Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Between perception and reality

Between perception and reality PDF Print
Wednesday, 12 March 2008 15:17

In spite of all the rhetoric, Barisan Nasional knows it lost the 2008 general election. The final result may show that it won, but if you exclude the one million 'stuffed votes', then this would translate to a loss.

Politics is not always what you see. Even if the great Houdini or David Copperfield tried their hands at politics, all the 'magic' in the world could not transform political perception into reality, and vice versa. The perception was, until midnight of 8 March 2008, is that the invincible Barisan Nasional could not be brought down. The reality is it can.

Another perception is that Barisan Nasional still won the 2008 General Election with a comfortable margin. Sure, it lost its two-thirds majority in Parliament. But it is still above the 112 seats it requires to form a government with a simple majority. The reality is, Barisan Nasional garnered less than 50% of the popular vote in Peninsular Malaysia. Only when the votes from Sabah and Sarawak are added in would Barisan Nasional's share of the popular votes increase above 50%, but even then only slightly above 50%. In other words, the ruling coalition versus opposition votes were split almost 50:50. But then the ruling coalition comprises of 14 political parties as opposed to the opposition's three. It was like a football match of 14 players versus only three.

Even then the football match analogy would not be that accurate. In this particular 'football match', the referee, linesmen and water-boy also kicked the ball and scored a few goals, every goal the opposition scored was declared foul, they tied the legs of the three opposition players so that they could not run but could only hop all over the field, and much more. And even before the kick-off, they declared that the 14 players from the ruling team had one million goals to their credit. This one million goal handicap were the quarter million postal votes and the estimated three quarters of a million 'phantom' voters. The ruling coalition had safely tucked away one million votes into the ballot box long before 8 March 2008. It was already 1 million-zero before the football game started.

Yet, in spite of all this -- in spite of the one million vote advantage, the mainstream media it controlled, the government machinery at its disposal, the police on its side, the Elections Commission as its fifteenth coalition member, the threats of Indians and Chinese 'losing their voice in the government' if they voted opposition, banning Raja Petra Kamarudin from speaking in Penang, and much, much more -- the best Barisan Nasional could do was win only half the votes.

The opposition fought with catapults and swords against an army that had helicopter gunships, rocket launchers, napalm bombs, night vision telescopes, and satellite tracking devices at its disposal. Even the Taliban of Afghanistan did not have that hard a time when it sent the Russians packing back to Moscow. Yet the opposition garnered 50% of the popular votes, denied Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament, and captured five states. If it had been a level playing field, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would no longer be the Prime Minister of Malaysia.

But Abdullah is not going to remain Prime Minister for long though. The next general election, which can be called any time after 8 March 2011 and before 8 March 2013, will be led by a new Prime Minister. This new Prime Minister might be from the ranks of Barisan Nasional, in particular Umno, but then again it might not.

The opposition needs just another 30 more Parliament seats to form the next federal government. If 30 Members of Parliament from any of the component members of Barisan Nasional, Umno included, cross over, then the Barisan Nasional government will fall. Sarawak and Sabah have more than 50 Parliament seats. And there are another 80 plus in Peninsular Malaysia. And all the opposition needs is just 30 from this more than 130.

Even if the rakyat are not yet ready for an opposition-led federal government but would like the Barisan Nasional government to remain in office for awhile longer to give the opposition time to prove it can manage the five states before being entrusted with the job of running this country, the Prime Minister can still be changed. And for that to happen, 30 Members of Parliament from Barisan Nasional just need to stand up and support an opposition vote of no confidence against the Prime Minister as soon as Parliament is convened.

When that happens, according to the Constitution, then the Agong has no choice but to elect a new Prime Minister from amongst the Members of the House whom, in His Majesty's opinion, would command the confidence of the majority of the House. Though this new Prime Minister must also be a Member of Parliament, he need not be from the ruling coalition. He could also be an opposition Member of Parliament just as long as he commands the confidence of the majority of the House. In other words, if the Agong is of the opinion that Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah would command the confidence of not less than 112 Parliamentarians, then His Majesty can appoint Ku Li as the new Prime Minister. And Ku Li appears to be the only Member of Parliament thus far who would get the support of both Barisan Nasional as well as the three opposition parties.

Abdullah will of course pre-empt this by offering Ku Li the position of Minister of Trade. Abdullah hopes that once Ku Li is made a Minister, and of a quite important portfolio on top of that, Ku Li would not entertain any thoughts of passing a vote of no confidence in Parliament against the Prime Minister. I suppose even millionaire Princes have their price and probably Ku Li's price is an important cabinet post.

In spite of all the rhetoric, Barisan Nasional knows it lost the 2008 general election. The final result may show that it won, but if you exclude the one million 'stuffed votes', then this would translate to a loss. Abdullah saw his majority slide by 7,000 votes. If the postal and phantom votes are excluded, then Abdullah would suffer the fate of Zam and Sharizat. In actual fact, Abdullah should have been automatically disqualified anyway since he never filed his 1999 election accounts. Any way you look at it, Abdullah is an illegitimate Prime Minister.

Abdullah's son-in-law, Khairy Jamaluddin, too lost. On the first count he lost by 114 votes. He then demanded a recount and this 114-vote loss mysteriously transformed to a 5,000-vote win. The great David Copperfield himself has admitted that even he is not able to perform this trick. Khairy knows he lost. Every man and his dog knows he lost. Whatever you might say can never transform this perception into reality.

This could never have happened if Umno had not turned on Khairy. Opposition votes alone could never defeat Khairy. It needed Umno votes swinging to the opposition to be able to do this. And this is what alarmed Khairy. Rembau was a safe seat. No opposition candidate could have made it in Rembau unless Umno too votes opposition. And this is what happened on 8 March 2008 in Rembau.

The signal is clear. Abdullah and his son-in-law were not rejected by the opposition. They were rejected by Umno. So, looking at what happened in the 2008 general election, it is not a pie in the sky for 30 Members of Parliament from Barisan Nasional standing up to throw their support behind the opposition in passing a vote of no confidence against Abdullah at the next Parliament session. And the same simple majority would also not have any problems in accepting Ku Li as the new Prime Minister of Malaysia.

This is what lies in wait. And Abdullah and Khairy are frantically talking to each and every Barisan Nasional Member of Parliament to find out where they stand if such a scenario transpires. They are not leaving the opposition Members of Parliament out as well. Abdullah and Khairy are sending out feelers to see if PAS would like to join Barisan Nasional and be part of the ruling government. If PAS agrees to cross over, then not only would Abdullah be safe from a vote of no confidence, but Kelantan, Kedah, Perak and Selangor would also fall back into Barisan Nasional hands. Only one state, Penang, would remain opposition. They are also talking to those from PKR and offering millions to those who agree to cross-over. The going rate is RM10 million per head. And although the cost may total RM500 million or so, if they can get at least half the opposition Members of Parliament to cross over, then the price would be worth it and RM500 million would be peanuts to retain the post of Prime Minister, unchallenged, and getting back four of the five states under opposition control.

Tomorrow, we should see the Selangor and Perak state governments getting sworn in. PKR will lead Selangor and DAP, Perak. That would mean two states would be led by PAS, two by DAP, with one for PKR.

This is only the beginning. Winning the five states and denying Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament was damn difficult but still relatively easy compared to what lies ahead. We shall talk more about this later once all the state governments settle down. The problem now is money and that is the first thing we need to address. And Malaysia Today is already talking to various parties as to how we can attract investments into the five opposition-led states. We shall show the rakyat who voted for us how we run these five states in spite of being denied any federal funds. Then, come the next election, the rakyat will vote the opposition state governments back into office not because of rhetoric, fiery speeches and promises but because of performance and the ability to deliver. If not, expect all these states to go back to Barisan Nasional.

Comments (71)Add Comment
written by malaysianohope, March 12, 2008 15:35:45
Greetings Pete,

Its the case of David vs Goliath but history always repeats itself, in the end the True Believers always win not by meagre but bountiful harvest... must be the case of devine intervention.

The next 4 years the Rakyat shall help the Barisan Rakyat representatives to rule the states and rule it wisely. Show them that we are better at government through fair equitable process. I am confident of this outcome and by the end of this 5 year term shall be a completion of the task of cleasing this blessed nation of ours of all the ills that has befallen us these past 50 years.
written by jibbief, March 12, 2008 15:35:58
Tak TauLah has no moral right to remain as PM. And all those BN MPs who unashamedly supported him are spineless nincompoops. That is the BN way. That is why Ong KT, Samy-no-more value and other BN leaders have not resigned. THis is what happens when one who has held power for so, so long, suddenly loses it. Finally, these bozos will know what it is like to miss their "sorru".

As for Khairy, go commit haarakiri! That will be the most honourable thing to do.

Malaysia, macam-macam ada............
written by indianputra, March 12, 2008 15:43:39
A real mind boggling article by RPK. We need just 30, just 30 of BN from Peninsula or East Malaysia to cross over to the opposition.. East Malaysian parlimentarians will do it, if there is a big carrot offered to them. I don't think, they need money, what they want is power and that I am sure can easily be arranged.. Forget about Peninsula Parlimentarians.. They are scared of Khairy, Police and AG. They won't cross over...

Sabah & Sarawak bloggers... it is in your hands to convince them to cross over.. Ask them to make the REAL CHANGE for Malaysia!!! Moreover, I have been reading in MT how the East Malaysians have been treated over the years by BN. Now is the time to remedy the situation.

OH! LORD.. can we see another Tsunami.. Cross over by BN to opposition.

RPK, the 1,000,000 phantom & postal votes stuffed in.. Is that true?? Can that be proved? If there is a slight suspicion, I would suggest the opposition candidates who lost to make a police report immediately.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 12, 2008 15:44:07
Mungkin ramai masih terasa 'tertekan' dengan perkembangan terkini di negeri Perak tentang perlantikan Menteri Besar.
Disebabkan senarai nama daripada ketiga-tiga parti gabungan sudah dihantar untuk persetujuan Sultan maka haruslah kita menerima perlantikan pilihan Sultan Perak.
Harus kita semua mula mengkikiskan pandangan serta idealogi terhadap keturunan seorang Menteri Besar itu semestinya berbangsa Melayu kerana kita harus bekerjasama demi mengwujudkan Bangsa Malaysia. Mungkin pada permulaan sebegini, kita tidak akan dapat menerimanya, akan tetapi kita harus memberi peluang kepada perlaksanaannya agar kebaikan perlantikan MB berbangsa Malaysia boleh dicontohi oleh negeri2 lain di negara ini.
Kepentingan agama tetap berada di tangan Sultan selaku penaung dan Raja.
Ini merupakan satu tanggungjawab Sultan untuk melantik satu badan khas diraja untuk menjaga kepentingan agama.
Selain daripada itu, segala isu2 kepentingan negeri serta kebajikan rakyat harus dipertanggungjawabkan kepada MB serta Exco2 dipilih.
written by castrol, March 12, 2008 15:48:02
The opposition of yesteryears does not exist anymore. We now have DAP taking over the state in Penang, and this will relegate BN to that of the opposition. Gerakan, which lost all seats, could seriously be irrelevant, as they have no representation at all. The oppositions of yesteryears have also taken over Kedah, Perak and Selangor while PAS has maintained control in Kelantan.

At federal level however, DAP, PKR and PAS remains as opposition. This will present a unique experience to these parties, especially DAP and PKR as they will be the ruling state government and oppositions in parliament simultaneously. PAS already is in this situation when they ruled Kelantan. So now, DAP and PKR will know how it is to sit on the other side of the fence.

My point to DAP and PKR is that do not take it lightly when the opposition raises issues as long as these issues are constructive and for the betterment of the people, just as when you raised all kinds of issues in parliament. Listen to the voice of the people and listen well for they are the ones that put you there in the first place. Most importantly, please reflect back to the numerous pledges you have make during campaigning.

The Star on March 10, Monday, has reported the following:
1. I’m not quitting, says Pak Lah.
2. “Why should I step down? Our party has won. I do not fear anyone except Allah,” he said.

Now I don’t really know what he meant when he said that, but my bet is that he is still sleeping. When a leader fares so badly, such as Mr. Badawi, don’t anyone in the right frame of mind should think of an exit? Clearly Mr. Badawi has to take the responsibility of this defeat by the BN to the majority people of Malaysia.

To further compound to this, as reported in Malaysiakini by Fauwaz Abdul Aziz titled: Pak Lah: We've learned our lesson on Mar 10, 08, I quote the following:

1. The BN coalition’s vote share in Peninsular Malaysia also suffered a blow when it won only 48.7 percent of the popular vote. In 2004, BN rode the wave with a 64 percent popular vote nationwide.
2. Badawi also said, “We have a fairly strong majority that is just short by eight (parliamentary) seats to secure the two-thirds majority. (But) it’s not something we are worried about.”
3. It is expected those who have lost will be appointed as senators, which will allow them to be appointed to the cabinet.

I have no confirmed numbers on the popular votes, but if it is true that BN only secured 48.7 percent of the popular votes, then they are cannot be the legitimate government of Malaysia, if we follow the rule of a democratic process. So, what gives? I think only in Malaysia, as long as you controlled the parliament, regardless of the popular votes, then it is a stolen right to govern. So, something must not be right here!

And what crap is Badawi talking about when he says that they have a fairly strong majority? If he is talking about parliament seats, then fine but isn’t parliamentary seats in an election in Malaysia are catered to favor BN? If it is so, then the popular votes that really indicate of the wishes of the majority of Malaysian will count for nothing. And hence, Badawi is again ignoring the wishes of the majority of Malaysians.

I do not know much about senators, but in my opinion, a person who has lost in an election should not be appointed as senators. This seems to be a license to Mr. Badawi to appoint his cronies to the cabinet. The people have voted, so those who have lost shall not hold any government post! The majority of the people did not vote those who have lost for a reason! The majority of the people do not want to see their faces anymore and hence they have lost. Period!

However and whatever maybe at this point, we the rakyat just wish to see a peaceful transformation in the few states that DAP, PKR and PAS have won. And that, they have actually started to work towards their pre-election pledges and to further fight for our basic rights in parliament. We, the rakyat, have only simple wishes. That you DAP, PKR and PAS work together hand in hand to a better future for all Malaysian, for justice peace and equality.

Thank you and congratulations.
written by rayfire, March 12, 2008 15:50:16

Is it confirmed news, DAP is heading Perak as well. If it is , I would plead to the CM to consider well before deciding on new direction of the state policies so as not to be too drastic to the extend on causing discomfort amongst the rakyat.
I am concerned about a statement made by newly appointed Penang CM, although most recommendation is acceptable, to say outright that it will not follow NEP may not augment well for amongst the rakyat as it may cause yet another racial tension. He should have minced his words, change can't happen overnight!
People have to be comfortable before making any drastic changes.
AS such I plead to all leaders not to hastily decide on the new direction of the states respectively without looking in detail.
Yes BN should concede lost and Opposition can say it has won, but who made it possible?????
It is the people, change is anticipated, but try not to be overzealous about it, man man lai , take it slow and steady.
I just hope people would remain calm and focused and not take it the announcements literally, perhaps they may have better and more elaborate plans to help all Malaysians alike. I hope, I seriously hope so!
smilies/tongue.gif
disagree 18
written by educationist, March 12, 2008 15:52:52
DAP to lead Perak? well, well, well this will really make the UMNOputras jump out of their skin. Hmm but I really don't know if it is a wise move granted the racial realities. How many opposition MP's will switch alliance granted the fantastic price been qouted? Let's hope not enough to allow them to undo the people's demand for change shouted out so loudly on March 8th.
written by cklife, March 12, 2008 15:53:29
I totally agree with the first commentor,
DAP should not put its Chinese State-Assemblyman to Menteri Besar just yet. If you want to develop Bangsa Malaysia. Take a small step at a time.
As an urban chinese, I'm all out for PKR Malay rep for Menteri Besar. This is because PAS image will also tarnish DAP reputation in Perak. PAS also have to understand the impact of having its Menteri Besar in Perak. They might even get boot out with united support of Chinese and Indian against them if they persist.

PAS need to educated Perakians before forcefully place an MB there. Firstly, rural chinese are not comfortable with PAS existence yet. They see them as a threat to religious freedom (due to BN's propaganda which still rings in them)

I need to emphasize that Perak is not what it is yet. PKR-DAP-PAS need to show a proper coordination there before running the state. And honestly, PERAK is not an easy state to govern, it's demography and landscape is quite unique. Ipoh still looks like an old-folks home town.

I think what the new pact need to do is strategise economic development around Kinta Valley. Perhaps, slightly outside of urban Ipoh, for industrial development. However, pushing for higher wages so that more lower income group locally willing to participate. No point opting for foreigner at this stage.

written by DezMalaysia, March 12, 2008 15:53:34
No doubt that DAP did very well in Perak. No matter who becomes the MB of Perak, he must be able to look after the people of Perak without prejudice nor favouritism. Serve only to one race, Bangsa Malaysia.
written by Birdbrain, March 12, 2008 15:58:31
I think it can be the other way round. In case Najib and Mahathir have it heir way to snatch the power away from Badawi, Badawi can also take his men to walk over to the other side and hand the PM post to Anwar Ibrahim.

If what rumours say it's true that KJ could be working hand in hand to make sure they stay in power. I think Mahathir and Najib has no way out, other then to watch the crown being taken away from them for good.

My money is still on FIL, SIL and Anwar Ibrahim.

My Dua Sen!
written by fromamovingtrain, March 12, 2008 15:59:47
It's quite probable that we shall have a new prime minister, come what may, by the end of the year at the latest. As an addition to what RPK has theorised (or was it through real information..?), the coming umno general assembly in sept/oct shall be fatal to dollah's political career, and that of his arrogant sil. When, rather than if, that happens, umno will have a new president and that president will, according to convention, will be the new pm.

In looking at all these, it still does not matter. The only scenario acceptable to me would be if 30 members of the ruling party in parliament cross over out of no confidence, and make BR the ruling majority. The person who commands the confidence of the majority then becomes the new pm. Then, the victory is complete. It could then be reciprocated in the states of terengganu, ns, perlis and possibly sarawak. So what if tengku razaleigh becomes pm? bn will still rule the country. Granted, we would then see the backs of dollah badawi and his cheating sil, but the bn factor will still linger and they then have a new issue to take into town - a new boy at the helm, no more badawi, no more kj, together we build bn with honest leaders and restore confidence in the rakyat. Do we want this, or do we want total wipe-out of bn?

Understand where you're coming from, RPK, and totally appreciate it. It may just go down the way you have outlined, but to me, there should be no coming back for bn. We can only go from strength to strength from here. We crush them our way, and we crush them good.
written by Wudan, March 12, 2008 16:04:00
Thanks for the comforting article. My friends and I have been on the edge of the cliff for the last 48 hours due to the intense rumours circulating in Perak with regards to the appointment of MB issues. RM10 million is a lot of money and some have kill for much much lesser sum.

Please Rakyat, the sum is greater that all it parts unless you are a corporate raider.
written by tmf, March 12, 2008 16:15:12
BN won 140 seats, Barisan Rakyat (BR) won 82.

Of the 140 seats won by BN, only 78 won by UMNO.

Of the 78 won by UMNO, 14 from UMNO Sabah, ie, former USNO and others with very questionable loyalty, judging from their past behavior.

Therefore, UMNO in the Peninsular only won 64 seats!

There are at least 2 factions in UMNO controlling these 64 seats.

Assuming there are 10 respectable UMNO MPs, like Ku Li and Sharir who will not side ABB nor Najib in their selfish infighting and assuming ABB and Najib camps share the support of the remaining 54 seats equally, each camp has only 27 seats!

We hope non of the MPs fron BR, either PKR, DAP or Pas is silly enough to be bought by UMNO to crossover. Moreover, as politicians, they are supposed to understand where real power lies.

BN is gone, UMNO is on the way. Let us all work hard to sustain the momentum of change for the future of everyone in Malaysia, Malays, Chinese, Indians and all others.

Hidup Malaysia!
written by Milo, March 12, 2008 16:15:22
If the opposition wants to project a cooperative, meritocratic & democratic approach to governance, it is only logical that DAP takes the menteri Besar post. PAS already have 2. DAP despite its majority in Selangor has pass on the MB post to PRK as a mark of goodwill. Having a significant % majority in Perak of the opposition state seats, the choice of DAP candidate is an obvious one. In fact, I am very disappointed PAS & PRK did not openly support the appointment on the very start.
written by Bill Gates, March 12, 2008 16:16:43
Dear wongnoball and the rest who are suspicious of DAP being appoitned as MB of Perak,

If keep on having the same mentality, we can keep on dreaming forever of forming a Bangsa Malaysia. As per my earlier comment that if DAP can agree to PKR being appointed as MB it will be very respectable and most honorable on the part of DAP.

BUT, what is wrong with appointing DAP as MB? Are we still rule along racial line after 50 years. So now all of your know why the chinese have been rejecting UMNO because not only because of the threat of keris but also of the use of bumi and non bumi segregation.

What Guan Eng did in Penang is right. Stop using NEP as a reference and start assisting all the need ones irrespective of race. UMNO has been giving out tenders to their cronies in the name of bumi and NEP. Government tenders have been given out ot whom? Is it to you felleas? Lets be honest that Malays who are poor deserves the help. Should the malays who are rich be given 5% discount when buying house subsidies by Chinese? Is this a fair policy? Is giving out tenfer to Malays only fair to other races. Come on lah be rational after 50 years.
written by Vig, March 12, 2008 16:19:19
Does it matter who is the CM/MB?
What is important is we show BN how things are supposed to be done.
The future is ours.
One Nation One Goal. United we stand, divided we fall.
Long live BARISAN RAKYAT!!!
written by Malaysiaku, March 12, 2008 16:31:34
Well, I guess the best thing now for us Rakyat to do is to give the Opposition the leeway to run their respective States instead of everyone trying to be their 'advisers' as to what should and how should they run it. While, it is the Rakyat that voted the Opposition in, I am sure that all the Opposition will be working together and in consultation with each other before they make any critical decisions in their respective States. After-all the Opposition would be keen to demonstrate how effective they can be in administrating their respective States that were 'screwed' by BN so that the Rakyat will let them win the rest of the country as well in the next election. As promised by all Opposition parties, their policies will be one which will be fair to all irregardless of race, religion or creed. Further, I am sure BN will be the 'Batu Api' now and try to 'cari pasal' ('Kau-See-Kuan'- shit stirrer in Cantonese), at every opportunity to create unrest in the Opposition won States. We need to be matured enough to allow the Oppositions now to do their part, un- harassed by us (since I know Toyo the watch-dog will be watching and complaining at every opportunity - said so himself :-) to make these 5 States a better place.

Look at it this way, we voted for change, so there will be changes. Otherwise, why change? Sometimes not all changes will meet the approval of all the people all the time but if it will ultimately makes things better - less corruption, less cronyism, less/no cover-ups, keep inflation in check, etc, I am not interested in actually who rules Malaysia or who becomes Chief Minister. What matters most is everyone benefits and that include the BN supporters and their children. The best person qualified for the job is what we should be looking at. Colour, race and religion qualification are a thing of the past in these 5 States now.

Thank you PKR, PAS and DAP for leading the way to a better Malaysia for all.
written by temenggong, March 12, 2008 16:32:57
I agree Badawi continuing as PM is the best way to topple the govt. He and BN cannot reform. Let them form the govt and take this country down further before the entire rakyat is ready for a change in the federal govt.

There is little possibility of the BN wooing away the opposition MPs. Everyone already knows the next govt will be BR led, and everyone wants to stay on the winning side.
written by wongnoball, March 12, 2008 16:41:25
Dear Bill Gates,

You are absolutely RIGHT if majority of the Malays have the SAME mentalities like the non-Malays.
Otherwise ....... I don't know what is the consequence of the NEXT elections lah !!!!
smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by Chuang Tze, March 12, 2008 16:47:53
So waht if the MB of Perak is from DAP and who cares whether he is Malay, Indian or Chinese ?? He must do a darn good job of eradicating poverty amongst the poor Malaysians, and expanding the economy and sharpening the competitive edge of the State !!

You guys up there having reservations about a Chinese being MB of Perak and Lim Guan Eng's statement to get rid of the NEP as it stands just don't understand the results of the election !! Amazing !! The NEP should be replaced by a new one, an NEP that helps the poor regardless of race, and religion, that is what the BARISAN RAKYAT is all about !!Perpetuating the NEP as it stands,
only perpetuates cronyism, nepotism and segregation of the
races. This is NOT what we voted for !

However, whoever takes on the heavy responsibility of
the CM post MUST PERFORM or I will be the first one to vote
him OUT, regardless of his race, religion, gender,
party (whether PKR, DAP or PAS) !! Take Heed !!
written by rayfire, March 12, 2008 16:52:40
Personally, I have no issues on who becomes the CM or MB for as long as the person is qualified to be so, the only thing I am worried about is drastic overnight changes. Changes must happen, but gradually.
I am all for Malaysian Malaysia, it can be achieved, I believe so, but it should be done at the right phase, upon proper discussion and research of the real scenario in the respective states. We must remember, this is for some, the first attempt to govern a state, so they need to familiarise themselves with the whole process of governance before making statements that may not be well received by certain community as they have soaked themselves in these privileges for nearly 40 years.
I hope and pray, Penang will prosper and come to a stage that it is better than even the red dot south of Malaysia.
And I do hope all the opposition led states can actually form a economic cooperation and perhaps even region since all the states are conveniently forming a boundary. Kind of reminds me of the history lesson, negeri negeri besrsekutu dan tidak bersekutu!
So use this opportunity and trust to convince all of us that you are indeed capable of leading this nation. Please remember, BN goons are now going to try their best to make issues out of whatever you say or do!
So please be careful, man man lai, slowly but steadily pave way for better Malaysia for all Malaysian!
written by Wudan, March 12, 2008 17:01:11
Ampun Tuanku, titah Tuanku patek junjung. Daulat Tuanku!3x
written by grant, March 12, 2008 17:03:40
haha bodowi... u are dead duck! u are gonna die standing without even knowing why u died! if KJ plays ur backside by bribing 30 BN goons to jump ship, u are gone fart man...
written by tmf, March 12, 2008 17:05:40
For our brighter future, we really should think of ourselves as Malaysian now. But since there are still people out there feeling uncomfortable without refering to their respective race, let us try to address the folowing issues"-

On MB in Perak:

Regardless which race the new MB is from, if he can not administer the state well, Rakyat from all races should remove him in the next election. But if he can perform to the satisfaction of all Malaysians, give him our further support in the next election.

On the abolishment of NEP:

To the non bumuputera, if you feel that bumiputeras will not be able to take it, you are actually insulting their intelligence and pride. However, if those of you who due to decades of brainwashing do feel strongly on this issue, please start employing more Malay staff and place them strategically so that they can actually learn and perform; visit more Malays shops, restaurants and any other business establishments, offer them good deals, give them monetary tips for their servises and also sound management advise on how to improve their business.

To the Bumiputeras, we urge you to continue to believe that NEP is really harmful to you, it is only useful to certain UMNOputeras.

written by grant, March 12, 2008 17:10:50
Praise to God... All those who had faith and continued on with their humble prayers... God works in mysterious ways..
written by temenggong, March 12, 2008 17:11:20
For Badawi to remain as PM, he has to kill off Najib. Let us support Badawi for the moment.

As regards a DAP chinese MB for Perak, the sultan is giving a sign. He is saying he is fed up with race politics, umno's cronyism, and that he too is willing to make the change. He has signed up for meritocracy. He is setting an example to the rest of the rulers to follow.
written by Tan SN, March 12, 2008 17:15:36
I want to work for the new govt!!!
I want to donate money if they need public fund support for development!
I want to be part of the stakeholder!!
written by Anak Kampung, March 12, 2008 17:24:17
In Perak, ideally the best-qualified person should be MB regardless of his race. Then we'll know we've achieved true democracy. The situation is very difficult because during the last term, the opposition was composed of 7 DAP assemblymen and one PAS. So almost all the opposition assemblymen are first-timers in government. Another 'problem', according to unconfirmed rumours, is that none of the PKR men are well-qualified; none of them are graduates. I am hoping/praying that Sultan Azlan will make a decision that will be seen by all as evidently wise, wiser even than Solomon's decisions.
written by Anak Kampung, March 12, 2008 17:25:41
Oops, I did it again. I said 'opposition assemblymen'. I should have said 'almost all of the Perak government assemblymen'. :-) :-)
written by kksam, March 12, 2008 17:26:25
Aiya why still speculate on who will be the Perak MB? It is now at the Sultan Perak's hand to decide. Whoever appointed shall work hard and help every malaysian regardless of race and religion. If PKR was appointed which the DAP accept, then it already shows that the DAP, PAS and PKR can work together.
written by kksam, March 12, 2008 17:30:18
The Tun is trying to drag Pak Lah down because he need Najib to cover for him, remember the VK lingam tape which Tun was heavily involved. That was one of the main reason why Tun wants Pak Lah to step down, it's not about Malaysia, but himself. Another was of course he is afraid Anwar will come back to haunt him!!!!
Pak Lah no need to step down, if there's a need to, then Pak Lah, Najib,Hishamuddin, Ong Ka ting, Ong Ka Chuan, and Samy Vellu all should resign from all the post. All of them are equally at fault.
written by panca, March 12, 2008 17:34:00
If the Dap candidate is taking up the MB post, it is quite a bold move as to some this is considered to be only for a malay as per state constituition stipulates but there exist a clause to waive and it lies in the discretion of HRH The Perak Sultan.

We are not too sure what would be the right thing to do or what it should be based upon? Merit or sentiment? Racial or any one race?

If we look simply with an open mind, it should be clear that what the People really want is first and last, the interest of all People. Whether or not the race should not be a deciding factor even it is done out of the ordinary.

However when the clause is being exercised then shouldn't the pact of the three abide by and respect this ruling wholeheartedly?

Doesn't it seem like we going back to racial politics again? And why does it exists a clause? When is the time if it needs to be exercised?

Since it can work together as a pact, they should not be too far away from what they are working for, to be a Malaysian Race FIRST.
written by tcng, March 12, 2008 17:35:45
Regarding MB for Perak ... my opinion is this.................................
Race & religion are the most fundamental fault-line of human being. This is often manipulated in politic. I am Chinese Msian, 40s, from Johor. I am glad to see Malaysia has a golden opportunity to become a 'Two party/coalitions' system. However, the B.Rakyat or whatever you call it, has to be lead by a Malay, a high caliber ,secular Malay.It can not be just Anwar, there must be a team of qualified Malay in PKR. PAS man would be wrong choice. DAP should not take up MB-ship in Perak, even if Sultan endorse. It will back-fire.. the sentiment of the Malay masses can be easily play by UMNO. The best choice is a Malay form PKR, assuming PKR has a qualified candidate to take up the post. Those who say that we should be 'color-blind' are naive/idealistic.
The best thing that can happen is for PKR and DAP to form a single Multi-Racial party and form a coalition with PAS, assuming there are sufficient number of Malay leaders, like RPK, Harris Ibrahim ,Malik Imtiaz etc etc. I am assuming PAS would not cast its religious platform. The Non-Malay leaders in DAP must accept the fact that Malay is the largest community, and Malaysia is far far away from Color-blind. As long as the party leader is non-Malay, it would be extemely difficult to appeal to the malay masses. So, the best hope is to join force with PKR, assuming Anwar is sincere/serious in wanting to change Malaysia. I bet my last cent that Msia would not have a non-Malay/Muslim PM in the next 50 years. In USA, finally there is a potential candidate Obama. The odd of Singapore having a non-Chinese PM is higher than Msia having a Non-Malay PM.
written by batsman, March 12, 2008 17:36:58
Between perception and reality, we need Malaysia Today and RPK and his crew to bridge the gap. Thank you, thank you, thank you all.
written by tmf, March 12, 2008 17:38:05
Dear grant, I urge you to have more faith in some people. No, I do not think everyone can be bought! PAS in Kelantan servived with only one seat majority since 2004 and not one of them succembed! Did they earn your respect? After May 13, Lim Kit Siang was offered ministerial portfolio if DAP joins BN, he refused and spent time under ISA, did he earn your repect?

No, not everyone can be bought! In any event, it is silly if anyone from BR crosses over, the majority is really on the side of BR, if they understand RPK's article. Those from BN cross-over may be, if they wish to repent and make amend.
written by batsman, March 12, 2008 17:41:00
BTW we should also remember BERSIH for drawing attention to Malaysia's deep rooted problems to the far reaches of the country with great courage and fortitude.
written by MalaysianPatriot, March 12, 2008 17:44:26

FREE PORT STATUS FOR PENANG

TDM took away Penang's Free Port Status and gave it to Langkawi to serve his
political agenda.

BR should now bring back the Free Port Status for Penang, so as to achieve the
following objectives:-

- Improve Penang's economy and generating more income for the State to launch
more development projects

- Revive the "dead" Komtar shopping mall and the surrounding areas (Penang Road,
Campbell Street, etc,) once the free duty shops are re-established to attract the
outstation shoppers and also the foreign tourists

- Encourage rich foreigners to make Penang as their second homes

- Encourage more MNCs to establish their factories and offices here and thereby
creating more job opportunities for the local people

- cost of living will be lower for the people in Penang

- With the establishments of more MNCs, foreigners making their second homes here
and the arrival of more tourists, there will a greater inflow of foreign funds

- with increased tourism and cheaper raw materials, the cottage industries will
flourish locally, especially in the rural areas where even the housewives will be
gainfully employed to augment their monthly income. This will have a multiplier
effect as hawkers and even the trishaw riders will have more business and income.

- encourage local talents to return home from wherever they had migrated to, once
the above objectives have been achieved and this will reverse the brain drain
problem as meritocracy policies adopted by the State government will obviously be
viewed favourably by them.
written by cm2121, March 12, 2008 17:46:19
There shouldn't be any argument as to who (..or of what race) shall be the MB of Perak. Whoever is selected should have the welfare of the rakyat (who voted for change) as the utmost priority. We should gradually distant ourselves from the "old thinking" and be prepared for change. That is why we voted the opposition anyway. If the "race-based mentality" still persist, then we may have a torrid time trying to create a united Bangsa Malaysia.
written by loosecannon, March 12, 2008 17:48:55
RM10,000,000 per seat. Wow. If it is the other way,ie BA offering to BN reps, the whole bunch would cross over overnight even for far less. But PAS people have high morale so I don't think any of them will cross.
written by apanama, March 12, 2008 17:52:00
dengar sini semua, paklahyangtaktahu nak bagi amanat hadhari:
sejak terbelakang ni, ramai yang bising bising pasak PRU12 ni. sekarang ni semua dah basi. yang saya terkejut ni ada dua perkara. nombor satu, do malu ke kau orang nok menang macam dulu ala BN lama ala mahathir. tolak pairin, tarik pairin. dia orang kat sabah dan sarawak tak pilih pakatan kau minggu lepas.

lagi satu, kua orang angan2 ke aku nak bagi kuli menteri perdagangan. kalau nak ikut style MADAM AP, dia kena lah pergi buat road show, trade show, trade delagation ke jepun, germany, uk. sebenarnya, dia mungking pergi beli kereta baru untuk ana2 buah dia. jadi, kalau ku li nak jadi PM, dia kenalah duduk kat KL. mungkin dia akan mintak jadi Finance Minister kot? dia kan kerja bank dulu. bank apa, bank bumi ke? pandailah dia buat kira kira...

kau orang patutlah berterimakasih kat aku. sebab aku YB dari kepala terbatas. kenalah aku condong kat menantu aku. kan dia ada sijil OXFORD. kau orang apa ada?
kalau aku lantik menantu aku yang tak berBIN tu dalam kabinet, kau orang bolehlah tembak aku. ambillah seorang sebiji C4 kat jalan gurney...lepas tu, kau bolehlah sebut BOM BOM BOM. macam lingam cakap dalam tape tu...

sementara itu, ada apa2 cadangan siapa yang patut jadi menteri kerja raya dan menteri penerangan. masadepan politik kawan saku sami dan maidin dah gelap gelap dang gelap....
written by Chuang Tze, March 12, 2008 17:56:02
Dear Tong,

No wonder Johore is still in the clutches of the Barisan Najis ! Wake up !! We,the RAKYAT of Malaysia will vote for anyone who is qualified and best suited for ANY POST including that of the Prime Minister. Look at USA, a black man is in the race for the Presidency and he looks like he is going to be the 1st black president of the USA !! The Peruvians voted for a Japanese to be their President before, and so on ...

This is what is known as Democracy !! The best person for the job, regardless of race, colour, religion, creed, culture, gender, or age !!! Only then can Malaysia's progress be unbridled !!!

Makkal Sakhti !! People Power !!
written by Chuang Tze, March 12, 2008 18:00:02
Tong, Stop deciding on behalk of the "Malay masses" and listen to the voice of the "Malay masses" - they are voting against the BN and for the BR despite knowing the BR manifesto of getting rid of the now IRRELEVANT NEP ... oh yes, TDM, pls. shut up as you are the IRRELEVANT one, truly !!!
The Mad Hatter in "Alice in Wonderland"makes more sense than you !!
written by apanama, March 12, 2008 18:02:15
aisay chuang tze anak lelaki sun-tze.
the peruvians also revolted like us...that's not a good example. fujimori is almost every bit like mahathir...he was kicked out by the people, ran away and hid in japan, and now captured, extradited and charged with all kind of crimes. maybe second-degree genocide. mahathir, the only difference, is still on the loose.
written by bumi non malay, March 12, 2008 18:17:34
Aisay…Raja Petra

why you preempt Sultan Perak……..I am sure both of you (i.e Raja Nazrin) must be giggling at the suspense he is creating for the nation. This is more gripping now than BN cabinet creation. First it was Tuesday, then Wednesday, now end of week. A lot of wager is happening on the outcome and not sure who is going to lose big or small. Lets hope Tengku lose big. Your inside info is worth a punt. !!….smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

We have heard all the debates yet rakyat still fail to grasp the concept of PRINCIPLE….Lets hope all BR rep have principle.

That is why some will find it hard to accept the Sultan decision – a man of Principle!! Need paradigm shift on rakyat end.

All 5 coalition MB from today onwards will be called Malaysian MB…doing their Best to make Malaysia a better place…. We will now call it the 5 Tigers State corridor of Economic Powerhouse of Malaysia!!

Yes my “friend” Ku Li….unfortunate roses among thorn. If only the Anwar would humble himself and approach him and say maaf zahir batin…..no need to wait for Hari Raya. To many Coalition supporters its already Hari Raya/Christmas/Chinese New Year/ Devali!!. That Hari Raya meeting between these 2 will SHAKE THE FOUNDATIONS OF UMNO baru forever. …..Oh I cannot wait to see the faces of the coming NEW Opposition UMNO-BN!!

Chinese have a saying 2 stream will eventually meet….and had Pak Lah & gang not marginalized Ku Li in the beginning…..there will be no PANIC today in UMNO Baru! Serve UMNO Baru right. Ku Li now worth $1 Billion…easy…. All this happen with the will of God.smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Good to see Oxfart Hairy like a headless chook!!…

$10 million thank you money is peanut in the light of the $10 Billion they can gain in a few years. $5 million in Perak not working it seems…rising as each day the decision is delayed. Imagine if it is delayed another week. Rising by $1million a day……..No sub prime, CDO or credit crunch it seems with UMNO. Fortunately we had a good bunch at the moment…

That STUPID Port Dickson PKR guy who did not turn up on nomination must be in the same state of mind as the late Mat Deros now…. …Padan Muka for just initial payment of $10,000!!….the rest of $$$ just verbal contract and no one is returning his call cos he is irrelevant to UMNO or PKR….Thank god he did not show up !!smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gifsmilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

God has certainly moved the nation….it’s a miracle…la la la…what a beautiful day!!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gifsmilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by hiro, March 12, 2008 18:27:47
I've set out some scenarios of what could happen. Happy reading smilies/smiley.gif

http://hiroblog2007.********.com/
written by Rhan, March 12, 2008 18:29:08
Let Pas be the MB.

I really want to find out Pas stand on Islamic State and what is the position of non Muslim in a Pas governing state. Kelantan have too few non Muslim. Kedah so so but Perak is the best test ground.

The choice is with Pas, they could step out or remain forever in Kelantan.
written by pelukis, March 12, 2008 18:55:55
PAS' Nizar is new Perak MB
Mar 12, 08 5:49pm.malaysiakini
breaking news updated 6.25pm DAP's Ngeh Khoo Ham has been appointed deputy MB (1) while an Indian assemblyperson will be named deputy MB (2).

Pasir Panjang state assemblyperson and Perak PAS secretary Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin was today confirmed as the new menteri besar of the state.

The decision was reached after the Regent of Perak Raja Nazrin Shah met with the three nominees for the post this evening.

The other two candidates for the post were state DAP chairperson and Sitiawan state assemblyperson Ngeh Khoo Ham and PKR’s Behrang assemblyperson Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi.

Also decided today is that Ngeh would be made the deputy mentri besar (1) while an Indian candidate would be made deputy mentri besar (2).

The new mentri besar will be sworn in at 4pm tomorrow.

written by pelukis, March 12, 2008 19:02:04
Daulat Tuanku.'SMART DECISION' THE Regent of Perak Raja Nazrin Shah.Daulat Tuanku.
-------------------------------------
'Tomorrow, we should see the Selangor and Perak state governments getting sworn in. PKR will lead Selangor and DAP, Perak. That would mean two states would be led by PAS, two by DAP, with one for PKR.'
written by truegrid, March 12, 2008 19:05:54
I respect what you do greatly, and we all owe you a debt of gratitude for the part you have played in waking up the sleeping giant of the Malaysian electorate.

In this piece you point out that Tengku Razaleigh is the the "only Member of Parliament thus far who would get the support of both Barisan Nasional as well as the three opposition parties."

However you also suggest that Tengku Razaleigh can be bought when you say"I suppose even millionaire Princes have their price and probably Ku Li's price is an important cabinet post."

You are saying this of the man who chose to stay in the political wilderness rather than accept a cabinet post from Mahathir upon returning to UMNO and has very likely turned down other offers since. This is a time when we are in great need of leaders of integrity and experience, as you yourself point out tirelessly. In these circumstances it seems particularly unhelpful to cast aspersions without foundation on the character of the few such men we have.

Perhaps you also neglect to give credit to the reason why Ku Li is "the only Member of Parliament thus far who would get the support of both Barisan Nasional as well as the three opposition parties." Might it be partly because, over a lifetime of service, he has demonstrated that he is not for sale?
written by Rock, March 12, 2008 19:23:30
To win a war is easy but to manage peace after that is very difficult. Not everyfighter can lead government. Yes, the opposition has many 'generals' but does it have equally good leaders to govern the states/country? Now is the time to prove it at least to the sceptics.
written by pelukis, March 12, 2008 19:37:09
CONFIRM... ANWAR IBRAHIM, YOU ARE OUR (THE MALAYSIANS) CARISMATIC LEADER

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79622

Soon Li Tsin | Mar 11, 08. 4:59pm

Quizzed on the selection of the new Perak menteri besar, Anwar said it is “almost resolved” but said the position should remain with a Malay candidate.

“We are guided by the (state) constitution. We will of course protect the Malay position politically and economically, we’re bound by that. We are committed (to the position) that the rights of the Malays are protected.

“In doing so, we will ensure we are just and we’ll have adequate accommodation of non-Malays in our state government and there will be just and fair representation.”

written by Keith, March 12, 2008 20:27:55
I think RPK is right in saying some UMNO members didn't vote for UMNO delegates. The feeling of candidates being parachuted in was also evident.

I've been compiling some data regarding the elections in my area N.49 Seri Andalas and P.111 Kota Raja, where 2,000 people voted for BN in their DUNs but PAS in Parliament. I suspect people didn't like vicky( MIC Youth Chief) who run under MIC for Parliament, and even some UMNO/MIC/MCA boys couldn't vote for him. Why I say, these are BN boys is because the DUN contestant was a Indian Dr. From Keadilan, contesting against Kamala Ganapathy of MIC, so it's definitely not a Malay vote against DAP. How could someone vote for PAS and then choose MIC over PKR.

More on my blog, as I investigate the odd-preference of these 2,000 voters.

http://keithrozario.********.com
written by wawasan2020, March 12, 2008 20:49:46
DAP to boycott Perak MB swearing-in

PETALING JAYA: The DAP central executive committee (CEC) has voiced its unhappiness over the appointment of Perak PAS secretary Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin as Mentri Besar of Perak.

In a statement on Wednesday, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang said, “The DAP CEC has given approval for the formation of a Perak coalition government headed by DAP or PKR but not by PAS.”

Lim said DAP leaders, members and supporters are shocked at the decision to appoint a PAS assemblyman as Perak MB.

“DAP is prepared to accept DAP chairman and assemblyman for Sitiawan Ngeh Koo Ham or PKR Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi as Perak Mentri Besar. “As the appointment of Mohamad Nizar as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled Thursday.”

- RPK, you got it wrong. Can you tell the BR not to fight among themselve? OMG - not even a week, and all these is going on? Honestly, I am from Perak and our votes should been respected. How can PAS have the less seats in Perak swear in?
written by Wolzard, March 12, 2008 21:21:48
dear wawasan 2020,
I'll tell you WTF PAS got the MB post...
1) the Regent of Perak Raja Nazrin Shah made THAT decision
- If you're not happy, plz tell that to Raja Nazrin!
- FYI Raja Nazrin is NOT YET the Sultan Of Perak...basically he's powerless to change the state constitution, even if he wants to!

2) Perak constitution says MB must be Malay & Muslim
- Frankly speaking, based on Meritocracy...the MB post should be held by DAP.
- Blame the constitution if you must!

3) PAS won more seats than PKR
written by Jampi, March 12, 2008 23:04:55
Dear Wawasan2020.

The "coalition" gave 3 names to the Regent, one for each party, and all said would accept any of the three as MB. Even Ngeh said so...

The regent pick the PAS guy, over the PRK because he got the better paper qualification.

SUDDENLY. DAP BIG BOSS say NO NO NO NO...
We accept only PKR

DAP MUST SORT IT OUT!!!!
So I think it is not DAP vs PAS..
Even Lim and Ngeh did not speak the same tone.. WTF!!!@

written by archie, March 13, 2008 00:35:06
If this football match is played in a level-playing field, the opposition would have won a two-thirds majority.
written by red door, March 13, 2008 01:21:27
Anyways, R.A.H.M.A.T certainly would be more meaningful than R.A.H.M.A.N
written by Wudan, March 13, 2008 02:15:42
Saudara Lim KS, 'Wei Ser Mok?' Why the statement now? Kenapa? If your CEC have made a stand on Mac 9 then don't let Ngeh make the statement that the coalition can form a government and has submitted three names to the Istana and will abide and accept the Tuanku decision. Maybe I will just look up the two PKR's candidates and hasut them to accept the 5 million and take a cut. Just to teach those chauvinistic DAP members a lesson.
written by Wudan, March 13, 2008 02:22:00
Does the Perak DAP leaders have a problem? At the start we have the Poh 'Cili Padi' Kuan issue and now this. Maybe the Perak DAP's leadership need to be reviewed. Something has surely gone up to someone head. We, the Barisan Rakyat, accept nothing but a true and proper account of this debacle.
written by grant, March 13, 2008 08:15:27
there might be some truth of displeasure but i am guessing the MSM is taking full advantage of this to break up the opposition pact.
written by ghondoruwo, March 13, 2008 09:58:23
One question: As a citizen, can I elect to pay my taxes to the state government(Selangor)? At least I can help the state to fund its financials requirements in the next five years. Just a tinkle in my mind.
written by teo siew chin, March 13, 2008 11:43:47
Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor - the whole nation is watching you now! show the rakyat the Barisan Rakyat can overcome all obstacles and progress faster and better than all other states!

every step you take, every move you make
will be subject to scrutiny
show us that for once, YM RPK and MT will have nothing but praise for you and he can finally put away the big stick smilies/grin.gif

chop, chop, time is passing by - got a war to win!
written by 1351, March 13, 2008 13:25:12
Greetings RPK and all beautiful M'sians.

I wonder what is happening with regards to the tiny matter of pending(maybe) lawsuit from one Azim Zabidi ? Wonder what that butter ball is up to ? Please update on the latest RPK.

It is heartening to note there have been no over-the-top celebration from the various factions forming new state govts. Perhaps this reflects very trying times ahead considering an economic downturn the world over coupled with the fact that UMNO has runs all state govts to the ground, operating on a deficit budget for the longest.

And speaking of the devil, surely them UMNO top dogs must be shitting bricks with all of them culpable of corruption, self dealing. Never one to wish harm on others but it would give me great pleasure if incriminating evidence turn up from the respective State Admins now helmed by PKR, DAP and PAS. This is not the time to go soft on those vanguished unless they are six feet under.

Personally, verbal abuse from the racist and bigot do me no harm but the years of corrupt politicians helping themselves to public fund (that I take great offense to) must be made to face the music with no exceptions. The hundreds of millions squandered could have provided plenty to the child in school, adequate housing for the many in need or help elevate poverty in the broadest sense of the word.

UMNO led BN did none of the above so it is our solemn duty to prevent them from ever getting hold of power to do it all again. We have all paid a price for their excesses, the Anwar's and Guan Eng's serving time(though in my books, Anwar did deserve his time but for different reasons) and our very own RPK taking it on the chin and ISA'ed for good measure. I'm not suggesting vengeance but the corrupt must be hunted down.

Gotta cut it short but looking forward to new developments on all fronts RPK.

Regards and g'day all out there.

written by educationist, March 13, 2008 21:30:48
RPK on behalf of Barisan Rakyat has issued the yellow card to the opposition. Please make sure DAP, PAS & PKR acknowlege receipt of the warning. 5 years will pass quickly and this time they can't blame us voters for not giving them a chance. I can only hope all those power crazy chaps will come to their senses and remember the platform on which so many Malaysian voters have put their hopes & given them their trust- the beginnings of a more civil and democractic society; good governance of integrity, honesty and fairness as hallmarks.
written by angfaulith, March 16, 2008 01:16:27
good on you rpk. i like your comment on your wife among pas supporters. i hope you can post a picture of that soon to dispel the fears amongst our non muslim brethen. the way forward is a truly islamic state. may allah be with you....
written by steve, March 16, 2008 14:46:29
Dear Pete
Yesterday, I sat down to a cup of tea with my brother and several other people. We were a diverse group, sikh, indian, chinese. We were all meeting after a gap of more than a decade. The first question I was asked was " are you happy with the election results?" To which I replied "estatic". The next staement really blew me away. "Now we are not chinese, indian, malay, we are MALAYSIAN."
I have to agree with that. Earlier in the day I attended a family function. Having been out of the country for 20 years, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the children of my various family members were truly a diverse group. They had intermarried so much so that we were no longer a monocultural community but a truly diverse multicultural one. They were truly MALAYSIAN. The BN needs to move away from the single racial typing of people and ascribe all of us as Malaysian.
written by brancha, March 20, 2008 07:53:39
The Creator says in Chapter: Al Baqara Verse:251

"And thereupon, by God's leave, they routed them. And David slew Goliath; and God bestowed upon him dominion, and wisdom, and imparted to him the knowledge of whatever He willed. And if God had not enabled people to defend themselves against one another, [242] corruption would surely overwhelm the earth: but God is limitless in His bounty unto all the worlds."