Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Malays join others in moving away from racial politics

Malays join others in moving away from racial politics PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 March 2008 18:31

March 11, 2008: IN the 1999 general election, Malay voters swung against the Barisan Nasional (BN), especially Umno, amid the reformasi movement following the sacking of former deputy premier Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Their protest votes, however, were not translated into massive seats for the opposition parties. The Chinese and Indians in that election threw their weight behind BN.

Days before polling on Saturday, while political pundits expected the Chinese and Indian voters to swing significantly against the ruling coalition parties, there was no indication of a substantial swing of Malay votes against the BN.

The rising prices of goods and crime were the main reasons the Malays voted against the BN, said  Universiti Utara Malaysia political science lecturer Associate Prof Dr Ariffin Omar.

People began to think that BN was not serving the interest of the people, be they Malays or non-Malays. The issue of rising prices was very serious but the BN government pretended they did not know about it and kept on saying that this was a global trend. Many of the BN leaders are wealthy, so who is suffering? That’s why the anger is there.”

Wong Chin Huat, who is completing his PhD in University of Essex on the electoral system and party politics in Malaysia, concurred.

Economy, crime and the loss of legitimacy in the (BN) government over such matters as the electoral process, judiciary and corruption are the pull and push factors of the Malay support for the Opposition,” he said.

Anwar Ibrahim, the de facto leader for Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), is a catalyst for the Malays to opt for a change.

Anwar has provided confidence to the Malays that they should take part,” said Wong.

A political observer said BN’s intense and direct attacks on Anwar towards the end of the 13-day campaign period also backfired.

BN’s reading that Anwar’s political influence and charisma had waned – based on the by-election defeats in Machap (Malacca) and Ijok (Selangor) – was grossly flawed.

After all, BN won comfortably in Machap and Ijok, even with Anwar’s presence in the by-elections.

Ariffin pointed out that the biggest enemy of the BN, particularly in Umno in this election, were the infighting and backstabbing in the party.

There was infighting in Umno and BN coalition parties. There were so many factions within Umno who are juggling for power,” he said, referring to the choice of BN and Umno candidates in the election.

Those who are not selected as candidates took revenge and sabotaged the party. So this is not because of the Opposition, but themselves (that caused the defeats). It’s the disunity within Umno and BN.”

Ariffin said the Malays were also clearly agitated by the fact that the bumiputra’s policy has only benefited several individuals.

The special Malay rights is just a beautiful word. Who enjoys (the privilege)? Not the deserving Malays. I don’t think Malays questioned the policy but how it’s implemented,” he said.

The racial card which had been used conveniently in the country’s political landscape in previous elections could not find a prominent place in this election.

The Malays, Chinese and Indians have reached a stage where they move away from the ethnic policy,” said Ariffin.

On the same note, Wong said in previous elections, when a particular ethnic group swung to one direction, another ethnic group would swing to the opposite direction.

While the Malays are not comfortable with Hindraf (Hindu Rights Action Force) it was not enough to convince them to continue supporting Umno,” he said.

He cited the victories of PAS and PKR in Titiwangsa and Lembah Pantai parliamentary seats as a clear indication that Malaysians have moved away from racial politics.

PAS’s Dr Lo’ Lo’ Mohd Ghazali defeated Datuk Aziz Jamaluddin Md Tahir (BN-Umno) in Titiwangsa which consists 63.9% Malays, 23.9% Chinese and 11.2% Indians.

Anwar’s eldest daughter Nurul Izzah Anwar unseated incumbent Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil in Lembah Pantai which has a racial breakdown of 53.2% Malays, 25.7% Chinese and 20.1% Indians. - THE SUN

written by Bandit, March 11, 2008 18:46:00
Best news. Racial politics is a No! No! now. The Brithish system of devide and rule must stop here. We are one Bangsa Malaysia. Malays do not have to worry about their special position which is embedded in the Constitution.

Let us all races unite and bring our beloved Malaysia to a higher level. The country has to be healed after being raped by UMNOputeras led barisan.

Time to unite. Time to heal. Lets come together and leave our personal differences aside.

Bravo Barisan Rakyat!!!!!
written by DontPlayGod, March 11, 2008 19:09:13
Received an sms that Ngo Kho Ham has been accepted as MB of Perak, but PAS is strongly opposing it. Looks like a disastrous start to this loose coalition!
written by cklife, March 11, 2008 19:17:27
I realized now that The Sun is writing without interference. Looks like media freedom after all. Cheers to non-bias news.
written by Msian 2, March 11, 2008 19:40:31
OOps in Perak??? If a non muslim/malay is accepted as Perak's MB, I have to add the Sultan/Regent of Perak has gone beyond most Malaysians would dare to do & that is to do the right & truthful things. Good for the sultanate.
written by talk3talk4, March 11, 2008 20:08:57
written by DontPlayGod, March 11, 2008 | 19:09:13

Received an sms that Ngo Kho Ham has been accepted as MB of Perak, but PAS is strongly opposing it. Looks like a disastrous start to this loose coalition!

If PAS is objecting because Ngo is not the most qualified candidate, I don't see any problem with it. In anycase this is only a rumour probably started by u know who
reported in Malaysiakini
New Perak MB by end of next week: .....The list was handed over to the Sultan’s secretary at 2pm today 11/03/08 by a tripartite delegation, and the Ruler is expected to make an announcement within the next two days.

Husam said that the party would back the Sultan's decision on the choice of menteri besar even if the candidates were from DAP or PKR.

written by mikewang, March 11, 2008 20:13:58
Does the state constitution contain a caveat to the appointment of a non-Malay as Menteri Besar ?

If not, then the Regent of Perak is constitutionally bound (his father, his royal highness, Sultan Azlan Shah should know better) to appoint a Malay as MB.

DAP should stay away from competing for the MB post.
Give it to PKR.
You must respect the law....and please don't spread rumours.
written by Thinker, March 11, 2008 20:29:04

I suggest anyone receiving such a message to delete it and tell the sender to wait for the official announcements before sending it out. It would just be playing into the hands of BN if you do that. They've had 50 years of practice in creating conflict between Malaysians.
written by feleaz, March 11, 2008 20:32:38
I don't believe that "sms" about DAP candidate has been appointed as Menteri Besar and even if he was appointed, i doubt would make any rejection, afterall PAS has the least seats in the state. Though by right DAP candidate should be the MB but the people of Perak is not ready yet. Do not do things drastically otherwise the it would led to a lot of other problems. DAP is too smart to fight for the MB post, just that they do not want to endorse a MB from PAS/PKR directly otherwise DAP may face repurcussions in the state. Now that the coalition has submitted 3 nominees from each party to the Sultan for him to decide. Who ever was eventually selected would be accepted by all. Do you think PAS is bold enough to go against the Sultan's decision as mentioned in that "sms". I strongly believe that sms was sent by certain party to break up the coalition and confuse the rakyat.
written by Sagaladoola, March 11, 2008 20:55:30
Just dismiss the error..... if you receive it

written by kent chong, March 11, 2008 21:12:40
I received it also,, i told the sender ' I dont believe this' must be Umno play racist.
written by Anak Kampung, March 11, 2008 21:20:23
All, some facts:

1. The SMS is false. Don't pay any attention to it. I don't know who is trying to cause trouble.

2. The right spelling is Ngeh Koo Ham.

3. He is probably the best qualified candidate with the most experience, having opposition chief in the state assembly during the last term.

4. There is a clause that the Sultan can waive requirements and appoint the MB he wants.

5. The final choice now rests with the Sultan. God give him grace and wisdom to make a decision for the good of all Perakians, which will be unanimously accepted by all of the people and the ADUN.
written by Anak Kampung, March 11, 2008 21:21:18
I meant 'having been opposition chief'.
written by Anak Kampung, March 11, 2008 21:28:57
See http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79641
written by pelukis, March 11, 2008 22:02:07
PKR leader denies crossovers of reps
Soon Li Tsin | Mar 11, 08 4:59pm

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79622

There have been offers but they have not succumbed, said the PKR de facto leader, without revealing details.

‘Don’t destroy records’

Quizzed on the selection of the new Perak menteri besar, Anwar said it is “almost resolved” but said the position should remain with a Malay candidate.

“We are guided by the (state) constitution. We will of course protect the Malay position politically and economically, we’re bound by that. We are committed (to the position) that the rights of the Malays are protected.

“In doing so, we will ensure we are just and we’ll have adequate accommodation of non-Malays in our state government and there will be just and fair representation.”

written by Raymond, March 12, 2008 00:05:40
DAP is view as a Chinese party (altought I would diasgree), and PAS is an Islam party. PKR has no race affiliation. I would say, let's put our support to PKR. But I do hope that PKR does not mean the sole voice of Anwar. He has too much UMNO experience under his belt. And would spell certain setback for the coalition is he get to over shadow the initial Visons of the coalition of a party free or "toned downed" of racial politics.
written by SUV, March 12, 2008 10:23:06
who cares who becomes the mb of perak..whats really important is to see the pembangunan sosial ekonomi di negeri negeri dibawah BA..reducing poverty,unemployment r by far bigger issues then the mb of perak
written by Angela Ooi, March 12, 2008 10:43:54
I feel MB post should go to whoever the Perak royal choose. If he chooses a Chinese, so be it. It is only a matter of time when non Malays will be overwhelmed by the Malay population and then it would be Malay MB all the way.
If Islam is fair and justice is in play, this time, the post should go to DAP.
written by datukbendahara69, March 12, 2008 16:51:40
As a Malay Perakian living overseas, I don't care who the MB of Perak would be as long as it is chosen by the Sultan. All I care most is that Tanjung Malim should have proper local council makeup. My dad said sometimes back that some local council people are even an ex-postman which I reckon unqualified to be one. In the end, Tg. Malim appointed contractor without even having its own manpower to do grass cutting or cleaning work around the municipality. The contractor hired municipal people to do their work. This is ridiculous. And most of them were hanging around doing nothing.