Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malaysian voters open the door for Anwar Ibrahim

Malaysian voters open the door for Anwar Ibrahim PDF Print
Wednesday, 12 March 2008 12:52

Michael Backman, THE AGE

The birthday of Samy Vellu, the long-serving public works minister and head of the party that represents Malaysia's Indian community, coincided with election day but it was Malaysians who got the birthday present. Samy lost his seat.

MALAYSIA Boleh! (Malaysia Can!) is Malaysia's national slogan but after last Saturday's elections, the real slogan should be Malaysians Boleh! for ordinary Malaysians are to be congratulated. The humiliation they handed their government at the federal and state elections demonstrates how politically sophisticated and mature they have become in the face of a high-handed and patronising government.

Five state governments were won by the opposition and federally, the Government had its worst showing ever. But it was the clinical precision in which voters went about their business that was most impressive.

Zainuddin Maidin, the information minister, lost his seat. A measure of how complacent the Government had become was its appointment of the inept Zainuddin to the role in the first place. His appalling performance on Al Jazeera television late last year was a very public international humiliation for all Malaysians. Voters did what Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi did not have the guts to do: they removed him from office.

Malaysia's media has become so discredited that local bloggers are now hugely popular. Zainuddin had patronisingly warned Malaysians about false information spread by bloggers. They responded by voting one of the most popular bloggers — Jeff Ooi — into parliament.

The birthday of Samy Vellu, the long-serving public works minister and head of the party that represents Malaysia's Indian community, coincided with election day but it was Malaysians who got the birthday present. Samy lost his seat.

No one is more to blame than he for driving Malaysia's Indians into their pitiful state as second-class citizens. His deputy also lost his seat, as did the head of the party's youth wing, its vice-president, and the head of its women's wing. The party barely exists now.

Meanwhile, a lawyer who championed the rights of Indians and who has been detained without charge since December because of it, won a seat in a state parliament — a seat in which the majority of voters are actually Chinese. It seems that ordinary Malaysians have a greater sense of fair play than their Government.

The Government lost power in the state of Penang. Lim Guan Eng, the much-respected new chief minister, was arrested and jailed in 1994 after he distributed a brochure complaining about the handling of claims that the (then) chief minister of Malacca, Rahim Thamby Chik, had sexual relations with an under-age girl who happened to be one of Lim's constituents.

written by Tom Cruise, March 12, 2008 13:22:15
If Zainuddin Maidin or Mamak Din was appalling what do you make of this;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JydTW3IUClM

BN Intellects governing the country!!!

Samy 'MAIKA' Vellu wants to be disgraced further and has reunited with arch rival Subramaniam aka Whiskey Maniam and together they are going to rebuild MIC. Now thats history in the making!

Please please people dont laugh just feel sorry for these 'RETARDS' AS IT JUST GOES TO SHOW HOW LOW THESE SCUMS ARE WILLING TO GO!!!

written by Sunnysoul5, March 12, 2008 13:33:51
Anwar has demonstrated his natural leadership skills and survived the onslaught of the worst character assasination campaign that may have cost the BN millions of RM over the TV, radio, newspaper and other media. There is a Chinese say that "the real gold is not afraid of fire". What is more important is that Anwar has matured into the next level of national politics that nobody can ever match him.

Anwar has consolidated his position of leadership and has insisted that all his generals do not end up like the BN representatives of living in excesses that can lead to temptation for corruption in order to have a fairy tale life. Anwar knows from experience what that means because many of his "cronies" in the previous political life were have jet set lifestyle and live like Dukes. He has demonstrated the political will to change, and has certainly move away from racial and religious politcal gameplan.

If the election was called in April when he qualifies to enter the main stream politics legally, the outcome can be probably more impressive than just 5 states and more than 1/3 of parliamentary seats. The time has come that he prepares himself to be the de facto Prime Minister. He was robed of the opportunity, but God has been fair to him.

He has mastered The Art of War and knows how to work with the sharks and enemies to gain distinct competitive advantage. Now Malaysians really need his leadership to set a new direction for the nation to survive globalisation and trade liberalisation.

It is not necessary for him to be in the parliament as he can position himself as the king maker before taking the much awaited throne of PM. His enemies are fuming but then God may have chosen him to save the Malaysians.

written by Atheist, March 12, 2008 13:36:11
I strongly believe that Samy has not done enough for MIC then and now .... so now he becomes a team player and teams up with his enemies but not PPP .... to further destroy MIC .......... completely.

How can you RE-BUILD something that has not been built for so long ....then again ..... why now ????

With DSAI around, Samy is just 're-building' his tombstone and grave !!!
written by Beezee_Beezee, March 12, 2008 15:16:26
Sunnysoul5 Well described..It was a challange for him and his family. I could imagine is DSAI was able to sit for ellection there goes another HISTORY for Malaysian that 3 in the family in our Parliment....However I hope we can still see history in the making if DSAI would want to involve himself directly.
I ahve been waiting for this since 1998 and God is there to give him strength to succeed.
Let's give him time to make an appropriate change in managing all the 5 states and eventualy the whole country....

SYABAS DSAI....GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY ALWAYS....INSYALLAH
written by ahkok, March 12, 2008 15:54:03
Samy to rebuild MIC? Does MIC still trust Samy to do build anything? He has now personally destroyed MIC. So if he rebuilds it, then maybe it will have its roof leaking. Then he will blame it on heavy rain....
"No no, it is not that MIC is lousy, it is just that people dont like anything that is good with MIC" kind of bullshit.
As for Mamak Din, he should just shove the camera up his butthole because the viewer will not know the difference of the camera placement there or in front of his face.
As for AAB, I really do hope that he stays on as the PM and screws bn till it cant even stand straight, lose even a bigger portion of the state and parliament to the BR. And the people in the constituencies who still blindly voted for bn, may god help you through the next 5 years because bn will be plundering like never before to get as much as possible before they are really booted out then.
As for the SIL, well, he is nothing. only a loud voice with no brains to control it. when he eventually loses power, lets see what his mat rempit gang does to him for leading them down the toilet.
written by Fart Fart Wah, March 12, 2008 16:32:15
We did not need any Samy Veloo or Velu or Valu...or any other Indian leader of the MIC..having them is like not having them..does not make a difference to any Indian now nor was it the last 28 eight years...I think this fells should just take his pants out ....and give it to his wife...When the real issues came out he was balless...anyway he has made enough money..why should he stick around anymore//want some more...bloody greedy bas***d

written by Fart Fart Wah, March 12, 2008 16:33:06
Mak Maidin...should put the toilet plunger in his mouth....
written by Fart Fart Wah, March 12, 2008 16:37:19
THE RATS WHO KILLED UMNO...KERISAMUDDIN, NAJIBAC4, KHAIRYBIGMOUTHTOILET FLUSHER.MAKMAIDINJAMBANCLEANER,NADZRIMULUTTOILETFLUSHER..TOYOL OF SELANGOR..TUTUP DUA MATABADUWA..BOCORBADUWA..GOT SOMEMORE...UMNO STINKS...
written by batsman, March 12, 2008 17:07:44
Quite a lot of those voted out are just gangsters and swindlers who entered politics to rip off the rakyat. The rakyat has woken up to this.
written by Yacob, March 12, 2008 17:38:58
Pak Lah is now trying hard to forget Anwar but Anwar becomes more conspicuous.
written by loosecannon, March 12, 2008 18:17:11
I know Michael Backman is also celebrating the election result. He was much criticised over his previous critical articles on the BN government by the BN people so this has vindicated him. Good on you mate!
written by goforahike, March 12, 2008 19:26:40
Good write-up, mate. Never in the history of Malaysian politics that so many "morons' in the ruling party could be "hookwinked" by the cool determination and clinical precision of the rakyat to get rid of them. They thought they were they were the CHOSEN ones. Atop their ivory towers, they lost touch with reality and the rakyat. They were arrogant and fanned by the UMNO spin doctors, they thought they were invincible. They deserve what they get and I hope, like a true gentleman, resign, give way and move on. Don't be like the Toyol and "talk cock" and be "sour grapes". Where were u, Pak Toyol on the day of reckoning.....busy "stealing and destroying" incriminating documents?

If Pak Lah does not realise the deep shit he is in, too bad, next round, he's history. The election is not a slap on his face but a kick in the mouth! His demise will be all the sooner if he still listens to his group of sycophants....SIL must go, he's the pariah.

Whoever is made the CM of the opposition state, gauge him on his performance, not the the party. If we can unite as a nation to say "no" to BN crap, why not be open minded about the post of the Perak CM. It's the Sultan's prerogative and decision and if it comes from the Perak House of Royalty, I respect and support them all the way.

All the best to the 5 CM of the opposition front, do well and show them when the going gets tough, the tough gets going.....may the force of the rakyat be with u.
written by Dominic Kok, March 12, 2008 21:51:44
Thank you Raja Petra Kamarudin for helping to bring about the change to Malaysian Politics, you're one of the pivotal catalyst and I've enjoyed your ceramah in youtube even though I'm in Texas. I am very sure that majority, if not all the regular visitors to your website appreciate what you've done and accomplished even though many have *forgotten* to thank you in the euphoria of celebration.
MOST OF ALL, thank you for the ability to voice our 2 cents of thoughts in your website. Imagine doing this in the MSM...
My deepest disappointment is that I could not be a statistic during GE2008.
written by Uncorruptible, March 12, 2008 22:16:39
EVERY newspaper in the world had only good things to say about the people's victory. It only shows how loathe the bn (nothing but a den of thieves) is all over the world.
written by tano, March 12, 2008 23:01:34
having said about paklah n all, we would like to remind u that we voted against BN and not for ANWAR!!!
written by gotsms, March 13, 2008 15:54:03
Dear Michael,

A big thanks to you. You're more Malaysian than us. Its a euphoric winning and it belongs to the people!