS terlalu pentingkan jawatan darapada Barisan Rakyat... Cakap macam leaders MCA.
written by mikebravo, March 13, 2008 13:10:10
LKS terlalu pentingkan jawatan daripada Barisan Rakyat... Cakap macam dan serupa leaders MCA.
written by datukbendahara69, March 13, 2008 19:41:45
I am a Malaysian Malay born in Perak. I don't care who the MB is. All I care is that by the time I come home for annual leave from overseas, I expect Pekan Tanjung Malim and Jalan Ketoyong to be sparkling clean including road side overgrowth a.k.a semak samun. By the way, I also want daily garbage collection using the green heavy duty bins. I can buy the bin if required. Another thing is that kick all Mat Rempit out from Pekan Tanjung Malim.
written by nathan, March 13, 2008 19:59:42
I still can,t understand why... a Malaysian of any race can't hold the Menteri Besar's post...whoever who holds the post only serves the king the sultan the state and his country......why do we still separate ourselves like this....26 million people so divided in so many ways.....THE SULTAN OF PERAK is fondly loved by everyone...malaysians of all walk of life...The REGENT is also highly respected....its only fair that the party with the majority forms the govt and DAP should be allowed to lead......ONE NATION..ONE RACE...pls dont segregate your own people....
written by Malay Ultraman, March 14, 2008 08:31:44
a piece of advice to dap, pkr and pas... dont act like an opposition when you become part of government!!! Your enemies are mca, gerakan, umno and mainstream newspaper.... work for rakyat.....!! all the best