Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow M'sia's Islamic party rules out values crackdown

M'sia's Islamic party rules out values crackdown PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 March 2008 17:45

MALAYSIA'S Islamic party moved on Tuesday to dispel fears it will impose its values on states won by the opposition in weekend elections, amid reports that alcohol and short skirts are already out of favour.

The Star newspaper said hotels and entertainment outlets in the northern state of Kedah, one of four states claimed by opposition parties in stunning electoral gains, were already making changes.

'Beer will still be sold. We just don't want to make it obvious,' said an executive at one hotel where alcohol was shifted to a more discreet location.

'We do not think skirts will be suitable any more,' said an official at another hotel which is reviewing its employees' dress code.

Other establishments told the daily they were concerned the austere values of the Pan-Malaysia Islamic Party, which has ruled another northern state, Kelantan, for 18 years, would mean the end of lavish government functions.

But PAS secretary general Kamaruddin Jaafar said changing lifestyles was not the party's top priority as it works to form coalitions with opposition parties to rule the newly acquired states.

Kedah, neighbouring Perak, the island state of Penang, and Selangor which surrounds Kuala Lumpur, will be governed by various combinations of PAS, Anwar Ibrahim's Keadilan and the Chinese-based Democratic Action Party.

Mr Kamaruddin said PAS would be sensitive to the feelings of minority ethnic Chinese and Indians who led the electoral rush away from the ruling coalition, which is dominated by Muslim Malays.

'We appreciate the fact that we obtained this massive victory this time through all Malaysians in Kedah, the Malays and the non-Malays,' he told AFP.

'We are not going to let down any racial groups,' he said. 'We want to repay their support with policies that benefit all. We will ... not impose overnight on the people, especially on matters like their lifestyles.'

Nearly two decades ago when PAS took control of Kelantan, it swiftly closed down nightclubs, pool halls and cinemas, and severely restricted the sale of alcohol.

PAS also took control of Terengganu state in 1999 elections and, emboldened by the win, pushed its agenda for an Islamic state more aggressively, but was soundly rejected in 2004 polls when it lost the state.

Chastened by the experience, it has since adopted a more moderate stance, reaching out to minorities and dropping all talk of an Islamic state that would punish wrongdoers with stonings and amputation.

PAS has said that laws still in force in conservative Kelantan, where men and women are even required to queue separately at supermarkets, may not be appropriate for other states.

But even in Kelantan, most ethnic Chinese and Indians say they are allowed to practice their own cultural traditions and religions freely, and have few problems with life under the party.

Saturday's elections saw the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition deprived of its two-thirds majority in the national parliament for the first time in four decades, as well as suffering the unprecedented loss of four states. -- AFP

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by The dragonheart, March 11, 2008 20:27:31
PAS should not keep quiet on these false tensions statements ... UMNO will start telling that Kedah is like Taliban now... Just like how they pictured Kelantan to the rest of the Rakyat...

To me...

The non-muslim who consume intoxicated drinks..make carry on drinking it... But Muslim shall not drink (especially in public places)

The non-muslim who wish to gamble and if they think its their way of life and culture, let them, but the Muslim shall not...

Entertainment of unmoral acts show not be allowed for minors and young people... they must be decent.. if the non-muslim feels that such entertainment is they way of life and culture..let them but for the muslim it shall not be allowed (if allowed - to a limited acceptable extend)

other than that i think PAS should follow as what DAP do in Penang...

written by atsanee, March 12, 2008 00:18:10
Al this hudud and no drinking and no fornication stuff is making a mountain out of a moldhill.
Ask any Kedahan and they will tell you Danok is a mere 30 minutes drive away and Haatyai is 1 hour or so. So whats the big deal ?
Maybe thats why PAS managed to rule Kelantan for so long but managed Trengganu only for one term :-)
written by almurady, March 12, 2008 00:57:18
Mat Keris,
What the hell you talking about? Dragonheart is pointing things that are forbidden in Islam...You're obviously not of the Faith...so stop commenting on what we muslims should or should not do... Let you with your belief, and us with ours...! We are not interested of your godly Rastoparian Bob Marley thingy!!
written by Mat Keris, March 12, 2008 06:42:48
almurady,
You don't speak for PAS, do you?

Glad our brethrens in Kelante don't think like u ...
"Islamic party PAS moved today to dispel fears it will impose its values on states won ... PAS secretary-general Kamaruddin Jaafar said changing lifestyles was not the party's top priority as it works to form coalitions with opposition parties to rule the newly acquired states ... To repay non-Muslim support ...'

Like that lah PAS baru boleh panjang hidup selama2nya ... Tak kan lah baru menang asyik nak main guli and gasing saja.

Steady Abang Kamaruddin Jaafar. Alhamdulilah.
written by SUV, March 12, 2008 10:30:31
i was a resident of kedah for over 3 yearslah..and the umno haprak gomen over dramatised their keislaman..(*sigh*,i had to send my kafir anjing back to a "kafir state")...it's high time non muslims learn a thing or two about islam and PAS ya.