Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Barisan to conduct post-mortem

Barisan to conduct post-mortem PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 March 2008 17:59

BARISAN Nasional will appoint an independent panel to do a post- mortem of the results of the 12th general election, said Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Mr Abdullah, who was earlier sworn in as Prime Minister, said the coalition admitted that what had happened in the general election was a lesson for them and a 'signal that we must pay attention to.'

'We need to translate the aspirations of the people into action,' he told reporters during a press conference yesterday after chairing an Umno supreme council meeting followed by a Barisan supreme council meeting.

The Barisan chairman noted that rising costs of goods, crime and corruption were the big issues that had come up during the election.

'What we have promised must be implemented in the best possible way,' he added.

Barisan won 140 parliamentary seats in the election and formed the government with a simple instead of its usual two-thirds majority. It also lost five states - Kelantan, Kedah, Penang, Selangor and Perak - to the Opposition.

Mr Abdullah said the results showed a level of maturity among the people in practising their democratic right.

He said Barisan accepted the decision and the fact that it did not get a two-thirds majority in Parliament this time.

'We acknowledge that with 140 seats, we are short of eight seats for a two-thirds majority. But it's not something we are worried about; 140 seats are a very strong majority. So this is a strong victory for Barisan which allows us to form a government that can move forward.'

'We can manage. We can be a good government. We can be a government that delivers and performs,' he said.

He added that the country was also safe and that the results did not cause any chaos.

On whether Barisan would accept Opposition members who wanted to cross over and help the ruling coalition make up the two-thirds majority, Mr Abdullah said: 'If people want to join us, then of course, why should we tell them not to join us?'

He however added that the Government was 'not so crazy as to want two-thirds majority.'

'It will not hamper us in our work,' he added. -- The Star/ANN.

written by Latha, March 11, 2008 18:22:26
Why would any opposition member cross over to Barisan Nasional???? Dumb question!!!
written by atsanee, March 11, 2008 18:50:45
For the life of me,I dont know why Malays and Indians are so different from Chinese and Japanese.

Given such a battering in an election, if there had been a Japanese component party in BN, the leaders, and perhaps every member would have committed suicide.

The Chinese leaders make up for their failure by refusing to be made Senators and positions in the Cabinet.This is very heart warming and admirable especially when most of the blame for the loss can attributed to UMNO and their Indian subservient parties.
The leaders in UMNO and MIC on the other hand refuse to step down or to admit any fault on their part preferring to think that they still won the elections and all will be well after some restructuring and post mortem.

No need post mortem AAB.
Just get out of there, you,your SIL your son and Samy and things can only improve.
JUST DO IT.
written by CitizenBodohland, March 11, 2008 19:18:18
What to post mortem? BN is already a single race party. You do not represent Malays anymore. You only represent UMNOPutra and some faithful balls licking dogs who still stick with you because they cannot go back to their comunity anymore.

Barisan Rakyat is representing all Malaysian now with 53% of popular votes. It may be higher if all the phantoms and zombies' votes were deducted from the BN's percentage.

MCA, MIC, Gerakan and PPP shall rethink their strategy whether are they relevant anymore. It seemed that they never lear a lesson out of this election. Well, mind you that in the next election, 13 will be a very, very unlucky number.

And hey!!! What is all the panicky when every balls licking scumbags in BN pledging the support for Fak Lah?

Never learn!!!!
written by kasiakanaun, March 11, 2008 19:23:48
Malaysiakini

Programmer finds 'twin' postal voters
Fauwaz Abdul Aziz | Mar 8, 08 2:31pm

Computer programmer Ong Guan Sin, 37, was intrigued when he heard that some postal voters on the electoral rolls are registered in two different constituencies....
written by kasiakanaun, March 11, 2008 19:38:34
Sorry for the above.

Database address below.

http://122.0.17.30/undi/postal_voters.php
written by bumi non malay, March 11, 2008 19:51:26
Where is this Tan Sri Rashid guy....not only opposition looking for him, UMNO-BN also looking for him........and perhaps ACA....Agong.....where are you Mr Indelible ink - CON MAN!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif.....want to buy Turpentine??...I have Bulk lots in ebay for you!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by sikembangcina, March 11, 2008 20:11:53
the Government was 'not so crazy as to want two-thirds majority.'
---------------------------------------------------------------------

>> Bodoh betullah kau ni Pak Lah.

'If people want to join us, then of course, why should we tell them not to join us?'
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hek eleh.. dulu poyo2 reject Anwar. Hah! NOW ALL BN MPs and SUPPORTERS EAT YOUR OWN WORDS!!! To HELL with you all!

Cheers smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by omarkhayyam, March 11, 2008 20:38:23
BN, jus a suggestion maybe not a post mortem but a visit to the funeral parlour maybe more more appropriate. Change or be prepared to go into political oblivion

written by mikewang, March 11, 2008 20:40:11
Let AAB stay.
We need a Gorbachev in BN to help us bring down the dreaded system.
written by Dominic, March 11, 2008 21:18:00
Mr Prime Minister,why only talked of heeding the people`s aspiration now? Why only feel theres the need to pay attention and not before ? Its as if all these problems just dropped out of the sky! The fact is, the govt only take care of their own cronies. The cry of the poor souls had gone to waste. Maybe your boys from the 4th floor fed you with rubbish or you were halfway in your deep sleep!Theres no need to waste time nor money to conduct a post-mortem. Am sure you know what to do to safeguard what ever is left of `Umno led Bn` otherwise you probably have nothing left to salvage come the next GE. Better still, if Umnoputras can make a `180` degree turn and commit itself to be a govt of the people and for the people, well, I suppose theres still hope to work closely with the oppositions and bring about a HARMONUS and PROSPEROUS Malaysia to face the globalisation needs. To be able to work alongside with the opposition is akin to monopolise like in bussiness where a comsumer get a better deal. Lets rebuild the nation together for the sake of all Malaysians and that of our children and down the line.
written by cinabuta, March 11, 2008 21:31:11
Post mortem macamana pun, kalau dah kuat tidor, akan terlepas lah perkara yang patut dia tahu dan ambil tahu, berlalu macam tu aje. bila beliau bangun tidor, alih alih dah kalah aje semua nya.

Bila dia bangun tidor, menantu dia brief lah dia perkara yang tak betul dan untuk kepentingan diri nya sendiri.

Hancur hancur.

Tak payah lah letak jawatan sebab kita nak tenguk BN terus hancur, kita akan bertepuk tangan. lagi dan lagi

Gua cina dan lagi buta pun tau...aiyaaaaa...
written by datukbendahara69, March 11, 2008 23:17:50
Hehehehe... This is something I really want to put down.

Perhaps UMNO should hire RPK as one of the independent panel for the post mortem.
written by AsamLaksa, March 11, 2008 23:42:02
Let them do their post-mortem. If there is anything positive which comes out of it then it's to the benefit for the rakyat too. If they can't come out with anything positive, then kick them out in the next GE.

I agree that they would need an independent panel (not their own rose tinted experts) and as far as only this article is concerned there's not much I can criticise on here. I know it's just promises but I would reserve criticism when they do not deliver. Just wait and see for now.
written by 1eyecls, March 11, 2008 23:50:16
it's wasting time,normally a post-mortem report is:cardiac failure,stopped breathing,so he or she is dead.
now,they didnt tell you why the heart stopped pumping right?but in this political post-mortem issues,they knew it wayback since 1969,are they pretending?
written by fireduck, March 12, 2008 00:54:18
Independent panel? Maybe we should have a Royal Commissin of Inquiry? What a joke. You didn't need to listen to the rakyat, you didn't need to listen to anyone else other than your SIL and cohorts, and with that Zam guy filtering out the bad news then, what makes you think that your independent panel will do any good?

For things to change, you must first change yourself.
written by mara koman, March 12, 2008 01:19:16

Wht a laughing stock,,, Post-mortem, how riducules it is...

-Badawi talk a walk to a mamak stall, buy a cup of coffee and have a chat with group of local Ah chong, gopal and Ahmad. They will let you know what went wrong with BN...

The downfall of BN,,
-Khairy
-Nazri
-Hisamuddin
-Najib

Now post-mortem them, you will be in the right track hopefullu in 10 years..
written by doggone, March 12, 2008 02:19:34
Post-morten: It looks like we were good,
It sounded like we were good,
Damn, they knew we took the loot.