Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Press Statement on the Outcome of the 2008 General Election

Press Statement on the Outcome of the 2008 General Election PDF Print
Monday, 10 March 2008 17:01

Barisan Nasional has been defeated and shamed on a scale without precedent in our history. Alongside losing our 2/3rds majority in Parliament, we have lost a record number of states to the Opposition, including the premier state and the home state of the Prime Minister.

This is not just a blow to BN and to UMNO but to the nation as a whole. We now face a period of uncertainty such as we have never experienced before. BN and UMNO's legitimacy and strength have been the bedrock of national unity and of Malaysia's successful development since Independence. All this is now in question.

The Malaysian electorate's rejection of BN in key areas has serious consequences on our ability to execute our national development plans. We have won enough seats to form a federal government by simple majority, but because of our losses, including our stunning defeat in the Malay heartland states of Kedah and Kelantan, people are now saying that UMNO has lost its legitimacy to represent the Malays. The other Barisan component parties have already lost their leadership role as representatives of the other major races of this country.

This is a historic crisis, and we must face it without further denial, self-deception or media spin.

The honesty with which we interpret this result, and the decisiveness with which we act on it, will determine whether we still have a future with the people.

To begin immediately the process of restoring ourselves, the leadership team must wake from its slumber, face the truth and accept full responsibility for this debacle.

YBM Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah

Member of Parliament Gua Musang

Ketua Bahagian UMNO Gua Musang

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by RumahPanjai, March 11, 2008 00:58:15
You mean a complete overhaul? You are fighting a losing battle lah. As long as the culture of cronyism and corruption exists BN will sink deeper in the black hole. You can start the ball rolling by first removing the upstart morons.
written by R Hum, March 11, 2008 03:11:15
Did you notice that YBM Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, Member of Parliament Gua Musang use the word "wake from slumber"in his press release Quote " To begin immediately the process of restoring ourselves, the leadership team must wake from its slumber, face the truth and accept full responsibility for this debacle."

Pun intended definitely,by Tengku Razaleigh.

written by varvoom, March 11, 2008 03:33:24
The writing is already on the wall YBM Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, race-base politic had reached the dead end, if Umno don't reinvent itself to be anon- racial party then it the end for Umno too.
written by renoir, March 11, 2008 04:25:28
>The honesty with which we interpret this result, and the decisiveness with which we act on it, will determine whether we still have a future with the people.]]

Pairing UMNO with "honesty" results in an oxymoron. Sorry, your party has no future so long as the leadership - and I mean the ENTIRE leadership UP TO DIVISION LEVEL - remains.

So to call for "the leadership team" to "wake from its slumber, face the truth and accept full responsibility for this debacle" is to include the entire party structure, and that includes you too, your highness. Otherwise, people like you would've sounded out the alarm long ago. But everyone kept silent and become wise like Solomon only after the fact. (Except, of course, Dr.M, whose motivations are suspect.)

I think the majority of Malaysians still prefer AAB to anyone from the Old Guard - the leftovers from Dr.M's time. THEY were the ones, besides the SIL, who sabotaged AAB by being kurang ajar - arrogant to the hilt - and THEY were the ones who made it impossible for AAB to rule. Yes, AAB is a weak and probably not so intelligent leader, but his heart isn't bad, which is more than what could be said from the deadwood in his party.

I would ask the Opposition to rule well the states under them, and to help AAB look after the country. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES MUST THE RAKYAT ALLOW UMNO TO GAIN ITS FORMER DOMINANCE AGAIN.

written by foresight, March 11, 2008 06:32:26
A blow to the nation ? I beg to differ. I think it is for the better. I am surprised that he is still in a state of denial, thinking that only BN can rule better even after peddling backwards for the past 50 years and let's not talk about unity.
written by temenggong, March 11, 2008 07:35:10
It is a forgone conclusion that umno is a dead shell. I hope they wake from their slumber and realise that. Malays are simply going to flock en mass to Pas and Keadilan to remain with the ascending parties and stay relevant. This can happen as early as end of this year when unmo elections are held. It takes 30 umno MPs to walk over to Keadilan to change the govt. It is up to the 20 non-malay MPs to decide whether to walk over or waste their time in a losing endeavour rebuilting their race based parties, based on passe ethnic thinking. Sarawak parties accounting for 20 seats may walk!

Ironically, Article 153 and 3(2) is what keeps umno irrelevant and go into a tailspin. If Ku Li does not take the initiative to lead and reform, he would be signing the death certificate for umno.

Even though AAB, Samy are personally nice guys there is no place for them in the new race free political environment. There is no place at all for Ka Ting and friends who are the premier dansuers in ethnic consciousness.
written by Counterpointer, March 11, 2008 08:28:40
face the truth and accept full responsibility for this debacle.

And there would be no shortage of scapegoats.

Let's start the ball rolling with these buggers, for contributing to the overwhelming loss of the non-Malay votes.

written by Ken Liew, March 11, 2008 09:01:58
Ya~!! i would like to know what will REALLY HAPPEN to the dagger kisser, and his followers.

And this 4 years, not much will change, except the cleaning the whole government area inside out. And ofcos, flush all the pit worm /leechers. Add in responsable and ppl with brains to the government.

At this moment, just give OUR NEW government TIME. this is a BIG and long waited step. lets make it worth it. Cheers for a new future