The 75th Candidate PDF Print
Wednesday, 12 March 2008 09:50

Malik Imtiaz Sarwar

At about 11 am on the morning of the General Elections, I spoke to Haris Ibrahim.

I was due to be interviewed by Al Jazeera and was trying to get a sense of where things stood on the ground. In his tireless campaign for reform through change, Haris had spoken at a ceramah almost every day since the commencement of the campaigning period. In almost hushed tones, Haris told me that he thought that the Barisan Nasional might be denied two-thirds majority. The feeling on the ground, he said, was electric and voters seemed to have reoriented themselves around issues.

His impression echoed that of Azmi Sharom. The night before Azmi had recounted his experience at a ceramah in Lembah Pantai at which Anwar Ibrahim and Raja Petra had spoken. As he told me how the largely Malay audience had erupted into cheers as Raja Petra had declared that Indians and Chinese would be defended with Malay bodies if they were victimised, the hair on my arms stood. He too thought that there was a real possibility of the two thirds majority being denied.

I was hopeful but uncertain as I drove into the city for the interview, perhaps because I was afraid to allow myself hope. A denial of the two-thirds majority would change the political landscape significantly, reintroducing a semblance of balance and forcing accountability.

A telephone call to Farish Noor, who was in Kota Bharu, fueled the uncertainty further. Though, as he observed, celebrations by supporters of PAS had begun even before polling was completed, claims of phantom voters being bussed in were causing anxiety. Tensions were running high, justifiably so in the context. A few days earlier, the Election Comission had mysteriously revoked its directive on the use of indelible ink. The lack of a coherent explanation for this extraordinary step, and it should not be overlooked that the Abdullah administration had show-cased the use of indelible ink as proof of the Government taking the matter of free and fair election very seriously, cast the situation in a very ominous light.

I was still in an uncertain frame of mind when at about noon that day, I was asked during the interview whether I thought the matter of irregularities in the electoral process, as some claimed, was going to be even more pertinent this General Election.

Looking out onto an unusually deserted KLCC park, it struck me how empty the city was. And as it struck me that people were away voting, I realized that there was a fighting chance. For many, the future could not get any worse. It could however get better if there was will to make it better.

And Malaysians were going to fight for that opportunity.

I was concerned though. The slim margin by which the two-thirds might be denied did not allow for irregularities. These irregularities would define the future of Malaysian. A strong mandate for the Barisan Nasional would have been politicized, allowed for a perpetuation of the state of denial and been used to reject much needed reforms.

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by Bill Gates, March 12, 2008 10:10:02
Of course the 75th winning candidate from BR was not announced on all UMNO controlled TV station even though by 10pm it ws la ready known. Not only the city was deserted but Bodohwi was also left alone at PWTC. Live pollupdates websites were hacked to prevent people the right to know the embarassment felt by BN.

The truth has now prevailed and one by one coming is released from the pandora box. Serve you right kerismudin for losing Permatang Pauh, monkey KJ for cheating in Rembau, mamak maidin (you can back to you old journalist job and spin more stories only you and your mamak gang will read) and other BN component heads.

written by TruthSayer, March 12, 2008 10:19:12
The election results show that the Rakyat has finally woken up to the fact that THEY determine the Government and the Government is to serve the RAKYAT, no the other way round.

The Interview of the BN candidate by Kota Damansara Resident's Association exposed the mentality of BN candidates when the BN candidate rudely told the residents off stating that he will follow BN orders rather than Resident's orders.

The Rakyat must not become complacent but continue to take an active role in constantly reminding their elected representatives to serve effectively, keep abreast of latest development and issues and be responsive to the Rakyats needs.

We the Rakyat have finally acquired the power and we must never relinquish it back to the Politicians.
written by krepot, March 12, 2008 11:44:13
Even today as I speak to people around me about the results, I get the notion that most of them (my guess 80% judging from what I have encountered since 8th March) voted for the opposition - and this from ALL races. I am still amazed how BN get that many votes, judging from people's sentiments.

That said, only the fearful ones - government servants/BN linked businessman/illegal businessman seems to choose BN, for reasons best known to them.

The righteous voted for a CHANGE and today we stand tall and hopeful of a better tomorrow.
written by Kcc, March 12, 2008 12:34:34
only the fearful ones - government servants/BN linked businessman/illegal businessman seems to choose BN, for reasons best known to them.
- i'd like to add that those who have chosen BN will continue choosing BN because after 50 years of "progress" under BN rule, and after decades of internal conflicts & empty talk among the opposition parties, these BN supporter do not believe that the opposition can make life better for us.

Now that the opposition has denied the much-needed 2/3 majority, pls prove to HISHAMUDDIN the Keris Weilder, and to his UMNO gangsters that you guys are the true leaders that we want.

...one slight slip-up, and the rakyat will not forgive you. Work together, pls. smilies/wink.gif
written by educationist, March 12, 2008 13:46:16
And what an irony it is that this 75th candidate is the one whose innocous act a few years ago will come to haunt Lingam and the fallout from the judiciary manipulations has been counted as one of the intrumental factors that led to BN losing that 2/3 majority.
written by CPY, March 12, 2008 16:53:44
I salute you Gwo Burne.